jamwal wrote:I am not good with most financial stuff, but one thing has been bugging me . I've read almost every single post on this thread and this query has not been answered in a satisfactory way yet.
Let us assume that a black money hoarder has 1 crore Rupees in old currency. He deposits the stash under his own name and risk paying a income tax penalty among other things. He doesn't want to do that. So he goes to someone offering this service and gets 80 lakh in new currency and takes a 20% hit. That 80 lakh is again out of circulation in an illegal black money stash,
But what happens to the exchanger guy ? He somehow has the means to get that money declared in a legal way. He takes the 1 crore in old currency and deposits it in bank under his own name. He will probably pay a smaller penalty or tax but the money comes back in to the banking system as white money.
It was described before, but this thread moves fast.
The easiest way to explain it is make YOU the exchanger, so you have to think. You're here to make money. You didn't have any to begin with. You know people with empty bank accounts. You find Seth Kaladhan who has to launder Rs.1 crore. You offer conversion at 20% loss. That means:
a) you need to have Rs.80 lakh on hand in new currency.
b) You have only 20% margin off loss before YOU lose money - you just handed out Rs.80 lakh in good money and got Rs.1cr in bad money
Lets assume you got Rs.80 lakh through 100 people withdrawing Rs.80K from bank. Or 1000 people withdrawing Rs.8K . Each of them is given back Rs.1 lakh / Rs.10K in each example, to deposit. In reality you give them less since you have your margin to worry about.
That seems simple, but you have to find enough people willing to front you good money in the hope of being able to deposit bad money without suspicion. You can split it into smaller sums but that means an order of magnitude more people to find in each case. And you have to make a profit. You have to spend time and effort finding people, collecting money, ensuring their trust in you etc.
And all this for just 1 crore. The total money in question is Rs.15 lakh crore I think (Prasad posted exact numbers a few pages ago).
So let's review this and ask , when someone says "XYZ big fish already got away with it", the question is how ? Just because they got new cash and gave away old cash DOES NOT MEAN the story is over. The banks and RBI still have access to enormous amount of deposit data, and they have the wherewithal to identify abnormal looking deposits. E.g all of a sudden 1000 villagers in Nowherepur suddenly withdrew Rs.8k and deposited Rs.10K soon after. The problem with distributing across more and more people is that IT has more and more people to come and lean upon. Each person has less to lose by cooperating and more to lose by being arrested over Rs.8k in this case.
So in summary, when someone claims 'big fishes have gotten away with it', I think they are being too optimistic about that. The beauty of this is that the banking system has enormous piles of deposit data to track abnormal behavior from, and they can go after every bad guy when they have the manpower to do it.
Pretty much no one will 'get away with it' given the IT resources to track down abnormal deposits. The nature of 'distribute and hide' is that not all abnormal deposits have to be tracked. Just one approver out of N depositors needs to squeal, and the entire game is up.