Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Vivasvat

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

Post by Vivasvat »

Amber G. wrote: Image
Just see the number of critical out of total in Japan

The reality on the ground in the people's paradise, much superior in every way to India:

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... oronavirus

As Wuhan’s desperate and sick beg for help, China shuts them down

The Chinese are fast learners: https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/511083

China's appetite for wildlife likely to survive virus

It might be wise to quarantine China itself. I'm waiting for a case from fomites exported as consumer goods from China.

For India - Nice resource and useful links here..
How an Indian state successfully fought and contained the deadly coronavirus
Excerpts:
The ministry of health and family welfare in India has termed the situation within the country “under control” presently, and states were asked to remain alert and vigilant with efforts generating community-level awareness taking centre stage. Screening of passengers for Covid-19 symptoms is going on in 21 airports, 12 major seaports, and border crossings across the country. According to ministry communication, 2148 flights and 232613 passengers from China have been screened so far. Despite China’s initial reluctance, India managed to evacuate on Feb. 1 hundreds of Indians who were stranded in Wuhan due to the outbreak.

Almost two weeks after the evacuation, the government reported that all Indian evacuees from Wuhan—645 of them—have tested negative for 2019-nCoV. Over 11,500 individuals are presently under community surveillance in 34 states/union territtories and contact tracing is going on. As of now, 1,632 samples from suspected patients have been tested from across the country of which three samples have tested positive; all from the state of Kerala. Interestingly, reports indicate that all three patients are medical students undergoing training in Wuhan.

Latest data indicate that about 82% of cases are mild, 18% cases are severe, of which 3% require intensive care; and that the fatalities are mostly old patients and those with pre-existing conditions. ..

Even for Nipah with a case fatality rate of around 80% , India has a history of calling it a “mystery fever,” and moving on, and finding the real cause only later, retrospectively. With a much milder Covid-19, missing a few cases or even a cluster of cases will be normal in many Indian states. In fact, it has to be expected. Given the Indian climate and air pollution levels, a few cases with mild respiratory disease getting drowned in the usual flood of mild respiratory diseases across the country is a distinct possibility. There are indications that higher temperatures may slow transmission of the new virus, which may be delaying its spread in India. However, instead of strengthening systems, Indian public health establishment has often chosen a knee-jerk response to the media frenzy around outbreaks, as seen in Nipah’s case, where it unfortunately clamped down on foreign collaborations of Indian research institutions.

Given this context, Kerala’s response to Covid-19 has been remarkable. Kerala has been publishing daily updates about quarantine, tests and hospitalisations. Reportedly, two out of the three patients infected with Covid-19 have now tested negative. However, given the close linkages between Kerala and Wuhan, both hospital-based and community-based quarantine efforts are actively on. Of the 11,500 individuals presently under community surveillance in 34 states/union territories across India, around one-third are in Kerala alone. A day-wise graph of hospital-based and home-based surveillance is given below.

Of the suspected patients kept under isolation in hospitals, many are being discharged and shifted back to community surveillance as test results are negative and symptoms subside. At its peak, on Feb. 4, around 100 suspected patients were kept in various hospitals across the states; however, now the number is only 27. A total number of 380 samples were tested for Covid-19 until today, and 344 have already proven negative, as the next graph shows.

On Feb. 7, the Kerala government withdrew the “state calamity” warning it issued earlier in the wake of three cases of Covid-19, as no new positive cases of infection were detected despite active surveillance. Although the Centre suggested a quarantine period of 14 days, Kerala government is taking no chances and quarantining people for 28 days as a precautionary measure. If current trends continue, the state expects to be free of 2019-nCoV by early March, which seems overly optimistic, unless the global situation improves drastically.

Measures like contact tracing will have only limited impact once the spread beyond China becomes large enough. Judging from the sustained transmission within China and even in countries like Japan, Singapore, Korea and Germany, it is just a matter of time before the disease becomes truly “global”. Given China’s sphere of influence, it is likely that we will soon have cases reported in Africa, as the limiting factor currently seems to be diagnostic capacity. Sustained transmission makes travel bans less effective, and at best can buy more time for health systems to be ready for impact. Singapore, with a well-functioning public health system, is already reporting community-level transmission.

The unfolding story of the cruise ship The Diamond Princess, off Japanese coast is instructive. In terms of positive cases of Covid-19, The Diamond Princess has been termed as “the second-largest country in the world right now behind only to China.” The following graph shows clearly what 2019-nCoV can do in a relatively crowded space with space constraints. Experts have termed passenger population density as a reason for the rapid spread of the virus. Sounds very familiar, if one knows Indian urban spaces and hospitals. Therefore, the cruise ship is a particularly interesting part of this outbreak for countries like India. As of Feb. 12, of a total of 441 confirmed cases outside China, a staggering 175 are on The Diamond Princess alone. Recent reports indicate that on Feb. 13 alone, 44 more travellers have tested positive, including Indians.

Countries like India will have to start thinking hard about a shift in strategy from containment to mitigation at some point. Given the fact that Covid-19 as of now is a relatively mild infection, many positive cases across India may be missed through misdiagnosis or missed diagnosis.

However, if there is sustained spread and panic sets in, irrespective of the relatively low case fatality rates, Covid-19 can kill many in India through two pathways. First, older and chronically ill can get potentially fatal Covid-19 infection at hospitals where they visit for routine treatment, and second, panic-stricken common flu patients can crowd hospitals and overwhelm the health care delivery capacity of private and public sector. The latter scenario can see many people in real need of advanced care getting left out. If there is community-level transmission in India, the resulting societal disruption will be immense, unless the government takes sufficient measures, and be ready for any eventuality in the coming months.

As the above graph shows, with strict travel restrictions and other measures in place, daily hospitalisations of suspected cases have shrunk considerably in Kerala, and the number of patients daily discharged after a negative report and subsided symptoms outnumber the former consistently. Timely dissemination of surveillance data was an effective way in which the government of Kerala managed to keep panic under check and gain the confidence of the community. The state looks ready for any possible spread even at the community level.

As the country braces for Covid-19’s impact, the government of India should ensure the regular release of state-wise data on quarantine and tests, which it compiles on a daily basis, so that media speculation is avoided. With Nipah, and now Covid-19, Kerala provides a template for the central government, of calm and alert public health problem-solving. Perhaps over and above what Kerala is doing on social media, the central government can effectively leverage WhatsApp, too, to allay fears, as Covid-19 spreads across the world.

Meanwhile something makes me proud:
>>>68 AirIndia crew members, who were part of 2 special flights that evacuated 647 Indians & 7 Maldivians from Coronavirus-hit Wuhan in China, given letters of appreciation signed by PM Narendra Modi.

Also from update from Indian Embassy:
Four Indians infected with coronavirus on board cruise ship responding well to treatment:

sanjaykumar wrote:The reality on the ground in the people's paradise, much superior in every way to India:
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... oronavirus
As Wuhan’s desperate and sick beg for help, China shuts them down
skji, an observation. I was reading down that complaint from a "Chinese doctor based in North America" when in my drowsiness I transitioned to the following passage:
It is not new for figures in government to put their political interests ahead of public health. But given the rapid spread of the virus and the gravity of the situation in China, I thought the government could put aside the censorship and propaganda for a while. I was wrong.
* Dr Song and Lin are pseudonyms
• The author is a Chinese writer living in north America
America faces an epic choice...
... this year, and the results will define the country for a generation. These are perilous times. Over the last three years, much of what the {New China News Agency?} holds dear has been threatened – democracy, civility, truth. This {paper tiger of colonial imperialism} is establishing new norms of behaviour. Anger and cruelty disfigure public discourse and lying is commonplace. Truth is being chased away.
Rampant disinformation, partisan news sources and social media's tsunami of fake news is no basis on which to inform the {chinese} public in 2020. ...
In all this, I am not sure I can see where the Chinese govt has put a foot wrong, accounting for human uncertainty. Someone pointed out above, that if the govt had allowed dire stories and predictions to come out in say, mid-december, we WOULD be looking at a pandemic now with no hope of controlling until it runs its course - or kills us all. I can see that they were probably meeting every day with increasing urgency, and figuring out how to keep the damage down, and ramp up response as fast as possible.
People sneer at the fact that their brand-new hospitals have a few leaks..
That they still don't have nearly enough hospital beds..
That people have to walk..
That they didn't clamp down quarantine-in-place fast enough
That they clamped down on people's freedom..
That they sprayed their streets and buildings
That they incinerated waste.

So let's start with what the Free World knows about nCoroniavirus, since it came out of China at least 2 months ago:
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/ ... uhan-china

USA: Centers for Disease Control:
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html

India: chest-thumpistan

PLEASE tell me:
1) What should I do if I see that my neighbor and their family seem a bit "under the weather"?
2) If I see that my co-worker has a cold, and cough?

With all the free flow of information, 20-20 hindsight over 2 months of non-stop Knowledge and all the extreme Serious People we have here, please?

I will freely share with you what I have learned, that is different from my normal routine humdrum existence:
Buy Vodka
Unfortunately, if someone who knows me sees me with a vodka bottle they will surely call the Big People In White Coats to take me away.

There is an international airport just 42 miles away. Should I move 100 miles away? to where? Where will I live then? Should I continue to buy food at the Ulan Bator Wet Market aka "Publix" grocery store? I think I saw an old Chinese couple there yesterdin. Should I have called 911 and had them taken away?

I don't see the Mongolian govt or news media or Local Administration doing diddly-squat to help in any way, do u?

In fact the city should have been quarantined first on some pretext or other eg rabid pigs on the loose. Then when entry/exit are tightly controlled release a semblance of the truth.

Hospitals will know much before the general public that the signs portend an epidemic. The Chinese physicians knew without benefit of reading chicken entrails.

My colleague picked up a suspicious pattern of hospital acquired infections. I once picked up a series of patients being drugged by censored...censored....

China’s Coffers Are Depleted Just as Virus Spurs Spending
China’s provinces are facing the economic fallout from the coronavirus with depleted ammunition, given they were already bracing for a deterioration in public finances before the outbreak hit.

More than half of mainland provinces expect slower expansion of revenue in 2020 than last year’s average local income growth, according to their budgets published before the disease outbreak became widespread in January. Hubei, the epicenter, was already expecting income to fall.

That stretches the government’s efforts to make fiscal policy more supportive of the economy in the aftermath of the outbreak, and means more bond sales and borrowing are likely. Government at all levels is re-thinking plans for this year as factories and businesses across the country remain shut, spelling immediate trouble for tax receipts.

Short of Money
Provinces expecting slower income growth than the 2019 average

^^ That if anything is good news for stock markets. Chinese will start borrowing money instead of being awash in cash. To my Madarssa E-cono-comics gyan, Chinese have enough credit. No bank is going to deny them a loan or two to tide over a cash crunch. Maybe for a small share in Huawei-PLA.

Only those who depended on Chinese tourism, and maybe the Convention/Conference bijnej, are brutally crushed: I don't know who will help them. India may pick up the convention/conference slack to some extent (or maybe North Korea will..).

But my question to Sanjayji and all others criticizing the totalitarian (I call it Corporate) cheen govt approach, I still ask the same question in all seriousness: what should someone, say in a mainland US city, do to prepare? From the local news, it is clear that we are maybe a couple of days, if not hours, from a run on the grocery stores, if not ATMS. All it takes is a couple of cases from the local International Airport, coming to the downtown hospital - or someone reported ill and that traced to vegetables/fruits coming from Asia - or Hawaii - or Mexico. That's it. Grocery stores closed.

What would I do if cases were reported from the local airport, given Sanjayji's recommendation of what Wuhan SHOULD have done:
impose quarantine citing some other cause
If I sense that about to happen (now that I know the guvrmand is going to cite bogus reason) I would pile into my EssUVee and drive 600 miles north to stay with relatives. Maybe stay at some place along the way if I have to leave in the middle of the day. That's it. Now the infection-catching circle has spread 700 miles in a day, as 4 million ppl like me pile into EssUVees. Hope I can stock up on canned food, drinking water, Lysol and Stolichnaya tomorrow.

Point is, present-day WooHan residents probably have access to EssUVees - or high speed trains, even better, so they can be out of there very fast. This is what must have terrified Cheen city baboon.

Amber G. wrote: Okay - Last from me - Seriously Arun - I did look at it - that paper is a *joke* if you ask me -- zero credibility.
Aren't some articles on arXiv pretty good? I found several papers there published by highly reputed people in their own areas. While they do not go through the same kind of peer review as the journals/conferences/symposia, they do have a reasonable system. One needs to be careful of course. A little bit scepticism is always healthy when it comes to claims by even the most famous researchers and/or institutions. :twisted:

Please absolutely no honourifics for me.

Human behaviour is sometimes seemingly counter-intuitive. Toronto was a SARS hotspot in 2003. I certainly cancelled travel to the city. But there was no self exile on any appreciable scale. Part of it is of course logistical. The commitment to jobs, wages, schools, family and the expense of an indefinite evacuation makes a compelling case for not leaving a disease hotspot. Only grandparents, retired, with preschool grandchildren can contemplate such as strategy.

^ Quite true. Hurricane evacuations are however, quite common in the US southeast: Most Florida residents keep enough wooden boards in their garage to very quickly "Board up" all their glass windows, and know to get in their cars and drive north at short notice. Same with Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina coastal residents, trained to drive inland. The Interstate Highways in South Georgia and I am sure North Carolina, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana and Texas, are set up with gates across the entrance ramps, to make them "reversible" (both sides going the same way) to enable massive evacuations, millions of vehicles in a few hours for hundreds of miles. if the Governor orders evacuation, that's it.

Extended absences from work are a problem of course, but if the choice is this tough (killer virus), many workplaces today will permit most things to be done remotely. I remember recently, a college principal and VP/Provost (both wimmens) get into a nasty pooch-fight after one or the other either delayed closing their college or closed it too early with an impending hurricane. These days, specific instructions are for people to STAY HOME if they get the flu etc. Sorry, for docs, firefighters, polis etc there is no rest and no vacation.

But given all these, I am saying that even with 20-20 hindsight, one would not do anything different from what the cheen did, and we cannot really imagine the govt doing anything NEARLY so stringent so fast. Maybe it will happen.. with military intervention etc like what happened in New Orleans after Katrina (101st Airborne Lt. Jarnail took over the city after Hurricane Katrina, with shoot-at-sight orders). Honolulu had an Incoming WMD Missile Warning during the 2017 North Korea tamasha. I have trouble visualizing the See-Dee-See + Homeland Security doing that in Ulan Bator which has some of the wealthiest and most arrogant (not necessarily the same) nbds in Khanistan. Maybe they will..
Dang! Until a couple of months back I had a survivalist Rainwater Collection system for precisely such possibilities, since I live close enough to the Water Supply reservoir to know how EZ it would be to believe that someone has tossed a beaker of Satan Bug into it - finis! the mere threat would close down the water supply, and we have NOOOO backup sources.

This now crosses over to the Chicken Little/BS Response part. Bottom line: V ain't prepared and have not much hope of being adequately prepared.

Hurricane evacuations are however, quite common in the US southeast: Most Florida residents keep enough wooden boards in their garage to very quickly "Board up" all their glass windows, and know to get in their cars and drive north at short notice. Same with Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina coastal residents, trained to drive inland. The Interstate Highways in South Georgia and I am sure North Carolina, Florida, Alabama, Louisiana and Texas, are set up with gates across the entrance ramps, to make them "reversible" (both sides going the same way) to enable massive evacuations, millions of vehicles in a few hours for hundreds of miles. if the Governor orders evacuation, that's it.

Certainly that is an admirable system, but for short term, not indefinite evacuations.

The obvious lesson is of course racial. I looked up automobile ownership and..

https://www.berkeley.edu/news/media/rel ... ship.shtml

Study explores metro car ownership patterns, race, segregation and disaster planning

How do they live with themselves knowing that they left their black countrymen to die literally in their sewage?

See what I mean about the cheen washing their streets to get ready - as the rest of the world braces to go into quarantine?

Macao casinos to reopen
They have their priorities right. Next: Bars in woohan to increase consumption of life-saving C2H5OH...

New Orleans was a case study in baboonocratic *uckup. State, federal and local authorities **ALL** nasty little political-appointee biss-ants. FEMA Director was a political-appointee horse-trader: biggest concern was whether he would have a guaranteed restaurant reservation when he came down to (safe) Baton Rouge, far from the flood zone. Governor was this Donkeystani wimmen who just totally lost it under pressure. Mayor was an incompetent who just kept whining (a replay occurred in Puerto Rico recently, but there evac was not an option!) Should have been hanged, all of them. Drownings, then looting, rape, shootings, all in a free-4-all for weeks until the 101st Airborne came in with a swaggering moustachioed Lt. Gen.

But as the study says, other states have started worrying about public transport for evac. In Wuhan, that's the thing that I don't understand: why the public evac system failed in such a centrally-planned system. Answer has to be that Chinese **CAPITARISM** is out of control: opposite of what we were cursing as Commie control. Commies worth their hammers and sickles would have just commandeered all private transport for the Good Of Da Proretaliat.

There used to be the adage, during the Cold War hysteria, that the survivors would envy the dead. Evacuations are inherently fraught with the potential for tribalism and worse. I found this dystopian vignette more distressing than any natural disaster. Of course it's Rod Serling's "The Monsters are due on Maple Street".

https://www.propublica.org/article/post ... h-impunity

All relevant to post-BS jollies. These are the stories that should be compared to what is coming out of Wuhan now, to understand why I say that the Wuhan baboon performed about as well as could be expected, under extreme stress. The US and other media are great at supercilious pontificating since they have a convenient conscience-free memory system.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

What are we supposed to post then? Chinese propaganda pieces? Because that is mostly what’s there in the MSM as the Chinese haven’t allowed anyone in and given them unfettered access to make independent observations. The rest is US State and intelligence fanning the flames of suspicions about the reasons for China hiding the truth about the outbreak. Should we trust govt censors and propaganda or get every little bit of information possible and draw our own conclusions?

Rational thought requires as much data from as many divergent groups as possible in hand and filtering what needs to be eliminated based on reasoning so as to make rational decisions. Allowing governments - both Chinese and American - to decide for us is not beneficial.
sanjaykumar wrote:Please try not to post conspiracy theories, crackpot reports, self evident observations, speculations.

This thread is degenerating as the novelty of this pandemic wears off.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

And as proof that official sources are thoroughly compromised by the Chinese, we have this:

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/healt ... 910d16340e

The good doctor says “we were deceived by ...the Chinese”. I hope we have woken up now to smell the sh!t that everybody else can, doctor.

To blame China for one’s naïveté is actually a cover for something much deeper. Perhaps he’s another Harvard chemistry department chairman looking out after himself. What’s his travel history?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-GB9EYqAGM

video posted by Ben Kavanaug after leaving quarantine in UK. he was evacuated from wuhan and his earliest videos were # 1 trending on u tube

watch from 3:56 as he speaks abt the start of this ordeal from dec 31st when his parents from Ireland text him and he responds that its just rumors and western propaganda :shock:
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

The doc doth protest too much.it’s not as if there’s been no precedent for the Chinese government lying about outbreaks. SARS comes to mind. The Chinese lied for four months about everything being hunky dory then before world governments forced them to confess they had a novel virus inflicting death and mayhem on their hands.
sanjaykumar wrote:The good doctor says “we were deceived by ...the Chinese”. I hope we have woken up now to smell the sh!t that everybody else can, doctor.

To blame China for one’s naïveté is actually a cover for something much deeper. Perhaps he’s another Harvard chemistry department chairman looking out after himself. What’s his travel history?

The best twitter post ever to come from the West (closest to "ekam sat:UBCN. budhUn bahudhA vadanti") is from John Dunn (made famous by E.Hemingway lolling drunk at Key West):

Ask not For Whom The Bell Tolls
It Tolls For Thee

that is mostly what’s there in the MSM as the {fill in "non-gora "brutal regime"} haven’t allowed anyone in and given them unfettered access to make independent observations.
Haven't we heard that about.. let's say.. Jammu-Kashmir-Ladakh, anyone?

WHY should intelligent, well-educated, well-trained, professional Chinese medical personnel, experienced at treating probably 100X or 1000X as many patients as any American or British doc ever sees, allow foreign round-eye posturing idiots to come blundering in to "make independent observations"?
You really believe that NYT, WaPO and CNN are going to make independent observations?
I DO.
* Independent of honesty
* Independent of experience
* Independent of empathy
* Independent of fairness (as in un-biased, not "Tall Fair and Tight-Assed")
* Independent of basic competence.

For the past 10 years or more (actually post IO tsunami, 2004) even India has been politely denying visas to these oiseules. With very good reason.

As I show above, even with 20-20 hindsight and 2 months, "western" "Independent" entities have zero useful insights on how one should respond, much less head off/cure, nCOV attacks. And these bumbling idiots usually show up with their immense personal paraphernalia and egos, and promptly start demanding this and that Special Privileges, distracting attention and demanding ridiculous things from the people who haven's slept for weeks.
Bottom line: US CDC's area code is 404. Fits, in this situation. Let me see them head off the annual US flu epidemic that kills 4000 to 61000 people per year in the USA. Let me see an intelligent article in the NYT or WaPO or CNN. They don't have a good response to jaundice. They have zero response to backaches or ear infections (last year's flu attack destroyed most of my hearing in one year, and all they tell me is that they want to put a hole in my eardrum so they can charge me $$$$$ for surgery!)
Face it: the center of the universe has moved a bit east, or at least out of North America, England and Oirope. Esp when it comes to disaster response.
Last edited by UlanBatori on 18 Feb 2020 16:40, edited 1 time in total.

Reminds me of when a classmate of mine (co-PIGS) went down to the Infirmary with the flu
Because of yore skin color Ah cyaint tell if yore Pale, so cyaint diagnose!
Ah! The wonders of First-World Medical Care!

Just so u don't think I don't read Independent reporting:
Wuhan hospital director dies of virus
Before overwork killed him, I suppose.
BEIJING — The director of a Chinese hospital located in the city at the center of the coronavirus outbreak died Tuesday, adding to the number of medical staff who have lost their lives to the contagious disease.
Liu Zhiming, 51 :( , died Tuesday morning of the new coronavirus after an all-out rescue effort failed to save him, the Wuhan municipal health commission said in Chinese on its website, according to a CNBC translation.
He was the director of the city’s Wuchang Hospital. It is one of the designated hospitals for treating the virus, which emerged in the city in December before spreading around the country.
This doc was clearly one of those "government officials" whom we diss. No 2 ways about it: Chinese professionals are heroic, just as much as anywhere else. Let's go EZ on knocking them.
As of Feb. 17, the Chinese government said a total of 72,436 people are confirmed to have had the disease while 1,868 people have died.
Singapore Airlines temporarily ceased some service on major flight routes around the world, including New York and London, citing weak demand.
The time needed for nucleic acid testing for the new coronavirus has been cut down drastically — from two days to just four to six hours, according to a press release from the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Japan’s health ministry said 454 people on board the quarantined Diamond Princess cruise ship, off the coast of Yokohama, have tested positive.
As someone pointed out the Diamond Princess has become #2 in reported cases. AFAIK, they were following US protocols straight down the line, direct from CDD/DHS/TSA. Works not-so-great, hain? Had they let all 3600 go home to different quarantines, that number might be under 20 today.
Update: 5:40 pm: Japan says 88 more people have tested positive for coronavirus on Diamond Princess cruise ship.
Japan has reported a further 88 people aboard the Diamond Princess cruise liner have tested positive for the coronavirus, taking the total number of on-board infections to 542.
Japan’s public broadcaster NHK, citing the health ministry, said Tuesday that 65 of the 88 people found to have contracted COVID-19 had no symptoms.
A total of 2,404 passengers and crew members have been tested for the virus, the health ministry reportedly said, with 542 infections.
Hmm!!! Number of passengers was cited as well > 3000 pax + some 1000 crew, last I read. Wonder if 1200 are sunk in Yokohama harbor?
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Dr Weiler in the ACE2 receptors and the disease. The post by Idev on ACEII expression amongst the various races Is not the same as ACE 2...

https://jameslyonsweiler.com/2020/02/16 ... ypothesis/

So, using Serious Quantitative Statistical Calculations from the Diamond Princess data, it seems to me that we should expect 25% of Wuhan residents also to catch the bug - even with instant care and pretty good isolation available. Without that sort of Free World resources, 50% at least?
50% of 11 million is 5.5 million. A 2.1% loss rate means 115,500 deaths in Wuhan alone.
If the Chinese manage anything less than 57,750 deaths, it is because their response and care are superior to what Japan and US could provide on a luxury cruise ship!!!!!

I guess I better go get that drinking water and vodka. And practice calisthenics to implement the only Cure that CDC/FEMA has advanced so far for such disasters:
Put ur head between ur knees and kiss ur ass goodbye

Scale of Chinese response:
More than 30,000 health workers from across the country have been sent to the region, China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a release Tuesday that outlined a meeting Monday of a national-level working group headed by Premier Li Keqiang.
Protection of medical workers should be strengthened, and more medical staff will be brought in as needed, the release said.

Novel Coronavirus - This is live count keeps changing as and when it gets updated...

https://infographics.channelnewsasia.co ... /gmap.html

This gives you an idea where the virus is spreading on a daily basis. This will help you to plan your travel around the world.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... u4EHJ.html
what is happening here...they are playing their games in this time as well..dont recognize India in the list of countries but the ambassador offers words...this shouldnt be occassion to play dirty

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/02/ ... 44233.html
Coronavirus prompts 'hysterical, shameful' Sinophobia in Italy
Chinese-Italian community subjected to assaults, insults and boycotts of businesses following deadly epidemic in China.
by Yuebai Liu, 18 Feb 2020

The deadly outbreak of a new coronavirus in China has triggered a "hysterical" and "shameful wave of Sinophobia" in Italy, according to members of the Chinese Italian community and a rights group, with Italians and tourists of Chinese and Asian origin reporting acts of violence, discrimination and harassment.
The incidents include assaults, calls for sexual violence, insults and boycott of businesses.
"What are you doing in Italy? Go away! You're bringing us disease," a 15-year-old Chinese Italian boy was told before he was punched and kicked in the face in the northern city of Bologna on February 2, the Bologna Today newspaper reported.
Days later, in the southern city of Cagliari, a hospitalised 31-year-old Filipino man told La Nuova Sardegna, a local newspaper, that he had been attacked by a group of young men who thought he was Chinese and accused him of "bringing the virus" to Italy.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

UBN,
1. My sarcasm scale just blew a fuse. :) 2. There seems to be a communication chasm here.

Just so we're clear, I'm not talking about allowing reporters in. I'm talking about allowing qualified doctors - epidemiologists and infectious diseases specialists - to enter China, observe what's happening and share the information with the rest of the world's medical community so that everyone can work together to fight this epidemic that is slowly morphing into a pandemic. You're saying that I want to allow stinking reporters - paid shills in other words - in so that they can do a number on the Chinese. Thing is, the paid shills fall into two camps - the ones that kept harping about how ncov is no different and far less a public health issue than the seasonal flu were paid by the Chinese - and the ones that keep harping about the Chinese firewall and brutality of the CCP are paid shills of US State or Intelligence Services.

Contrary to what libertarians would have the rest of the world believe, Governments are indeed a necessary evil for three reasons:
1. Defense of the realm
2. Building critical infrastructure such as roads, dams, etc (these things are never profitable in and of themselves, but they pave the way to wealth)
3. Public health (prevention and control of infectious diseases)

These three functions require a fourth supporting function: tax collection so that the government has the monies to pursue it's three core jobs. What is happening in Kashmir is political in nature. There, our enemies are trying to suborn our people and paint the motherland in an unfavorable light. Denying entry to those provocateurs is required of Indian government to fulfill the first raison d''etre.

With the current epidemic/pandemic, Chinese thinking seems to be that the whole world is out to get them and that it is better to hide the truth about the disease - thus the disinformation campaign within the country and without - and that it is not the world's concern. Problem with this reasoning being: the entire ****** world leadership, demonstrating their colossal stupidity, have made China the world's factory and thus, what happens in China is the world's concern, in terms of finance, trade and public health. The world needs to know the true scale of the disease and its impact on China so that they can ameliorate the financial and trade impact and assuming the disease remains contained within Chinese borders, help China with the public health crisis. If the disease becomes a pandemic, then the world needs to prepare financially, economically as well as from the stand point of public wealth as it affects the whole world. This is why independent observers who are epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists are needed on the ground. If the Chinese were open and transparent about the disease like the Singapore, Japan, S. Korea et al, we wouldn't need foreign observers with their own political agendas on the ground, but the Chinese aren't. And because this is a problem for all of us, we need folks who represent us and not the Chinese government, whose movers and deciders apparently think that the rest of the world can go hang itself, on the ground because this isn't just an internal Chinese matter. Not anymore. They gave up the right to privacy when their allowed their disease carriers to travel to other lands.
UlanBatori wrote:The best twitter post ever to come from the West (closest to "ekam sat:UBCN. budhUn bahudhA vadanti") is from John Dunn (made famous by E.Hemingway lolling drunk at Key West):

Ask not For Whom The Bell Tolls
It Tolls For Thee

that is mostly what’s there in the MSM as the {fill in "non-gora "brutal regime"} haven’t allowed anyone in and given them unfettered access to make independent observations.
Haven't we heard that about.. let's say.. Jammu-Kashmir-Ladakh, anyone?

WHY should intelligent, well-educated, well-trained, professional Chinese medical personnel, experienced at treating probably 100X or 1000X as many patients as any American or British doc ever sees, allow foreign round-eye posturing idiots to come blundering in to "make independent observations"?
You really believe that NYT, WaPO and CNN are going to make independent observations?
I DO.
* Independent of honesty
* Independent of experience
* Independent of empathy
* Independent of fairness (as in un-biased, not "Tall Fair and Tight-Assed")
* Independent of basic competence.

For the past 10 years or more (actually post IO tsunami, 2004) even India has been politely denying visas to these oiseules. With very good reason.

As I show above, even with 20-20 hindsight and 2 months, "western" "Independent" entities have zero useful insights on how one should respond, much less head off/cure, nCOV attacks. And these bumbling idiots usually show up with their immense personal paraphernalia and egos, and promptly start demanding this and that Special Privileges, distracting attention and demanding ridiculous things from the people who haven's slept for weeks.
Bottom line: US CDC's area code is 404. Fits, in this situation. Let me see them head off the annual US flu epidemic that kills 4000 to 61000 people per year in the USA. Let me see an intelligent article in the NYT or WaPO or CNN. They don't have a good response to jaundice. They have zero response to backaches or ear infections (last year's flu attack destroyed most of my hearing in one year, and all they tell me is that they want to put a hole in my eardrum so they can charge me $$$$$ for surgery!)
Face it: the center of the universe has moved a bit east, or at least out of North America, England and Oirope. Esp when it comes to disaster response.

UlanBatori wrote:Just so u don't think I don't read Independent reporting:
Wuhan hospital director dies of virus
Before overwork killed him, I suppose.
BEIJING — The director of a Chinese hospital located in the city at the center of the coronavirus outbreak died Tuesday, adding to the number of medical staff who have lost their lives to the contagious disease.
Liu Zhiming, 51 :( , died Tuesday morning of the new coronavirus after an all-out rescue effort failed to save him, the Wuhan municipal health commission said in Chinese on its website, according to a CNBC translation.
He was the director of the city’s Wuchang Hospital. It is one of the designated hospitals for treating the virus, which emerged in the city in December before spreading around the country.
This doc was clearly one of those "government officials" whom we diss. No 2 ways about it: Chinese professionals are heroic, just as much as anywhere else. Let's go EZ on knocking them.
As of Feb. 17, the Chinese government said a total of 72,436 people are confirmed to have had the disease while 1,868 people have died.
Singapore Airlines temporarily ceased some service on major flight routes around the world, including New York and London, citing weak demand.
The time needed for nucleic acid testing for the new coronavirus has been cut down drastically — from two days to just four to six hours, according to a press release from the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
Japan’s health ministry said 454 people on board the quarantined Diamond Princess cruise ship, off the coast of Yokohama, have tested positive.
As someone pointed out the Diamond Princess has become #2 in reported cases. AFAIK, they were following US protocols straight down the line, direct from CDD/DHS/TSA. Works not-so-great, hain? Had they let all 3600 go home to different quarantines, that number might be under 20 today.
Update: 5:40 pm: Japan says 88 more people have tested positive for coronavirus on Diamond Princess cruise ship.
Japan has reported a further 88 people aboard the Diamond Princess cruise liner have tested positive for the coronavirus, taking the total number of on-board infections to 542.
Japan’s public broadcaster NHK, citing the health ministry, said Tuesday that 65 of the 88 people found to have contracted COVID-19 had no symptoms.
A total of 2,404 passengers and crew members have been tested for the virus, the health ministry reportedly said, with 542 infections.
Hmm!!! Number of passengers was cited as well > 3000 pax + some 1000 crew, last I read. Wonder if 1200 are sunk in Yokohama harbor?
The problem on a ship is that it is not easy to isolate the air handling units, the extractors, the airconditioning system with the resulting cross feeds, mixing and recirculation of air allowing the airborne virus faster access to other parts of the ship and infecting new victims.

This may be the primary reason why the corona virus situation is still very dicey on the diamond princess.

You'd think ship designers would think of these things, given that a cruise is several days unlike an airplane ride? I mean, aren't they worried about ecoli outbreaks and flu outbreaks?

APji, point taken. But I do believe a WHO team is there and so is a US CDC team. As of about 10 days ago, at least. To the usual drumbeat, fireworks and gloating in the usual quarters. Haven't heard any bright ideas from them since.

Before that, PeeAllSee was in panic-mode ramp-up, no time for Conducted Happy Tours showing smiling patients holding (gloved) hands and singing (whatever they sing) in their quarantine apartments. if I post my PeeAllSee rendition of that it would be seen as a cheap shot at this time.

The situation is scary because **NO ONE** is stopping the spread, once it breaks out in any place. Quarantine camps are in danger of becoming death camps.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

They should have entered on the 15th or 16th. The CDC team certainly didn’t. The Chinese refused to accommodate any American. As for the rest of the crew, the Chinese released data that 1700 doctors and nurses have been Infected and the WHO began to squeal in alarm. Haven’t seen any indication the WHO team actually made it in and are inspecting sites and formulating a response to the crisis.
UlanBatori wrote:You'd think ship designers would think of these things, given that a cruise is several days unlike an airplane ride? I mean, aren't they worried about ecoli outbreaks and flu outbreaks?

APji, point taken. But I do believe a WHO team is there and so is a US CDC team. As of about 10 days ago, at least. To the usual drumbeat, fireworks and gloating in the usual quarters. Haven't heard any bright ideas from them since.

Before that, PeeAllSee was in panic-mode ramp-up, no time for Conducted Happy Tours showing smiling patients holding (gloved) hands and singing (whatever they sing) in their quarantine apartments. if I post my PeeAllSee rendition of that it would be seen as a cheap shot at this time.

The situation is scary because **NO ONE** is stopping the spread, once it breaks out in any place. Quarantine camps are in danger of becoming death camps.
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

This is how an ncov cardiac arrest event looks like: you drop dead just like that. The location is Uighur in the Chinese west.

https://mobile.twitter.com/jenniferatnt ... 9356151808
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

ArjunPandit wrote:https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... u4EHJ.html
what is happening here...they are playing their games in this time as well..dont recognize India in the list of countries but the ambassador offers words...this shouldnt be occassion to play dirty
What happened to that case in Pakistan where the brother of the of the sick China returned student posted a video? Hard to believe there is not a single case in Pakistan.

CalvinH wrote:
ArjunPandit wrote:https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... u4EHJ.html
What happened to that case in Pakistan where the brother of the of the sick China returned student posted a video? Hard to believe there is not a single case in Pakistan.
pakis also have 100% mijjile test record. :wink:
Arun.prabhu

Post by Arun.prabhu »

Xi said that he has been in charge of the response since January 7. Apparently doctors in Shanghai recommended disease control procedures and protocols in public places on jan 5. The govt did not do anything until the party meeting concluded on jan 17...
https://twitter.com/jenniferatntd/statu ... 9333170177