Understanding US thread-III

Re: Understanding US thread-III

Drain the swamp?

More like swamp the brain.

Trump could have got the same mileage by putting on hold all new visas to citizens of those seven countries while he reviewed the vetting process.

From twitter:

Mythili Sampathkumar Verified account
‏@MythiliSk

1. Story time: was too upset to say this morn, but my Dad - U.S. Citizen for 17 years, born in India - was strip searched last night at IAD

2. He had TSA Precheck. It was a domestic flight. Was told the usual - it's a random search. Now, there's no evidence this has to do

3. With the #MuslimBan, but it's clear it effects all us. He didn't argue and did what he was told. He wears a sacred thread (we're Brahmin)

4. So you can imagine how this has shaken him. He's 68 and a U.S Citizen on a domestic flight. It's hard not to think it's all related

5. Ban impacts all of us. I stand w/#NoBanNoWall bec I knew things like this would happen. We all look the same to the ignorant + scared

6. TSA is ON EDGE. I don't know that I completely blame them for that bec everyone is watching their every action. But, come on.

7. There has to be a better explanation than "it's a random search," some measure of exercising common sense.

8. My dad is a short, balding, slight Indian guy who can barely lift a suitcase. Painfully obvious on 1st site he's no threat. Beyond that

9. he's got PreCheck on domestic flight. It doesn't feel random. They came for Muslims *first* so we need to stand with them.

{Note: TSA PreCheck : With a 5 year, $85 membership, you can speed through security and don’t need to remove your shoes, laptops, liquids, belts and light jackets. https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/ }

10. We need to be polite, but don't stop resisting either. I'm telling this story because it's the reality we all face now.

11. I'm not at all saying this to demonize TSA. I understand that they have a tough job. They're just trying to keep us all safe.

12. But, innocent US citizens on domestic flights who 'look a certain way' can't be targets because then everyone is a target. Peace to all.

13. This story was primarily also for Indian-Americans who voted for Trump. I get emotional about it because we knew this would happen and

14. you still voted for him bec you (Hindus mostly) thought, well we're not Muslims or Mexicans. That means nothing - we're in this together

15. And many of you have been through this before. Our fathers, grandfathers worked in Her Majesty's Defence Ministry, while yearning

16. for independence. My grandfathers did. One threw around "bloody British" as late as 2007. He was the ultimate 'Abu el binat" - 5 girls

17. He was a defence employee who resisted from the inside while doing his job so he could survive. We can do it too.

18. A country under centuries of British rule got its independence and you come here and vote for more rule? It makes no sense

19. But it's done. And like he and his colleagues did, ppl will resist while doing their jobs; you'll see fighting w/each other is useless

20. And I want to reiterate: I'm not demonizing TSA. I don't know what they were told from above their pay grade. We should follow rules.

21. But I urge those in TSA to communicate better, exercise common sense, and demand better guidance - citing the Constitution.[/quote]

"Steve Bannon Is Making Sure There’s No White House Paper Trail, Says Intel Source"
“He {Bannon} is running a cabal, almost like a shadow NSC,” the official said. He described a work environment where there is little appetite for dissenting opinions, shockingly no paper trail of what’s being discussed and agreed upon at meetings, and no guidance or encouragement so far from above about how the National Security Council staff should be organized.
http://foreignpolicy.com/2017/01/30/ste ... president/

Jim Sciutto‏ @jimsciutto
Just in: Israel seeking clarity on #TrumpTravelBan - 145,000 Jews born in 7 countries listed in EO incl 54,000 in Iraq & 45,000 in Iran

A_Gupta wrote:From twitter:

Mythili Sampathkumar Verified account
‏@MythiliSk

1. Story time: was too upset to say this morn, but my Dad - U.S. Citizen for 17 years, born in India - was strip searched last night at IAD

2. He had TSA Precheck. It was a domestic flight. Was told the usual - it's a random search. Now, there's no evidence this has to do

3. With the #MuslimBan, but it's clear it effects all us. He didn't argue and did what he was told. He wears a sacred thread (we're Brahmin)

4. So you can imagine how this has shaken him. He's 68 and a U.S Citizen on a domestic flight. It's hard not to think it's all related

5. Ban impacts all of us. I stand w/#NoBanNoWall bec I knew things like this would happen. We all look the same to the ignorant + scared

6. TSA is ON EDGE. I don't know that I completely blame them for that bec everyone is watching their every action. But, come on.

7. There has to be a better explanation than "it's a random search," some measure of exercising common sense.

8. My dad is a short, balding, slight Indian guy who can barely lift a suitcase. Painfully obvious on 1st site he's no threat. Beyond that

9. he's got PreCheck on domestic flight. It doesn't feel random. They came for Muslims *first* so we need to stand with them.

{Note: TSA PreCheck : With a 5 year, $85 membership, you can speed through security and don’t need to remove your shoes, laptops, liquids, belts and light jackets. https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/ }

10. We need to be polite, but don't stop resisting either. I'm telling this story because it's the reality we all face now.

11. I'm not at all saying this to demonize TSA. I understand that they have a tough job. They're just trying to keep us all safe.

12. But, innocent US citizens on domestic flights who 'look a certain way' can't be targets because then everyone is a target. Peace to all.

13. This story was primarily also for Indian-Americans who voted for Trump. I get emotional about it because we knew this would happen and

14. you still voted for him bec you (Hindus mostly) thought, well we're not Muslims or Mexicans. That means nothing - we're in this together

15. And many of you have been through this before. Our fathers, grandfathers worked in Her Majesty's Defence Ministry, while yearning

16. for independence. My grandfathers did. One threw around "bloody British" as late as 2007. He was the ultimate 'Abu el binat" - 5 girls

17. He was a defence employee who resisted from the inside while doing his job so he could survive. We can do it too.

18. A country under centuries of British rule got its independence and you come here and vote for more rule? It makes no sense

19. But it's done. And like he and his colleagues did, ppl will resist while doing their jobs; you'll see fighting w/each other is useless

20. And I want to reiterate: I'm not demonizing TSA. I don't know what they were told from above their pay grade. We should follow rules.

21. But I urge those in TSA to communicate better, exercise common sense, and demand better guidance - citing the Constitution.

Very well written appeal by this poor bystander, but I have a question.... Other than the emotional trauma, where is the actual evidence that this has happened because of Trump? Abuse by authority and the lack of common sense is not a monopoly of Trump administration. Iirc, that poor Indian grandpa was brutally assaulted by an Alabama cop during Obama term.

Wrt handcuffing 5 year olds, where is the evidence? And as a side note, it is not so uncommon to handcuff and restrain over the top kids in school in the US, the little blighters can get pretty violent sometimes.

A little perspective is all one hopes for.

errmm .. why don't you want to demonize the TSA ? It has strip searched your father & yet you do not want to demonize TSA. You mythili have just confessed inadvertently that for you the benefits of living in USA outweigh your father's dignity. Rest are just excuses. You will never be really offended until you keep licking anglo-saxon behinds and that is your primary goal. And everything else is secondary.
komal

Post by komal »

Arjun wrote:
komal wrote:The similarity to Nehru's policies is amazing. The big banks cannot compete without massive government support. Even the minimal support that is taken away by Dodd-Frank (use your own capital not insured deposits for trading) is too much for these dinosaurs.

Trump will make sure that the taxpayer subsidizes their losses -- and his minions will laugh at people driving BMWs
Yes, the scales have certainly fallen ! Who would have thought that this team packed with billionaires is actually Nehruvian socialist..one learns something new everyday.
Of course, Trump's actual policies (dictating to private companies where they should source their raw materials, factories, etc, subsidizing poorly run banks with trillions of dollars in taxpayer money for trading) should be ignored and we should focus on the wealth of his cabinet.
komal

Post by komal »

Very well written appeal by this poor bystander, but I have a question.... Other than the emotional trauma, where is the actual evidence that this has happened because of Trump? Abuse by authority and the lack of common sense is not a monopoly of Trump administration. Iirc, that poor Indian grandpa was brutally assaulted by an Alabama cop during Obama term.

Wrt handcuffing 5 year olds, where is the evidence? And as a side note, it is not so uncommon to handcuff and restrain over the top kids in school in the US, the little blighters can get pretty violent sometimes.

A little perspective is all one hopes for.
GOOPER apologists seem to have little understanding of federal government. Alabama cops aren't under federal control. TSA staff are.

I wonder how many white 5 year olds are handcuffed each day by TSA?

It is very unusual for TSA precheck guys to be searched like that. I have been getting precheck for the past few years and never had any problem. I have not seen any random search in TSA precheck line (BTW I did not pay for it but the airlines I fly gave me automatically, I guess, because of my flying pattern).
komal

Post by komal »

A_Gupta wrote:Jim Sciutto‏ @jimsciutto
Just in: Israel seeking clarity on #TrumpTravelBan - 145,000 Jews born in 7 countries listed in EO incl 54,000 in Iraq & 45,000 in Iran
They should claim birth in Lahore or Karachi -- no problem entering the USA then.

A_Gupta wrote:Mythili Sampathkumar Verified account@MythiliSk
Fabulous piece of pyops

1. So a US citizen is strip-searched by TSA an US organization and all of a sudden it's Indian-Americans (Hindus mostly) to blame because they voted for trump. I am straining to recall such an eloquent outpouring of grief addressed to Indian-Americans (Hindus mostly) who had voted for Obama, when an elderly man, probably older than her father was paralysed by trigger happy cops.

2. So your gramps were taking the British shilling (looted from fellow Indians), while "yearning for independence" was it? Why wasn't the yearning out on display on streets? What stopped them from joining hands with the millions who marched down in defiance against tyranny and authoritarian ship and kept chanting "British go back" and "Swarajya is our birthright" while the lathis and bullets rained down on them... in all probability by the very same folks who were "yearning for independence" while working as a "defence employee who resisted from the inside".

And what was a "defence employee" anyway, efence of what and whom exactly? More, importantly what does your gramps being paid employees of the oppressive British Crown have to do with this matter anyway?

3. "A country under centuries of British rule got its independence and you come here and vote for more rule? It makes no sense"
It doesn't. Are you saying that all those "who resisted from the inside" while "yearning for independence" came over to the USA.
komal

Post by komal »

hanumadu wrote:Trump could have got the same mileage by putting on hold all new visas to citizens of those seven countries while he reviewed the vetting process.
His goals 1) Show his base that he can abuse brown people; and 2) Avoid offending KSA and Pakistan.

He has achieved his goals.

as a weak impotent vulnerable and easy to hit minority I guess the white collah PIOs / NRIs just have to suck up these periodic high handed actions. rationalization is always easy....GOI has been rationalizing various acts of tolerance wrt TSP/Cheen over decades now - we indians do not lack in that skill.

its not a unique situation - black and latinos have learnt the fear and be careful of the poleece.

Alabama cop or Ferguson cop or TSA - the racists among them misbehave when they think they have impunity - that their superiors will not punish them. Otherwise they won't risk their jobs.

"Just a little perspective" is that Trump and Bannon have given them that wink-wink/nod-nod.

That you refuse to see it is a tragedy for us all.

As to the handcuffed five year old, Sean Spicer was asked about it today and he justified it.

I did not notice any of the ferguson cops getting punished or any high handed cop on Obamas watch either. was there a 'wink wink nudge nudge' needed then or was it passed on secretly by carrier pigeon? law enforcement/bullying in the khanate operates on its own dynamics and does not need POTUS 'signals' to do what it does.

meantime, word on street is that 100 career diplomutts in SD will sign a memo and possibly resign. the same SD where 35 seniors leaked a memo last year asking Obama to start a war in syria (well he already did!) and bomb Assad.

A_Gupta wrote:Alabama cop or Ferguson cop or TSA - the racists among them misbehave when they think they have impunity - that their superiors will not punish them. Otherwise they won't risk their jobs.

"Just a little perspective" is that Trump and Bannon have given them that wink-wink/nod-nod.

As to the handcuffed five year old, Sean Spicer was asked about it today and he justified it.
Obama & Hillary also gave them wink-wink/nod-nod because they were equally obnoxious during their regime.
komal

Post by komal »

Singha wrote:as a weak impotent vulnerable and easy to hit minority I guess the white collah PIOs / NRIs just have to suck up these periodic high handed actions. rationalization is always easy....GOI has been rationalizing various acts of tolerance wrt TSP/Cheen over decades now - we indians do not lack in that skill.

its not a unique situation - black and latinos have learnt the fear and be careful of the poleece.
Agreed.

I have experience living the pre-Civil Rights era in the USA. The State Department actually issued letters saying that, though we might have chocolate skin color, we were not Negros. My father had to show such a letter to rent our first house.

Maybe the DT State Department can charge PIO and other browns $5K per such letters to cover the cost of terrorism. Of course, those from KSA and Pakistan will get such letters gratis.
Last edited by komal on 31 Jan 2017 11:05, edited 1 time in total.
komal

Post by komal »

habal wrote:
A_Gupta wrote:Alabama cop or Ferguson cop or TSA - the racists among them misbehave when they think they have impunity - that their superiors will not punish them. Otherwise they won't risk their jobs.

Obama & Hillary also gave them wink-wink/nod-nod because they were equally obnoxious during their regime.
Actually they pressed federal action in many places. But what are facts to those who consider DT brave for allowing Pakistanis unfettered access to the USA.

You know, I hope, that at Washington DC Dulles airport, DHS personnel refused to obey a court order.
You know that "that was not in the Trump EO".
Where did that behavior come from?
They know that Trump will shield them.

^ Komal wow - didnt know about the old days. folks like you should share more such hidden tales. in the media the 50s and 60s are always projected as an era of plenty, unlimited budgets, big cars, neat suburban houses, moon shot projects ... a golden era of amrika .
komal

Post by komal »

Singha wrote:^ Komal wow - didnt know about the old days. folks like you should share more such hidden tales.
The World Bank opened its own country club because its 'colored' staff was denied admission to other clubs in the area.

Pre-1967 and pre-H1 days, NASA was already beginning to appreciate the value of Indian engineers/techs. NIH also saw the talent in Indian medicos. There weren't thousands, but dozens, to be sure, upper middle class Indians in the DC area. The local amusement park in the suburbs was 'Whites Only' and closed to us.

I recall there were special days (advertised well in advance so the whites could keep their sons and daughters away) that 'Foreign Coloreds' would be allowed into the park.

Because that generation of Indians had been raised in British India -- they were aware of white privilege and actually thought it was decent that, in the USA, that they would have some access to such facilities.

Here is an example of the free amreki press.

komal

Post by komal »

WSJ is Murdoch rag. No one has taken it seriously for decades. In the mid 1990s, they cheered the Taliban takeover of Afghanistan.

Who are the koch brothers? Seem to be powerful players in soros mould

komal wrote:I have experience living the pre-Civil Rights era in the USA. The State Department actually issued letters saying that, though we might have chocolate skin color, we were not Negros. My father had to show such a letter to rent our first house.
If you actually have a copy of that letter, please scan and post it online. That's absolute gold . In fact any such memorabilia from those times would be a great view of a past that's not well known.

I don't agree with KJo on his desire to see Indians (for me, it comes down to IT employees and not the company itself) suffering or even deserving to suffer.

The IT companies are responsible for the current situation. Hoping to milk the outsourcing model for as long as possible and not planning long-term survival. Even now, they are saying that we will increase local US hiring which means that acknowledging that we'll depend on US doles.

But I have witnessed first hand, Indian IT Cos providing compensation rate just a tad above the prevailing minimum wage requirements set out by DoL. One can argue, that they are gaming the system and doing nothing illegal. This happened to a colleague of mine. He has a MBA from a relatively top school in India along with 12 plus years of experience. He was told to ship to US Midwest along with family for a paltry sum of 65K USD. When I was hired fresh out of grad school, I was being paid a little more than that. And yes, this is after factoring location as well. My colleague was making 20L plus in India and his wifey working as well. He told me that going there would make little economic sense for him. But he was being pressurised...threatened to be put on bench if he did not comply. Luckily for him, he got rejected at US consulate in India. Surprisingly, his petition at USCIS got approved. The above should have been caught right at that stage itself. But still many employees prefer to go to US even with the above pay structure. It just really doesn't make sense...I am sure others who have been in IT a lot longer than I have, would have similar stories like the above. I don't know what else to say about the above other than use the word exploitation.

I for one would think some greater visa scrutiny would help Indians & Indian Cos in the long-term, if not US.

well the first shot of neptune spear has been fired. this is not a DT exec order but the pending bill that will be taken up by congress.

-----
Shares of India's top IT companies crashed today after a legislation was introduced in the US House of Representatives which calls for doubling the minimum salary of H-1B visa holders to $130,000. In a brutal one hour, the top four - TCS, Infosys, Wipro and HCL Technologies - saw nearly Rs 48,000 crore wiped out from their market value. The new US bill is designed to make it difficult for companies to use the work-visa programme to replace American employees with foreign workers, including those from India.

Shares of mid-sized IT companies also came under heavy selling pressure - Take Solutions, Mastek, Mind Tree, Mphasis, KPIT, NIIT Technologies, Hexaware and Geometric fell up to 5 per cent. The IT sub-index was the top sectoral loser on the Bombay Stock Exchange, falling 4 per cent.

The High-Skilled Integrity and Fairness Act of 2017 introduced by California Congressman Zoe Lofgren today prioritises market-based allocation of visas to those companies willing to pay 200 per cent of a wage calculated by survey. It also eliminates the category of lowest pay, and raises the salary level at which H-1B dependent employers are exempt from non-displacement and recruitment attestation requirements to more than $130,000.

This is more than double of the current H-1B minimum wage of $60,000 which was established in 1989 and has since remained unchanged.

after due deliberation I would imagine this bill will be passed with a normalized rather than flat value for each "region" of state. and $100k for CA/NYC/NJ/Boston...perhaps tie it to number of accompanying dependents also like $20k for wife, another $10k for each kid. ... people going onsite might get pressured to leave family behind...

its 26 years since the last revision..$60k was a pretty high sal for a 2-4 yr exp in 1989. continuing to game that is funny

as I said, the gig had to end sooner or later ... even the greatest party has its morning after phase, with people passed out on the floor waking up and having to limp home. the lucky ones already landed their one night companions and will wake up in comfy memory foam bed tending to their rubber plantations and hospitality plays.

Singha wrote: This is more than double of the current H-1B minimum wage of $60,000 which was established in 1989 and has since remained unchanged.
I think the 1989 part is wrong. I know people who were paid much less.

130k is a joke. :rotfl:

It's not such a bad situation really. Lofgren's bill is probably the best option of the lot. Better than say, Darrell Issa's. The existing $60K wage floor, unindexed for inflation for almost THIRTY years, is an absurd distortion whose responsibility lies entirely upon successive GOTUSes.My guess is that the wage base will be indexed to region, with bay area etc getting the uppermost base and midwest getting lower bases.

https://medium.com/@yonatanzunger/trial ... .i9ywwdika
So much for right-wing conspiracy theories and fake news, now left wing fake news.

Boss People of IT need to look for other models of business. If they do not find it ASAP then they are going to suffer. Good that this has come in the initial period itself, gives us time to adopt.

TCS is cross-subsidising TATA Sons and it they do not have some serious relooking etc then TATAs may be in problems.

Quora

I recently graduated with ME in mechanical engineering from a top school (UIUC, ranked 5th on US News). My prior degrees are from top Indian schools. I am finding it extremely difficult to find a job here. I don’t have work experience, which is a severe disadvantage. People who had work experience are either still looking, or had great difficulty finding a job.

Most jobs are not for international students. The few jobs that are, have a lot of competition, as the pool of international students graduating each year is much larger than the available jobs. Employers are wary of hiring international students, owing to the anticipated changes in policy. But whatever Trump wants to implement, it would take atleast 2–3 years for the same, as approvals at different levels are required. Other thing is, an international student might not get the H1B owing to a lottery system, (this has nothing to do with Trump’s policies), there are more than 200,000 applications for 85,000 work visas, and the number of applications will only increase in the future. Hence for a company, there is the risk of losing out on the investment they make in the candidate to hire and train him. So they tend to hire a international student only if he is exceptional, or a really good fit.

You apply to like 300 jobs and you would get just 5 replies. Networking is very much needed to find a job, and one should start networking with employers as soon as possible. Also, at the masters level, companies look for specific skills, and expect you to have those skills, rather than train you. Hence, even if you have high potential to excel and academic knowledge, not knowing tools (specific softwares, work experience in particular projects) will put you at a severe disadvantage.

If you are not getting any funding from the university, and coming here on a loan, then I would say that its a huge gamble. I would strongly suggest to have 2–4 years of relevant work experience before coming to US. This can be done be working at a job that you are interested in even if the pay is low, or working as a research assistant at any of the top engineering colleges.

If you are in CS or IT related fields, then the situation is totally different. You will easily get a job, even if you have a below average academic profile and little or no work experience. I see a lot of people going for a second master’s degree in Computer Science, so that they can get a job.

(I answered the question much more broadly, did not just address Trump’s policies on H1B)

(People applying for MS may feel free to reach out to me with follow up questions or to seek general advice)
221.6k Views ·

Suraj wrote:It's not such a bad situation really. Lofgren's bill is probably the best option of the lot. Better than say, Darrell Issa's. The existing $60K wage floor, unindexed for inflation for almost THIRTY years, is an absurd distortion whose responsibility lies entirely upon successive GOTUSes.My guess is that the wage base will be indexed to region, with bay area etc getting the uppermost base and midwest getting lower bases.
Not even 20 years sir. The 60k was set in 1998.

Added Later:
Rest of the salaries did not double in that period, minimum wage did not increase as much. A reasonable limit would be 80 to 85k.
Last edited by hanumadu on 31 Jan 2017 14:17, edited 1 time in total.

Zee will not go half measures.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... -1.2960171

We need to stop using Zee for DT. Zee has seriously respectable tone to it in Indic languages.

hanumadu wrote:
Suraj wrote:It's not such a bad situation really. Lofgren's bill is probably the best option of the lot. Better than say, Darrell Issa's. The existing $60K wage floor, unindexed for inflation for almost THIRTY years, is an absurd distortion whose responsibility lies entirely upon successive GOTUSes.My guess is that the wage base will be indexed to region, with bay area etc getting the uppermost base and midwest getting lower bases.
Not even 20 years sir. The 60k was set in 1998.
Oh sorry. That's still a very long period of time. Even 5-10 is stretching it as far as inflation is concerned.

hanumadu wrote: Not even 20 years sir. The 60k was set in 1998.
Oh sorry. That's still a very long period of time. Even 5-10 is stretching it as far as inflation is concerned.
It could be in line with increase in salaries of other professions. I feel 80 to 85k is a reasonable limit.

The core industries (Mech, Aero etc.) are traditionally not immigrant friendly unlike IT. Even during boom circa 2006-07, Mech, electrical folks had to struggle to find jobs unlike IT. Many of the mech & electrical folks switched over to IT in Massa. However, Industrial Engineering folks are little bit more crafty and can survive. They can move to finance or even work in Hospitals or similar industries.

So, I am not surprised that the above Quora dude in ME is finding it hard to get interview calls. Almost all auto majors will not hire international students directly under they payroll. They were (are ?) accepting H1B folks on contract via a body shop. Same with Aero...although in Aero, the challenges are more due to security clearance & ITAR. Many of the major industries do not hire international students unless they are exceptional. For ex: GE in US onlee hires PhDs. Very rarely do they hire F1 directly. Good thing in US is presence of lots of vendors who cannot be picky.

I guess the next big destination will be Germany. None of the other developed nations, apart from US, have an industrial set up to absorb foreign talents.

Will be a tough ride in future for sure...

One question onlee...if the above bill is passed, does it affect current H1B employees waiting for GCs? Or will it affect them if & when their H1B petitions are due for renewal?

johnson & johnson conglomerate also used to hire foreign if Phd. actually I met one matsci phd guy from another co living a quiet life on a modest salary in the midwest and he was befuddled at the huge "$100k for SAP" and "Y2K big $$" hoardings all over NJ/NJ/LI in that era :) ..and the boundless exuberance and baccanalian atmosphere.... he said his job had no glamour and huge raises but was stable and ok for his areas cost structure.

getting a MS is like running a 10k fueled by the easy sugar of gels.
getting a Phd from a good place is like a 50k ultra with no sugar but learning to burn body fat slowly and huge mileage training. maffetone method and all that.

DT and his boys are moving to take away the sugar in the aid stations. one has to run slow and long now to survive. a section will DNF and drop out of the pack.

Indians seem to be caught in peculiar trap: India has been sufferer in hand of Islamic terrorism since ages. This and current GUBO by left liberals to Islamists has sort of forced them to find another identity eg Indian and not South Asian. So that they don't get clubbed with Pakistanis.
In many instances this has resulted in them drifting towards conservatives (UK). But at same time the rise of right wing & conservatives in West has resulted in Indians being collateral damage. At end of day gut level racism perhaps does not differentiate between Indian & a Pakistani.