Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Javee

Re: Phone, Tablet and Gizmo Thread #0x02

Post by Javee »

All it takes is push of a button to download and install updates. It also does it automatically, aka windows update style.
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

i dont know if i can post here.. but for some strange reason i can access this forum from my office network but iam unable to access from my home network :( . can anyone post a solution.

do you live in china? i have an issue with FF browser constantly logging me out when I login to BR. so I use chrome.
this on a win7 laptop. on win8 didnt see any problem.
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

i live in UK.i used to access BRF from my home before..from last 1 week iam not able to.

hoodie designed by apple designer has backlog of months, sells for $89 !!
http://www.businessinsider.in/This-Hood ... 919088.cms

Vamsi.R wrote:i dont know if i can post here.. but for some strange reason i can access this forum from my office network but iam unable to access from my home network :( . can anyone post a solution.
I have started having the reverse problem from the last couple of days. Just times out from work so I suspected they are blocking it stealthily (otherwise we get an access denied message). I just downloaded Tor and am using that now.

Vamsi.R wrote:i live in UK.i used to access BRF from my home before..from last 1 week iam not able to.
You may have already tried this, but you can try changing dns:

Google's: 8.8.8.8 and if that does not work try using DNScrypt: https://dnscrypt.eu/
Vamsi.R

Post by Vamsi.R »

i will try that after going home
chilarai

Post by chilarai »

I seem to have the same problem accessing BRF from Netherlands. have to use either tor or vpn or foxyproxy
surprisingly i can access bharat-rakshak.com , just not the forums.

review of the oneplusone - retailing for 350 for 64GB model ... comparable to 16gb nexus5
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jucredt5IWY

my other pc kids use is win 8 pro, and the yoga wala is just 8 home edition.

kids can see the yoga via homgroups, but the yoga can't view the kids pc on the network.
connection issue. is this a limitation of home edition?

Tremendous letter by Nadella. If he actually puts it into action, M$ might become de-assholed after all. Interestingly he didnt mention Ballmer's "Devices and services". Said cloud first, mobile first. Atleast the cloud first part plays to microsofts strength, which is offering an excellent developer ecosystem. If they can transition from PC as a platform to cloud as a platform, they will win.

Also a round of layoffs might be coming. To flush the ossified out.

netz is looking at 5-15%. names are being put in a list for that band.

the microsoft azure thing seems to be coming along well. netz considers azure and amazon ecs testing first when building cloud solutions and then others. there are 'cloudburst' solns that enable enterprise cloud admins to economize on pvt cloud infra and seamlessly(so is the idea) expand the pvt cloud securely into leased assets on these public clouds including security all the traffic over the network between these pvt and public clouds. this is claimed to reduce the expenses of over provisioning in the budget...since azure/ecs can easily scale in 1000s of VM workloads on demand.

enterprise managed hybrid cloud
http://www.cisco.com/c/dam/en/us/td/doc ... us_2-2.jpg

:rotfl: Which company is de-assholed? Chacha? Mickey? ChipZ? FB? :lol:

Mickey moved to cloud lock, stock & barrel, long time back - hardly news anymore. :-? Layoffs are expected due to Nokia M&A - standard YumBeeAye giri practice (too bad vina is at sasuraal and can't expound on it more). Similar to Chacha showing 1000s the door after Motor Oil acquisition.

chilarai wrote:I seem to have the same problem accessing BRF from Netherlands. have to use either tor or vpn or foxyproxy
surprisingly i can access bharat-rakshak.com , just not the forums.
Same problem here at work - able to access the main site just fine, forums need Tor. I think the forums are run on a different box? I haven't had time to figure out just why it doesn't work, so Tor was a fast solution for me to beat IT here.
Javee

Post by Javee »

Mickey is pushing cloud big time. In my domain mickey does not have a lot of enterprise customers in the cloud, they circumvent that with proposing joint development, entire dyanmics line is available in cloud. Mickey is ready to spend money, if you are willing to be a partner. Even the clunky behemoth SAP is moving that way. Oracle is still a bit struggling but they are also flexible on premise pvt cloud and public cloud is used interchangeably now. Interesting times ahead for salesforce.

So HTC launches a dual sim E8, which is a brother of M8 without the metal body and dual cameras. Good specs with Snapdragon 801, 2GB, SDXC support (I guess). Price is 35k, which is high compared to Mi3 offering. I expect this one to come down to 27k in a few months which might make it worth while.

Phone HW is becoming like PCs....very hard to differentiate now. That's why everytime someone comes along and claims you can make mucho money doing hardware onlee and let the platform vendor make all the moolah off services, I call it BS.

they should make 1080p and 4k google glasses, and make the mobile device as the CPU processing point for all wearable devices.
- radio
- head phones
- phone - 3/4g
- data - view via glass
- clicks via blinks
- scroll/drag via blink+move eye focus
- type on BRF via voice-text conversion

time to enter wearable computing nodes, all integrated via gps, sats, 4g, and wifis.

kb-walas can just track you, make you work from where you are.. [or boss will fetch bosullah's drink knowing location based services], move files and services base on location, intelligent alert systems to say, if you would make the deadlines based on activities, schedules and location, things to do scheduling, so, your brain is not task master, but the scheduler keeps telling you do this and do that., and perhaps automatically do certain things. :)

I await a 15k phone with HD 5" screen, 2GB RAM, 16GB internal mem for apps.

the current crop try to scam with 8GB internal which effectively means only 5GB for apps as apps are not installable on the external mem card.

I am not into music but need space for apps and games to make it worth the money.

barring the memory the Mi3 comes close so far. the MotoG with 4.5inch screen & 1GB ram falls short there else it was good.

Dock it to plug with a big monitor and pair it with wireless keyboard. Will work as a PC with that spec.

Despite best attempts of Chacha-e-Android-weepy Pichai maharaj:

Samsung keeps its distance from the Android pack with Galaxy Apps store

Not to mention a Sammy ploy to further squeeze Chacha....not that they haven't been doing it since the early Galaxy S days.

Sammy has missed an opportunity. I was in the market for a new fridge and dishwasher for the family and wanted all Sammy. The fridge has the 8" built-in Android touch screen, but they haven't fully integrated it with appliance specific apps that would show appliance status on your Galaxy tablet or phone. This would be a major selling point. Sammy fridges on the top end are really good. I ended up with an LG fridge and Kitchen Aid dishwasher; as LG dishwashers aren't really that good.

What do you mean appliance specific apps? Like fridge temperature or if fridge door is left open?

^^^Yes, and for the dishwasher where I can delay start/stop or when the cycle has completed. Also, if someone leaves a note on the fridge, I should be able to read it on my phone. It isn't too much to ask from Sammy when their high end fridges start at $4K going up to $6K.

Mort Walker wrote:Sammy has missed an opportunity. I was in the market for a new fridge and dishwasher for the family and wanted all Sammy. The fridge has the 8" built-in Android touch screen, but they haven't fully integrated it with appliance specific apps that would show appliance status on your Galaxy tablet or phone. This would be a major selling point. Sammy fridges on the top end are really good. I ended up with an LG fridge and Kitchen Aid dishwasher; as LG dishwashers aren't really that good.
Bosch Dishwashers are good. Almost silent.

Thats Sammy for you. They will copy such features when someone else brings it out but wont innovate themselves. Its not like their engineers havent already built this....its just that their execs are bean counting YumBeeAye types.

bosch++ but it can bite your wallet a bit more.

long long ago, grundig used to be most prefered world band radio. still available, but dang! the costs have never come down on it.

Saik Ji, if one is patient, you can get very good deals on Bosch at Lowes.

okay.. thx for info. btw, i also notice, if you go by brand alone.. say you want eveyrthing bosch for your kitchen, only few things it may be attractive or having good ratings like dishwasher, gas cooktop, etc. never heard bosch fridge or microwaves or ovens being on the most pref list.

Saik look fr sangean radio.
poor man's grundig.

You chi-chi NRIs and your "brands" hmph :evil: I swear by Santosh radio. Heck, they even diversified into CD players and DVD players a few years ago.

Germans and Americans have different approaches towards manufacturing consumer electronics while the former make things with very tight tolerances and sheer performance at times at cost of maintenance Americans on the other hand generally strive for ease of use, comfort and features. Be it cars or stuff like home appliances stuff from likes of BMW (iirc until recently they never used to provide cup holders in the front as against at least 3 giant XL sized holders in Massa cars for holding that $1.50 huge coke/pepsi cup) similarly the washing machines from Siemens/Bosch hardly have any features but they are compact but built like tanks and are super silent.

Raja Bose wrote:You chi-chi NRIs and your "brands" hmph :evil: I swear by Santosh radio. Heck, they even diversified into CD players and DVD players a few years ago.
Theek hai ...plonk that Santosh radio in your Lexus and whatever is the stock one you got with your ride just give it to me , I will eat the shipping charges . Bhej doon yahan se desi radio ? :mrgreen:

Lexus mein koi separate radio nahin hai jo slide out kar sakte hain. Sab chi-chi Apple style integrated hai. :mrgreen:

I'd be only interested in the F!

Kyon ji, you are a track junkie? :P IS F only makes sense if one wants to race it on tracks, otherwise its a waste of money in the regular parking lot style traffic seen on the highways here.

budget drives to keep me on go-karts onlee! :rotfl:

sunilUpa wrote:
Mort Walker wrote:Sammy has missed an opportunity. I was in the market for a new fridge and dishwasher for the family and wanted all Sammy. The fridge has the 8" built-in Android touch screen, but they haven't fully integrated it with appliance specific apps that would show appliance status on your Galaxy tablet or phone. This would be a major selling point. Sammy fridges on the top end are really good. I ended up with an LG fridge and Kitchen Aid dishwasher; as LG dishwashers aren't really that good.
Bosch Dishwashers are good. Almost silent.
Actually the Bosch 800 was my first choice, but after evaluation found that they did not dry dishes as well, loading was not as good, and racks were not as useful. The new Kitchen Aid Architect Series was the better choice and still very quiet.
I did consider the new Samsung "water wall" system, but I was worried about the reliability of the additional motor and belt system that moves it.

we purchased our first dishwasher here from bosch recently. it has been doing well after some initial setup issue the technician himself was not sure about. there is one chamber under the floor for a pinkish salt powder. and two chambers in the door for washing powder and liquid polisher of some type. they try to make money by claiming these consumables are special and only bosch will do. we bought one set but have no intention of getting more. its the typical cheap printer vs cartridge make money scam.
the cost was around 27k during a online sale.