Republic Day 2015 - News and Discussion

Re: Republic Day 2015 - News and Discussion

well.. f35 is ours for signature analysis now ;)

Singha wrote:let me table my demand.

a agni5 TELAR stops in front of the chief guest.
the crowd goes mouth agape as the tube rises to vertical position
a suitcase is brought to the PMs chair ... crowd edges away to the back
with a terrible smile of sorts he presses the red button without further delay
BAM.....the crowd of foreign diplomats dives under their chairs as the tube opens and a huge black mizzile rises 30meters in the air with a noise of nagara drums.
kids are not afraid they cheer and applaud
and then BAM the missile is a plastic dummy that opens into small pieces and showers marigolds and lotus flowers in a circular radius of 100 meters.
the chief guest gathers his wits amidst his huddle of agents and manages a weak smile.
Look through the 1/23 coverage. Everything was coordinated (as perhaps should be).

I am asking for 1/26 experiences from non-services people. Did you march/attend/watch in person? What are your experiences, momentos? Who was the chief guest, and who was the commentator? What tableau do you most remember? How did you prepare/get there? Where did you sit?

Disclosure -- sang something as part of a troupe as a child, got a little shield thing for the immense trouble. Not an easy endeavor, would not wish upon any other young child. But I was a weak and sickly child.

With Obama looking on, Russian legacy to dominate at R-Day parade
IANS | Jan 25, 2015, 04.18 PM IST

NEW DELHI: When Barack Obama, the first US president to be the chief guest at the Republic Day parade Jan 26, witnesses India display its defence prowess and its diverse culture, what would come through for discerning military observers is the legacy of the country's long-standing strategic ties with Russia.

However, evidence of the new-found India-US friendship will be at the tailend of the 90-minute parade in the shape of US P8I maritime reconnaissance aircraft, C-130J special operations aircraft and the C-17 Globemaster heavy-lift aircraft.

The Republic Day is the only time of the year when critical defence systems, artillery, and equipment ranging from tanks to missiles is brought out for public display. This year, like in the past, the three wings of the armed forces will field their marching contingents and systems in the parade, followed by a cultural pageant and the flypast.

However, the Russian element will begin with Russian Mi-17 helicopters of the Indian Air Force (IAF) trailing the tricolour and showering petals on the spectators ahead of the parade and will continue with the Indian Army's mechanised columns led by the T-90 Bhishma. India had bought this main battle tank after delays in the production of the domestically developed Arjun MBT - and to counter Pakistan's deployment of the Ukrainian T-80UD.

Also marking its presence will be the BMP-II (Sarath), the Indian license-produced variant of the Russian second-generation, amphibious infantry combat vehicle introduced in the 1980s.

Similarly, the T-72 tank, which now has a trawl attachment to detonate mines, is of Soviet origin.

These will be followed by world's fastest cruise missile in operation, the Brahmos, which can be launched from submarines, ships, aircraft or land and is the pride of the Indian armed forces. It is a joint venture between Russia's NPO Mashinostroeyenia and India's Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) through BrahMos Aerospace Private Limited.

The flypast will include the Sukhoi-30 MKI, the most potent fighter jet of Indian Air Force and another key venture between India and Russia.

This will be followed by the Indian Navy's MiG-29K and its IAF variant.

India was the first international customer of the MiG-29 when the IAF ordered more than 50 in 1980.

As for the US aircraft, all three will be making their debut at the parade.

Perhaps this is what is meant by not putting all your eggs in one basket.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 011162.cms
vdutta

Post by vdutta »

Lot of great pics of NSG and Delhi swat available on getty with new modern gear.

If anyone has getty account then please do post.

pandyan wrote:Arjun is not on display?
I am sure it will be, if not in IA colours, at least in DRDO's (like last year). Though I am hopeful of seeing one tank from the 43rd Armoured (the other one was 71st?), at least this year.
ravip

Post by ravip »

Singha wrote:Obama is NOT visiting agra and instead going to riyadh . so that part of the programme is cancelled and there should be no security in place for agra or any block of the yamuna expway now. not unless some babu didnt get the memo yet.

I do not the believe the americans bringing their own radars, SAMs and heh heh even F-35 here :rotfl:
generally the protocol they want for their AF1 is no other a/c should fly within a certain distance of it as it makes its way around the world and thats it. they do not bring along a fleet of F-15 for close escort or anything like that, neither they want the host countries to provide any fighter escort. the AF1 also has some kind of dummy or backup AF1 flying because yesterday in live telecast from andrews AFB I saw two of the E4 taking off close together. maybe the second plane carries the media and business leaders while first plane is for potus and his staff only.

I believe they have a total of 4 x E4 NEACP all heavily modded 747-200 chassis.
Obama is not visiting Agra because the Supreme Court in one of its judgment has issued directions that no carbon emitting vehicle is allowed near 500 meters of Taj. The GoI made arrangements for electric carts but the secret service backed off as they wanted the potus to be in beast, so it was cancelled.

As to Secret Service Agents, to everyones surprise on this forum they behave and speak to everyone around very politely, but only if there is apprehension they seek your credentials and call the host country security to move you from their way. It is same with SPG, had seen an incident happen in front of me in vigyan bhavan.

Indian Army has arjun regiment inducted then why roll Russian stuff on republic day???

Last time around there were many goof ups during republic day:
1. The original guest i.e. oman state head was invited and he didn't confirm his presence but also did not refuse the invitation, but the MEA babu went ahead as his confirmation but he refused at the last minute and we were forced to para drop Bhutan king to save face.

2. IAF tableau vehicle crashed near India gate, hope they have arranged tow vehicle this time around.

3. There is no arjun in DRDO parade, there are not many tableau to showcase, I guess due to too many things to be accommodated they have reduced DRDO things to 2-3.

ravip wrote:Last time around there were many goof ups during republic day:
1. The original guest i.e. oman state head was invited and he didn't confirm his presence but also did not refuse the invitation, but the MEA babu went ahead as his confirmation but he refused at the last minute and we were forced to para drop Bhutan king to save face.

2. IAF tableau vehicle crashed near India gate, hope they have arranged tow vehicle this time around.

3. There is no arjun in DRDO parade, there are not many tableau to showcase, I guess due to too many things to be accommodated they have reduced DRDO things to 2-3.
ravip-ji, I am not sure if you meant 2014 when you say 'last time around'. There was an Arjun tank in the 2014 parade, under DRDO colours.

Pliss to see at 1:34:00 elapsed:

[youtube]hayJ81ZuA2c?t=1h34m20s[/youtube]
ravip

Post by ravip »

The arjun thing I spoke is about this time. Posting from cell phone, so too many typo mistakes.

2014 Ashok Chakra:

http://indianarmy.nic.in/writereaddata/ ... kniraj.pdf

16012114A NAIK NEERAJ KUMAR SINGH
RAJPUTANA RIFLES / 57TH BATTALION THE RASHTRIYA RIFLES (POSTHUMOUS)
Based on specific intelligence Brigade Ghataks launched a Search and
Destroy Operation at General area Gurdaji of Kupwara district of Jammu
and Kashmir on 24 August 2014. At 1025 hours, party noticed
movement of few terrorists close to a Dhok, who opened indiscriminate
fire on own troops. In the ensuring fire fight, buddy of Naik Neeraj was
hit on bullet proof jacket. With utter disregard for his personal safety,
Naik Neeraj crawled and extricated his buddy. A terrorist threw grenades
and brought heavy fire on Naik Neeraj. In a daring act, he inched closer
to the terrorist and shot him dead. Simultaneously, the NCO was
attacked by another terrorist resulting in dropping of his Rifle and the
terrorist shot him in the chest. Despite grievous injuries, displaying
unparallel courage, he pounced on the terrorist, snatched his weapon
and killed him in hand to hand combat. He refused to be evacuated till
he became unconscious and was evacuated by helicopter to 92 Base
Hospital, where he succumbed to his injuries.
For displaying raw courage and most conspicuous gallantry in personally
eliminating two foreign terrorists and sacrificing his own life in the
highest traditions of the Indian Army, Naik Neeraj Kumar Singh is
recommended for the award of “ASHOK CHAKRA” (POSTHUMOUS).

http://indianarmy.nic.in/writereaddata/ ... ardhan.pdf

Kirti Chakra

SUBEDAR AJAY VARDHAN, 14 GARH RIF (POSTHUMOUS)
In December 2014, he was tasked to reinforce a locality on a mountain range once
some information was received of likely infiltration from the Line of Control. Enroute
to the forward locality, his team encountered a group of terrorists deployed on a
height. The JCO deployed his men and challenged the infiltrators which resulted in
exchange of fire. He closed in with the terrorists and shot dead one terrorist who
was firing from a flank. He passed crucial information of terrorists’ location and
strength to the Battalion Headquarter & balance operational teams and continued
engaging the terrorists. When one of team members got a Gunshot wound, he
immediately administered first aid by crawling to the soldier.
Later, he tasked a team of four men to move to a flank and target the terrorists.
While the operational sub team was on its way, another one of the soldier sustained
a gunshot wound. Very soon, two of the terrorists inched closer to the wounded
soldier and attempted to encircle him. Realizing the grave danger to his team
member, Subedar Ajay Vardhan with utter disregard for own safety charged at the
terrorists and shot dead one from close quarters. He engaged the balance terrorists
with accurate fire as he pulled the injuried Rifleman to the safety of a boulder.
Realizing the danger posed by Subedar Ajay Vardhan, the terrorist leader who was
on the hillock, shot at and grievously injured him. Despite grave Gun Shot Wounds
to his head and body, the valiant JCO continued motivating his team while informing
the Battalion Headquarter and other operational teams to rush in. He continued
engaging the terrorists and kept them pinned down till such time another team
reinforced him, thereby preventing their escape and eventual neutralization. The
valiant stance of the Junior Commisioned Officer resulted in the elimination of six
hardcore terrorists of Lashkar-e-Taiba.

it would be paradeful if lca is planned for a fly past! Obama will salute with glee for its AmirKhan engine.
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

List of Awardees RDP 2015

Ashok Chakra

1. Maj M Varadarajan (Posthumous) - 44 Rashtriya Rifles (Rajput)
2. Nk Neeraj Singh (Posthumous) - 57 Rashtriya Rifles (Rajputana Rifles)

Kirti Chakra

1. Capt Jaidev - 3 Rashtriya Rifles (10 Para SF)
2. Sub Ajay Vardhan (Posthumous) - 14 Garhwal Rifles
3. Nb Sub KB Gurung - 15 Rashtriya Rifles (1st Gurkha Rifles)

Shaurya Chakra

1. Lt Col Sankalp Kumar (Posthumous) - 24 Punjab
2. Maj Mukul Sharma - 4 Para SF
3. Maj Abhijai (Posthumous) - 39 Indep R&O Flight (Engineers)
4. Maj AK Pandey - 44 Rashtriya Rifles (Rajput)
5. Maj R Vamshi Krishnan - 50 Rashtriya Rifles (Engineers)
6. Maj B Dhondiyal - 5/5 Gurkha Rifles (Frontier Force)
7. Nk Swarup Ghorai - 20 Mahar
8. Ptr Balvinder Singh (Posthumous) - 1 Para SF
9. Rfn Manga Ram - 3 J&K Rifles
vaibhav.n

Post by vaibhav.n »

Rohit, they have mentioned the DCB in the citation.....

Don't shoot, but why are these brave Guards of Honor and Dignity each wearing a blue and white striped turkey towel stuffed into their belts as if they were going to clean tables as waiters in a restaurant? Did someone get the uniform wrong?

They are also not trained to all look in the same direction regardless of transient distractions like the Wing Co and POTUS BO passing in front of them. The difference tells, comparing with pics of similar Guards of H&D from well-trained armies...

Guy at right end is slouching, belt is halfway up to his armpit. Next one is looking straight ahead because he can't see, his cap has fallen over his eyes. Next is looking at derriere-de-BO, cap is only half covering his eyes. #4 is asleep on his feet, about to fall over. #5 is looking up (only way he can see from under his cap) and at 60 degrees to his left, surely at BO. His belt is way up above his diaphragm. #7 is sort-of awake, eyes only moving, but has a cap of a different color from everyone else.

If this is what India would describe as
Q: Why were you selected for this Guard of Honor, Lt?
A: BECAUSE V R THE BEST OF THE BEST OF THE BEST, SSIRR!!!
then India has a problem. Better to have Guards of Honor done by units in full camouflage uniform, wearing balaclavas. At least their grandkids won't cringe when they see the pic because they can't recognize them.

UB, thats sunlight in their eyes in all likelihood. Also the pic is taken as they are turning. Will look bad.

But dont go by that alone. Take a look at the coordination displayed here & then consider what it would ahve taken to be part of that guard of honor. Those are .303s with bayonets.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvin3IxWbrQ
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U2rwglGfsUY

PS: Look above your post to see what these soldiers are capable of, as versus "brave soldiers of H&D in other armies" who look great on the parade ground. Courage on the battlefield though..
Last edited by Karan M on 26 Jan 2015 04:13, edited 1 time in total.

UlanBatori wrote:Don't shoot, but why are these brave Guards of Honor and Dignity each wearing a blue and white striped turkey towel stuffed into their belts as if they were going to clean tables as waiters in a restaurant? Did someone get the uniform wrong?

They are also not trained to all look in the same direction regardless of transient distractions like the Wing Co and POTUS BO passing in front of them. The difference tells, comparing with pics of similar Guards of H&D from well-trained armies...

<SNIP>
Always good to ask if you don't know something rather than launch into a rant, no?

The 'towel' is called Cummerbund - and no, it is not a British legacy; rather British adopted custom of local troops of wearing 'kamarband' (cloth tied around the waist) and today, you've it as part of formal evening attire in civilian street as well. But we digress.

If you look at the troops in the pic below ( Rajput Regiment, just love their red colored head-gear, the color associated with warrior clan), you'll see the same 'towel'. As with other Infantry/marching contingents.

http://nimg.sulekha.com/others/original ... 5-34-3.jpg

As for soldiers from the Guard of Honor looking in different direction - well, the drill is to slave your eyes to the dignitary and move your head as we moves past you. That's why the guy on left in the picture has his head turned fully to his left following POTUS and Guard Commander while others are in process of doing so!

Here are couple of pics from Guard of Honor for you:

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/multimedi ... 65456c.jpg

http://www.news.gov.sg/public/sgpc/en/m ... 0issue.JPG

http://www.aninews.in/multiple_image/BI ... 006647.jpg

PS: Guard of Honor contingent in all the pics is sporting the 'towel' with their regimental color!

Particularly ironic (nvm distasteful) that that comment had to be posted on a day when India will be remembering those very 'towel wearing soldiers' who did minor things like fight terrorists hand to hand, despite being critically wounded, above and beyond the call of duty.

I think most grandkids wont cringe, because those grandkids might be talking about how the rest of the country is safe thanks to their grandfathers.

Here is a video which captures this particular Guard of Honor ceremony.

Watch from 3:40 on wards to see how the head orientation happens (and also see the 'towels' worn by the Infantry battalion on ceremonial duty and part of this tri-service contingent)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANcPSYgibhg
ManuJ

Post by ManuJ »

whatever the reasons may be, this IAF guard of honor contingent doesn't look as sharp and alert as it should in this particular snap. Maybe it just captured them at the wrong moment, but still...

UlanBatori wrote:Don't shoot, but why are these brave Guards of Honor and Dignity each wearing a blue and white striped turkey towel stuffed into their belts as if they were going to clean tables as waiters in a restaurant? Did someone get the uniform wrong?

Guy at right end is slouching, belt is halfway up to his armpit. Next one is looking straight ahead because he can't see, his cap has fallen over his eyes. Next is looking at derriere-de-BO, cap is only half covering his eyes. #4 is asleep on his feet, about to fall over. #5 is looking up (only way he can see from under his cap) and at 60 degrees to his left, surely at BO. His belt is way up above his diaphragm. #7 is sort-of awake, eyes only moving, but has a cap of a different color from everyone else.

If this is what India would describe as
Q: Why were you selected for this Guard of Honor, Lt?
A: BECAUSE V R THE BEST OF THE BEST OF THE BEST, SSIRR!!!
then India has a problem. Better to have Guards of Honor done by units in full camouflage uniform, wearing balaclavas. At least their grandkids won't cringe when they see the pic because they can't recognize them.
Towels and Waiters... I can't believe the comments I am reading

Sir you have no idea ....

I have sat on the hot blazing sands with another 20 of my friends watching our fathers unit prepare for major inspection by the Brigade Commander and special visit by Army Commander.
Shoes were shined for hours, stitching was checked and rechecked, the entire family was on stand by to meet the needs of one man.
They looked beautiful to us.... we loved the loud commands, the hairs stood on the back of our necks hearing them roar because we felt tigers were on the battle field rallying their troops.

Aj Ek Sherni ko dekha. I salute the WingCo, she has done an admirable job.

RESPECT RESPECT RESPECT

now does anyone have the link to the doordarshan live streaming ?

those doubting our men and women of IAF
see the precision @ 26 minutes and 01 seconds (to the band)

Much better res but there is double intake of the sound bytes... something went wrong for the DD Guys

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ICQUnJ2eBc

Predictable huffing and puffing, but I was describing what I saw in the picture and what I still see in the picture. I would not have made any remark if they looked like a Military Guard of Honor is supposed to look - not like a line of giggling school kids.

I assume that this squad could realize that as the guest and the WC marched past, was the moment of most importance in the ceremony, and a well-trained, well-disciplined squad would have snapped to attention and moved as a single cohesive unit while the cameras were rolling. They were there representing their comrades and the nation. That photo will be seen by people all over the world. As such, I am disappointed to see the level of discipline, precision and coordination seen. Their commanding officer has no reason to feel satisfied about this performance.

All this huffing and puffing about what the Indian Armed Forces have done (obviously not this bunch..) is quite laughable - oh, yeah, I didn't know anything about all that until you educated me, thank you very much.

Your generation of military types consider this to be just fine? In that case, yes, India has a problem. In my day, my NCC squad instructor would have yanked on our belts if they were not tight and properly worn. If we slouched while standing at attention we would be running around the parade ground with a rifle over our heads. If we were looking in 5 different directions at attention, the whole squad would be marching until we moved as a unit.

These professional soldiers of India don't know how to wear their uniforms?

What is missing from their behavior is the sense of respect for their mission and pride in their profession and tradition. IOW, "chalta hai". They look like what they are: GOI Babus. Aphsars of the GOI. That is the truth.

Khalsa and RV, I think is time to have a short note on regimental traditions so folks can get familiar. Say some thing with full dress uniform and what each part is called and why it is worn.

When Mongolians start calling cummerbunds towels time for education.

problem is with the mongolians

The youtube videos linked by rohitvats and khalsa are just fantastic. Barvo

Congratulations India on setting up a successful republic and a constitution that gives a fair chance to each and every citizen of the country. Jai Hind.

kamar bands made a round trip from India to Paris and back to Delhi (sic) as an accessory for the well dressed chOTa lords.

ramana wrote:Khalsa and RV, I think is time to have a short note on regimental traditions so folks can get familiar. Say some thing with full dress uniform and what each part is called and why it is worn.

When Mongolians start calling cummerbunds towels time for education.
Agreed !! .... I remember coming across a nice desc of men of different regts(IA) ... let me dig that up and hopefully with pics too.

By the way from Ulanbator, cummerbund is called Kammar_Kasa in Punjab ... still worn by Akalis today and Guru Gobind Singh too in those days before the brits arrived ...
or maybe he was just being a waiter to the mughal emperor :D

My UlanBator urf NCC cadet your fascination to show the honor guard with knee and ankle guards with black ski mask and balaclava reminds of a regiment ready for action or a sequence from the battlefield games too much on the xbox, If you don't like what you see..... watch the parades from the country of your choice. No one is shoving it down your throat ... that said you are welcome to criticise but sharafaat se.

They, no matter what, are serving the flag this very moment. You and me ... are NOT

deleted
Last edited by sunilUpa on 26 Jan 2015 08:03, edited 1 time in total.

Kammar Bandh (ie. cummerbund) is also worn even by USAF in formal dress uniform. Calling them towels displays total ignorance. What kind of NCC were you in.

What time does the parade start? Is there live streaming of that in the USA?

News channels suggest there would not be a IAF flypast, reason being bad weather. If its because of no fly zone for Obama, this is bad.

UlanBatori wrote:Predictable huffing and puffing, but I was describing what I saw in the picture and what I still see in the picture. I would not have made any remark if they looked like a Military Guard of Honor is supposed to look - not like a line of giggling school kids.
UB, for a while I could not believe this was actually you posting from Outer Mongolia? :-? You seriously decided to make all those judgments from a still picture (eyes closed etc)? This guard of honour is no different than any others given in the past to visiting heads of state so I am surprised at the "scooter helmet" type objections you are putting up. BTW the guy in the different cap is from the Navy - this is an inter-services guard of honour rather than an IAF one.

Or perhaps its a piskology experiment ala shiv being engineered by you in which case I am sorry to say, it is incredibly mistimed and in bad taste.
ManSingh

Post by ManSingh »

Somebody from SHQ's side will unfurl the flag on Republic Day: Manipuri officer to unfurl Tricolor

More and more I see small elegant touches of the Modi Effect. It is totally alarming to finally realize how compromised our country was under the Congress dynasty for the last 60 years.

Happy Republic day to all

Looks pretty gloomy at the parade. If the flypast is cancelled no ulterior motives need be attributed. It happened before.

Ulanbatori, let us all be thankful to the Lord that they did not do the "NYPD salute for sombre occasions" to this chap, who is holding Headley in "protective custody". NCC does not yet train that way.

Dilli need to train its photographers and allow less personal space for marches (within prescribed Marine gay-limits) etc, like they do over there in DC. And balloons. Lots of balloons in tri-color would have helped take our eyes of those pots bought off a FabIndia sale

As for turkey-towels, those are mere local cultural piffles. Some use car-wash brushes for cleaning up after POTUS

Why does Ombaba chew gum? Is it a Nicorette gum?