They may have been carrying some sort of fuel which could have ignited. Complacency because of long time, no threat may have also been a factor. wouldn't thermo baric have caused more intense fire damage to the remains??ramana wrote:Sid this not a ordinary RPG round which has shrapnel. Looks like a thermo-baric or some sort of flame round that burns the victims.
Sorry for the soldiers who died.
Indian Army News & Discussions - 11 June 2014
Re: Indian Army: News and Discussions 11 June 2014
Sid, I will side with Shiv on this as well. We need to show this, only then people in India will wake up. We are not dealing with enemies, but barbarism. Sitting in a comfortable a/c cafe in an urban city in India sipping a cappuccino (not that by itself is anything wrong with it), all the while blissfully unaware of what these vermin are doing to our jawans is a great injustice to their memory. Awareness of barbarism is the only way to destroy these scum. Take a look at Israel who still keeps the memory of the holocaust alive.Sid wrote:2 militants killed in Manipur, ADGPI tweeted.
btw Shiv, I don't agree with your logic on pictures of "mutilated bodies" of serving soldier being distributed in media. Specially for propaganda purpose, does not matter which side uses it.
the first photo have the face smashed and both eyes gorged hence not of terrorist most probably some one found alive tortured and thrown away.vaibhav.n wrote:I think the first photo is of the lone militant they killed. In the other, you can also see sandbags across the vehicle floor.
in the truck the bodies are tangled and burned the body of the truck intact which means the soldiers were put on fire when they were alive not fire due to RPG or thermobaric or fuel tank going up in flames. and yes am with Shiv
this will strength the resolve for revenge
the seat cushions and cabin of the truck appear to have burned...but the framework does not bear any sign of impact or blast damage a volley of RPG rounds would do...or maybe thermobaric version of rpg was used to set everything on fire...
me thinks some LMGs were used to kill or wound everyone and then the dead and wounded heaped into a pile and deliberately burned.
revenge has to be swift, 10x and brutal to send a message back to the root node and cadre also.
me thinks some LMGs were used to kill or wound everyone and then the dead and wounded heaped into a pile and deliberately burned.
revenge has to be swift, 10x and brutal to send a message back to the root node and cadre also.
The 1st pic is most likely that of the terrorist who was killed and 2nd body of a terrorist who died of wounds was also recovered. The true story of the ambush will hopefully come out from the survivors - some of them have probably already been questioned. The convoy had 46 personnel out of which 18 died and 11 were wounded, more than 50% casualty rate.
Singha wrote:the seat cushions and cabin of the truck appear to have burned...but the framework does not bear any sign of impact or blast damage a volley of RPG rounds would do...or maybe thermobaric version of rpg was used to set everything on fire....
There are two vehicles front one is TATA LPTA 4x4 and Second one is Stallion 4x4
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 572946.cms
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/photo/47565189.cms
TATA 4x4 lead vechile clearly visible frontal attack, cabin and front Tyre's burnt out, (Side View)
does look like some sort of explosion below front cabin (not sure but broken rods underneath visible)
looks like stallion almost collided with 1st vechile.
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/photo/47565196.cms
(Front-view) cabin and front Tyre's burnt out, front right side one can see an impact mark of UBGL/RPG (big hole)
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/photo/47565193.cms
Second vehicle Stallion 4x4 clearly visible and burnt out
First vehicle back still visible showing no burnt marks
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/photo/47565187.cms
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/photo/47565192.cms
http://d34x6livs1h7ic.cloudfront.net/si ... k=vtrvXrfn
second vehicle may be carrying flammable substance
two teams at work my guess, one team took on the 1st vehicle from front and second team concentrated on the second vehicle. (my guess)
Is surgical strike ops new to our army? Have they been conducted earlier? if not is this a new security policy?
Please post everything relevant to the cross border op into Myanmar into the new thread for that.
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... f=3&t=7032
You know Sid your opinion sparks off different streams of thought in my mind:Sid wrote:2 militants killed in Manipur, ADGPI tweeted.
btw Shiv, I don't agree with your logic on pictures of "mutilated bodies" of serving soldier being distributed in media. Specially for propaganda purpose, does not matter which side uses it.
1. It is a wonder that our media published them at all. Just last week the normally traitorous Hindu newspaper that invariably published the image of a grieving Kashmiri woman every time a terrorist is killed published, you guessed it, the image of a grieving Kashmiri woman after Indian soldiers were killed -. As a matter of habit the Hindu makes people expect grieving civilian mothers and sisters every time the word Indian army is published. I don't suppose you object to that, but you know that such lack of objection would not be fair to the army. This is negative psy ops.
2. When people die in India their faces are left open. Mourners wail aloud and people need to see the dead person to join the mourning. In India death is not hidden. In the "media explosion" of the last 15-20 years there has been a change as Indian media have gradually picked up fake western sensibilities in showing death. Avoiding the images of the dead (and pretending sensitivity to death) is a two edged sword. Western forces can massacre any number of others and nothing is shown because of "sensitivity". This is idiotic. If something or someone is dead who is helped by not allowing others to see that? OK is is horrifying but seriously are the media trying to "improve someone's life" by not showing horrifying images? This is reaching such a stupid extent that traditional images and idols of Kali in Bengal are being treated as "NSFW".
I stand by what I said. We must publish images of our dead when we have been wronged. We must see them and feel anger. No point having fake sensitivity to death
At one level, I feel that your post is about harnessing raw emotion of the loved ones and the society at large. In order to insure that we don't forget and don't forgive.
Given the timidity of the GOI & society at large in the past. I appreciate the thought process behind it.
At one level, I feel that your post is about harnessing raw emotion of the loved ones and the society at large. In order to insure that we don't forget and don't forgive.
Given the timidity of the GOI & society at large in the past. I appreciate the thought process behind it.
Inside story: Over 100 northeast militants may have been killed in Army's Myanmar operations - Bharti Jain, ToI
Jai Ho.
Jai Ho.
Indian Army's surgical strike deep inside Myanmar, bordering Manipur, lasted for about 45 minutes and over 100 northeast militants may have been killed in the operation, a ministry of home affairs source told TOI.
Army's strike against militants was so precise that latter had no chance to recover from first burst of fire. Indian Army forces faced no retaliation and not a single shot was fired by militants.
Six injured rebels are admitted in a hospital.
Myanmar has since cordoned off the area where Indian Army undertook operations against northeast insurgents.
On Nagaland border too, Army's special forces pursued militants into Myanmar and killed 15 insurgents.
The Myanmar government was informed hours after the commandos in battle fatigues had mostly completed surgical strikes against the groups which had over the past couple of weeks killed 30 Indian soldiers. The operation, conceived as retaliation as well as the declaration of Modi government's intent to strike at terror threats across its borders, had begun at 3am but the Indian ambassador could pass on the information to Myanmar's foreign ministry only after their offices opened at regular hours on Tuesday morning.
The commandos safely returned to Indian territory after silencing the insurgents' guns.
IAF choppers and drones assisted the SF (special forces) soldiers.
Myanmar hot pursuit signals massive change in India's strategy
Minister of state for information and broadcasting Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore told Times Now that the hot pursuit was ordered by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He said attacks on Indians, be it in Iraq or Yemen, were unacceptable. "This is a message to neighbours who harbour terrorists," Rathore said.
Announcing the success, the government made it clear that it was not a one-off operation but symbolized its decision not to be constrained by borders and to be pre-emptive in dealing with terror threats. "While ensuring peace and tranquility along the border and in the border states, any threat to our security, safety and national integrity will meet a firm response," the Army declared officially, a posture that is also applicable to terror groups sheltered by other neighbouring countries. {AoA}
The troops were guided to two camps of the Nationalist Socialist Council of Nagaland (Khaplang) and allied insurgent groups by intelligence which was gathered by operatives who crossed over into Myanmar a couple of days ago and returned with precise co-ordinates of the terror dens along with photographs.
The daring raid, which saw commandos crawling hundreds of meters to raid the camps, marked the unveiling of India's new response to unconventional threats irrespective of where they come from. This was the first declared instance of the use of the doctrine of pre-emption: a principle that the US invokes to disregard constraints of national borders to nip threats.
Briefing the reporters after the successful strikes on the camps at two separate locations across Tuensang in Nagaland and Ukhrul in Manipur, Major General Ranbir Singh made no bones of the fact that the twin operations were provoked by the killing of Indian soldiers. More importantly, he said the Army had to move in view of "credible and specific" intelligence about more attacks inside India. "These attacks were to be carried out by some of the groups involved in earlier attacks on our security personnel and their allies," said General Singh, additional director general of military operations.
"In view of the imminent threat, an immediate response was necessary," he said.
Government sources said the political leadership cleared the cross-border pursuit because it was considered necessary to lift the morale of the Army after it lost 30 of its men in 3 attacks by insurgents, as well as to send across a message to "perpetrators of terror wherever they are".
Explaining Modi government's new stance towards terror threat, a senior official told TOI: "You cannot realistically hope to prevent each terror attack because the timing and the target is determined by the enemy. But how do you respond is your prerogative. And it is the response which defines your determination to use all responses at your disposal to strike at those responsible."
The cross-border pursuit was in line with Modi government's decision to give disproportionate response to provocations, which had been visible in Jammu & Kashmir in recent months, where Indian troops have been aggressive in their response to ceasefire violations by Pakistan.
The following mail was sent to the Defence Minister on 8 Jun 15, 2015
Lt. Gen . Satish Bahri (retd)
THE POOR 'BLOODY' INDIAN SOLDIER
Dear Mr Defence Minister,
I have given the above subject heading because it is ironic that while he is lauded everywhere else in the world, he is is not valued in his own country by the government. I think it is a pity that you have to head such a bunch.
Recently, all the European countries praised the Indian soldiers who fought in the 1914-18 WWI on their soil, to liberate them and not to subjugate them.
Our reputation as soldiers in WW II and keeping peace on behalf of the United Nations, is second to none.
Even the PM showed appreciation for them, during his recent visit to Bangladesh.
Even the Bangladesh Government gave awards to our retired officers during 2014 for their services during their liberation.
We have given a good account of ourselves in all the confrontations with Pakistan, since Independence, despite handicaps.
In our own country we appear to be seen as a burden on the Nation's economy so while everyone else, from Legislators to government servants and their hangers on are making hay, the soldier has been termed "an appendage", not even a Class A government servant, who has no access to the country's prosperity, like others.
Not realising that it is because the soldier is guarding the borders that the termites can continue to gnaw at the vitals of the nation.
I was at the ESM meeting at the Constitution Club on 6 Jun 15 and could feel their palpable anger.
I wish you had come and felt the vibrations.
As I mentioned in my previous letter that the new government has still not been able to get a control on the 'babu lok' of Delhi.
They can give themselves a raise any time, but when it comes to the soldiers dues sanctioned by the 6th CPC or by the Apex Court, they have a hundred precedents and excuses as to why it cannot be done.
In 1969-70 no CPC had been ordered, the civil servants got a raise approved by the political masters and deliberately left the soldiers out.
It took us over a year to get it rectified, once we came to know about it.
But when OROP is due the same gets stuck in the gullet. Why don't these financial wizards raise issues when early, time scale and ad lib promotions, without regard to merit are gotten approved, for themselves?
Mr Minister, you must be realising by now that you have been deliberately made to face embarrassment.
You were giving various dates of implementation, obviously on the assurance of some one, which you could not adhere to.
With the result that you are unable to give an assurance to the ESM delegation you met twice on 6 Jun 15.
The bureaucracy has made you the fall guy, while they will keep on feeding everyone that they are doing a massive job which cannot be done in the immediate future.
You with you logical thinking could work out the required funds to the nearest crore within a month of taking on your portfolio, but our 'muneems' are still working with their pencils and papers to calculate the amount required.
Most people who can handle a computer say that they can work out the amount for 95 % of the people in 3 days and for the remaining 5% (who have special conditions) in one week.
I indicated to you an additional 2 weeks so that it does seem plausible.
You can confirm this from Rear Adm BR Vasanth (Retd) Mobile No 09845027004.
Actually, if the Service HQ had been involved they would have not taken so many months that the financial experts of MOD & MOF have taken, because like you, they work with a sense of purpose and not the idea of delaying matters.
On a tangent, may I apprise you that the government which has ruled us for the maximum period since independence seemed to have an agenda to firstly, weaken the military equipment wise, by taking ages to induct new weapons and secondly, to ensure that it's manpower is demoralised.
No wonder many soldiers ask, "does this nation deserve this Army".
No weapon works on its own, Sir, it is the man behind the gun that matters. And, if his heart is not in it, no weapon can win a war by itself. Even the most sophisticated fighter plane, like Rafale needs a motivated pilot to go single handed and seek out his enemy and destroy him.
Do these pen pushers recognise this or do they only keep planning as how to cut down the calories in a pilot's breakfast and save a few pennies.
Our quality of officer intake has suffered, because who wants to serve in a service which is second class and does not get compensated for the dangers it faces.
It is better to serve as a peon, serve till 60 yrs, close to home and no one dares sack you for dereliction of duty. You can always form a union and beat the government with a judicial stick.
Mr Minister, please think of the soldier who faces a bullet and not a pen pusher who only thinks how not to make mistakes so that he can get his next promotion and raise. No army wants to come runners up in a war. It will take generations to rebuild a dented edifice, as it happened in Germany and Japan.
Think of the POOR BLOODY INDIAN SOLDIER.
The babus are replaceable but not dedicated solders.
I hope you can convey these thoughts to the PM as I cannot reach him except on Twitter or Facebook, which are beyond me.
With warm regards
Lt Gen SK Bahri (Retd)
^^^ Thanks to the good General for trying. I am sure even he knows that nothing can move the 'babu log'.
Received by email
The CO 9 Rajput
Wrote this article in this morning - 9 June 2015.
This is not a post for the weak hearted and Adarsh Liberals so do not go any further if you are out of your comfort zone.
It really pains a soldier's heart if the blood of his brethren is not adequate to galvanize a nation.
This nation is so ungrateful, the intelligentsia so spineless and intellectual class so bigoted that they will get mobilised by tragedies of Peshawar, Gaza or France. However, they are immune to our own suffering. Why? I will tell you why, because it is fashionable to get associated with a global cause, it makes you look cool, it is easier to talk about it sipping a single malt in a comfortable South Delhi mansion.
I do not condone any of the terror attacks happened anywhere in the world, not even in Pakistan. However, I shall be candid : a terror attack in Peshawar wherein brethren of one enemy is killed by another has very limited relevance for me. I am aware I would be lynched for this statement but I would hold my ground.
Ask anyone who has lifted the coffin of his brother, his comrade, how heavy is the load? It has the dreams of a young wife, it has the future of his children and hopes of his parents. My dear countrymen, it is far heavier than any coffin.
Few of you will also chide me by saying that soldiers are paid to die. No sir, you are entirely incorrect. Soldiers are paid to protect the integrity of the nation. If you want canon fodder, hire mercenaries. This soldier is even denied a decent last journey, his bullet riddled remains are kept in a dilapidated parking yard in Delhi Airport as the 'designated place' does not have the security clearance! The same place is opened every Thursday for devotees as there is a Peer Baba located there. Thank the Lord for small mercies that his comrades in OG, will go out of their way to give him a befitting final journey.
His kids and wife are then part of an archaic system where pay stops the next day and pension starts in minimum 4-5 months albeit with arrears. Somebody ask these intellectuals do they even bother to think about a household where there will be no salary for five months but the stomach won't stop growling, the school fee won't stop and the electricity bill is still required to be paid.
The average youth of the nation also disappoints here, he is more bothered about mounting losses on Nestle and the two minute gruel. No candlelight march for his soldier, no white cap for his protector. Somehow, misery of Gaza always outshines misery of his own country.
Coming to polity and bureaucracy, the less said the better. If initial reports are to be believed, they are contemplating de-induction of armed forces from the areas where the encounter took place. As a result, the brothers of the slain will be denied even a chance to seek retribution.
Last but certainly not the least, the most disappointing facet, the harbinger of moral compass, the fourth estate, the Media. Death of a soldier doesn't sell, period. So why even bother.
A soldier is aware of the dangers involved in the life he has chosen. He also understands that every other profession is as important and everybody can not fight.
Just give him dignity when he is alive and mourn for him when he fades away. That's it, nothing more, nothing less.
I would end this note with an anecdote :
Late Lieut Saurabh Kalia who was one of the earliest casualties of the Kargil War did not die of a gun shot wound. When his body was returned by Pakistan, his eyes had been gouged out, his ears and nose had been chopped, his entire body had cigarette and electric current burn marks, and his private parts had been cut and stuffed in his mouth and his mouth was sewn up. He was alive during the entire ordeal.
Try selling the idea of 'Aman ki Asha' to his parents who were not allowed to see their son for one last time, try selling it to his comrades who indeed saw the body.
Reconciliation comes easy in a comfortable home, not in an unforgiving bunker.
Mr Bond, is it? Or, Mr Bean-counter?
The article was published Dec 8, 2014 in "The Week" magazine. Essentially a sad narrative on the folks involved in TSD, their role, their suffering and where they are now. I dont remember reading it. Hence posted here.
One Rank One Policy cleared by govermard. Very good news
This is very important news, please supply a link. Too many times this news has been announced but not officially.krishna_krishna wrote:One Rank One Policy cleared by govermard. Very good news
DRDO finds new model to repair LoC fences
http://www.tribuneindia.com/news/nation ... 94509.html
The Snow and Avalanche Study Establishment (SASE), a DRDO laboratory based here, has developed a cost-effective model for repairing the fence along the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir which gets damaged due to excessive snow loads and cold weather every year.
The new design, also referred as the Anti-Infiltration Obstacle System, consists of hollow section steel posts of pre-determined specifications and concreting with a special grout mix-up to the required depth. A double-twisted galvanized mesh has been added to either side of the concertina wire coils to cater to the snow load and even the method of fixing the concertina coils to the posts has been modified.
Field trials for the new design were conducted in certain specific sectors along the LoC during winter and the impact of snow and weather on the structure was analysed after snow melt. The SASE and the Army are working out on optimisation of certain parameters and design specifications, sources said.
The design has met the requirement for installation on the ground and along the vertical slope, that is, from top of a hill to the bottom. The next stage is to develop a structure suitable for fixing horizontally across the slope, that is, from left to right. The snow load on the fence which lies across the slope is heavier than the weight it has to bear when placed along the slope.
Most of the frontier with Pakistan, including the international border and the 743-km LoC is fenced to check infiltration. Several hundred kilometers of the fence runs through areas that remain heavily snowbound in winters. The damage to the fence was largely due to its rudimentary design and poor foundations of the posts. This resulted in deployment of large manpower for yearly maintenance and repairs, leading to high recurring costs.
Terrible news coming in from UK India Joint Exercise
From rediff:
15:19 PM 21 Indian soldiers injured during joint military ops in UK:
At least 21 Indian soldiers taking part in a joint military exercise with UK injured in road accident in Salisbury.
The BBC reports that the army personnel were injured in a collision between three troop carriers on Salisbury Plain.
Two people with life-threatening injuries have been flown to Southampton General Hospital and eight with "serious injuries" to Salisbury. The collision happened in a field near Larkhill Camp at 18:30 UK time.
More than 100 soldiers from the First Battalion of the Kumaon Regiment of the Indian army are currently in Britain as part of a joint exchange exercise codenamed Ajeya Warrior.
It is not known who was involved in the crash. Wiltshire Police said four or five people had suffered "life-changing injuries".
More than 20 soldiers injured in multiple crash at Salisbury Plain
British and Indian troops are badly hurt in a collision during a joint exercise and one Indian soldier is believed to have lost a limb

By Ben Farmer, Defence Correspondent, and Nicola Harley 9:25AM BST 18 Jun 2015
At least one soldier is believed to have lost a limb in a collision between troop lorries during an Anglo-Indian exercise on Salisbury Plain.
Up to 20 military personnel were injured in the smash just off a public road across the Plain, with the two most severely injured being flown by helicopter to nearby hospital and another eight classed as seriously hurt.

Video still from BBC news showing where troops were hurt in a crash involving carrier vehicles on Salisbury Plain (BBC)
Police said four or five could have suffered "life-changing" injuries, and military sources said at least one Indian soldier has undergone an amputation. Both British and Indian troops were badly hurt, but the majority of injured are Indians, the source said.
Exercise Ajaya Warrior was part of a larger war game called Wessex Storm and involved troops from British units including 6 Rifles and a company of Indian soldiers carrying out mock counter insurgency operations in difficult urban terrain. The crash took place at around 6.30pm on Wednesday, in a field near Westdown Camp.

Army personnel inspect the damaged trucks following the accident in Salisbury (ALAMY)
A spokeswoman from South West Ambulance Service said: "From our perspective we have taken two patients with life threatening injuries, and flown them to Southampton. One went with Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance, and the other with Wiltshire Air Ambulance. We have taken eight patients with serious injures by road ambulance to Salisbury Hospital. We have treated a number of walking wounded - I am saying a number because we don't have a definitive figure." She said the rescue operation involved a number of land ambulances, volunteer on-call doctors and two ambulance hazardous area response teams - one from Bristol and another from South Central Ambulance Service.
A number of rapid response vehicles were also involved, as well as two critical care paramedics vehicles. The gender and ages of the injured people, and the nature of their injuries are not yet known.
A spokesperson for Wiltshire Police said: "We received a call from the air ambulance who told us they were attending. Initially it was believed 16 people were injured but the number has risen to over 20 and paramedics say some are "critical".
"First responders and three military ambulances were also at the location, a field on The Plain near Westdown Camp. "It happened on a by-way which cuts through The Plain. "It is still regarded as a Wiltshire Police matter as it's on a by-way, although it's off the main road." It is not yet known which hospitals the injured soldiers were taken to for treatment.

Video still from BBC news showing where troops were hurt in a crash involving carrier vehicles on Salisbury Plain (BBC)
A spokesman for the Ministry of Defence said: "We are aware of an incident in the training area of Salisbury Plain. We are not absolutely certain of the details and until we are, we will not be making any comment." The Royal School of Artillery is based at Larkhill and provides training in the use of artillery equipment, including both technical and tactical training.

The damaged trucks (ALAMY)
A post on the Indian Army's Facebook page prior to the incident said the two armies were currently carrying out a joint exercise called Ajeya Warrior to "enhance their ability to undertake joint tactical level operations in (a) counter insurgency/counter terrorism environment".
Salisbury Plain, a 300-square-mile area of land, which includes the prehistoric stone circle at Stonehenge, is owned by the Ministry of Defence and is Britain's biggest military training area.
British and Indian troops are badly hurt in a collision during a joint exercise and one Indian soldier is believed to have lost a limb

By Ben Farmer, Defence Correspondent, and Nicola Harley 9:25AM BST 18 Jun 2015
At least one soldier is believed to have lost a limb in a collision between troop lorries during an Anglo-Indian exercise on Salisbury Plain.
Up to 20 military personnel were injured in the smash just off a public road across the Plain, with the two most severely injured being flown by helicopter to nearby hospital and another eight classed as seriously hurt.

Police said four or five could have suffered "life-changing" injuries, and military sources said at least one Indian soldier has undergone an amputation. Both British and Indian troops were badly hurt, but the majority of injured are Indians, the source said.
Exercise Ajaya Warrior was part of a larger war game called Wessex Storm and involved troops from British units including 6 Rifles and a company of Indian soldiers carrying out mock counter insurgency operations in difficult urban terrain. The crash took place at around 6.30pm on Wednesday, in a field near Westdown Camp.

Army personnel inspect the damaged trucks following the accident in Salisbury (ALAMY)
A spokeswoman from South West Ambulance Service said: "From our perspective we have taken two patients with life threatening injuries, and flown them to Southampton. One went with Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance, and the other with Wiltshire Air Ambulance. We have taken eight patients with serious injures by road ambulance to Salisbury Hospital. We have treated a number of walking wounded - I am saying a number because we don't have a definitive figure." She said the rescue operation involved a number of land ambulances, volunteer on-call doctors and two ambulance hazardous area response teams - one from Bristol and another from South Central Ambulance Service.
A number of rapid response vehicles were also involved, as well as two critical care paramedics vehicles. The gender and ages of the injured people, and the nature of their injuries are not yet known.
A spokesperson for Wiltshire Police said: "We received a call from the air ambulance who told us they were attending. Initially it was believed 16 people were injured but the number has risen to over 20 and paramedics say some are "critical".
"First responders and three military ambulances were also at the location, a field on The Plain near Westdown Camp. "It happened on a by-way which cuts through The Plain. "It is still regarded as a Wiltshire Police matter as it's on a by-way, although it's off the main road." It is not yet known which hospitals the injured soldiers were taken to for treatment.

A spokesman for the Ministry of Defence said: "We are aware of an incident in the training area of Salisbury Plain. We are not absolutely certain of the details and until we are, we will not be making any comment." The Royal School of Artillery is based at Larkhill and provides training in the use of artillery equipment, including both technical and tactical training.

The damaged trucks (ALAMY)
A post on the Indian Army's Facebook page prior to the incident said the two armies were currently carrying out a joint exercise called Ajeya Warrior to "enhance their ability to undertake joint tactical level operations in (a) counter insurgency/counter terrorism environment".
Salisbury Plain, a 300-square-mile area of land, which includes the prehistoric stone circle at Stonehenge, is owned by the Ministry of Defence and is Britain's biggest military training area.
Fair enough arguments Shiv, and now I agree with you.shiv wrote:You know Sid your opinion sparks off different streams of thought in my mind:Sid wrote:2 militants killed in Manipur, ADGPI tweeted.
1. It is a wonder that our media published them at all. Just last week the normally traitorous Hindu newspaper that invariably published the image of a grieving Kashmiri woman every time a terrorist is killed published, you guessed it, the image of a grieving Kashmiri woman after Indian soldiers were killed -. As a matter of habit the Hindu makes people expect grieving civilian mothers and sisters every time the word Indian army is published. I don't suppose you object to that, but you know that such lack of objection would not be fair to the army. This is negative psy ops.
2. When people die in India their faces are left open. Mourners wail aloud and people need to see the dead person to join the mourning. In India death is not hidden. In the "media explosion" of the last 15-20 years there has been a change as Indian media have gradually picked up fake western sensibilities in showing death. Avoiding the images of the dead (and pretending sensitivity to death) is a two edged sword. Western forces can massacre any number of others and nothing is shown because of "sensitivity". This is idiotic. If something or someone is dead who is helped by not allowing others to see that? OK is is horrifying but seriously are the media trying to "improve someone's life" by not showing horrifying images? This is reaching such a stupid extent that traditional images and idols of Kali in Bengal are being treated as "NSFW".
I stand by what I said. We must publish images of our dead when we have been wronged. We must see them and feel anger. No point having fake sensitivity to death
Can someone shed light on death notification protocol that we have for Indian armed forces?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_not ... rofessions
The Military of the United States withholds the name of a deceased member until 24 hours after the family has been notified.
The process for death notification in the military is a three phase process. The people doing the notifying are also in the military, and are usually in a four-member team.
Phase 1- This phase deals with both logistical and personal preparation such as designating who will do the talking.
Phase 2- This phase involves driving to the home, knocking on the door, and stating
Phase 3- This phase is when the team leaves the home. The team leader must feel that the situation is under control before they leave the premises.
received by email
11TH JUNE, 2015
AIR COMMODORE NASEEM AKHTAR, SHAURYA CHAKRA, VISHISHT SEWA MEDAL (RETIRED)
Mob xxxxxxxxxxx
46th Course NDA
As an Indian Citizen, and an Air Warrior at that, I sat and watched, albeit helplessly, on TV, the 26/11 Mumbai Attacks, Live, the events as they unfolded frame by frame, second by second, minute by minute, hour after hour. I also witnessed our bravehearts being slithered down, from IAF helicopters, onto rooftops of these buildings under attack, to neutralize the terrorists- the perpetrators behind the horrible tragedy. Was it in order to telecast these actions/ operations live? Yes! And, NO! Yes, if you happen to be the Government of the day, be it at the State or the National level - to cover up for the lapses by showing that something is indeed being done, oblivious of the consequences. And, NO if you have some common sense, which, mind you, is not very common, particularly when the chips are down. Our Nation was broadcasting the entire Operations LIVE for the benefit of the architects, the perpetrators, the masterminds in Pakistan to pass the exact picture to the terrorists. We gave it to them on a platter. The consequences - disastrous! Some of our bravehearts who went to neutralize the terrorists, were themselves neutralized. WHEN WILL WE LEARN?
Debate after debate! Panel discussions! Burning issues! The Media went berserk! The anchors cried hoarse! And, so did the participants! Defence analysts and experts were all over the Electronic and Print media. Surf any channel, and you saw those hurly burly moustaches of renowned Army officers trying in vain to tell the Nation to be more aware, more cautious, and indeed more sensitive. Result? It's all forgotten. Indian memories, they say are extremely short-lived. WHEN WILL WE, AS A NATION, LEARN?
Kasab, a martyr for Pakistan, a hardcore terrorist for us, was housed, clothed and fed three square meals by our Nation, for year after year. Crores were flushed down the drain. Remember the famous biryani? Yes, biryani et al! Only to kill him? He should have been torn to bits long back - the end ought to have been identical, if not worse than the horrendous and barbaric fate meted out to our bravehearts during Kargil and thereafter. Eyes gouged out, faces disfigured, organs missing, genitals chopped off. My attachment with these youngsters - well they were all from a Squadron (Oscar) that I raised in NDA, and. commanded a second Squadron (Golf, to which I belonged as a Cadet in 1971, 46th Course when General MS Raza, Maroof Raza's father was my Battalion Commander). As Founder Father and Squadron Commander of the Squadrons that produced such bravehearts, can I ask my countrymen a question? Do I have the right to ask the Nation a question? WHEN WILL WE LEARN?
Kargil happened way back. Memories have faded. Then 26/11. All forgotten. But, for the parents, their near and dear ones, their colleagues, their coursemates, their comrades at arms - the wounds remain, fresh as ever, crying for justice. Politicians buy time singing lullabies " RELATIONS WITH NEIGHBOUR WILL BE ADVERSELY AFFECTED!" Excuse me, dhoti waley, don't try to teach Ecology to a starving man. Can anything be worse than this? WILL WE EVER LEARN?
Ask the parents of these bravehearts who wait for justice, how they feel! How their world came tumbling down! As a Nation we need to reassure them that their sons may have died, but the sun has not set. And, that their sacrifice shall live on forever. WHEN WILL WE AS A NATION LEARN?
We Indians excel in living on past glories, irrespective of our own contributions. But, a Nation that does not learn from it's past, from it's History, is bound to repeat it. Now, having written so much, I bring you to the meat of the matter - the Myanmar Surgical Strikes.
Some things are best told by keeping quiet. There is a famous saying " Bund mutthi lakh ki, khul gayi to khaak ki" ! We ought to keep this in mind whenever it comes to SPECIAL OPERATIONS. We relayed LIVE on TV the 26/11 Mumbai Attacks jeopardizing the lives of our OFFICERS AND MEN OF THE SPECIAL FORCES. It is amply clear that WE STILL HAVEN'T LEARNT! As it stands today, our Special Forces, have more than aptly, avenged the attack on our Army convoy in Manipur, by neutralizing the ultras deep inside Myanmar territory. The media, electronic, print and social, politicians from across party lines - all and sundry, are discussing, debating, deliberating threadbare, flashing pictures of our Special Forces Team involved in the Operations. This, in Nation's interest, is uncalled for, and is a disaster waiting to happen! And, may I take the liberty of saying that flashing photographs, videos etc of the Special Forces Team, revealing their identity, their Units, Regiments, nativity etc could jeopardize the lives of these personnel and their families. Details of such Operations, the intricacies, the participants etc are best kept under wraps, unless the chest thumping is to cover up some failures. We, in the Armed Forces are used to dying as UNSUNG HEROES! I would love to die "FOR" my country and my countrymen, but definitely not "BECAUSE" of my countrymen! WE APPEAL TO OUR LEARNED COUNTRYMEN TO BETTER LEARN THIS.
Recognition can best be done by the President of India pinning the Chakra Series Award Medals in the glittering Ashoka Hall of Rashtrapati Bhawan, with the who's who of India in attendance, with the citation being clear, crisp and concise. Can I appeal to the Nation, the Media and the Government to kindly step in and stop/ban further telecast, debates, discussions etc on such issues that would be detrimental to our National interests and jeopardize the safety of our Special Forces and their families.
Do you agree that IT'S HIGH TIME WE LEARNT? I HAVE ASKED THE NATION A QUESTION. I WAIT FOR AN ANSWER. If you agree, then do pass it on. My Salutations to you! For the others, may I say, please treat this as:
" A tale told by an idiot,
Full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing! " ....Shakespeare
http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... or-jawans/
Sources said that the concern within the government is that the jawans may get an increase of just about “few hundred” rupees per month — a raise that may not justify the decade long OROP agitation.
The fear within political decision-makers is that OROP, if implemented in present form, may result in many dragging the government to courts, and may even create a political crisis. “It is no longer a budgetary concern. The formula to arrive at Rs 8,300-odd crores has already been approved. The real worries within South Block are political. Under the present formula, the jawans may just get about few hundred rupees of increase per month in their present pensions. This amount, the political class within the present government believes, is too small to pacify the agitation that has been spread over almost three decades,” a top Defence Ministry official said.
pure psyops.srin wrote:http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... or-jawans/
Sources said that the concern within the government is that the jawans may get an increase of just about “few hundred” rupees per month — a raise that may not justify the decade long OROP agitation.
The fear within political decision-makers is that OROP, if implemented in present form, may result in many dragging the government to courts, and may even create a political crisis. “It is no longer a budgetary concern. The formula to arrive at Rs 8,300-odd crores has already been approved. The real worries within South Block are political. Under the present formula, the jawans may just get about few hundred rupees of increase per month in their present pensions. This amount, the political class within the present government believes, is too small to pacify the agitation that has been spread over almost three decades,” a top Defence Ministry official said.
the actual fear (political) is that other central and state agencies will jump in and ask for the same. BTW, the baboo(n)s have already given OROP to themselves, a long long time ago.
X-post...
Brochuritis to the max. And the COAS never ever holds his DGMF accountable for these fiascos. The guys get to lead corps!shiv wrote:Another one bites the dust!!! Army again
Indian Army scraps the world’s largest assault rifle tender
Just read the details!!
But the solution to the INSAS’s quality issues was to ask for a weapon so expensive with specifications so outlandish that it raised questions on the Army’s competence in framing General Staff Qualitative Requirements.The Army wanted a rifle with interchangeable barrels firing different calibers, the 5.56 mm INSAS round and the 7.62 mm AK-47 round.
The requirement originated in the present practice of soldiers in counterinsurgency operations using AK-47s and switching over to INSAS rifles in peace stations.
Army officials say the specifications were deeply flawed. Five international firms — Beretta of Italy, Israeli Weapons Industries (IWI), Colt Defense of the US, Ceska Zbplojovka of Czech Republic — were shortlisted.
All the weapons they presented for the trials were prototypes, meaning, none of them were actually in service with their respective armies.
The contract appeared doomed right at the start in 2012 when the Army first delayed the technical evaluation of the rifles. Companies then began asking for extensions for sample submission. As of 2015, no trials of the competing weapons were conducted.
A whiff of corruption accompanied the contract. It was speculated that the GSQRs were tailor-made by Army brass to favour one of the vendors.
Another concern the Army had was cost.[b] At over Rs 2 lakh a piece, each multi-caliber assault rifle with a conversion kit cost twice the price of a regular imported assault rifle and six times the cost of a Rs 35,000 OFB-made INSAS rifle.[/b]
A General called the MCAR contract the equivalent of equipping a mass transport taxi service with Mercedes S-class saloons.
@adgpi 7h hours ago
A New Battalion of The Brigade of Guards raised at Bhusawal on 01 July 2015
Let's not forget our martyrs.

I guess IA is still looking for a family of rifles based on single platforms, like SLR. SLR made logistics easy foR IA as u could use same internal parts and ammunition on SLR, LMG and MMG.ramana wrote:X-post...shiv wrote:Another one bites the dust!!! Army again
Indian Army scraps the world’s largest assault rifle tender
Brochuritis to the max. And the COAS never ever holds his DGMF accountable for these fiascos. The guys get to lead corps!
Thats why we see similar variants for INSAS.
But now for assault rifles we have a different ammunition, and for LMG/MMG we still prefer heavy rounds. Maybe that drove the requirement for multi caliber rifle, to use same weapon for assault as we as squad weapon. I am hoping people didn't actually thought every soldier to carry their own conversion kit.
‘Critical’ shortages of ammunition nearly made up, Army to PAC
The “critical” shortage of ammunition in the army, pointed out in the CAG report in May, has been overcome to a significant extent, Defence Ministry and army officials have told the Parliamentary Accounts Committee (PAC). “The criticality has been met by a two-pronged approach: asking Ordnance Factories Board (OFB) to produce well in time, and by progressing the import cases faster . It has been a high priority area for the Defence Minister (Manohar Parrikar),” said a senior military official.
The ministry and army officials deposed before the PAC on June 14. The PAC, which examines the CAG audit report after it is laid in Parliament, comprises 22 MPs and is currently headed by Congress MP Prof K V Thomas.
When the army does not have enough ammunition to sustain even 10 days of intense war, the situation is considered “critical”. CAG had warned that as of March 2013, half of the 170 types of ammunition with the army would not last 10 days of war.
As per Defence Ministry’s 1979 policy (revised in 2010 with no substantial change), army is supposed to maintain its ammunition reserves for 40 days of intense war. This quantity is called War Wastage Reserve. After the Kargil War, the army came up with a policy to hold ammunition for at least 20 days of intense war, calling it ‘Bottom Line’ or ‘Minimum Acceptable Risk Level’.
CAG had also said 74 per cent — 125 out of the 170 types of ammunition — were below the Bottom Line holding. As per the report, OFB had failed to supply the army with the targeted quantity, leading to supply shortfalls in 73 per cent of ammunition types.
Sources said the quantity of ammunition procured by the army in 2014-15 is worth around Rs 900 crore more than the average quantity purchased in earlier years. Barring one item, the army is confident of overcoming “critical” level for all types of ammunition by 2016. In May, Parrikar had assured, “We will overcome the shortfall within one and half years. The gap has been filled 50 per cent and process of remaining 50 per cent is underway.”
^^^While not exactly in Siachen, father had high altitude related side-effects when he was posted in eastern Ladakh. And this was long back when Siachen had not even been heard of and IA had rudimentary infrastructure in the area along with facilities for soldiers.
^^ Link says that 50 soldiers died in last 3 years but i recall multiple BRF posters ( in few threads across the site during different discussions) mentioning about how we had brought down causalities to 1-2/year.
Which is true?
rohitvats wrote:^^^While not exactly in Siachen, father had high altitude related side-effects when he was posted in eastern Ladakh. And this was long back when Siachen had not even been heard of and IA had rudimentary infrastructure in the area along with facilities for soldiers.
rohitvats, I knew a retired IA Brigadier Medical corps who spent his youth in Kashmir, fought in Chushul and other areas in later wars. He suffered from a high altitude disease of lungs. He had to use a oxygen cylinder in his later years to augment his lung capability..
Ask your dad about Brig R.M. Mathur if he knows him.
Hopefully not another RFI for a brand new design ..something straightforward for a change
After an earlier attempt to replace the World War II vintage canvas shoe failed to take off a couple of years ago, the Army now plans to go for an existing sports shoe manufactured by a multinational brand. The Army had previously asked shoe manufacturers to design a completely new sports shoe for soldiers.
Different shoes are being evaluated by certain units and the Army is hopeful of signing a contract soon.
- See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/india/ ... ZB624.dpuf
After an earlier attempt to replace the World War II vintage canvas shoe failed to take off a couple of years ago, the Army now plans to go for an existing sports shoe manufactured by a multinational brand. The Army had previously asked shoe manufacturers to design a completely new sports shoe for soldiers.
Different shoes are being evaluated by certain units and the Army is hopeful of signing a contract soon.
^^^ Shoes with interchangeable soles....!
http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-en ... ut-2103590
An end of an era might be on the cards for Maruti Suzuki Gypsy and the Indian Army. From the time the vehicle was launched in India in 1985 and soon inducted into the Army, it has since become synonymous with the Indian Army.
However, the Indian Army may soon phase out its long standing companion, and the Mahindra Commander, and replace it with the Tata Safari Storme and Mahindra Scorpio in a bid to induct new, modern vehicles into its fleet
At the time, Tata Motors, Mahindra & Mahindra and Nissan had submitted bids for providing nearly 30,000 vehicles for over Rs 3,000 crore to the Indian Army.
The Army recently selected the Tata Safari Storme and the Mahindra Scorpio after rigorous tests
Long it may continue!Earlier, suppliers used to chase the government for orders. But now, the government- the Army and the defence ministry – is chasing us."
^^^ Shoes with interchangeable soles....!
Nice one
Nice one
Rohit,
Have you heard of the PA raising a new formation solely for the China-Pak Economic Corridor?? Supposedly, 34th Inf Div to tackle Balochistan and protect Gwadar.
Why try to make "one shoe to rule them all"? Just Invite a bunch of reputable shoe companies offer their wares directly and let the Jawans choose what they are comfortable with.Karan M wrote:Hopefully not another RFI for a brand new design ..something straightforward for a change