Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 19 Jul 2014

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 19 Jul

Three Pakistani soldiers killed in rocket attack - The Hindu
Three Pakistani soldiers were killed on Sunday when suspected militants fired rockets at their post in the country’s north-western tribal region, officials said.

The pre-dawn attack occurred in the Spinwam area of North Waziristan near the Afghan border.

Three soldiers were injured in the shelling.

The Pakistani Army is trying to drive out militants from North Waziristan, an al-Qaeda and Taliban hideout.

OK. some related stories. This change of heart was coming.

on 2nd Sep 2013 TTP raided Asmatullah's house and removed him from his position of chief of punjabi taliban.
TTP raids house of sacked Punjabi Taliban chief

and just now TTP claimed Asmatullah an ISI agent. Installing him as chief of punjabi taliban was a strategic mistake.
TTP declares Asmatullah Muavia ‘ISI agent’
Basir said that TTP chose Muavia because he presented himself as a warrior. He said the selection proved wrong.

Muavia had said on Friday that his group would no longer undertake militant activities inside Pakistan. He had said his group would only preach Islam within the border of the country, but continue its militant activities in Afghanistan.
That confirms ISI penetration in TTP.

from the first link
The TTP leadership had tried to contact Muavia for an explanation after he welcomed the government’s proposal, but they received no response.
According to the TTP spokesman, the decision to remove Muavia was taken at a meeting chaired by TTP chief Hakimullah Mehsud at an undisclosed location, the official said. The meeting directed all the militants not to contact Muavia.
After this meeting, TTP militants raided the central office, the resident and other hideouts of Asmatullah Muavia but he had already moved to an unknown location, according to officials.

Asmatullah was sacked in September 2013 by hakimullah mehsud but after his death Fazlullah took him back and under Fazlullah leadership TTP is now broken into four factions.

read full story here. Although I don't agree that it is death knell for TTP, I think they are weakest right now.
Death knell for TTP

For long, Pakistan has claimed the fame and greatness of India and the idea of Pakistan has been to claim that, but reject all that is Hindu because the degeneracy of India was Hindu and the greatness was Islam - whose kabila temporarily moved to Pakistan.

Now, at long last, Pakistan can claim to head one aspect of India - Al Qaeda India. Al Qaeda of course is an internationally famous Islamic terrorist group, unlike locally famous Islamic terror groups like Pakistan army and Lashkar e Toiba. The headquarters of Al Qaeda India will be in one of those romantic frontier Indian cities of the past - Lahore, Peshawar or Quetta.

Pakistan was set up as a haven for the Muslims of the Indian subcontinent and Al Qaeda was set up as the protector and leader of Muslims the world over. The meeting of the two should come as a culmination of events that have lasted many centuries. We must greet this news with joy and spread the word. Finally Pakistan has come of age. Pakistan can no longer be rejected as neither Indian nor Arab. Pakistan is Islam. Pakistan is India. Pakistan is Al Qaeda India.
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

IMHO TTP is hardly weakened. All the sources that claim this are mostly Pukistani. They have an interest in portraying and creating an image of on organisation in decline.
Also some of the TTP attacks have not turned out to be spectacularly successful like the one on the Navy. It does not mean that the next one will not be either.
TTP has huge influence in Karachi. Also the military operation by Pakjabi army has only reminded the tribal jihadis that there can be no peace. Nawaz or no Nawaz. Talks or no talks.
We should be patient before reaching conclusions. IMHO, the tribals in northwest and Pakjabi army have parted ways for good and there can be no peace TTP, FTP or TRP.

Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 19 Jul 2014

Competitiveness: Economic turnaround: where India took the lead
KARACHI: Almost all economic turnarounds in the recent past have primarily been exports-led. From China to India, a rising share of exports as a fraction of the gross domestic product (GDP) has been a key feature of every economic success story in recent decades.
But global trade data suggests Pakistan fares poorly compared to regional economies when it comes to the competitiveness of its exports in the international market.
The gap appears starker when the growth rate of Pakistan’s exports is compared with that of India.
According to the World Trade Organization (WTO), Pakistan’s exports grew at an average rate of 7.7% per annum between 2003 and 2013. In contrast, the annual increase in the value of India’s exports during the same 10-year period remained 18.9%.
sudhan

Post by sudhan »

Yaa Araah!!

Severe H&D loss!!!! Afghanistan also shows pukis the ungli.. by having a larger flag pole!! :((

Afghans voilate paki echandee with a ginormous flagpole

Wait a min.. thats not all of it..

Its the wily bhindians supplied the phlag bole and the phlag!!! :(( :(( :((
Oddly, despite 13 years and more than half a trillion dollars of US investment in Afghanistan, when this country finally got its first supersized flag to fly over the capital last week, the donor was not from among the descendants of Betsy Ross.

Instead, the Afghan megaflag was personally presented by Sushma Swaraj, India's foreign minister. The half-million-dollar gift was partly underwritten by an Indian billionaire, Naveen Jindal, whose Flag Foundation of India was founded to encourage Indian homes to fly their own flags at a practically US rate.
Also..
Swaraj said at the flag-raising ceremony, "India will always be the first strategic partner of Afghanistan, and we are committed to assist Afghanistan in whatever way possible within our means."
:(( :((

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

shiv wrote:For long, Pakistan has claimed the fame and greatness of India and the idea of Pakistan has been to claim that, but reject all that is Hindu because the degeneracy of India was Hindu and the greatness was Islam - whose kabila temporarily moved to Pakistan.

Now, at long last, Pakistan can claim to head one aspect of India - Al Qaeda India. Al Qaeda of course is an internationally famous Islamic terrorist group, unlike locally famous Islamic terror groups like Pakistan army and Lashkar e Toiba. The headquarters of Al Qaeda India will be in one of those romantic frontier Indian cities of the past - Lahore, Peshawar or Quetta.

Pakistan was set up as a haven for the Muslims of the Indian subcontinent and Al Qaeda was set up as the protector and leader of Muslims the world over. The meeting of the two should come as a culmination of events that have lasted many centuries. We must greet this news with joy and spread the word. Finally Pakistan has come of age. Pakistan can no longer be rejected as neither Indian nor Arab. Pakistan is Islam. Pakistan is India. Pakistan is Al Qaeda India.
sorry? There is an @l qaeda India but no @l qaeda bakistan? It should be al qaeda bakistan continent? Otherwise pakistan is not even coming out ahead in setting up al qaeda branch. Hindu banias have stabbed pakistan in the back by buying out the most important pakistani industry. How will the economy survive?

You can not pull this dark short hindu wool over our eyes. After the water, it is just a plan to steal coalition support funds. Pakistanis will see through this charade. As you read this ISI is setting up a bigger and better al qaeda that will successfully take over not one but ten ships of pakistan navy and demand an aircraft carrier.

An old Imran Khan article. Apparently betting and fixing is financing political parties too!!
http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/robcr ... cal-dream/
I cleared our last debts in an unusual way; I was with my family in England, and my brother-in-law, Ben Goldsmith, kept asking me about what would happen in an England versus South Africa test match. I discovered his interest came from his 'spread-betting' on the game. I decided to watch the match, and learned he'd already lost about £10,000 on the game, so I told him that in order to give him tips I would have to watch the match, and that every pound he made after recovering the £10,000 he'd lost would go towards clearing my party's debt.

I have never gambled in my life and have never understood it's attraction, but for the sake of clearing my party's debts I watched the rest of the test match with Ben for the next two days, telling him what to do and when. Not only did he clear his debt, but we made enough money to clear my party's debt as well. At one point the bookie asked, "Mr Goldsmith, you don't happen to be sitting with your brother-in-law do you?"

Anujan wrote:An old Imran Khan article. Apparently betting and fixing is financing political parties too!!
I cleared our last debts in an unusual way; I was with my family in England, and my brother-in-law, Ben Goldsmith, kept asking me about what would happen in an England versus South Africa test match. I discovered his interest came from his 'spread-betting' on the game. I decided to watch the match, and learned he'd already lost about £10,000 on the game, so I told him that in order to give him tips I would have to watch the match, and that every pound he made after recovering the £10,000 he'd lost would go towards clearing my party's debt.

I have never gambled in my life and have never understood it's attraction, but for the sake of clearing my party's debts I watched the rest of the test match with Ben for the next two days, telling him what to do and when. Not only did he clear his debt, but we made enough money to clear my party's debt as well. At one point the bookie asked, "Mr Goldsmith, you don't happen to be sitting with your brother-in-law do you?"
I thought Islam does not allow betting? But Islam does allow match fixing and this sounds like a story of match fixing sanitized by the hijab that it was 'expert opinion'

Here's a new one. 'Sindhi Taliban'. Have we heard of this Sindhi chapter?

'Sindhi Taliban' involved in dockyard attack, claims report
Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan's (TTP) Sindh chapter
TTP's Sindh chapter had penetrated into various departments of the provincial government.
The attackers intended to destroy the navy workshop
21 suspects, including 14 servicemen, were also taken into custody
Three government employees were arrest from Larkana district and two from Jamshoro district of Sindh.
the detained suspects revealed that all involved persons had planned to escape to Afghanistan after conducting the attack
Escape to Afghanistan by boat? Didn't the earlier report talk about the attackers seeking to hijack al sword? Meanwhile, al mushy has hailed Punjabi Taliban’s decision of giving up armed struggle in the country.
Ending terrorist activities by Punjabi Taliban is a welcome decision and a victory of the armed forces of Pakistan
Mr Musharraf expressed the hope that with restoration of peace in the country, economy would stabilise and investment would increase manifold
What the...??!! Please tell me all this is the classic case of taqqiya (pillow)?

Dimran Khan mentioned that incident of his aiding (and abetting) betting in his book. The guy even justified it in TV interviews at that time (later idiot kept spinning the incident as using his cricketing 'nolidge' to help make monies and clearing party debts:

All in the name of a good cause.
RCase

Post by RCase »

No, as a true momin, he was only collecting jiziya from the kafir jew who was making money.

Polio monitoring board meeting may put Pakistan in trouble - Dawn
Although, at the moment, the government has been giving most of its attention to issues of sit-ins in the federal capital and the floods which have affected a vast area of the country, the real danger has started looming as a meeting of the Independent Monitoring Board (IMB) for Polio has been scheduled for September 30.

IMB is the board which suggested international travel restrictions on Pakistan and World Health Organisation (WHO) implemented it. Most alarmingly, Pakistani government has failed to implement the recommendations of IMB. However, the National Coordinator for Polio Eradication Ayesha Raza Farooq claims that recommendations of IMB will be implemented before the meeting and she is prepared to defend Pakistan’s case there.

It is pertinent to mention that IMB works on behalf of the international donor agencies and it issues reports regarding performance of the countries after every six months. In November 2012, IMB recommended that travel restrictions should be imposed on Pakistan and finally those recommendations were implemented on May 5.

On June 2, IMB released its recommendations for Pakistan, in which Prime Minister’s Polio Cell was declared a ‘shadow boxing entity’. IMB recommended establishing a new entity named ‘Emergency Operation Centre (EOC) for Polio’ before July 1, 2014. It was recommended that a new entity should be dealt by both the president and the prime minister.

IMB, in its report, further stated that, in 2011, the Pakistani government had promised that by December 2014, the country would become polio-free, but that promise was not kept. IMB report further stated that Pakistan infected Syria, Iraq, West Bank and Gaza with polio virus.A Ministry of National Health Services official said unfortunately polio was not among the priorities of the government.

“In the season of dengue, not only isolation wards are established in hospitals but emergency is declared in all provinces, especially Punjab. Teachers are called in schools, even during summer vacations, to see if there is stagnant water in which mosquitoes breed,” he said.

“However, I have never heard about any meeting chaired by the prime minister on polio. I remember that, during the tenure of PPP, at least the government was serious about the health sector and used to have meetings regarding polio twice a week. Special Adviser to Prime Minister Shahnaz Wazir Ali and Azra Fazal Pechuho used to participate in those meetings,” he said.

I feel that there is no leadership and nobody is ready to take the responsibility regarding polio cases, which were only 58 in 2012 and reached to 146 within just eight months of 2014. There will be a low transmission season for polio from November to March, which will be the best time to eradicate the virus,” the official said.

I fear that in the two-day meeting with IMB in London, it will become difficult to defend the case of Pakistan. It seems that only international pressure can force our rulers to take steps for the eradication of this virus,” he added.

“IMB recommended that EOCs should be established before July, but the government has not bothered to implement the recommendations, due to which Pakistan will face embarrassment in the meeting,” he said.

“It seems that travel restrictions will be lifted from Syria and Cameroon, and Pakistan will be the only country with travel restrictions, because around 90 per cent of the cases, reported from all over the world, belong to Pakistan,” he said.

Technical Coordinator of Provincial Polio Cell Sindh Shahnaz Wazir Ali, who was also the focal person for the prime minister during the PPP-led government, told Dawn that issue of polio should be taken very seriously.

“Although Taliban imposed a ban on polio campaign in Waziristan, we tried to vaccinate children through religious scholars and private persons. I and Azra Fazal used to travel all over the country to ensure massive polio campaigns, due to which polio cases reduced and reached to only 58 in 2012,” she said.

“During PPP’s tenure, President Asif Zardari and Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani also took interest in eradication of polio. Although it was our idea to get loan from Islamic Development Bank (IDB), PC-I for loan could not be approved for many months in the tenure of PML-N,” she said.

Ms Shahnaz said the government should raise problems of IDPs and military operation in Waziristan in the IMB meeting because the number of reported polio cases will further increase in the coming days.

National Coordinator for Polio Eradication Ayesha Raza Farooq told Dawn that she defended Pakistan’s case in the last IMB meeting and was planning to do it again.

“We could not hold polio campaigns in Waziristan for two and half years. Moreover, rains and IDPs have further increased the problem. I will tell the members of the IMB that the military operation has brought a new hope for Pakistan, because 80 per cent cases of polio are reported from Fata. Now it will be possible to hold polio campaigns there,” she said.

Ms Farooq said although IMB recommended that EOCs should be established before July, it is not easy to take that sort of steps.

Notifications for the establishment of EOCs have been issued by the provinces, however, the notification at the federal level could not be issued because of the situation in Islamabad. It has been decided that EOCs will be established before IMB’s meeting,” she claimed.

Even the biggest power center of Pakistan, i.e. Pak Army is not interested in polio vaccines. If they are really interested, they can use 10-15% of their army, i.e. 50K volunteers for polio vaccination.

So put travel restrictions on Paksitanis. Mere certification (fake) is not enough. They have to be vaccinated by the visa-giving embassy and have to wait to complete 3-month quarantine, then only visas should be issued.
RSoami

Post by RSoami »

http://www.rferl.org/content/pakistan-a ... 84514.html
Militants Kill Three People In Attacks Against Pakistani Police.
Pakistani military authorities say they have killed more than 1,000 Al-Qaeda and Taliban militants since June in an offensive launched in North Waziristan.

kmkraoind wrote:Even the biggest power center of Pakistan, i.e. Pak Army is not interested in polio vaccines. If they are really interested, they can use 10-15% of their army, i.e. 50K volunteers for polio vaccination.
Martial Pak Army, defender of Islam, Winner of upteen battles,Ruler of all the GHQ's and its factories and you want them to get onto this lowly work of administrating polio vaccination campaign.
What kind of Army do you think would do this low end work..hain ji.
Mihaylo

Post by Mihaylo »

Anujan wrote:An old Imran Khan article. Apparently betting and fixing is financing political parties too!!

My My...Dimwit could predict what was going to happen just by watching the game....Imran the dimwit is also now Imran the maseeha.. Poobah!

-M

India slams Pakistan for clean chit to Hafiz Saeed; Demands his arrest
India today hit out at Pakistan for its remarks that Hafiz Saeed had no case against him and he was free to roam, saying the designated terrorist was the "evil" mastermind behind the Mumbai attacks and it devolves on Pakistan to bring the chief of terror outfit JuD to book and deliver justice.

"Our views on Hafiz Saeed are very clear. To us, he is the evil mastermind of the attacks on Mumbai and one of the accused in an Indian court for killings on streets of Mumbai. We have repeatedly asked Pakistan that he should be apprehended and taken through normal judicial process.

"Alas! He has never been arrested on account of 26/11. Therefore.... he is only free because he is a Pakistani citizen," External Affairs Ministry Spokesperson Syed Akbaruddin said here.

The sharp reaction by India came within hours of Pakistan High Commission Abdul Basit's remarks that "Hafiz Saeed is a Pakistani national so he is free to roam around. So what is the problem...he is a free citizen so there is no issue as far as Pakistan is concerned. Courts have already exonerated him.

There is no case pending against him."

Asked about Pakistan's stand that there was not enough evidence to prove his involvement, the MEA Spokesperson said, "99 per cent evidence in this case is in Pakistan. That is because the entire conspiracy was hatched in Pakistan. The planning for this dastardly act was done in Pakistan.

"The financing for this act was undertaken in Pakistan and people involved who were involved in this were from Pakistan. Therefore, it has always been our view that it devolves on Pakistan that it ensures that criminals like Hafiz Saeed were brought to book and justice was delivered in the instance of crime in Mumbai."

166 people were killed in the terror strike in Mumbai in 2008. New Delhi has also protested the delay in the on-going trial of the case in Pakistan.

Recently, Saeed, known for his anti-India tirade and designated as a terrorist by the US, has also accused India of indulging in "water-terrorism".

SSJi, has TSP joined the US-led "lets get ISIS" bandwagon? Either way, from a PR perspective, this wouldn't this be prudent for MEA to highlight that TSP harboring Hafeez pig is as evil as ISIS? Will UnDyTv and assorted media do the same? Or is it communal to do so?

In India if you are a secular or wanna be secular then you should call him Shri Hafeez or Hafeez saheb. Otherwise you are a communal, divisive and religious zealous.

The Paki morons come up with these absurd statements despite the fact that he is an internationally designated terrorists and needs to be put behind the bar no matter what.

Only in Pakistan can a designated terrorist roam free, is it any surprise then if it is addressed as a terrorist nation.

DipankerJi, correct. But only US can co-opt such an abominable terrorist entity as a front-line all-lie to confront the mighty Al Queda. BTW, except us on BR, I haven't heard anybody else correctly address TSP as a terrorist nation.

abhijitm wrote:In India if you are a secular or wanna be secular then you should call him Shri Hafeez or Hafeez saheb. Otherwise you are a communal, divisive and religious zealous.
Why call? Just show up. Didn't an Indian journalist Ved Pratap Vaidik, a close aide of Ramdev, recently managed to meet with this pig who told Vaidik that Modi was dangerous and now he has become the prime minister?

CRamS wrote:DipankerJi, correct. But only US can co-opt such an abominable terrorist entity as a front-line all-lie to confront the mighty Al Queda. BTW, except us on BR, I haven't heard anybody else correctly address TSP as a terrorist nation.
US has been working against Indian interest since 50's. You are forgetting that back in 1993 Paki came pretty close to be designated as a terrorists nation, so it's not like only BR is addressing Paki as a terrorist nation. In the last 10 years or so Paki have got saturation bad press universally.
Last edited by Dipanker on 15 Sep 2014 21:02, edited 2 times in total.

I hope as an energy starved nation we not benevolent enough for Pakis to do this, the fact that UPA spent precious resources on this itself was a sell out.

Mihaylo wrote:

{quote}I cleared our last debts in an unusual way; I was with my family in England, and my brother-in-law, Ben Goldsmith, kept asking me about what would happen in an England versus South Africa test match. I discovered his interest came from his 'spread-betting' on the game. I decided to watch the match, and learned he'd already lost about £10,000 on the game, so I told him that in order to give him tips I would have to watch the match, and that every pound he made after recovering the £10,000 he'd lost would go towards clearing my party's debt.

I have never gambled in my life and have never understood it's attraction, but for the sake of clearing my party's debts I watched the rest of the test match with Ben for the next two days, telling him what to do and when. Not only did he clear his debt, but we made enough money to clear my party's debt as well. At one point the bookie asked, "Mr Goldsmith, you don't happen to be sitting with your brother-in-law do you?"{/quote}

My My...Dimwit could predict what was going to happen just by watching the game....Imran the dimwit is also now Imran the maseeha.. Poobah!

-M

Dimwit was using his Dawood connections to make money on the side.

Yet another blow to the Paki H&D:

Ajmal ban “good for the game”: Lehmann

Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 19 Jul

Anindya Ji :

We criticized. derided and ridiculed the Kangress for its Kriminal act of wanting to "Export" Natural Gas and Electricity to Pakistan.

Now when Modi Ji is in charge the Kangress' Kriminal Policies are still being continued.

Man Moun Singh's "VIVASHTA" i.e. his compulsion, compulsion and helplessness was always attributed to Liberals, Secular and last but not the least to the Lusiana, Veneto, Italy born.

What is Modi Ji's "VIVASHTA" i.e. his compulsion,constraint,compulsion and helplessness etc?

Why not sell the gas to energy starved and lesser developed states like UP, Bihar, Jharkhand, MP, Odisha? North Eastern states ?

What's the logic behind helping the Pakis?

Pakistan envoy summoned over Punjabi Taliban's war declaration in Afghanistan
KABUL- Afghanistan's foreign ministry summoned Pakistan's Charge d'Affaires over recent declarations by Punjabi faction of Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) regarding declaration of war in Afghanistan.
A statement released by MoFA said the government of Afghanistan conveyed its deep concerns to Pakistani Charge d'Affaires Mr. Muazzam Shah regarding the war declarations by Punjabi Taliban militants in Afghanistan.

Guys, isn't this Ali a TSPian born in UK?

http://sports.yahoo.com/news/englands-a ... --spt.html

The only thing that bin qasim brought to Sindh, besides genocide and loot and jiziya, was arap practice of intermarriage within close family - Pakistanis seem to be in awe of bin qasim for that. In India there is word for such pakistani which is BC but in Pakistan the inbreds celebrate.

Left behind as Asia forges ahead :((
But only Pakistan have islam, need Kashmir,do Jeehaaad, Marry Cousins and produce Dumbs
INDIA has just inked a set of agreements with Vietnam. Earlier this month, Shinzo Abe of Japan became the first Japanese prime minister to visit Bangladesh, a tour that included a stop in Sri Lanka. He brought along with him an entourage of 22 Japanese businessmen looking to do business in both countries.Meanwhile, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was in Japan this past Saturday, meeting Shinzo Abe and giving him his own message of “come, build in India”. Both sides agreed to set up a dialogue process involving their foreign and defence ministers to create a long-term, sustained process of cooperation on strategic and economic concerns.Soon the Chinese president will sit down with Mr Modi in discussions that will touch on the sources of tension between these two giant economies, as well as the wellsprings of opportunity that exist.A Sri Lankan diplomat, observing the whole round of meetings and summits and state visits taking place around Asia all month, described it as a “complex tapestry of relations” that is being woven in the region ever since India’s new prime minister was elected.Asia has been abuzz with activity throughout the month so far, weaving itself together, talking, building and positioning its assets and relationships in a complex multi-player game that is all but set to emerge as the dominant theatre of Great Power rivalry.There is much tension across the region. A festering border dispute and suspicion of each other’s motives animates much of India’s relationship with China. In the rest of Asia too, rising China inspires as much trepidation as it does awe.Now consider what Pakistan has been busy doing since last month: indulging in political bickering, listening to scathing speeches with little purpose, and making hardly any attempt at a solution.For decades now, we have remained mired in conspiring against each other as a globalising world has raced ahead. Now, as globalisation draws to a close and a new world dominated by regional trading blocs begins to take shape before our eyes, we still remain busy in scuffles and speeches and point-scoring.At some point this behaviour must end. At some point we must learn to respect the rules we have laid down for ourselves, learn to demarcate our interests into strategic, political and economic domains, and pursue each separate
Anindya

Post by Anindya »

Peregrine ji

I'm confused - it was not that many years ago, that Pakistani news reports told us about Pakistani businessmen filling up bags with money for the JEM. Educated people in Pakistan still promise their children for jihad against India (to the LeT). And just today, Pakistan thumbed it nose at us, about Hafeez Sayed, and yet we'll starve our own states of energy for these Pakis. Yet again, we provide access & sources of income to Pakistani businessmen, job seekers etc.
member_28722

Post by member_28722 »

Most of India - China problems will be out of the window if Chinese opt to focus on building trade relations with India instead of supplying weapons tech to Pakistan. Together these countries can be the driving force of Asia

Alas common sense is a sense which is not common.

saurabh, there is no reason why they can't, or won't, do both.
Unless India can force them to chose.

saurabh, you are talking of an ideal world. China wants to keep us confined to the Indian subcontinent and even there only with eroded influence. It wants no challengers to itself as it unseats the US and becomes the only superpower. It has a motive therefore to supply weapons to Pakistan. Its weapons supply to TSP are not for the sake of money. That is peanuts. In fact, the nukes and their delivery systems were not even sold for money. China now wants to have the best of both the worlds, a huge trade with India (with a humongous trade balance in its favour with non-tariff barriers that would keep it that way for ever), and the usual close strategic relationship with Pakistan to keep India constantly off-balance and bleeding its energy fighting that useless enemy.

As the US Pivot expands, as the alliance between India and other worried countries in Asia (such as Japan, most of the ASEAN nations, South Korea and Australia) solidifies, Pakistan's indispensability to China will only grow. That unholy nexus will also be enhanced by the Afghan denouement, the Uyghur situation and the expansion of IS & AQ in Asia.