Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Vadivel

Re: Wuhan Coronavirus Resource Thread

Post by Vadivel »

SII - 70 and 100 million per month, as per a Rajya Sabha committee report.
Bharat Biotech, -12.5 million per month, per the Rajya Sabha report
la.khan

Post by la.khan »

Vadivel wrote:SII - 70 and 100 million per month, as per a Rajya Sabha committee report.
Bharat Biotech, -12.5 million per month, per the Rajya Sabha report
Thanks for the reply. Underwhelming, if true :roll: What does it take to double the production of Covishield @ SII? And BB increasing production 10-12 times for Covaxin?

If this all we can do on the vaccination front, how does the government plan to handle the virus? I hope the powers-that-be have a gameplan :cry:

There are other vaccines that will become available such as Sputnik V and ZyCovid.

Scaling up is not easy even for established experienced manufacturers such as SII, leave alone greenfield deployments. There are a lot of steps required, each quite meticulous to ensure that the end result is acceptable. All of this takes time else we end up with what happened in US where the manufacturer Emergent BioSolutions managed to contaminate J&J vaccine with the AZ one and still doesn’t know how.

There is also the other problem of having sufficient stocks of ancillaries on hand such as vials, stoppers etc …

la.khan,
you just woke up or what? Go through the last 10-15 pages of this thread and your questions will be answered.

Tanaji wrote:All BBC and other western reporting is tom tomming deliberately that India has vaccinated only 1.6% of the population. There is deliberate avoidance of the statistic that 145M doses have been administered using the same strategy that most western nations have adopted off delaying the second dose to ensure coverage.
India's figures are way better than the western press suggests.
We have an urban population of 500 million, of which 330m are above 18. That is our top priority for vaccination.
only 90 million of our urban population are above 45 and they are 90% of deaths.
Statistically, most of them would have got at least 1 dose, as have younger people who are health care or front line workers.

China, which has the ability to ramp up 10X of anything India does, is also managing the same rate of vaccinations as India, though they have more vaccines and 0 refusal to be vaccinated. Unlike India where opposition leaders encourage people NOT to take the vaccine.

https://twitter.com/DefenceMinIndia/sta ... 61985?s=20

The
@DRDO_India
is going to set up 500 Medical Oxygen Plants within 3 months under PM CARES Fund.

The Medical Oxygen Plant technology developed by DRDO for On‐Board Oxygen Generation for LCA, Tejas will now help in fighting the current crisis of Oxygen for the COVID-19 patients.

https://twitter.com/DRDO_India/status/1 ... 54273?s=20

DRDO develops SpO2 (Blood Oxygen Saturation) supplemental Oxygen Delivery System which can be used for moderate COVID patients for oxygen flow therapy.

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage ... ID=1712666

DRDO develops SpO2 based Supplemental Oxygen Delivery System: A boon in current COVID-19 pandemic

Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) has developed SpO2 (Blood Oxygen Saturation) supplemental Oxygen Delivery System for soldiers posted at extreme high-altitude areas. Developed by Defence Bio-Engineering & Electro Medical Laboratory (DEBEL), Bengaluru of DRDO, the system delivers supplemental oxygen based on the SpO2 levels and prevents the person from sinking in to a state of Hypoxia, which is fatal in most cases, if sets in. This automatic system can also prove to be a boon during the current Covid-19 situation.

Hypoxia is a state in which the amount of oxygen reaching the tissues is inadequate to fulfill all the energy requirements of the body. This is exactly the situation that gets replicated in a Covid patient due to the virus infection and has been a leading factor in the current crisis.

The electronic hardware of the system is designed for functioning at extreme altitudes featuring low barometric pressures, low temperatures and humidity. The software safety checks incorporated into the system are critical in ensuring the functional reliability of the system in field conditions.

The system reads SpO2 levels of the subject from a wrist-worn pulse oximeter module through wireless interface and controls a proportional solenoid valve to regulate the oxygen supply to the subject. The oxygen is delivered from a lightweight portable oxygen cylinder through nasal nares. The system is available in various sizes from one litre and one kg weight with 150 litres of oxygen supply to 10 litres & 10 kg weight with 1,500 litres of oxygen supply which can sustain for 750 minutes with a continuous flow of two liters per min (lpm).

Since the system is indigenously developed for operation in field conditions, it is unique with its dual qualities of being robust & cheap and is already in bulk production with the industry.

The system is a boon in the current pandemic as it can be used in the household for moderate Covid patients for Oxygen flow therapy with flow controlled at 2/5/7/10 lpm flow. The automatic usage has huge advantage in the household, as the oximeter would give an alarm for lower SpO2 value. It will automatically increase/decrease the O2 flow based on SpO2 setting which can be auto adjusted at 2, 5, 7, 10 lpm flow rate. The optimal O2 flow rate conserves the O2 resources/O2 management and greatly increases the endurance.

With its availability and simple to use facility by a common person, the system shall greatly reduce the workload and exposure time of doctors and paramedics to monitor the SpO2 levels of the patient. The automated Calibrated Variable Flow Control for Low O2 levels (User pre-set, <90%, <80%) through a calibrated Flow Control Valve (PFCV) will facilitate in economising the oxygen supply (1-10 lpm with ±0.5 lpm). A moderate Covid patient requires longtime moderate O2 supply 10Litre/150bar–10kg–1500 litres which can sustain up to 750 minutes.

This automated, easy to use Oxygen Delivery System now available is a great boon particularly in these critical times when medical resources are stretched to their limits. Its proliferation would mitigate the crisis in management of such huge number of covid patients in many ways all across the country.
Sicanta

Post by Sicanta »

Registration for 18-45 has started but the implementation has been botched. Did not clear it beforehand that only registration can be done and not vaccine appointment as of now. Instead sent the general message that vaccination will start from 1st May. Now taken to twitter to clarify that hospitals will come on board the system as and when they recieve vaccines. They dont expect many to do so before 2nd week of may.

https://www.news18.com/news/india/even- ... 83282.html
While those in the 18-44 age group will be able to register for vaccination from 4 pm on Wednesday, ahead of the fourth phase of the inoculation exercise set to being on May 1, getting an appointment for the same could take a while with many states saying the Serum Institute of India (SII) has promised them supplies only post May 15.

The Centre has further made it clear to all states that they can vaccinate the 18-44 age group only out of the quota that the states procure themselves and not out of the quota of vaccines that the Centre will be providing them.

This DRDO system is great and all and will probably meet the urgent needs of the hospital but long term what are the plans of maintaining it? Who holds the spare parts inventory and who services? If these issues are not addressed we can see easily that it will lie broken divided in a corner as it was free and we don’t respect government property.

The bigger hospitals will turn it into parking space and charge money…

Would be good if some private company buys the rights or is giving authorization to replicate and manufacture it in scale.

Would have been good if we had the drive of a fledgling Mil-Ind complex who could convert such opportunities into a porductline whose revenue stream would power research and development of other products.

Feel the need of a Shri Parrikar at times like these..

Tanaji wrote:This DRDO system is great and all and will probably meet the urgent needs of the hospital but long term what are the plans of maintaining it? Who holds the spare parts inventory and who services? If these issues are not addressed we can see easily that it will lie broken divided in a corner as it was free and we don’t respect government property.

Sadly that is how the sub-continent operates...

To change, Needs a public-private commercial arm to assemble, service and maintain, while the hospitals would need to charge patient (who can afford) fees just enough to cover their operating costs. As part of GOI healthcare increased budget (one can hope), it should be one of those subsidized costs for the treatment of the poor.

More plants beyond the 500 should be setup. It should be the last time we should hear about acute oxygen shortages. Sell ToT to multiple companies.

One can hope this time lessons learnt and will be different!
raj-senthil

Post by raj-senthil »

Tanaji wrote:This DRDO system is great and all and will probably meet the urgent needs of the hospital but long term what are the plans of maintaining it? Who holds the spare parts inventory and who services? If these issues are not addressed we can see easily that it will lie broken divided in a corner as it was free and we don’t respect government property.

https://www.businesstoday.in/current/economy-politics/drdo-to-set-up-500-oxygen-plants-under-pm-cares-fund/story/437772.html

The MOPs have been designed with the capacity of 1000 litres per minute
The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) announced on Wednesday that it plans to set up 500 oxygen plants under the PM CARES fund within three months. This will be done to augment oxygen supply across the country which is dealing with an unprecedented surge in the COVID-19 cases. India has been reporting over 3 lakh fresh coronavirus cases every day for the past week.

The Medical Oxygen Plant (MOP) technology, that has been developed by DRDO for on-board oxygen generation in India's indigenous Light Combat Aircraft Tejas, will be utilised in these 500 oxygen plants.

The MOPs have been designed with the capacity of 1000 litres per minute. The system can provide oxygen to 190 patients at a flow rate of 5 litres per minute. It can also charge 195 cylinders in a day, explained DRDO. The MOP technology is capable of producing the oxygen that can be directly supplied to hospital beds and can also be used to fill cylinders.

"It utilizes Pressure Swing Adsorption (PSA) technique and Molecular Sieve (Zeolite) technology to generate oxygen directly from atmospheric air," DRDO said. This technology has already been used by some army sites in North East and Leh-Ladakh region.

Using this technology, hospitals will be able to generate on-site medical oxygen. This will be achieved in a cost-effective manner with the oxygen plant rather than depending on other sources.

DRDO has done Transfer of Technology with Tata Advanced Systems Limited, Bengaluru and Trident Pneumatics Pvt. Ltd., Coimbatore, who will be producing 380 such plants for installation in various hospitals around India. While industries working with the Indian Institute of Petroleum, Dehradun will produce 120 oxygen plants with 500 litres per minute capacity. Site preparation for 5 such plants to be installed in Delhi NCR has already begun.
DrRatnadip

Post by DrRatnadip »

srai wrote:https://twitter.com/DefenceMinIndia/sta ... 61985?s=20

The
@DRDO_India
is going to set up 500 Medical Oxygen Plants within 3 months under PM CARES Fund.

The Medical Oxygen Plant technology developed by DRDO for On‐Board Oxygen Generation for LCA, Tejas will now help in fighting the current crisis of Oxygen for the COVID-19 patients.

Very good initiative.. Since last 3 days we are facing acute shortage of oxygen and situation is getting worse every day.. Had to refuse many pts due to lack of reliable supply of Oxygen..

Co-WIN Digital Platform continues to work without any Technical Glitch on the First Day of Registration of the Expanded Eligible Population Groups
The Co-WIN software is a robust, dependable and agile technology. It offers anytime anywhere registration for COVID19 vaccination.The capacity of the servers and other parameters have been ramped up to match the unprecedented scale of immunization so that the COWIN system provide citizen-centricservices .Inclusivity, speed and scalability have been kept in mind while designing the unique digital platform with all components being portable, synchronous without excessive and unnecessary dependencies.

Some of the media reports today suggested that the Co-WIN platform was unresponsive/overshooting the server capacity and was not able to respond to the unprecedented number of registrations taking place. It is clarified that the media reports that the server has crashed are incorrect and are without any basis. The server supporting the Co-Win digital portal continues to work smoothly at its highest efficiency. People are registering on the platform, mostly of age-group 18-44. It witnessed more than 80 lakh people registered themselves on the portal, with 3 hours from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Some of the statistics appertaining to the first three hours (4-7 pm) are as follows:

- 383 million API hits, initially as high as 2.7 million hits per minute.

- As many as 1.45 crore SMSs successfully delivered.

These Statistics indicate that far from crashing or performing slowly, the system is performing without any glitches. It is recording 55,000 hits per second and is completely stable.Detailed statistics relating to registration, vaccinations etc., can be seen on dashboard.cowin.gov.in.

Cyrano wrote:la.khan,
you just woke up or what? Go through the last 10-15 pages of this thread and your questions will be answered.
I just posted in detail about this :
https://twitter.com/surajbrf/status/1387289741259808770

1.01 Cr. registrations today

https://twitter.com/IndiaToday/status/1 ... 0588096519

IndiaToday
@IndiaToday
#BREAKING | Serum Institute receives 340 million doses order from states, 5 states to start receiving orders in next 4 days

sivab wrote:https://twitter.com/IndiaToday/status/1 ... 0588096519

IndiaToday
@IndiaToday
#BREAKING | Serum Institute receives 340 million doses order from states, 5 states to start receiving orders in next 4 days
SII was already cranking out vaccine doses at their (currently) max possible rate. Presumably, all were wither getting bought by the center to be distributed to the states minus whatever doses they had to send abroad to fulfil their international obligations. So from where will they provide these additional 340 mil doses? It has to necessarily mean that central procurement will reduce substantially. I am not sure if this is supposed to somehow provide a more equitable distribution among the states. Total vaccine availability will still remain the same.

nachiket wrote: SII was already cranking out vaccine doses at their (currently) max possible rate. Presumably, all were wither getting bought by the center to be distributed to the states minus whatever doses they had to send abroad to fulfil their international obligations. So from where will they provide these additional 340 mil doses? It has to necessarily mean that central procurement will reduce substantially. I am not sure if this is supposed to somehow provide a more equitable distribution among the states. Total vaccine availability will still remain the same.
You are misinterpreting what it says. SII getting order for 340 million doses is a separate statement from 5 states getting orders delivered in 4 days. It does not mean states will get 340 million doses at once. Each of the 5 states may receive for example first million doses to start. The video in the link says private hospitals have placed orders for additional 20 million doses with SII.

How an IAS officer reduced the impact of the second wave by advance preparation:

click

Nandurbar is a small district and not that developed in Maharashtra. Wish others had the same foresight

Cyrano wrote: I just posted in detail about this :
Suraj ji, thank you for collating and publishing vaccine timelines and details on how progress is being made. Without your thread, I doubt many amongst us would be lost of the details.

Not to beat up a dead horse or revisit past decisions, but do you have any insight on what made us wait till March-April to finalize the Purchase Agreements and decision related to scaling up? I realize hindsight is 20-20, but I so wish we had a handle on all the vaccine procurement decisions finalized back in Jan-Feb timeline.
Manas

Post by Manas »

https://www.deccanherald.com/national/i ... 80076.html

The Delhi high court judge saying It appears center wants people to die is unfortunate and irresponsible. The WHO after their world wide RECOVERY trials has opined that Remdesivir has marginal benefits and is not a cure. If Remdesivir had been such a life saver the U.S. would not have lost 400K+ people since last summer since it was approved by the FDA. Many other countries and regulatory agencies have similarly opined that Remdesivir is not effective amongst hospitalized patients.

Perhaps there is a lot of misinformation and even many doctors seem to prescribing Remdesivir to COVID patients regardless of their clinical conditions. Also black marketeers seem to be compounding the supply problem in India. The GOI is on the right track clarifying guidelines for prescription and usage of Remdesivir.

The honorable high court judge passing such a nasty ill informed opinion is nothing short of inciting the people and giving a massive stick to the opposition to politicize the issue and beat the Govt with.

khujliwal raj

बिजली हाफ,

पानी माफ,

ऑक्सीजन साफ !

Jay wrote:
Suraj ji, thank you for collating and publishing vaccine timelines and details on how progress is being made. Without your thread, I doubt many amongst us would be lost of the details.

Not to beat up a dead horse or revisit past decisions, but do you have any insight on what made us wait till March-April to finalize the Purchase Agreements and decision related to scaling up? I realize hindsight is 20-20, but I so wish we had a handle on all the vaccine procurement decisions finalized back in Jan-Feb timeline.
My thread does not make any such claim.

India needs to commit a much larger and faster investment to vaccine manufacturing

Agree with the main point here. Current ramp up of vaccine manufacturing is unlikely to be enough to vaccinate the population before the next wave hits. Particularly when 40% of the population is under 18 and therefore liable to provide sufficient hosts for the virus to spread and mutate further.

Folks, a gentle request:

1. Stop watching PeePeeChee and rNDTV for your own sanity and mental health
2. Stop watching all news where media perverts the last rites of your own citizens.
3. Take a deep breath and hold it and release it slowly. That is do pranayama. It very least proves that you have a prana (that is you are alive!). Celebrate the fact that you are alive.

This is a pandemic. It has bounced back big time. We tried to stave off 2nd wave but could not. For the cause of deaths, If we have to blame here is the list:

1. Media and so-called leaders created criminal vaccine hesitancy. It is criminal. It is even more wrong thence to give them any further credence.
2. Panic mongers. There certain breed of pisachas who take joy in suffering of others. They show up in crematoriums to give full fledged minute by minute details with glee.

It does prove one thing though. That is, the numbers from the first wave cannot be questioned. Since the same pisachas would have headed to the same crematoriums to do minute by minute details with glee.

And hence:

1. There is a silver lining. That is the numbers being reported are correct. First wave and Second wave. We have accumulated and proven data to go by.
2. Vaccines are slowly coming online. Vaccine hesitancy has gone. Look at the CoWin App registrations! Of course mediapimps and pisachas tried to convert it to "booking appointment scheduler". Nonsense.

And only thing that will get us out of this is: Perseverance. Perseverance & Perseverance.

What we are facing is nothing compared to our ancestors. They were raped, pillaged, murdered, famine'd, enslaved.

What do we have to do now? Pray that you will not be caught up in the covid wave before you are vaccinated. There are 2 homegrown vaccines. There will be 3rd coming online from the bear. There is a new fangled DNA vaccine in works. There is a nasal vaccine in work.

Even with current 2 vaccines and current rate of 30 lakhs per day (avg.) we are vaccinating 2 Crore per week and 8 crores by month. By June end we would have vaccinated 14+16 crores or 30 crores with at least one jab and with current case scenario. That is a big number and will put a big dent on virus transmission.

By November, this will be all over.

VipinM wrote:Hi my second post after years of lurking.

Anyways i am feeling pretty depressed here in NCR with deaths all around. Lost 4 relatives and one as young as 35. Several office mates and friends testing positive. I don't know how to deal with this.
First of all, my deepest condolences for your loss.

I can't add that much to the kind and supportive advice of friends here, but I would like to point out--without being callous--that the fact that you are experiencing this kind of pain is a sign that you have a vibrant and sensitive soul. This is a precious thing, and it is worth reminding yourself of that.

I will share the kind of things that have helped me in time of need:

- meditation. You can use any technique, most are "observational", vipas(y)ana being a popular one.

- music

- (my favorite) Listening to M.S. Subbulaxmi garu belting out the Vishnu Sahasranamam. I don't think you have to be a believer to feel the power and be uplifted by it.

- Read or listen to recitation of Sundara kanda in Ramayana. This is something 100% positive and heroic.

- If you have pets or have access to animals, do something for them, play with them, or just observe them. Innocent creatures will always bring comfort.

- Write down your feelings in a private journal or diary. Their weight will decrease.

- Share your thoughts and feelings with someone you are able to trust with your emotions.

- If at any point, the storm breaks and the tears come, let them flow freely. They are a blessing.

- Stay away from drinking / smoking etc. if that is a feasible option for you. These things give temporary relief but make the burdensome feeling worse the next time around.

- Do some light exercise, or something to challenge yourself; could be a math problem, or puzzle for example.

You probably already know these and other techniques by yourself or you were given advice about them. The hardest part is to generate the will to take up any of those things. This you have to do by yourself. Find the positive thing that requires the least effort of will and somehow put in the effort and do it (like play with a dog for example). When you have done it, give yourself some +ve marks in your mind, as a reservoir of positivity for your next effort.

All the best, and remember you are not alone, and the world is a beautiful thing inspite of all the troubles.

darshan wrote: Primus, DrRatnadip should chime in.
Primusji and DrRatnadipji, thanks for inputs. Hopefully, people would benefit from this and would make informed decisions.
la.khan

Post by la.khan »

I know you said this rhetorically but, in a way, yes. Got an aged parent and myself jabbed in March, my wife in April. With SII's Covishield. Till beginning of April, I was kind of blase/indifferent to Chinese Wuhan Covid as there were vaccines available. It is a matter of time before everybody gets a shot and we get a grip on the situation. Never expected this to explode and number of Chinese Wuhan Covid patients to spiral up. So, that led me to wonder what numbers SII & BB are currently doing and what more needs to done.

Also, thanks for the pointer. I will read the last few pages to learn more :-)
I just posted in detail about this :
Thanks for the link. Explains the current situation and the difficulties to scale.

This caught my eye and is comforting to know. August is just 3-4 months away :-)
https://twitter.com/surajbrf/status/1387296346441281536
The combination of all these - brokering agreements between BB and multiple private and PSUs, is intended to dramatically scale up Covaxin from 10m/month now to 70m by August. Ocugen, a US licensee, may get EUA to produce Covaxin there:

Always seek professional medical advice

these are guidelines.

this is information that empowers.

V_Raman wrote:I see lot of portable oxygen concentrators available for purchase here in USA. will shipping them to India help the hospitals? Any pointers on which models will be of useful in this situation?
Instead of buying them yourself, donate to Sewa International, its a hindu faith based organization and they have volunteers on the ground in India and in the US and will make sure the last penny of your donation is put to good use.

https://www.sewausa.org/Covid-19-Suppor ... Fundraiser

Manish_P wrote:
Manish ji, I have not gone away just very much less active. I am feeling an extra old oldie after these months. BRF has a been a home for two decades. The past year has been trying -- as it has been for everyone.
I can understand. In times like these, doing the things you normally do is therapeutic in itself. Hope that you will post regularly as you used to do.

PS - The Chinese mil watch thread is open and your eagle eyes will help us be aware of things in dlagon land...
Manish ji, thanks for the encouragement. But my eagle eye had really always been nothing more than collating information from Twitter and the like. I have provided a list of sources in the old thread. I recently dropped down to really just two posters that time has allowed me to check -- https://mobile.twitter.com/RupprechtDeino and https://mobile.twitter.com/HenriKenhmann.

Perhaps one day I'll post more often. Jamwal has done a fantastic job with the Chinese order of battle including great details of their army. Far better than I as I followed my whims for aircraft and ships.

My free time these days are filled with calling and doing what I can for extended family in Chennai and TN. I have lost an aunt. My parents have lost many friends in India after losing neighbors and friends in the US. Those who had worried about my parents and us in the US we now worried for in turn in India. I do all I can to keep mom and dad from worrying sick. It is everywhere across the globe.

Crossed 150 million doses on Wednesday, which was a typically slower Wednesday with only 2.2 million doses.

An interview with the Principal Scientific Advisor:

https://indianexpress.com/article/india ... e-7293093/

Worth reading in full as it goes into detail on a lot of topics about virus sequencing and the government thinking

chetak wrote:khujliwal raj

बिजली हाफ,

पानी माफ,

ऑक्सीजन साफ !
Yeah? How about non Kejriwal ruled states? I have received nothing but bad news about dear ones passing away since last few days. They weren't in Delhi alone, they were in MP, UP, Haryana, Bihar, Gujarat also. Some couldn't get their bloody reports in a week till their situation got worsened. Those who got reports couldn't get Blood Tests in time because labs ran out of reagents. And same thing with oxygen. Same with hospital beds. Those who are not covid positive have also died because hospitals didn't have a bed. Precious days were lost at each step running from pillar to post.

BJP IT cell is trying desperately to mock Kejru and UT for Delhi / Maharashtra Disaster. Yes their preparation was abysmal. So was Yogi's. So was Shivraj's. So was Khattar's. So was everybody's. And then there is blatantly shameless underreporting of deaths.

Me, my parents, my wife and infant, my in laws, all are positive in three different states. Only I have recovered so far. My entire friend circle or their families are positive. Last couple of weeks have been nerve racking trying to arrange medical essentials for friends and family over phone while still struggling with the personal toll of disease myself.

I tried making a list of people I know who are infected so I can enquire about their health. I had to give up when the list was 300 names long, and I just couldn't compile it anymore.

So please, it's my humble request to not make this disaster political. This may seem like an emotional rant, but I do not have it in me to make another phone call to console people who have lost a dear one.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Thakur_B wrote:....So please, it's my humble request to not make this disaster political.
Unfortunately that ship had already sailed in 2020. Still I sympathize with your family's suffering, hope everyone gets recovers soon.

Thakur_B ji,

My sympathies are with you.

yesterday, we lost four people known to us and a relative as young as 24.

everyone is in the same leaky, sinking boat

unfortunately, this is what is happening all over the country

no one wore a mask or practiced social distancing. ah0!e$ got abusive and personal when it was pointed out that covid norms were not being followed.

cops making money, towing vehicles, and threatening to challan ordinary folks while drivers in BMWs and mercedes openly broke the very same laws with impunity.

we are running around trying to get food to the aged home bound, oxygen to the hospitals and beds for the desperate.

and all we see is politics everywhere.

Karnataka especially Bangalore is seeing the effect of housefull movie releases & by-elections which happened a few weeks ago.

Every expert said follow Covid Appropriate Behaviour but nobody cared.

Now we have housefull hospitals.
via@Kaalateetham

180 out of 200 deaths in #Karnataka yesterday are people who were eligible for #Vaccination but did not go for it. Bloody Congress you have blood on your hands for the concerted campaign against Vaccination in January. Vaccine Resistance/Hesitancy is a Killer
via@surnell · Apr 28
Raja

Post by Raja »

Central govt. and state govt. should have the knowledge of what is the capacity of the health infrastructure. Accordingly they should have a plan in place on how to react with rising cases. Many people even in this thread were claiming that NUMBER OF CASES does not matter, only MORTALITY rate matters. But one should realize that mortality rate can jump as soon as the health infrastructure buckles. We as ordinary citizens cannot have an overview of this. Only the govt. can and should have an overview of it. I run a small department of 10 people in my company and I have all kinds of plans for all kind of scenarios. What we are going through reeks of poor planning. Now we are caught by surprise and just like we do last minute spending on ammunition, we run around trying to set up oxygen plants.

Hopefully, we are already planning for wave #3. We seriously cannot go through this again. If we do then we can forget about all our dreams for India for the foreseeable future.
Anoop.G

Post by Anoop.G »

Vaccine update: Having got my 1st dose of Covaxin on April 1st, I went for a walk in for my 2nd dose today at 9am although I have an appointment for tomorrow. The registration desk told me that the system is not accepting 2nd dose registrations and check tomorrow. They are vaccinating new 1st doses only.
By the time I got home, I got an SMS from CoWin cancelling my 2nd dose appointment for tomorrow and reschedule.
I went back to CoWin and find no appointments at any center in my town (Gurgaon). I have called two vaccination sites and they say due to Covaxin supply issues, 2nd doses for Covaxin are delayed.
Let's see...