Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 1 Feb 2015

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Sunni Terrorist Fragments of Unstable Pakistan - 1 Feb 2

Falijee wrote:Foreign Office blames India for Lakhvi's release

How more ridiculous can you get !!
Not only is it ridiculous, but tragic, and it demonstrates India's lack of any leverage over TSP. One must analyze the deeper cause of this humiliation. And to rub salt to the wound, Uncle has just given $1 billion or worth of arms to TSP. Enough said.

http://www.tehrantimes.com/economy-and- ... n-pipeline
China will build a pipeline to bring natural gas from Iran to Pakistan to help address Pakistan’s acute energy shortage, under a deal to be signed during the Chinese president’s visit to Islamabad this month, Pakistani officials said.
Tehran says that its 560-mile (900-kilometer) part of the pipeline from an Iranian gas field is complete and has long pressed Pakistan to build its part of the scheme.

Pakistan hasn’t begun construction, however, in light of threatened U.S. sanctions for trading with Iran. Islamabad had sought to work around the sanctions by asking the Chinese to build the pipeline but not yet connect it to the Iranian portion. The prospect of an Iran nuclear agreement, which would ease sanctions in stages once the deal is completed, has given Islamabad further impetus to clear the project. Among the first sanctions to be lifted, according to the framework accord, would be the ban on Iran energy exports.

Pakistan is negotiating with China Petroleum Pipeline Bureau, a subsidiary of Chinese energy giant China National Petroleum Corporation, to build 435 miles (700 kilometers) of pipeline from the western Pakistani port of Gwadar to Nawabshah in the southern province of Sindh, where it will connect to Pakistan’s existing gas-distribution pipeline network.

The cost would be $1.5 billion to $1.8 billion for the pipeline, or $2 billion if an optional Liquefied Natural Gas terminal at Gwadar is included in the scheme. Under the deal, 85% of the financing will be provided by a Chinese loan, with Pakistan coming up with the rest.

The remaining 50 miles (80 kilometers), from Gwadar to the Iranian border, will be built by Pakistan. The pipeline, which would take two years to build, would eventually supply Pakistan with enough gas to fuel 4,500 megawatts of electricity generation—almost as much as the country’s entire current electricity shortfall.

http://yaleglobal.yale.edu/content/chin ... ns-shadows
For those who judge the relationship by these optics, the story is one of Pakistani delusion and China’s failure to come through in Pakistan’s hour of need. Throw in consistently low trade and investment numbers, and periodic tensions over counter-terrorism issues, and it can be argued that there is less to the “all-weather friendship” than meets the eye. Yet in practice, the fact that China eschews showy, geopolitically antagonistic demonstrations of support for Pakistan does not mean that its discreet, consistent backing has been any less strategically significant. Both sides have had good reason to keep their cooperation away from the spotlight.
The apogee of this relationship is the two sides’ cooperation on Pakistan’s nuclear and missile programs, where Chinese knowhow, technology and materials have played a vital role – but not one conducive to celebratory toasts in public. Similar sensitivities have applied to major civilian projects too, such as investments in the nuclear power plants at Chashma. Even the construction of the Karokaram Highway between 1966 and 1979 was kept secret for many years. Pakistani transfers of Western technology to the Chinese – such as stray ballistic missiles, centrifuges, or material from US stealth helicopters – are also tricky subjects for a public speech.

I wonder about this. The "ground-breaking" at the Port Qasim power plant occurred May 6, 2014
( http://pk.chineseembassy.org/eng/zbgx/t1155081.htm ) but this contract is announced now:
http://www.scmp.com/business/china-busi ... plant-deal

It would seem to me the project "started" before the project financing was finalized.
Power Construction Corporation of China and Qatari investment firm Al Mirqab Capital will jointly invest in and build a coal-fired power plant in Pakistan, which will have a total investment of US$2.09 billion, Power Construction Corp, a Shanghai-listed firm, announced on Wednesday night.

The power plant will be located in Port Qasim, Pakistan’s second largest port, in Karachi, the country’s biggest city. The power plant will have two 660 megawatt units and rely on coal imported on ships. The construction period will be 32 months.
The US$2.09 billion total investment in the project includes US$521 million of project capital, of which 51 per cent will be invested by Power Construction Corp and 49 per cent by Al Mirqab Capital. The remaining US$1.56 billion will be financed by loans. The power plant will be built and operated according to a build-own-operate (BOO) model.
Shaktimaan

Post by Shaktimaan »

menon s wrote:By asking for ‘Sunni soldiers’ Saudi Arabia is trying to divide Pakistan Army

http://nation.com.pk/blogs/05-Apr-2015/ ... istan-army
The Pakistan Army is roughly 70% Sunni and to deny deployment to the other 30% smacks of discrimination and favoritism. Do they believe that a professional military like Pakistan’s can’t see beyond their individual religious beliefs to fight for a unified, justified cause? If that is the case, then why ask Pakistan to send its armed forces?
http://www.oxfordislamicstudies.com/art ... i=1&_pos=1

According to this source and other sources on the internet, Shias make up about 10 to 15% of Pakis.

Is it possible that the Army is 30% Shia? IMHO there's no chance of that. More lies from the Paki media, no doubt fed by ISPR.

shiv wrote: ...

As an aside, I laugh with sadness at the way Indians mock India democracy. Once again we Indians wear the minds and bodies of Americans and Europeans (eg Norwegians) and judge ourselves by standard someone else sets. the problem with this is that we become totally blind to the fact that Pakistan is putting on a such a fine show of fake/sham democracy that the entire western world is lapping it up and patting itself on the back for having civilized one more country. Sad that we are unable to think independently.
OT I realize but we have been slaves for a long time and this behavior is a consequence of not having quite accepted that fact and its implications for the collective psyche.

K Mehta wrote:Klnm saar can you please post the Urdu stuff on the Urdu language thread in gdf? If any additional links are there post them as well. thanks.
Done

JE Menon wrote:The key in "no more proxy wars" is the word "more". The existing ones will continue. Like the doc said: Cowards.

Nice play-acting between the GCC-Pakis meanwhile. As if anyone takes it seriously. They'll get some financial injections though. It's basically negotiation (if not plain drama to show the rest of the world how reluctant they are). They would support the Saudis if they had any common sense. What has Iran ever done for them? And, there is no way Tehran can replace the GCC as sugar-abba.

And be sure, back-channel warnings must be going on right about now on the Pakistani nuclear capability being transferred... Saudis are thinking WTF? What if we need it, do we trust these oiseaules? The oiseaules are thinking - if we give it will these twats give us the money after we are nuked by Iran? Should we ask for advance payment? Iran is wondering who should I nuke first, Pakis or Saudis?

Is a Sunni-Shia nuclear confrontation on the cards by 2025? Is allah akbar? Or is he an Armagandu? only the real god (pope says he's the father of Christ) knows.

Or perhaps he knows not... :twisted:
Damn what dangerous communalists these BRFites are. Hulla Bol and God Bless America.

From the BBC
Pakistan dam builders shot dead in Balochistan
At least 20 workers accused of working on an army-backed dam construction site in the south-western Pakistani province of Balochistan have been shot dead by a large group of gunmen, officials say.

Police say that the gunmen overpowered eight security guards, and shot the labourers on Friday night.
The separatist Balochistan Liberation Front said it carried out the attack. A spokesperson told the BBC that the target was the Pakistani army and those working for its construction projects in the province.

Police told Pakistani media that the attack appears to have been an act of targeted killing - all the dead were from outside Balochistan. The attackers fled on motorcycles. At least three labourers were wounded.
Interesting thing is that the picture of one of the wounded laborers shows a person that I could have sworn is of African descent. If I remember correctly, there is a large community of people of African origins living in a slum in Karachi. Perhaps the poor guy is from there?

CRamS wrote: Not only is it ridiculous, but tragic, and it demonstrates India's lack of any leverage over TSP. One must analyze the deeper cause of this humiliation.
The fact that India has no leverage is known to us and it pains me personally when you repeat it so often. Why do you keep doing it? Does it make you feel better when you do that? Would you consider being kind to some of us and checking yourself?

You once asked why I was not on this thread. The main reason is boredom. The same people making the same comments - including you. So go on CRamS. You do the analysis. Let's hear it. I am willing to read something new from you.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

JEM saar, good point re: "no more paki wars"...armagandu is certainly upon them, PBUT.
By asking for ‘Sunni soldiers’ Saudi Arabia is trying to divide Pakistan Army
It is times like these that one appreciates the soothis and their open-as-a-book bigotry.

On the Bangladesh thread, you will learn the Banglas hanged a dangerous, criminal Islamist who committed war crimes in 1971. The United Nations was against this; I don't know how much Indian support counted for the Bangla govt. to do this action. But this is what Pakistan needs to be induced to do.

How? (a) It has to be in their rational self-interest to do so and (b) they have to perceive it as their rational self-interest, and (c) even when they come to perceive it in their self-interest, they have to have the capacity to act on it.

Right now, with respect to the Uighurs, what is the situation in Pakistan? One would imagine that it is in their rational self-interest to put an end to them; that Pakistanis, with their taller-than-mountains friendship with China would perceive it as their rational self-interest; so next question -- are they able to deliver?

The unrest is ongoing; how much it receives cross-border support from factions within Pakistan is not clear to me.
https://www.google.com/search?q=Uighur+ ... s+in+China

All this rhona-dhona, focus on Pakistan is addling people's brains. Please look East, Act East, and don't post something on the STFUP thread without at least one other post on a non-Pakistan thread. You want a change in the world, the change starts with you, which is the entity you have the most control over. Don't speak of control/leverage over Pakistan till you have control over yourself.

Via: http://www.frontline.in/static/html/fl2 ... 406100.htm
SHIVA AND PARVATI, MURAL, KIZIL CAVES, KUCHA, CHINA, C. 6TH CENTURY. Hindu deities are commonly seen in the art of the Buddhist caves in India and other countries across Asia. We are reminded of the cosmopolitan culture of the ancient times when Hindu kings often patronised Buddhist caves and art. Ancient inscriptions also show that the wives of Hindu kings in India often worshipped the Buddha or a Jaina Tirtankara.
Tuvaluan

Post by Tuvaluan »

Agree with the general sentiment of ignoring pakistan, because that is reasonable given its overall irrelevance to India, but IMO it if ok Pakistan is being treated with all the seriousness of a leaky commode and some comic relief. No reason why that should be verboten, though personally, there is little going on in Pakistan these days to even chortle about. I mean, this thread was started on 1st Feb, and it is mid-april and it is not close to its 72. However, All this whining about Indian leverage over pakistan or lack of it etc. is just pathetic and silly, but then it is being carried out by a subset of people who have done so for decades.

I think NLI had mainly Shia soldiers used by Sunni Paki Army. Other thing we do not know is how much Paki policy in Saudi-Iranian conflict is influenced by PRC. Siding openly with Sunni Saudi/Arabs is suicidal for Paki. Since split between Shia Sunni is now wide open ,its good time for Kuffars to widen it by the day using little pressure here and there. WEST is master of this split and spit and screw policy.
Aage aage Dekho Aaag Kanha Tuk lagti Hai.
BTW ,India will send only TTP/Pathans to facilitate Lakhvi's departure from Hell To Heaven.
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

As reported in the Pakistani press!

Militants gun down 20 labourers in Balocistan

QUOTE:
Home Minister, Balochistan, Mir Sarfaraz Bugti ordered the arrest of Levies personnel for not resisting the assailants who killed 20 labourers near Turbat

COMMENT:
Labourers were second class Sindhis, but the Levies are first class Punjabis; net result zero
Falijee

Re:

Post by Falijee »

ArmenT wrote:From the BBC
Pakistan dam builders shot dead in Balochistan
At least 20 workers accused of working on an army-backed dam construction site in the south-western Pakistani province of Balochistan have been shot dead by a large group of gunmen, officials say.

Police say that the gunmen overpowered eight security guards, and shot the labourers on Friday night.
The separatist Balochistan Liberation Front said it carried out the attack. A spokesperson told the BBC that the target was the Pakistani army and those working for its construction projects in the province.

Police told Pakistani media that the attack appears to have been an act of targeted killing - all the dead were from outside Balochistan. The attackers fled on motorcycles. At least three labourers were wounded.
Interesting thing is that the picture of one of the wounded laborers shows a person that I could have sworn is of African descent. If I remember correctly, there is a large community of people of African origins living in a slum in Karachi. Perhaps the poor guy is from there?

Falijee wrote:
There is a sizeable portion of Shiddis ( called Makranis in Pakistan ) living in Karachi ; they were originally brought as slaves hundreds of years ago
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Shujaat Azeem serves legal notice to ARY

QUOTE:
In his program that was aired on February 19 on ARY News, Mubasher Lucman had accused Shujaat Azeem of selling a Pakistan Airlines plane to his daughter's company at a throw away price, while he was also held responsible for giving a plane to Emirates Airline as a gift :shock:

COMMENT:
Pretty heavy stuff; but why the serving of the legal notice to ARY in UK and why not in Pakistan, where the program was aired ; anything to do with UK libel laws
Falijee

Post by Falijee »

Some odd things

QUOTE:
.... But the discovery of shale oil and gas in America as well as the probability of a US- Iran rapprochment :evil: have forced the Saudis to re assess their security options.

Comment: Emperor without clothes !! :)

menon s wrote:By asking for ‘Sunni soldiers’ Saudi Arabia is trying to divide Pakistan Army

http://nation.com.pk/blogs/05-Apr-2015/ ... istan-army
The Pakistan Army is roughly 70% Sunni and to deny deployment to the other 30% smacks of discrimination and favoritism. Do they believe that a professional military like Pakistan’s can’t see beyond their individual religious beliefs to fight for a unified, justified cause? If that is the case, then why ask Pakistan to send its armed forces?
some ***thias these Saudi barbarians!
Firstly RATs are mostly Sunni. Is much more than 70% Sunni.
Secondly the Saudi Barbarians know the Pakis very well and are afraid of green on green.
Thirdly the Nation thinks its a pick-nick in Yemen and all around baksheesh from Arapian fathers. Is not.
Fourthty RAts are not a professional army but ISIS in uniforms.
Fifthly KSA asked for TSP troops as a way of calling in the debt. Not for a jamboree.

^^^^ Ramana,

This is called a bakistani negotiation and pacification. The troops are already there, doing what they need to. Its a public circus is all.

Kalank Kaa Teeka ON Poaqarmy

member_29040

Post by member_29040 »

Some excerpts from Falijee's link above:
Looking at the Pakistani reaction to the Saudi request for urgent help, we come to the fourth odd thing: the solid consensus against jumping into the Yemeni cauldron. We Pakistanis are a fractious bunch and seldom agree about anything. The only time everybody’s on the same page about anything is when the puppet masters at GHQ are pulling the strings.
Also, Nawaz Sharif’s favourite political ploy is to kick the ball into the tall grass. He did this over the unending business of ‘talks with the Taliban’ by calling an all-party conference and then a parliamentary debate. The idea is to delay a decision until it’s forced on him. He can then dilute his own responsibility.

In this case, Gen Raheel Sharif has probably told him the army has its hands full with anti-insurgency operations in the tribal areas, as well as on our eastern border, and can’t spare the division the Saudis have asked for. The prime minister, to get off the hook with the Saudis, used the joint session of parliament to say to his patrons that his hands are tied.

China reaps rewards for standing by Iran - Atul Aneja, The Hindu
The Wall Street Journal reported that China will build a pipeline that would bring Iranian gas to Pakistan, as part of a deal that would be signed during Mr. Xi’s forthcoming visit to Islamabad.

The China Petroleum Pipeline Bureau, a subsidiary of Chinese energy giant China National Petroleum Corporation, is expected to build 700 km of the pipeline from the western Pakistani port of Gwadar to Nawabshah, Pakistan’s gas-distribution centre in the Sindh province. Pakistan would build the 80 km of the pipeline from Gwadar to the Iranian border, where it would hook up with the already existing 900 km pipeline link to the gas fields of South Pars.

The China backed Iran-Pakistan project is being revived because the existing sanctions on Iran’s energy exports are likely to be lifted first, according to the nuclear framework agreement that was signed in Switzerland earlier this month. The pipeline scheme, conceived in 1995, was earlier supposed to extend to India, but Tehran blames India for dropping out of the project in 2009, under pressure from the United States. Indian negotiators, however say that funding the project was difficult on account of exorbitant insurance costs that were involved for transiting Iranian gas through Pakistan’s restive Balochistan province.

The evolving triangular partnership among China, Iran and Pakistan could get reinforced after Islamabad declined to support Saudi Arabia, Iran’s chief rival in West Asia, during the on-going crisis in Yemen.

DoCJi, your point about me saying something new is well taken. I have not offered anything new, because quite frankly, I am not sure what is going on behind the scenes between US, India, and TSP; if at all anything is going on.

But what is somewhat "new" is that I, as were many others, were expecting ModiJi to do something new. Please note, I am not saying he is not doing anything new, but after a good start (retaliating along LOC and cancelling foreign sec level talks), whatever it is that he is doing new now and new is definitely not visible to me.

Is it unreasonable to discuss India's policy under ModiJi? What TSP has done is quite brazen, and it was done especially to spite India. Not only that, it then blames India for his release. What kind of nonsense is that? Once again, should we not be discussing that? What is US position?

Moreover, on our side, other than "we are disappointed", or "TSP is not keeping its promise of fighting terrorists", I haven't seen much else. Does it mean India is resigned to forgetting 26/11? Once again, should we not be discussing this?

Perhaps erudite folks like you can offer some thoughts on what is the message TSP is sending by so brazenly thumbing its nose? Add to that US has given TSP $1 billion in arms. Fair didi, who usually tells it like it is, will have us believe that the state dept, Pentagon, CIA arse holes who approved this military aid are "naive" as opposed to some well thought out willful policy. Either she is not as smart as she appears, or she is putting up some kind of a smoke screen knowing very well as to whats on the other side of the screen.

These are all issues worth discussing is it not? Perhaps someone like RajaramJi can elucidate?

CRamS wrote:DoCJi, your point about me saying something new is well taken. I have not offered anything new, because quite frankly, I am not sure what is going on behind the scenes between US, India, and TSP; if at all anything is going on.

But what is somewhat "new" is that I, as were many others, were expecting ModiJi to do something new. Please note, I am not saying he is not doing anything new, but after a good start (retaliating along LOC and cancelling foreign sec level talks), whatever it is that he is doing new now and new is definitely not visible to me.

Is it unreasonable to discuss India's policy under ModiJi? What TSP has done is quite brazen, and it was done especially to spite India. Not only that, it then blames India for his release. What kind of nonsense is that? Once again, should we not be discussing that? What is US position?

Moreover, on our side, other than "we are disappointed", or "TSP is not keeping its promise of fighting terrorists", I haven't seen much else. Does it mean India is resigned to forgetting 26/11? Once again, should we not be discussing this?

Perhaps erudite folks like you can offer some thoughts on what is the message TSP is sending by so brazenly thumbing its nose? Add to that US has given TSP $1 billion in arms. Fair didi, who usually tells it like it is, will have us believe that the state dept, Pentagon, CIA arse holes who approved this military aid are "naive" as opposed to some well thought out willful policy. Either she is not as smart as she appears, or she is putting up some kind of a smoke screen knowing very well as to whats on the other side of the screen.

These are all issues worth discussing is it not? Perhaps someone like RajaramJi can elucidate?
What is there to discuss CRamS? What is new in what you have said? We can only join you in lamenting that everything that happened in the past is continuing to happen. The only question is whether things will change by repeating what is happening. In general if a problem can be solved easily it gets solved easily. Now can you guess why this problem has not been solved easily?

Are you suggesting that strong non wimp like language will make Pakistan cower?

I resent the reference to "you erudite folks" which to me is pure sophistry from a man who is as erudite as anyone else pretending that some other erudite person can say something new. Over the years you have never paid attention to what all the erudite people have been saying. You just repeat what you have said once again above and expect someone to say something, and in fact prod and stir the pot asking "Where is docji" and "Where is rajaram-ji" as if you really care. You are a bit like Pakistan. Cannot be solved easily and cannot be stopped from saying egregious and hurtful things. You would be justified in claiming that you are not a killer, but you certainly cannot be stopped from talking and making provocative or hurtful remarks. if people can't shut you out why are you asking if erudite people can make Pakistan do and say different things?

You see, after a stage, when remarks simply hurt and don;t help or contribute in informing or educating people there is no alternative to simply ignoring them. I think Indians have reached that stage with Pakistan. As long as the level of hurt is small, Pakistan will be ignored as far as is practicable.

Guys, here is something "new" from Al Jazeera. Sorry to make you puke. BTW, is that guy from London a Paki, he is conecting BJP's loss in Delhi elections to the Lakhvi saga

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqdSibTRQ6c

DoCJi, you are getting way too personal saar. I will leave it that.
Last edited by CRamS on 12 Apr 2015 08:19, edited 1 time in total.

when the time has come to pay the piper, and the rats are showing their true 'nuclear" colors, the town's people have suddenly discovered the virtues of becoming "democratic" and are using the fig leaf of their so called parliament. the wretched pakis are loath to compromise on their nefarious end game in afghanistan.

UAE minister warns Pakistan of ‘heavy price for ambiguous stand’ on Yemen

Dawn.com — Updated about 9 hours ago

“Tehran seems to be more important to Islamabad and Ankara than the Gulf countries,” says Dr Anwar Mohammed Gargash. — Reuters/File

KARACHI: Pakistani lawmakers’ call for the government to remain neutral on the escalating crisis in Yemen has evoked a strong response from the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

“The vague and contradictory stands of Pakistan and Turkey are an absolute proof that Arab security — from Libya to Yemen — is the responsibility of none but Arab countries,” UAE’s Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Dr Anwar Mohammed Gargash said.

As quoted by renowned Emirati newspaper Khaleej Times, Garhash warned Pakistan of having to pay a “heavy price” for taking on what he called an “ambiguous stand”. He added that Pakistan should take a clear position “in favour of its strategic relations with the six-nation Arab Gulf cooperation Council”.

“The Arabian Gulf is in a dangerous confrontation, its strategic security is on the edge, and the moment of truth distinguishes between the real ally and the ally of media and statements,” Gargash tweeted moments after the Pakistani parliament passed the resolution insisting on neutrality in the Yemen conflict.

Gargash went to symbolise Pakistan’s resolution as equivalent of siding up with Iran instead of the Gulf. “Tehran seems to be more important to Islamabad and Ankara than the Gulf countries,” Gargash said.

“Though our economic and investment assets are inevitable, political support is missing at critical moments,” he added.

The statement comes a day after the Parliament passed a unanimous resolution vowing to defend Saudi Arabia’s territorial integrity and the holy places of Makkah and Madinah. None of these locations appear to have so far been threatened by the conflict.

“Pakistan should play a mediating role and not get involved in the fighting in Yemen,” the resolution stated, adding that “the Parliament of Pakistan ... underscores the need for continued efforts by the government of Pakistan to find a peaceful resolution of the crisis”.

“[Parliament] desires that Pakistan should maintain neutrality in the Yemen conflict so as to be able to play a proactive diplomatic role to end the crisis,” it stated.
Erdogan, Nawaz discuss Middle East situation

Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan telephoned Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to discuss the crisis situation in Middle East and agreed that both the countries would accelerate efforts to resolve the deteriorating situation through peaceful means, said a statement issued by PM House on Saturday.

During the conversation that lasted for about 45 minutes, both the leaders stressed that Houthis didn't have any right to overthrow a legitimate government in Yemen and affirmed that any violation of the territorial integrity of Saudi Arabia would evoke a strong reaction from both the countries.

The Saudi-led coalition launched air strikes against Houthi rebels on March 26 in support of Yemeni President Abedrabbo Mansour Hadi after they seized the capital and forced him to flee to Aden. The government of Pakistan has so far not announced a decision on Saudi Arabia’s request for Islamabad to join a coalition fighting Houthi rebels by contributing jets, navy ships and ground troops.

After Iran, Pakistan?
Begum Beater MUNIR THUKRAM
Hardly a week after the Iran deal was announced, the New York Times — which often reflects official US policy — editorially propagated that attention be turned to constraining Pakistan’s nuclear and strategic capabilities. The issue was also covered by other US media.The NYT arguments, taken from the Indian hymnbook, were not surprising; the timing of the proposal to target Pakistan is significant. If the editorial indeed reflects official US thinking, it would confirm the view of many in Pakistan and the Muslim world that America’s aim is to denuclearise all Islamic countries. With Iran neutralised, Pakistan remains the only nuclear-capable Islamic nation.
The world should be made to understand why Pakistan remains ‘obsessed’ with India.
Pakistan has fought off numerous US attempts, initially to prevent and, after 1998, to retard Pakistan’s nuclear and strategic programmes. Pakistan’s ‘establishment’ is confident that future attempts will fail also. But, it would be a mistake to become complacent.
The US is engaged in a strategic contest with China. It sees India as a ‘strategic partner’ in this Asian power game. India can challenge China effectively only once it has neutralised Pakistan. The Indian lobby in the US is now second in influence only to the Israeli lobby. Thus, unless persuaded otherwise, Washington can be expected to do all that is possible to assist India in neutralising Pakistan’s power.The following stratagem, used against Iran and others, may be used to restrict Pakistan:First, concerns about Pakistan’s programmes will be spread through the media and diplomatic channels. Then, Islamabad would be pressed to give assurances and accept constraints ostensibly to assuage these ‘concerns’.Next, an effort would be made to translate these restraints and restrictions into binding commitments, including through the Nuclear Suppliers’ Group, the IAEA and the UN Security Council.If Pakistan then ‘violates’ such restrictions, it would be subjected to multilateral or unilateral sanctions.
Numerous grounds will be cited to restrain Pakistan. Previously, it was argued that Pakistan was a nuclear proliferator; that its nuclear weapons could be captured by ‘Islamist terrorists’; that the Pakistan Army could turn ‘Islamist’. The new tack, reflected in the editorial, is that:— Pakistan should no longer be “obsessed” with India, which is now preoccupied with becoming “a regional economic and political power”;— Pakistan’s nuclear and military deployments against India are destabilising; and;— Pakistan is descending into chaos.These motivated assertions need to be refuted effectively. Pakistan’s diplomacy should be actively mobilised for the purpose.
First, the world should be made to understand why Pakistan remains “obsessed” with India. As the editorial itself observes (almost approvingly), Prime Minister Modi has threatened “retaliation” against Pakistan “if Islamic militants carry out a terror attack in India” — irrespective of whether or not the Pakistan government is responsible for this. Given Modi’s aggressive policies in Kashmir and the BJP’s persecution of Indian Muslims, such a “terrorist” attack appears almost inevitable, sooner or later. If Modi’s doctrine is applied, an India-Pakistan conflict also becomes inevitable.
. Indian generals have not disavowed their ‘Cold Start’ doctrine envisaging a sudden and massive attack against Pakistan.Pakistan’s is not the “fastest growing nuclear arsenal”. In fact, with the revival of their Cold War post the Ukraine crisis, the US and Russia have deployed the largest number of additional nuclear weapons last year. Pakistan’s warheads are estimated in the Western media by assuming that all of its fissile material production capacity is being transformed into nuclear warheads. On the same assumption, India’s arsenal would be much larger than projected, since foreign nuclear fuel supplies, authorised by the Suppliers’ Group, enable India to use all of its indigenous uranium for weapons purposes. Several US ‘experts’ have asserted that with its capacity to build a larger arsenal, and deployment of anti-ballistic missiles, and a ‘second strike’ capability, India would be able to destroy Pakistan’s nuclear and strategic capabilities in a pre-emptive nuclear strike. Pakistan can best preserve nuclear deterrence by developing larger and survivable numbers of nuclear warheads.
Likewise, Pakistan’s recently tested long-range missiles are defensive; designed to ensure that India cannot threaten Pakistan with impunity from the Nicobar and Andaman Islands or its long-range nuclear submarines.The potentially disastrous consequences of the India-Pakistan nuclear and military stand-off cannot be left to be debated in the news media. But India refuses to discuss this seriously.Under the circumstances, it would be wise for Pakistan to ask the US: if India indeed threatens to launch an attack against Pakistan after a ‘terrorist’ incident, will the US intervene to prevent the conflict, or to prevent Pakistan from resorting to nuclear deterrence?The central question which Pakistan must pose to the world is: if the aim is to prevent a South Asian catastrophe, is it not better for the world powers to promote an equitable solution to the Kashmir dispute and an agreement on mutual military restraint between Pakistan and India?

https://foreignpolicy.com/2015/04/10/wh ... -pakistan/
Why Obama Won’t Visit Pakistan
Instead of investing in its own infrastructure and social services, or even its neighbors, like India has, Pakistan has put more of an emphasis on its defense. For instance, it doubled its defense spending over the last five years — spending almost 30 percent of the state’s budget and greatly contributing to a budget deficit — in what Sharif has categorized as a “waste [of] massive resources in an arms race” with India.

This deficit, in part, has caused Pakistan’s economy to remain sluggish (especially when compared to India, whose economic growth now outpaces China), with only small improvements since 2006. Ishaq Dar, Pakistan’s finance minister, has admitted that more than half of the population is living below the poverty line on less than $2 per day. Health centers lack basic facilities and training, and schools, if they even exist, teach intolerance. Severe power shortages have crippled the economy, bringing some sectors to a grinding halt. And instead of being used to tackle some of these challenges, the science and technology industries are suffering as many leave the field due to poor funding caused by Pakistan’s high defense budget. In truth, Pakistan’s major exports are textiles, rice, and sporting goods.

The only “industry” the government seems to have actually invested in is jihad — by permitting safe havens and selectively targeting terrorists, essentially sanctioning these groups, which is further ruining the country. In the 1980s, then-ruler Gen. Zia ul-Haq used madrasas as straw men to fabricate religious parties’ political support for his policies, as well to recruit troops to fight in Afghanistan against the Soviet Union. After the fall of the Soviet Union, these madrasas encouraged students to fight against Hindus in Kashmir, which remains in dispute, and commit sectarian killings in the country.

Yet despite the damage militants have caused within its borders, Pakistan has not taken definitive action against the jihadists operating inside the country. Groups like Lashkar-e-Jhangvi and Ahle Sunnat wal Jamaat are involved in sectarian killings. Lashkar-e-Taiba is openly asking militants to join jihad in Kashmir. Even the much touted military operation, Zarb-e-Azb, will likely to fail deliver the desired results — much like the 2007 operation in Swat failed to destroy the Pakistani Taliban’s organizational network.

chetak wrote:when the time has come to pay the piper, and the rats are showing their true 'nuclear" colors, the town's people have suddenly discovered the virtues of becoming "democratic" and are using the fig leaf of their so called parliament. the wretched pakis are loath to compromise on their nefarious end game in afghanistan.

..................{Rest Snipped}............................
One more article saying the UAE is mighty pissed with the position taken by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s Parliament on the not assisting Pakistan’s Arab mentors in Yemen. This one embeds UAE Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Dr Anwar Mohammad Gargash's nasty comments on Twitter about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan’s normally duplicitous behavior of begging and taking money from Patrons and then letting then letting the Patron’s down when Pakistani support is called upon.

The Arabs should have paid heed to the Taliban Regimes Foreign Minister, Mullah Abdul Salam Zaeef who had the below to say about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan in his autobiography “My Life With The Taliban” :

"Pakistan, which plays a key role in Asia, is so famous for treachery that it is said they can get milk from a bull. They have two tongues in one mouth, and two faces on one head so they can speak everybody's language; they use everybody, deceive everybody. They deceive the Arabs under the guise of Islamic nuclear power, saying that they are defending Islam and Islamic countries. They milk America and Europe in the alliance against terrorism, and they have been deceiving Pakistani and other Muslims around the world in the name of the Kashmiri jihad. But behind the curtain, they have been betraying everyone.”

The Arabs should now know that all talk by the Islamic Republic of Pakistan about “defending Islam and Islamic countries” excludes Arab Nations:

UAE Minister Threatens Pakistan : Twitter Reactions

Crisis in Yemen: : Religio-political parties reject parliamentary resolution - DT
Country’s religio-political parties have termed the parliamentary resolution for staying neutral in the Yemen conflict against the interest of the country and demanded the government send army to Saudi Arabia for the defence of Harmain Sharifain.

While strongly criticising the resolution, they said that it did not represent the sentiments of the people and termed it a conspiracy to isolate Pakistan in the Muslim world.

In a joint statement issued here at the conclusion of Difa-e-Harmain Sharifain Conference on Saturday, the leaders fully supported the courageous decision of Khadim-e-Harmain Sharifain King Salman to crush the Houthi rebels who overthrew the legitimate government in Yemen and destroyed its system of governance.

Addressing the conference chaired by Senator Professor Sajid Mir, Deputy Saudi Minister for Religious affairs Abdul Aziz bin Abdullah al Aamar said he respects the sentiments of the people of Pakistan about Harmain Sharfain and would inform the Saudi king about these sentiments. He said the leadership and the people of Saudi Arabia consider the open support from Pakistan in the present crisis as an asset. He said the security of Harmain Sharfain is the responsibility of every Muslim.

The Saudi minister said the Houthi rebels have overthrown a genuine government in Yemen and spread anarchy in the country. The Houthis have openly expressed their nefarious designs against Saudi Arabia after which the Saudi government sought cooperation from Pakistan.

Minister for Religious Affairs Sardar Mohammad Yousuf said the unanimous resolution by the Parliament clearly stated that Pakistan would be in the forefront for the defence of Saudi Arabia. He said being a nuclear power and having world’s best-trained armed forces, no one can dare to threaten the brotherly country. He said the government and the military leadership are on the same page.

Maulana Fazlur Rehman said Pakistan should unconditionally cooperate with Saudi Arabia. He criticised those who were terming the Yemen situation as a fight between the Shia and Sunni. He said when the US attacked Afghanistan; no one uttered a word that it was an attack on a Sunni government. He criticised those who were cautioning that help to Saudi Arabia would annoy Iran. He said Iran should openly clear its position why it was backing the Houthi rebels.

Professor Sajid Mir said Pakistan is a party and not a mediator when it comes to Saudi Arabia. He demanded for sending Pakistani armed forces to defend Saudi Arabia. He said the current situation in Yemen was not as simple as it seemed because under a conspiracy Libya, Iraq, Syria and Bahrain were weakened internally to target Saudi Arabia.

Amir of Jamaatud Daawa Prof Hafiz Mohamamd Saeed said the parliamentary resolution relating to Saudi Arabia was not in line with the voice of the nation. He said Pakistan is the centre of defence of ummah and must stand by Saudi Arabia. He said those considering the defence of Harmain Sharifain and Saudi Arabia different from the Yemen situation were mistaken. He said the defence of Saudi Arabia demands full support ot the Saudi operation in Yemen. He said every child of Pakistan is ready to offer his life for the defence of Saudi Arabia and Harmain Sahrifain. He announced to launch a mass campaign in this connection. {So, what is happening here with Hafiz Saeed taking a different stand?}

The conference was also addressed by Maulana Fazlur Rehman Khalil, Dr Abu Turab, Hafiz Abdul Karim, Pir Aminul Hasnat, Liaquat Baloch, Dr Abul Khair Mohammad Zubair, Pir Mehfooz Mashhadi, Pir Ijaz Hashmi, Allama Shah Owais Noorani, Maulana Hamidul Haq Haqqani, Mufti Mohammad Naeem, Qari Zawar Bahadur, Professor Abdul Rehman Makki, Yaqub Sheikh, Maulana Mohammad Yar Rabbani and others.

The good Haqqani, former ambassador:
Sadly, #Pakistan's refusal to stand by #SaudiArabia & #UAE in #Yemen will only reinforce image of unreliability
Is he implicitly saying that Pakistan should join Saudi coalition in Yemen war? Tells you who all saved his a** in memo gate.

UAE press reports about the Islamic Republic of Pakistan not providing the Arab Sunni Mohammadden coalition material support for their action in Yemen.

Khaleej Times:

UAE condemns Pakistan's vote on Yemen : Warns of heavy price for ambiguous stand

Gulf News:

Gargash: Pakistan's vote on Yemen ‘unexpected’

Adapting Simon Cameron thought for the day for the UAE, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan's other Patrons and the Islamic Republic of Pakistan as well :wink: :

An honest brotherly client state is one who, when he is bought, will stay bought
Last edited by arun on 12 Apr 2015 12:17, edited 1 time in total.

What about soothi barbaria wahabi cells inside Bakistan?

What does Sharia say about non co-operating slaves?

GP one said that he when he raised the issue of LeT with Shamshad Ahmad (the author of the article), he denied that an organization called LeT existed.
kancha

Post by kancha »

When the uber rich Pakis give a lesson in humility to mere super rich Pakis! (FB)
:((
The life of an average Pakistani truly does not matter anymore. As my family and I were heading to have dessert at 10pm tonight, we were honked at by a troop of over 10 protocol 'dalas' with a BMW. Being on a narrow one way road (Ghalib Road) with cars parked on the left, I was unable to move to a side to let them pass. The BMW accelerated past them and dangerously overtook me but as the protocol vehicles were still behind me, they started blaring their sirens trying to aggressively overtake and hit our car. I had to swerve almost hitting a number of parked cars to let them pass only to see their gun bearing guards wave their weapons at us. Had I not stopped, I am confident they would have jammed into our civic from both sides rending it (and us) useless - or even shoot at us. Shortly afterwards, we saw the same cars parked up outside Aylanto and we daringly went in to inquire who they belonged to. Their armed guards had no fear holding up their guns and looking at me threateningly as I was entering Aylanto. The staff at Aylanto feigned complete ignorance that the owner of the BMW parked right outside their door belonged to one of their customers, until someone came and told us that one of the men was Malik Riaz's son and the other his nephew. I saw him and asked him who he thought he was endangering people's lives and he walked straight past me only to have his gunmen glare me down.
This is not the Pakistan I grew up in, nor one I envision my children growing up in. ‪#‎aliriazmalik‬ ‪#‎malikriaz‬
Maha Khan

Falijee wrote:Some odd things

QUOTE:
.... But the discovery of shale oil and gas in America as well as the probability of a US- Iran rapprochment :evil: have forced the Saudis to re assess their security options.

Comment: Emperor without clothes !! :)
Falijee :

No Sir. It is not that the Emperor is without clothes but it is the Case of the Pakistani Political as well as its Religious Leadership in General and the Pakistani Armed Forces along with General Raheel in Paticular are suffering a violent and virulent Attack of Diarrhoea at the prospect of helping Saudi Arabia in its hour of need. One cannot understand the dithering of Pakistani Leadership and most importantly the Pakistani Army when Saudi Arabia asks for help whereas the Paskistani Armed Forces helped Jordan in its hour of need. Thus it is unfortunate that the Pakistani Armed Forces are now wetting and browning their trousers and are unable to provide help to the Defenders of the Holy Places of Islam in Saudi Arabia which has always opened its Coffers to fill the pockets of the Pakistani Leaderships be they Civil, Political, Military or Religious.
Following from the Comments Section of the Article "Some odd things" :

If Army in the command of Raheel Sharif has a change of heart is one thing. However, history tells us otherwise. Black September of 1970 is a witness to the butchery committed by the then Brigadier Zia who butchered Palestinians and later became dictator Zia of Pakistan. Here are few links for those who care for the history :

Ziaul Haq in Jordan (1970)

Black September: The role of Pakistan’s General Zia-ul-Haq in the 1970 massacre of 25,000 Palestinians in Jordan
It is a simple case of Pakistanis being an out and out bunch of cowards!