Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Aww shucks. Aus win 3-1 in penalty shootouts after the game ended 0-0 after full time. There seems to be an ongoing controversy about Sreejesh being penalized for committing a foul when he made one of his multiple saves in the shootouts; Aus got to retake the penalty and scored in that instance.

Well done to the team overall. I feared a defeat by multiple goals, but our defense was stellar. Being able to make it this far and hang with Australia all the way is great progress indeed.

Great show!! A little falter at the end but they were against Aus.

The live score tracker said coach Roelant Oltmans blew his top at the foul that Sreejesh was docked. Hockey India have lodged an immediate protest too. Off teetar:

@FIH_Hockey
Hero #HCT2016 there has been an official protest by @TheHockeyIndia which is delaying the medal ceremony. More info to come.

@FIH_Hockey
Hero #HCT2016 Update: @TheHockeyIndia have lodged a protest. The technical delegate is working through the process. Update coming soon.

Here's what Sreejesh was fouled for: https://www.instagram.com/p/BGxZrbZpXzM/ . Apparently referee botched up by not stopping the attempt when the buzzer rang (striker has 8 seconds to score, which ran out), and instead penalized Sreejesh for actions after buzzer. All the stuff where Sreejesh is sitting on the ground spreadeagled happens after the 8 second mark. Teetar claims shootout may be annuled and joint winners awarded.

Added: FIH rejected Indian appeal and the Aussies are announced as winners. Oh well. About time Hockey India squeezed FIH with their growing money power, just like BCCI does with ICC. The Hockey India League is lucrative and popular with most top players. It should be used to gain control of FIH.

yayavar wrote:Great show!! A little falter at the end but they were against Aus.
0-0 against Aus is quite extraordinary given how they literally ran circles around our defences every time for past few years.

If only we clean up our PC and penalty conversions, we seem to be almost there!

Fabulous. I am having dreams of Olympic medal. I think the HIL has done really well for hockey in India. Why can't they have women's teams also in HIL and IPL and have the matches right before the men's matches? Our women's cricket and hockey players are not getting the attention they deserve. Women's pro-league is the need of the hour.
Shanu

Post by Shanu »

Watched the CT Final match all through. We had 60%+ ball possession in 3 of the 4 quarters. Its unbelievable stuff !!!

Towards the end, the World No. 1 team was so rattled that they could not even keep 11 players on the ground (multiple cards).

Heartbreak in the end, but probably we did not practice the penalty shootout as much as we did defence organization. Nevertheless, a fabulous valiant display of hockey skills and team game by a set of young players. With a little more practice they can beat the world in Rio.
Fingers crossed.

Roelant Oltmans is doing a very good job. He seems to have good rapport with the team. Remember we are missing Sardar Singh, our regular captain, as well as Rupinder Pal Singh, our best drag flicker, and Ramandeep Singh.

We played Aus twice in two days, and I think comparing and contrasting how we played in each game would be very interesting. Would any hockey buff care to watch the two games and provide detailed commentary ? From highlights, one thing I notice about Australia is that whenever they attack, they set up a passing ring of upto 5-6 people in the offensive circle, between whom they can pass balls when they attack. We seem to not do so as well, instead depending more on lone wolf brilliance, or upto 1-2 forwards tag teaming. It's easier to stop 1-2 people than 5-6 people.

We might have couple of boxers qualified. Good chance of getting 100 athleyes getting qualified for Olympics.

Manoj Kumar (64kg) and Vikas Krishan (75kg) both qualified for Rio by advancing to semifinals at the Olympic qualification event at Baku . Next up are Devendro Singh (49kg) and Sumit Sangwan (81kg) . Devendro is already in the semifinal but his weight category has only 2 spots available, so he needs to make the final. The other three have 4 spots, so all semifinalists make it through. Shiva Thapa already qualified for Rio in 56kg. So three boxers through, possibly 2 more.

Devendro and Sumit have lost.

Too bad. The shooters performed well in the world cup, also in Baku, though.
10m air pistol mens: Jitu Rai wins silver, just 0.5 point behind gold
10m air rifle womens: Pooja Ghatkar makes final and finishes fourth. Nice performance by a newcomer.
10m air rifle mens: Abhinav Bindra and Gagan Narang both made final. Narrowly missed medals.
Trap men: Kynan Chenai made final, also missed medal
25m pistol womens: Heena Sidhu makes final

So we have at least half a dozen people capable of making the finals at world level. A medal at that stage can be a matter of luck, since one gust of wind or an unsteady moment can make the difference.

sum wrote: If only we clean up our PC and penalty conversions, we seem to be almost there!
i've been hearing that since 90s !!!!

Gus wrote:
sum wrote: If only we clean up our PC and penalty conversions, we seem to be almost there!
i've been hearing that since 90s !!!!
Yep. Also field goals. We have been poor finishers for ever. We get the ball into the D but when it is time to take a shot at the goal we choke. Haven't watched any hockey in the last 1 year or so, can't say how it is now.

Oltmans has been dealing with that problem. He interviewed about it during the HWL last December where we beat the Dutch for bronze. His viewpoint was that we hold the ball too long. The other top teams set up at least 3-5 players in the D to pass among and slot in opportunistic goals. We depend on 1-2 people running in from midfield, starting with brilliant weaves and dodges and then running out of space. All the opposition has to do is target that person, or one of the two people. I think we're improving that way. The British coach opined during the CT2016 that India are more dangerous now because we play Dutch setpieces combined with Indian flair, so we're more unpredictable. Further, our fitness level is up, and we were able to keep up with or outdo the Aussies in the final on account of that, even though our finishing was poor. We're solidly top 6 strength now, and capable of top 4 performance. The Aussies are the only team we really struggle to beat. Everyone else - Dutch, Germans, Brits, Belgians etc - we have beaten in the past year without looking like it was a fortunate win.
Shanu

Post by Shanu »

For the first time in history, an Indian has qualified for the 100m women's sprint in Olympics. Dutee Chand has broken the Indian national record twice in 1 day - first completing the race in a Kazakh tournament in 11:30 seconds in the heats and then in just 11:24 seconds in the final to win silver. Both were above the Olympic qualification mark of 11:32 seconds.

The last time an Indian participated in 100m in Olympics was in 1980 Moscow, where PT Usha was selected to race - as there was no qualification mark at that time.

Dutee was actually banned by the IAAF for having higher testosterone levels. She got cleared in arbitration only last year and has been practicing in India since. She did not even get foreign training support from our SAI. And yet here she is, bringing the Indian flag to the most watched event in women's athletics.

3 more athletes qualify. 100 crossed.

Among the three qualifiers was Ankit Sharma in long jump. He's been consistently jumping over 8m lately. He just jumped 8.19m to qualify. What's more interesting is that in London 2012, the gold medal was 8.31m and silver medal was 8.16m . In other words, his current jumping level is within Olympic medal territory, and it's primarily a matter of whether he can perform at the big stage.

long jump is at a historic low level internationally for last few years. powellji is talking of coming out of retirement half-seriously lol

Don't jinx it! :)
Singha wrote:long jump is at a historic low level internationally for last few years. powellji is talking of coming out of retirement half-seriously lol
Yes it seems there are no big jumpers lately, and Greg Rutherford is the big dog still. 8.1-8.2 puts you in medal contention and 8.2-8.3 gets you wins internationally. Back in the 80s there were 3-4 people capable of 8.7 , like Carl Lewis, Mike Powell and Robert Emmiyan . My favorite jumper in terms of style is Emmiyan. Check him out on youtube. Smooth technique, not flapping around like a vulture fired out of a cannon, like Powell.
BajKhedawal

Post by BajKhedawal »

Dame it!!! Deepa just got squeezed out of the medal tally. But her vault was very very impressive.

Hockey out
Sania out
Shooters out

Very depressing.
gashish

Post by gashish »

All hopes now rest on wrestlers:

Sandeep Tomar −57 kg 19 August
Yogeshwar Dutt −65 kg 21 August
Narsingh Pancham Yadav –74 kg 19 August

And may be boxer: Vikas Yadav

^^shooting must be the most underwhelming story of India in this games.

Looks like we are back to pre 2008 times of praying for atleast single medal finishes

Both shooting and tennis were disappointing. Mirza/Bopanna went from being clearly ahead in semifinals to losing the match and then the bronze playoff tamely. And they said the Indians were 'nervous'. Mirza is world #1, winner of multiple grand slams and the year end world title the last 2 years in doubles. What sort of nervousness does she need to overcome ? Everyone complains about nervousness on the big stage. There are tons of stories of others rising to the occasion instead. It's a mental thing.

The only display I watched proudly was Dipa Karmakar. Medals at Commonwealth and Asian events, 5th and world championship and 4th at Olympics. In a sport where she first trained by jumping over a scooter parked in the gym corner. I feel sad for her. Were she Russian or Chinese they'd have moulded her into a world champion. Here, they denied her her physio when she requested it for Rio, calling it a wasteful expense.

Come Tokyo 2020, I hope our challengers realize that the biggest thing standing in the way of several of our contenders is not their ability, which is good enough in several sports, but their mental strength.

WTF was Sports minister Goel doing in Rio? How about the FAT sports minister of Haryana visiting Riot to "check out olympic preparations"?

PATHETIC! BJP needs to have either Tendulkar, Rajyavardharn or some good retired sports person to lead this ministry!

sum wrote:^^shooting must be the most underwhelming story of India in this games.

Looks like we are back to pre 2008 times of praying for atleast single medal finishes
The last time we were out for a duck was 1992!!
We have gotten at least 1 ever since. Looks like it will be back to the dark days. We got 6 last time, I was hoping for double digits.

Suraj, where did you see that Sania was nervous? She's been on the big stage for years, so I don't think that is a factor anymore. Did she say it herself?

Why not Rathore as sports minister instead of this Goel clown they got now?
Last edited by KJo on 15 Aug 2016 20:48, edited 1 time in total.

gashish wrote:All hopes now rest on wrestlers:

Sandeep Tomar −57 kg 19 August
Yogeshwar Dutt −65 kg 21 August
Narsingh Pancham Yadav –74 kg 19 August

And may be boxer: Vikas Yadav
Kidbambi and Sindhu are in the game. Manish Singh came 13th in 20KM walk. Let us see how he does in 50Km.

Lalita Babar did well - 10th in final - but at least she broke the national record.

Olympics Silver Medal winner Rajyavardhan Rathore should be the sports minister. I think we have been relying on the same athletes from last 2-3 olympics. We need to have more diverse crowd!

I think we are like cowboys just shooting in the dark hoping to snag a medal here and there. We need to identify the sports we have high chance of medalling in and focus on that and spend money with selected athletes. This is no longer an amateur venue where you go to work and then run a race in the evening.
VenkataS

Post by VenkataS »

Excellent match by PV Sindhu to beat Wang Yihan and reach the semifinals.
She beat her 22-20, 21-19.

Her net play was excellent. She moved Wang Yihan around the court and probably tired her. She was down most of the first game but somehow pulled out a win in it. I really liked her temperament in the match.

She will meet the winner of Nozomi Okuhara/Akane Yamaguchi Quaterfinal match in the semis (according to the bracket).
We need one more win from her to get a medal.

Finally bronze in women's wrestling. Sakshi Malik

PVS Sindhu in women's finals. at least one more silver assured!

Great show and looking forward to the match.

Manish Singh did well in walking. Wonder how the 50KM comes out.
Men's wrestling has good chance of medalling. Dutt won bronze last time.

PV Sindhu played the best game. She was stronger, agile, strategic and she overpowered her Japanese rival; and in total control from very beginning of the game. It is historic for India!!
Bheeshma

Post by Bheeshma »

PV Sindhu should go for Gold.

btw Golf leaderboard has Aditi Ashok at no. 7 after two rounds. 6 under par... leader is -10. So close.

Indian women has saved us from total humiliation. Present govt must come out with a sports policy to improve our performance in the olympics. But all said I have lost respect for the WADA and IOC, totally corrupt and politicized organizations under the thumb of western powers.

Aditi Ashok is just 18 years old too, a 1998 birth. She carded an identical 68 (3 under par) in each of the first two rounds. She's the youngest of the pack of leaders.

VenkataS wrote:Excellent match by PV Sindhu to beat Wang Yihan and reach the semifinals.
She beat her 22-20, 21-19.
Close game. Hope she puts pressure early on in the finals. Of course, at that level both players would try to do the same. I don't mind if it is a close game but PV Sindhu gets the gold. Of course, a hard fought silver is not too bad either.
vinod

Post by vinod »

https://www.wilsoncenter.org/publication/the-russian-influence-american-sport
An interesting paper on Soviet sporting - India can learn a 1 or 2 lessons from them