What thunder? It is all fine onlee.

This is very, very true.Vidur wrote:There is some confusion in the article. He is confusing the decision for MK1A orders with the Single Engine Fighter requirement. There has never been any doubt on the MK1A orders. The presentation was made in context of a further evolution of Tejas. I cannot say more than this.
Indranil wrote:Tsarkar sir,
What thunder? It is all fine onlee.
From what I recollect Reliance Industries managed to get a ToT for the same and have setup a plant for the same. Low profile but still significant. I am however not able to locate the link to the article on this.prasannasimha wrote:It is imported. Typically from Japan.
Prasanna
Quite a few of us are having our mouths shut only sir. The question remains: should such a presentation be made for an imported SEF in lieu of developing Mk2? IMHO, a big NO.Vidur wrote:There is some confusion in the article. He is confusing the decision for MK1A orders with the Single Engine Fighter requirement. There has never been any doubt on the MK1A orders. The presentation was made in context of a further evolution of Tejas. I cannot say more than this.
What is the IAF mandate? Is it defined somewhere? Does it not take techno-strategic issues into consideration? (Genuinely curious how this is laid out.. and how it is interpreted by the service.)Vidur wrote:IAF is following their mandate and it’s not their job to root for an unmade untested article. They have been quite supportive and patient. The article has many misrepresentations.
Ramana ji, RM is a non specialist. Their role is to set out very high strategy.. To define what our core interests are etc. and to deal with the political economy of conflict. Dealing with the technology landscape needs an organization with specialist warrior-sage personas that IMHO we are lacking. DRDO and the scientific advisor to the PM/RM do don these roles, but they are usually technology sages first and warriors far later. Perhaps whats needed is some direct interaction between Brigadiers/Field commanders and DRDO liasons to get the collaborative lifeblood flowing..ramana wrote:sudeepj, What you say is for the RM to take into consideration.
The problem was the presentation core idea was to say LCA is not the SEF and Mk2 prospects are slim from track record POV.
However it used polemic language which gave the media something to bash HAL, ADA, DRDO and IAF itself.
All are GOI.
What steps are the IAF and IA taking to model after the IN? Are they taking any?ks_sachin wrote:Jay we dont live in an ideal world. But tbat does not mean we do not aspire for tbat. My fear and experience is that we have few who can envision the ideal world - and this is not just the forces but the entire defence construct!JayS wrote:We have had discussions on this very many times. Like IN, IAF and IA needs to develop its own technical/engineering cadre as well as highly specialized acquisition and program management cadre. A lot of admin power needs to be shifted to the Forces from MoD babus.
Ideally the system should have worked properly with expected synergy between various stake holders, but we don't leave in ideal world.
Are they taking any?srai wrote:What steps are the IAF and IA taking to model after the IN? Are they taking any?ks_sachin wrote: Jay we dont live in an ideal world. But tbat does not mean we do not aspire for tbat. My fear and experience is that we have few who can envision the ideal world - and this is not just the forces but the entire defence construct!
We don't live in an ideal world, and that why we need a system which works in real life. I really don't think existing thing will ever work as intended and I do not see AFs getting significant representation in MoD in authoritative positions any time soon. The AFs cannot rely on IAS cadre and politicians to get the best that the country can give them. They cannot hope to do much better even if they are given authority with existing intrinsic capabilities. They need to embark on a task to develop intrinsic capabilities and side by side start asking for more control of the programs. Even if they don't get authority, they still only have to gain with these specialised capabilities I mention. For example they can formulate much realistic SQRs and provide much better roadmaps for tech development and support accordingly. If you see some of the documents from the forces on future roadmap, they do not inspire much confidence. I do not want to be demeaning to anyone but some of them look amateurish and more like college seminar reports. I am sure they can do better. They need to do better for their own good.ks_sachin wrote:Jay we dont live in an ideal world. But tbat does not mean we do not aspire for tbat. My fear and experience is that we have few who can envision the ideal world - and this is not just the forces but the entire defence construct!JayS wrote:We have had discussions on this very many times. Like IN, IAF and IA needs to develop its own technical/engineering cadre as well as highly specialized acquisition and program management cadre. A lot of admin power needs to be shifted to the Forces from MoD babus.
Ideally the system should have worked properly with expected synergy between various stake holders, but we don't leave in ideal world.
SP5 has turned out to be the trouble-child of first-time parents. In the latest HSTT, some oil leaks were reported. The aircraft has now been re-assigned to Line 1 for rectification.ashishvikas wrote:Indranil, anything new to share for SP5 ? We have been waiting for it since long.
And also what's next - SP8 ? Kab tak ?
+1. Perceptions are changing.Cybaru wrote:On IAF's front, some more pilots I know of, are saying positive things vs negative from a year back.
Easier to convert mindset of rookies than senior people, IMO. Change happens slowly and better to catch them young. Their positive experience will be reflected in their decisions and choices they make throughout their careers.Cybaru wrote:critical mass will be when enough trainers are delivered for evaluation rides to many senior IAF people from different bases.
Both is needed bro, because the senior guy teaching the rookie on fancy pilatus is telling them rookies about time when they learned on a HAL product and it sucked so bad (insert your horror story here). Biases are and can also be taught unfortunately, whether wittingly or unwittingly. It's not even their fault, the old platform sucked from all the stories I have heard. Waiting on HTT40 to cut that whole cycle out and allow HAL to redeem itself.srai wrote:Easier to convert mindset of rookies than senior people, IMO. Change happens slowly and better to catch them young. Their positive experience will be reflected in their decisions and choices they make throughout their careers.Cybaru wrote:critical mass will be when enough trainers are delivered for evaluation rides to many senior IAF people from different bases.
Yes.. as far as we know.Khalsa wrote:@Indranil, @all
SP-5 was the first aircraft coming from Line 2, correct ?
Thanks for update Indranil.Indranil wrote:SP5 has turned out to be the trouble-child of first-time parents. In the latest HSTT, some oil leaks were reported. The aircraft has now been re-assigned to Line 1 for rectification.ashishvikas wrote:Indranil, anything new to share for SP5 ? We have been waiting for it since long.
Line 1 is now delivering an aircraft in less than 2 months. The last one was delivered in middle of Dec. So middle of Feb will be a good approximation for the next one from Line 1. SP5 has been almost ready since last July/Aug. It is assumable that the next aircraft from line 2 must also be near ready now. But, it is understandable that they want to hold on to LSTTs/HSTTs till they find out what they were doing wrong with SP5.
A question if I may with the objective of increasing my knowledge. Was something new being done with SP 5. Wouldn’t the new line just be a carbon copy of the old line and employ the same processes and practices. Is it a question of trained staff and new staff being trained for new line and working in a new team ?Indranil wrote:SP5 has turned out to be the trouble-child of first-time parents. In the latest HSTT, some oil leaks were reported. The aircraft has now been re-assigned to Line 1 for rectification.ashishvikas wrote:Indranil, anything new to share for SP5 ? We have been waiting for it since long.
Line 1 is now delivering an aircraft in less than 2 months. The last one was delivered in middle of Dec. So middle of Feb will be a good approximation for the next one from Line 1. SP5 has been almost ready since last July/Aug. It is assumable that the next aircraft from line 2 must also be near ready now. But, it is understandable that they want to hold on to LSTTs/HSTTs till they find out what they were doing wrong with SP5.
There is no easy convincing answer for this. Both men and machines need some time to fine tune for new work (or in this case new man/machine for old work, but for them this is new work anyway). That's true even when men are seasoned and machines are very well known factors, let alone being newbies. Aircraft assembly have simply too many steps. Its almost impossible to get them all right in first attempt. But obviously setting up second line is easier than setting the first one. This current first line is being operated for well over a decade now while it grew slowly. For second one the starting curve is steep due to compressed time despite being copy paste job. Give it an iteration or two to get in the groove.Akshay Kapoor wrote:A question if I may with the objective of increasing my knowledge. Was something new being done with SP 5. Wouldn’t the new line just be a carbon copy of the old line and employ the same processes and practices. Is it a question of trained staff and new staff being trained for new line and working in a new team ?Indranil wrote: SP5 has turned out to be the trouble-child of first-time parents. In the latest HSTT, some oil leaks were reported. The aircraft has now been re-assigned to Line 1 for rectification.