Many dead, including Police SP in Gurdaspur Terror attack

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Boreas

Re: Many dead, including Police SP in Gurdaspur Terror attac

Post by Boreas »

emailed below to bbc
Hi,

Regarding the article titled - "Gurdaspur attack: Nine killed in Indian police station siege", url - http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-33671593

I would like to challenge the authenticity of a line present in the above referred article (shown in blue color below) -

The attackers first hijacked a car then opened fire at a bus station before entering the police station in Gurdaspur district, officials said.

Police believe that the attackers are from Indian-administered Kashmir.

Gurdaspur Police Chief Salwinder Singh told the BBC: "The operation to flush out attackers is over. All three attackers have been killed."

a. As the above mentioned line is completely opposite to the official stand taken by GoI, as a reader I would appreciate if you can disclose the name and designation of officer in police who made the above statement, so that authenticity of same could be verified.

b. In case you don't want to disclose above information (identity of the person), I would appreciate if you can establish by some other mean that above statement is true.

c. If neither of point a and b is possible I would like to request you to remove this highly offensive and controversial line which show a visibly biased stand taken by BBC on the matter. As this without any proof or investigation gives a clean chit to external terrorist organisations including those based in Pakistan.

Best Regards,

It is good to see that Punjab Police still has not lost the experience they gained during the anti-terrorist operations in the 1980s and 1990s. It seems to have got institutionalized. Being a border state, the state police also should be better armed and motivated to be the 2nd or 3rd line of defense. Good job Punjab Police !!

From the twitterverse:
Mohammad Taqi ‏@mazdaki 1h1 hour ago
And here we go:
#GurdaspurAwakesKhalistan starts trending in #Pakistan
#morons

Sid wrote:At a time like this tempers run high, and sound judgement takes a hike.

We should mourn our brave police officers & jawans, and take a resolute stand on what we as a nation is willing to do and sacrifice in order to stop such acts. Their sacrifice should not go in vain.

As a think tank (BRF) should brain storm on -

1. Why this event occurred, and precursors that could have indicated such attack (like a speech, or attack in porkiland).
2. Discuss possible action and counter actions.

Point 1 will take a fair amount of OSINT activity. Point 2 is up-to SMEs.
Can someone who knows how to, count the tweets with words "Khalistan" and "Bhindranwale"? If it is possible count the tweets by region? In retrospect, I expect to see a spike beginning in late June; and the spike (not the background chatter) is concentrated from Pakistan.
You can data mine social media using APIs provided by them. For example - https://dev.twitter.com/rest/public/search.

Sachin ji
A lot of Punjab police are ex-servicemen, that helps !

Sad about the losses in the attack. Happy about the pigs being killed. Proud of Punjab Police for carrying on the fight.

And shame on NDTV for pontificating about Punjab Police instead of commending their courage.

How about rolling up #Bhaiwood network in India.

NaMo will do what he has to do. And also those on Twitter tell the chatterati to STFU.

Especially Myra Macdonald.

And BBC for calling them rebels when all the terrorists are Pakjabis.
No Indian was involved so how come they assumed its 'rebels'?
Are Pakis, Indian rebels?

BCCI is diverting and trivializing the attack. What they do is for them to decide.
Don't trivialize it to Dawood Betting game.
India will do what it has to do at a time of its own choosing.

There will be a covert response to this, we'll know it.
India will now aggressively shame the Pakis everywhere.

One thing India can do to honor Kalam saab and the Punjab Police is fire a Prithvi at Murdike.

AbhayS, Please have some thread maryada and not side track on other issues.
Also anyone trolling needs to stop or get one step ban.
Thanks for understanding

Gagan, You too.

Will transfer these posts to GDF.

A Sharma wrote:Can somebody identify the gun?(3rd from right)
http://cache4.asset-cache.net/gc/482129 ... SNrw%3d%3d
Excalibur?
Could be SIG SG 550-series.

Seriously,
IA should fire a Brahmos at the Aabpara. Kill off a few hundred criminal pakis there.

Then sit back. Pakistan will holler like hell, but do nothing in return. They don't have the balls to retailiate overtly.

Muridke is now a big compound, with a lot of trainees, doing daura-e-aam, and there is a small polyclinic there.
Half-is-suar himself lives in a posh house in Lawhore.
Hitting the LET/JUD compound in Muridke, I dunno how high the yield will be. A lot of pigs will die, dunno how many high value pigs though.
But it will be symbolic like hell.

But IMHO the one to strike at is not just the LET/JUD, more so it is their masterminds in the fauj / ISI. They should be getting the message.
Abhay_S

Post by Abhay_S »

ramana wrote:One thing India can do to honor Kalam saab and the Punjab Police is fire a Prithvi at Murdike.

AbhayS, Please have some thread maryada and not side track on other issues.
Also anyone trolling needs to stop or get one step ban.
Thanks for understanding

Your Point is taken. at this time i should not have brought in other issues.

i am sorry for bringing up this. my intention was not to side track the discussion but i see your point. it could have waited

Ok. No sweat.

Meanwhile try to come up with a good stinger for ndtv.

Sorry if OT but think its germane to the thread

Spoke to a friend who is GSO 1 in one of the formations in Northern Command. The feeling is that the new government is more supportive of the army taking action than the older regime, at least psychologically. Things were really bad with the old govt and Gen Bikram Singh did not stand up to the PMO. Feeling is that they still need to see this translate into offensive action on ground but for sure, there is less concern in commanders being aggressive and destroying their careers. Also NSA is highly respected and is not against the fauj.

Re Punjab police, lets not forget they battled terror and won. They will not take this lying down.

The pigs have taken a panga with the wrong state.

There are the people with broad and deep knowledge. IMO, the majority of American academics have narrow and deep knowledge. IMO, CCFair just demonstrated her limitations when she tweeted that to understand the significance of the Gurdaspur attack, one had to read an academic paper; and the academic paper was on the Radcliffe award. Really?

Boreas wrote:emailed below to bbc
Hi,

Regarding the article titled - "Gurdaspur attack: Nine killed in Indian police station siege", url - http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-33671593

I would like to challenge the authenticity of a line present in the above referred article (shown in blue color below) -

The attackers first hijacked a car then opened fire at a bus station before entering the police station in Gurdaspur district, officials said.

Police believe that the attackers are from Indian-administered Kashmir.

Gurdaspur Police Chief Salwinder Singh told the BBC: "The operation to flush out attackers is over. All three attackers have been killed."

a. As the above mentioned line is completely opposite to the official stand taken by GoI, as a reader I would appreciate if you can disclose the name and designation of officer in police who made the above statement, so that authenticity of same could be verified.

b. In case you don't want to disclose above information (identity of the person), I would appreciate if you can establish by some other mean that above statement is true.

c. If neither of point a and b is possible I would like to request you to remove this highly offensive and controversial line which show a visibly biased stand taken by BBC on the matter. As this without any proof or investigation gives a clean chit to external terrorist organisations including those based in Pakistan.

Best Regards,
Well done ! Lets more of us do this.
member_28397

Post by member_28397 »

Time to take up soft kills in porkistan, target ISI piglets in west and slumabad, pindi bazars.
for 5 take 35 family pigs of ISI/naPak fauj rankers.
jagga

Post by jagga »

This was a major attack, but the Pigs failed to achieved the desired results.
So the bus driver, starting driving towards the pigs. Pigs got scared and ran for their life! On the other hand quick thinking villagers spotted the bombs on the railway track.
"The bombs were detected minutes before a passenger train was to cross the bridge. The train was stopped 200 metres from the bombs."

Think about it, if they were completely sucessfull the death toll could have been in hundreds. GOI must take serious action. All the bullshit by Rajnath Singh is just waste of time and sign of impotence. I have lot of faith in Modi and Doval, this is the test for them.
Punjab terror attack: Bus driver saved many lives

This is from Gen. Ashok K Mehta some 10 days ago:
http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/t ... 434813.ece
Breaking the 13-month stalemate in dialogue at Ufa in Russia this month, the NSAs of both India and Pakistan agreed to meet to discuss “all forms of terrorism”. This will lead nowhere, as Islamabad has now moved itself out of the category of terrorism sponsor to victim. The Parrikar-Doval threats have threaded the needle of a new response centred on covert action. This slow-burn strategy is calibrated for escalation when required. Given the nuclear overhang, any response to another big terrorist attack from Pakistan will be decisive. Only when the Pakistan Army realises that this Indian government will respond, and respond meaningfully, will it decommission its terrorism network. That the new needle is sharp is apparent from the chorus of Pakistani protests. At last, India has found its voice, to end terrorism sourced from Pakistan.
Which leads to the question, if Modi-Doval are going to respond with covert action, they can't tell us, how will we know?
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

Great bravery shown by the Punjab Police, with their officers leading the men from the front. We should complement their bravery by equipping them with the gear and equipment to fully protect themselves and be most effective in their tasks. Really sad to see the loss of life of personnel, including the SP, whose father was also a police officer killed by terrorists in the 1980s.
member_28803

Post by member_28803 »

A_Gupta wrote:This is from Gen. Ashok K Mehta some 10 days ago:
http://www.thehindu.com/opinion/op-ed/t ... 434813.ece
Breaking the 13-month stalemate in dialogue at Ufa in Russia this month, the NSAs of both India and Pakistan agreed to meet to discuss “all forms of terrorism”. This will lead nowhere, as Islamabad has now moved itself out of the category of terrorism sponsor to victim. The Parrikar-Doval threats have threaded the needle of a new response centred on covert action. This slow-burn strategy is calibrated for escalation when required. Given the nuclear overhang, any response to another big terrorist attack from Pakistan will be decisive. Only when the Pakistan Army realises that this Indian government will respond, and respond meaningfully, will it decommission its terrorism network. That the new needle is sharp is apparent from the chorus of Pakistani protests. At last, India has found its voice, to end terrorism sourced from Pakistan.
Which leads to the question, if Modi-Doval are going to respond with covert action, they can't tell us, how will we know?
We'll know, trust me, we will. There will be plausible deniability of course...
member_23365

Post by member_23365 »

Good inputs by Jagga,
Its a failure for paki.
Great presence of mind shown by Bus Driver and villager who spotted IEDs.
Good to see motivated police force who are ready to take on the pigs than usual pandu with lathi.
Guys on twitter good with word should put it as failure for pakis.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

More important than us knowing is GHQ getting the message.
Multatuli

Post by Multatuli »

Rajnath Singh has given the most Khangress like response and I find it absolutely disgusting. He said "We will give a befitting response"

The words befitting response should not be used. Just respond. Stop farting.
This is obviously the most sensible approach. Instead of announcing a 'befitting response', you carefully analyze what happened, what your options are, then initiate appropriate punitive actions, partly overt (killing Packee army troops across the LOC for example) but mostly covert (gas explosions in shopping malls in Isloomabad, Pindi, Lawhore for example). And when Indian officials meet Packee officials/army officers in international fora, have a little tête-à-tête with them and insinuate that we 'know more about what's happening in Packeeland', about the 'unfortunate mishaps' there (wink wink nudge nudge). Of course this should be done in such a manner that plausible deniability is maintained at all times.

There is nothing that keeps India from doing this.

The pigs have taken a panga with the wrong state.

I don't know about this one.

They haven't forgotten 1947, they have a long term plan for retribution. My understanding is that Sikhs did not do anything that Haryanvi Jats (of PEPSU ) did not. So why the special hatred for Sikhs? Or do they see them as the shock troops of the Kafirs?

Sikhs have a long and illustrious history of countering the mughal raids.
All the ghauris and ghaznavis and others after them had to first face off with the residents of United Punjab east of the Indus.
They were hindus earlier, then sikhs since some 350 yrs ago.

For the Pakjabis, Punjab = Sikhs. Special hatred

There are so many signs that the Pakistanis want to revive trouble in Punjab.
But this time they are alone in this.
CIA is not with them. Dunno if the Chinese will get their hands dirty in this, they may wink wink at the Pakis, provide moral support in the UN etc, but it is not clear if the chinese will be directly involved.

The pakistanis are alone on this.

KPS Gill's reaction: http://punjabnewsexpress.com/national/n ... 41989.aspx
There was urgent need for a concrete policy against terrorism to prevent incidents like Monday's terror attack in Gurdaspur district of Punjab, former state police chief K.P.S. Gill said, adding that political parties should desist from hyping such attacks.

Gill, 81, who is credited with rooting out militancy in Punjab about two decades back, said India should be firm about its policy concerning Pakistan.

Gill said tackling terrorism was not child's play and there was need to take concrete policy measures rather than indulging in rhetoric.

"Politicians should stop giving hype to such attacks and instead get together and formulate a policy to curb terrorism. Such incidents are happening due to the absence of hard, concrete policy (against terrorism) by the government even after Operation Blue Star," Gill told IANS.

A_Gupta wrote:Which leads to the question, if Modi-Doval are going to respond with covert action, they can't tell us, how will we know?
As soon as you hear pakistanis moaning like a whore in front of UN, you will know.

sanjaykumar wrote:The pigs have taken a panga with the wrong state.

I don't know about this one.

They haven't forgotten 1947, they have a long term plan for retribution. My understanding is that Sikhs did not do anything that Haryanvi Jats (of PEPSU ) did not. So why the special hatred for Sikhs? Or do they see them as the shock troops of the Kafirs?

Sikhs and Marathas. This goes beyond 1947

I have 9 images forwarded to me by my relatives in Gurdaspur that show 5 dead terrorists! How do I share them?
member_28533

Post by member_28533 »

Hope the response is swift and massive.. people want a baahubali style mowing of the Kaalakeya Paki pigs.

SBajwa wrote:I have 9 images forwarded to me by my relatives in Gurdaspur that show 5 dead terrorists! How do I share them?
Image Shack? Sorry meant imgur. Correcting fter seeing Gagan's post below.
Last edited by Vayutuvan on 28 Jul 2015 03:59, edited 1 time in total.

SBajwa wrote:I have 9 images forwarded to me by my relatives in Gurdaspur that show 5 dead terrorists! How do I share them?
Please put it on twitter.

upload on imgur and share the links here