Deterrence

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Deterrence

Well, the article also mentions a 15 kt.

I wonder what is a small or tactical nuke in their dictionary. Need to research it a wee bit.
NRao - all the articles I have read suggest tactical nukes to be in the range of 2 kilotons or less.
Did you see my video?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxJvLNrZzdU

india s declared policy is a full no holds bar nuclear strike against any unconventional attack on its forces ..inside Pakistan or not .. so what is Pakistan thinking ? .. that Indians do not have the nerve to do it ..must be precisely ..and it is this very logic that needs to be changed

Shiv ji: CFair has wisely side stepped the whole issue of an Indian response. You are welcome to stick to official doctrine. As for Fair, she has wisely side stepped the whole issue of an Indian response to a TNW that Pakistanis should be afraid of. A careful observation would note that India has its own operational plans in place, in light of our doctrine and such a strike will entail a response as per current doctrine, pending executive decision.

Just one more clarification, I was clear that this is what I think the Pakistanis are thinking, not what I think will be the Indian response/non-response be. I do think Pakistan has good reason to doubt the Indian "massive" response. This reasoning does not stop at the words of the doctrine. My own position has been clear and I maintain that while "massive" response to a first strike can be appropriate, we need more tools than ONLY that approach in our toolkit. I understand you do not want that change in the official doctrine.

The people who designed this doctrine were ready to absorb a first strike - even a massive one. Times have changed, people have moved on. NO ONE I have read or spoken to any long believes that India will "absorb" and not pre-empt an imminent first strike - this is despite the NFU doctrine. My simple point is people's reasoning does not stop at the words of the doctrine. The doctrine itself needs an update to reflect evolving threats, capabilities, goals and objectives.

ShauryaT wrote:Shiv ji: CFair has wisely side stepped the whole issue of an Indian response. You are welcome to stick to official doctrine. As for Fair, she has wisely side stepped the whole issue of an Indian response to a TNW that Pakistanis should be afraid of. A careful observation would note that India has its own operational plans in place, in light of our doctrine and such a strike will entail a response as per current doctrine, pending executive decision.

Just one more clarification, I was clear that this is what I think the Pakistanis are thinking, not what I think will be the Indian response/non-response be. I do think Pakistan has good reason to doubt the Indian "massive" response. This reasoning does not stop at the words of the doctrine. My own position has been clear and I maintain that while "massive" response to a first strike can be appropriate, we need more tools than ONLY that approach in our toolkit. I understand you do not want that change in the official doctrine.

The people who designed this doctrine were ready to absorb a first strike - even a massive one. Times have changed, people have moved on. NO ONE I have read or spoken to any long believes that India will "absorb" and not pre-empt an imminent first strike - this is despite the NFU doctrine. My simple point is people's reasoning does not stop at the words of the doctrine. The doctrine itself needs an update to reflect evolving threats, capabilities, goals and objectives.
This logic doesn't make any sense to me. The country of Punjab is run by the Pakistan Army which is a criminal enterprise and hence a rational actor. It isn't concerned with war with India. It is concerned with losing control over the buffer zone states like Sindh and Balochistan. Hence, TNW fit the target profile.

Simply fast forward to either side electronically mating their warheads and all this toolkit logic evaporates. Neither side will wait to follow the nice orderly approach up the escalation ladder until it hits counterforce and then the dreaded countervalue. Each side will try to get as many nukes off the ground before they get hit. They also have to worry about Command and Control centers and relay nodes being jammed/neutralized. The longer you wait the more time you give the other side and the world powers to employ their dirty tricks.

Keep the junk massive and they'll bend over and grab their ankles with respect.

CFair has wisely side stepped the whole issue of an Indian response.
Does she?

From the article:
The first reality that should discomfit ordinary Pakistanis is that there is really no such thing as a “tactical nuclear weapon.” Even the smallest so-called tactical nuclear weapon will have strategic consequences. (Simply calling them “battlefield nuclear weapons” does not obviate this serious problem.) If Pakistan should use such weapons on India, there is virtually no chance that India will be left responding alone. The international community will most certainly rally around India. The response to Pakistan breaking a nuclear taboo that formed after the Americans used atomic bombs on Japan will most certainly be swift and devastating.
and,
Even if, for the sake of argument, one assumes that Pakistan deploys its one hundred odd weapons of 15 to 30 kilotons at India’s major cities, it is unlikely that Pakistan would be able to deploy all of these weapons to conduct a “splendid first strike,” by which Indian capabilities are completely destroyed.

Moreover, it takes considerably fewer weapons of similar magnitude to utterly destroy Pakistan. Pakistan has thoughtfully concentrated all but three corps in central the Punjab region, which is also its most populous province and the country’s industrial and agricultural center. In short, Pakistan will cease to be a viable political entity while India, though grievously hurt, will survive as a state. Even if Pakistan obtains a functioning triad and retains launch capabilities from submarines, they will be launched in defense of a state that, simply put, no longer exists.
On the topic of modifying Indian doctrine, my thinking is that such a change would play into the hands of yahoos like Pakistan (Army).

Indian position should be that what Pakistan has done with her Tactical nuclear capability is to make Pakistan itself more vulnerable - clearly implying that the Indian doctrine existed prior to this development and that Pakistan either miscalculated or did not calculate at all - that the doctrine is clear in what will happen if there were a nuclear strike on Indian forces anywhere.

I think Pakistan has played right into the hands of India. She is certainly the irresponsible state, a threat to humanity and therefore needs to stand down.

Wonder if India would make such arguments or dance around the topic and generate more poetry.

BTW, IF India were to modify her doctrine, I can bet India will ALSO be forced to manufacture tactical nukes.

Now, that is another can or worms.

NRao: Was referring to her side stepping the issue of the nature of the Indian response to a TNW. Strategic consequences may not even mean a nuclear response. She elaborates the term by way of some type of an "international" response, whatever that may be.

Just one more clarification, I was clear that this is what I think the Pakistanis are thinking, not what I think will be the Indian response/non-response be. I do think Pakistan has good reason to doubt the Indian "massive" response.
Shaurya with respect I see some conflicting elements in your views, right or wrong

You think that Pakistanis have a particular viewpoint about Indian nukes (and quote others who think like you.) That is your prerogative. It is this fundamental feeling that you have that makes you feel that the doctrine itself needs changing. In order to support the argument that the doctrine needs changing (based on what you think) you
1. speak of times changing (which they do anyway) and
2. speak of people who feel India will pre empt and not absorb

What you are demanding is a change of doctrine reflecting thoughts that you and others have. But you have yourself stated in two separate posts how India might not stick to its doctrine in two diametrically opposite ways

In one post you said that India may not retaliate if its forces are hit within Pakistan. In a later post you are saying that India may not wait for a first strike. You are listing out every way in which India's nuclear doctrine can be abrogated, ignored and discarded by India and then you want all these to be put down in writing as an official "updated document"? I think that is totally wrong. It is the uncertainty and ambiguity of Indian responses that are key to deterrence - not the paper doctrine itself. The paper doctrine is presented as an "in your face" plan that India claims that it will follow. And as you have pointed out, Indian actions may range from not retaliating at all to pre-emptive action. No one knows. Least of the all Pakis.

The problem is as follows. India's force structure has to be based on its doctrine. I assume that India's current force structure is based on its published doctrine. If India was going to abrogate that doctrine and NOT use a nuke in retaliation then there is nothing to plan for. No need for nukes in fact. If on the other hand, India's idea of abrogating the doctrine involves "pre-emption" by first use, then we need a completely different type of arsenal. I assume here that the expression "pre-emption" here means somehow "taking out" Pakistani capability to nuke us. I firmly believe that this is a pipe dream . We do not even know where the nukes are and Pakistan is known to have underground bunkers that are essentially immune to to pre emptive strikes. In fact cocky American plans to take out Soviet nukes in a massive first strike came a cropper when they realized that there was no way in which that could be done. Given these realities, the existing doctrine is the best symbolic indicator of Indian intentions. Whether we follow it or not is something that any adversaries will have to worry about. And Pakistan certainly does.

shiv wrote:You think that Pakistanis have a particular viewpoint about Indian nukes (and quote others who think like you.) That is your prerogative. It is this fundamental feeling that you have that makes you feel that the doctrine itself needs changing.
I DO NOT THINK the doctrine needs changing because I think the Pakistanis think a certain way! My thinking on the Indian doctrine is INDEPENDENT of Pakistan's postures. In order to not conflate and be clear on these two very separate and distinct paradigms, I will write a separate post on MY thinking on the doctrine itself. Request you to not conflate the two.

shiv wrote:In one post you said that India may not retaliate if its forces are hit within Pakistan. In a later post you are saying that India may not wait for a first strike. You are listing out every way in which India's nuclear doctrine can be abrogated, ignored and discarded by India and then you want all these to be put down in writing as an official "updated document"? I think that is totally wrong. It is the uncertainty and ambiguity of Indian responses that are key to deterrence - not the paper doctrine itself. The paper doctrine is presented as an "in your face" plan that India claims that it will follow. And as you have pointed out, Indian actions may range from not retaliating at all to pre-emptive action. No one knows. Least of the all Pakis.
Large agreement. 1. India does not need to publish a written doctrine. 2. The response options should have a fair degree of uncertainty and ambiguity. The written doctrine cannot be a crutch to limit our response and force projection options and capabilities. In that, I view nuclear weapons as force projection assets NOT just to deter as our written doctrine assumes. This is where my disconnect with the current doctrine stems from. This is not to say NFU or massive response are NOT to be professed at all. Where I disagree with you is the need to have this "in your face" document, that professes a limited set of responses only, while reality may present us with more options. This is where the current doctrine lacks "credibility" in the eyes of many - for varied reasons.
The problem is as follows. India's force structure has to be based on its doctrine. I assume that India's current force structure is based on its published doctrine.
Largely, yes. This is where the problem begins, for new questions are asked. Questions that are "outside" the realm of the doctrine. At root, the disconnect is not viewing nuclear weapons as power projection assets but viewing them ONLY in a moralistic frame as coded into the doctrine.

If on the other hand, India's idea of abrogating the doctrine involves "pre-emption" by first use, then we need a completely different type of arsenal. I assume here that the expression "pre-emption" here means somehow "taking out" Pakistani capability to nuke us. I firmly believe that this is a pipe dream .
Maybe. All I know for sure is, we are not going to wait to absorb and will pre-empt an imminent strike.
Given these realities, the existing doctrine is the best symbolic indicator of Indian intentions. Whether we follow it or not is something that any adversaries will have to worry about. And Pakistan certainly does.
You said it, which others term as not credible.

NRao wrote: I think Pakistan has played right into the hands of India. She is certainly the irresponsible state, a threat to humanity and therefore needs to stand down.
This is where the problem begins to cast issues exclusively in the moralistic frame and not include the realm of power and interests. Pakistan being irresponsible does not irk enough to destroy her or wage war against her. As long as Pakistan is primarily a threat to Indian humanity, there are many others who are willing to "help" stir that threat. Who these are should be obvious enough. Some here want this threat to be extended to people outside the region so that they can feel the same pains. However laudable the objective, do not think it is likely to be a reality. So, how many dollars has Pakistan received AFTER OBL was found in their den? How many J17's? How many Hell Fires, F-16 and Harpoons? AIP based subs too, soon after India gets one!

Fair says the world will respond, do you really expect India to take that seriously? When the balloon goes up, we are all alone!

As long as Pakistan is primarily a threat to Indian humanity
The threat from Pakis has not changed.

The debate on TNW, from a Paki point of view, is to decrease the possibility of an Indian "Cold Start" based attack - to impress upon India that CS is useless. As I understand it the Paki TNW is a deterrent for CS - specifically. That is all.

Pakis are assuming that India will not escalate. So, Pakis seem to think they have cornered the thinking on nuclear attacks: there is "strategic" and then some stuff that Pakis consider as "tactical".

But that is Paki thinking.

1) Is it true that such a thinking exists? IF it does not then no use losing sleep over what to do with Indian NFU, etc
2) IF it does exist, then is it worth modifying the Indian posture? I happen to think we all need to go back to sleep. From what I recall, the Indian posture covers all aspects. So, why change? Pakis are only after something called janat and 72, nothing else.

Fair says the world will respond, do you really expect India to take that seriously? When the balloon goes up, we are all alone!
I have often stated on these threads that the world will respond to a nuclear strike, but I don't mean that someone will nuke India or Pakistan. If a nuclear exchange were to break out between two nations, maybe India and Pakistan, "the world" will sit tight. But I see the response coming in the following way:

Both nations involved in a nuclear war will become pariah states. They will come under all sorts of sanctions from countries who wield the clout to impose sanctions. There will also be a "second layer" of states who see that the fact that a nuclear exchange occurred means that the so called "nuclear order" has been broken, and they will be tempted to go nuclear knowing that security guarantees and alliances may not work if push comes to shove. These outcomes are relatively easy to surmise by informed guesswork and anyone who ponders on the effect of a nuclear war between two countries (apart from fallout issues) will be able to guess this much.

For existing pariah states like NoKo and pariah "near states" like a nuclear armed ISIS who are already in a state of war, famine and/or suffering a nuclear exchange is not going to make them "more pariah" with "more sanctions". It will just be more of same - but the world would have been changed by them because they do not become any worse but someone else is affected because they used nukes.

Pakistan is on the margin here - an almost pariah state with nuclear arms. The Paki army and establishment are in the ideal situation to demand a ransom from sponsors/3.5 to prevent their nukes from spreading. Part of the ransom they demand is pressure on India to denuclearize, give Kashmir, give water or just die. They are achieving both aims to a greater or lesser extent.

In case of war between India and Pakistan, if Pakistan nukes India (inside Indian territory) I can foresee three possible outcomes

1. India waits for a reasonable period of time - showing images of the devastation caused in India by a Pakistani nuke to build up international sympathy. But this international sympathy will come along with calls for India not to retaliate. If India does not retaliate, imagining that sanctions and world pressure will somehow put great pressure on Pakistan, (just like Nehru was confident of India getting UN support on Kashmir) it would be a serious mistake. India would have "absorbed" a strike and got nothing in return. Pakistan would be declared pariah for a short while until the next global crisis. The only sensible option for India would be to retaliate as promised. Both countries would become pariahs, but we have to ensure that Pakistan does not have much to recover with.

2. India retaliates immediately.

3. India fails to retaliate. This is the worst possible outcome. Sympathy for India would be mixed. Sanctions would be total. For Pakistan - they would have got away by nuking India. Again sanctions might be total, but thy would also have some sympathy. They stand to gain a lot more by India not retaliating.

Any sensible planner can surmise this much. The only option is massive, immediate retaliation. Pakistani probably realize this perfectly well. they are not stupid That is where they bring in their "tactical nukes" idea -never mind whether they actually have the capability or not.

If Pakistan nukes Indian forces inside Pakistan India's options will be
1. Instant massive nuclear retaliation: This has the disadvantage of a post war scenario in which India is seen as an aggressor that provoked war in order to retaliate massively and devastate Pakistan.

2. India waits for some time to show the world images of the nuclear attack on its own forces. This may not be easy in hot war. No one in the outside world will necessarily believe that a small nuke has been used by Pakistan inside Pakistan. There will be those who say that India used a small nuke on its own forces in Pakistan simply as an excuse to smear Pakistan and retaliate.

3. India does not unleash instant nuclear retaliation. Now this is the option that Pakistan is hoping for. The argument made by me, and Cfair and a whole lot of others in talking about tactical nukes is as follows

If Pakistan uses a small tactical nuke or nukes within Pakistani territory, those nukes actually have to stop an Indian advance. If teh nukes are really small they will not stop an advance. Only a few dozen tanks will be hit and overall any Indian offensive will simply continue. If Pakistan tries to avoid this by using more and more and more nukes within its own territory to stop an Indian advance they will do more damage to themselves along with the damage they do to an Indian advance. Beyond a point Pakistan's use of multiple nukes against Indian forces will be difficult to hide or pass off as an Indian trick. At this stage India still has the option of retaliating massively or just "punitively" or watching to see how much damage Pakistan has done to itself and how lakhs of people in border villages can survive the effects of multiple Pakistani nukes designed to take out an Indian attack. In the fog of war - assuming Pakistan has used up a dozen nukes against Indian forces, India can easily lob a nuke or two in a couple of areas and pretend that the Pakis did it. After all - all the nuclear explosions will be inside Pakistan and started by Pakistan. Nobody need know.

The Paki tactical nuke plan is not a good one and does not necessarily call for a change in India's current nuclear posture as stated.

shiv wrote: If Pakistan uses a small tactical nuke or nukes within Pakistani territory, those nukes actually have to stop an Indian advance. If teh nukes are really small they will not stop an advance. Only a few dozen tanks will be hit and overall any Indian offensive will simply continue. If Pakistan tries to avoid this by using more and more and more nukes within its own territory to stop an Indian advance they will do more damage to themselves along with the damage they do to an Indian advance. Beyond a point Pakistan's use of multiple nukes against Indian forces will be difficult to hide or pass off as an Indian trick. At this stage India still has the option of retaliating massively or just "punitively" or watching to see how much damage Pakistan has done to itself and how lakhs of people in border villages can survive the effects of multiple Pakistani nukes designed to take out an Indian attack. In the fog of war - assuming Pakistan has used up a dozen nukes against Indian forces, India can easily lob a nuke or two in a couple of areas and pretend that the Pakis did it. After all - all the nuclear explosions will be inside Pakistan and started by Pakistan. Nobody need know.

The Paki tactical nuke plan is not a good one and does not necessarily call for a change in India's current nuclear posture as stated.
Shiv ji: Just in the above example, you have provided scenarios, where Indian response may not be massive but still maintain that the written doctrine should stay! I do not know, how much of this is for psychological or operation reasons, for you are clearly not limited to the responses by the doctrine only. Me having critiqued the doctrine, it does serve some purposes. Namely, allows SFC to build its operational plans and relevant capacities. Provides to the executive these limited plans to choose from to execute, making the decisioning process simpler. One of the big issues we face is the lack of civilian expertise or better a military-civilian interaction group that debates nuclear war constantly and refines the plans periodically to reflect new thinking, objectives, threats. In that respect, Pakistan has it better - civilians are just not part of the game!

But do agree the TNW plan is not a good one but for reasons other than the ones you have stated above. I think, TNW is only the latest ruse to further its objective of showing to its sponsors, its need to fulfill its claimed security objectives and this time with a gun to its own head, with its population as ransom. If it were a real strategy, it is the cheapest way to deter a conventional attack by India but there are NO signs that they have made any changes to their conventional postures, knowing fully well that no matter what their conventional build up looks like, India will have the capacity to overpower them. I will not be surprised, if at the nuclear table with its sponsors, they "agree" to withdraw their TNW in exchange for either security guarantees and/or more supplies.

ShauryaT wrote:, TNW is only the latest ruse to further its objective of showing to its sponsors, its need to fulfill its claimed security objectives and this time with a gun to its own head, with its population as ransom. If it were a real strategy, it is the cheapest way to deter a conventional attack by India
I think this requires some qualification.

Weapons grade Plutonium is listed as costing US $ 4000 per gram. A Tactical nuke for a medium tech power would require about 5 kg - (5000 grams) or US $ 20 million for just one weapon - which will give just a 1-2 kiloton blast. The weapons itself is more expensive than the damage it could do. Assuming ten weapons - we are looking at 200 million USD for just the Plutonium alone without the other materials, delivery and security probably double that if you include everything else like "wastage" while shaping the core and other materials and stuff.

Eating grass is definitely what they are planning.

Eating grass is what the Pajkabi survivors will be doing if a TNW is used against our forces. Simple as that.

NFU is just our primary response. There are other plans hidden away nicely in the back of the playbook.

Rest easy. We have a simple fool proof strategy.

Deterrence needs to shift toward looking at options wrt a balkanizing Pakistan.

Pakistani numbers are severely exaggerated by a factor of 3-4.

Their TNW on Nasr is a plain lie, and that video by Shiv-ji completely cements that proof !
There are other issues that have been raised by numerous people in the know, about the reliability of their weapons.

They just don't have the numbers, the yeilds, or the delivery vehicles which can reliably penetrate India's defenses - they simply don't have it! JDAM via the sea route is their best bet.

The issue is not about fibbing, since fibbing is part of deterrence. So, have the Pakistanis provided enough to cause India to be deterred?

I am of the opinion that even if the Pakis have what they claim they have, it does not provide enough to deter India.

Uranium is easier to fashion into a nuke than Plutonium, but Uranium bums are bigger in diameter. Plutonium is a deadly material that misbehaves in many ways in a bomb. It also contains a contaminant cousin Plutonium 240 that has the most uncooperative behaviour of exploding too soon leading to a fizzle. To get the most efficient blast you have to compress it perfectly so that almost all of it is subjected to the same physical conditions in the same few nanosecondfs. The timing is as important as the compression

Even if you compress a ball of Pu from the outside using explosives the outermost layers get compressed first and the inner layers and core get compressed nanoseconds later by a shockwave. This shockwave has to be modelled perfectly for the timing to be exact. If the timing of the shockwave itself is wrong, the outer compressed layers will themselves explode in a small fizzled bomb - giving maybe 200 tons to 2 kilotons fizzle and the rest of the material is simply vaporized without contributing to fission. What most people do not realize is that a subkiloton nuke or a tactical nuke is a deliberate fizzle. Permit me to explain the logic

If you need to compress a very small ball of Pu effectively you need a thick layer of conventional explosive - and for that, typically the diameter of your bomb becomes 50 cm (20 inches) or more. If you use less explosive the Pu ball will not get compressed and you have no bomb. It is the bulk of conventional explosive and reflector etc that make the bomb diameter large, not the Pu ball

So what you can do is to take a much bigger ball of Pu that is almost critical mass - that is it is a ball that is almost ready to explode by itself - given a little compression and give it that "little compression" using a thin, inadequate layer of explosive so that your bomb diameter comes down to 30 cm or less. Then you get that inefficient explosive where the outer layers of your Pu ball give a mild nuclear blast and the rest of the ball simply vaporizes and disperses as fallout. That is how tactical nukes are made. Getting them to be reliable and effective needs much testing and is very wasteful of very expensive nuclear material. Remember that the "reflector" can be made of even gold. Gold is US $ 34 a gram today. Plutonium is US $ 4000-5000 per gram.

ShauryaT wrote:, TNW is only the latest ruse to further its objective of showing to its sponsors, its need to fulfill its claimed security objectives and this time with a gun to its own head, with its population as ransom. If it were a real strategy, it is the cheapest way to deter a conventional attack by India
I think this requires some qualification.

Weapons grade Plutonium is listed as costing US $ 4000 per gram. A Tactical nuke for a medium tech power would require about 5 kg - (5000 grams) or US $ 20 million for just one weapon - which will give just a 1-2 kiloton blast. The weapons itself is more expensive than the damage it could do. Assuming ten weapons - we are looking at 200 million USD for just the Plutonium alone without the other materials, delivery and security probably double that if you include everything else like "wastage" while shaping the core and other materials and stuff.

Eating grass is definitely what they are planning.
Yes, much qualification is required. When Pakistan says TNW, these are really battle field weapons like the ones the 2nd artillery of the PLA is said to have. In classic western lingo, tactical nuclear weapons would be all assets with less than 300KM ranges, the raison d'etre for the MTCR. What India wants is classical nuclear stability and CBM's though asset signaling. It means non-use of "tactical" weapons for strategic uses. Pakistan seeks the opposite, complete instability by mixing asset classes, first use and indeed down to battle field weapons, including artillery and rockets, if they can - like the PLA does.

If the costs to build a 10KT devices is X, the cost to build a 2 MT device is only 2X, not linearly scaled. Pakistan would need approximately 50 such 10 KT devices just to make one of India's three strike corps operationally inoperable (50% losses) and this is without factoring hardening, efficacy/failure rates and NBC type of assets in the mix. Now add two more strike corps that we have, plus the 8-10 pivot corps, who are mobilized in 48-72 hours, who also have armor, artillery, tactical fire support and air support, including the IAF and AAC, you will soon start to see that this whole idea of battlefield nukes to stop an Indian advance on a wide front is practically impossible and that too in Pakistani territory.

They know fully well that on the very first detonation of such a device on Indian forces, India's doctrine written or not, will look at this issue as being scaled to the level of a nuclear war and in nuclear war there is no such thing as tactical let alone battle field war. India's point all along is to use these weapons as counter value not for counter force as Pakistan seeks and India will seek retribution, the only question remaining is at what level and there are ready SFC plans for the executive to choose from on what is deemed appropriate retribution, call it massive/punitive whatever. I do know that ALL such plans involve the desire to disable ALL of Pakistan's nuclear assets (even if not possible 100%) and disable the functioning of the state.

As for costs, this is a lesson from N. Korea. Nuclear weapons properly thought through are indeed the cheapest way to "deter" a larger opponent. The cost to build and maintain say a 100 KT device, with about 100 delivery assets, hardened and dispersed and corresponding warheads would not exceed $2 billion. Add a sub launched capability over time, will add some more costs but will allow for second strike. If Pakistan is serious about nuclear weapons, then this is what they will do and stay away from talk of TNW/battle field uses, which the IA rightfully ignores, because they have gamed it. It makes no sense. Hope it clarifies.

What makes Pakistan very, very unique is its Yahoos, who run around like a 1 year old in diapers. NK (and others) have far smaller threats from within.

IMVVVHO, the most likely scenario I see: a day comes when such Yahoos get hold of state owned "tactical" nuclear assets and head towards the Indian (or even China?) border. The US gets wind of it and warns India. And the PA, the US and India react to take these yahoos out, along with the assets. Perhaps a few hundred Yahoos gather for this parade.

What if they distribute their stolen assets? Some going to A'sthan?

What happens next would be interesting.

The doctrine India has should cover such incidents too, but when will others kick in and restrain India even if eh risk is high.

NRao: SPD is a solid organization with 10K+ troops in it 24/7. Permissive Action Links are in place. Multiple parties have audited their systems and deemed them to be relatively "safe" from unauthorized use. I know, it is very tempting to think that yahoos will get hold of them or as I say, men with green horns, but reality is otherwise. That aspect does not concern me at all.

The only way this becomes a possibility is IF Pakistan is destabilized. It is this concern that leads the US administration to "fund" systems like the PAL and ensure that the state apparatus remains stable. This is the reason, why the west desires a stable regime in Pakistan and would be opposed to a war by India. In that, Indian and US objectives in a war like situation would be at opposite ends. The reason why US promotes India-Pakistan to share some type of a stable relationship. IOW: The US does not want that yahoo scenario to occur and they have put their bets on the PA to achieve the same.

http://nuclearweaponarchive.org/Usa/Tests/Teapot.html
U233 and Pu core can be made to deter any nation on the planet.

ShauryaT: that is party line and I have no problem with it, with one exception:
The US does not want that yahoo scenario to occur and they have put their bets on the PA to achieve the same.
As we are witnessing in the ME and now in newspapers such as NYT, Wash Post, etc, yahoos are no different than the common Muslim. They cannot be. Given a choice between Islam and the US, no brownie points which way the PA will head. push comes to shove all that investment will go to janat only.

Posting from smartphone, so unable to type more.

to put PALs on Chinese designed Paki nukes means the whole circuitry is visible to US. Also just for kicks think about the engineering problems. Not to mention command and control for Pakis!

tech for PAL was not provided to china as per this wiki link and the reasons are mentioned below. The tech was shared with France and USSR. There appears to be some legal restrictions on sharing weapon related tech due to which sharing is difficult as per the NYT article linked below. and curiously
The UK does not use PAL.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permissive_Action_Link
In the early 1990s, the People's Republic of China requested information to develop its own PALs.[18] The Clinton administration believed that to do so would give too much information to the Chinese about American weapon design, and therefore, refused the request
I suspect for quite similar reasons the Americans demurred and provided all sorts of other stuff to Pakistan
as this article dated nov 17,2007 mentions. Not to mention that the taller than mountain friends would probably have gleaned other data from the PAL tech.
http://www.nytimes.com/2007/11/18/washi ... .html?_r=0
Over the past six years, the Bush administration has spent almost $100 million on a highly classified program to help Gen. Pervez Musharraf, Pakistan’s president, secure his country’s nuclear weapons, according to current and former senior administration officials.

But with the future of that country’s leadership in doubt, debate is intensifying about whether Washington has done enough to help protect the warheads and laboratories, and whether Pakistan’s reluctance to reveal critical details about its arsenal has undercut the effectiveness of the continuing security effort.

The aid, buried in secret portions of the federal budget, paid for the training of Pakistani personnel in the United States and the construction of a nuclear security training center in Pakistan, a facility that American officials say is nowhere near completion, even though it was supposed to be in operation this year.
A raft of equipment — from helicopters to night-vision goggles to nuclear detection equipment — was given to Pakistan to help secure its nuclear material, its warheads, and the laboratories that were the site of the worst known case of nuclear proliferation in the atomic age.

Mike Mullen, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, said Thursday that he was confident about Pakistani security. While American officials say that they believe the arsenal is safe at the moment, and that they take at face value Pakistani assurances that security is vastly improved, in many cases the Pakistani government has been reluctant to show American officials how or where the gear is actually used.

That is because the Pakistanis do not want to reveal the locations of their weapons or the amount or type of new bomb-grade fuel the country is now producing.

The American program was created after the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks, when the Bush administration debated whether to share with Pakistan one of the crown jewels of American nuclear protection technology, known as “permissive action links,” or PALS, a system used to keep a weapon from detonating without proper codes and authorizations.

In the end, despite past federal aid to France and Russia on delicate points of nuclear security, the administration decided that it could not share the system with the Pakistanis because of legal restrictions.

In addition, the Pakistanis were suspicious that any American-made technology in their warheads could include a secret “kill switch,” enabling the Americans to turn off their weapons.

While many nuclear experts in the federal government favored offering the PALS system because they considered Pakistan’s arsenal among the world’s most vulnerable to terrorist groups, some administration officials feared that sharing the technology would teach Pakistan too much about American weaponry. The same concern kept the Clinton administration from sharing the technology with China in the early 1990s.

The New York Times has known details of the secret program for more than three years, based on interviews with a range of American officials and nuclear experts, some of whom were concerned that Pakistan’s arsenal remained vulnerable. The newspaper agreed to delay publication of the article after considering a request from the Bush administration, which argued that premature disclosure could hurt the effort to secure the weapons.
Since then, some elements of the program have been discussed in the Pakistani news media and in a presentation late last year by the leader of Pakistan’s nuclear safety effort, Lt. Gen. Khalid Kidwai, who acknowledged receiving “international” help as he sought to assure Washington that all of the holes in Pakistan’s nuclear security infrastructure had been sealed.

The Times told the administration last week that it was reopening its examination of the program in light of those disclosures and the current instability in Pakistan. Early this week, the White House withdrew its request that publication be withheld, though it was unwilling to discuss details of the program.

In recent days, American officials have expressed confidence that Pakistan’s nuclear arsenal is well secured. “I don’t see any indication right now that security of those weapons is in jeopardy, but clearly we are very watchful, as we should be,” Adm. Mike Mullen, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, told a Pentagon news conference on Thursday.

Admiral Mullen’s carefully chosen words, a senior administration official said, were based on two separate intelligence assessments issued this month that had been summarized in briefings to Mr. Bush. Both concluded that Pakistan’s nuclear arsenal was safe under current conditions, and one also looked at laboratories and came to the same conclusion.

Still, the Pakistani government’s reluctance to provide access has limited efforts to assess the situation. In particular, some American experts say they have less ability to look into the nuclear laboratories where highly enriched uranium is produced — including the laboratory named for Abdul Qadeer Khan, the man who sold Pakistan’s nuclear technology to Iran, North Korea and Libya.

The secret program was designed by the Energy Department and the State Department, and it drew heavily from the effort over the past decade to secure nuclear weapons, stockpiles and materials in Russia and other former Soviet states. Much of the money for Pakistan was spent on physical security, like fencing and surveillance systems, and equipment for tracking nuclear material if it left secure areas.

But while Pakistan is formally considered a “major non-NATO ally,” the program has been hindered by a deep suspicion among Pakistan’s military that the secret goal of the United States was to gather intelligence about how to locate and, if necessary, disable Pakistan’s arsenal, which is the pride of the country.

“Everything has taken far longer than it should,” a former official involved in the program said in a recent interview, “and you are never sure what you really accomplished.”

So far, the amount the United States has spent on the classified nuclear security program, less than $100 million, amounts to slightly less than one percent of the roughly $10 billion in known American aid to Pakistan since the Sept. 11 attacks. Most of that money has gone for assistance in counterterrorism activities against the Taliban and Al Qaeda.
The debate over sharing nuclear security technology began just before then-Secretary of State Colin L. Powell was sent to Islamabad after the Sept. 11 attacks, as the United States was preparing to invade Afghanistan.

“There were a lot of people who feared that once we headed into Afghanistan, the Taliban would be looking for these weapons,” said a senior official who was involved. But a legal analysis found that aiding Pakistan’s nuclear weapons program — even if it was just with protective gear — would violate both international and American law.

General Musharraf, in his memoir, “In the Line of Fire,” published last year, did not discuss any equipment, training or technology offered then, but wrote: “We were put under immense pressure by the United States regarding our nuclear and missile arsenal. The Americans’ concerns were based on two grounds. First, at this time they were not very sure of my job security, and they dreaded the possibility that an extremist successor government might get its hands on our strategic nuclear arsenal. Second, they doubted our ability to safeguard our assets.”

General Musharraf was more specific in an interview two years ago for a Times documentary, “Nuclear Jihad: Can Terrorists Get the Bomb?” Asked about the equipment and training provided by Washington, he said, “Frankly, I really don’t know the details.” But he added: “This is an extremely sensitive matter in Pakistan. We don’t allow any foreign intrusion in our facilities. But, at the same time, we guarantee that the custodial arrangements that we brought about and implemented are already the best in the world.”

Now that concern about General Musharraf’s ability to remain in power has been rekindled, so has the debate inside and outside the Bush administration about how much the program accomplished, and what it left unaccomplished. A second phase of the program, which would provide more equipment, helicopters and safety devices, is already being discussed in the administration, but its dimensions have not been determined.

Harold M. Agnew, a former director of the Los Alamos weapons laboratory, which designed most of the United States’ nuclear arms, argued that recent federal reluctance to share warhead security technology was making the world more dangerous.

“Lawyers say it’s classified,” Dr. Agnew said in an interview. “That’s nonsense. We should share this technology. Anybody who joins the club should be helped to get this.”

“Whether it’s India or Pakistan or China or Iran,” he added, “the most important thing is that you want to make sure there is no unauthorized use. You want to make sure that the guys who have their hands on the weapons can’t use them without proper authorization.”

In the past, officials say, the United States has shared ideas — but not technologies — about how to make the safeguards that lie at the heart of American weapons security. The system hinges on what is essentially a switch in the firing circuit that requires the would-be user to enter a numeric code that starts a timer for the weapon’s arming and detonation.
Most switches disable themselves if the sequence of numbers entered turns out to be incorrect in a fixed number of tries, much like a bank ATM does. In some cases, the disabled link sets off a small explosion in the warhead to render it useless. Delicate design details involve how to bury the link deep inside a weapon to keep terrorists or enemies from disabling the safeguard.

The most famous case of nuclear idea sharing involves France. Starting in the early 1970s, the United States government began a series of highly secretive discussions with French scientists to help them improve the country’s warheads.

A potential impediment to such sharing was the 1968 Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty, which bars cooperation between nations on weapons technology.

To get around such legal prohibitions, Washington came up with a system of “negative guidance,” sometimes called “20 questions,” as detailed in a 1989 article in Foreign Policy. The system let United States scientists listen to French descriptions of warhead approaches and give guidance about whether the French were on the right track.

Nuclear experts say sharing also took place after the cold war when the United States worried about the security of Russian nuclear arms and facilities. In that case, both countries declassified warhead information to expedite the transfer of safety and security information, according to federal nuclear scientists.

But in the case of China, which has possessed nuclear weapons since the 1960s and is a signatory to the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty, the Clinton administration decided that sharing PALS would be too risky. Experts inside the administration feared the technology would improve the Chinese warheads, and could give the Chinese insights into how American systems worked.

Officials said Washington debated sharing security techniques with Pakistan on at least two occasions — right after it detonated its first nuclear arms in 1998, and after the terrorist attack on the United States in 2001.

The debates pitted atomic scientists who favored technical sharing against federal officials at such places as the State Department who ruled that the transfers were illegal under the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty and under United States law.

In the 1998 case, the Clinton administration still hoped it could roll back Pakistan’s nuclear program, forcing it to give up the weapons it had developed. That hope, never seen as very realistic, has been entirely given up by the Bush administration.

The nuclear proliferation conducted by Mr. Khan, the Pakistani metallurgist who built a huge network to spread Pakistani technology, convinced the Pakistanis that they needed better protections.

“Among the places in the world that we have to make sure we have done the maximum we can do, Pakistan is at the top of the list,” said John E. McLaughlin, who served as deputy director of the Central Intelligence Agency at the time, and played a crucial role in the intelligence collection that led to Mr. Khan’s downfall.

“I am confident of two things,” he added. “That the Pakistanis are very serious about securing this material, but also that someone in Pakistan is very intent on getting their hands on it.”

There was US funding, guidance. I was very careful in my phrasing in the earlier post. Who delivered the end tech is anyone's guess, till details come out. But, it has been ascertained that they have a PAL system (not the US version).

If there are PALs on TNWs that one expects to use in a war fighting scenario, how exactly does one make sure that the PAL codes get to those that intend to use them while a nuclear exchange is taking place? A nuclear exchange can and will most likely knock out C&C and also cause all manners of atmospheric effects from EMP that will make communication extremely difficult.

This means, if TNWs are to be deployed for use by a corps commander, the access codes will most likely be provided, perhaps to a separate group of people within the same corps command. But this reduces security tremendously with a huge potential for organizations like Muslim Brotherhood becoming mini nuclear powers within the Pak state.

My second observation is, that to squeeze the warhead into 12'' TNW dimension, you would need to use a lot less explosives, and therefore, perhaps a few times as much nuclear material compared to a weapon that has much more explosive to implode the weapon. Also means that these weapons have to be Pu based and much more fallout. Are Paks going to bomb their own land and render it unusable for decades? In Punjab? Or Karachi? And invite a certain regime change in the bargain, with either India or the entire world in charge?

Last observation, proportional response is a shitty concept that has cost us so many lives. If we ever fire a nuclear gun, I hope its overwhelming and disproportionate. Never give the Paks reason to think that their TNWs will invite a response in kind, but a response that will render Iqbal and Qaid ka Poakistan history. That is the only way to guarantee that these weapons are never used.

NRao wrote: As we are witnessing in the ME and now in newspapers such as NYT, Wash Post, etc, yahoos are no different than the common Muslim. They cannot be. Given a choice between Islam and the US, no brownie points which way the PA will head. push comes to shove all that investment will go to janat only.

Posting from smartphone, so unable to type more.
That is a pretty broad statement to make but needs to be made, if that is what you believe - hopefully with adequate reasoning. It is also a legitimate view on this thread, for I suspect a lot of people's responses to the issue of deterrence and nuclear war is underpinned with these type of non-negotiable and apocalyptic beliefs that are held. It is a legitimate view on the thread and after all even in the cold war, the underlying presumption of many was this belief that those bad, evil, crazy communists are out to get the people of the west. MAD was also premised on the idea that the other side is not open to reasoned and humane ideas.

Just a small point on order on the last comment made. The PA was given this choice between Islam and US post 9/11 and the choice they made is known. Please do elaborate on what you believe is the belief of the "common" muslim on the matter of nuclear war and how this "common" belief is then held by the PA, hopefully there is something more than an odd article in a rag.

But, it has been ascertained that they have a PAL system (not the US version).
Is that not even more concerning?

Now no one *really* knows what they have, if they really have one.

From a Pakistani PoV, PALs on TNWs will be a hindrance. Pakistani commanders would like to have an unfettered access to TNWs. Either Pakistan has TNWs without PAL or Pakistan has no TNW at all.

the UK as per Wiki uses this kind of PALs. I doubt the Pakistan nukes would have developed substantially different PAL then this
In 2007, the UK Government revealed that its nuclear weapons were not equipped with Permissive Action Links. Instead, the UK's nuclear bombs to be dropped by aircraft were armed by just inserting a key into a simple lock similar to those used to protect bicycles from theft. The UK withdrew all air-launched bombs in 1998. The current UK Trident warheads can also be launched by a submarine commander with the support of his crew without any code being transmitted from the chain of command.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Permissive_Action_Link

wig wrote:the UK as per Wiki uses this kind of PALs. I doubt the Pakistan nukes would have developed substantially different PAL then this
Wasn't the US supposed to have helped the Pakistanis implement some form of PAL? I hope it was more substantial than a cycle lock & key. There was a lot of talk of this around c. 2002 timeframe and some announcement later that it has been done so. We had a lot of discussion here on that.

Shauryat.\,
In five to ten sentences please state your arguments. What is your actual stance?

I see a lot of popping up suddenly whenever there is talk of deterrence.

NK just tested a hydrogen bomb. This day was coming. Time to dust off those debugged designs. Any test by NK should be seen as a design validation for the Chinese and Pakistanis.

Jai ho china and Pakistan

Seems the test actually caused an artificial earthquake

So, how long will it be before Pakistan claims it has a fusion bomb?

SSridhar wrote:So, how long will it be before Pakistan claims it has a fusion bomb?
Not long. Buddha will smile again.

The Asian Pivot by the US, its own declining economy, the emerging strong alliance in South East Asia against it, the likelihood of losing the case against the Philippines in UNCLOS which would then set a precedent for Vietnam and others to follow suit are making China very insecure. The recent reorganization of the armed forces, the increasing importance to the Air Force and the Navy are indicators of this nervousness along with the North Korean paw's action today. Even the 'armed police' in China now reports to CMC (Central Military Commission). Xi has unprecedented powers now that even Mao didn't have. China can soon be expected to lease to Pakistan Navy one or two SSNs. It increasingly depends upon rogue states as part of its foreign policy.