India-US Relations : News and Discussion- II

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US Relations : News and Discussion- II

175 gigawatt of renewable energy by 2022
This counts rickshawallahs? HOW?

long term actually I have read (2050ish) to have 275GW.

the crux is (at least from what I can understand) a bit more than rickshaws on each and every home. solar grid home tied-back into national grid is not a bad idea. like how subsidy is ridden for gas, this may be on the basis of giving subsidies to install solar, and make money in return by supplying power to the national grid.

PratikDas wrote:If any of you have choked through most of the Indian national anthem, not because of any inner conflict but because of being overwhelmed by the beauty of being surrounded by over 10,000 people, including the Indian Prime Minister, in a foreign land, singing the anthem in unison with the voice of a melodic group of children and the masses reverberating throughout the arena, then you will understand what it was like to be at the SAP Center tonight.
Kudos to Mahesh Kale, Jayanti Sahasrabuddhe and ICMA Youth Squad!

Allow me to post a video which may capture this. (This is a FB video, allowed to be shared publicly)
Click for the link (3 minute video)

still, they have to go for each state sucking up 20gw each max. home share might me puny!
if only from home, say a kw each, then we need 175,000,000 homes. 175 million homes. quite a herculean task.. but never know under modi

Let's think of that 175 GW for a moment:
If it is done with nukulear: at 4GW per plant (4 1-GW reactors) that will take 44 new power plants! In 10 years from now? In India?

It it is done with solar, at 15% efficiency and 1kW of sunlight per sq.m, even counting only daylight generation, it takes 1166 plants, each of 1,000,000 sq.m. (1km x 1km area for each plant, covered with solar panels). At $1 per watt, that is $175B. At $2 per watt, that is $350B. At $3 per watt (more realistic), it is $525B. Can be done with a $525 subsidy (~ INR34,000) to every living soul, earmarked for installed PV.
Forget hydroelectric: there just is not that much unless they go to coastal tide energy plants.
But having seen those 180 million bank accounts and 415,000 pakistans come up in a year, I will not say that this is impossible. Do this, and India becomes energy-independent!!! How many $$trillions is that worth, plus the joy of being able to say :P to the Gelf oilies?

Sai:
175 million homes.
Each with a Swacch Bharat pakistan. With a biss-cooled ammonia-refrigerated solar PV roof!! Of course it is possible, each tied to an Aadhar card.

Meanwhile, new interpretation of Scholiars' Letter:
http://www.ibnlive.com/news/movies/ftii ... 21335.html

175 gigawatt of renewable energy by 2022
This counts rickshawallahs? HOW?
UB, as NaMo said once that he (and others) used to know "Mega" only..NO ONE even talked about GIGA.... but he is quite serious. ..

Something like 100 gigawatts of photovoltaic capacity, 60 gigawatts of wind power, 10 gigawatts of biomass and five gigawatts of hydro projects.. if I remember the technical plans correctly..

Yes the goal is likely to be difficult and honestly many call is quite ambitious .. (For perspective even 5GW per year in India is what many call "very good".. this is of the order of what Kudankalam etc generate)..

But as I once said, long ago, in nuclear dhaga.. the foot print for Nuclear Power, and Solar Power is about the same order of magnitude .. say 1 sq Km per GigaWatt.. so 100GW may require a 10Kmx 10Km area.. if we can conquer (which will not be easy) other technical snags..

BTW .. much maligned in brf, AK (the guy who put together that Pu core for the the device in 1974 ) is one of the adviser for solar power for GOI..
Last edited by Amber G. on 30 Sep 2015 02:07, edited 1 time in total.

yup.. last time I checked to install one at desh home.. the fella quoted me 2L for 1KVA. Now, I didn't install as it I had very little time spend on chasing those idiots who will say, kal ayega saab. I just went inverter power, with a huge 180 Ah gel batteries so that mom is free of calling someone to fill-up.

given a massive scale, small scale sector industrialization can be energized.. solar panels, batteries, aluminum construction panels etc. economy of scale should bring it down by half I assume. so, even in the worst case, it would be like 2L * 35 million cost (175/5 @2L per install). ie: approx. $120b rounded. well.. I have not included babugiri costs.

amber ji, did I mess up my math! :oops:.. now, we have to look from national grid angle.. the cost might go up to tied-back setup, metering, etc. gov might impose min 4-8 batteries per home..yadi yada. all depends on the design. where is dileepeta?

state of montana is doing something like this

About 3-4 saal pehle they had subsidy so that I DID get 1KW PV installed in desh. May have cost somewhere near 2L all told (or was that b4 subsidy I don't remember). Had to buy an inverter anyway, new place, so I decided to go for a bigger one, scalable, to go with this. Seems to be working more or less OK - it is right now connected to my sis' home which is next door, and it runs their fridge etc and apparently saves a big part of their power bill. If I go up to 3KW I can run a/c I think. So this works out to be roughly $3/W. If it is done on a NaMo scale with free Bania enterprise, cost may come down well below $2/W.
gashish

Post by gashish »

Interesting analysis by R Jaggi of Firstpost

Assessing PM's US trip: Narendra Modi is the best salesman India has had
However, the reality in America is different. There are many more democratic elements opposed to the hard-right Christian lobby than there are supporters. But Modi's success is not due to these elements; we have to understand the subtle soft power of India in the US to explain why he is more successful than other leaders in wooing Uncle Sam.
The truth is that modern America - despite being largely Christian in character - has been subtly moving away from dogmatic religion. In fact, all the key American philosophers who represent the soul of that country were also influenced by Vedantic ideas from India from the 19th century – and this also makes them more receptive to the idea of a Modi, once the blinkers inserted by the evangelical lobby are removed.
Three of America's greatest philosopher-sages - Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry David Thoreau and Walt Whitman - drew a lot of their inspiration from Vedantic ideas, where direct spiritual experience is valued more than dogmatic learning about virgin birth, resurrection and miracles. Thanks to these three, American Christianity is today far more imbued with Vedantic ideas than ever - and the ubiquitous nature of yoga is just an outward manifestation of this reality.
You don't have to take my word for this, for I came to these conclusions after reading Philip Goldberg's informative book American Veda. He explains why many Americans experienced an 'aha' moment upon hearing Vedanta philosophy for the first time. It offered a way of understanding the divine that did not offend their sense of reason or require faith in the miraculous. It was experience-oriented, not belief-oriented." Even more important, the Indian gurus and philosophers who made America their home - from Paramahamsa Yogananda to Maharshi Mahesh Yogi to Deepak Chopra in modern times - did not emphasise the need for seekers to abandon their belief in Christianity in order to open their minds to Vedanta.
Nehru, and the Left intellectuals he encouraged, never warmed up to their Indian-ness. They were effectively dismissive of Hinduism in an America that was actually open to Vedantic ideas. Evidence of this came up even during Modi’s visit, when Mark Zuckerberg talked about his trip to India on the advice of Steve Jobs. Modi is believable to Americans because, unlike the Congress-Left class, he hasn’t been ashamed of his origins. Americans respect those who respect themselves.

But Modi is not just about Indian culture and the past. His language, his attitude, his tech-savviness, his showmanship and marketing abilities demonstrate to the Americans that he has mastered some of the things that they themselves excel in. He is not a self-denying sadhu, or the typical Indian driven by fake humility. He is success-oriented, and Americans worship success more than anything else. The frequent change of attire that the Congress criticises Modi for is nothing but a demonstration to the Americans that he is serious about projecting success. In the American lexicon, marketing oneself is no sin.
If Modi is making an impact in America, it is because he has bridged the east-west divide in terms of understanding what makes western modernity tick even while remaining rooted in his Indian self.

btw, did you all notice Modiji silently unleash a powerful dial-a-yield W70?

he pressed for brain gain from brain drain. in a subliminal message, sending some strong signal to khan diplomacy.

when things happen.. giant moves, super structures gets erected and suddenly the whole of desh geared to go smart cities. people will quit! and proceed to desh! after all, everything can be remote & master card.

SaiK wrote:btw, did you all notice Modiji silently unleash a powerful dial-a-yield W70?

he pressed for brain gain from brain drain. in a subliminal message, sending some strong signal to khan diplomacy.when things happen.. giant moves, super structures gets erected and suddenly the whole of desh geared to go smart cities. people will quit! and proceed to desh! after all, everything can be remote & master card.
The brain deposit going to be doubled by next census and like thick sponge its sucking up, absorbing E and T knowledge like no Kal, Aaj or Kal liked like Kapur Khandan.
Tick Tick Tick Tick
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81lwUGRTCPg

Can solar panels and rooftop water harvesting be combined on the same roof? Maybe Amma will order it done by the homeowners of Chennai

In the meeting with Cook, it appears the person taking notes is using a Reynolds pen. SDREness is part and parcel of our culture.

kakkaji, why not? water finds its ways down always. there should be no doubt from you on that at all! :)

paul, just an OT question.., is stenography still valid? SHQ is a senior at that and it is all waste now. she can write that Arabic language that I have no darn understanding.. and thinking how in the world they lost that art.

stenography is extinct now.. I am thinking of a mobile app that brings back this tradition if you say, a 1.2 billion is still in the same SDRE mode.

btw, if you are doing it (app idea).. pay royalty to me :). it is a $ billion

What u need is a fast Devanagari. And fast Malloostani and Tamil and Telugu and Kannada etc. The future is Indian-language e-notes on tech and all other subjects if Indians are to take true ownership of science & math & tech

UlanBatori wrote:What u need is a fast Devanagari. And fast Malloostani and Tamil and Telugu and Kannada etc. The future is Indian-language e-notes on tech and all other subjects if Indians are to take true ownership of science & math & tech
FWIW this is already here for some time ......I input in devnagri fast enough for my needs (virtually as fast as roman script) and my iPhone (and iPad)- no additional app added - "reads" (speech is easy to understand - blind friends understands it as easily as they understand English machine voice) e-mails and news items quite well.

IOS's (for iPhone and Computers) - voice-over works quite well. Widows narrater is horrible but NVDA for example works well enough.. Google has announced fast input (including voice input) Hindi, Malloostani (Malyalam), Tamil... even NaMo's Guajrati! This is one the things NaMo emphasized and Sundar P, it seems has committed to...and is going to spread faster than we think.

(From what I have seen and used - I am actually very happy that FINALLY I am seeing good and quality implimentation of Indian languages in these devices)

Hope this makes you happy too :)

After NaMo's visit to Tesla there were lot of posts here about fast charging batteries.. Cars and Autoriksha's .. so let me post an article that shows why some "bhakts" are a little optimistic...

The charge time is about an hour.. and the technology has attracted from investors like Bansals (newest addition to Indian Billionaires)

Link:These IIT graduates have built an electric scooter that charges faster than your phone

SaiK wrote: paul, just an OT question.., is stenography still valid? SHQ is a senior at that and it is all waste now. she can write that Arabic language that I have no darn understanding.. and thinking how in the world they lost that art.

stenography is extinct now.. I am thinking of a mobile app that brings back this tradition if you say, a 1.2 billion is still in the same SDRE mode.

btw, if you are doing it (app idea).. pay royalty to me :). it is a $ billion
Saik - I don't know if you know that one can dictate in Hindi in google docs.

(and hopefully soon -- other Indian languages too - Google is working very fast in this direction)

(Hindi is available NOW, and per Sundar P soon many other languages will be added including NaMo's mother tongue Gujrati - this was announced)

More see:
http://googleforwork.blogspot.in/2015/0 ... -Docs.html

Added Later: I just tried it, the following was dictated by me with 100% accuracy. Impressed with the accuracy:
यहाँ बातें हिंदी मेँ बोली जा रही हैँ और google अपने आप लिख रहा है. देखते हैँ यह काम कितना सही और अच्छा है

CRamS wrote:AmitJi, not very clear. How would one know without reading that farticle on what the content is? So my question remains, of all the NRIs in the valley, how is it that they picked this moron to puke his bile, and how did they expect their readership to go up as a result? The answer may be as simple as editorial bias. Like NYT giving space to Pankaj Misra but would ignore Rajiv Malhotra. (And note his use of the word, "oppressing minorities", and of course he mentions Christains, so you get the drift, the newspaper possibly has EJ connections, and this clown was a good sepoy pandering to those sentiment).
Gus explained in detail what I meant.

You can click and read all the negative reports on Desh as you want. But my request is that, unless it is important either in terms of content or author, please don't post here. Most dhagas on this forum have heavy traffic and a lot of people will unwittingly click on the post (just like I did) and then the link becomes a click bait. As Desh grows in stature and this present dispensation tastes success, more such articles will appear. Ignore them if possible and if you must get your daily dose of apoplexy by reading something posted by an inconsequential tripe on some small regional publication (like the one you posted) please keep the guilty pleasure to yourself.

TIA

well, heck! at least her skills may be useful to raw ajints perhaps sitting in a room full of high profiles and must remain silent, jotting down. :)

amit wrote:if you must get your daily dose of apoplexy by reading something posted by an inconsequential tripe on some small regional publication (like the one you posted) please keep the guilty pleasure to yourself.
:lol: :lol:

UB saab, at NaMo.in, (check PRAGATI), there is a section on 17 states covering the solar energy parks. Modi ji has begun the extortion exercise with all these states to change policy for speedy implementation.

reduced forms, change in patenting process, etc.

herding shuru ho chuka

Amit/Raja, thx for the silly sarcasm guys, I like it, but it was misplaced :-). You are displaying a kind of maacho delusion. I don't know if you live in the valley, but I raise a point: in the entire silicon valley which was mostly effusive in receiving ModiJi, a local newspaper had to find one clown p!ssing on ModiJi. I ask whats the motive. You gave some nonsense about increasing subscription. It is not. There was a motive, and I ask what is that motive.

Perhaps the motive was to give certain folks more acidity and heartburn? :x

But seriously you should learn to ignore these kind of pinpricks and concentrate on the big picture: was Modi's visit a success in terms of fulfilling it's objectives? If the answer is Yes, then who the hell cares what some tripe writes in an inconsequential paper?

Motive be damned. When a street dog barks at you it also has a motive it wants to scare you. Now it's your choice if you want to get into a browning of slawar pose, or you just ignore the dog.

Street dogs will bark until it meets some stone thrower on the visual range. There is nothing wrong with both them being on the same street at the same time. It is freedom, but it must come with responsibility that both the stone thrower and the barking dog can't be left so free without restrain or be done with it if it really disturbs the peace of the street like barking all thru the night, chasing children, etc.

The point is to advance from current street barking dogs to homely enslaved kinds. :twisted: it is a kind of taming :mrgreen: for few, and for most it is vikas! :wink:

the people behind the I-880 billboards must have contacts in that newspaper or indeed work inside the system there to swing this.

A great leader generates great adulation among the masses AND polarizes some, who fear the genuine threat his/her existence poses to their own. It has never ever been a mark of greatness to lack opposition. Quite the opposite. Any leader who absolutely lacks any sort of vicious opposition is by nature not a great leader, though this argument should not be misconstrued as suggesting that the opposition makes them great. Rather, their greatness and impact will be characterized by the presence of opposition, because impact means change and some don't want that change. You cannot find a single leader in any sort of political capacity, no matter how benign, whom someone doesn't detest. Even the Dalai Lama has the entire PRC state machinery apoplectic at him in normal times.

So I take it NGOand media watchtowers can be closed down? The same logic can be extended to STFU too. Pakistan is inconsequential. They keep barking as Indian elephant has that majestic gajagamana. Left (handed) Biju mathews was an inconsequential chap but was able to land a hook on IDRF's right (side) cheek.

Some of us are not so high on the totem pole that we come in a limo to the technical conference, give a vision keynote laden high falutin strategy and fly back to our own comfort zone. We stay in the conference, attend several technical sessions and get detailed perspective on our academic/company competitors and how far they are in their own strife to solve problems. To summarize we are like the native Americans Of the westerners who have an ear to ground to figure out whether the bad sherif of a small town is coming at our good outlaw band with a posse.

I ask whats the motive. You gave some nonsense about increasing subscription. It is not. There was a motive, and I ask what is that motive.

err...multiple people have explained this multiple times.

it is not "subscription". nobody said that. it is called click bait.

at this point, you are just refusing to understand.

Folks do you think we should have a special thread for NaMo's Silicon Valley visit? It has deeper implications than can be covered here.

Is this the temple where Steve Jobs and MZ went for inspiration?

CRSji,

I assume you did a certain data mining course. One of the things in that course were about finding patterns. The pattern here is simple:
Spew controversy --> Earn Clicks from gullible folks --> Generate Traffic --> Sell traffic stats to investors and ad folks --> Get lunch money to support family or cocaine habit (depending on what phase of life one is in).
One thing to think about : The strength of the claims that they make should corresponds to the strength of the proof. If they DO have proofs to back it up, and you do post it here for analysis I bet no one would complain.

ramana++. the last couple of pages

Got in social media from some Ombaba's fan :mrgreen: ..
Numbers don't lie ..
(I hope one keeps track of data like this for NaMo too)

They should have mentioned US Debt.
Numbers don't lie but they don't reveal full story if you don't capture right numbers. Nothing to be proud of Obama in fact he should be ashamed of himself for doing what he thought as "unpatriotic".
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyLmru6no4U
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fUmFBMVWNI

And remember his speech in 2006 as Senator and voting against debt limit raise:
“The fact that we are here today to debate raising America’s debt limit is a sign of leadership failure. It is a sign that the U.S. government can’t pay its own bills. ... I therefore intend to oppose the effort to increase America’s debt limit.”

— Then-Sen. Barack Obama, floor speech in the Senate, March 16, 2006

CRamS wrote:Amit/Raja, thx for the silly sarcasm guys, I like it, but it was misplaced :-). You are displaying a kind of maacho delusion. I don't know if you live in the valley, but I raise a point: in the entire silicon valley which was mostly effusive in receiving ModiJi, a local newspaper had to find one clown p!ssing on ModiJi. I ask whats the motive. You gave some nonsense about increasing subscription. It is not. There was a motive, and I ask what is that motive.
It is called "feeding the echo chamber", or "manufacturing consent", creating a buzz, or creating a social network cluster or just good old propaganda. I write something negative, my friends/associates write something quoting me, I will write something else quoting them, etc., and pretty soon, it becomes, "but everybody is saying Modi eats Muslim babies, takes their money and gives it away to MNC-owners, OMG this is the end of India, America, please to send Marines to save it from fascists!" Observe how paki media or sections of Indian media operate.

Those who know it is nonsense will go about their business, others may find that it serves their purpose for creating mischief, FUD, etc., and take their chances with it.

http://www.tribuneindia.com/news/musing ... 39923.html
Of Manekshaw and Kenneth Keating by B K Chum
It was on July 11, 1976, when the late Prem Kumar, Special Correspondent of The Statesman, and I, then a Special Correspondent of National Herald, met the then Defence Minister, the late Bansi Lal, during his Chandigarh visit. He narrated to us two fascinating anecdotes. One was about Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw, a hero of the December 1971 war with Pakistan, and the other was about what had transpired between him and the new US Ambassador to India, Kenneth Keating, in 1969 when he was the Haryana Chief Minister.
Bansi Lal recounted: "When India won the 1971 war against Pakistan, I went to Manekshaw's house to congratulate him. Sam was having a drink. Knowing well that I did not consume liquor, he offered me a drink, saying: 'You are at the house of a victorious General. The victory is not celebrated over tea. You will not get tea today'. For over an hour I was there. But I was not offered tea!"
Bansi Lal next related what had happened during his meeting in 1969 with Kenneth Keating. The US Ambassador, accompanied by a US Embassy representative, called upon the Chief Minister during his Chandigarh visit. "The first question Keating fired at me was: 'When is Khalistan going to be formed?' I paused for two-three minutes during which time the Ambassador asked some other questions about political issues." Outspoken and blunt as he was, Bansi Lal told the Ambassador that "Punjab and Haryana are brethren. Till yesterday they were one and have to remain a part of the country. Punjab's intelligence tells me how money is being thrown around by the US in Punjab. I hope this will unburden the US of its surplus cash". He added: "I intently watched the reaction on their faces which showed that my poser had unnerved the Ambassador and his companion. The Ambassador soon left the room with his cup of tea half finished".
Bansi Lal emphasised that his attempt was to let the Ambassador know that, irrespective of their differences, Indians were conscious of attempts being made by some foreign countries to divide them.
I believed that Kenneth Keating, being new to India, was not aware of the Punjab situation and the issues the state faced when he confronted Bansi Lal with the question about Khalistan. Several years later, I had to change my view as I felt that the US Ambassador's question, advertently or inadvertently, was giving away the secret plans of the Richard Nixon Administration about encouraging the separatist movement in Punjab.
A PTI report published in newspapers in July 2007 carried excerpts from "The Kaoboys of R&AW: Down Memory Lane" written by B. Raman, who had retired as Additional Secretary in the Cabinet Secretariat, providing information about the CIA-ISI plans.
The report said the Nixon Administration had initiated a "covert action plan" in collusion with General Yahya Khan's government in 1971 to "encourage a separatist movement among the Sikhs for an independent state to be called Khalistan...In 1971, one saw the beginning of a joint covert operation by the US Intelligence community and Pakistan's ISI to create difficulties for India in Punjab…..The US interest in Punjab militancy continued for a little more than a decade and tapered off after the assassination of Indira Gandhi by two Sikh security guarded on 31 October 1984".

Amber G. wrote:Got in social media from some Ombaba's fan :mrgreen: ..
Numbers don't lie ..
(I hope one keeps track of data like this for NaMo too)

Thats Nice but those figures were built on a pile of Debt and Money Printing by Fed.

Cheap money that inflated asset prices and got the market to shoot up. Now they dont know how to wind that up and if at all they will without pricking the bubble.

Austin wrote:Thats Nice but those figures were built on a pile of Debt and Money Printing by Fed.

Cheap money that inflated asset prices and got the market to shoot up. Now they dont know how to wind that up and if at all they will without pricking the bubble.
The US Federal Reserve's QE program ended in October 2014. And the main reason they've been wary of rate hikes is because the global economy is depressed. Raise rates too sharply and there'll be a rush of capital into the US over-strengthening the already strong dollar and pulling down inflation (currently at half the Fed's 2% target).
Last edited by Viv S on 01 Oct 2015 11:56, edited 2 times in total.