Beautiful bird!
IR said 7 for this FY. means SP10-SP16 by March 19.prat.patel wrote:I think IR said 6 is more realistic. And officially 8 was the target for this FY.
doing 12 would actually mean overachieving!![]()
If that happens then we all BRF members should host a get together and mandatory lungi dance to be performed by all !
Nevertheless - Extremely happy to see SP-11 in air.
I agreeramana wrote:Indranil, I think Gyan should be banned for a week on his own request.
Oh; yes.ashishvikas wrote: IR said 7 for this FY. means SP10-SP16 by March 19.
Officially, target of HAL was 12 for this FY.
But it was always something not possible, as FOC hasn't yet confirmed, how can HAL deliver SP21.
SP17-SP20 are trainers.
Rakesh wrote:excellent news. I truly enjoy updating page 1 of this thread.
Keep the good work!
IR can not escape so easily. The word "envelop" was used.Katare wrote:Go HAL, make jingos happy!!
IR was this the news that you were hiding???? May be there is more to come??
OK. Let me clarify.Rakesh wrote:I agreeramana wrote:Indranil, I think Gyan should be banned for a week on his own request.
Is the guidance on the F-16 optical or radar based ?tsarkar wrote:
After an F-16 was hit by a Stinger fired by TTP, the Pakistanis use F-16 for long distance destination using Lockheed Sniper pods outside Stinger range and JF-17 as bomb mules to drop the actual bomb. The JF-17 has no guidance capability and is dependent on the F-16 for designation.
And for this reason, Saurav Jha says this....ramana wrote:Hence my umbrage at people who demand HAL pump the Tejas out as fast they can make them,
Rakesh all u state has been repeated ad nauseam. You should be less patient mate. You have taken the horse to water but cannot make it drink. If the horse refuses to drink - put it out of its misery....Rakesh wrote:And for this reason, Saurav Jha says this....ramana wrote:Hence my umbrage at people who demand HAL pump the Tejas out as fast they can make them,
https://twitter.com/SJha1618/status/1050069042248081408 ---> Plenty of 'concurrent engineering' has gone on even with respect to the IOC batch production for the Tejas MK-I. It's not simple 'build to print' for HAL. That is exactly what happens when you look to produce homegrown stuff for the first time & leave license production behind.
Rafael's Litening 4 pod is the first one that truly allows this use of IRST. So yes, as Indranil said, Israelis and India use it in different ways to most. Russians do have some nifty IRST tech, it is just that their pods don't, so can't really be blamed for inferior optics.tsarkar wrote:The IAF pioneered the use of Litening as an IRST in Su-30MKI and Tejas due to its far superior quality optics compared to Russian ones. So Litening is used in A2A modes as well.ashishvikas wrote:I understand Litening pod is required for Air to Ground missions only.
Saar, at this stage all we can do is be patient. HAL has set its own targets. If they can make it work, that is great. If not, they will have to improve. But without HAL, there is no option.ks_sachin wrote:Rakesh all u state has been repeated ad nauseam. You should be less patient mate. You have taken the horse to water but cannot make it drink. If the horse refuses to drink - put it out of its misery....
Sir.. this is FIRST HAND information. Yes, babus are competent. VERY competent, even OVER competent...... In counting BEANS, which unfortunately is their jobs. In typical govt setup, the s-hole doesn't want to know what the pie-hole eats.tsarkar wrote:I personally dont buy the beancounter argument because Indian Defence Account Service (an allied IAS service) are pretty competent folks.
Karan M wrote:Bound to happen. Intel 486 based units, Pentium etc based units which while functionally still ok for the task are painful to maintain because the COTS boards wont be available tomorrow if one of the SBCs or any item fails.
The Indian Air Force brass will hold talks with top Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) officials on issues of production and upgradation of aircraft at the IAF commanders’ conference, amid questions being raised about the state-run plane maker’s capabilities against the backdrop of the Rafale jet deal. Indigenisation and design and development of aircraft and other equipment will also be discussed at the two-day biannual conference that began on Thursday, an IAF spokesperson said. Last week, IAF chief BS Dhanoa questioned the ability of HAL to deliver fighter jets on schedule, detailing the time overrun in several crucial programmes including the Sukhoi-30s, Jaguars, Mirage-2000s and the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA).
There are very good reasons to keep some of them metallic. It is not because of a technical challenge.nam wrote:The composites give a fabulous finish and build quality on the jet. Hope they can find a way to replace the remaining metal parts shown in the image.
Ofcourse, I understand, like areas around the engine, where heat is an issue.Indranil wrote:There are very good reasons to keep some of them metallic. It is not because of a technical challenge.nam wrote:The composites give a fabulous finish and build quality on the jet. Hope they can find a way to replace the remaining metal parts shown in the image.
It is not about heat tolerance etc. composites are brittle under some stress conditions. So you can’t use them in airframe parts which experience those stress conditions. It is unlikely that you will see the percentage of composites to go up much further in LCA. It is already one of the highest in spite of being such a small plane. You will instead see weight savings by decreasing the number of parts.nam wrote:Ofcourse, I understand, like areas around the engine, where heat is an issue.Indranil wrote: There are very good reasons to keep some of them metallic. It is not because of a technical challenge.
Having said that, hunger to find a way of doing it better is what drives innovation. Like the composite created by NAL, which can handle upto 200C and used on the engine bay.
No harm in trying!