India-US Relations : News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Hitesh

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion

Post by Hitesh »

I am not too concerned about MRAPs. They are only good for counter insurgency operations, not in conventional warfare against the likes of IA. They would be sitting ducks against ATGMs and artillery.

Philip wrote:
As before, if someone indicates "tourist" as a reason for visit and is found waving the Bible at the natives, he/she will be kicked out without fuss and debarred for ever. India has interested eyes and ears even in the remotest tribal areas now, unlike under UPA.

This is exactly what US NGOs did in the aftermath of the Asian tsunami in Sri Lanka (and probably in other countries too) .Saw them first hand.
That must be a reason why Evangelical complain a lot, so that their outright criminal activities can be shielded by propaganda. There is no reason such people are not behind bars, except of course pseudo secularism.

SandeepA wrote:Feels like there is a gag order issued on Modi visit coverage in US media :evil:
they probably don't know what to say.

there are very few objective news media/ news person left. blah blah GOP and blah blah obama takes up so much space and everything else is seen only through that prism. modi has not done anything in this trip that can be fitted into any of these prisms, hence lack of coverage. Yet. during the dinner, there will be coverage.

CRamS wrote:Guys, lets distinguish between news and opinion. I cannot imagine anyone manufacturing news. In other words, if an event happens, like election results, or a plane crashes, or even weather, one can't manufacture such things. Facts are facts. Now where things get murky is the spin different news outlets put on that, as paid agents.
You don't pay attention to Murdoch Media, I suppose?
One kind of problem with Fox:
http://www.projectcensored.org/11-the-m ... gally-lie/
A second kind of problem with Fox:
http://crooksandliars.com/logan-murphy/ ... sgraced-re

There are more, but it would be going way off topic.

DoCJi, good points, I wanted to expand on exactly that, but was too lazy. But yes, by omissions, and selective reporting of facts, of putting an emphasis of one fact over another, one can indeed manufacture news. US media is super adept at that.

GusJi, indeed, people, especially Americans often harp on liberal vs conservative BS in the media, even the media critics obsess on this, but to an objective media critic like me :-), what makes US media disgusting is that for them, the world revolves around dems Vs reps (meaning us) and even minute differences are exaggerated. There is no reality outside of this prism.

I am not sure there will be any coverage of Modi's meeting with Obama. And as an Indian American, I bracing myself for the insulting treatment that will be meted out to Modi by US media by completely ignoring him if there is a planned joint press conference.

This is how are media represents us in the US. Bloody swines. He called the gentlemen an @sshole and then charged at him. Something needs to be done about these people. It is intolerable now.

Why Modi’s US trip is like 'Amar Akbar Anthony'
It’s our own fault

Our own choices show no such consistency. We’ve had godless commies with English accents, like Nehru, and worshippers of foreign goddesses, like Manmohan Singh. Vajpayee rarely prayed, and spoke in mysterious couplets. Even an atheist like Jyoti Basu almost got a chance to turn India into West Bengal. There was a brief ray of hope in the ’70s, when the US had Jimmy Carter, a peanut farmer, and we had Morarji Desai, a pee nut. But he banned Coca Cola, which was a terrible mistake. Coca Cola had him replaced by Indira Gandhi soon after.

Now, finally, with Modi, we’ve got it right. He’s the perfect candidate for success in America. Like Nixon, he keeps tabs on everyone. Like Reagan, he’s a Great Communicator. Like Clinton, he plays musical instruments. Most crucially, he supports business, but he also fasts for Navratra. Americans understand this mixture better than they ever understood Hindi poets, urine therapists, and scary women with Soviet friends. America and India are now like Amar Akbar Anthony without Akbar. We are brothers separated at birth, finally reuniting. Much love will be in the air.

Poor Akbar may be a little worried, but just like the movie, which you must see if you haven’t, I believe that everything will work out fine in the end.

RoyG wrote:This is how are media represents us in the US. Bloody swines. He called the gentlemen an @sshole and then charged at him. Something needs to be done about these people. It is intolerable now.
if this behaviour is supposed to solve anything, Rajdeep will go back and behave like a bigger c**t than he is now. There are a lot of undercurrents within US society, and you just need some good conductor to tap this (like Arnob or Rajdeep) and it all comes flowing out.

CRamS wrote: GusJi, indeed, people, especially Americans often harp on liberal vs conservative BS in the media, even the media critics obsess on this, but to an objective media critic like me :-), what makes US media disgusting is that for them, the world revolves around dems Vs reps (meaning us) and even minute differences are exaggerated. There is no reality outside of this prism.
The point was not the myopic gaze of the American media or its obsession with Democrats vs Republicans.

The points were:

(a) the news media corporations are free to report things that its employees know to be false -- that is the interpretation of the law by the US courts; and

(b) nothing is more basic to a politician than party affiliation, a fact if there is any such thing in politics -- and the link I provided you has a whole series of Fox misreports of the party affiliation of disgraced politicians.

Therefore if one cannot imagine these things happening - facts are facts and how can the media manufacture them - then one must not have been paying attention.

http://www.bnd.com/2014/09/28/3426741/m ... india.html
Khalid Ansari, a computer expert who works in Raleigh, North Carolina, came to New York to join the protest. Pointing to the Garden, Ansari said of Modi, “He’s being honored in there today, but before he was prime minister, he was banned from entering the United States on human rights grounds.”

Although Modi remains a divisive figure, the event at Madison Square Garden is a sign of his appeal not just at home but also among the 2.8 million Indian-Americans. It’s one of the wealthiest diaspora communities in the U.S., and can help Modi spur trade, foreign investment and social development. More than 30,000 people across the U.S. sought the free tickets for the New York event, according to the organizer, the Indian-American Community Foundation.

Read more here: http://www.bnd.com/2014/09/28/3426741/m ... rylink=cpy

habal wrote:
RoyG wrote:This is how are media represents us in the US. Bloody swines. He called the gentlemen an @sshole and then charged at him. Something needs to be done about these people. It is intolerable now.
if this behaviour is supposed to solve anything, Rajdeep will go back and behave like a bigger c**t than he is now. There are a lot of undercurrents within US society, and you just need some good conductor to tap this (like Arnob or Rajdeep) and it all comes flowing out.
Whose behavior are you referring to, Rajdeep's or the person he called an asshole?

And what exactly do you propose is the right way to deal with pompous, shill, moles like him?

If you can't be specific then don't post at all. It is better than using vague comments and fear mongering. Let Rajdeep speak his mind and see how the Indian public who voted for Modi reacts. And he thinks he can wear saffron to blend in. :roll:

PratikDas wrote:If you can't be specific then don't post at all. It is better than using vague comments and fear mongering. Let Rajdeep speak his mind and see how the Indian public who voted for Modi reacts.
Indian public ? .. there is no Indian public here, this is american public.
And what exactly do you propose is the right way to deal with pompous, shill, moles like him?
the answer to his question by a woman was most appropriate.

RS: Do you think one man can change India ?
Female audience: Yes, If one woman can loot India, then one man can change India.

that is all that is required.

habal wrote:if this behaviour is supposed to solve anything, Rajdeep will go back and behave like a bigger c**t than he is now. There are a lot of undercurrents within US society, and you just need some good conductor to tap this (like Arnob or Rajdeep) and it all comes flowing out.
The opposite actually !! The video is a clincher as to how the left, pseudo-secular crowd in India outrightly spreads blatant lies and manufactures stories to suit their agenda. Rajdeep could have gotten away with the claim that it was the fault of the Modi fan - only he didn't account for this video to capture the truth in its full glory. He probably thought he was in India, and not the US - & got caught out in the process.

Wouldn't be surprised if he loses his new job with India Today soon.

habal wrote:
PratikDas wrote:If you can't be specific then don't post at all. It is better than using vague comments and fear mongering. Let Rajdeep speak his mind and see how the Indian public who voted for Modi reacts.
Indian public ? .. there is no Indian public here, this is american public.
Fail. Your words were, "Rajdeep will go back and behave like a bigger c**t than he is now". I'm sure you meant he would go back to India and behave like that. And that is where I said he could speak his mind and see how the Indian public who voted for Modi would react.
habal wrote:
the answer to his question by a woman was most appropriate.

RS: Do you think one man can change India ?
Female audience: Yes, If one woman can loot India, then one man can change India.

that is all that is required.
This is completely nonsensical. In the first part of your post, you yourself worry about the damage a person like Rajdeep Sardesai or Arnab Goswami can make by milking an incident such as this. I'm sure you said that because of their media clout. How then is one quick retort from a nobody in the crowd with no media clout sufficient, as you say, to counter someone like him?

Sorry, I sense fear mongering.

Rajdeep Turdesai was actually very insulting standing in that IndAmerican crowd and calling Modi "Pied Piper" suggesting that the people are rats to follow him. Maybe he got kicked out of CNN IBN because of some issues related to Modi and Reliance? Serves him right. He is a twat.

PratikDas wrote:Fail. Your words were, "Rajdeep will go back and behave like a bigger c**t than he is now". I'm sure you meant he would go back to India and behave like that. And that is where I said he could speak his mind and see how the Indian public who voted for Modi would react.
Dear Judge of Rajdeep, for all of his sins, he is still in India, fighting the heat and dust and being corrupt, because that is what this system made him to be, because he has to survive here. He is within the hive and he is transformed by it, these guys who point fingers at him have escaped to greener pastures, they cannot judge him from their point however they or you may spin it.
This is completely nonsensical. In the first part of your post, you yourself worry about the damage a person like Rajdeep Sardesai or Arnab Goswami can make by milking an incident such as this. I'm sure you said that because of their media clout. How then is one quick retort from a nobody in the crowd with no media clout sufficient, as you say, to counter someone like him?

Sorry, I sense fear mongering.
Change in India cannot come from Ummerika. Only colour revolution and civil war can come from there.
You have to kill the symptom and not the patient.
There are many such patients in India, you show them the stick and they too shall transform into something even more slimier.
That is why I said, no good shall come.
shiv wrote:Rajdeep Turdesai was actually very insulting standing in that IndAmerican crowd and calling Modi "Pied Piper" suggesting that the people are rats to follow him. Maybe he got kicked out of CNN IBN because of some issues related to Modi and Reliance? Serves him right. He is a twat.
obviously he was trying to instigate the crowd.
And they fell for it.

Nice try at spinning this into America trying to change India.

Sonia lives in Indian "heat" as well. Are we supposed to admire her for that? The sooner she leaves India, the better it would be.

Rajdeep is supposed to be a victim and a hero now? Pfft. You call him a c**t in one post and then go on to defend him as a victim in the next. I'm glad it took so few posts to crystallize your point of view.

PratikDas wrote:Nice try at spinning this into America trying to change India.

Sonia lives in Indian heat as well. Are we supposed to admire her for that? The sooner she leaves India, the better it would be.

Rajdeep is supposed to be a victim and a hero now? Pfft. You call him a c**t in one post and then go on to defend him as a victim in the next. I'm glad it took so few posts to crystallize your point of view.
She is from Italy, her Karma is tied to Italy, she is not Indian.

Secondly rebels from all countries in the world live in US. You know what they are usually used for. Sorry about this, but I view America and anything coming out of it with jaundiced eyes.

habal wrote:Dear Judge of Rajdeep, for all of his sins, he is still in India, fighting the heat and dust and being corrupt, because that is what this system made him to be, because he has to survive here. He is within the hive and he is transformed by it, these guys who point fingers at him have escaped to greener pastures, they cannot judge him from their point however they or you may spin it.
If they are Indian citizens, they have every right to do so..wherever they may reside at the moment.

matrimc wrote:shiv - the problem is that these "paid media" were looking for a reaction and some people lost their cool with Mr. Sardesai. What should have been done was to simply have ignored them and crowd around DD and DD only. Then they wold have been reduced to interviewing Dr. A. Chatterji, her hubby and the UPenn pair Prof. Kaul and Prof. A. Loomba.
Turdesai hit first
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=477128325760154

habal wrote: Secondly rebels from all countries in the world live in US. You know what they are usually used for. Sorry about this, but I view America and anything coming out of it with jaundiced eyes.
I don't really care how you view anything that comes out of the US. So no apology is needed. Besides, this is just your feeble attempt at spin and changing the topic. Fail.

I know both Modi and Rajdeep come out of India. Rajdeep is a shill and a mole. All it would take is for the government, the Indian one - just in case you were wondering, to tap into his communications on the suspicion of aiding or abetting terrorism and his world would collapse.

There are many who, unlike you, don't fear what Rajdeep might do or say. The ones who should be in fear are the ones who hire him or his wife Sagarika Ghose for their very dubious positions on Indian affairs, and let them influence the masses.

Modi coverage in the US.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/alyssaayres ... -to-watch/
Indian Prime Minister Modi in the United States: What to Watch
Comment Now Follow Comments
Indian Prime Minister Modi arrives in the United States this weekend, for a five-day visit split between New York and Washington, DC. He’ll have a full program in New York to start, with a speech at the UN General Assembly, numerous meetings with CEOs, speeches here at CFR and at the Global Citizen Festival in Central Park, and the headline-topping gathering of his closest 18,000 friends in the Indian American community at Madison Square Garden (to be simulcast in Times Square as well). That would be a heady PROGRAM on its own.......

http://www.cnbc.com/id/102035756
Modi in America: India's top man goes on tour
Seema Mody | @SeemaCNBC
Friday, 26 Sep 2014 | 10:23 AM ET
How quickly things can change.
For a decade, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was denied a visa to the United States because of the way he handled street fighting between Hindus and Muslims in the state he once led. Fast forward to today, and the same man is being welcomed with open arms by corporate executives, Indian Americans and, most importantly, President Barack Obama.....
Pretty boring, nothing to write home about.

PratikDas wrote:
habal wrote: Secondly rebels from all countries in the world live in US. You know what they are usually used for. Sorry about this, but I view America and anything coming out of it with jaundiced eyes.
I don't really care how you view anything that comes out of the US. So no apology is needed. Besides, this is just your feeble attempt at spin and changing the topic. Fail.

I know both Modi and Rajdeep come out of India. Rajdeep is a shill and a mole. All it would take is for the government, the Indian one - just in case you were wondering, to tap into his communications on the suspicion of aiding or abetting terrorism and his world would collapse.

There are many who, unlike you, don't fear what Rajdeep might do or say. The ones who should be in fear are the ones who hire him or his wife Sagarika Ghose for their very dubious positions on Indian affairs, and let them influence the masses.
Nobody fears Rajdeep. What made Rajdeep into a c**t, that is what I fear.

tomorrow only faces will change, another c**t with another name will take Rajdeep's role. You will still be crying that things never change. So atleast reserve your anger for right cause.
All it would take is for the government, the Indian one - just in case you were wondering, to tap into his communications on the suspicion of aiding or abetting terrorism and his world would collapse.
Yasin Malik and Syed Ali Shah Geelani are also moving around. So many bollywood personalities with links to Dawood are also openly moving around. So it's not for lack of communications tapping that they are not being arrested.
Besides, this is just your feeble attempt at spin and changing the topic. Fail.
theek hai.

Your proposal of retorting with smart one-liners is, pretty much, the worst suggestion at propaganda management that I've come across.

I'm glad people are getting to see the real Rajdeep Sardesai, despite his Oxford education. If an example is made out of him then the next one with another name you so fear will think twice about thinking of Rajdeep as a role model.

PratikDas wrote:I'm glad people are getting to see the real Rajdeep Sardesai, despite his Oxford education. If an example is made out of him then the next one with another name you so fear will think twice about thinking of Rajdeep as a role model.
:lol: they will not just come to US madison square to question Indian community in the open boss. But they have a market in India and they have a revenue stream, how many people will resist that. We will see.

Which media channels will dare to let them have their own opinion pieces? We will see, "boss". :roll:

Thanks for setting me right. That is eye opening. I was fooled by the shorter clip where only the last 5 seconds of the fight was shown which was being widely circulated throughout this - err now yesterday - morning.

g.sarkar wrote:Modi coverage in the US.
http://www.forbes.com/sites/alyssaayres ... -to-watch/
Indian Prime Minister Modi in the United States: What to Watch
Comment Now Follow Comments
Indian Prime Minister Modi arrives in the United States this weekend, for a five-day visit split between New York and Washington, DC. He’ll have a full program in New York to start, with a speech at the UN General Assembly, numerous meetings with CEOs, speeches here at CFR and at the Global Citizen Festival in Central Park, and the headline-topping gathering of his closest 18,000 friends in the Indian American community at Madison Square Garden (to be simulcast in Times Square as well). That would be a heady PROGRAM on its own.......

http://www.cnbc.com/id/102035756
Modi in America: India's top man goes on tour
Seema Mody | @SeemaCNBC
Friday, 26 Sep 2014 | 10:23 AM ET
How quickly things can change.
For a decade, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi was denied a visa to the United States because of the way he handled street fighting between Hindus and Muslims in the state he once led. Fast forward to today, and the same man is being welcomed with open arms by corporate executives, Indian Americans and, most importantly, President Barack Obama.....
Pretty boring, nothing to write home about.
An Invitation to 'Make in India'

By NARENDRA MODI
Sept. 25, 2014 7:25 p.m. ET

Only 60 comments

>> Which media channels will dare to let them have their own opinion pieces? We will see, "boss".

Ok, so it's the media channels and their management. And GoI is powerless. So what ties their hands. Will see what Modi does ? Don't be surprised if he does nothing, simply because nothing easy can be done. Why were Russians sitting quietly while Khodorkovsky was selling his stake to foreigners. It took one Putin to come and fix him up and now he is global pariah as a result.

So who is to blame "mouthpiece" or puppeteer ? btw some brave people got together and beat up the mouthpiece, and all shall be well in their world. Chalo .. whatever.

Guys, please resist friendly fire. We are all on the same side. However, the best way for the Rajdeep and Co to be destroyed is for them to be made irrelevant. Some thing that Modi is doing brilliantly. We ought to do the same.

If the men writing the cheques understand the paying off news traders will not help them in the long run. Do you think that the will continue to pay them off?

habal wrote:So who is to blame "mouthpiece" or puppeteer ? btw some brave people got together and beat up the mouthpiece, and all shall be well in their world. Chalo .. whatever.
Let me stop you from spreading further misinformation. The mouthpiece attacked the brave person, not the other way round.

svinayak wrote:Why Modi’s US trip is like 'Amar Akbar Anthony'
It’s our own fault

Our own choices show no such consistency. We’ve had godless commies with English accents, like Nehru, and worshippers of foreign goddesses, like Manmohan Singh. Vajpayee rarely prayed, and spoke in mysterious couplets. Even an atheist like Jyoti Basu almost got a chance to turn India into West Bengal. There was a brief ray of hope in the ’70s, when the US had Jimmy Carter, a peanut farmer, and we had Morarji Desai, a pee nut. But he banned Coca Cola, which was a terrible mistake. Coca Cola had him replaced by Indira Gandhi soon after.

Now, finally, with Modi, we’ve got it right. He’s the perfect candidate for success in America. Like Nixon, he keeps tabs on everyone. Like Reagan, he’s a Great Communicator. Like Clinton, he plays musical instruments. Most crucially, he supports business, but he also fasts for Navratra. Americans understand this mixture better than they ever understood Hindi poets, urine therapists, and scary women with Soviet friends. America and India are now like Amar Akbar Anthony without Akbar. We are brothers separated at birth, finally reuniting. Much love will be in the air.

Poor Akbar may be a little worried, but just like the movie, which you must see if you haven’t, I believe that everything will work out fine in the end.
Is this guy retarded or just scared of saying what is really on his mind? Sounds like he wants to spew hatred against Modi but instead brought out a lot of constipated cleverness that he thinks hits the mark nicely without him taking what he thinks is a risk of attacking Modi.

>> Pratik Das ji,

he is there to instigate the pro-Modi crowd. I am not that thick boss, I got that.

habal wrote:>> Pratik Das ji,

he is there to instigate the pro-Modi crowd. I am not that thick boss, I got that.
Chalo... whatever.

habal wrote: ...
obviously he was trying to instigate the crowd.
And they fell for it.
Isn't it more the case that the crowd was looking for some provocation to deliver the slap and Rajdeep provided it? After all, for years now, the Rajdeeps have been spewing contempt and hatred towards NRIs, with derisive terms like Internet Hindus, Software Coolies etc.

Rich elite Indians like Sardesai are not really affected by heat & dust--they might spend some time there, but they can get out of it any time and into their airconditioned mansions, farmhouses and so on, or take a foreign jaunt at will. People like him despise NRIs many of whom don't have the advantages of an elite English education, but have built themselves up through sheer toil in a country that maximizes the returns on such toil. For the Rajdeeps, that is the mark of low-class people who can and should be sneered at and put down in their place. The Rajdee[s can't stand it that these low-class nouveau riche vulgarians act as though they are just as good as the Rajdeeps and have the same rights to opine in social media, so they spew venom. They don't stop and think that all the while, those low-class NRIs feel hurt at the contempt and are doing a slow burn.

The confrontation that happened is a very mild expression of that rage.
Last edited by KLNMurthy on 29 Sep 2014 11:01, edited 1 time in total.

>> Maybe he got kicked out of CNN IBN because of some issues related to Modi and Reliance? Serves him right. He is a twat.

There was an article in the Media thread about it. CNN IBN was giving too much coverage to AAP people who were saying all kind of things about Reliance. So when Ambani bought the channel, ...

habal wrote:>> Pratik Das ji,

It appears that it was him that got instigated and unable to retort verbally, he chose to lash out like a petulant child.

I'm surprised he didn't scream "Off with his head". Such folks do not seem to take it well when someone shows them up.

MSG has seen Ali vs. Frazier -

Turdesai vs. common man :rotfl: what a wuss could not even throw a decent jab... he is just a :(( :((
He also accused Arnab of 'supari journalism' in another venue... :mrgreen:

The guy is losing it... but then so are several others... a lot of balance lost this time around.
If nothing else, Modi's silence to the Media is causing these jobless to squabble like hungry hyenas...

We need a Amul cartoon showing Rajdeep throwing the punch at Madison Square Garden.

KLNM Ji,

Why would the crowd go looking for a confrontation with this idiot. They are not assembled for any confrontation. They are assembled for a celebration.

In this atmosphere, you will have people is such a frame of mind that will take a huge provocation from someone for the crowd to react the way it did.

Besides the elites of the DDM did not actually cover themselves in glory, in this trip.