The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
IAF day is on Oct 8th @ Hindon where SKAT will perform again after AI 2011, you can all go to catch the action.
Here's his photo of the static, the A-50 वायु चेतावनी एवं नियंत्रण प्रणाली विमान will be on प्रदर्शन along with ALH Dhruv Mk3 & the rest which can be seen in the image
Impressive building in Pic # 4
In PIc # 8 at right end why we have indian soldier pointing gun towards other direction and not towards firing range; or he is having a Camera and not a Gun
Pic 11 - Every chinese solider has different hand leg angles \ co-ordination
Pic 12 - Thats a superb kick display
^^ Pakistanis too have Sanskrit named bases http://www.paknavy.gov.pk/himalaya.html They've kept the name because of the history. Alma Mater of generations of sailors, gunners & divers.
Chatrapati Shivaji's father Shahaji was named after a Muslim Saint, Hazrat Shah who blessed childless Maloji. Maloji was a sardar in Abyssinian Malik Ambar's Army, who harassed Jehangir with his guerilla warfare.
Jurman Raksha Mantri Ursulaben von der Leyen departing Mumbai after visiting Western Naval Command in this Beautiful Luftwaffe A340 ✈ http://www.airliners.net/photo/2729931/L/
I agree with Jagan, but DM should naat naarmally wear sandals and hands in pocket (no matter what 1/nth of second) when it was snapped.
Now, it is a whole different TFTA matter to consider really why he is not well dressed? again naarmal naarmal dress code is wear a shoe if you are wearing a pant. chappal+dhoti is fine. did AK set a precedent for receiving a guard of honor on dhoti? anyone has pics?
SaiK wrote:
I agree with Jagan, but DM should naat naarmally wear sandals and hands in pocket (no matter what 1/nth of second) when it was snapped.
Now, it is a whole different TFTA matter to consider really why he is not well dressed? again naarmal naarmal dress code is wear a shoe if you are wearing a pant. chappal+dhoti is fine. did AK set a precedent for receiving a guard of honor on dhoti? anyone has pics?
No Saik. That belief is only outside India. In India propriety demands taking off one's footwear in a whole lot of places - so shoes are a pain. I admit I do wear shoes to work, but slippers, floaters and sandals are the norm for most Indians because you cannot wear them into homes or even into many shops. At least 50% of patients take off their footwear before entering my room even when I tell them it is OK. They would expect the same of me entering their homes. But 100% must take off their shoes to get on a couch - which was not the case in the west. Not wearing shoes means nothing. Soldiers need protective footwear of course, but you might recall the ignominy of Indira Gandhi's operation Blue Star where all the soldiers went barefoot because it is just not on to wear shoes.
In fact I vowed never ever to wear a suit again in my life after I returned from the UK and I have managed perfectly well for more than 2 decades. Unfortunately I have been forced to wear a suit on about 4-5 occasions in 20 years. Our dress code is simply different. Our values are different
agreed and point taken. just wondering why we copied -as is- from brits many of the mil.values. sometimes values and applicability can change the course of mil standards and practices. don't we want different set of values there? just asking onlee. the mindset we have established that all that is brit/western dress code is TFTA and our civilian is SDRE. but our mil is mostly TFTA from dress code angle.
we can definitely make SDRE dress code much more advanced than copied TFTA dress code. we have to start engineering a new force suits where it fights with the them for the nation. amir-khans are doing so many things like this, and their ww2 wears are junk now.
SaiK wrote:agreed and point taken. just wondering why we copied -as is- from brits many of the mil.values.
Inspections of guards by leaders existed long before the Brits. Shoes are hardly a British introduction, nor are guns. Trousers are not a British speciality. And when it comes to men on the ground there are a lot of things that are hardly British or western in terms of practice or diet. One needs to go even further back in history to look at where military displays and discipline come from and all of it predates the Brits. Some practices continue because they are rituals and rituals become an important part of group bonding and loyalty.
proud mallu ... I remember how awestruck I was when I first saw the modest entrance to the southern naval command (and my uncle told me what it was), maybe grander now I don't know, and then the navy vessels docked ... Had a similar feeling recently when by chance I saw a couple of our vessels docked on the coast of an East African seaboard state. All Indian states should get powerful naval vessels in their names, and in the names of freedom fighters of the last millennium.
Added later: guys, Shyte, this is supposed to be a no discussion thread.... Apologies and please desist.