2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: 2021 Strategic and Political Analysis-1

I would reach out to Vaishali Poddar, Swati Goel, etc. I'm hoping that they start another one in parallel for Nikita Tomar to fight the case.

https://mobile.twitter.com/sewanyaya?lang=en
Last edited by darshan on 13 Feb 2021 21:52, edited 2 times in total.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 898931.cms

"bloom" berg ., says it all , next time you see "news" look at who has done the narrative .The news is dead. Long live the narrative.

mumtaz bano's nephew's house in kolkata. It has escalators.

but no hawai chappals

an event in boston last year that was attended by some unexpected people

how intricately the BIF web is interconnected

chetak wrote:pappu has become increasingly brazen with his lies and attacks on the PM

Rahul’s remarks part of Congress-China MoU: Nadda

Feb 13, 2021

NEW DELHI: Several BJP members reacted strongly to Rahul Gandhi’s remarks against PM Modi and his allegation that India had ceded territory to China with party chief J P Nadda calling the charge yet another edition of the Congress “circus” and part of the Congress-China MoU.

The BJP chief reiterated what defence minister Rajnath Singh said in Parliament and the MoD has also said no Indian land was given up. “If anyone committed the sin of giving up thousands of sq km, it is one corrupt, cowardly dynasty that has broken the country to keep their power intact,” Nadda tweeted, sharing a media report in which an Army veteran recalled how the country ceded land to China after the 1962 war when Jawaharlal Nehru was PM.

Junior home minister G Kishan Reddy said Rahul must ask his grandfather (Jawaharlal Nehru) about who gave India's territory to China.
I think a big part of the problem with publc perception of how much of J&K/ Ladakh was actually lost by India during Nehru's time, is the way the maps of the region are shown in India's school books and everywhere else. As a result, 9 out of 10 Indians do not know the true ground position. My wife and my close friends did not know. All they have seen on the Maps of India is a state in the north with a huge geographical area that looks larger than the nearby Punjab, Haryana, and Himachal Pradesh combined, and they think India possesses it all, and all is fine.

IMHO, India needs to change the official maps to ones like these:

https://www.mapsofworld.com/india/jammu-and-kashmir/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kashmir#/ ... r_2019.jpg

Annotate PoK on the map as "Area illegally occupied by Pakistan", and CoL to "Area illegally occupied by China". These areas should be in different color and shaded.

I bet this will open the eyes of our people to what our dear Chacha actually gave away, without compromising India's official claim on all of the erstwhile Princely State of Jammu and Kashmir.

IMHO only. Any thoughts?

darshan wrote:
AshishA wrote: Okay. So what are the solutions? Because it will be better to discuss solutions if these analysis does not help. Instead of expressing anger on SM, what can be done to prevent this?
Not the first time this subject has been discussed on this forum. Certainly one can reference past back and forth on the subject matter. Recently there was a partial list of echo chambers that was complied where this subject comes up and various solutions are offered. In the past, Shivaji and his followers has seen some success and that can be studied.

Though I suspect that everyone may have a common suggestion that you don't sleep with your enemy. Identify and treat enemies and jaichands as one suppose to. You have been being killed for over thousand years. Plenty of people have gone through various ways to handle this. Find out who had a success and why.

Certainly one should not let go of public angst and should openly talk about Hindus being killed at every occasion. Keep a list of events. That's the least one can do if nothing else. Show the weakness or shyness about the subject matter and see your enemy smelling the blood.

These enemies feed on people not seeing them as enemies.

islamists have clear dictate of killing one leaving islam. Hindus aren't in a state to protect ones already in the ghar. How are they going to protect ones returning? Why would I even return if Hindus are not in strong position to save me? I rather pretend to be a muslim.
Several good points. One thing that has always fascinated me is the quick response by Islamists on any discussions about atrocities committed by them - but what about Akhlaq? What about Kathua? Very few Hindus remember the names of their own fallen or the circumstances.

Just like we need a list of terrorist incidents against India, we need a list of martyrs that have been the victims of Islamic aggression. We need to 'never forget' and 'never forgive'. One thing I have always said in favor of our Sikh brethren is that they do not shy away from painting the walls of their holiest places with the gory details of the Sword of Islam, so that even the young will see and remember. Jewish parents in the US will send their children on a trip to visit the camps in Auschwitz, Bergen-Belsen, Dachau and all those places. We Hindus on the other hand are quick to turn the other cheek or simply forget about it.

Rinku Sharma, Manish Tiwari, Ankit Sharma, Nikita Tomar, Dhruv Tyagi and countless others should become household names. Their killers should be pursued until justice is served. There should be an organization that can be funded by us which handles the legal and other costs. Take a page again from the Jewish experience. We need our own Simon Wiesenthal Foundation. If justice cannot be obtained in the tainted courts of a hostile local regime, then justice must be served by other means. The perpetrators MUST understand that they will not get away. They must constantly look over their shoulders for the rest of their miserable lives, waiting for the blow to come, their pictures prominently displayed in public places for everyone to see.

There is a lot that can be done if there is unity of purpose and the courage to do it. The only language an aggressor understands is that of retaliation. As Yogi Ji said a long time ago, you kill one, we kill ten. This is not how it should be, but the fear alone would be enough of a deterrent. Yes, this means you lose a little bit of your soul, but it is better than losing all of it and your entire civilization with it.
OmkarC

Post by OmkarC »

Rudradev wrote:Demography is destiny.

At first when you look at the mass of Muslims with Indian citizenship and their birth rate, a certain picture emerges.

But then you need to consider that Islam has its own built-in caste system, one that (unlike the caste system in Dharmic societies) has never been questioned or subjected to attempted reform, and hence thrives at extreme levels of discrimination and oppression.

Listen to Pashmanda Muslims describe their status in their own words. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8_6ryRZcU0

These are backward-caste Muslims who constitute about 85% of the Indian Muslim population. They are very much aware that they are descendants of converts from Dharmic religions-- this is the very reason used to justify their perennially low status and subjugation within Islam, after all-- and among the educated ones, many are figuring out that Islam doesn't offer them a good deal at all.

There are many reasons why the Pashmanda were suppressed in silence until now, mostly revolving around a bargain between the 15% Ashraf Muslim elites and the sickular parties of the Congress-Left ecosystem. The Ashrafs delivered the vote banks and the Congress ecosystem ensured that the Ashrafs alone got to dictate terms on behalf of all Muslims.

Very briefly-- until Modi came along the Pashmanda did not see any alternative to toeing the line prescribed by the leaders of Indian Islamic society, who were all Ashrafs. Now their eyes are opening to alternative models. The process will get intensified as more and more Pashmanda gain access to education, infrastructure, communications, and the internet. For example, observing the glaring success of subcontinental Ashrafs in fructifying Nazariya-e-Pakistan (as compared to kaffir-dominated India) will be an important realization for them.

In sum, while we think there are 200 million Muslims in India, the truth may be that only 15% of them are truly wedded to (and invested in) the idea of Islam First. Those 30 million currently have all the power, political backing (of Indian opposition parties and foreign interests), and all the money. They also make the most noise and when you hear somebody of Indian origin speaking for "Muslims" or "Islam" in India or abroad, you can bet your foreskin that he or she comes from this 15%.

But 30 million people really isn't all that very many. Heck, the population of Greater Mumbai or NCR alone is almost that much.

To say more than this is to go beyond the scope of discussion in this forum.

I have met some unusual M folks in the past, some of them are silent followers of Astrology, admit to converting to mostly vegetarian diet & even practicing yoga.. some from older generation know perhaps more about temples and their significance than any modernized urban HINOs (Hindus in name only) - of course that trend is slowly changing for the worse with increasing silent wahabization everywhere.

Your analysis explains why such people exist - if 80%+ of M population in India is Ajlafs, they are the folks conscious of their ancestor's conversion and at least acknowledge their ancestors' Hindu roots.. and since those who see commonalities are the ones most susceptible to potential reconciliation, they are seen as a major threat to the stranglehold of Ashraf's on power, as they will become irrelevant if that ever happens. One can never imagine Ashrafs like Owaisi bros ever being curious about his own ancestors faith (even getting him to accept his ancestors were Hindu would be a near impossible feat).

Modi & his ameliatory approach are therefore dangerous to the strangle hold of Ashrafs over their Qaum..more generally, the simple humanitarian act of mainstreaming & empowering all hitherto victimized groups and creating a uniform national identity among them - is an existential threat to all forms of Elitists: Ashraf Muslims, Evangelist pastors, Caste obsessed Feudalists, Jutt Sikhs and left liberal elites.. liberating Muslim women from TTT, liberating farmers from elite middle men, empowering & giving dignity to poor sanitation workers, etc.

Hence they (elitists of all communities) will continue to up-the-ante, and try to pit their entire communities or demographies they claim to represent/own, against the nationalist causes - will constantly provoke us vs them conflicts.

So, if we believe the reality of India's situation was correctly captured above, then we should all support Modi Ji's strategy regardless of whatever happens in the short term - support his single-minded pursuit of forging a common national identity.

Some thoughts on Rinku Sharma's & Nikita Tomar's gruesome murders:

- Ideal solution would be to create solid systems that work and have buy-in of all citizens that there is a trust-worthy system in place.. include all forms of legislature, bureaucracy, media and judiciary.. those who commit heinous crimes would be arrested, sentenced and punished accordingly regardless of which community they belong to. This would mute responses of the community members if anyone from their Qaum gets arrested for criminal conspiracies. This will also obviate the need for Hindus to display any "street power" or remove fear that justice will be denied.

- Since we cannot have the above, as criminal elements have patronage of elitists and every branch of governance has been corrupted to core to serve elitist interests, there needs to be a hybrid solution- part street power display that there will be massive retaliation + a tactical fight against every single narrative that challenges the actual ground truth, while a system closer to the ideal one above is built up by Modiji.. this is happening haphazardly and intermittently, and where there is a room for improvement as this is something totally in the control of nationalist forces.. fighting tooth and nail for every injustice and partial actions of corrupted branches of governance, should be something that could be better organized and structured.

Avtar Singh

Post by Avtar Singh »

India needs to start an english/local language broadcast channel in every country...
similar to RT but not quite..
INDIA/INDIAN NEWS only... not like RT covering any other topics/news of the country in which it is broadcast. This will avoid regulatory blocks... eg dont cover UK news in UK just broadcast Indian news.

A lot of bang for the buck.

One continuously hears 250mn on strike!!! Seriously, nearly the population of USA is on strike in India.

There is a lot of interest in India from anglos/heard greek you tube person showing a lot of interest.

Go direct to their citizens with the facts as they are and this would counter all the fake narratives by their own anti India media.... The said countries citizens will then do the work for India...

Most of them now hate their own media anyway and they suspect they are being fed lies about India
AshishA

Post by AshishA »

OmkarC wrote: - Since we cannot have the above, as criminal elements have patronage of elitists and every branch of governance has been corrupted to core to serve elitist interests, there needs to be a hybrid solution- part street power display that there will be massive retaliation + a tactical fight against every single narrative that challenges the actual ground truth, while a system closer to the ideal one above is built up by Modiji.. this is happening haphazardly and intermittently, and where there is a room for improvement as this is something totally in the control of nationalist forces.. fighting tooth and nail for every injustice and partial actions of corrupted branches of governance, should be something that could be better organized and structured.
I would argue that street power display needs supporting infrastructure. And to do that bureaucracy, judiciary and police need to be painted Bhagwa. Like the zakat foundation planning to infiltrate govt, I think we need something similar. Even though the curriculum that is required for the services is staunchly leftist but it cannot deter or change the mind of a person who already knows that these resources are biased.

Muslims could get away with everything because the prison system, state machinery and the politicians were behind them. Now, they have losing political power due to modi and co. If the current leftist control of bureaucracy is overthrown, it will enable the Hindus to effectively demonstrate street power.

Next comes the media. Republic is the starting. But I feel Doornub suffers from the secularism disease from time to time. But if we increase the amount of sanatanis that graduate with mass communication and become newbie journalists, we can see the change in next 5-6 years.

So the most important long term action in all of this is the educational institutions. Especially the good ones. If they can be changed from their current indifference or leftist stand into staunchly Hindu then it will change everything. But currently I don't see it happening.

Immediate action that we can do is increase the intake of Kattar Hindus in the services. This the most important step. More kattar Hindu DMs, SPs, joint secretaries, DGs will be very useful in handling case of any display of Muslim street power. We must remember that this state machinery was used brutally against us. One example is Bihar durgavisharjan case. Or even the latest Rinku Sharma case where the police is straight lying.
OmkarC

Post by OmkarC »

AshishA wrote:
OmkarC wrote: - Since we cannot have the above, as criminal elements have patronage of elitists and every branch of governance has been corrupted to core to serve elitist interests, there needs to be a hybrid solution- part street power display that there will be massive retaliation + a tactical fight against every single narrative that challenges the actual ground truth, while a system closer to the ideal one above is built up by Modiji.. this is happening haphazardly and intermittently, and where there is a room for improvement as this is something totally in the control of nationalist forces.. fighting tooth and nail for every injustice and partial actions of corrupted branches of governance, should be something that could be better organized and structured.
I would argue that street power display needs supporting infrastructure. And to do that bureaucracy, judiciary and police need to be painted Bhagwa. Like the zakat foundation planning to infiltrate govt, I think we need something similar. Even though the curriculum that is required for the services is staunchly leftist but it cannot deter or change the mind of a person who already knows that these resources are biased.

Muslims could get away with everything because the prison system, state machinery and the politicians were behind them. Now, they have losing political power due to modi and co. If the current leftist control of bureaucracy is overthrown, it will enable the Hindus to effectively demonstrate street power.

Next comes the media. Republic is the starting. But I feel Doornub suffers from the secularism disease from time to time. But if we increase the amount of sanatanis that graduate with mass communication and become newbie journalists, we can see the change in next 5-6 years.

So the most important long term action in all of this is the educational institutions. Especially the good ones. If they can be changed from their current indifference or leftist stand into staunchly Hindu then it will change everything. But currently I don't see it happening.

Immediate action that we can do is increase the intake of Kattar Hindus in the services. This the most important step. More kattar Hindu DMs, SPs, joint secretaries, DGs will be very useful in handling case of any display of Muslim street power. We must remember that this state machinery was used brutally against us. One example is Bihar durgavisharjan case. Or even the latest Rinku Sharma case where the police is straight lying.

I would say the most important piece in organizing & structuring tactical battles against the Elitist forces is an Indian Nationalistic version of George Soros.. or a group of wealthy folks that have uncompromising commitment of the same level that GS has against Hindu Dharma & India.. at least a bunch of folks willing to do what Koch Brothers did for the Republican Party & conservative causes for most of their lives: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Koch_family

Perhaps this is a reason why Ambani-Adani are incessantly targeted by elitists - that they could potentially evolve into desi GS and be the source of funds that would enable pan-Indian Hindu retributions at every level through organized funding.

We need funds to fight these battles and sporadic ad-hoc actions or mere social media outbursts will never match the systematic, massively funded anti-national activities across all levels.. Everything else can be structured if nationalists have the type of funding that they do.. In fact, there is a need for even more funds than GS can provide because he is focussed on disruption of order & creating chaos - a relatively easy activity, while we have to fight everything legally and only show organizational strength. Of course to ensure we dont throw spanners in Modiji's work (at least my belief is he will ensure migration to an ideal system, while ensuring minority populations demographies do not cross 30%) , we must not officially alienate any community, including Ms, which makes it extremely hard to do so w/o proper funding.

In brief, the tactical response against BIFs needs to be run like a centralized corporation: with weekly exec reviews of atrocities/injustice happening nationwide on Hindus, responsible parties, what kind of resources are needed to respond to those atrocities, disbursing those resources and efficiently responding to these atrocities.. of course, this is still a reactive policy, but at least this assures that no injustice - big or small - will go unprotected and unnoticed. Whether its mob lynching of Sadhus in Maharashtra, beheading Sri Rama's statue in Andhra, murdering Hindu activists in Bengal/Kerala, Love jihadist cases in North India.. the response needs to be centralized and run professionally.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

Kakkaji wrote:
I think a big part of the problem with publc perception of how much of J&K/ Ladakh was actually lost by India during Nehru's time, is the way the maps of the region are shown in India's school books and everywhere else. As a result, 9 out of 10 Indians do not know the true ground position. My wife and my close friends did not know. All they have seen on the Maps of India is a state in the north with a huge geographical area that looks larger than the nearby Punjab, Haryana, and Himachal Pradesh combined, and they think India possesses it all, and all is fine.

IMHO, India needs to change the official maps to ones like these:

https://www.mapsofworld.com/india/jammu-and-kashmir/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kashmir#/ ... r_2019.jpg

Annotate PoK on the map as "Area illegally occupied by Pakistan", and CoL to "Area illegally occupied by China". These areas should be in different color and shaded.

I bet this will open the eyes of our people to what our dear Chacha actually gave away, without compromising India's official claim on all of the erstwhile Princely State of Jammu and Kashmir.

IMHO only. Any thoughts?
When I first saw the J&K map with LOC and area designated 'Pakistan Occupied Kashmir' on the frontpage of a newspaper back in 2001 when I was in 10th, I thought Vajpayee Govt. surrendered part of J&K to Pakistan as part of a deal.

It is only 3-4 years later that I came to know about the actual border situation via internet.
I blame it on our history textbooks, which never mentioned the 1st Indo-Pak war of 1948 and Sino-Indian war of 1962. Our history textbooks ended with Gandhi's death.

Any further updates?
https://www.newsbharati.com/Encyc/2021/ ... vels-.html
Pune, February 13: Since when did the future switch from being a promise to facing the threats? Promise to save India from the rioters, activists and additional threats from the same anti nationals, democracy destroyers? The incidents followed by the String Reveals' deleted YouTube video are turning scary and spine tingling as the team string members are making their way from Hyderabad to Mumbai.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

Hindus are easy targets because everybody knows that a Hindu family cannot even gather 20 people. If somehow they do, come Monday all 20 will disappear. Hindus do not pose a threat of retribution. As soon as Hindus organize and gain ability to gather 200 people in an hour notice, these attacks will disappear. It is up to the Hindu samaj to take up the challenge. So far we have been relying on police-prashasan because we are taught from childhood to have faith in law. But as Darshan ji has pointed out on numerous occasions, police -prashasan will ignore or let go mildly acts of violence by minority. But not majority. Majority will be oppressed because they are eager to bail their son out. The same Delhi police was running for their lives a year ago. They will not take unnecessary panga with minority even though it was the majority that saved their skin last year.

Is that what the minorities think?

Is that what Sikhs think?

Not so recent history demonstrates what happens when one kills Hindus in Hindustan. Where do you think this petulance arises?

Is it in the knowledge that one sided killings are no longer possible. There will be ten fold savagery in response. Savagery by Hindus remains just that-savagery.

What did the police do in the US capitol attack?
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

So the useful idiot is a woke leftie NGO lebanese from Bangalore, studied in Mount Carmel and working for a plant based company.

https://www.opindia.com/2021/02/greta-t ... lent-past/

LeLi works fast. They have already created a wiki page on this lebanese baboon.

Single mother, 21 year old, innocent, activist, dissentor, yada yada.

Good that she is sent to 5 days police custody.

sanjaykumar wrote:Is that what the minorities think?

take a listen

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjP-FX7tpR4

Harsimrat Kaur Badal's speech in Lok Sabha. She is from the biggest arhtiya family in India.

Raja

Post by Raja »

Santosh wrote:Hindus are easy targets because everybody knows that a Hindu family cannot even gather 20 people. If somehow they do, come Monday all 20 will disappear. Hindus do not pose a threat of retribution. As soon as Hindus organize and gain ability to gather 200 people in an hour notice, these attacks will disappear. It is up to the Hindu samaj to take up the challenge.
What a bunch of crap. This line of majority victimhood is prevalent in every single country and is hardly ever true. Come to my gali in Ahmedabad, we are not victims nor are we easy targets. There is/was definitely a lot of vote bank politics especially in the past, but that is not the same as what you are saying.

This false concept also morphs into "how Indians will lose onlee against China because we are nice and cannot outsmart the Chinese evil geniuses."

If you want real solutions and make real progress, you have to get rid of this simplistic false narratives.

RajaRudra wrote:i am feeling let down. More by the statement of DP than by the action of peaceful(know their behavior for decades now).
This is my last post on this issue, Don't want use this forum as a ventilator to drain my rage and inability.

And, this is how the TOIlet reported it :mrgreen:

Such an innocent newspaper, they don't seem to have heard of peacefools

RaviB

Post by RaviB »

Raja wrote:
Santosh wrote:Hindus are easy targets because everybody knows that a Hindu family cannot even gather 20 people. If somehow they do, come Monday all 20 will disappear. Hindus do not pose a threat of retribution. As soon as Hindus organize and gain ability to gather 200 people in an hour notice, these attacks will disappear. It is up to the Hindu samaj to take up the challenge.
What a bunch of crap. This line of majority victimhood is prevalent in every single country and is hardly ever true. Come to my gali in Ahmedabad, we are not victims nor are we easy targets. There is/was definitely a lot of vote bank politics especially in the past, but that is not the same as what you are saying.

This false concept also morphs into "how Indians will lose onlee against China because we are nice and cannot outsmart the Chinese evil geniuses."

If you want real solutions and make real progress, you have to get rid of this simplistic false narratives.
This is a very good point. Self-pity is addictive and weakens the morale. I have noticed this against the Chinese, where they are supposed to be super cunning slit-eyes who'll come at us and we'll have no option but to roll over. They are not 10 feet, which we have now luckily realised. I mean their admirals were using PLAN ships to smuggle cars and we're supposed to quake out of fear?

The fact that we are here today is a sign that we aren't and have not been pushovers. My ancestors did not manage to retain and pass on their heritage to me because some Muslim ruler took pity on them. They did it because they knew what was important and persevered. Something constructive like joining or starting a shakha or doing community work is something positive that we can do instead of wallowing in self-pity and accepting stories of the end of Hinduism.

This is how they fiddled the brexit and the US elections.

the next target is India :mrgreen:

This is your personal data that Google collects from YouTube

If you use YouTube extensively with all the features, then the list of data that Google collects is quite long, especially for third-party advertising. Here’s the detailed list of personal data that Google collects from YouTube users.

Data that is collected and used to track you

This is the data that may be used to track you across apps and websites owned by other companies: Contact Info, Physical Address, Email Address, Phone Number, Identifiers, User ID and Device ID.

Primus wrote:I tried donating as an International donor on Crowdkash but nothing seems to happen even after clicking on the 'contribute now' button several times.

Anybody know of any other way to get the funds to the family?
Got it to work finally. You have to go through a link which leads to the page and cannot do it by simply going to Crowdkash and searching for Rinku Sharma page. It accepts Amex.

This is the link I followed:

https://t.co/F5ioLiRxnf

Heading back to get people to hate Gujarati or traders route.

Gujaratis certainly should be hated but not for being traders. After all if it weren't for Gujaratis, british would not have succeeded in their plan to get their agent nehru be who he became.
Rahul Gandhi promises to steal money from Gujarat tea traders to fund Congress’ political ambitions in Assam
https://www.opindia.com/2021/02/rahul-g ... wner-wage/
Senior Congress leader and Wayanad MP Rahul Gandhi while campaigning in poll-bound Assam expressed his hate for Gujaratis and said that he will take money from Gujarat tea traders and give them to the tea garden workers in Assam.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

https://www.thenewsminute.com/article/d ... est-143434

Disha Ravi was a regular college student when she saw a documentary on animal cruelty at a campus screening in Mount Carmel, Bengaluru. Her friends describe her as a tenacious and social person who had always dreamed of becoming a chef, even though she thought her parents would never let her go to culinary school. But that documentary changed her life. It opened her eyes to the cruelties of the meat industry, and set her on a path of environmental activism, which has now landed the 21-year-old in trouble with the Delhi police.

On Saturday evening, Delhi police turned up at Disha’s home in north Bengaluru, took her on a flight to Delhi and arrested her. The allegations? She planned and edited parts of the ‘toolkit’ or a Google document on farmers’ protests that Greta Thunberg had tweeted. Though toolkits are nothing but Google documents used to prepare a social media campaign or to plan protests, the Delhi police have registered an FIR under sedition and conspiracy, alleging that this toolkit was being used to malign India. Disha will be spending the next five days in police custody.

Disha is a familiar face at cleanups and tree-planting drives in Bengaluru. She is both passionate and concerned about climate change and her arrest has come as a shock to close friends and family members who remember her as a young and dedicated climate campaigner.

“She was just 19 when I met her at two events — one of them was a lake cleaning drive in Ulsoor and the other was an event in Sarjapur called Mara Kadi Bedi (Don’t Cut Trees). As a person, she was very resourceful and knowledgeable. She explained how many human activities were linked to climate change,” says Mukund Gowda, who volunteers for pro-environment groups in Bengaluru.

Another activist remembers that Disha attended cleanup drives in Hebbal in 2019. “She carried reusable bottles and even came to cleanups by travelling on buses. She often promoted alternatives to industrial dairy production,” says the activist.

Before her life of environmental activism, she was a business administration student in Bengaluru’s Mount Carmel College and was known to be an avid animal lover and an aspiring chef. “As a student, she enjoyed doing what most of us do — vibe to the latest Bollywood songs, keep up with YouTubers who talk about skincare and fashion, watch Netflix, cycle, chill with her friends or her dog Sammy. She also loves making food and experimenting with new vegan recipes and is determined to make the world's best hummus,” says a close friend of Disha.

Her friends say her role model is Jane Goodall, a primatologist who spent her life in the jungles of Asia and Africa, and is considered one of the world’s foremost experts on chimpanzees. “Disha dreamt of working with turtles and marine life and hoped to pursue a career in ecological conservation and restoration,” says her friend.

Her family’s experiences spurred her to take up causes related to the environment. “Her grandparents were farmers and she has seen how they struggled and how food production gets affected by the climate crisis through droughts, floods, change in pH balance of the soil and other problems,” says her friend.

In college, Disha was introduced to the cruelties of the meat industry. “She attended an on-campus screening of a vegan documentary that really opened her eyes to the cruelties of the meat industry. As an animal lover and a passionate chef who hoped to travel the world and try all sorts of cuisines, it wasn't so surprising that she'd been so deeply affected by what she'd seen. After getting involved with the vegan community, she eventually started attending rallies to help spread awareness on the problems with industrialised farming,” says her friend.

Disha then turned vegan herself and interned at Goodmylk, a company that makes plant-based alternatives for dairy products. “She lives by the principles she believes in and straight out of college, she joined Goodmylk full-time,” says her friend.

In January 2019, she was inspired to take up volunteer work with Fridays For Future (FFF), the international movement led by climate change activist Greta Thunberg and was a part of protests that took place in Bengaluru in September 2019.

The ‘toolkit’ that Greta shared had information on how to support the farmers’ protests, including text that could be tweeted and Twitter handles that could be tagged to amplify those tweets. However, Greta deleted her February 3 tweet that had a link to the toolkit, as it contained dates from January, and replaced it with a new one. The modified tweet is still on her profile. However, by then, screenshots of the older Google doc had gone viral. According to the Delhi police, Disha shared the document with Greta. When the Public Prosecutor accused Disha of conspiring against the nation, she told the court, “I was just supporting the farmers. I supported the farmers because they are our future and we all need to eat.”

Also read: Disha Ravi sent to 5-day police custody, she breaks down in court

Disha’s neighbours say that she and her mother have been living in her residence in north Bengaluru for over a year now. Activists and friends who know her well say she is the sole earner in her family and was looking to take up extra work. “She came to me looking for extra work from 7 am to 9 am and 7 pm to 9 pm. It was evident her pay was not enough to manage herself and her family,” the activist says.

The same activist scoffs at the idea that she was being funded for her activism. “I have Splitwise accounts of all my transactions to manage expenses. Our volunteer work is not being funded by anyone,” says the activist.

Prominent environmentalists came forward to condemn her arrest on Sunday. “I know a lot of young people like her and I am proud to know people like her that are upset with the way in which the government has prioritised corporations over their futures and how it has neglected important issues. These are people who have taken the principles of the Constitution to heart. Penalising or criminalising their voices is something that is condemnable,” says Nithyanand Jayaraman, a Chennai-based environmentalist.

Also read: Academics, activists condemn Disha Ravi's arrest, say govt distracting from real issues

He adds that environmentalists were first targeted during the protests against the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA), 2020. “The government has targeted young people since the time of the protests against EIA when charges under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA) were invoked on organisations and websites that had hosted petitions,” says Nithyanand. “A democracy cannot function like this and the government should ideally engage with them. People who are older, including me, need to listen to younger people and understand what their aspirations and concerns are,” he adds. One of the organisations that was charged under the stringent UAPA in 2020 was Fridays for Future. The charges were later withdrawn after the Delhi police said they had erroneously sent notices.

This time, the Delhi police have pressed charges against Disha and are also investigating others who made edits to the document.

But the police’s actions were decried by several youth-based environmental collectives which came out in support of Disha. “To imply that climate change activists are a danger to the peace and harmony of this country in a political climate that is highly polarized is to play fast and loose with their safety and security, especially when there is absolutely no proof to back up this claim,” a statement issued by the collective says.
asgkhan

Post by asgkhan »

This piece of woke crap can spend her time in the jail premises trying to improve the environment.

If we make this sasta kavitha krishnan (minus the mustache) all other pseudo activists will get a nice glimpse of what awaits them in the future.

After all the investigation Govt could find just one 21 yr old Indian woman? Her story does look like a starry eyed head in the clouds young female - there are thousands of them in India, may be in our own families - who did something woke, similar or worse things were done by so many people with no blow back until now. What will they charge her with and how will they prove "sedition and conspiracy" in court?

We are a functioning society because "innocent until proven guilty by due process" matters to us.

The real culprits are the brains behind the entire operation, Greta Devi herself, Rihanna and the Khalistani who paid and so on. They are the ones Govt needs to act against, and that will show India has some balls. Going after our own snowflake babes with Govermund muscle will only distance well meaning but misguided people against what the Govt is doing, and if the courts let her off, increase the perception that courts are better than elected Govt.

Added later: I saw some more articles on Disha, she is said to be part of Fridays for Future movement. They are led by Greta, are somewhat popular in Europe; basically young ados bunking school to protest against Govts inaction against climate change. Most have zero understanding of what they are talking about, and besides shouting themselves hoarse which gets them some public sympathy, they accomplish little else. They are perhaps vegan, but definitely not violent.

There is a sub-variant of post-ado jobless youth who are hyper woke, and want to "bring the system down" through "civil disobedience" which is quite media-genic. They are called Extinction Rebellion. A somewhat headless quasi-anarchist group which operates like a flashmob and does violent/dramatic protests (like 100s of people dressing like zombie cadavers and lying down before the parliament). Disha is not accused of being part of it. I'm not sure if they have really entered India as of now.

Belonging to either of these doesn't automatically make someone a criminal.
Last edited by Cyrano on 14 Feb 2021 23:41, edited 1 time in total.

Agree with that, putting an over eager 21 year old harmless student behind bars is boy going to accomplish much apart from damaging the reputation of the government. If they truly are serious about curbing these sort of activities, a much more broader strategy needs to be put in place.

This would include using our considerable geopolitical clout to exert pressure of government which pander to the sort nonsense, even if it is to the point of being over sensative.

She'll get out after having cooled her heels for a couple of weeks. With the connections and funding that BIF has it will bail her out in no time. Sadly most colleges are and have always been dens of leftists and communists. Mt Carmel , Christ College and Jyoti Nivas are popular colleges for upper middle-class and wealthy kids in Bangalore, in such institutes it is always trendy to talk about feminist movement, minority rights, environment activism etc Some of these woke students from the above institutes also organized plenty of protests in Bangalore during the anti-CAA agitation where banners equating swastika to nazism and "Fk Hindutva" were seen. Last year another student from Bangalore named Amulya Leon was in news for sedition. The teenage "human right activist" who shared the stage with Asaduddin Owaisi in during one of the anti-CAA sloganeering event shouted "Pakistan Zindabad" and spent a couple of months in jail. She was represented by some really expensive defense attorneys in Bangalore who got her out on bail. We need to follow the money because these woke idiots are dime a dozen, it is who funds them is important.

Aren't these articles copyrighted? Why are folks posting them in full unless the motivation is to help the Google rank of the article and spread fud.

sanjaykumar wrote:Is that what the minorities think?

take a listen

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjP-FX7tpR4

Harsimrat Kaur Badal's speech in Lok Sabha. She is from the biggest arhtiya family in India.

I have not listened to this in detail, I don't like her face.

But you can't have followed Panjabi Jat culture with any closeness. This is par for the course. Such talk originates from the macho, swaggering culture of what remains essentially a peasant society. Hard drinking, novel drugs, living on GoI largesse what this once proud people have been reduced to.

One of the issues is that Hindus are too polite to reference the culture of underwear or female hirsutism. By your outrage, I can assess that similar to the general Hindu population, you don't think in those terms. But of course it is a sign of a particularly coarse intellect to live in a glass house and toss the occasional missile and continue to expect immunity.

At the risk of reviving some painful memories, IG's assassination would not have generated the vicious response it did, if Sikhs had not celebrated it by sharing sweets.

The most useful lesson I have learnt in all my formal education was in Primary four (in the British colonial education system) where they taught us to 'look before you leap'.

Nihat wrote:Agree with that, putting an over eager 21 year old harmless student behind bars is boy going to accomplish much apart from damaging the reputation of the government.
An example is being set for other college-going wokes who are watching this ... Lamb is cut not because it is a huge threat but to show other lambs what is in store for them

Great optics, the GoI takes on a college student. At her age if you are not questioning the system, you are not growing and developing.

When will GoI learn to stop making martyrs out of curiosities.
Last edited by sanjaykumar on 15 Feb 2021 00:43, edited 1 time in total.

sanjaykumar wrote:Great optics, the GoI takes on a college student. At her age if you are not questioning the system, you are not growing and developing.

Pulwama mastermind was also 21 years old.
At his age, if you dont fight the holy war, he isnt becoming a true muslim.
EswarPrakash

Post by EswarPrakash »

darshan wrote:
Couldn't be more relevant as an answer to the kind of defeatist attitude displayed in the post right before this.

I am positive one can differentiate between a college student, environmentalist, and a rabid Allah crazed suicide bomber.

Even the GoI can, surely.

sanjaykumar wrote:Great optics, the GoI takes on a college student. At her age if you are not questioning the system, you are not growing and developing.

Dont take them too lightly. In august/sept of 2019 JNU and Jamia students rioted in Delhi using the pretense of hostel fees hike, the same riots manifested into the first and second waves of anti-CAA protests in December of 2019 when students from these universities got together with islamic radicals and rioted in many cities across India including Delhi. Remember it was a 22 yr old female student Devangana Kalitas of JNU who heads the radical feminist group 'Pinajara Tod' who supplied chili powder to the burqa gang to attack Police and create another Shaheegbagh in Jaffrabad area. The naxal movement too started and took shape in the student halls of Presidency college and Jadavpur Universities. Unless the government puts a cost at these activists who are eager to join forces with their BIF partners, we will only be encouraging more Shajeel Imams, Safoora Zargars , Ayesha Rennas and Disha Ravis.

Shajeel Imams, Safoora Zargars , Ayesha Rennas and Disha Ravis.

Can you tell the odd name out?

No, i cannot. I also named Devangana Kalitas, they are all equally dangerous to our national security.

sanjaykumar wrote:I am positive one can differentiate between a college student, environmentalist, and a rabid Allah crazed suicide bomber.

Even the GoI can, surely.
Does this moving tear-jerker of a story come with somber music?

What is a environmentalist doing in a Farmers protest ? The college student + environmentalist can do something productive like planting trees instead of getting suckered into coordinated protests originating out of India.

Anarchists need momentum of such protests to plot against the state. She is one.