Understanding the US - Again

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Understanding the US - Again

https://swarajyamag.com/insta/us-escala ... turer-smic
US Escalates Its Crackdown On Chinese Companies, Plans To Block Trade With China’s Largest Contract Chip Manufacturer SMIC

In a move that has the potential to dramatically escalate the already fractious trade and technology war between the two nations, US administration is weighing the option of placing export restrictions on China’s Semiconductor Manufacturing International Corp. (SMIC) by adding in to the Commerce Department entity list that effectively bans trade with American firms, The Wall Street Journal reported.

SMIC is China’s largest contract chip manufacturer and could jeopardise China’s long-standing ambitions to become self-reliant on critical technologies.

The proposed punitive action is on the lines of recent U.S measures against Chinese Telecom behemoth Huawei Technologies Co.

If SMIC is indeed targeted, will be a kick and stamp on the b@lls of the Chinese semicon ambitions.

sum wrote:If SMIC is indeed targeted, will be a kick and stamp on the b@lls of the Chinese semicon ambitions.
That's why this election is so crucial.

Will T stay course if he wins on China or will he flip?

With Biden, one doesn't even get to ask that question about flipping or not flipping. Biden's campaign hasn't made any specific calls about what he will do against china.

darshan wrote:With Biden, one doesn't even get to ask that question about flipping or not flipping. Biden's campaign hasn't made any specific calls about what he will do against china.
The model that was used by Clinton, Bush II and Obama administrations to promote the rise of Chinese manufacturing for American share holders of a number of companies will be used. It will be a return to the model of “business as usual”.

This is a guarantee.

The US prison system is a crime scene(literally and otherwise).
The fact that prisoners can extort and there is no legal recourse is heinous.

https://news.yahoo.com/stab-now-familys ... 27458.html
The state’s longtime failure to stem their proliferation has allowed inmates to use the devices to threaten and extort families of vulnerable prisoners. The typical threat — pay or your loved one gets hurt or even killed — is delivered by call or text. Images of the threat being carried out sometimes follow.

The extortion continued with Ryan Rust’s transfer to the Bullock medium-security prison in Union Springs, where he was stabbed again, and from where the family received one of the more horrifying threats. “They were going to take baby oil and something else and heat it up in the microwave,” Jeff Rust said. “Then throw it on him if we didn’t pay.”

In 2018, four days before Christmas, Ryan Rust was found dead with a belt around his neck in his solitary cell at the Holman maximum-security prison in Atmore — a facility so notorious and dilapidated that the Alabama Department of Corrections has announced plans to partially decommission it.

Many prisons in the US are actually run by private companies on Govt contracts. Its a big business. Everyone makes money if someone is thrown into jail. Tax payers vote for stricter DAs and Police Chiefs, whose campaigns and veteran assos. are funded by prison companies.

Investigation under way in police shooting of Utah boy, 13
https://apnews.com/6470b3a86d97b05794ef1e1178fbb35d
SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — Authorities in Utah are investigating the shooting of a 13-year-old autistic boy by police in the Salt Lake City area.

Police said they were called to a home in Glendale Friday night with a report of a boy who had threatened people with a weapon. The boy reportedly ran and was shot by an officer after being pursued by police.

The boy’s mother, Golda Barton, told KUTV-TV that her son has autism and she had called police because he was having a breakdown and needed a crisis intervention team.

Barton claimed she told police her son was unarmed and warned them that he did not know how to regulate his behavior.

From NBA to Disney, corporate America and money minded Americans don't care about human rights. US islamists have also disappeared from the scene with only token words about chinese muslims.
Disney Thanks Chinese Labor Camp Authorities in Mulan Credits
https://reason.com/2020/09/08/disney-th ... n-credits/
That's makes Disney's filming location—Xinjiang—an extra slap in the face. Xinjiang is where China has been holding Uighurs in concentration camps and subjecting them and other Muslim minorities to horrible human rights abuses.

"The repression of ethnic Uighurs and Kazakhs in the western part of the country has been increasingly brutal and systematic," explained Daniel Drezner at Reason in April. "The erection of a massive network of internment facilities, prisons, and forced labor camps speaks to the regime's ruthlessness and deep illiberalism."

Which brings us back to Mulan. After the movie's Friday release "observers noted [that] in the final credits Disney offers 'special thanks' to eight government entities in Xinjiang, including the public security bureau in Turpan, a city in eastern Xinjiang where several re-education camps have been documented," notes The Guardian. In addition:

The film also expresses thanks to the "publicity department of CPC Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomy Region Committee", the Chinese Communist party's propaganda department in Xinjiang. Disney has been approached for comment. […]

Activists calling for a boycott of the film are now highlighting its links to Xinjiang, while other researchers noted that the public security bureau in Turpan oversees at least 14 internment camps in the area.

Mulan specifically thank the publicity department of CPC Xinjiang uyghur autonomous region committee in the credits.

You know, the place where the cultural genocide is happening.

They filmed extensively in Xinjiang, which the subtitles call "Northwest China"#BoycottMulan pic.twitter.com/mba3oMYDvV

— Jeannette Ng 吳志麗 (@jeannette_ng) September 7, 2020

"It's sufficiently astonishing that it bears repeating: Disney has thanked four propaganda departments and a public security bureau in Xinjiang, a region in northwest China that is the site of one of the world's worst human rights abuses happening today," writes Washington Post contributor Isaac Stone Fish.

"Disney has a long and ongoing relationship with China, where its films often find success in theaters and where its Shanghai Disneyland theme park resides," notes The Verge. And the company is expecting the new Mulan to do well in China where, unlike the U.S., it will actually be shown in theaters.

"Theatrically, Mulan has generated $6 million in limited markets—including Thailand, Malaysia, and Singapore—in its first weekend The film is slated to be released in China on September 11th," The Verge adds.

Seems like someone is up to BIF mischief.

Sikhs being counted as separate 'ethno-religious' group in US census
https://menafn.com/1100765926/Sikhs-bei ... -US-census
New York, Sep 8 (IANS) In a break from the US constitutional separation of state and religion, the administration of President Donald Trump has introduced Sikhs as a distinctive group to be counted in the ongoing census and not as Asian Indians.

Because of the legal prohibition against asking questions about religion, Census Bureau officials said they consider Sikhism a "cultural" or an "ethno-religious" identity.

Sikhism does not appear as a category to tick off on the census forms that US residents are legally required to fill out, but Sikhs can tick off the "Other Asian" category and write in their religion as a sub-category instead of listing themselves under Asian Indian or other listed racial and ethnic identities, according to the Census Bureau.

I believe that this is bit of old news as census guidelines and forms were out months ago.

darshan wrote:Investigation under way in police shooting of Utah boy, 13
https://apnews.com/6470b3a86d97b05794ef1e1178fbb35d
SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — Authorities in Utah are investigating the shooting of a 13-year-old autistic boy by police in the Salt Lake City area.

Police said they were called to a home in Glendale Friday night with a report of a boy who had threatened people with a weapon. The boy reportedly ran and was shot by an officer after being pursued by police.

The boy’s mother, Golda Barton, told KUTV-TV that her son has autism and she had called police because he was having a breakdown and needed a crisis intervention team.

Barton claimed she told police her son was unarmed and warned them that he did not know how to regulate his behavior.
This is a repeat of police being called for minor disturbances and getting shot.
Its death sentence to call police for a disturbed kid.

KJo wrote:Seems like someone is up to BIF mischief.

Sikhs being counted as separate 'ethno-religious' group in US census
https://menafn.com/1100765926/Sikhs-bei ... -US-census
New York, Sep 8 (IANS) In a break from the US constitutional separation of state and religion, the administration of President Donald Trump has introduced Sikhs as a distinctive group to be counted in the ongoing census and not as Asian Indians.

Because of the legal prohibition against asking questions about religion, Census Bureau officials said they consider Sikhism a "cultural" or an "ethno-religious" identity.

Sikhism does not appear as a category to tick off on the census forms that US residents are legally required to fill out, but Sikhs can tick off the "Other Asian" category and write in their religion as a sub-category instead of listing themselves under Asian Indian or other listed racial and ethnic identities, according to the Census Bureau.
Seems like political FUD.

I don't recall that when I filled out the 2020 Census on-line. I saw:
Asian – A person having origins in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, Thailand, and Vietnam.
https://www.census.gov/topics/populatio ... about.html

I believe the Sikh coalition had sent out flyers to utilize others field and write in. Though it's not clear if census department would count it. If they do then we will find out how many followed through.

DLA Piper, a multinational law firm, boasts nearly 30 years of experience in China and over 140 lawyers dedicated to its “China Investment Services” branch.

Harris’s links to the company are found with her husband, Douglas Emhoff, who has served as a Partner in the firm’s Intellectual Property and Technology practice and its Media, Sport, and Entertainment sector since 2017.

kamala harris's husband's firm, DLA PIPER, consults on behalf of a bevy of chinese communist party-owned companies and employs former chinese communist party officials

I Was a U.S. Diplomat. Customs and Border Protection Only Cared That I Was Black.

https://www.politico.com/news/magazine/ ... sed-325676

CBP pulls over people and all the times. Nothing new. I have pretty much always carried passport with me while being closer to borders. May be she is young and female that's the cause. I have seen brown biases with CBP while going in and out of border check posts in the manner she described but I have never seen blacks in the same thorough inspection queue as me. Not that I see that many blacks cross or be nearby borders. May be that kicked off oddness indicator for CBP. May be now on she will champion for brown biases at all checkpoints from CBP to TSA to local DL offices to local city offices.
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

darshan wrote:CBP pulls over people and all the times. Nothing new. I have pretty much always carried passport with me while being closer to borders. May be she is young and female that's the cause. I have seen brown biases with CBP while going in and out of border check posts in the manner she described but I have never seen blacks in the same thorough inspection queue as me. Not that I see that many blacks cross or be nearby borders. May be that kicked off oddness indicator for CBP. May be now on she will champion for brown biases at all checkpoints from CBP to TSA to local DL offices to local city offices.
I do travel to Brownsville, South Padre area since I own a home in that area. I have been stopped by CBP and all they asked me was if I was a US citizen and I just have to look straight into their eyes and say "Yes".

I have never been pulled over for secondary for the few hundred times, I travel there. Anytime you travel to the border there are rolling checkpoints.

Kati wrote:I Was a U.S. Diplomat. Customs and Border Protection Only Cared That I Was Black.

I can believe it and has been going on for nearly 20 years at the crossing at El Paso. My Mexican friends, who are US citizens or legal residents, don't like to cross there have told me the CBP are racists in El Paso. They prefer to cross at Laredo and Brownsville. I myself had no problem at Brownsville with family.
mappunni

Post by mappunni »

Kati wrote:I Was a U.S. Diplomat. Customs and Border Protection Only Cared That I Was Black.

I can believe it and has been going on for nearly 20 years at the crossing at El Paso. My Mexican friends, who are US citizens or legal residents, don't like to cross there have told me the CBP are racists in El Paso. They prefer to cross at Laredo and Brownsville. I myself had no problem at Brownsville with family.
And many of those CBP folks are in fact are Chicanos. Anytime you get off 37 onto 69 towards Brownsville, you tend to see a lot of rolling checkpoints.

They aren't all racists and many act on instincts. Tons of Gujju folks run businesses in border areas from Texas to California. We are all alright with CBP. Only thing we are annoyed about is no easy crossing like old days to go and buy produce and do easy vacationing. It used to be that one just drove and back without any waits. Now one has to account for long lines heading back. I personally have federal agencies as clients (including CBP). I have even had many close calls when travelling from El Paso to San Antonio at night. Don't mind CBP presence at all. Matter of fact many many gujju small businesses are happy with their presence. Many times you get pulled over and having passport information helps you get rolling faster. Especially in areas known to harbor criminal elements like fort stockton to El paso to southern arizona. Desis usually get pulled over due to steady increase in illegals from greater India. CBP can't tell whether you're BD, paki, etc. till close inspection. The same reason many times I get singled out at airports in test range areas. Heck, security personnel at my work places are more racist than CBP where many times they check my badge while just move their heads when non desi employee drives up. Many times while crossing in from Mexico, my car have been pulled over while other cars belonging to family and friends going through alright. Racist CBP would have pulled over the whole caravan. Never seen once where they pulled over all cars. This includes all major border crossings from Texas to California.

In that article, the lady should have known that being diplomat doesn't make you crime free. One just has to stand there and observe about how fast queues are moving and how one asks you to pull over the car. Lot of it is based on threat matrix. Else, black people occupying govt offices are always yelling at people who don't speak English that well and are immigrants. Where does one complain about that?

Particular car models alert CBP and police. That lady should have tried with another car to confirm racial bias.

CBP at El Paso are A-holes confirmed by multiple Mexican people. So her story does have a ring of truth to it.

Certainly not Democrats, human rights groups, corporate America, muslims, etc.

Trump has moved the needle with respect to chinese but many are still pretending to be asleep.

This writer's suggestion is to do chai biscoot all day on chinese human rights violations. The better suggestion would have been grassroots campaign starting all over the school campuses. Of course, chinese won't like the whole young generation to be anti chinese.
Who will speak for the oppressed Uighurs of China?
https://chicago.suntimes.com/columnists ... xi-jinping
No, the U.S. should demand a United Nations investigation. We may disdain the international organization, and our skepticism is well-founded in many ways, but other nations pay attention to what happens there. The Trump administration has pulled away, leaving more scope to China to exert influence.

Our diplomats should raise the Uighurs, Kazakhs and Tibetans at every international forum. In concert with our allies, we should demand transparency from the Chinese. They won’t comply, but we can make it as embarrassing as possible for them.

darshan wrote:Else, black people occupying govt offices are always yelling at people who don't speak English that well and are immigrants. Where does one complain about that?
I have first hand experience of this. Found blacks to be very hostile towards immigrants especially Indians. They are in the same "these people steal our jobs" category as kkk loving whites.

^^^This is true. In some professional settings they see educated Indian immigrants as "taking the jobs that belong to blacks". I've had black engineers be very hostile to me professionally.
arijitdas

Post by arijitdas »

Khan is reaching out to all of India's neighbours. Interesting development.
https://twitter.com/NavroopSingh_/statu ... 2977872896

Read on the internet that 2 police officers sitting in their patrol vehicle minding their own business were ambushed by a gunman in California. Both officers are in critical condition and when they were being taken to the hospital, a large mob blocked off the entrance and exit of the hospital shouting "Let them die!". Make no mistake a low intensity civil war has broken out in US, how far it goes is got to be seen but the radical left with their allies like BLM, militant feminists, anarchists etc. are exactly the same as our naxals. It also puts into perspective how India has to fight just to survive each day given that along with radical, militant left, we also have to fight Islamists, the church and their powerful international benefactors .

Continues to look like Trump vs Republicans/Democrats. Creators of naxals deploying their own tactics within US. Prices of guns keep going up.

Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard cancels Netflix, calls out controversial movie ‘Cuties’, likens it to child *****
https://www.opindia.com/2020/09/tulsi-g ... hild-*****/
US Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard on Friday called out Netflix for streaming controversial movie ‘Cuties’ and referred to the newly released film as child *****.

The Democratic Hawaii Representative Gabbard also said she has cancelled her Netflix account and called others to ‘cancel’ Netflix over its new film ‘Cuties’ which sexualizes depictions of young girls.

The former Democratic presidential candidate attacked streaming giant Netflix arguing that the controversial film will only increase the appetite for paedophiles and help fuel the child sex trafficking trade.

darshan wrote:Continues to look like Trump vs Republicans/Democrats. Creators of naxals deploying their own tactics within US. Prices of guns keep going up.
A vote for Biden is a vote for China and urban naxalites.

Anything and everything to oppose Trump.

https://twitter.com/nytopinion/status/1 ... 3001959424
Even if you’ve never used never used TikTok, you should care about President Trump’s aggression towards it. “This is an attack on self-expression, and abuse of power, and an attempt to limit what we can access on the internet," says Rey Jarrell. https://nyti.ms/3kcTIdS
https://twitter.com/Jason/status/1305567403917455360
This is so narcissistic and clueless it's embarrassing...

... the CCP is committing genocide and just rolled over Hong Kong, but, sure, your life is over because you have to switch from TikTok to other platform restart your follower counts. boo hoo!

When one thinks about significant portion of US voters, one doesn't know if to cry or laugh. Chinese have been the threat to US since last two decades or so and this people have no clue. US MIC is feverishly designing new generation of weapons to be able to challenge chinese over past few years and this public is busy watching NFL/NBA/Netflix.....

Without overwhelming support from US voters, it will be hard to trust electoral voters in this election as one can't put past many Republicans to throw this election. Last time they probably thought that they would be able to control and manipulate Trump and voted on party line which may not be true this time.

For those Indian-Americans rooting for Shree Biden and have access, please do bring this up with him or his team and ask him if he was wrong in his assessment that India’s civilian space program is dangerous. Better yet, ask him to give a public reply for closure:

Senators Put a Price on New Russian Aid : Arms control: Foreign Relations panel votes to block assistance if Moscow goes through with rocket sale to India.

The unanimous 19-0 vote by the Senate Foreign Relations Committee added several new conditions to President Bush’s proposal for $24 billion in international assistance to the struggling former superpower.

“I am confident that the Russian leaders will recognize the wisdom of stopping this sale once they see the risk of losing their economic aid,” said Sen. Joseph R. Biden Jr. (D-Del.), who offered the amendment. “This is no minor sale; this is dangerous.”
This might seem trivial to many Indian-Americans now waxing eloquent about India’s space program and gushing about ISRO, but as someone who has seen the external parties targeting people like Dr Nambi Narayanan, I feel this need to be posted here

hnair,

Many Indian-Americans don't care, you can even see it in this forum, they will vote for Jihadi Joe no matter what. They will rationalize his anti-India stand stating India has to take care of itself. He is after all Hilal-e-Pakistan recipient and ensurer of hundreds of millions dollars to TSP. Expect that to start up after January.

Forget about US, sizeable within India don't care. But of course, if there's any dharmic is on fence and looking for guidance, then this person doesn't need to look any further about which side to vote for.

darshan wrote:Forget about US, sizeable within India don't care. But of course, if there's any dharmic is on fence and looking for guidance, then this person doesn't need to look any further about which side to vote for.
Why should Indians in India care about an election that they have zero influence over, and frankly, for most in India it would have zero effect on their lives too. Even Indians in the US have zero influence over the elections. Many are not yet citizens, and while Republican senators keep blocking the green card bills in the Senate, they will never be. The ones who are citizens have some impact, but not a whole lot thanks to limited numbers and concentration in Dem strongholds rather than swing constituencies.

Indians in the US are in a "na ghar ka na ghat ka" situation. Democrats don't like them because they are legal immigrants not illegal, economically successful, so can't be used to sell the "White Patriarchy oppressing everyone" narrative, too few in number to serve as a useful votebank and of course because they are Hindu. Republicans don't like them because they are brown immigrants who are "stealing errr jerbs!" and because they are Hindu.

Comment was about ISRO and Nambi and not Indians caring about US elections which by the way they do. Your comments are correct but only if they understood themselves. Just see how many Indian news peddlers cover US based events. Or how many non US citizens discuss US elections. Sometimes I hear more about hurricanes and fires in US on Indian news media than in US ones. Then there's unlimited aping of US and hoping that US adopts India as one more state. The list can go on from netflix/hollywood to consuming drugs in manner similar to US people to taking out rallies against Trump to metoo to gender identity. One can pretend that Indians don't care but then it will only be pretention. However, it would be a good point if one were to say that they should not care or give a damn.

A Judge Asked Harvard to Find Out Why So Many Black People Were In Prison. They Could Only Find 1 Answer: Systemic Racism
https://www.theroot.com/a-judge-asked-h ... 1845017462

https://www.bridgemi.com/quality-life/t ... higan-back
Presidential clash on refugees
President Trump and Joe Biden are polar opposites. Here is what they’ve said or done on the subject:
Biden on refugees:

Proposes annual U.S. refugee target of 125,000
Would establish a minimum admission number of 95,000 refugees
“I believe that resettling refugees helps reunite families, enriches the fabric of America, and enhances our standing, influence, and security in the world.”
“Restoring America’s historic role as leader in resettlement and defending the rights of refugees everywhere will take concrete action.”
“We will not, and we cannot, allow hate and rage to divide us further.”

Trump on refugees

Lowered admission ceiling successively from 110,000 refugees set by President Obama 50,000 for fiscal year 2017, 45,000 for fiscal year 2018, 30,000 for fiscal year 2019 and to 18,000 for fiscal year 2020
“The United States will not be a refugee holding facility.”
“Many refugees come from countries that are known sources of terrorism or lack the modern recordkeeping to help us identify their nationals.”
“The United States spends billions of dollars resettling refugees that could be invested in our citizens here at home.”
“The United States can only admit so many refugees while ensuring we maintain a high standard of screening.”