Re: US strike options on TSP

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US-2

Shreeman wrote:I know a thing or two about back injuries -- speedy recovery indeed. This is likely the father of some immigrant, who chose to walk past an angry patrol.

In Madison they probably couldnt tell him apart from any other black.
I wonder if Modi can host a prayer breakfast for Gujaratis and tell the audience they, like everyone else. have to be mindful of their own faults, adding, only recently I was in America, a wonderful place, but as we know from poor Mr. Patel's experience, they have cases of racist police violence that would make Bull Connor very happy.

I hope (but don't expect) that the Indian embassy will intervene on behalf of its citizen and hire a lawyer to sue the City of Madison.

Look, from the perspective of understanding the US, you will get shot just for trying to make a U turn on someone's private property/driveway. Thats how things are. No point in hiding basic facts that result in serious injury/death. Same thing with health insurance. It is all in the aid of "persuading" people to be homogeneous, and mostly white (or black in a black neighborhood/ghetto).

From a perspective of politics, minor pinpricks only work on India. The media shaming has no impact in the US, noone watches or believes a word unless its Oprah/Jerry Springer/John Stewart.

Modi should focus on governing India. The Indian government should have provided consular support to Mr Patel. But you know how well that works. Symbolism is not worth a dime in the real world.

The old man may face no charges, but there sure is going to be no action taken against the cop. Or the neighbor. That is how things work today, and TV appearances arent goung to change them.

Five ywars is not a long time. Modi ought to be focussing on making at least one real improvement -- in roads/transport, wster, power, or education. The rest of the nonsense isnt keeping him in power in 5 years.
Shankk

Post by Shankk »

Shreeman wrote:Yet this young woman was waltzing in and out of syria time and again. She had internet access wherever she went...There is no "agency" that has come forward and represented for her...No, this is not how humanitarian aid works today...This is a religion thing. Or it is a job thing.
This is not a religious thing. This is a job thing. She was employed by the agency and not the kind you are thinking of. One of the alphabet soup agencies. Hence the reason to be there and be able to be so agile in such an hostile environment.

Shreeman wrote:Look, from the perspective of understanding the US, you will get shot just for trying to make a U turn on someone's private property/driveway.
Shreeman ji: I have done it several hundereds of times if not thousands of times in all parts of the US and am still alive to tell all about it. But then I mostly (or even exclusively) was in the north. No idea how things work south of Culp-e-pper.

^^^ Please do take this advice seriously. In the wrong neighborhood or in any rural area, backing into the wrong drive way is a sign of wanting to "load" things. You are trespassing, and *many* people will not hesitate before sending lead your way.

Not having encountered a gun -- have you been mugged yet? -- does not mean this is not sound advice. The first time someone places the barrel on your forehead you will regret the lack of preparedness.

Most indians would also think that fighting off a robber would be a good idea. It is NOT. Give the man what he asks for, and dont make any other moves. You might still get whipped afterward if your goods are not up to his expectation. But you will live to tell others about it. At least there is a higher chance.

Now, dont tell me you would not advise people of this either. Interacting with a. cops, b. robbers, and c. strangers are standard advice. Any university will have reams of advice on this for both incoming internationals, and freshmen.

Touch wood, and dont press your luck by trespassing.

ps -- I do know itchy trigger texans genuinely scared of being robbed who dont understand how I can be so anti-gun. thr situation is no different in CA or MD or NYC or MA.

edit -- http://www.chron.com/news/us/article/Mo ... 076807.php , and you are not even german.

This morning, I had the great luck of finding out just how intrusive monitoring of your activities is, in the US. I do not, as a rule, post anywhere outside NRF.

However, I do read whatever google throws up. Today, the internet provider decided I can not visit militaryphotos.net

No explanation, or justification. If I want to get any packets from militaryphotos.net, I have to VPN.
They can pick and choose which websites you can/can not visit. And you have no recourse. There is a denied websites per IP list.

Oh, what a glorious world it is. Much freedom. And that too while it lasts.

Edit -- the overlord is comcast. So you may not know it, but anything you do is probably only because it is in the "permitted" category for now. this is my personal connection. And I dont do much with it except browse the internet (as in little to no youtube), most of it is google mail, here, or news.google.com.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

There was this link posted in the intelligence thread claiming that the US govt. has the encryption keys for each and every sim card provided by each and every wireless cell provider in the US -- it is just as easy for the govt. to tap your wireless phone as it was to tap into your land line in the past. This is what freedom, liberty and democracy is all about -- Indians will never understand why the US is the best when it comes to democracy and freedom.

The real issue in Amrika is that the "law enforcement" were never really designed for serving the society. They were morphed into civil servants much later in American history.

In that light, even a hardcore socialist in Amrika agrees that there is something ominous about police unions, which is one of the two employee unions I support breaking and shredding. The other one being the Prison guard union. There is no place for unionism within a govt. department of any kind. It is a one way street to fascism.

The article below argues that it has always been fascist from day one in Amrika. Just that awareness is more acute in current day situation.

https://www.jacobinmag.com/2014/01/the- ... -unionism/

Worth a read, IMO. Notable quotes below:
As Kristian Williams documents in Our Enemies in Blue, professionalized policing arose in the United States amid urbanization in the 1820s and 1830s. Controlling “dangerous” classes (principally of the industrial working variety), more than ameliorating any pronounced spike in crime, was the reason for its formation. The institution had its roots in slave patrols, which were established to control the behavior of slaves — the “dangerous” classes of that day.

In the late 1800s, when more workers banded together to improve their situation, elites once again blanched. Police broke up strikes, confiscated pro-labor newspapers, and arrested radicals. States like Pennsylvania set up forces to deal with labor stoppages. Free speech and free association were subordinated to private property.

Some people here were wondering why the Border Patrol Pandu in the airport is becoming more and more rude, harsh and irrational, and the answer to it is here:

And police unions aren’t even the worst actors.

In the hovel of coercive unionism, the California prison guards union (the California Correctional Peace Officers Association) is the leader. The organization has long defined itself as separate from the mainstream labor movement. Politically, the California prison guards aren’t wedded to the Democratic Party, and institutionally, they’re not affiliated with either of the nation’s labor federations. The association has proven its ability to parlay mass incarceration into increased political power, membership, and dues. They bankroll “victim’s rights” groups, they fight anti-incarceration referenda, they funnel millions to Democrats and Republicans who adopt law-and-order stances.

When tougher sentencing became the new norm several decades ago, the organization was small — membership totaled about five thousand, and their budget didn’t crack a half a million dollars. They now represent more than thirty thousand correctional officers. In 2008 alone, they spent nearly $5 million to elect sympathetic candidates and, more importantly, to defeat a ballot measure seeking to reduce the prison population through treatment instead of incarceration. Other prison-guard unions have benefited from the prison boom, but none have been able to capitalize on the carceral state as well as the CCPOA. The union looks at the marginalized and sees an opportunity for enrichment.

Two of the CCPOA’s ideological cousins are the National Border Patrol Council (NBPC) and the National ICE Council. Unlike the CCPOA, the two are inhabitants of the House of Labor — they’re member unions of the American Federation of Government Employees, which is affiliated with the AFL-CIO. On immigration, however, they’ve bucked the federation’s pro-reform line (a line that has already conceded far too much to the Right).

Above all, both organizations are interested in more enforcement — despite the Obama administration’s deportation of undocumented immigrants at a faster rate than any previous president. The two groups’ preferred term for undocumented immigrants is “illegal aliens,” of course. ICE Council President Chris Crane, the New York Times wrote in June, has been “the most frequent witness on Capitol Hill during this year’s immigration debate and the favorite expert of conservative critics of the Senate measure.”

On top of trying to scuttle any path to citizenship, the border-patrol union has resisted efforts to restrict its violent mandate. “If you don’t throw rocks at Border Patrol agents,” the NBPC’s charming vice president said in November, “you won’t be shot.”
Ironically, these are the descendants of the original illegal aliens.

http://www.politico.com/story/2015/02/rudy-giuliani-president-obama-doesnt-love-america-115309.html
Rudy Giuliani went straight for the jugular Wednesday night during a private group dinner here featuring Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker by openly questioning whether President Barack Obama “loves America.”
The former New York mayor, speaking in front of the 2016 Republican presidential contender and about 60 right-leaning business executives and conservative media types, directly challenged Obama’s patriotism, discussing what he called weak foreign policy decisions and questionable public remarks when confronting terrorists.

“I do not believe, and I know this is a horrible thing to say, but I do not believe that the president loves America,” Giuliani said during the dinner at the 21 Club, a former Prohibition-era speakeasy in midtown Manhattan. “He doesn’t love you. And he doesn’t love me. He wasn’t brought up the way you were brought up and I was brought up through love of this country.”
With Walker sitting just a few seats away, Giuliani continued by saying that “with all our flaws we’re the most exceptional country in the world. I’m looking for a presidential candidate who can express that, do that and carry it out.”

“And if it’s you Scott, I’ll endorse you,” he added. “And if it’s somebody else, I’ll support somebody else.”
In an interview after the dinner — Walker aides insisted all of the governor’s comments were off the record — Giuliani said he would “eventually” back a Republican presidential candidate. He also elaborated on his criticism of Obama by arguing the president “sees our weaknesses as footnotes to the great things we’ve done.”
“What country has left so many young men and women dead abroad to save other countries without taking land? This is not the colonial empire that somehow he has in his hand. I’ve never felt that from him. I felt that from [George] W. [Bush]. I felt that from [Bill] Clinton. I felt that from every American president, including ones I disagreed with, including [Jimmy] Carter. I don’t feel that from President Obama.”
Giuliani then recalled his own comments condemning several major episodes from the early 1990s when Jews were targeted in Argentina and the Crown Heights section of Brooklyn. That hard-line approach, Giuliani said, stands in contrast to the way Obama touched off a storm earlier this month during the National Prayer Breakfast by citing the Crusades and the Spanish Inquisition as Christian examples of the way many religions have perpetrated horrible acts.

“I thought the Crown Heights riots were a pogrom because you’re going out trying to kill Jews,” Giuliani said. “Why is this man incapable of saying that? You’ve got to be able to criticize Islam for the parts of Islam that are wrong. You criticize Christianity for the part of Christianity that is wrong. I’m not sure how wrong the Crusades are. The Crusades were kind of an equal battle between two groups of barbarians. The Muslims and the crusading barbarians. What the hell? What’s wrong with this man that he can’t stand up and say there’s a part of Islam that’s sick?”

Worth a paragraph or two discussing the nature of these -- http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-31582463

When it is convenient, call the national security adviser just an aide - http://www.nytimes.com/2015/02/26/us/po ... -ties.html
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Apparently, and I have heard this from people who edit newspapers for a living, the headline writers for articles are completely different people than the ones who actually write or edit articles and those headline writers operate on use only X words, though in this case using NSA would have been just as effective. In Indian newpapers the headline has no relation to the article at all in most cases...sloppy editors and sloppy headline writers combination in all cases, it seems.

They could do a page-3 approach, and have wider readership. But that would be beneath the moral standards! 3003s do sell processed wood pulp.

As they go out of fashion these outlets are now reduced to peddling whatever will fill pages. In this particular, they want to make sure no one reads it beyond the headline, particularly the neuyork jews.

This same congress had no time for Modi. This same congress had special sessions for random lame leaders. This same congress will bow to eleven when he visits.

But selling out to netenyahu -- effectively deciding that he can speak for US on foreign policy is a new low. Buy while the stock is down, who knows like jack straw other loyalties may be just as malleable.

This sort of thing is becoMing, sadly, all too common -- http://www.latimes.com/nation/nationnow ... story.html

Why Do Women Vote Republican?
66 percent of Republican women versus 49 percent of Republican men would like to see America become more theocratic.
The gender divide persists when the poll looks at which potential primary candidates male and female Republicans support. ..
Politicians who are seen as more libertarian or more supportive of corporate interests (Rand Paul, Scott Walker) get more love from men, whereas candidates that are more on the Bible-thumping side of the equation (Mike Huckabee) are more popular with women. Of all potential candidates, Huckabee had the highest favorability rating among women.
This data, which jibes with countless studies that have shown that women are more likely to be religious than men, helps answer that question: It's religion.

Tweet
Sovereign California ‏@Sovereign_CA 3h3 hours ago
Our initiative (15-006) puts California on the path to becoming an autonomous region of the United States. :eek:

^^^ Yes, and these kooks are fewer than those survivalist morons hiding in bunkers waiting for the world to end. It is very easy to delude yourself in the US to proclaim themselves the "sovereign". You know there is a functioning "republic of texas" right?

An article about crime against natives:
Violence against indigenous women

An improvement, affected amid 'resistance'
01 Mar 2013
Can laws protect Native American women?
It is an act that sought to strengthen the US justice system in dealing with violence and sexual assault against women. It was first passed in 1994 and renewed in 2000 and 2005.
But an updated version of the bill which sought to extend protections to immigrants, gays and lesbians, and Native Americans was met with stiff resistance by many Republicans in the House of Representatives.
As a result, a bill which historically enjoyed bipartisan support took more than a year to finally be reauthorised.
Very strange why the Republicans clubbed violence against natives with immigrants, or for that matter gays and lesbians. It took hundreds of years to have a law that gives same level of legal protection against violence as the rest of civilized enjoy.

A very good argument in support of independence.
Bharath.Subramanyam

Post by Bharath.Subramanyam »

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/20 ... al-family/

Less than half of U.S. kids today live in a ‘traditional’ family

Another ten more years we might not need this thread. Especially if Billary gets elected.

Ramana, I cringe at the 2016 field. You want Scott walker? That would be a Lalu Yadav, or worse Giani Zail singh. Its a repeat of 2000, with voters much much worse off. Billary is the least of the problems (and she probably doesnt get the nomination).

DOJ: Ferguson PD engaged in racially biased policing
Kevin Johnson and Yamiche Alcindor, USA TODAY 4:17 p.m. EST March 3, 2015
A Justice Department review has found that Missouri's troubled Ferguson Police Department engaged in a pattern of racially biased enforcement when stopping suspects and were more likely to use unreasonable force against African-American suspects, according to a law enforcement official familiar with the findings.
In 88% of cases in which Ferguson police documented the use of force, that force was used against African Americans, according to the official who is not authorized to comment publicly. In addition, in all 14 canine bite incidents in which the suspect's race is known, the person bitten was African American.
African Americans account for 67% of the population in Ferguson, but they accounted for 85% of the drivers stopped by police, 90% of the people issued tickets and 93% of the people arrested, a three-year examination of suspect stops found.
African Americans were more than twice as likely than white drivers to be searched during vehicle stops, but 26% less likely to have contraband, the review found.
The Ferguson Police Department often charged its black residents with petty crimes. African Americans accounted for 95% of the people charged with walking in the street and 92% of people charged with disturbing the peace.
Investigators also found racist e-mails sent among employees of the police department and the Ferguson Municipal Court, including stereotyping jokes about black men being unemployed and black women giving birth to criminals.
The Justice findings, while not unexpected, come six months after the fatal shooting of a black teenager by then-Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson.
The full Justice Department report, which could be disclosed Wednesday, is the result of a broad examination of policing in Ferguson where the August shooting of Michael Brown prompted waves of protest across the country and a re-examination of law enforcement's relationships with minority communities.
"This confirms what we have previously stated, that the actions of the killer of Michael Brown had to do with a systemic problem within the Ferguson Police Department," Benjamin Crump, an attorney for Brown's family, said. "The report shows that there were others treated inappropriately like we feel Mike Brown was treated inappropriately."
Similar cases in other cities indicate such problems are widespread, Crump said.
"We have to work on a remedy to address this multi-city, multi-state epidemic all across America that has such adverse effects on communities of color and that is taking the lives of citizens," he said.
Ferguson resident Iyanla Doyle, 24, said the findings confirm what she's already witnessed from living in the city.
"It's beyond sad because Michael Brown wasn't the first black male who was killed by a police officer and he's not going to be the last," Doyle said. "They should look at all these police departments because everyone might be doing the same thing."
She hopes the government will disband the Ferguson Police Department and bring in an outside agency.
"We need officers who really care about people instead of making money and locking people up," she said.
DeRay McKesson, 29, a Minneapolis schools human relations executive who joined the Ferguson protests, agrees.
"The Ferguson Police Department shouldn't exist," McKesson said. "They have proven themselves incompetent and racist."
The report shows Wilson "was not an exception, but he was the rule," McKesson said. "Systems and structures influence the way people act. And, the systems and structures in Ferguson empowered and protected Darren Wilson."​
Contributing: Donna Leinwand Leger

Hindu prayer opens Senate; seven senators stay outside chamber

More juicy details about the maturity for the civilized senator and his constituents who support him

Hindu prayer draws fire from North Idaho senator
Sen. Steve Vick, R-Dalton Gardens, says he'll walk out if a Hindu prayer opens the Idaho Senate on Tuesday morning.

"They have a caste system," Vick said. "They worship cows."

He acknowledged that the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution allows any kind of prayer, but said he thinks the Hindu one shouldn't be allowed to open the Senate, as the United States was "built on the Judeo-Christian not only religion but work ethic, and I don't want to see that undermined."

"I'm very supportive of the way this country was built, and I don't want us to move away from it," Vick said.
Vick took to social media over the weekend to vent his displeasure about the plan for a Hindu prayer in the Senate, telling his Facebook followers, "I am working to get it stopped."

He told The Spokesman-Review on Monday he's had strong support from his North Idaho constituents for his stand.

"They've all been supportive of the effort to not allow the Hindu prayer in the Senate chambers," he said.

"It goes back to my concern about the way this country was built, if you compare it to a country that was built on the Hindu faith," Vick said.

He said allowing the prayer could "send a message we're not happy with the way America is."
To be fair, if you read the comments section, many Americans (assuming they are Americans of non-Hindu background) are also embarrassed about what these senators did.

Idaho..... values the country was built upon...... yes the dastardly Hindus......http://www.lemhi-shoshone.com/bear-river-massacre.html#

Frankly, I would be upset too if they tried a hindu prayer in the church assembly? It is no place to try ghar-wapsi. You do that with "low" priced copies of fake religious books in airports, restaurants, and yoga studios.

It would be another thing if there was a religious book in every hotel room or something. I mean that is a core value. A printed copy of a certain book in each hotel room just to sooth the senses instead of the high priced pay per view things charged to the company's dime.

Also, you could go door to door trying to invite people to join in prayer, of this book or that. No, not the towelhead variety. Strictly. All towelhead varieties are out. Everyone, take note, no beards and no towelheads. It changes the values the country was built upon.

I was there, this is what happened. They said lets go over there and make a country. And then they said, yeah, but only the cool kids no darkies or towelheads. Nobody tell them we are making a new country over there. And thats exactly what they did.

This is also Alabama, and the events are worth paying attention to: http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/03/ ... 3820150304

In keeping with the wrong place/wrong time tradition, I draw your attention to -- http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/ne ... n-20150304

The scott walkers will soon appear the moderate and enlightened in comparison.

Just so you know, the entire tradition of ruining anything left standing -- individual freedoms, roght to expression, seaparate state/religion, right to a lawyer -- is based on one thing and one thing alone. Somebpdy did something bad to me, and now everyone will pay, forever.

LAPD officers shoot and kill homeless man after street altercation
A video taken by a passerby appears to show police officers wrestling the man to the ground before shots are heard

The Obama team’s campaigns against American allies, like Netanyahu, and domestic rivals, like Clinton, is evidence that it’s more than politically savvy enough to bring its adversaries to their knees. But, as I’ve argued previously, the administration’s negotiating team isn’t getting outmaneuvered by Javad Zarif and his colleagues because they’re too stupid to know better. They see Iran as America’s new partner in the Middle East—and they are determined to make that partnership stick, come hell or high water.
http://tabletmag.com/jewish-news-and-po ... ton-emails

If Obama is inveigling Iran to come out as per this Israeli mouthpiece, this is good news for India. A break in the Anglosaxon wahabi alliance is a godsend for Indians, Russians, Iranians and all other groups.

Last time when Iran and America partnered it was not good for India. Recall 60s and 70s , Shah's regional ambitions, support to Pakis against India etc

On an average 87 people are shot dead in the US every day?

Nothing good will come to India if US and Iran reach rapproachment. It also opens up more opportunities for Iran & Pak to cooperate with each other. Effectively, we'll have 2 regimes to our west which are tied to USA. This is encirclement on all sides.

Many Indians have this romantic attachment to "Persia"....as if any Persian imperial potentate's ambitions were ever good for India, both now & in pre-Islamic times???

Devesh,

The US/Iran rapproachment is not US/bahrain relationship. In the short term, a positive outcome (very unlikely) may open the chahbahar port to AFG. It is upto india to put down steel and asphalt to then properly secure AFG.

The opportunity may not arise. But in the unlikely event it does, will India be ready to move forward?
sooraj

Post by sooraj »

Obama Takes Care of Family Business
Offs Bibi, Hillary and now Senator Robert Menendez

http://tabletmag.com/scroll/189516/obam ... y-business
This week, the White House took a page from Michael Corleone’s handbook and settled family business with opponents or potential opponents of the administration’s hoped-for-deal with Iran. First there was Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who told a joint meeting of Congress Tuesday that it was a bad deal—and was subjected to a withering stream of abuse from Administration officials, who accused him of betraying America and violating “protocol.” Next was Hillary Clinton, the presumptive 2016 Democratic nominee for president, whose use of a private email account while she worked as secretary of state was trumpeted by current and former Administration officials to pliant reporters all week long—even though this story is two years old. The latest domino to fall is New Jersey Senator Robert Menendez, who is apparently going to be indicted on charges of criminal corruption—which were leaked to reporters before the indictment was filed.

According to CNN, “the government’s case centers on Menendez’s relationship with Salomon Melgen, a Florida ophthalmologist who the senator has called a friend and political supporter. Melgen and his family have been generous donors to the senator and various committees the senator is associated with.”

As some have noted, Menendez may well be guilty of the charges brought against him. But the question many are asking is, why now? Well it’s hard to miss the fact that the March 24 deadline for a nuclear agreement with Iran is right around the corner—and Menendez has distinguished himself as the most prominent Democratic opponent of the administration’s Iran policy. Just a month and a half ago, he savaged the White House from the Senate floor: “The more I hear from the administration and its quotes,” Menendez said, “the more it sounds like talking points that come straight out of Tehran.”

As Ken Boehm of the National Legal and Policy Center, a watchdog organization that’s kept close tabs on Menendez, told Alana Goodman of the Washington Free Beacon last year, “Menendez is not well-liked by the administration,” Boehm said. “They would like to see him kicked out as the chairman of the Foreign Relations [Committee] … So is there politics like that involved? Who knows?”

As I argued earlier today, the reason the Hillary Clinton private email story is suddenly making a huge splash this week—two years after it was first reported—is because the White House has been giving the story as much oxygen as possible, essentially threatening to hurt her if she expresses any concerns about the administration’s hoped-for deal with Iran. “So far, the White House has managed to keep Democratic lawmakers in line,” I wrote, “no matter how much they seem to question the wisdom of the proposed deal. Hillary Clinton, gearing up for a 2016 run in which she is likely to put some distance between herself and Obama’s dubious Middle East policies, is the one major national Democratic figure who can give Democrats in Congress cover.”

After White House allies and assets went after their primary Iran target, Clinton, it was only a matter of time before they went after number two—the Democrat who has worked with Republican senators to co-sponsor important legislation on Iran. Most recently, there’s the Corker-Menendez bill, which “says President Obama must submit the text of any final Iran arms deal to Congress within 60 days to allow time for hearings and a vote.” But that’s not the way the White House wants it. They want an open field, with no one standing in the way. And now the message couldn’t be clearer to any Democrat who thinks of stepping out of line: We’ll come after you, too, we have the goods.

It’s a good thing for the regime in Tehran they never did anything to get on Obama’s bad side, or who knows? Ali Khamenei, Hassan Rouhani, Javad Zarif, and Qassem Suleimani also might have found themselves sleeping with the fishes—right alongside Bibi, Hillary, and now Menendez, who may soon find himself reprising the role of Senator Geary from Godfather II, in the hopes of staying out of jail:

The noble Amirkhan tradition continues
http://legalschnauzer.blogspot.in/2015/02/is-alabama-cover-up-under-way-to.html
Who made the decision to charge Officer Eric Parker with a misdemeanor in the body-slamming assault on Sureshbhai Patel, a 57-year-old grandfather from India? We have yet to find anyone who wants to take "credit" for the decision--and maybe that's because the decision is wrong.

Under the facts and law of the case, Parker should be charged with a felony. That he isn't suggests someone in authority is trying to protect law enforcement in Madison, Alabama, from even more embarrassment than it's already received because of the Patel incident.
http://legalschnauzer.blogspot.in/2015/02/why-isnt-alabama-police-officer-charged.html
An Alabama police officer faces a charge of third-degree assault, a misdemeanor, for body slamming a 57-year grandfather from India. But our analysis of applicable law indicates officer Eric Parker should be charged with either second- or first-degree assault, both felonies that call for potential prison time.

Is the Alabama legal establishment trying to protect Parker, even though his body slam of Sureshbhai Patel near a Madison sidewalk has drawn international news coverage? The answer appears to be yes.

http://www.cnn.com/2015/03/09/us/oklaho ... index.html
President declares 'zero tolerance'
First, he appeared at a campus rally and told students over a bullhorn, "I have a message for those who have misused their freedom of speech in this way. My message to them is: You're disgraceful. You have violated every principle that this university stands for."

In remarks to a reporter from KOKH-TV, he said the SAEs were no more on the Norman campus.

"All of our ties to that organization on our campus are severed, and I've given them till midnight tomorrow night to get their things out of the fraternity house. After that time, it will be totally closed and they'll have to make special arrangements to even get their belongings out of the house," he told KOKH. "And as they take their belongings out of the house, I hope they reflect on what they've done."

In a statement that mirrored what he told students earlier, Boren said the fraternity members' behavior is not indicative of what University of Oklahoma students. nicknamed Sooners, represent.

"Real Sooners are not racist. Real Sooners are not bigots. Real Sooners believe in equal opportunity. Real Sooners treat all people with respect. Real Sooners love each other and take care of each other like family members," he wrote.

At his news conference, he added that those responsible "don't deserve to be called Sooners. They're misusing our name."

How it surfaced

The student newspaper, The Oklahoma Daily, received the video in a Sunday email, said print Editor Katelyn Griffith. The fraternity celebrated its Founder's Day on Saturday, and the video showed members traveling to a formal event that evening, she said.

"We decided that this was definitely a story they needed to cover without question," she told CNN. "This was something that we knew wouldn't be tolerated by the students at OU and the university at large."

This mentality is not new to campus, Davis told CNN, but it's the first time people have been caught on video. She said the only acceptable response is to expel -- not suspend, as that would send the wrong message -- all the students involved.

"I was hurt that my fellow peers that I walk to class with every day, people that I see every day, could say such hateful things about me and my culture, about my friends, about my brothers and my sisters," she said.

In his news conference, Boren said the school was looking into punishing the individuals involved, especially against those "who have taken a lead" in the chanting. While expulsion is an option, any punishment must be "carefully directed" if it's to pass constitutional muster. One key will be whether the offending students created a hostile environment on campus, he said.

Boren emphasized that "there is no room for racists and bigots" at Oklahoma.

Well, what to do. Black man loses job -- http://www.latimes.com/nation/la-na-okl ... tml#page=1

At least he wasnt shot or body slammed, or you know "procedurally cavity investigated".