India & Natural Disaster Management
Re: India & Natural Disaster Management
http://www.tn.gov.in/tsunami/digitallib ... 0_BLDG.pdf
I had a good look at this GOI doc which gives clear and simple guidelines and risk assessment for siesmic zoneV construction.
I can safely say my ancestral house (1950) will not escape unscathed from a 8 event. only a subset of a new part we glued on later can be considered safe harbour.
as to the 1000s of new age apartments that came up in the NE over the last 2 decades, pretty much none have the vertical steel reinforcements or the horizontal bands that are described in this doc to hold the integrity of the structure together and prevent walls from separating and peeling off. also half brick wide construction is quite common from 2nd floor on incl in my own house to save costs, and steel is expensive so none are putting in bands even if they know.
nothing can be done about existing structures now few lakh souls will perish for sure , but GOI had better strictly impose building codes on zone4(delhi and chandigarh and srinagar are in it) and zone5 (part of bihar, North WB and entire NE) for new construction and make sure inspections are done before signoff. this might save a few lakh souls when the next 8 hits.
I had a good look at this GOI doc which gives clear and simple guidelines and risk assessment for siesmic zoneV construction.
I can safely say my ancestral house (1950) will not escape unscathed from a 8 event. only a subset of a new part we glued on later can be considered safe harbour.
as to the 1000s of new age apartments that came up in the NE over the last 2 decades, pretty much none have the vertical steel reinforcements or the horizontal bands that are described in this doc to hold the integrity of the structure together and prevent walls from separating and peeling off. also half brick wide construction is quite common from 2nd floor on incl in my own house to save costs, and steel is expensive so none are putting in bands even if they know.
nothing can be done about existing structures now few lakh souls will perish for sure , but GOI had better strictly impose building codes on zone4(delhi and chandigarh and srinagar are in it) and zone5 (part of bihar, North WB and entire NE) for new construction and make sure inspections are done before signoff. this might save a few lakh souls when the next 8 hits.
LIVE: Nepal quake toll rises to 4352, Nepal PM Koirala says rescue ops not effective
I have not heard any effort from super duper rich Tirupathi Devashthanam undertaking any effort to provide relief and rescue.
8:53 am: The counties of Gyirong, Nyalam and Tingri in Tibet were most affected. Nearly 80 per cent of the houses in the three counties have collapsed.
8:50 am: Tens of thousands more squat on sidewalks and roads — anywhere but their own houses — fearing aftershocks that have shaken Nepal repeatedly.
8:46 am: The catastrophe has overwhelmed Nepal’s government. Garung said the Cabinet was meeting daily, but “we don’t know what to do in such a situation … this is very hard. It’s a big problem. It’s a mess.”
8:27 am: The estimated death toll from Nepal’s earthquake soared past 4,000, and could go much higher if it turns out that vulnerable mountain villages — where information is still scarce and rescue workers are still struggling to reach — were hit hard.
8:21 am: Tibet quake toll rises to 25; 117 injured.
Besides rescue now it is time to setup Relief camps where people can go and stay, take food water medicine , sanitation till reconstruction efforts are underway. They can be moved to their homes once it is declared safe /strengthened/reconstructed. They are looking at long period of rehabilitation efforts, unemployment , health issues, issues of orphan children.Nepal PM says rescue operations not effective
09:53 AM
Prime Minister Sushil Koirala has admitted that the rescue and relief operations have not been effective. Hundreds of people are still trapped under tonnes of rubble in the capital Kathmandu and some of the worst-affected remote mountainous areas amid concerns that toll could cross 5,000 mark, authorities said.
09:52 AM
The government is doing a lot from its side. Being citizens of India, we also have a responsibility to help people of Nepal: Union minister VK Singh
I have not heard any effort from super duper rich Tirupathi Devashthanam undertaking any effort to provide relief and rescue.
My college senior is a topmost expert on structural certification and code in SFO and was saying India does not have building codeSingha wrote:
I asked him to start teaching to Indian students first and then bring the building codes rules to India
its pretty amazing nothing has been done since 1947 to impose strict codes atleast on multi storey residential and commerical buildings in the high risk 4 and 5 siesmic zones.
there are advisories and learned notes like the one I posted above but apparently no enforceable law to get permission and occupancy certificate.
we are just sitting around like sleepy sheep for the butchers blade. I guess the builder lobbies and owners oppose any move to impose codes as it keeps their costs down.
there are advisories and learned notes like the one I posted above but apparently no enforceable law to get permission and occupancy certificate.
we are just sitting around like sleepy sheep for the butchers blade. I guess the builder lobbies and owners oppose any move to impose codes as it keeps their costs down.
Sitanshu Kar @SpokespersonMoD · 6m 6 minutes ago
#NepalEarthquake Arrival of passengers from Kathmandu at Palam by C-17 Globemaster III this morning-2.

Sitanshu Kar @SpokespersonMoD · 4h 4 hours ago
#NepalEarthquake Nepal Army guiding IAF to locations for rescue/relief operations. A story in 4 Pic.

I guess nepal hospitals, doctors and supplies are overwhelmed. and there is likely to be 20K more wounded people coming in from outlying areas.
one option could be establish large tented and trailer army hospitals in the border areas and move all these injured by trucks and vans for treatment in india and also use the Govt & pvt & cantonment hospitals on our side of the border.
kathmandu has no room and no resources to support such a large number of patients. things might be easier on our side of the border as road and rail and electricity are much better.
one option could be establish large tented and trailer army hospitals in the border areas and move all these injured by trucks and vans for treatment in india and also use the Govt & pvt & cantonment hospitals on our side of the border.
kathmandu has no room and no resources to support such a large number of patients. things might be easier on our side of the border as road and rail and electricity are much better.
Embassy of India KTM @eoiktmnp 2h2 hours ago
A 100 buses will carry stranded Indian nationals to Gorakhpur and Raxaul today from Kathmandu @MEAIndia
Followed by NaMo
sewa bharathi @sewabharati · 39m 39 minutes ago
The #HSSNepal established in 1995, has 35 offices across Nepal has work spread in 53 districts #SupportNepal #Sewabharati
sewa bharathi @sewabharati 31m31 minutes ago
Sewa International, A/C- 10080533304, Jhandewala Extn Branch(Delhi), SBI, Code – 9371, Swift Code- SBININBB550, IFS Code- SBIN0009371 #NEPAL
sewa bharathi @sewabharati · 32m 32 minutes ago
FCRA: Sewa International, A/C 10080533326, Jhandewala Extn, Branch(Delhi), SBI, Code- 9371, Swift Code- SBININBB550,
IFS Code - SBIN0009371
Last edited by pankajs on 28 Apr 2015 11:33, edited 1 time in total.
good move that. 6000 people shifted will much reduce the chaos in the airport and much better throughput. I think special IR trains and extra bogies to existing trains are being arranged to help these people move east and west as needed. the motor pool of any gorakhpur based IA corps could also help shift people and luggage to our side.pankajs wrote:Embassy of India KTM @eoiktmnp 2h2 hours ago
Tajinder Pal S Bagga @tajinderbagga Apr 26 New Delhi, Delhi
You can also donate to Art of Living at http://www.iahv.org/in-en/nepal-earthquake-relief/ …
Art of Living team helping in Nepal

You can also donate to Art of Living at http://www.iahv.org/in-en/nepal-earthquake-relief/ …
Art of Living team helping in Nepal

Nepal earthquake: US Pastor Tony Miano sparks outcry by suggesting Nepalis should convert and not rebuild their 'pagan shrines'
Tony Miano
@TonyMiano
.@CNN Praying 4 the lost souls in Nepal. Praying not a single destroyed pagan temple will b rebuilt & the people will repent/receive Christ.
A former Los Angeles police officer and self-styled preacher, has sparked outcry by suggesting that Nepalis should not rebuild their “pagan shrines” and instead convert to Christianity.
Tony Miano, an outspoken conservative who has previously been accused of homophobia, triggered angry responses when he posted a series of messages on social media, expressing sympathy for the people struck by devastation in Nepal, but suggesting God was angry.
Mr Miano, who is based in California, describes himself as an open air preacher. His website says he established the Cross Encounters Ministries to provide a platform for his preaching and evangelism.
Tony Miano
@TonyMiano
.@CNN Praying 4 the lost souls in Nepal. Praying not a single destroyed pagan temple will b rebuilt & the people will repent/receive Christ.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 076234.cms
Nepal Earthquake: Strong possibility of quake in Central Himalayas; Himachal Pradesh in high strain region, say experts
NEW DELHI: The world is in the middle of a 15-year intense seismic activity period that could last until 2020, leaving open the strong possibility of a strong earthquake occurring somewhere on the planet, possibly in the Central Himalayas.
While there is no way to predict an earthquake or its intensity, just sampling seismic data over the past 150 years points to the possibility of a huge quake shaking up the area over the next few years, says RK Chadha, chief scientist at the National Geophysical Research Institute in Hyderabad.
"There are periods of intense seismic activity with high-magnitude earthquakes for near 15 years followed by a quietened inter-seismic activity over next 30-40 years," Chadha told ET.
"The third cycle started in 2004 with the Sumatra earthquake and we expect this to last until 2018-20... there is a high probability of a great earthquake of 9 magnitude up and this could be anywhere in the world, including in the Himalayas."
There are indicators that considerable stress is building up in certain segments of the Himalayan range. "This high strain is locked in parts of Himalayas, ranging from near Himachal Pradesh towards the west of Nepal. However, even plate movement and convergence is a very slow process so we can never say when such an earthquake will exactly occur — now or 10 years later," Chadha added.
Kusala Rajendran, associate professor at the Centre for Earth Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, who has extensively researched earthquake patterns in India, points to the central segment of the Himalayas as an area of stress build up. "For a long time, researchers have been suggesting that the central segment of the Himalaya is long overdue for a great earthquake. This is because the strain is building up, but it has not been released in earthquakes since the 1950 Assam earthquake... What has ruptured now is only about 200 km or so," she said in response to ET's queries over e-mail.
The area on the western side of Nepal would find release in a quake sooner or later, said PR Baidya, a scientist at the Centre for Seismology at the India Meteorological Department. This is a view that Ajay Paul, director of the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology in Dehradun, agrees with. "There is a seismic gap as far as the western side of Uttarkhand and Nepal region is concerned.
With energy having got released in the eastern side with the Nepal quake, it is quite possible that there may be an quake of great magnitude on the other side of what is clearly a high-risk seismic zone," Paul told ET over the phone.
Seismologists are not concerned about the increased industrial activity disturbing the Himalayan ecology, except for the impact after an earthquake.
"It is the built environment that is the problem. The way to solve this problem is with improved construction. It is obviously not an easy solution when many people struggle with day-to-day needs, but the world community can do better," Susan Hough, seismologist at the Earthquake Hazard Centre of the US Geological Survey, told ET over e-mail.
svinayak wrote:My college senior is a topmost expert on structural certification and code in SFO and was saying India does not have building codeSingha wrote:
I asked him to start teaching to Indian students first and then bring the building codes rules to India
er..... your college senior are welcome to come to India, but he certainly does not seem to have heard of http://ndrfandcd.gov.in/Cms/NATIONALBUILDINGCODE.aspx.
India has national level and state level building codes as well as zoning regulations. Some of them are more stringent than anything that khan has. eg: khan's national average for parking requirements (one slot/1000 sqft build up) is way less than for example, Kerala's KMBR 2015 code (one slot/400 sqft for IT space and 600 ).
Anyways, all this are OT but please dont bring this sort of "third worlders dont know what to do" wag of finger. All those Nepal buildings that we see in ruins are ancient ones that were build AFTER the last "once-in-a-millenia" seismic event happened. Those that had even basic RCC structurals, seem to have survived enough to reduce fatalities. There are many millions of such structures in India too and we all need to pray that the millenial event does not happen
Enforcement of such codes is by regional LSG (Local self-government bodies like municipalities/panchayats/districts etc) and that is a different matter all together and is totally OT. Nepal, I am sure had some good well-thought out codes, that were not enforced due to their local body political structuring
My last post on this
EconomicTimes @EconomicTimes 9m9 minutes ago
A 45-bed hospital becomes functional at Lagankhel, Nepal & has begun treating the injured: MoD #NepalQuake
VIDEO: Nepal earthquake: woman pulled from rubble after 50 hours
Rescue workers of India's National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) pull out a Nepalese woman alive from under rubble, 50 hours after a powerful earthquake struck Nepal. Video: Reuters
http://bcove.me/qjqqcbxs
Rescue workers of India's National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) pull out a Nepalese woman alive from under rubble, 50 hours after a powerful earthquake struck Nepal. Video: Reuters
http://bcove.me/qjqqcbxs
er Hnair that page you posted has no siesmic building code, it has fire codes.
even if we have a siesmic building code I know from my cousins (two are govt civil engrs), my late uncle (architect and town planning council) and my schoolmate(architect), none are being applied as my link states atleast in assam for sure. and construction is booming there.
singha, there are specific codes for seismic zones of the Indian peninsula. That link is just a front-page link, the actual code-book is a fat one and I recently had a chance to thumb through, for something I am involved in here, along with the new KMBR (which has a few PETA grade green rules too, to make a lot of projects unviable). Search google for National Building Code seismic
Your relatives are right. Like a few things in India, enforcement is where the lacunae is. I did mention (underlined) about "enforcement" aspect by LSGs, didn't I? What I contradicted is svinayak's friend's assertion there are no codes in India.
(One way a few codes gets implemented indirectly in India by large builders is by outsourcing to professional outfits. Eg: using centralized batching plants, hiring concrete design engineers, pile-testing, running structural design via modeling software et al. The larger builders will be ruined by the kind of sagging that happened in Blr a few years ago. The smaller builders gradually adopt all these over years. But older structures remains and retrofitting is not big in India)
Again OT
Your relatives are right. Like a few things in India, enforcement is where the lacunae is. I did mention (underlined) about "enforcement" aspect by LSGs, didn't I? What I contradicted is svinayak's friend's assertion there are no codes in India.
(One way a few codes gets implemented indirectly in India by large builders is by outsourcing to professional outfits. Eg: using centralized batching plants, hiring concrete design engineers, pile-testing, running structural design via modeling software et al. The larger builders will be ruined by the kind of sagging that happened in Blr a few years ago. The smaller builders gradually adopt all these over years. But older structures remains and retrofitting is not big in India)
Again OT

Its Israel day at kathmandu airport. The ElAl B747 (1 or 2) tie up the ramp space for over 12 hours now. KTM can only take 8 large. So depending upon whether its 1 or 2, 1 in 8 or 2 in 8 slots are tied up with israel today. Also 747s probably eat more than 1 slot. The sky above is filled with circling crows, all Modi's fault.

100x UP etc buses == approx 6000 people per caravan. KTM is adding another 4000ish out per day. In addition to usual traffic.
At this rate, the desertion will be over in a week or two.
any idea how many indian tourists or workers were in Nepal? it cannot be that huge....most of the trekkers and mountaineers in nepal are not indians as we have our own circuit in uttaranchal, HP and sikkim run by our own outfits. I figure its exodus will be over by Fri. just run these caravans every day, requisition for a week more pvt buses if needed from the vast number in UP/bihar...
the gulf countries, malaysia, singapore, thailand where a lot of nepalis work at bottom of pyramid have sent some aid. to be fair the islamic countries and red crescent are willing to help in most circumstances and are not the kind of raving mad soul vultures some of the christian aid orgs are.
israel it seems is sending another c130j also http://www.haaretz.com/news/world/1.653634
since they are all about Qaum and numbers, they are taking special care to evac all surrogate mothers nearing term....had no idea there was such a industry going on.
the gulf countries, malaysia, singapore, thailand where a lot of nepalis work at bottom of pyramid have sent some aid. to be fair the islamic countries and red crescent are willing to help in most circumstances and are not the kind of raving mad soul vultures some of the christian aid orgs are.
israel it seems is sending another c130j also http://www.haaretz.com/news/world/1.653634
since they are all about Qaum and numbers, they are taking special care to evac all surrogate mothers nearing term....had no idea there was such a industry going on.
The world is a miserable place.
1. The number is in 100,000s.
2. Paid scum is certainly making its presence felt
The world is a miserable place.
1. The number is in 100,000s.
2. Paid scum is certainly making its presence felt
3. re. israel☆The Good Doctor☆ @Kaalateetham 3m3 minutes ago
Imagine in right hands how temple funds can be used in disasters like Nepal
@narendramodi bhai govt should have no business running temples
Israel News
World News
Israel Opinion
Jewish
Israel Business
Israel Culture
Israel Travel
Breaking News
Get Breaking News Alerts
Red email
Foreign Ministry: 20 Israelis rescued from Nepal during morning hours
Itamar Eichner
Published: 04.28.15, 11:33 / Israel News
The head of the Israeli Foreign Ministry's situation room in Kathmandu, Amnon Kalmar, said that 20 Israeli hikers caught up in the earthquake in Nepal were rescued during the morning hours of Tuesday. He added that the operation is ongoing and that at present, the main efforts are directed towards rescuing Israelis stranded in the area of the Frozen Lakes in Langtang.
After seeing some images, they will take you into a deep thought and do whatever, they will never leave your active memory and today I saw one such image from Nepal. Its really heart wrenching and welled up my eyes.

hope their elders are alive. IAF initial recce of the epicenter village reported seeing "150 bodies". not sure if these were kept in one place by survivors or almost had perished and bodies were lying around
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKvadUsAA42Dr.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKxO2UMAALeYV.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKw_JUkAEHorF.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKvx-UgAAxurk.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHj00UsAAqiuC.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHlQFUsAAyWg_.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHl6rVIAE6o-K.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHj5FUEAA8TOo.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV7ZqWEAAy7dT.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV72aXIAIKDvq.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV72TWgAAksCF.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV73ZXIAQP1gm.jpg
my favorite

The C17!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT8UBWIAAnj6U.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT8QHWgAI0WBI.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT7-wWgAAP6XK.jpg
Give your money to SavethechildrenUK!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnWLyeWIAIqofB.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnQXEIWoAMU_Y8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnRL6fW0AIQK-x.jpg
Moar C17 (now with pressurized cabins!):
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNSGxWIAAfQBE.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNQamWEAIH4t9.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNSfAWYAMsLoZ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNSZSWIAAi64O.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLP6pWgAALibq.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLOw_WIAAufeB.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLP3sWIAAVmMt.jpg
itanshu Kar @SpokespersonMoD · 17h 17 hours ago
#NepalEarthquake Arrival at Palam from Kathmandu by IAF's IL-76 earlier today
Buy! Buy! Buy!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnAjJmXIAA6Nc8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmxSAGWIAEYXOQ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmxSzdWoAEeaAX.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwro6W8AMlY4a.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwrzQWYAQlPek.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwr9OWYAM9OkJ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwr-BWYAEwxt8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmrBpZXIAAKNwj.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmrBOKWMAIMGyJ.jpg
If only these too were C17s!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKxO2UMAALeYV.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKw_JUkAEHorF.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqKvx-UgAAxurk.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHj00UsAAqiuC.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHlQFUsAAyWg_.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHl6rVIAE6o-K.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDqHj5FUEAA8TOo.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV7ZqWEAAy7dT.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV72aXIAIKDvq.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV72TWgAAksCF.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpV73ZXIAQP1gm.jpg
my favorite

The C17!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT8UBWIAAnj6U.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT8QHWgAI0WBI.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDpT7-wWgAAP6XK.jpg
Give your money to SavethechildrenUK!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnWLyeWIAIqofB.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnQXEIWoAMU_Y8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnRL6fW0AIQK-x.jpg
Moar C17 (now with pressurized cabins!):
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNSGxWIAAfQBE.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNQamWEAIH4t9.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnNSfAWYAMsLoZ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLP6pWgAALibq.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLOw_WIAAufeB.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnLP3sWIAAVmMt.jpg
itanshu Kar @SpokespersonMoD · 17h 17 hours ago
#NepalEarthquake Arrival at Palam from Kathmandu by IAF's IL-76 earlier today
Buy! Buy! Buy!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDnAjJmXIAA6Nc8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmxSAGWIAEYXOQ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmxSzdWoAEeaAX.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwro6W8AMlY4a.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwrzQWYAQlPek.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwr9OWYAM9OkJ.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmwr-BWYAEwxt8.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmrBpZXIAAKNwj.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CDmrBOKWMAIMGyJ.jpg
If only these too were C17s!
Vikas Swarup @MEAIndia · 5m 5 minutes ago
PM @narendramodi - "We will do everything possible with rescue and relief. And, we will certainly be there when you rebuild your lives"
13 retweets 14 favorites
Vikas Swarup @MEAIndia · 6m 6 minutes ago
PM @narendramodi also spoke to people of Nepal at start of press briefing: "You are not alone at this moment of tragedy and trial."
21 retweets 10 favorites
PM @narendramodi - "We will do everything possible with rescue and relief. And, we will certainly be there when you rebuild your lives"
13 retweets 14 favorites
Vikas Swarup @MEAIndia · 6m 6 minutes ago
PM @narendramodi also spoke to people of Nepal at start of press briefing: "You are not alone at this moment of tragedy and trial."
21 retweets 10 favorites
I’m ashamed of Britain’s aid pledge to Nepal – just 12p each
Carole Cadwalladr
The white Angst.
After having sucked the bones of subcontinent dry United Kingdon insults the victims with stingy help
Carole Cadwalladr
The white Angst.
After having sucked the bones of subcontinent dry United Kingdon insults the victims with stingy help
I should be having a there-but-for-the-grace-of-God moment right now. Exactly one week before the earthquake struck Nepal, I was in Kathmandu. Exactly two weeks before, I was at Everest base camp, standing next to my team mate Dan Fredinburg, the Google executive who was tragically swept to his death in the avalanche that followed.
And I am. But not in the way you might expect. Because during my trip to Nepal to write for the Observer about last year’s avalanche on Everest, which killed 16 Sherpas, I couldn’t fail to notice the grinding poverty all around. It doesn’t look like poverty as we think of it. It has some of the most gorgeous and mesmerising landscapes on Earth. Its villages, many of which are miles from any road, look like they’ve been painted by a 19th century Romantic artist whose vision was blurred by the tears in his eyes at the sheer loveliness of the scene.
But it is one of the poorest countries in the world. Its education and healthcare are atrocious. The life chances of its people are abysmal. The only way to earn money for a vast number of Nepalese men is to go and fall off a crane in Qatar: three body bags a day arrive at Kathmandu airport from construction sites abroad.
And it’s just got so much worse. The country is in the grip of the worst humanitarian crisis in living memory. And what have we done? David Cameron has announced that Britain will be sending a team of eight people to help. The government has said we will give £5m in disaster relief. Eight people. Five million pounds – the princely sum of 12p from each of us. And here are some more numbers: 200, the years we have siphoned off their population to fight our wars for us; 43,000, the Gurkhas killed during two world wars; 141, the places ahead we are of Nepal in a list of the world’s richest countries; five, where we are in a list of its trading partners.
I don’t feel lucky to have missed the earthquake in Kathmandu or the avalanche at base camp. To have avoided the broken limbs my other team mates suffered, or to have been buried under the cascading rubble of the heartbreakingly beautiful, now destroyed, Durbar Square, where last Saturday I bought scarves as presents for my friends. I took my chances. I didn’t have to be there. Instead I feel extraordinarily lucky to have been born in a country with a functioning economy and the kind of life chances denied to 99.9% of the population of Nepal.
I received a world-class education for free, I’m able to travel and visit other countries, and if I’d been caught in an avalanche up at base camp, or stubbed my toe, I had insurance to spring me a helicopter to the best western-style hospital around. My livelihood, unlike the Nepalese people I was with, hasn’t just suffered a catastrophic blow by the inevitable collapse of tourism (the Foreign Office has warned against all but essential travel to the country). And the doctor I saw for the chest infection I carried home didn’t cost me a penny.
Inequality is the phenomenon that some of us have woken up to in the last couple of years, an injustice that has spawned self-righteous speeches from politicians of all stripes and outpourings from our greatest liberal commentators. It’s only now that we have seen a cohort of people – bankers, property speculators, robber barons – become so vastly wealthier than us, who have stockpiled so many of the world’s resources for their personal enrichment, that we’ve suddenly realised how cripplingly unfair this is. And yet we’ve completely failed to acknowledge or even realise that to the rest of the world, that is how we, all of us, appear.
We rail against the 1% and yet we are the 1%. A World Bank economist, Branko Milanovic, calculated in 2012 that to be a member of the global 1%, you need to earn $34,000 a year – or £22,000. The average British income is £25,000.
This weekend I read that the Duke of Westminster is the highest British-born individual on this year’s Sunday Times Rich List. But then I realised that I have far more in common with him than I do with most of the world’s population. We’ve both inherited our great good fortune through no skills or talents of our own. And I direct this at myself as much as anyone. Because almost the only time I put my hand in my pocket to donate money to the likes of Unicef and the Red Cross is for the kind of humanitarian catastrophe that even I can’t ignore.
I am probably stingier, relatively speaking, than the average Russian oligarch, a breed I’ve written any number of snarky articles about. There’s a terrible sense of helplessness that accompanies any natural disaster and this one, in particular for me, is exacerbated by the fact I can’t compute that Dan is dead. But he took his chances, voluntarily engaging in a dangerous adventure sport, unlike every single Nepalese I met who just had the great misfortune to have been born in a country that’s a financial basket case.
The anger and shame I feel is directed not just at the British government for its pathetic miserliness. Or even myself. It’s born out of a greater despair at a political landscape that considers poor, desperate foreigners undeserving of our sympathy or of any sense of responsibility to help them.
Katie Hopkins calling drowned migrants “cockroaches” is a symptom of a rhetoric that has come to dominate every side of the political debate. She is describing how we, as a country, as a society, are acting. Collectively we are to the rest of the world what Roman Abramovich is to us.
Embassy of India KTM @eoiktmnp 18m18 minutes ago
By tomorrow 100 more buses to arrive in Kathmandu with over 6000 capacity @MEAIndia
lets not be hard on the brits. they have a old attachment for nepal and pvt contributions might accumulate later.
the prize belongs to Murika the king lion who has donated....1 MILLION DOLLARS!! (applause)
and none of its massive fleet of pressurized C17 or C5 are winging their way in with any form of doctors, medicines or camping supplies yet.
the prize belongs to Murika the king lion who has donated....1 MILLION DOLLARS!! (applause)
and none of its massive fleet of pressurized C17 or C5 are winging their way in with any form of doctors, medicines or camping supplies yet.
Deadly earthquake: Death toll reaches 4347
KATHMANDU, APR 28 - The death toll from Saturday's deadly 7.9 magnitude quake and a series of aftershocks that struck various parts of Nepal has reached 4356 leaving 8154 injured as of Tuesday morning.
The Central Development Region has been the worst affected area with surging death toll in Kathmandu and Sindhupalchwok. According to latest information, 1440 have lost their lives and 4356 injured in Kathmandu along with 1176 people losing their lives in Sindhupalchwok.
Likewise, 231 people lost their lives and 323 have been injured in Gorkha, Kaski, Tanahu, Nawalparasi and Lamjung in Western Development Region.
In Taplejung, Morang, Sunsari, Bhojpur, Okhaldhunga and Solukhumbu of the Eastern Development Region, 50 people have been reported dead along with 206 injured.
“Langtang is gone”
Nearly all the 200 inhabitants of this tiny village at the base of Mt Langtang are presumed to have perished.
Sahina Shrestha
Nearly all the 200 inhabitants of this tiny village at the base of Mt Langtang are presumed to have perished.
Sahina Shrestha
The avalanche of ice and rocks fell on the village of Langtang just after the ground started shaking that Saturday morning. Even before the family of Dawa Tamang could run for safety the debris had engulfed them.
https://scontent-sin.xx.fbcdn.net/hphot ... e=55DC4844
the delhi gurudwara food aid banner being flagged off by VKS.
looks like they will setup a community kitchen in Kathmandu soon instead of shipping it daily from india.
the delhi gurudwara food aid banner being flagged off by VKS.
looks like they will setup a community kitchen in Kathmandu soon instead of shipping it daily from india.

Child:Whats that, daddy?
Random person(father is under the rubble somewhere):Thats a C17. They cost $1B, we should buy some more.
Citizen Halo @haloefekti 2h2 hours ago
Due Kathmandu Airport jam refused landing permit Finnish aid team with field hospital, doctor, rescuers & rubble search dogs mission aborted
Thailand News @Thailand_News 2h2 hours ago
Heavy congestion at Kathmandu airport delays Thai rescue personnel: Heavy congestion at Kathmandu airport dela... http://bit.ly/1dnJh4A
aphael Marcus @RaphaelMarcus_ 32m32 minutes ago
Angry mobs at airport and central bus station. Not yet clear what triggered it. Rescue teams, watch out #NepalEarthquake #Kathmandu
Asia Pacific News @AsiaPacNews 2h2 hours ago
SouthEast Asia: Nepal earthquake: RSAF planes unable to land in Kathmandu airport due to congestion http://dlvr.it/9Zd2cd #indonesia
0 retweets 0 favorites
Stuart Banfield @stuartbanfield 2h2 hours ago
Military aircraft taking up wide-bodied bays at Kathmandu Airport forcing commercial flights to be delayed #Nepal #NepalQuake
whats important right now, is that all these well fed, able bodied, healthy and rich people be helped in abandoning nepal.
On a serious note, the airport should be aid going in only. Let people wanting to get out get out by road. A few hours extra vacation isnt doing them any harm.
Due Kathmandu Airport jam refused landing permit Finnish aid team with field hospital, doctor, rescuers & rubble search dogs mission aborted
Thailand News @Thailand_News 2h2 hours ago
Heavy congestion at Kathmandu airport delays Thai rescue personnel: Heavy congestion at Kathmandu airport dela... http://bit.ly/1dnJh4A
aphael Marcus @RaphaelMarcus_ 32m32 minutes ago
Angry mobs at airport and central bus station. Not yet clear what triggered it. Rescue teams, watch out #NepalEarthquake #Kathmandu
Asia Pacific News @AsiaPacNews 2h2 hours ago
SouthEast Asia: Nepal earthquake: RSAF planes unable to land in Kathmandu airport due to congestion http://dlvr.it/9Zd2cd #indonesia
0 retweets 0 favorites
Stuart Banfield @stuartbanfield 2h2 hours ago
Military aircraft taking up wide-bodied bays at Kathmandu Airport forcing commercial flights to be delayed #Nepal #NepalQuake
whats important right now, is that all these well fed, able bodied, healthy and rich people be helped in abandoning nepal.
On a serious note, the airport should be aid going in only. Let people wanting to get out get out by road. A few hours extra vacation isnt doing them any harm.
Last edited by Shreeman on 28 Apr 2015 16:07, edited 1 time in total.
In 3 2 1, ok start:
Jayrajsinh Chavda @Jayrajsinh 8m8 minutes ago Nepal
@PMOIndia @narendramodi Black marketing of rescue flights at #kathmandu airport by @eoiktmnp Indian embassy officials. Please take action
There, there. Whos a good boy, then? Who's a good boy?NDTV @ndtv 23m23 minutes ago
'India has demonstrated its global leadership', says US, as India helps quake-hit Nepal http://goo.gl/opFtqk
Well two were aid teams.we can offer to land them in Lucknow and send them up in the bus convoys on reverse leg. The first item of future aid to Nepal should be build a bigger apt with extra aprons.
^^^ A bad case of misjudged ground realities and scale of the event. Use the airport for aid only. No aid flights will be turned back.
Instead of 100, use 1000 buses. Many times the airport capacity. Rich people quarrelling at the airport is hardly helping.
The 29 member Finnish mission was aborted before its start (turned back from airport). At least the official reason from Nepal government said, they do not need any more rescue teams. 20 teams are on standby in India, if needed.Shreeman wrote:Citizen Halo @haloefekti 2h2 hours ago
http://yle.fi/uutiset/finnish_rescue_te ... ed/7959011