GeorgeWelch wrote:what's the current LCA manufacture rate?
what's the current F-35 manufacture rate?
There is a world of difference between hand building everything and a true assembly line.
From H Siddesha, project director and technology director of LCA,
http://www.indiatvnews.com/politics/nat ... ets-370263
"Every year, 16 Tejas aircraft will be built on two assembly lines. By 2024, all the aircraft will be inducted in the IAF whereas Tejas Mark 2 version will be ready by 2021," Siddesha was quoted as saying by Times of India.
And yes, that is lower than the F-35 production rate and for that very reason - that you so beautifully typed above (thank you) - I have been asking (on this VERY thread) for a FACO line that Japan and Italy have. You want to give us a true assembly line? Give us the F-35 then. I would be happy if India did screwdrivergiri on a 5th generation platform that is viable in 2050 versus a 4th generation platform in that same time period. The spin-offs for the AMCA would be fantastic, at least in terms of production. We do not need to know how to assemble 4th generation planes. We have been doing it on the Su-30MKI and on the Tejas.
Rakesh wrote:Rapid assembly to tight standards is an important skill. Rapidly and efficiently build fighters while maintaining tight quality control.
Bakwaas bandh kar!

The folks who developed the Tejas did not lose one single plane during her development.
NOT ONE. Three aircraft are now in service with No.45
Flying Daggers Squadron of the IAF. Yes, onlee three, but still

Now let us examine how many F-16s crashed during its development. AFAIK, one belly landed. Here is the video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuFmTPdIE2k
What happened to your rapid assembly to tight standards now? OTOH, we can teach you a few things on how not to belly land planes
GeorgeWelch wrote:This contract is about an existing plane, so there is little to no design work, so that's irrelevant to this discussion. But the ability to quickly and efficiently manufacture while maintaining tight quality control is very much of interest.
Dude, you guys parroted this same nonsense during the first MMRCA contest. Still you guys lost. You repeat the same thing again, you will get the same result. As you so eloquently put in your post, F-35. Put that on the table. Changes everything. Same company, same manufacturing philosophy no?

We can learn about rapid assembly to tight standards while wearing tight undies
GeorgeWelch wrote:Of course that joke is false for multiple reasons (NASA spent nothing to develop the pen and pencils are dangerous in space because the graphite can break off and short out components).
That is why I said it was a
joke. You don't need to explain the science of it
GeorgeWelch wrote:As for what is the point? How about being able to manufacture the LCA at a reasonable rate? Or the AMCA? India is facing a huge shortfall in fighter aircraft, and if you ever want to be able to fill that gap without relying on imports, you will need a more modern, efficient manufacturing capability.
Hai! Hai! Kya Dialogue Mara! If the project & technology director of the Tejas has said - as explained above - that 16 aircraft will be produced a year, then that is what will happen. You do not get to determine what is reasonable. We can figure that on our own, with regards to a fourth generation platform. Onlee the design of the AMCA has been frozen. Not a single prototype has been built yet. So that argument of yours is moot.
Oh yes, India is indeed facing a huge shortfall in fighter aircraft. But with LM stating that it will take 36 months from contract signing to delivering the first aircraft and with Paper-NG having her FOC onlee in 2025/2026, the IAF will be waiting for a LONG time indeed.
GeorgeWelch wrote:Of course, and that just demonstrates the potential of even more contact with LM.
So basically like you said earlier, there is always room for improvement