India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Hari Nair

Re: India's Border Security with China and Pakistan-2020

Post by Hari Nair »

LakshmanPST wrote:
SSridhar wrote: Was he referring to McCartney-McDonald Line or McMahon Line?

If he was talking about Ladakh, it has to be the former. The British used several boundary lines in Ladakh depending upon how distant was the Tsarist Russia in Xinjiang region and how friendly was the Qing Emperor.
No he was referring to Mc Mahon Line only... He was talking about Tibet and Arunachal Pradesh and Burma...
You are right! I heard the portion from 3:10 onwards- Su Swamy indeed goes off at a very big tangent to facts on the McMahon Line. The facts are as under:
- He gets the year of Simla Convention wrong ,it was 1914 not not 1912.
- The Tibetan rep very much signed the treaty. The Chinese rep abstained. The sticking points were mostly regarding division of inner Tibet, Outer Tibet and China boundaries. The historical signed copies of the treaty are available in Lhasa and New Delhi. Even the Chinese do not officially dispute the fact that the Tibetan Rep signed it. (They now challenge his authority then to have done so).
- The then Chinese plenipotentiary in Lhasa did not object to the treaty at that time or later.
- The very fact that the Tibetans were willing and able to negotiate a treaty with the British alongside the Chinese indicates the degree of independence they then had. To quote Claude Arpi "Lhasa was then in control of Tibet’s foreign policy; Tibetans could travel from and to India without visa or registration. It was not the case for the Chinese who, when they transited from Tibet to China via India needed a visa."
- Its indeed news that the Brits "disapproved" of Lt Col Sir Henry McMahon, (as SuSwamy claims) for the Simla Convention. The "disapproval" was indeed so great that he was promoted as the British High Commissioner to Egypt in 1915!
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

pankajs wrote:Rohit Vats on twitter ...
  • Basically, China will have to commit at least 65%-70% of their complete army against India to build favorable ratio and have any chance of success.
  • But can it do this in 3-4 days?
  • Look at the diance from Eastern Ladakh
The basic Chinese (mis)calculation is that their stand-off weapons would take care of the much superior (both in quality & quantity) IA.
Here are my thoughts on this. I don't think the PLAGF is under any illusion about quantity and quality. My personal belief, looking at their actions, is that they will be the aggressor, always. Hence, they will have the choice to make things kinetic at their place and time of choosing.
On numbers: while it is true that PLAGF is roughly 0.9:1 compared to IA at the moment, this is only true in force on force picture. With better mobility at their end, he has the initiative to concentrate forces and outnumber us at his discretion, at his point of choice. I wouldn't pay too much credence to overall force postures and numbers, at the time. He has no choice but to go for maneuver warfare.

On quality: IA definitely holds the advantage here, however PLAGF would also know this. I suspect PLAGF will use this to their advantage by keeping kinetics restricted below a threshold where this quality advantage does not come into play ( a la air power on our end and fancy shiny untested toys on his end).

Therefore, my takeaway is that the PLAGF (mis) calculation is that we will not pre-empt him. We will only defend. This puts as at a disadvantage in the first salvo.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

one more thing, this 3:1 ratio is only true a general rule of thumb. given the altitude and terrain restrictions imposed, I would want a ratio closer to 10:1 in our AOR

Kati wrote:
LakshmanPST wrote:
I have seen Suswamy's full interview... These are the points to note--->
1) He want Govt. to be either 100% transparent or 100% Opaque...
(In other words, saying "We are in the dark"... :rotfl: )
6) He wants India not to raise Tibet and Taiwan issues... (There can't be more direct msg from China to this Govt.)
7) At one point during the interview, the interviewer made the statement, "You and Rahul Gandhi are basically taking the same stand with respect to China..."... That is so obvious...
It makes me wonder if SuSwamy is a Khan agent.....
SuSwamy is SuSwamy's agent. That's the reason despite his self-proclaimed high-intelligence, and unmatched ability in economics, geopolitics, and legal matters his only claim to fame was when he held the position of finance minister for a full 6 months in the Chandrashekar government. After playing the role of a catalyst in bringing down the 2nd Vajapayee government, he pretty much went off the radar and resurfaced when Modi came to power with a thumping majority. He probably joined BJP thinking they'll roll out a red carpet and make him the finance minister but when that did not happen he returned back to his old habit of disparaging everyone who disagrees with him including his own party and the PM. Forget about the recent Indo-China border fight, if one listens to his interviews post Modi-xi kungkong meeting in Mahabalipuram , it'll make you wonder who is paying SuSwamy or what goes on in his head. Its not surprising that every serious political outfit has kept him at an arm's length away from power for over 4 decades.
Aldonkar

Post by Aldonkar »

Julian_Bashir wrote:Apologies if posted previously, some great graphics in here to visualise the border

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-07-10/ ... fmredir=sm
May have impressive graphics, but some of the text is incorrect. eg, "the Karakorum Pass which is under Pakistani control". Also the LOC depicted is wrong around Saichen.

Rs_singh wrote:
SSridhar wrote: The basic Chinese (mis)calculation is that their stand-off weapons would take care of the much superior (both in quality & quantity) IA.
Here are my thoughts on this. I don't think the PLAGF is under any illusion about quantity and quality. My personal belief, looking at their actions, is that they will be the aggressor, always. Hence, they will have the choice to make things kinetic at their place and time of choosing.
On numbers: while it is true that PLAGF is roughly 0.9:1 compared to IA at the moment, this is only true in force on force picture. With better mobility at their end, he has the initiative to concentrate forces and outnumber us at his discretion, at his point of choice. I wouldn't pay too much credence to overall force postures and numbers, at the time. He has no choice but to go for maneuver warfare.

On quality: IA definitely holds the advantage here, however PLAGF would also know this. I suspect PLAGF will use this to their advantage by keeping kinetics restricted below a threshold where this quality advantage does not come into play ( a la air power on our end and fancy shiny untested toys on his end).

Therefore, my takeaway is that the PLAGF (mis) calculation is that we will not pre-empt him. We will only defend. This puts as at a disadvantage in the first salvo.
I was going to comment on the same, but good to see some ex-IA confirming it. General 1:1 ratio does not mean much (one other stat CIA has is number of males of fighting age, that would make us superpower, but hardly we are). Chinese can always concentrate force in one area like Depsang or Galwan or the lake or Sikkim or Tawang in the ratio of 10:1 and attack. Why they can do so -
1. India will be defending every inch, we have to stretch and deploy our forces. The shuklas/Arun poorie's of the world, the Raul gandis and even RW crowd will make sure of that, else where is Mudi ji 56 inch. If Chinese win one finger (2 sq miles of land), India has lost, Mudi ji will loose election and even they hyper RW will go and vote Raul gandi. That's the political side of it
2.Chinese have flatter land and better infra, they can quickly move forces and concentrate while we cannot (though by having enough mountain divisions, kudos to IA, we have mitigated this a lot) and achieve local 10:1 superiority
3.Our approach to mitigate this was have a MSC (mountain strike corp, currently short of 1 division and equipment for that) that will concentrate as our place of choosing and go grab land on Chinese side. The outcome could be that chinese could be left guessing and may not be able to concentrate forces. Or if they do, we each gain at different point. This was the exact strategy employed in 1965 war, when TSP attacked, JK, and were in ascendency (and lost momentum because they wanted to change ahmedia general with a true green one), we opened a front in Lahore and almost reached Lahore. That put paid to all TSP plan in 1965, they had to then scramble to stop us in Lahore sector.
4. Our strategy of not attacking first also plays into this. By not attacking, chinese are assured that they can concentrate and also launch attack, they maybe further assured that we will not launch a counter offensive attack, we will only be on defensive. So they are assured of a win or a draw, not a loss. We are assured of either a draw or a loss. Not a good way to fight. At fundamental level, we have to change this strategy. Perhaps LAC becomes like LOC. Chinese took good advantage of peace at the border and built infra while on our the 3Gs (4G including the departed one) were busy with Swiss banks and secularism etc.

So saying that we have parity in forces means nothing, there is still scope for china to concentrate forces and defeat us locally (as we have the same ability). They have the initiative on their side and we for good or bad have decided to be reactive (and it is reflection of many things, terrain - our mountain vs their plateau; Bad infra vs good infra; better weapons vs not so better). We could also be playing to our strength, hold all the choke points and high ground, dug in and kill. Better than go out, expose and fight uphill. But Chinese will maneuver, avoid all choke points and fortifications and out maneuver us. Can they? Only a war can decide that, paper plan means nothing.

Y I Patel wrote:
anupmisra wrote:Here's another map which predates the 1962 war. One can see where the original border was. Also, note the origin of the map. Draw your own conclusions.

http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/maps/ams/i ... -44-09.jpg

Thank you! Close to intersection of lines LM2 and 9 is Sajum Camping Ground. Mt Sajum is one of the highly contested areas. If you look at 3D google maps a few km ne of Dumchele, you are approximately at this location. The view westwards is commanding. No wonder India fights tooth and nail to deny the Chinese permanent control over that area!

Another very intriguing location to look at in these maps (not this particular plate) is Samar Lungpa, which is a few km to the east of Karakoram Pass. Another traditional hotspot and take a look in google to see why!
The International border between India and China per this map closely mirrors the Chinese position in this area.

Folks, there is this "US_Army_maps_v_17.kmz" file available via google search.
  • Importing this .kmz file, via File > Open, into GEarth will add a grid on Global Map. At the center of each grid is a square Aqua icon and a number next to it.
  • Clicking on the icon will bring up a popup with link to a map of the grid area available @ http://legacy.lib.utexas.edu.
  • Clicking the map link will open the map within the GEarth but also allowing you to open it in an external browser via a button @ the top right corner.
  • One can save the relevant maps on the disk for later use.
Makes it easy to know which map to use/download based on the grid of interest and also by linking the appropriate map to the grid center.

SuSwamy is SuSwamy's agent. That's the reason despite his self-proclaimed high-intelligence, and unmatched ability in economics, geopolitics, and legal matters his only claim to fame was when he held the position of finance minister for a full 6 months in the Chandrashekar government. After playing the role of a catalyst in bringing down the 2nd Vajapayee government, he pretty much went off the radar and resurfaced when Modi came to power with a thumping majority. He probably joined BJP thinking they'll roll out a red carpet and make him the finance minister but when that did not happen he returned back to his old habit of disparaging everyone who disagrees with him including his own party and the PM. Forget about the recent Indo-China border fight, if one listens to his interviews post Modi-xi kungkong meeting in Mahabalipuram , it'll make you wonder who is paying SuSwamy or what goes on in his head. Its not surprising that every serious political outfit has kept him at an arm's length away from power for over 4 decades.
He is an unstable maverick for sure but he is a patriot and often there are nuggets of wisdom in what he says. Keeping him at arms length is the wise thing to do but for people on this thread to call him this agent and that agent is inappropriate. His position is that a strong China is good for India. Where he falters is when that strength becomes a threat for India.
This decoupling of India with various mafia lord countries is something that has to happen in the minds of Indians. There is too much of this country is our dost especially Israel and Russia. SuSwamy has a bit of that with China.
No country has been our dost. Most have exploited us and our goodness terribly. Hell, our loot created one of the countries mentioned and I am very uncomfortable with the enclaves they are creating in the mountain towns of India.
This is a point I struggle to get across to most thinkers in India. Don't be swept away with these alliances and while we may be loyal other parties are not.
pushkar.bhat

Post by pushkar.bhat »

//Rant mode on//

I always wonder why people on this forum believe we will not attack first. If we believe there is a risk we will fire as if there is no tomorrow.

No military commander in the IA will hold fire if he believes that it's important to attack to defend. Even if the UPA is in power they would not take these orders.

//Rant mode off//

Reading a few posts I just want to emphasize the current steps agreed by Doval Ji and Chin FM is for de-escalation. It is the media who is trying to declare a victory. Strategic SMEs including SuSwamy is hyperventilating based on whatever they heard about this de-escalation. The powers in GOI know this is not over by any means. Even in Doklam, IA stopped the Chins right at the India-Bhutan border and stopped further construction. But they did not stop Chins encroaching into the disputed territory between Bhutan and China. It ended up with Chins constructing more infrastructure behind the point where they were stopped. So it was a stalemate. The current scenario also will end up with the stalemate. The only difference is that we speeded up the construction of infrastructure in our side and we could validate the quick deployment of forces and assets. I am also hoping against hope that there won't be any more "Wuhan Spirit" redux.

As Philip pointed out many pages back, we are on a long war with the Chins. If you all recall Nehru Chacha did not conclude the war that started in 1962. Chins made a tactical withdrawal and we have slowly build up strength to maintain the so-called LAC. MEA babus were trained to bide time with the chins and it will take time for them to be collectively assertive. However, we know how to give back to the Chins from 1967. We also have declared our claim line publicly and it is not the LAC, it is all the way to the ridges of Kunlun range in Ladakh. Chins have declared their claim and it is again not the LAC. Question is are we ready to back our claim with hard power? If we had considerable hard power we have the window of opportunity this round to make at least some gain in our claim. Chins think they have the hard power to make some gains and we have violently demonstrated that is not the case. But we have a long way to go to make similar aggressive moves. Hence IMO GOI is simply looking for another stalemate. If this de-escalation step ends up in another stalemate we should be happy for now. If you ask me, Modi has a task to do to get us the hard power and he is on the right track so far. It could have been better, but it is much better than previous regimes.

williams wrote:Reading a few posts I just want to emphasize the current steps agreed by Doval Ji and Chin FM is for de-escalation. It is the media who is trying to declare a victory. Strategic SMEs including SuSwamy is hyperventilating based on whatever they heard about this de-escalation. The powers in GOI know this is not over by any means. Even in Doklam, IA stopped the Chins right at the India-Bhutan border and stopped further construction. But they did not stop Chins encroaching into the disputed territory between Bhutan and China. It ended up with Chins constructing more infrastructure behind the point where they were stopped. So it was a stalemate. The current scenario also will end up with the stalemate. The only difference is that we speeded up the construction of infrastructure in our side and we could validate the quick deployment of forces and assets. I am also hoping against hope that there won't be any more "Wuhan Spirit" redux.

As Philip pointed out many pages back, we are on a long war with the Chins. If you all recall Nehru Chacha did not conclude the war that started in 1962. Chins made a tactical withdrawal and we have slowly build up strength to maintain the so-called LAC. MEA babus were trained to bide time with the chins and it will take time for them to be collectively assertive. However, we know how to give back to the Chins from 1967. We also have declared our claim line publicly and it is not the LAC, it is all the way to the ridges of Kunlun range in Ladakh. Chins have declared their claim and it is again not the LAC. Question is are we ready to back our claim with hard power? If we had considerable hard power we have the window of opportunity this round to make at least some gain in our claim. Chins think they have the hard power to make some gains and we have violently demonstrated that is not the case. But we have a long way to go to make similar aggressive moves. Hence IMO GOI is simply looking for another stalemate. If this de-escalation step ends up in another stalemate we should be happy for now. If you ask me, Modi has a task to do to get us the hard power and he is on the right track so far. It could have been better, but it is much better than previous regimes.
Civilization is a process and not a milestone
sraj

Post by sraj »

Hari Nair wrote: - The Tibetan rep very much signed the treaty. The Chinese rep abstained. The sticking points were mostly regarding division of inner Tibet, Outer Tibet and China boundaries. The historical signed copies of the treaty are available in Lhasa and New Delhi. Even the Chinese do not officially dispute the fact that the Tibetan Rep signed it. (They now challenge his authority then to have done so).
The Chinese rep initialed the treaty. Kissinger in his book 'On China' states (page 186) "In diplomatic practice, initialing freezes the text; it signifies that the negotiations have been concluded.".

On challenging the Tibetan Rep's authority to sign the 1914 treaty, why did they not do so at Shimla in 1914?

In fact, if ROC exercised control over Tibet and spoke for Tibet, what was the Tibetan Rep doing in Shimla sitting alongside the Chinese Rep?
Hari Nair

Post by Hari Nair »

^^^ These points have already been covered in ample detail in my post.

pushkar.bhat wrote://Rant mode on//

I always wonder why people on this forum believe we will not attack first. If we believe there is a risk we will fire as if there is no tomorrow.

No military commander in the IA will hold fire if he believes that it's important to attack to defend. Even if the UPA is in power they would not take these orders.

//Rant mode off//
At tactical level IA will seize the initiative (as in June 15th, though reactive, they aggressed). A IA co seeing being out flanked will perhaps order to fire...
BUT
on its own may not take the initiative to outflank the enemy, if the enemy is just amassed. On its own not a bad strategy (as people are mentioning it is a civilizational war, not a 20/20 match) but it comes with a cost.

And chinese having the strategic advantage may not mean much, they may attack at few points of its choosing, we will perhaps escalate everywhere (chinses would make the opposite assumption) and perhaps initiate (after chinese have started) some riposte of our own.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

Hari Sir,

They have our OODA loop overwhelmed. we need to open a new front and get him to play ball.
AdityaVM

Post by AdityaVM »

Roop wrote:Ramana and others, I would be interested in what you think of this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds4sQ4npYDY

This is a YT link to a Paki TV show discussing these events (India-China clash in Ladakh). The fellow talking is Dr. Shahid Masood (SM), who I think is well-known to us BRFites. The thing is, unlike what Pakis usually do when discussing India (dismiss us with contempt and say China will kick our azzes and laugh about it) this guy sounds seriously panicked about what India is capable of doing to China in this theater of operations if war breaks out. His voice is screaming and hysterical in fear. And where does his sense of panic stem from, you ask? Well, he keeps referring to an analysis/assessment from Harvard University, written just a couple of months ago, about the relative strengths and weaknesses of the Indian and Chinese orbats in theater.

I'm not exaggerating, SM's conclusion from this Harvard report is that India will absolutely destroy PLA and PLAAF in Ladakh if war breaks out. The panic in his voice was quite delicious and amusing to me at first, but then I thought: What the hell!! Where is this guy getting all this? What is this mysterious Harvard report?

So here I am putting this matter under the scrutiny of the BRF brain trust. Is there anything to what SM says? Anything at all?

Everyone: Serious comments only, please. No dismissive one-liners, rhetorical questions, dhoti-shivering or chest-thumping triumphalism.
Roop garu, Pranams to you and all the gurus of the forum.

I have ruminated for a bit on the report you have mentioned and gave it a read and wish to share some thoughts regarding the same. I wish to divide my reply as per below classifications.
1.The report quoted above. Who are its authors and what are their motivations.? What is the point and ultimate outcome they envision and what recommendations, if any are they offering to GoI? ( I believe this is an important exercise. Listening to just the message without analysing the motivations, character, and precedent of the one carrying the message is a sure shot way to be manipulated and boxed in. This has always been our way. It is profoundly naïve to expect that the message delivered by the messenger is without motive and just a reporting of facts)
2.The Actual India-China Conventional Military comparisons and postures mentioned in the report. How accurate are they and What can be gleamed from them?
3.About your main question, Why is Paki Media going nuts and hysterical regarding the same? What goes of their father ?
4.What could be the thought process behind recent Chinese, behaviour and what can we gleam from the same, especially keeping prior history ( going back to Qing China) and RaviB garu’s Piskological analysis in mind ? :mrgreen:

Please excuse in advance for the long post.

Surprisingly, despite the Media spin about the report, the reports main aim is not to determine the Conventional military postures of India and China and compare the two side by side. No. The main thrust of the Report is, unlike the traditional Wisdom in Policy circles, China doesn’t hold the conventional superiority over India. Quite the contrary, it is India that holds the conventional superiority against China. So, this being the case, India no longer needs to invest in its Nuclear capabilities to deter China. It already has enough deterrence capacity without increasing its nuclear capabilities.

My thoughts regarding the argument put forth by the two people who are the authors of the report is not to assume immediately that they are writing from a neutral perspective. ( A common failing especially for us gullible Indians, including me. )
Everyone has an angle to work on, and these worthies are no different. So, let us examine the motivations and thoughts of the authors in detail. ( I am by no means commenting on your thoughts and motivations, just the worthies who authored the report. There is no Blue on Blue here)
One of the authors, a Dr. Alexander K. Bollfrass, is and I quote
” is a senior researcher at the Center for Security Studies at ETH Zurich. He was previously a Stanton Nuclear Security postdoctoral fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Belfer Center and an associate of the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies. Before earning a PhD in security studies from Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, he was a nuclear weapons policy researcher at the Arms Control Association and Stimson Center.
Ergo, the same breed as that Arms control Wank-er Crap-on, whose deepest desire is to see India Cap, Roll back and Eliminate its nuclear programme. That this is the motivation is apparent from the below quotes. ( Please note however, that this in no way invalidates their analysis of the India-China conventional military balance. Just that we will need to separate the wheat from the Chaff. I’ll be getting to that in a minute.)
I will quote the actual report and my reply below.

In page one, under the heading “Background”
“Based on our analysis of data on the location and capabilities of Indian and Chinese strategic forces and related military units, we conclude that this assessment of the balance of forces may be mistaken and a poor guide for Indian security and procurement policies. We recommend that instead of investing in new nuclear weapons platforms that our analysis suggests are not likely to be required to deter China, New Delhi should improve the survivability of its existing forces and fill the gap in global arms control leadership with an initiative on restraint and transparency. :shock:
Translation : We know that India has the ability to kick the bejesus out of China in any conventional fight. So, please recognise this fact and stop using China as an excuse to develop your nuclear capability, deliverability, ABM and other systems that can in the future threaten us too. In return, we will provide India with some sweet words and a high table in some meaningless and toothless chai-biskoot associations. :((

In Page 2.
“What does this data tell us? We assess that India has key under-appreciated conventional advantages that reduce its vulnerability to Chinese threats and attacks. India appears to have cause for greater confidence in its military position against China than is typically acknowledged in Indian debates, providing the country an opportunity for leadership in international efforts toward nuclear transparency and restraint.”

Translation : We beg you, please slow down in your testing and deployment of Nuclear deterrent. Its inconvenient for us and potentially threatening. Please go back to being the Bumbling, Bungling international punching bag you were before 2014. Pretty Please. :cry: :cry:

The knowledge level of these so called experts regarding the Indian Nuclear Programme can be aptly summarised in the below quote.
“Indian nuclear weapons stand ready for delivery by bombers and landbased missiles. As in China, nuclear warheads are held at separate locations from delivery vehicles in peacetime, although there are reports of pre-mating of some Indian missiles to warheads through canisterization. A nuclear strike order would be issued by the Political Council of the Nuclear Command Authority (NCA) and executed through the NCA Executive Council and military Strategic Forces Command.”
Please refer to this link.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZpIrZvP0Co

This is the link to a talk by Vice Admiral Vijay Shankar,PVSM, AVSM who was Commander-in-chief of SFC, at the Lawrence Rivermore National Laboratories. It is from December 2014.
Please pay attention especially from 41:16 to 42:51 mins. (Although the whole video is a must watch for anybody wishing to understand the Indian Nuclear doctrine and posture.)

The Vice Admiral clearly mentions that the Mating system on the Indian Missiles is electronic. Thereby allowing to go from a very low readiness level to a very high readiness level very quickly. I hope this also puts paid to the arguments and discussions in the Deterrence thread regarding whether the Indian nuclear warheads are pre-mated with Launch platforms physically or held separate.
What is surprising about this is that this is not some super-secret talk that the Vice Admiral gave at an undisclosed location, It was a public talk given at one of the most high level nuclear think tanks in the US. In what would be considered their backyard. That these guys still speak of the physical separation of the Nuke warhead from Missiles, just points towards their lack of understanding, comprehension and most gallingly, not doing their homework.

My limited point here is that we need to be wary of Powers that are trying to run their own agenda, especially at a sensitive time like this and at the cost of India’s interests (like Jarita garu has mentioned.) These powers’ motivations could be to use India to subdue the Chinese using Conventional means while leaving its Nuclear punch underdeveloped, so that when ( NOT if) the focus of the West’s rivalry shifts to India,( after the Chinese are suitably subjugated) India will not have the ability to threaten their homelands.
They want to avoid the repeat of the mistake they made in allowing the Rise of China to oppose USSR. So, lets take the report, use to drive the point home towards the fact that we enjoy conventional edge in any confrontation with China, but not give it any more credence than that. I would trust Deans garu and RohitVats garu’s analysis anyday more than some two bit gora from Khanland.

Coming to the Conventional Military Postures mentioned, they are perhaps new to people who have not frequented BRF, but not to the people here. The Analysis of Deans garu has explained the military situation with far more clarity of thought than I can hope to. Shiv saar’s exemplary videos are a great resource to understand the terrain and infrastructure around the LAC. RohitVats garus seminal works regarding the same are also very well researched and presented. So I will not embarrass myself in this department by pretending to know more than I actually know and will be brief.
The conventional military balance tilts heavily in favour of India. In terms of Land forces, we have an advantage in terms of shorter supply lines, forward deployed and acclimatised troops, and a favourable numbers advantage, which requires the Chinese to deploy more troops than they hold in the entire Western Theatre Command, to get even a localised force advantage in Ladakh.
Our Formations tasked with Pakistan are different from our formations tasked with the Chinese. It is not appreciated how much of an advantage this is to us in terms of a two front war. We can deploy more forces in theatre than the Chinese and can overmatch anything they deploy, even in the Air Domain.

The part of our Air Force that is deployed against China is more than anything the Chinese have so far deployed and are able to deploy. The Chinese simply do not have the infrastructure in place to forward deploy a sizeable amount of air force to outnumber IAF. To further degrade the PLAAF ability to deploy air power against us is the altitude constraints they would face in terms of reduced fuel and payload capacity of all frontline fighters. They also have insufficient air to air refuelling capacity to meaningfully change the situation in their favour. (Their refuellers converted from Xian H-6 Bombers anyway suffer from a lack of transferable fuel to refuel, especially when compared to the Il-78. Please refer to Vivek Ahuja garu’s to seminal analysis regarding the same. )

So, in conclusion, India’s deployed forces to counter the PLA & PLAAF are already overmatching anything the Chinese deploy in the Theatre. This is all mind you, without having to retask any formation that is tasked with either the Pak Border or CI. This is not the same for the Chinese. To deploy a sizeable number of forces against IA in order to get a favourable ratio of attacker to defender, the Chinese will have to essentially empty ALL their forces in Xinjiang, Tibet ( Deployed to pacify the local population ) Border forces with Russian tasking, and a substantial drawdown and redeployment of forces from the Eastern Commands facing the Japanese, Taiwan, South Korea, and the US. This is not possible for the Chinese.
In order to overcome these challenges, the authors hypothesise that the PLA and PLAAF will go for missile strikes from stand off ranges against Indian Air bases to incapacitate the IAF’s ability to influence the land battle by interdicting supply lines running through the open terrain of Tibet.

This here is the most important part of this report, which should also answer our questions about the possibility of the Chinese utilizing their superior number of Rocket Forces to overwhelm the Indian Armed Forces.
“Recognizing this dilemma, instead of a regional aircraft offensive, Chinese strategic planners envision early long-range missile strikes against Indian air bases in the event of conflict. However, India benefits from the greater number and redundancy of regional air bases, and the daunting number of Chinese missiles that would be required to truly incapacitate relevant IAF forces. A former IAF official, referring to the high number of disparate targets per air base, the requirement for at least two missiles per target, and the ability of base officials to repave the blast crater with quick-drying concrete within six hours, has articulated the operational problem:
“To keep one airfield shut for 24 hours, the PLAAF will require 220 ballistic missiles. This will not make any difference to IAF Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs | Harvard Kennedy School 11 operations in the east or in the west since the IAF has a large number of other operational airfields to operate from. If the PLAAF attacks just three airfields, it will require 660 ballistic missiles per day for attacking the runway and taxi track alone. China’s stock of 1,000-1,200 MRBMs/SRBMs will be over in less than two days when attacking just three airfields, with no other major target systems like C2 centres or air defence units being addressed”
The report goes on to add that the above report was before the IAF incorporated Fibre Glass mats for runway replacement into its base defence systems, hence they expect the IAF’s ability to withstand the Chinese Long-range missile strikes is very robust, and has actually been gamed by IAF already. (Which should calm and soothe Jingo hearts substantially. 8) )

So, the Conventional military comparison of India and China at the LAC will lead to the conclusion that India vastly overmatches the Chinese in terms of Men, Material and Equipment. We can move supplies quickly and our supply routes are shorter. The operationalisation of the MSC (XVII Corps) as proven in the Exercise “Him Vijay” would indicate that the Indian Army is aware of its advantages and has already gamed the scenarios of use of the MSC in Offensive role to capture “Targets of Value” in Tibet. ( Chola saar will be happy :twisted: :twisted: )

Now Coming to the Paki question. Why are the Pakis losing their minds? I don’t mean just Shahid Masood, who anyway is inconsequential, but the whole Pakjabi Civ-Mil establishment. The number of emergency meetings happening in Pakistan would indicate an extreme browning of pants in Pindi. Why is this so?

For a long time, despite their bravado, the Pakis have known that they can not beat India. Just not possible. So, they stuck to the MMS tested method of terror attacks. Except Modi did Surgical Strikes and Balakot. They know based on the “Qatal ki raat” that any further terror attacks on India will mean a total and very public pant uthrao for their entire Qaum and when that happens and if Pakfauj sits silent and accepts the punishment, then the entire Paki nation will want them dead. But if they retaliate, then India will whoop them again. So, what to do? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Enter the Great Yellow hope of the Pakis. PRC and PLA.
The thinking was, If India attacks Pakistan too severely, or goes “ too far”, then China will intervene on Pakistan’s behalf and threaten to cut off Ladakh, Occupy Leh and Arunachal Pradesh and India will have no option but to comply in the face of Superior Chinese Power. Their entire national insurance policy against an all-out Indian attack is that the Chinese will intervene because of Strategic partnership.
The events of June 15th, and afterwards have unnerved them deeply. If China cannot defeat India at the LAC, then how will it help Pakistan ? If the Conventional force balance tilts heavily in favour of India and in future Indians decide to attack Pakistan to punish it for another terror attack, How will China ensure Pak’s survival as a State?
Their entire premise of standing up to India by partnering with China is on shaky ground because of recent events. Pakistan has noticed that the Chinaman doesn’t want to fight India. Chinaman CANNOT fight India.

If that is the case, then who to turn to? Who will they sleep with now to balance India? And most importantly, Is China reliable?
As far as the Pakistanis observe, they are forced to answer that question with ‘No’.
Hence, the panic and hysteria.
Hope I got my point across.

I will continue my post regarding Chinese intentions in Part 2 since this post is becoming long as it is.

https://thedailyguardian.com/indias-off ... ecosystem/
India’s offensive defence against China and its ecosystem

Enter the Great Yellow hope of the Pakis. PRC and PLA.
The thinking was, If India attacks Pakistan too severely, or goes “ too far”, then China will intervene on Pakistan’s behalf and threaten to cut off Ladakh, Occupy Leh and Arunachal Pradesh and India will have no option but to comply in the face of Superior Chinese Power. Their entire national insurance policy against an all-out Indian attack is that the Chinese will intervene because of Strategic partnership.
The events of June 15th, and afterwards have unnerved them deeply. If China cannot defeat India at the LAC, then how will it help Pakistan ? If the Conventional force balance tilts heavily in favour of India and in future Indians decide to attack Pakistan to punish it for another terror attack, How will China ensure Pak’s survival as a State?
Their entire premise of standing up to India by partnering with China is on shaky ground because of recent events. Pakistan has noticed that the Chinaman doesn’t want to fight India. Chinaman CANNOT fight India.

If that is the case, then who to turn to? Who will they sleep with now to balance India? And most importantly, Is China reliable?
As far as the Pakistanis observe, they are forced to answer that question with ‘No’.
Hence, the panic and hysteria.
Hope I got my point across
Very interesting point. :D :D Belt on roads is turning into belt around the neck. Their own Industry is suffering from Chinese competition (thanks to road infrastructure).The Chinese are treating their fellow brothers in Xinjan pretty bad. So what are they getting from China ? Some hardware and nuke tech i guess. maybe we need to start a new China-TSP relation thread :eek: :eek:

Good job, AdityaVM

Jarita wrote:
He is an unstable maverick for sure but he is a patriot and often there are nuggets of wisdom in what he says. Keeping him at arms length is the wise thing to do but for people on this thread to call him this agent and that agent is inappropriate.
Then in early 90s why was he sitting with likes of vinod dua and prannoy roy and calling BJP anti-muslim? Why was he against removal of 370? and against Ram Mandir in Ayodhya?

Here is the link and video proof of his forked tongue:

http://www.jantakareporter.com/entertai ... ir/264848/
BJP’s Rajya Sabha MP Subramanian Swamy has emerged as the face of hardcore Hindutva ideology in recent years with his utterances often aimed at promoting the unification of Hindus and the weakening of India’s Muslim community. But, a viral old video of Swamy’s interview with journalist Vinod Dua suggests that he was not always so rabid with his anti-Muslim views.

The video clip, now gone viral, shows Swamy lashing out at his present party, the BJP, by highlighting its hypocrisy and the saffron party’s attempts to bring down Indian Muslims.

Speaking to Dua, Swamy is seen slamming the BJP in the viral video. He says that the BJP’s brand of nationalism is ‘totally negative’ adding that it’s designed to hurt Muslims’ interests. “The problem with the BJP’s definition of nationalism is that it’s totally negative. It’s defined in terms of how much Muslims lose. All their programmes if you highlight, they are all oriented towards that,” Swamy is heard saying in the video.

Swamy also goes on to highlight the BJP’s hypocrisy on Article 370 as he says, “Take for example Article 370. Now there’s similar Article 371, but they (the BJP) will never talk about that. That deals with North-East, which says the same thing.”

And he doesn’t stop here. He goes on to call out his present party’s double-standards on the issue of the Ayodhya dispute too as he says, “Same thing with the Ram Mandir. They don’t talk about Kailash Mansarovar, which is even more pavitra (pious) for us. So, their (the BJP’s) whole programme is not in terms of any constructive programmes, but in terms of how Muslims can be brought down.”

No sooner did Swamy’s old video emerge on social media, Twitterati moved in with lightening speed to detect his hypocrisy.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Simpler days, when anti-Muslim dogwhistle was easy to understand, even by the likes of fascist Swamy. pic.twitter.com/1W6ttnw60N

— Baba (@BabaGlocal) September 2, 2019

The great capitulation of the Swamy. https://t.co/UHveZjkymX

— Suchitra Vijayan (@suchitrav) September 2, 2019

In any sane democracy u cant change ur ideology u can’t be a liberal on a day or a facist cheerleader on another pr india m toh neta log 360 degree ka turn le lete hai aur bade aaram se jeet bhi jaate hai voter ko ghanta bhi farq padta ke uske neta ke views ek din m kaise bdl gye

— Яก♡ ㆚คற૯૯ꀋ (@raozam) September 2, 2019

Subramanian Swamy on BJP & Article 370… Have this person ever been consistent on anything in life .This is the Nth time seeing his flip flops on issues.
And there are some educated Idiots who still believe he is a Genius… ??? pic.twitter.com/xhz9fy2mH0

— ?????? ??????? ????? (@princegdr) September 2, 2019
The emergence of this video assumes significance given his support for the abrogation of Article 370 and the construction of a Ram Temple at the disputed land in Ayodhya, where a mosque existed until 6 December 1992. Swamy has also suggested that the Indian government should acquire any disputed land provided it adequately compensated its owners.

More recently, in a bizarre flip flop on the matter of the central government’s decision to abrogate Article 370 on Jammu and Kashmir, Swamy had said jubilantly, “So I am proved right. To abolish Art 370 we do not need a Constitutional Amendment. Amit Shah has however informed Parliament by way of a Resolution what President today has already notified. Art 370 died today. Collaterally so Art 35 A.”

The video in question is taken from Swamy’s interview to Doordarshan in 1991, when he had appeared on the channel to discuss his Samajwadi Janata Party’s dismal performance in that year’s Lok Sabha polls. Among other things, he had said that he will move ‘heaven and earth to see that the BJP doesn’t come to power.’ The Congress had gone on to form a minority government under Narasimha Rao.

Swamy’s interviewers were Vinod Dua and NDTV’s Prannoy Roy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTPbogw ... =emb_title
He is very very slimey snake. Last year in TV interview he said "many years back we had joint meeting of RSS and BJP thinkers and decided to divide muslims using Triple Talak men vs. women and shia vs. sunni

What kind of BJP RSS supporter he is. He is actually very much forked tongue like his daughter working in The Chindu.

Pakis were always "tactically brilliant" (another great BRF coinage)

Kargil was conducted with the expectation that they walk in,

a) India thinks ejecting them will cost too many lives and money and accepts their land grab, they target the highway and mop up Siachen

b) India retaliates, Pakistan does nuclear sabre rattling, world powers intervene, war stops. Highway is blockaded and they capture Siachen

c) India retaliates, China attacks India in Ladakh/Arunachal, Pakis walk into J&K and take all of it.

Bandicoot said something along the lines of "Come October, we shall walk into Siachen – to mop up the dead bodies of Indian soldiers" so the objective was pretty clear.

None of this happened. Indian artillery pounded them, Air Force bombed their logistics and the Infantry took back tiger hill. Cheen made some noises about responsible behavior and Massa having ended Afghan Jihad was too bored to get involved.

International Community (read massa)/China was always central to Pakistan's calculus vis-a-vis JK. If Massa does not care anymore, China cannot intervene anymore, what can Pakis do? Hence the rona dhona vis-a-vis India vs China.

I think there is another tactical brilliance going on. This time in China.

China is heavily invested in CPEC. A lot of money has been sunk in. On top of that it is pretty clear that Pakis are China's client state. If India is involved in some action in say GB, China has to intervene to
(a) Protect its CPEC investment
(b) Show the world that its client states can rely on China

Otherwise, China has no claim to being a superpower. Remember that Massa (before DT) was ready and willing to intervene on behalf of Saudis, SoKo, Taiwan, Germany etc etc. If China cannot give that assurance, why become China's munna?

The tactical brilliance of China there is that they bet on Pakistan. Pakistan will neither have return on investment -- it is not going to become another South Korea with handsome returns on investments, nor will it stop creating problems for itself and hence China -- it is not going to become a peaceful Japan, it will keep picking up fights with Massa and India, which is a constant headache for China.

If anyone in Cheen had any sense, they would have settled the border with India, negotiated a package deal vis-a-vis trade and investment, contained Pakistan with a stern warning to them. Remember that China + India + SE Asia has more people than the rest of the world combined. Instead, another kargil type tactical brilliance by the Chinese.

Ladakh Stand-off: Be prepared to meet fire with fire.
A number of commentators have seen fit to take this argument that the game is over to its logical conclusion: that India should just throw in the towel.

Writing on the popular national security blog WarOnTheRocks, two US academics, basically wrote off India's chances 'India's Pangong Pickle: New Delhi's options after its clash with China'. According to them, India had better accept the inevitable defeat, as China is just too strong, omniscient and omnipotent.

In The Times of India, author Chetan Bhagat wrote a piece titled 'Get peace in return: 'Face' is very important in China. Allow the Chinese to save face'.

Pravin Sawhney, a journalist, tweeted: 'Make peace and adjustments with geography. China will not accept Ladakh UT -- it is very clear. India to decide what cost it is willing to pay for upholding ideology over national security!'

Somewhat bafflingly, retired diplomat, foreign secretary and former ambassador to China Nirupama Menon Rao tweeted: 'If I read China's actions correctly, she is more than ready to burn all boats with India and is just waiting for us to make "strategic miscalculations" (her words) before doing so.'

"In short, we should use diplomatic means to facilitate an agreement between the two militaries to achieve disengagement in areas where the Ladakh LAC is subject to overlapping interpretations."

These are the same tired old bromides that India has been hearing since well before 1962.

That it has to pay attention to China's tender sentiments and not allow it to 'lose face'.

That India must step aside and allow China to get the membership of the UN Security Council that was offered by both the Soviets and the US to India.

That India has options that are bad, ugly and downright suicidal in pushing back militarily on China.
The insidious b a s t a r d s openly batting for china.

Manish_Sharma wrote: He is very very slimey snake. Last year in TV interview he said "many years back we had joint meeting of RSS and BJP thinkers and decided to divide muslims using Triple Talak men vs. women and shia vs. sunni

What kind of BJP RSS supporter he is. He is actually very much forked tongue like his daughter working in The Chindu.
Please don't quote AAP-iya outlets like Janta Ka Reporter.

Swamy has his faults and they're well known. That doesn't make him a villain. He has his place and has done his bit for both India and our civilization - maybe not as much as he claims, but not insignificant either.

Lets have a nuanced understanding about people on our side and not paint them in black or white

pankajs wrote:Rohit Vats on twitter ...
https://twitter.com/KesariDhwaj/status/ ... 5977243648
  • [PLA Ground Forces - Preliminary Assessment]
    • While observation by @SushantSin is correct, I never find anyone do realistic analysis of where these Chinese troops are going to come from? And how long will it actually take them?
    • We just assume Chinese will make things happen.
I have analysed this in some detail in my book `2022 India's two front war' and my numbers and conclusions are the same as Rohit Vats.
Rs_singh

Post by Rs_singh »

Hey deans,
Apologies for asking the umpteenth time but can you please post an amazon link to your book?
R
Mollick.R

Post by Mollick.R »

In statement, Chinese envoy skips claim to Galwan Valley
Sachin Parashar | TNN | Updated: Jul 11, 2020, 03:17 IST

NEW DELHI: Confirming that Indian and Chinese troops are disengaging at LAC as per the consensus reached by the military commanders, Chinese ambassador Sun Weidong Friday called for the two countries to have timely strategic dialogue, enhance mutual trust and to shun suspicion and friction in bilateral ties.
In comments which seemed aimed at soothing frayed nerves here, Sun called for India and China to meet each other "half way" at a time they were faced with a complex situation. He said the two countries should be partners and not rivals.

Full Article Here........//Times of India Link
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 900892.cms

Manish_Sharma wrote:
Jarita wrote:
He is an unstable maverick for sure but he is a patriot and often there are nuggets of wisdom in what he says. Keeping him at arms length is the wise thing to do but for people on this thread to call him this agent and that agent is inappropriate.
Then in early 90s why was he sitting with likes of vinod dua and prannoy roy and calling BJP anti-muslim? Why was he against removal of 370? and against Ram Mandir in Ayodhya?

Here is the link and video proof of his forked tongue:

http://www.jantakareporter.com/entertai ... ir/264848/
BJP’s Rajya Sabha MP Subramanian Swamy has emerged as the face of hardcore Hindutva ideology in recent years with his utterances often aimed at promoting the unification of Hindus and the weakening of India’s Muslim community. But, a viral old video of Swamy’s interview with journalist Vinod Dua suggests that he was not always so rabid with his anti-Muslim views.

The video clip, now gone viral, shows Swamy lashing out at his present party, the BJP, by highlighting its hypocrisy and the saffron party’s attempts to bring down Indian Muslims.

Speaking to Dua, Swamy is seen slamming the BJP in the viral video. He says that the BJP’s brand of nationalism is ‘totally negative’ adding that it’s designed to hurt Muslims’ interests. “The problem with the BJP’s definition of nationalism is that it’s totally negative. It’s defined in terms of how much Muslims lose. All their programmes if you highlight, they are all oriented towards that,” Swamy is heard saying in the video.

Swamy also goes on to highlight the BJP’s hypocrisy on Article 370 as he says, “Take for example Article 370. Now there’s similar Article 371, but they (the BJP) will never talk about that. That deals with North-East, which says the same thing.”

And he doesn’t stop here. He goes on to call out his present party’s double-standards on the issue of the Ayodhya dispute too as he says, “Same thing with the Ram Mandir. They don’t talk about Kailash Mansarovar, which is even more pavitra (pious) for us. So, their (the BJP’s) whole programme is not in terms of any constructive programmes, but in terms of how Muslims can be brought down.”

No sooner did Swamy’s old video emerge on social media, Twitterati moved in with lightening speed to detect his hypocrisy.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Simpler days, when anti-Muslim dogwhistle was easy to understand, even by the likes of fascist Swamy. pic.twitter.com/1W6ttnw60N

— Baba (@BabaGlocal) September 2, 2019

The great capitulation of the Swamy. https://t.co/UHveZjkymX

— Suchitra Vijayan (@suchitrav) September 2, 2019

In any sane democracy u cant change ur ideology u can’t be a liberal on a day or a facist cheerleader on another pr india m toh neta log 360 degree ka turn le lete hai aur bade aaram se jeet bhi jaate hai voter ko ghanta bhi farq padta ke uske neta ke views ek din m kaise bdl gye

— Яก♡ ㆚คற૯૯ꀋ (@raozam) September 2, 2019

Subramanian Swamy on BJP & Article 370… Have this person ever been consistent on anything in life .This is the Nth time seeing his flip flops on issues.
And there are some educated Idiots who still believe he is a Genius… ??? pic.twitter.com/xhz9fy2mH0

— ?????? ??????? ????? (@princegdr) September 2, 2019
The emergence of this video assumes significance given his support for the abrogation of Article 370 and the construction of a Ram Temple at the disputed land in Ayodhya, where a mosque existed until 6 December 1992. Swamy has also suggested that the Indian government should acquire any disputed land provided it adequately compensated its owners.

More recently, in a bizarre flip flop on the matter of the central government’s decision to abrogate Article 370 on Jammu and Kashmir, Swamy had said jubilantly, “So I am proved right. To abolish Art 370 we do not need a Constitutional Amendment. Amit Shah has however informed Parliament by way of a Resolution what President today has already notified. Art 370 died today. Collaterally so Art 35 A.”

The video in question is taken from Swamy’s interview to Doordarshan in 1991, when he had appeared on the channel to discuss his Samajwadi Janata Party’s dismal performance in that year’s Lok Sabha polls. Among other things, he had said that he will move ‘heaven and earth to see that the BJP doesn’t come to power.’ The Congress had gone on to form a minority government under Narasimha Rao.

Swamy’s interviewers were Vinod Dua and NDTV’s Prannoy Roy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTPbogw ... =emb_title
He is very very slimey snake. Last year in TV interview he said "many years back we had joint meeting of RSS and BJP thinkers and decided to divide muslims using Triple Talak men vs. women and shia vs. sunni

Saar
He is an one man army working only for himself what you call a 'Loose Cannon'
But he has certain characteristics which makes useful : like use against the 'Familia', release of temples from gobermint control etc.
He is like a quintessential 'Dog with a bone' if he latches onto something will never let go.
As Chanakya said 'Vishkanya's' have their use but it is how you use them is the 'Rajnithi' :lol: :lol:

AdityaVM wrote:
Thanks very much for your reply. You have gone to great pains to pen your thoughts and have provided us much to think about.
Sridhar K

Post by Sridhar K »

Rs_singh wrote:Hey deans,
Apologies for asking the umpteenth time but can you please post an amazon link to your book?
R
https://www.amazon.in/2022-Indias-two-f ... B07Q29P3M1
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

Now that everyone has more or less discussed all the conventional options, what unconventional options does India have in order to delay, deny, confuse and ultimately destroy SHA's war fighting capabilities?

For me, Cyberwarfare is a must in any war against China. We are terribly lacking in this regard in comparison to the Chinese. We must develop our Cyber security and infrastructure as soon as possible. Chinese have been reported to have taken control of US defense satellites for a brief period back in 2008, so who knows what kind of capabilities they have now.

And If Iran, North Korea can pull off impressive Cyber attacks, why can't we against China? So I am kind of upset this sector was ignored up until 2019.

Another way is to fund insurgency in Tibet/Xinjiang. China is paranoid about people revolting, while our resilience comes from the fact that we have faced insurgencies since 1947, China is very underconfident about handling any insurgency without over reacting.

A simple example is the fact that a few knife attacks in Xinjiang prompted the Chinis to effect a massive increase in internal security budget, internment camps, regular purging of leadership in Xinjiang, huge tech investments to spy. ( Going to extent of testing a emotion checker to identify 'trouble makers'), committing a huge force of security personnel to try and control that region. All of that requires money, persone, time and effort. All because of a few knife attacks. Imagine what the reaction will be if a insurgency similar to Kashmir happens in Tibet or even Xinjiang. People with Ak-47s hunting down SHA will invoke a massive over reaction never seen before. SHA will be bogged down fighting the insurgents and if things go extremely well, it can turn into a money eating blackhole with no end in sight.

It might ultimately fail and chinis might impose it's iron fist on the region, but it could buy crucial years for us to build up our economy and military to ultimately take down China.

So these are my suggestions. Please feel free to dispute any suggestions made if you all feel they are not making sense. After all, I am a layman in comparison to the more knowledgeable people here.

Lastly, I would like all of the posters here to suggest more of unconventional options that India can take to deal with the Chinese menace.

Rs_singh wrote:Hey deans,
R
https://www.amazon.in/2022-Indias-two-f ... B07Q29P3M1

Rsatchi wrote: Saar
He is an one man army working only for himself what you call a 'Loose Cannon'
But he has certain characteristics which makes useful : like use against the 'Familia', release of temples from gobermint control etc.
He is like a quintessential 'Dog with a bone' if he latches onto something will never let go.
As Chanakya said 'Vishkanya's' have their use but it is how you use them is the 'Rajnithi' :lol: :lol:
It is better to have SuSwa `in the tent, pissing out' than the other way around. As long as he gets somewhere with the National Herald and other cases, he should be ok.
SidSoma

Post by SidSoma »

AshishAcharya wrote: Another way is to fund insurgency in Tibet/Xinjiang. China is paranoid about people revolting, while our resilience comes from the fact that we have faced insurgencies since 1947, China is very underconfident about handling any insurgency without over reacting.
China has to an extent stayed out of our North East insurgencies. Are we ready to deal with a reciprocal action.

Chinese don't suffer with internal issues like Indians. Chinese have pretty good surveillance and tracing system to handle any insurgency issues. In addition, they can sanitize the whole areas and other than lip service and sharing space with Dalai Lama there's no real worry of retaliation.

It's also incorrect assumption that chinese haven't contributed to insurgency issues within India.

Any long term strategy like creating insurgency issues within china aren't feasible for India without having only nationalist parties within India. China falling back to mainland is still a big problem for India as now it has ships, manufacturing hubs, technology, etc.

All the long-term plans for causing pains for China exist within India. From securing borders to local MIC to cleaning off structural colonialism to jailing of nehru family to handling green power to killing off brown lizards.

SidSoma wrote:
AshishAcharya wrote: Another way is to fund insurgency in Tibet/Xinjiang. China is paranoid about people revolting, while our resilience comes from the fact that we have faced insurgencies since 1947, China is very underconfident about handling any insurgency without over reacting.
China has to an extent stayed out of our North East insurgencies. Are we ready to deal with a reciprocal action.
There is ample documentation on Chinese involvement in the NE insurgency. Here is one you can glean https://www.idsa-india.org/an-nov-00-8.html If we think Chins have not tried anything in the playbook to undermine India then we should be extremely naive. The only difference between Pakis and the Chins is that Chins are more subtle and deceptive. They will avoid direct confrontation until they know they can clearly win. Really speaking India has not reciprocated in any realistic way when we had ample opportunities.

Folks don't waste space and everyone's time writing about SuSwa.

D.Mahesh

Post by D.Mahesh »

SidSoma wrote:
Not really. China & Pakis have both supported terrorists in NE many time for a long time. Pakis, as you know, did it directly pre-71 and then thru "friendlies" in BD post-80s.

India did some covert work in Tibet in 50s 60s?

This is covert action will liberate is a myth. It's a nuisance at best.
D.Mahesh

Post by D.Mahesh »

ramana wrote:This is covert action will liberate is a myth. It's a nuisance at best.
Nothing about purpose, effectiveness etc. Just a line added to the score.