'Make in India' Single engined fighter

Re: 'Make in India' Single engined fighter

I am growing or have grown old, so I don't trust my eyes any longer. That is a F-22. 200 of them would be expensive. But for a plane that can fly in heavily contested space in Syria and not be detected :wink: , I think it is well worth the price. Chinese might even withdraw to China.

But, threadwise, F-16 will come.

And it can grow. Growth, IMHO, is relative. What is growth for the IAF is probably not for the USAF. And that is just fine. No use comparing all the time.

On a different note, which/hope MoD sets aside a few LCAs and even a minimal F-16 for scientists and students to work on.

Singha wrote:since 2010 the stock has tripled.
Welcome to the arms industry :)

NRao ji, few years back during mmrca a news report had appeared briefly on the lines of:

"LM has offered f16 at unbelievable price with transferring whole assembly line...."

IIRC price was 16 million per a/c, any truth or idea how much 100 or 200 f16/70 would cost?

srai & brar: the main theme of that article posted is the IAF is NOT happy with the F-16 Block 70. But that is a moot point. The real issue is the IAF is clearly in love with the Gripen E, which is ironic because clearly the better bet would be to go with the American offering from a strategic alignment point of view. Unfortunately the IAF does not see that view, only the Modi Govt does. The key thing to remember would be, unlike the first MMRCA downselect, will the Govt agree to the IAF's point of view or will the Govt force their point of view onto the IAF? That is what remains to be seen.

For all the hullabaloo LM made with Tata (right before Modi went to meet Trump) mattered little to the IAF. They stuck to their guns and will run the entire gamut of testing before coming to a final conclusion.

Once the Babus at the MoD get their hands on this deal, it will be their turn to run their whole battery of calculations - mainly being total cost of ownership. The F-16 clearly has the upper hand on a per unit cost, where the Gripen E loses out. But the Gripen will be far cheaper to operate than the Block 70 and Saab knows that quite well. As a side note, the Meteor is a game changer for the IAF and that the fact that the Rafale already will be armed with the missile will be a key factor.

On the issue of growth, a point to note is that the IAF has consistently gone in for the best upgrades when possible. It would be no different when evaluating the F-16 and the Gripen. Especially considering that both aircraft will need to serve for at least 40+ years, which is the main bone of contention for the IAF wrt to the F-16. It would be foolhardy on the IAF's part to not consider viability of the platform in the decades to come.

See below;

- Mirage 2000I/TI - basically a Mirage 2000-9 which is the highest level Dassault has upgraded the M2K.
- MiG-29UPG is the most advanced MiG-29 variant as per Sergei Korotkov, the Director-General of MiG.
- Super Sukhoi has basically all the bells and whistles with AESA, BrahMos capability, AL-41F1S turbofans, etc.

P.S. When the Rafale comes, get ready for the IAF to sign on the dotted line for the F4 standard (or whatever latest standard is out there at that time) in the next decade.

Manish: I believe you could get a Block 70 for around $45 - 50 million. Brar, please correct me if I am wrong. The Gripen E could hover around $75 - $80 million.

Thanks Rakesh Saar, have you checked this link? It seems Tejas Mk2 beats Grippen E hands down :

http://indiandefence.com/threads/lca-mk ... ext.57465/

Maybe, but the Gripen E has flown but has a FOC of 2025/2026. Mk2 has yet to take to the skies.

The Gripen is everything (and more) in what the IAF wants in a SE fighter. The F-16 is everything (and more) in what the GoI wants for the IAF. That is the only comparision and conclusion to make at this stage.
Chinmay

Post by Chinmay »

P.S. When the Rafale comes, get ready for the IAF to sign on the dotted line for the F4 standard (or whatever latest standard is out there at that time) in the next decade.
As per Shiv Aroor, IAF has already signed up for concurrent upgrades to the Indian Rafales once F4 achieves IOC

Rakesh wrote:Manish: I believe you could get a Block 70 for around $45 - 50 million. Brar, please correct me if I am wrong. The Gripen E could hover around $75 - $80 million.
Block 70 not in production and will not be produced in mass. I would think the flyaway prices would be higher.

Rakesh wrote:On the issue of growth, a point to note is that the IAF has consistently gone in for the best upgrades when possible. It would be no different when evaluating the F-16 and the Gripen. Especially considering that both aircraft will need to serve for at least 40+ years, which is the main bone of contention for the IAF wrt to the F-16. It would be foolhardy on the IAF's part to not consider viability of the platform in the decades to come.

See below;

- Mirage 2000I/TI - basically a Mirage 2000-9 which is the highest level Dassault has upgraded the M2K.
- MiG-29UPG is the most advanced MiG-29 variant as per Sergei Korotkov, the Director-General of MiG.
- Super Sukhoi has basically all the bells and whistles with AESA, BrahMos capability, AL-41F1S turbofans, etc.

The IAF waited longer (a decade longer) than other operators of Mirage-2000 to do the upgrades. So there is reason to doubt that the IAF would go for an early F4 standard upgrade. From the recent MMRCA/MII competition & LCA induction requirements, the IAF seems to desire a fully operational product from the get go. That would indicate major upgrades would be less frequent and MLU to occur much later.

The Gripen is everything (and more) in what the IAF wants in a SE fighter. The F-16 is everything (and more) in what the GoI wants for the IAF. That is the only comparison and conclusion to make at this stage.
Spot on! Exactly what shouldn't be done. When the Rafale was chosen,it was on technical superiority grounds,not a political gesture.THis time round,the GOI appears to want to make a political gesture instead of the best option for the IAF. Let's hope that the IAF stand firm.
AS we mentioned many years ago during the MMRCA debate,the IAF must also have a
"Plan-B/C/D whatever" in case even the SE fighter acq. gets grounded in the "heat and dust" of MOD decision-making.

Manish_Sharma wrote:Thanks Rakesh Saar, have you checked this link? It seems Tejas Mk2 beats Grippen E hands down :

TWR of Tejas Mk.2 -> would allow supercruise

Manish_Sharma wrote:Thanks Rakesh Saar, have you checked this link? It seems Tejas Mk2 beats Grippen E hands down :

On paper, it sounds great - but let us see how much weight if any, can actually be shaved off! It is NOT easy to put a 1 meter plug into the length and increase the width by another meter or so and expect the weight to remain the same or expect only a marginal increase. First let us see if they can even drop the weight on the Mk1A, which seems like a pretty solid challenge even without any such major additions.

................. HAL has come out with a news that they can make LCA MK2 by 2018-19 and production may begin in 2020 ..............
Is that right? LCA-MK2 to *fly* by 2018-19? Like in a year from now?

And *production* by 2020?

Then why even go the LCA-MK1A route? I was under the impression that even the MK1A could not match those dates. ?????

Could the f16 Supercruise, I believe the XL managed it, if the airframe is blk50 and engines are blk60?

this will be a hugely political decision, I expect the solah to trump, no pun intended, the gripen. Perhaps ensuring the f414 jv as NRao is suggesting.

The twin engined deal will only be a navy requirement for 57 nos since really there is no space for it in the IAF inventory. And this will likely be a Rafale Reliance MII deal in response to French cooperation on kaveri.

So, we'll see two private players come up in the aero industry over the next decade or so... Tata and Reliance. HAL will be in a tight spot but I suspect will pull through via large fgfa order. AMCA could see face off between the two private players.

What is the point? The point of supercruise is to increase supersonic combat radius with a decent payload. If you fly a slick jet with a big engine you may be able to achieve it perhaps but will that be tactically relevant? As an MRCA, you will need extra gas and a flexibility air to air, air to ground payloads to cover a wide spectrum of multi mission need plus targeting pods and additional external jammers for SEAD missions for example.

Revisiting a wrench I had thrown in ................ a page or two ago.

So, this is what is on my canvas:

1) LCA Mk1 :: GE F404 IN20 :: Elta EL/M-2032 multi-mode radar ............................ In production
2) LCA-MK1A :: GE404 IN20 :: Elta + HAL EL/M-2052 AESA radar ............................. Some elements completed (???)
3) LCA-MK2 :: GE F414 INS6 :: (DRDO?) Uttam (1 of 8 engines - delivered) .................. TBD
4) NLCA-MK1 :: GE F404 IN20 :: ????? ............................................................... Mature
5) NLCA-MK2 :: GE F414 INS6 :: Uttam (EOL platform) (2 of 8 engines - delivered) ........ TBD

6) LCA MKXX :: Kaveri with Safran assistance :: (Any radar - so assume Uttam) ............ Hope they write the manuals in English

7) AMCA (tech demo?) :: GE F414 INS6 :: Uttam++(?) (made that up). 3 AMCAs could be powered by 6 INS6 engines GE will deliver - soon.

8 ) AMCA (prototypes) :: GE F414 INS6 "enhanced" :: Uttam++

9) F-16

10) F-18

If a LCA Mk.2, originally designed as a point defense fighter, can supercruise in A2A mode (i.e. with two CCM and two BVR), it would be deadly against any heavily loaded MRCA coming in from across the border. Could launch BVRs at greater distances while evading opponent's BVR shots.

What is the point?
An IAF Vice CAS stated - between 2007-2009 (need to check it out), that the need for SC is to enter and exit an engagement faster/quicker than it is possible now (actually then). Certainly the IAF - if I understood him right - is not planning on using it to go between east and west. The IAF had envisioned it as a short range tool, rather than a long range one.

The point being, he - this IAF person - expected it as part of the AMCA (or what it the MCA then?)

F-16 gets super cruise capability

I think, as long as you fund it or as a marketing ploy, you can get whatever you want. I would prefer a galley+toilet in the F-16.

That would make it 4.99 Gen :mrgreen:

srai: you can put lipstick on a pig, but it will still be a pig :)

And Brar is spot on wrt to supercruise.

By the way, guess which aircraft can supercruise? Ahem...Cough...The Rafale...Cough :)

For reference....pls click on the link below and go to page 9. Refer to the sub-heading "A very well-suited fighter"

https://tinyurl.com/yaofblrj

The IAF does not need to fund it. The Rafale comes with it. But that is a moot point. What Brar has stated makes perfect sense.

Too bad the Su-34 is twin engine...because it comes with a toilet + kitchen :mrgreen: If that were the only criteria, it would win hands down and Philip Saar would be in euphoria. See picture of toilet + kitchen in Su-34 below :P Again, no funding is necessary.

https://twitter.com/atomicfact/status/6 ... 4709344256

Can someone tell me again what value the F-Solah brings to the IAF? :lol:

Does the su 34 kitchen have granite countertops, dosa maker and whiskey dispenser?

Rakesh wrote: Too bad the Su-34 is twin engine...because it comes with a toilet + kitchen :mrgreen: If that were the only criteria, it would win hands down and Philip Saar would be in euphoria. See picture of toilet + kitchen in Su-34 below :P Again, no funding is necessary.

https://twitter.com/atomicfact/status/6 ... 4709344256
Highly unlikely that's a pic of the galley in the SU-34 (or even some other military fighter aircraft). Look at all those unsecured items - in the shelves, hanging on the side walls.

Now imagine the Su-24 doing basic air maneuvers, high G turns or flying inverted

Unless the post was intended as funny/sarcastic.. in which case i am the bunny :)

What is the point?
An IAF Vice CAS stated - between 2007-2009 (need to check it out), that the need for SC is to enter and exit an engagement faster/quicker than it is possible now (actually then). Certainly the IAF - if I understood him right - is not planning on using it to go between east and west. The IAF had envisioned it as a short range tool, rather than a long range one.

The point being, he - this IAF person - expected it as part of the AMCA (or what it the MCA then?)
I was referring specifically to a hypothetical scenario with the F-16, not with the AMCA or any other aircraft were larger supersonic mission radius through supercruise is a requirement. A clean slick F-16 without targeting pods and bingo fuel has little if any tactical relevance. With some high rated engine it may be able to demonstrate some level of supersonic level flight in dry power (hypothetically speaking) but from a tactical point of view it means little to nothing. The F-22's supercruise requirement came with a combat load and a mission radius requirement as well and one would assume the AMCAs would too.

Just watch this "Platypus",my nickname for the bird,love its nose,do a "dump" on ISIS in Syria in the vclip.
https://sputniknews.com/middleeast/2016 ... irstrikes/
Su-34 strike fighterRussian Su-34 Jets Deployed in Iran Conduct Airstrikes Against Daesh in Syria © Sputnik/ Grigory Sysoyev
MIDDLE EAST
12:00 17.08.2016(
Russian Su-34 jets deployed in Iran conducted airstrikes against Daesh in Syria's Deir ez-Zor, the Russian Defense Ministry said.

:cry:

Cross posting from LCA thread :
tsarkar wrote:
Dileep wrote:Folks.. sorry to bring bad news again. Apparently, this MII eff-up solah has poisoned the waters terribly. MK2 injins are here, but people don't know what to do with them. Nothing is sanctioned. Nothing is moving. The only good thing that happened is, several scientists got promoted to Sc-H!!
This is what happens when Finance Minister runs the show. Why invest in two similar fighters? Someone like Manohar Parrikar who could've made a case for indigenous technology to Arun Jaitley and Narendra Modi is no longer in the picture.

Scientists too are kept happy by promotions.

I heard this rumor about six months back, NaMo wants to portray he has improved IAF before 2019 elections, and Rafale and F-16 are his way of doing it. NaMo desperately needs US support at NSG and now against China. IAF loves US & French logistics and comprehensive training syllabus. Sadly, the Tejas gets a raw deal.

IAF is like kids going to US Ivy League Universities vis-a-vis those going to new IIT/IIMs. Faculty/Infrastructure is not up to strength and no 100% placements, so despite a IIT label, they're unemployed. I'm sure 5-10 years down the line, these institutions would be great, but that would be of no help to the kids now.

Atleast GoI is still investing in new IITs unlike the Tejas program.

A bit like George Fernandes buying Gorshkov as TINA since previous governments did nothing after old INS Vikrant decommissioning and Kargil and Op Parakram suddenly occurred.

We never learn as a nation. Even nationalistic politicians I voted for are screwing Indian interests. Frustrating!

Manish_P wrote:Unless the post was intended as funny/sarcastic.. in which case i am the bunny :)
Bunny Rabbit? :) I was kidding Manish Saar. I knew about the toilet in the Su-34, but I am sure their ain't no kitchen in there.

cybaru: good one! :lol:

brar: do not bother. you are wasting time explaining the negatives of supercruise.

Philip: my goodness man...you just need to excuse to peddle more Russian wares :lol: The Su-34 comment was meant sarcastically!

Rak,no peddling the SU-34,peddled it a long time ago,IAF have no bomber capability,esp. useful now when the dragon has started bombarding us with its fiery bombast.Nothing that can reach Beijing,

good read comparing history of Embraer with HAL
http://idsa.in/issuebrief/embraer-brazi ... raj_030717

Rakesh wrote:srai: you can put lipstick on a pig, but it will still be a pig :)

Yes it will be one beautiful pig :lol:

brar_w wrote:

I was referring specifically to a hypothetical scenario with the F-16, not with the AMCA or any other aircraft were larger supersonic mission radius through supercruise is a requirement. A clean slick F-16 without targeting pods and bingo fuel has little if any tactical relevance. With some high rated engine it may be able to demonstrate some level of supersonic level flight in dry power (hypothetically speaking) but from a tactical point of view it means little to nothing. The F-22's supercruise requirement came with a combat load and a mission radius requirement as well and one would assume the AMCAs would too.
Understand the "larger supersonic mission radius through supercruise is a requirement" - that is the standard expectation.

I was placing on the table the IAF's then thinking - that it is a "short supersonic mission radius". Although he stated it in terms of the AMCA, I would think he meant irrespective of the plane, the IAF - in 2007 or so - was expecting to use it for very short distances.

It could have changed in the past 10 years.

brar_w wrote:What is the point? The point of supercruise is to increase supersonic combat radius with a decent payload. If you fly a slick jet with a big engine you may be able to achieve it perhaps but will that be tactically relevant? As an MRCA, you will need extra gas and a flexibility air to air, air to ground payloads to cover a wide spectrum of multi mission need plus targeting pods and additional external jammers for SEAD missions for example.
The point is in context of the gripens advertised ability to do so. With what load it achieves this, I have no clue. As for tactical relevance, that is for the IAF to decide. Perhaps it is meaningful and perhaps it's just marketing. I was simply curious as to whether the f16 has any potential here.

Philip wrote:Rak,no peddling the SU-34,peddled it a long time ago,IAF have no bomber capability,esp. useful now when the dragon has started bombarding us with its fiery bombast.Nothing that can reach Beijing,
No bomber capability ?

Well does the SU30MKI only carry AAMs?

For sure the Su30MKI cannot carry the combat load which the Su34 can, but then the Su34 also does not carry the load which a Tu-160 can

And yes, maybe the Su34 can reach Beijing (distance from say Tezpur being around 2650 odd Kms)

But the ferry range (without refueling) of the Su34 being around 4000 km, can you please explain how it is supposed to get back to Tezpur?

Or are you proposing that it simply drop its bombs and then fly on and try to land in Russia..

brar_w wrote:What is the point? The point of supercruise is to increase supersonic combat radius with a decent payload. If you fly a slick jet with a big engine you may be able to achieve it perhaps but will that be tactically relevant? As an MRCA, you will need extra gas and a flexibility air to air, air to ground payloads to cover a wide spectrum of multi mission need plus targeting pods and additional external jammers for SEAD missions for example.
The point is in context of the gripens advertised ability to do so. With what load it achieves this, I have no clue. As for tactical relevance, that is for the IAF to decide. Perhaps it is meaningful and perhaps it's just marketing. I was simply curious as to whether the f16 has any potential here.
No potential for the F-16. Gripen-E maybe but then they are coming in heavier than planned and of course payload and range will determine the tactical use.

If the mig-29Ks aren't upto the mark, then it seems like the only option for Vik is f35B. A FACO line for F35A/B makes so much sense. If we decide to go EMALS then we could add the C version to the FACO line as well.

Even the FA-18 to AMCA marketing push Boeing did made a whole lot of sense than getting the F-16. Our politicos sometimes make crazy decisions. Baaah.

Don't worry about the Mig-29Ks in IN. They will bring them up to mark.

srai wrote:
Rakesh wrote:srai: you can put lipstick on a pig, but it will still be a pig :)

Yes it will be one beautiful pig :lol:
And don't forget the bacon

Cain Marko wrote: The point is in context of the gripens advertised ability to do so. With what load it achieves this, I have no clue. As for tactical relevance, that is for the IAF to decide. Perhaps it is meaningful and perhaps it's just marketing. I was simply curious as to whether the f16 has any potential here.
Considering that the Gripen E flew for the first time only recently, we have to understand that Saab had been trying to sell us vaporware during the whole MRCA saga. Keeping that in mind it is better to take any figures they put out for the Gripen with a large bucketful of salt. I would more readily believe paki specs for the JF-17 at this point.