Mangalyaan: ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Mangalyaan : ISRO's Mars Orbiter Mission

What's the significance ?

There was a ladies of MAVEN photo floating on teetar too.
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

Karan M wrote: Acknowledge the jerk who called him names, ran a corrupt empire and made a mockery out of the Indian state? Modi was gracious enough to allow MMS to attend the function. Anyone else would have ensured MMS was nowhere near the function.
aaha... Very convenient.... As if Modi is a baby who was being tormented by the big guys & was being called names & what not. I don't think that the shamelessness or sadakchhaap behaviour that Modi showed in his election campaign can ever be toppled. This is the man who talks about female rights when he himself refers to other people's wives as "50 crore ki girlfriend". There you have it, a real jerk.
And when the point comes to give credit where it's due he conveniently walks away. Atleast MMS didn't stoop to such low levels & did rise above petty politics by appreciating Vajpayee wherever it was required.

I think you either didn't see Modi's election speeches or was too blind to get past your cloak of blind Modi worhipping. Modi's only contribution to this programme is that he was present at the right time at the right place. But I think all this will be too much to get through the skull of people like you who are too blind in your love towards Modi & its circus.

SaiK wrote:shiv ji, many are indics onlee.. one from BS here head on with Modi onlee: http://www.business-standard.com/articl ... 850_1.html
The New York Times reports, “Mr Modi, who was elected in May with a once-in-a-generation majority in Parliament, has been on something of a roll. And the Mars achievement, which he had almost nothing to do with, will only add to that.” Furthermore, this accomplishment occurs just before his trip to the US where he will address the United Nations.
NYT! or was it another MUTU?

these are all priyamvada genes onlee.
Let me post the NYT article in full. The mirchi has gone deep inside the Musharraf. The whole article is a gem of a study on how a privileged gora ch()()thiya thinks about India. In turn he reveals more about himself than about India. I have sprinkled my comments in between, for entertainment purposes.:

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/25/world ... messcience
GARDINER HARRIS with sepoy Suhasini Raj wrote: NEW DELHI — An Indian spacecraft affectionately nicknamed MOM reached Mars orbit on Wednesday, beating India’s Asian rivals to the Red Planet and outdoing the Americans, the Soviets and the Europeans in doing so on a maiden voyage and a shoestring budget.

An ebullient Prime Minister Narendra Modi was on hand at the Indian Space Research Organization’s command center in Bangalore for the early-morning event and hailed it “as a shining symbol of what we are capable of as a nation.”

“The odds were stacked against us,” Mr. Modi, wearing a red Nehru vest, said in a televised news conference. “When you are trying to do something that has not been attempted before, it is a leap into the unknown. And space is indeed the biggest unknown out there.”

Children across India were asked to come to school by 6:45 a.m. Wednesday, well before the usual starting time, to watch the historic event on state television. { Just like Modi made school children listen to his lecture on Teachers day resulting in kids begging teachers to go and pee in non-existant toilets, yeeeevil Modi has asked kids to wake up early and watch a historic moment in Indian History. How dare he?}

The Mars Orbiter Mission, or MOM, was intended mostly to prove that India could succeed in such a highly technical endeavor — and to beat China. As Mr. Modi and others have noted, India’s trip to Mars, at a price of $74 million, cost less than the Hollywood movie “Gravity.” NASA’s almost simultaneous — and far more complex — mission to Mars cost $671 million :mrgreen: . {Our Lauda is bigger than yours, take that you backward smelly yindooooooos}

Success was by no means assured. Of the 51 attempts to reach Mars, only 21 have succeeded, and none on any country’s first try, Mr. Modi noted. In 2012, China tried and failed, and in 1999, Japan also failed.

But Mr. Modi, who was elected in May with a once-in-a-generation majority in Parliament, has been on something of a roll. And the Mars achievement, which he had almost nothing to do with, will only add to that. {Its an NYTimes article written by a blue blooded Gora, a swipe at an "un-educated" "tea-selling prime minister" who is nothing like the western man is therefore to be expected, after all it was OxBridge educated MMS that created this project and not Modeeeee. How date Modee take away credit from their Porch-Monkey House-Slave MMS}

Mr. Modi leaves Friday for New York, where he will address the United Nations General Assembly as well as a sold-out, largely Indian-American crowd at Madison Square Garden before heading to Washington for a meeting with President Obama.

The Indian Space Research Organization has always had a small budget, and for years it largely worked in international isolation after many countries cut off technological sharing programs in the wake of Indian nuclear tests. It has launched more than 50 satellites since 1975, including five foreign satellites in one June launch. As other countries have rethought their pricey space programs, India’s low-budget affair has gained increasing attention and orders. {How dare you do something that is reserved for whites and honorary whites, and so in the next line is a put down for you}

Its success has long been seen as a fulfillment of the kind of state-sponsored self-sufficiency that former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru cherished but that, in the main, left India impoverished. {In other words, this is the same as 2 dollah a day, but very polished. He is saying the same thing, our priorities are wrong, we should have focussed on poverty alleviation because, you know, that is what the white man wants. This is the new style of drain inspections, so watch out for subtle put downs and oblique references.}

More recently, India’s technological isolation in defense and other areas has been due in large part to the country’s restrictions on foreign investments, its poor infrastructure and its infamous bureaucracy. India is now the world’s largest importer of arms because of its inability to make its own equipment and its refusal to let foreign companies open plants owned entirely by them. :mrgreen: {Foggy Bottom's sale pitch to cargo-cult coconut DIE Indians}

The country’s most important export is the cheap brainpower of its engineers, based in technology centers like Bangalore and Hyderabad, who provide software and back-office operations for corporations around the world. {They are stealing our high-paying jobs, H1beeee H1beeeeee, outsourcing outsourcing}

“Our success on Mars is a crucial marketing opportunity for low-cost technological know-how, which is what we do really well,” said C. Uday Bhaskar, an analyst with the Society for Policy Studies, a New Delhi research center. India’s space program “spent peanuts, and they got it done.”

India’s decision to launch Mangalyaan, the name of its spacecraft, resulted after China’s own mission to Mars failed in 2012. In almost every sphere, the Chinese have outpaced the Indians over the past three decades, but Indian scientists saw an opportunity to beat them to Mars. {Take that you Indians, even chinese Lauda is bigger than your Lauda}

In just a few months, they cobbled together a mission to send a 33-pound payload of fairly simple sensors to Mars orbit. { Did I mention that Indic Lauda is small....} They used a small rocket, a modest 3,000-pound spacecraft and a plan to slingshot around the Earth to gain the speed needed to get there. A mission that began with a November launch in Sriharikota has been flawless ever since. { Your lauda is small, your lauda is small... your lauda is small... NASA and China are bigger , NASA and china are bigger.........Sung like a Kindergartener teasing another Kindergartener}

“In this Asian space race, India has won the race,” Pallava Bagla, author of “Reaching for the Stars: India’s Journey to Mars and Beyond,” said in an interview.

The triumph was well timed. :rotfl: :rotfl: {Yeah right, we planned Mangalyaan's arrival 4 years ago to time it with Modi meeting with Xi and Ombaba, the bullshit is starting to get unbearably stenchy} Thousands of Indian and Chinese soldiers have been engaged in a standoff for more than a week on disputed land in Ladakh, in the Indian-controlled portion of Kashmir, and President Xi Jinping of China recently held a three-day visit to India that was overshadowed by the border disputes.

Mangalyaan, which is the Hindi word for “Mars craft,” is slated to remain in an elliptical orbit around Mars, sending back information about Martian weather and methane levels in its atmosphere to controllers in Bangalore from sensors powered by three large solar panels.
member_28714

Post by member_28714 »

UPrabhu wrote:Why can't ISRO raise the periapsis to above synchronous orbit and leave the satellite in unmaintained orbit beyond six months? No reaction wheels on the spacecraft for attitude control?
Will not serve the purpose of experiments. The methane sensing happens at periapsis at an altitude of <300km. A synchronous orbit would need the satellite to be at much higher altitude leaving little chance of being within martian atmosphere. I suppose.

The other orbiters are all at synchronous orbits and hence their lifespan. If we have enough fuel left after accomplishing mission objectives, the satellite could possibly be raised to synchronous orbit thereby extending its lifetime to theoretical infinity. Even if the batterries die out the satellite can still be operated when the panels are facing the sun. I suppose.
Last edited by member_28714 on 24 Sep 2014 23:53, edited 1 time in total.

https://twitter.com/dreamthatworks/stat ... 29/photo/1

And Now #Pakistan too is ready with its #Mangalyaan #MarsMission

LokeshC wrote:http://www.nytimes.com/2014/09/25/world ... messcience

[*quote="GARDINER HARRIS with sepoy Suhasini Raj"]
NEW DELHI — An Indian spacecraft affectionately nicknamed MOM reached Mars orbit on Wednesday, beating India’s Asian rivals to the Red Planet and outdoing the Americans, the Soviets and the Europeans in doing so on a maiden voyage and a shoestring budget.[*/quote]
IIRC officially it is Mars orbiter/MOM but affectionately nicknamed Mangalyaan by the people of India. Now after Chandrayaan the logical choice of name for this craft/mission should have been Mangalyaan/Mangalyaan mission ... but no secularitis of the CON kind had a violent reaction to Indic sounding Mangalyaan and so it was called MOM officially.
Last edited by pankajs on 24 Sep 2014 22:41, edited 1 time in total.

svinayak wrote:https://twitter.com/dreamthatworks/stat ... 29/photo/1

And Now #Pakistan too is ready with its #Mangalyaan #MarsMission

Motto: to chaand or jannat..
member_28714

Post by member_28714 »

sunny y wrote:
Karan M wrote: Acknowledge the jerk who called him names, ran a corrupt empire and made a mockery out of the Indian state? Modi was gracious enough to allow MMS to attend the function. Anyone else would have ensured MMS was nowhere near the function.
aaha... Very convenient.... As if Modi is a baby who was being tormented by the big guys & was being called names & what not. I don't think that the shamelessness or sadakchhaap behaviour that Modi showed in his election campaign can ever be toppled. This is the man who talks about female rights when he himself refers to other people's wives as "50 crore ki girlfriend". There you have it, a real jerk.
And when the point comes to give credit where it's due he conveniently walks away. Atleast MMS didn't stoop to such low levels & did rise above petty politics by appreciating Vajpayee wherever it was required.

I think you either didn't see Modi's election speeches or was too blind to get past your cloak of blind Modi worhipping. Modi's only contribution to this programme is that he was present at the right time at the right place. But I think all this will be too much to get through the skull of people like you who are too blind in your love towards Modi & its circus.
so... he is too politically incorrect for your liking? I saw every major speech and interview he gave and find it hard to disagree with too much of what he says.
so... I think it will be too much to get through the skull of people like you who are too blind in your hatred towards Modi & his intent.
I could do that to the entire section where you decided to go judgemental.

pankajs wrote: IIRC its is officially MOM but affectionately nicknamed Mangalyaan. Now after Chandrayaan the logical choice of name for this craft/mission should have been Mangalyaan/Mangalyaan mission ... but no secularitis of the CON type had a violent reaction to Indic sounding Mangalyaan and so it was called MOM officially.
Yes, I know that. The point of highlighting that is the fact that the moron was trying to be condescending. Amrus will look at it and go ' :rotfl: "MOM" ... really???!!!'.

The article was written for geographically and culturally illiterate Amrus. The audience is internal and hence the level of bull-$hit is higher.

sunny y wrote:

Arre Bhai, Kahan so rahe the ab tak aap, peter pan ji.

Dilbu wrote:
LokeshC wrote:Is this a mallu inside joke or something?
Yes it is like you will find a Keralite everywhere in this universe. US landed an austronaut in moon and he was greeted there by a mallu tea shop guy.
:mrgreen: :lol: From personal experience that is true.

http://www.thenewsminute.com/lives/311
You made us proud, says autodriver who refused fare from ISRO scientist
It was a truly memorable day for Vivek P Nambiar, a scientist at ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC) in Bangalore. His day became even more gratifying and he explains why in this Facebook post.
"It was late in the evening today (24th September 2014). It was raining heavily and I was not having umbrella. My usual walk to quarters was not possible. I tried for an auto." Ellige", driver asked. fly over"He asked, " Sixty" said, " Meter".It is my regular route for the past 8 years. The distance is less than 1.5 km. The meter charge will be Rs 25." Fifty"It was raining heavily. Usually I insist for charge as per meter.Finally we agreed for forty.I got in to the auto. Rain was splashing into the auto from all sides. I was getting drenched. We might have reached Manipal signal."Neevu ISRO alli kelasa madtheera? " (Do you work for ISRO?) He had seen me crossing the road at ISRO signal. "Havathu" (Yes), I answered. He was following every moment of MOM, like any other Indian. I was surprised to listen to him and he was very much excited. "Neevu hatthu thingalumele MOM engine start maadidheeri, alva?" (You’ve started the MOM engine 10 months after the last time, haven’t you?)He was asking me many questions. I tried to answer those in my own Kannada.
He was very curious. We reached the stop. The rain had reduced. "Sir, nanna gaadi naale belege start aagilla ... " .. we both laughed. (Sir my auto wont start tomorrow) I got down and gave him Fifty rupees. He gave back the money. "Paravakilla .. beda sir.. 'You people made us proud' Aamele nodonna" (It’s all right sir, I don’t want your money. You people made us proud, we’ll see about it later)I insisted, he refused and disappeared in the traffic"..

Congratulations to ISRO for launching MOM in Mars orbit and a legends in social media space! Absolutely in love with both!

Why CNN-IBN is showing MMS. We don't want to see him , hear him with coal tarred face. What a disgrace that pathetic chap is.
Well, that "pathetic chap" was the one who wanted the mission, okayed the plans, financed it and saw it launched. NYT is right. Modi has absolutely nothing to do with this other than the speech he gave today. That is fine . He is after all the elected PM of the day.

But let us not miss the wood for the trees and acknowledge the contributions made and who created this mission in the first place. Modi could have been more gracious and acknowledged MMS in is speech,when he spoke about Vajpayee and Chandrayaan.
mms aur modi chodiye vinaji......bataiye kab chunaav lad rahe hain?

Just a couple of things:

People who say that Modi has nothing to do with it are falling for the famous "Mir-Jaffar Trap". Modi is the PM of the country now and he has everything to do with it. Let us not get swayed by Gora opinions.

And I am sorry, Modi's speech after the successful orbital insertion had more words than MMS had uttered in the last 10 years. It was also more moving than anything MMS had ever said in his 10 years as well.

FORUM MODERATOR SPEAK:

STOP MAKING THIS POLITICAL!

And many of you, mind your language. It is the forum rule.
विद्या ददाति विनयं विनयाद्याति पात्रताम् ।
पात्रत्वाद्धनमाप्नोति धनाद्धर्मं ततः सुखम् ॥ ५ ॥

vidyA dadAti vinayaM, vinayAdyAti pAtratAM |
pAtratvAddhanamApnoti, dhanAddharmaM tataH sukhaM || 5 ||

(true/complete) knowledge gives discipline, from discipline comes worthiness, from worthiness one gets wealth, from wealth (one does) good deeds, from that (comes) joy.

We clearly have the expertise to send low cost/high quality probes to other planets. All we need now is to expand the launch and R&D infra and get some more private players involved.
member_28108

Post by member_28108 »

Still no news about the pictures. May be released tomorrow it seems.It seems that the DSN link now has shifted to Madrid. Wonder what time we should be getting signals at Byalalu.

They might be working on processing the images, to keep the weight of the probe low, only barebones sensors are carried on them. Which means any post processing of the images (filtering, noise reduction, false color addition) should be done on the ground.

I think most of the scientists have had a long long day. They are probably going to get some rest instead of looking for pictures.
Ganesh_S

Post by Ganesh_S »

Finally ! :P

LokeshC wrote:
I think most of the scientists have had a long long day. They are probably going to get some rest instead of looking for pictures.
Trust me, they'll not be able to sleep today. They will be more eager than us to see the pictures. First picture of a different planet taken by an Indian instrument developed by them. How can they sleep?!
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Ha ha, there's my first cousin, a rocket scientist (liquid propellants) right behind Modi-ji to his right, video bombing. Congrats bro, congrats ISRO, what an accomplishment!

Last edited by MurthyB on 24 Sep 2014 23:39, edited 1 time in total.

From Mangalayan will come Manufacturing,with advertisement , Its not Chinese standard but MOM Standard quality. Modi will use this opportunity for marketing Indian products.

partha wrote:
LokeshC wrote:
Trust me, they'll not be able to sleep today. They will be more eager than us to see the pictures. First picture of a different planet taken by an Indian instrument developed by them. How can they sleep?!
True.

jamwal wrote:What's the significance ?
:eek: you have never heard of terms like SDRE and TFTA? :wink:
ravar
Location: हिमालयम समारभ्य़ यावत हिन्दु सरोवरम, तम देव निर्मितम देशम हिन्दुस्थानम प्रचक्षते

Post by ravar »

Apologies for being OT, but this incident is etched in my memory-

IIRC, it was after the launch ceremony of Resourcesat-2, that the then Minister of of State for Parliamentary Affairs and PMO, V Narayanaswamy attended at SHAR, during his victory-speech that was telecast live on DD, thanked the Italian Mummy (as if she was some sort of constitutional authority) for the continued support to ISRO (the link given below has omitted the reference to Italian Mummy but the video archives of DD would have it, if somebody can dig it up).

Needless to say, he was mum (no pun intended) on Nehru, Vikram Sarabhai or even IndiraG's contribution to ISRO, the very same issue that Congress's spokesman Sanjhay Jha has raked up today against Modi.

ISRO successfully launches PSLV-C16
Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs and PMO V Narayanaswamy described the successful launch as a landmark event and said the Prime Minister and the government "are with the scientists to do more such work."

prasannasimha wrote:Current data rate churned by MOM according to DSN website is 40kb/sec to both receivers at Canberra.
that is the max from MOM actually (without turbocoding - ?)
http://www.isro.org/pslv-c25/pdf/pslv-c25-brochure.pdf

indranilroy wrote:FORUM MODERATOR SPEAK:

STOP MAKING THIS POLITICAL!

And many of you, mind your language. It is the forum rule.
विद्या ददाति विनयं विनयाद्याति पात्रताम् ।
पात्रत्वाद्धनमाप्नोति धनाद्धर्मं ततः सुखम् ॥ ५ ॥
On behalf of many... THANK YOU!
What is the life of the orbiter? How many years/months?
Supposed to be six months. But probably would be a little longer that mom has more fuel.
Sorry, but would like to add something here... as this topic keeps coming on here..

How long the MOM's life would be?
Depends on what you call 'life'..
..It has much less to do with fuel than people seem to think here.

How long MOM will orbit Mars?

In all probability a very long time decades, may be centuries. The orbit (after all the fuel is gone) may vary a little from the present one, but essentially it will remain orbiting Mars -- a 3 day (give or take a few hours) period...(Unless some future maneuver uses some fuel and crash it into Mars, or MOM has a self destruct button :) )

Long before that - few things may happen ...

- People may get bored .... money runs out so people may just stop monitoring it..
- Antena stops working (no fuel to direct it to Earth), or some other systems stop working.. so no one will be able to monitor / receive data from it.
- XYZ (substitute your favorite villain - Modi, MMS, IITian/ evil Nasa :) ) destroys everything.

(You get the idea)

No significant fuel is needed to keep MOM in orbit. (Remember Mars atmosphere is much thinner than Earth, and MOM is remains higher than 500 Km - so orbit it not going to "decay" in any significant way) There will be small tugs (Mars being not a perfect sphere + tugs from Sun, Jupiter, Saturn, Earth etc) which will cause perturbations in elliptical orbit but that is NOT relevant at all for time period of many decades. ... long before that, our systems and equipments will break down.

So may be 73 years from now, mangalyaan73, will capture an old Mangalyaan and tug it to a museum in Bangalaru - who knows...

(Or isro guys, after a year or so, plan a controlled crash on the moon, just to check if they can measure small mars-quakes to improve their earth-quake predicting devices)

In any case, my point is, let us stop relating how much fuel left with the life of MOM. :)

ISRO signed an agreement with China National Space Administration on Friday to cooperate in research and development of various satellites.

UPrabhu

Post by UPrabhu »

Amber G. wrote: On behalf of many... THANK YOU!
What is the life of the orbiter? How many years/months?
Supposed to be six months. But probably would be a little longer that mom has more fuel.
Sorry, but would like to add something here... as this topic keeps coming on here..

How long the MOM's life would be?
Depends on what you call 'life'..
..It has much less to do with fuel than people seem to think here.

How long MOM will orbit Mars?

In all probability a very long time decades, may be centuries. The orbit (after all the fuel is gone) may vary a little from the present one, but essentially it will remain orbiting Mars -- a 3 day (give or take a few hours) period...(Unless some future maneuver uses some fuel and crash it into Mars, or MOM has a self destruct button :) )

Long before that - few things may happen ...

- People may get bored .... money runs out so people may just stop monitoring it..
- Antena stops working (no fuel to direct it to Earth), or some other systems stop working.. so no one will be able to monitor / receive data from it.
- XYZ (substitute your favorite villain - Modi, MMS, IITian/ evil Nasa :) ) destroys everything.

(You get the idea)

No significant fuel is needed to keep MOM in orbit. (Remember Mars atmosphere is much thinner than Earth, and MOM is remains higher than 500 Km - so orbit it not going to "decay" in any significant way) There will be small tugs (Mars being not a perfect sphere + tugs from Sun, Jupiter, Saturn, Earth etc) which will cause perturbations in elliptical orbit but that is NOT relevant at all for time period of many decades. ... long before that, our systems and equipments will break down.

So may be 73 years from now, mangalyaan73, will capture an old Mangalyaan and tug it to a museum in Bangalaru - who knows...

(Or isro guys, after a year or so, plan a controlled crash on the moon, just to check if they can measure small mars-quakes to improve their earth-quake predicting devices)

In any case, my point is, let us stop relating how much fuel left with the life of MOM. :)
Yes, but without fuel no attitude control, right? Unless it has reaction wheels.

UPrabhu wrote: Yes, but without fuel no attitude control, right? Unless it has reaction wheels.
Some isro person should correct me as I may be way off.. (SSSji correct me if I am way off :) )

My guess would be, with about 45 Kg of fuel, we may have enough for next 10 years for normal attitude control of HiGain antenas and stuffs like that. (order of magnitude calculation onlee - I remember some one saying that they were ready to burn all but 3-4 Kg of fuel if LAM failed)...

(Please also, do not forget we have of the order of 800 Watt of power from solar cells which will work ... as long as they work.. for radio transmitters to work and minor attitude control from reaction wheels etc..)

One starts developing lot of respect for these engineers who put all this togather..
Vashishtha

Post by Vashishtha »

India Spacecraft successfully arrives at mars
Science and security
Mangalyaan carries five instruments to study the planet’s geology and evolution, and to look for methane, a signature of life. Some observers however view its scientific objectives with caution. “Some of this is hyped up and overstretched,” says Amitabha Ghosh, an India-born planetary geologist based in Washington DC. “I am sceptical that MOM will be able to dwell decisively on present or past life on Mars.”

Ghosh says that MOM is unlikely to supply data comparable in breadth or quality to those generated by other recent missions. He finds it unlikely that MOM will add anything significant to our understanding of Martian topography, for instance, given that NASA's Mars Global Surveyor has already taken 640 million elevation measurements and mapped the planet in detail.

However, ISRO describes MOM not as a science mission, but as a “technology demonstrator”.
member_23370

Post by member_23370 »

Sour grapes anyone??? me encanta !!

Lot of Advice from Gulf
Mars mission success should galvanise India
The scientists of Isro have shown what can be achieved by dint of hard work and persistence
Gulf NewsPublished: 20:00 September 24, 2014Gulf News

India’s successful quest to Mars — the Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) — stands out on two counts: Firstly, the scientists from the Indian Space Research Organisation (Isro) nailed the project on their first attempt, becoming the first country to upload a successful mission to the planet on a maiden endeavour. Secondly, at $70 million (Dh257.46 million), it is the cheapest mission ever commissioned to this planet. The Indian scientists deserve total credit for their spirit of enterprise and untiring efforts to ensure the success of this mission. They now stand to inspire many generations with this achievement. India joins an elite club of countries who have tasted success by docking on Mars. It is no mean achievement given that out of 51 attempts, only 21 have proved to be successful so far.

The Mars mission should serve as an attestation to all Indians who want to make a difference in a country that holds out innumerable possibilities and tough challenges. It should stand as a symbol of what can be achieved by dint of hard work and persistence.
Success can be achieved despite limitations and this should be borne in mind by the government and the people because the country presents many tests that still need to be overcome. This success should serve as an example to strive for result-oriented efforts across multiple domains. Indian space scientists should now strive to blaze a trail across hitherto unchartered territories. Clearly, sky is the limit. Given that people have lost faith in politicians to improve their standings, perhaps the time has come to be inspired by a group of scientists from Isro who are selfless in their intent.

prasannasimha wrote:The Spacecraft is now circling Mars in an orbit whose nearest point to Mars (periapsis) is at 421.7 km and farthest point (apoapsis) at 76,993.6 km. The inclination of orbit with respect to the equatorial plane of Mars is 150 degree, as intended. In this orbit, the spacecraft takes 72 hours 51 minutes 51 seconds to go round the Mars once.

From ISRO website

This gives e= 0.9093 ( ellipse is nearly a parabola for which e=1 :) for circle, e=0)

To add to this, any one who wants to use these figures.. as posted before, here are two simple formulas ..

Remember,
pi=3.14159
radius of Mars = 3397 Km
a for MoM = (from above data) = (421.7+76993.6)/2+3397 = 42105 Km
k (for Mars) = 4.283 * 10^13 (standard SI units)
T = Time period of probe
r = distance from center of Mars (remember add/subtract radius of mars, if you use surface as ref)
v= velocity of probe.
T = 2*pi* sqrt ( a^3/k)
This is true for any probe orbiting Mars, (for MOM substituting these values we do get 262300 seconds which is about 72 Hours and 52 minutes - consistent with the above post)

Other, given before is

v = sqrt (k (2/r-1/a))

(So now, if some one asks what if delta-V as "x" instead of "y" you can still calculate the orbit parameters...- (the new "a")

Bheeshma wrote:Sour grapes anyone??? me encanta !!
No Just being H..I Sud of Amrican Great Planes.

Vashishtha wrote:India Spacecraft successfully arrives at mars
Science and security
Mangalyaan carries five instruments to study the planet’s geology and evolution, and to look for methane, a signature of life. Some observers however view its scientific objectives with caution. “Some of this is hyped up and overstretched,” says Amitabha Ghosh, an India-born planetary geologist based in Washington DC. “I am sceptical that MOM will be able to dwell decisively on present or past life on Mars.”

Ghosh says that MOM is unlikely to supply data comparable in breadth or quality to those generated by other recent missions. He finds it unlikely that MOM will add anything significant to our understanding of Martian topography, for instance, given that NASA's Mars Global Surveyor has already taken 640 million elevation measurements and mapped the planet in detail.

However, ISRO describes MOM not as a science mission, but as a “technology demonstrator”.
Apart from the usual inferiority complex on the face of a threat that results in statements that sound similar to :- "My dad is bigger than your dad", there is something more going on here. Since mod said no bad words, using dad instead of you know what. :D

Plij to refer Derrick Bell Rule #3 here: http://www.mdcbowen.org/p2/rm/define/bellsRules.html
THIRD RULE
Few blacks avoid diminishment of racial standing, most of their statements abot racial condidtions being diluted and their recommendations of other blacks taken with a grain of salt. The ususal exception to this rule is the black person who publicly disparages or criticizes other blacks who are speaking or acting in ways that upset whites. Instantly, such statements are granted 'enhanced standing' even when the speaker has no special expertise or experience in the subject he or she is criticizing.
Mangalyaan actually has managed to irritate (and awe) a lot of gora folks. Hence Rule #3 as quoted above will be applied liberally. There will be a lot of Indians (RNIs and NRIs) trying to teach India what its priorities are, and will get approving nods from their gora massas, and who knows a fully paid vacation to Amsterdam to discuss "India's excesses in space".

Edit: Rule #4 is also very relevant:
FOURTH RULE
When a black person or group makes a statement or takes an action that the white community or vocal components thereof deem "outrageous," the latter will actively recruit blacks willing to refute the statement or condemn the action. Blacks who respond to the call to condemnation will receive superstanding status. The blacks who refuse to be recruited will be interpreted as endorsing the statements and action and may suffer political or economic reprisals.
Last edited by member_22733 on 25 Sep 2014 02:38, edited 2 times in total.

AmberG: Thanks for the gentle rebuke. I was the one who said that a few more months beacuse of fuel. I presume gravitationalperturbations from the comet is taken into account. Probably it would not amount to much .I knoiw electroncs can operate with very little power. 800 Watts should be good as long as there no electromechanical parts on board.

Hoping a Start Trek The Movie like scenario that this vehicle is sent out into deep space and Mangalyaan108 receives signals from mnglyn one and a decsendant of Persis Kambhatta is on board. For some reason I like the idea of sending the craft out into deep space rather than crashed even if we do not receive signals after certain distance. While it is drifting (if it does not get captured by a planet or star and either breaks up or burns out) it may be encountered by some other intelligent life in the universe givng them a proof that they are not alone and try to contact us earthlings if they can. The other possibility is a fly by and take pictures of Saturn and in fact become part of rthe rings. Not sure whether any of this is possible as I have no domain expertise (sodo not know the calculations even in orders of magnitude). All calculations are unti free only in my line of work.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 25 Sep 2014 06:23, edited 1 time in total.