Or
AS = A Sucklaw?
I think the single seater version is on quite smooth ride and even starting FOC batch is not a problem without SOP freeze. Majority of the designed would be same, as Thakur_B pointed out (likely out of 4000-5000 drawings, only a few 00 would be changing from IOC to FOC). In fact the production of structural components for FOC batch must have already started some time back. HAL is not really complaining about FOC SOP either. Some reports even say that the FOC batch will be directly Mk1A standard rather than MK1/FOC. We will know about it soon enough.tsarkar wrote:If FOC is happening second half of 2018, with structural changes from IOC like IFR plumbing, it is but natural production drawings will require time to be made. Pray, how come it becomes anyone's fault, whether ADA, HAL or IAF?
Can a 15 year old child overnight take up a corporate job?
Can members show some basic common sense before blaming ADA, HAL or IAF?
Shuk-law ji is not Photo Journalist.ramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
ramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
other than importing some refurbished Mig29 or the redoubtable Mig35 do you have any other proposed solution to delays ?Philip wrote:I am only quoting Vayu which said that there would be extra "delays" for the next batch of 20 becos the 4 twin-seat trainers haven't had their production drgs. finalised. Gents,you can spin it whichever way you want,but the word that hits you in the stomach time and time again with desi production is "delays",and this for a programme that everyone knows is more than a decade late (APJAK promised us in 2003,"200 LCAs flying by 2013"}
And just to remind folks,the 6th sqd. of JF-17s has been formed in Pak and deliveries of the same will be made to Burma.Malaysia is also contemplating acquiring the same as a low-cost addition to its fleet.
Vayu is correct. this fact was lamented by none other than HAL Chairman T Suvarna Raju. HAL was requesting IAF to permit them to begin metal cutting on the long lead items for the next 20 batch. Fromthis article dating to Nov 2017. HAL actually delivered 9 Tejas Mk1 IOC standard fighters to the IAF by the end of March 2018, so they have another 7 fighters and 4 to deliver from the first batch.ramana wrote:Philip who was the author of that Vayu article?
Could be just hot air.
RKumar, it doesn't help to have bias color our views for we wont see the facts.
ADA must be burning mid night oil to release the dwgs through approval cycle.
Whoever told Vayu is covering tracks in case of delays.
But getting production drawings ready should not be that big a task if the design is frozen. Bigger issue would have been software for FOC not being ready. That is not the case, so any delays if at all, should be minimal.Now question comes, how much order I have. I have 20 IOC, of which I will provide 11 to IAF by the end of this financial year, and that would leave me with 4 fighters and 4 trainers, and trainers’ SOP we hope can be concluded so that the production run can be there.
As far as the FOC order is concerned, mid-2018 is when FOC is expected to come but we are asking the customer (IAF) to allow us to cut the material. Because if we start now, the aircraft will come after three years. By then, this AON of 83 LCA will be converted into a contract between the IAF and HAL. However, today the facilities are on and the rate at which jigs are created are available, and the purchase orders can be verified and checked.
What is the delay in getting the FOC now?
The aircraft are flying and the operational capacity enhancement requires a thorough verification. It is a developmental work and we are planning to fly 60 sorties a month. Now between IAF, ADA and HAL, we are ensuring that these many sorties happen.
While the promises are for getting the FOC by mid-2018, we will definitely get it by December 2018. We should then be able to supply these 20 FOC by 2022. And then on to the next 83… If capacities are put on depending on the configuration clearance, the numbers can be rolled out. This is not like an automobile that today you give me a number and automatically I will give you the aircraft immediately. There is a lag, we require all the material to be procured and we need to make 10,000 odd components and put them together, and some components need to be bought from outside.
What about Avroor Shivy? he is also AS or SA and a big gripen lobbyist. I am confused, which one is it?KBDagha wrote:ramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
I think it is AXXXX Singh.
Tejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day. Each mission, lasting for 45 minutes on the lower side to one and half hours, proved the indigenous fighter jet's efficiency in an operational role.
There were technical snags, but none were repetitive in nature. “These were routine glitches. The turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise. It can't be said these are nagging problems. LCA is a capable aircraft for ground attack,” said an officer.
Didn’t you see the emoji! It was my lame attempt at humorramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
I know I didnt phrase the question correctly. If OBOGS is compromised then pilot can use other equipments to ward of WMD's and start the aircraft and then use OBOGS once he is up in the sky.shiv wrote:why would it be a liability?symontk wrote:One question
Wont OBOGS be a liability in case airbases are attacked with WMD? Or are there filters for that?
I suspect in this case it is A***d Singhramana wrote:Katare, Always context...
AS is Ajai Shukla
“We have done trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms,” said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.
SIX SORTIES PER DAY/PLATFORM for LCA and some import sepoys were saying for every one hour of flying, Tejas needs 20 hours of maintenance. Seriously? these guys can cookup anything in the name of journalism and unnamed sources. Guess, it was a list ditch attempt to cull Tejas and has backfired big time. This should rest any doubts about IAF's support for the platform.Satisfied by its performance, the sources said, “We are happy with the Tejass. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force.
Just some nit pickingajay_hk wrote:Indian-made Tejas proves its mettle in IAF's biggest combat exerciseTejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day....... .There were technical snags ...... turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise.
Six hours for fixing the glitches.Kersi wrote:Just some nit picking
IAF Tejas undertook 6 sorties a day the turnaround time was 6 hours. So one day has 36 hours ???
Something not matching
i suppose thats the average for all the Tejas fighters that took part .. to do 6 it should be 4 but some of those were held up for repairs so increasing the mean timeKersi wrote:Just some nit picking
IAF Tejas undertook 6 sorties a day the turnaround time was 6 hours. So one day has 36 hours ???
Something not matching
FWIW, this report is also quoting unnamed IAF officer. What makes this one anymore credible than the unnamed sources deriding LCA..? Just saying.GopiD wrote:http://idrw.org/LCA-Tejas-has-capabilit ... -jets-iaf/
“We have done trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms,” said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.SIX SORTIES PER DAY/PLATFORM for LCA and some import sepoys were saying for every one hour of flying, Tejas needs 20 hours of maintenance. Seriously? these guys can cookup anything in the name of journalism and unnamed sources. Guess, it was a list ditch attempt to cull Tejas and has backfired big time. This should rest any doubts about IAF's support for the platform.Satisfied by its performance, the sources said, “We are happy with the Tejass. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force.
If its 6 sorties per day per LCA with 45-90min per sortie, its world beating performance by any standards.ajay_hk wrote:Indian-made Tejas proves its mettle in IAF's biggest combat exercise
Posting relevant quotes only - the article has a lot more detail on the exercise (will xpost on IAF thread as well).
Tejas LCA undertook 6 sorties a day. Each mission, lasting for 45 minutes on the lower side to one and half hours, proved the indigenous fighter jet's efficiency in an operational role.There were technical snags, but none were repetitive in nature. “These were routine glitches. The turnaround time was less than six hours during the exercise. It can't be said these are nagging problems. LCA is a capable aircraft for ground attack,” said an officer.
.A senior IAF official dealing with Gagan Shakti, which was conducted between April 8 and 22, explained that fighter aircraft, including the Tejas, Sukhoi-30 and MiG-29, undertook ‘surge operations’. These operations mean generating maximum number of sorties in a 24-hours cycle. “We have carried out our trials and we will be able to generate six sorties per Tejas per day for all the eight Tejas,” said the official, adding that these number of sorties were conducted on every Tejas during the exercise. The six sorties per day for the fighters was done on days when it didn’t have missions such as long distance.
The Tejas was used during the exercise to check its efficiency in operations such as ground attack and other strike missions. “We are happy with the performance of the Tejas and are looking forward to the faster production of them,” said another senior official
The indigenously-manufactured Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas has performed well while it was put to trial by the Indian Air Force (IAF) in war-like operational conditions during Gagan Shakti, its biggest ever 14-day war exercise.
"We did trials and validation of operational efficiency of LCA Tejas. We were able to generate six sorties per platform per day. In this exercise, we had deployed eight platforms," said an IAF official who was associated with this exercise.
The exercise started on April 8 and concluded on April 21. On the first day, six of Tejas jets reported "snag" which were of a different kind. "But we were able to get those rectified soon," said the official.
The officials associated with the exercise expressed satisfaction regarding the performance but were also worried about the slow production rate.
"We are happy with the Tejas. We are looking for fast production and also induction into the force," they said.
The Tejas LCA is a supersonic, single-seat, single-engine multirole light fighter jet that has been under development since 1983 by state-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL).
The ninth IAF Tejas LCA completed its maiden flight in March. On July 1, 2016, the LCA Tejas was inducted into the 'Flying Daggers' 45 Squadron of the IAF and has been placed to replace the MiG-21 aircraft.
OK, 11000 total sortie with 9000 fighter sorties is correct number. MoD statement through PIB is posted in IAF thread.JayS wrote:
Article says 1100 aircrafts of all sorts undertook 11000 sorties in two days. That's 5.5 sorties per aircraft per day on an avg. No wonder even Chinese media was praising IAF. I saw on Twitter, someone pointed out, some Chini article saying Only USAF and IAF can produce such high sortie rate currently.
But the airframe and engines would exhaust their Type Technical Life thereafter. The Navy OSA boats used to bomb Karachi exhausted their hull and engine TTL and had to be discarded thereafter. The missile launchers and radars were used to equip the old INS Talwar. Pakistani F-6 too exhausted TTL in 1971 war and Kamra was established as a rebuild factory.Karthik S wrote:Weren't all soviet fighters designed in that way? As one Israeli pilot described "fuel and go, fuel and go".
Do we know Phase I was 3 days i.e 72 hours?JTull wrote:(8 aircraft) x (6 sorties per day) x (3 days Phase I) = 144 sorties
Then there was Phase II and beyond!
Fantastic going!