RIP - Sushma Swaraj ji

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

RIP - Sushma Swaraj ji

X Posted on the Jammu and Kashmir Discussion Thread.

Why Sushma Swaraj would have worn green saree today - Kumar Shakti Shekhar
HIGHLIGHTS

- Sushma Swaraj has several firsts to her credit and her wardrobe management was- Sushma Swaraj has several firsts to her credit and her wardrobe also unique

- She colour coordinated her clothes, usually saree, according to the days of the week

- She would wear White sarees on Monday. Red on Tuesdays, Green on Wednesdays, Yellow on Thursdays, Purole on Fridays Blue on Saturdays while Sundays would be free

NEW DELHI: Former external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj, who died on Tuesday night at the age of 67 years, was unique in many ways. She also has several firsts to her credit.

All these are in the public domain. However, her one trait which is less known is the unique wardrobe management.

Sushma Swaraj colour-coordinated her clothes with the days of the week. The colour of her saree, blouse or jacket varied according what day of the week it was.

Sushma Swaraj in a green saree while taking charge as India's first full-time external affairs minister at New Delhi

Sushma Swaraj wore white or cream-coloured clothes on Mondays, red or maroon on Tuesdays, green on Wednesdays, yellow on Thursdays, purple on Fridays and blue on Saturdays. Sundays would be free for her.
May Her Soul Rest in Eternal Peace.

Oh! Tears When Will Thou Desert me?

Re: RIP - Sushma Swaraj ji

Om Shanthi. Rest in Peace, our Lady.
Dumal

Post by Dumal »

I will remember Sushmaji for her inspiring leadership of the MEA during such a tumultuous period that included the Doklam spat with the Chinese directly and the long and arduous turnaround of the Maldives, warding off Chinese moves in SL, balancing the relationship with Iraq while dealing with US tantrums all the way. Om Shanti!
Patni

Post by Patni »

She served our nation with grace and excellence. May her atma attain Moksha.

RIP madam!! You will be missed badly!!
Ramu

Post by Ramu »

Om shanti

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6KyUvEgp2tw

Historic Speech of Sushma Swaraj In Lok Sabha. No confidence motion on June 11, 1996 when Sushma ji was against the motion.

Just wanted to post this small personal snippet:

This past March, my mother passed away on a Friday evening (US time). My family and I did not have a visa and we were working on our PIO (or whatever it’s currently called). I called the HOUSTON Embassy and there was no response. I call the San Francisco embassy and they weren’t helpful. Perhaps looking forward to the weekend like the rest of us.

I left a message on Sushmaji’s Twitter and the next morning my phone started ringing from 6 am onwards. I spoke with the official and to my immense surprise, pride and thankfulness they literally opened the embassy for a common, small man like me and got me a visa that helped me on my way back for my mother’s funeral services.

Very grateful to the great lady! May she rest in eternal peace!! The easy access to the common man and dedication to act decisively was very nice and gratifying! I am forever in her debt.

God bless her and the staff of the Indian embassy in Houston!

Sushma'ji had many facets. Like many brilliant facets on a diamond.

One facet that will always be remembered is that Sushma'ji went out of way to help every Indian citizen where ever in the world. No Indian citizen felt unloved and uncared and unremembered. Everyone counted.

It is with great sadness that we now realize that such a gentle caring human is not among us.

She also helped citizens of other countries incl. Bakistan to get humanitarian aid, by providing easy access to medical services and ease of enablement of their visa. She did her duty as EAM unflinchingly and established a high water mark of conduct for an EAM including conduct towards an enemy nation.

Vivek K wrote:Just wanted to post this small personal snippet:

This past March, my mother passed away on a Friday evening (US time). My family and I did not have a visa and we were working on our PIO (or whatever it’s currently called). I called the HOUSTON Embassy and there was no response. I call the San Francisco embassy and they weren’t helpful. Perhaps looking forward to the weekend like the rest of us.

I left a message on Sushmaji’s Twitter and the next morning my phone started ringing from 6 am onwards. I spoke with the official and to my immense surprise, pride and thankfulness they literally opened the embassy for a common, small man like me and got me a visa that helped me on my way back for my mother’s funeral services.

Very grateful to the great lady! May she rest in eternal peace!! The easy access to the common man and dedication to act decisively was very nice and gratifying! I am forever in her debt.

God bless her and the staff of the Indian embassy in Houston!
A ministry with a human touch. A blueprint for future ministries of GoI as they work for the people.

Saddened to hear that. She served Bharat very well in many capacities. Brought certainly a humane face to MEA in her last outing. Om Shanti.

The only orator in the current BJP team who can be compared with NaMo in terms of clarity, fluency and forcefulness. Thank you Amma for everything, om shanti

A very good write up on Ms. Swaraj:
https://gulfnews.com/world/asia/india/p ... 1.65683821
People recall the kindness of former Indian External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj
Many people have fond memories of former Minister for External Affairs who passed away
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

A true daughter of Maa Bharti, she will be missed. May she attain moksha and look after our nation from heavens above. Om Shanti.

A Thousand Lamps For Sushma Swaraj: Bhutanese King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuk Offers Special Prayers For Late Leader
https://swarajyamag.com/insta/a-thousan ... ate-leader
The Bhutanese King JJigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck has led special prayers at Simtokha Dzong to pay his tributes to the late Indian leader Sushma Swaraj, PTI has reported.

A thousand butten lamps were lit in memory of the leader who had received the Bhutanese royal family during their visit to India in 2017. A special message was also posted on social media from the Bhutanese king’s account.

—————————
Diplomats Representing 51 Countries Record Condolence Messages For Sushma Swaraj At India’s Mission To UN In New York
https://swarajyamag.com/insta/diplomats ... n-new-york
Diplomats belonging to 51 different nations have recorded their condolences for former external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj in a book at India’s permanent mission to the United Nations at New York , reports India Today.