Added Later: Spinster Garu "beat" me by 1 min

The reason for this disparity is mainly becuase there are too many countries like India, Pak, China, South Asia, Africa etc and too few countries like US, Canada, Sweden, Germany, New Zealand, Austalia etc.Originally posted by shiv:
Women produce 60% of the world's food but own only 4% of the land. Women are paid 10% of the salaries that men are paid.
I agree, which is why we should make a firm ONE-SIDED law that the child custody MUST go to the mother and not to the father. In less than 1 out 100 cases, perhaps father will make a better parent than mother. But allowing this possibility will force the courts to go thru each and very of the 100 disputes and will cuase 99% unnecessary expense to the society.And in general a woman who is paid money is more likely to use the money for her family and children, while a man is far more prone to spending the money on himself - frequently on liquor.
I agree, which is why we should... while a man is far more prone to spending the money on himself - frequently on liquor.
Rahul - You may personally "be sure" about a lot of things.Originally posted by Rahul Mehta:
I am over 100% sure that disparity is MUCH MUCH less than in India etc.
pak-bashing will be just an academic (=wasteful) exercise.
-Rahul Mehta
I DO NOT believe in individual actions. IMO, goods buy money, money buys goods, but goods dont buy goods.Originally posted by shiv:
For example - what are you personally doing about women's right? Perhaps we can learn something new. And If you care to ask, perhaps I too will look inwards and ask myself what am I doing and say it out in public over here.
ThanksI do accept your point about liquor as one that needs to be implemented if possible.
The liquor mafia, official or underground are the ONLY obstacles. They are DELIBERATELY keeping licence-quota raaj alive in liquor business. They ensure that neta-babu would never free the liquor business.How? What are the political/caste/economic forces that stop this "ideal" from being implemented? Anyone care to educate me?
Doles are unimplementable? Gujarat Govt ALREADY gives Rs 500/mo to every divorcee and Rs 500/mo to every widow. This proves that these methods *are* implementable even in India.Originally posted by Aditi:
Shri Rahul Mehta’s solutions to most problems are mostly un-implementable and the narrative gives an impression of high school essay. Sorry, Rahulji, there is no shortcut to education , societal change of attitude and economic empowerment. Doling out funds ( whose money, who distributes?) can never be a viable solution. Money has to be earned and/ or inherited , with dignity, for women to live in dignity and for the society to recognise such a status.
The societies where women are better off (west etc) obtained betterment of women MUCH before univeral education came around. Even in 1800s, when most women in west were uneducated, there was no such thing as dowry deaths.Originally posted by Aditi:
Sorry, Rahulji, there is no shortcut to education , societal change of attitude and economic empowerment.
Two nations, two cultures, two religions, two differing situations, but the ideological underpinnings that render a woman guilty just for being a woman are remarkably similar.
Things will change only if three conditions are met. One, a criminal justice system that actively incorporates gender concerns in its functioning. This would mean political leaders and government officials publicly condemning such violence and responding with alacrity to evidence of such crime; it would mean training local officials, judges and police personnel on how to address such cases; it would mean monitoring crimes of this nature until justice is done in each case. Second, and most important, is to provide women with the confidence to fight such social abuses by ensuring their own literacy and by putting in place protection mechanisms which they can activate at the community level. The battle, finally, is precisely at the community level, it is here that attitudinal change needs to come about. Even to imagine that such a transformation would actually occur is difficult. But then, if it does not, it is an open acknowledgement that the overwhelming majority of citizens in this region live under the rule of barbaric custom rather than that of modern law.
Rahul said: I am over 100% sure that disparity is MUCH MUCH less than in India etc.
Rahul is probably right. Please checkShiv responded: Rahul - You may personally "be sure" about a lot of things.
However, you may be wrong Kindly dig up some studies and quote to support your "more than 100 % sure". Rhetoric is great. Everyone agrees that Indian women are screwed in more ways than one. Much time is being spent on agreeing on this and asserting that "My knowledge of Indian women's suffering is greater than yours"
I explained it earlier, and later, I will start a NEW thread to show how market-rate royalty over coal, ores, crude-oil etc is sufficient to lower the poverty of ALL, be men or womnen, be divorced or non-divorced.Originally posted by Nikhil Shah:
I think it is nice that govt hands out money to divorced women, where is it getting the money from?
Nothing is more suffocating than a bad marriage. IMO, right to divorce is the fundamentalest right woman/man should have. Why should a judge decide if one can divorce his spouse? It causes tremendous cost/delay/agomy on party who wants divorce. And if judge has to review all details, then we will need 100s of judges per district just to resolve divorce/alimony/custody issues. Their salaries etc are too much burden on society.Why do you want TTT style divorce in India for everybody?
Without TTT and woman-sided child custody laws, even educated woman will have to put with a wife-beater.Education and Opportunity are the only two most sustainable solutions.
Once upon a time, divorce itself was illegal and it was believed that legalizing it would ruin the society. It took a time for everyone to realize that divorce will ONLY improve the situation of men as well as women. SIMPLIFYING divorce procedures will ONLY benefit everyone.Kedar Bhandary says
a) TTT divorce. It has been observed the world over that when divorce laws get easy, a man is more likely to misuse them to walk away from his wife and family. You may talk about attaching his property and salary but any crooked attorney can easily help him hide his assets.
When it comes to govt's role in improving woman's situation, we MUST a draw a line. If a wife says to society/govt that "my husbad is beating me, please arrest him, save me ..." it should be done. But if she says to society/govt "my husband is alcoholic; please change tax-policies or impose prohibition so he quits or reduces ..." such demand MUST be turned down. Protection, some support etc are the ONLY things society/govt should offer. Govt MUST NOT cater demands of converting husbands into "ideal husbands" or "what wives would like them to be."b) Liquor tax being removed. Do you know who would be the first group that would be protesting such a move of yours. The womens' groups.
There is no evidence to show that increase in cost REDUCES consumption of items which are addictive like tea, coffee, liquor, drugs, tobaccoo etc. The tax on liquor DOES NOT reduce consumption of liquor, it ONLY drains out money from his pocket. If society is serious on reducing liquor consumption, it should try councilling, rehab etc.... Have you considered that by liquor being cheaper, how many more people will be drinking and overall the national productivity will be decreasing.
To balance the revenue gap, the govt may tax income, property whatever etc. But it doesnt make sense why a drunkard should pay more to govt than the rest. I do want to emulate west , but NOT every point. The excess tax *is* wrong and not worth emulating.Plus if the liquor tax is gone, then the government has to raise tax elsewhere to balance the revenues. Even in western societies like the US, Canada (whom you want to emulate) alcohol and tobacco are highly taxed and are a major source of revenue to the government.
welfare supported by taxation *is* a burden. welfare based on incomes of state-owned natural resources *is* not a burdend on anyone.c) Monthly stipend to the woman. As Nikhil correctly asked whose money is it. Living on doles and welfare is okay in the short-run but in the long-run it does not help the cause of the woman. Have you observed the situation in the US on welfare.
i) It can be a big burden to the government and many states are now going for welfare reform.
Thats only when welfare amount is too large and too sufficient. The dole I suggesting is something JUST sufficient to rent a tiny room in a hostel and buy some basic food and NO MORE so that it is easy for a woman to walk out.ii) People who get addicted to welfare can remain on it for ages and won't go and find more productive work. For example there are cases of people moving states to get better welfare.
Govt (=police/courts) can protect those and ONLY those women who are willing to walk out of an abusive company. If a woman/anyone clings on to an abusive husband/boyfriend/anyone, there is not much cops/judges/govt/soceity can do. Doles give an OPPURTUNITY to a woman to walk out. If she doesnt use this oppurtunity properly, policemen/judges cant help any further.iii)The abuse of women is higher in the lower strata of the society and incidentally the women who are on welfare are more abused by their boyfriends/fiancees/close male.
Alternatives, like education, are MORE corruption/wastage prone than direct-payments.iv) With the kind of corrupt society India is with poor accountability, can you imagine the fraud that will go on and how much will the exchequer be drained.
There is NO law-order (police/judge) solution to female infenticide/foeticide problem. Eighter the problem will disappear on its own (which is unlikely) or ONLY the following step will reduce female foeticide --- mother/father, who have LESS THAN 2 children, will get Rs X/mo for a girl child for whole life or till the girl child is alive. X can be Rs 100 or so.Originally posted by Kedar Bhandary:
a) Effective and forceful implementation of law and order especially against dowry deaths, female infanticide, etc.
ThanksImtiaz Ahmed says : Rahul is probably right. ... Key finding bolsters Rahul's claim ... I find Rahul a valuable member of the forum. He can think out of the box and is original. He is also quite knowledgeable and ...
This is only to clarify the constitutional and legal status of mining and royalty on minerals in India before Shri Mehta starts his new thread on “market rate of royalty” as the panacea for eradication of poverty. Once the thread starts this can be moved there. I thought of clarifying the concepts so that more meaningful discussion can take place at the appropriate thread, instead of discussion through the hat, not based on facts as they prevail.Originally posted by Rahul Mehta:
I explained it earlier, and later, I will start a NEW thread to show how market-rate royalty over coal, ores, crude-oil etc is sufficient to lower the poverty of ALL, be men or womnen, be divorced or non-divorced.
This is how it works. Consider a open-cast coal mine. Say price of coal AT THE MINE is Rs 10 per kg. Say cost of digging (labor, insuarnce, equipment EVERYTHING included) is Rs 2. Then GoI can easily get royalty of upto Rs 7 to Rs 7.50 per kg, if deals are negotiated properly. Today these royalty is sub-peanut due to collusions of all sorts.
Now why is the difference between price and cost so high in case of many natural resources like ores, coal, crude, marble,kota stone, granite, underground water etc. Becuase no country can allow all out digging of crude, coal, ores etc. If allowed, resources will vanish within a few days. eg if unlimted mining of underground water is allowed, water level will deplet to desert level as it is already happening in parts of India. So govt has no option but to impose a limit of amount of coal, crude, ore etc that can be mined. This creates a gap in cost and sale-price at the mine. This gap is what I call as royalty on crude, coal, marble etc etc.
Now, as per rumor I heard, Saudi Arabia, divides a certain portion of this royaltly on crude equally amongst all citizens (elders, widow, disabled get a little more than rest). In civilized countries like Norway, a chunk of this money is used for social secutity etc. In India, our elitemen simply pocket, without an iota of guilt, it as if it is whole country and its resources are their own feifdom.
So my suggestion goes as follows, and it is NOT a quickfix, and I havent worked out ALL details yet
1)Improve administrative procedures so that collection of royalty on coal, ores, crude, underground water etc improves
2)Divide this sum equally, with some more for elders, disabled etc.
This will NOT result into a penny of tax on non-poor. So no one is burden on anyone.
royalty + miner's profits = sale price at mine - cost of miningOriginally posted by Aditi:
Rahulji’s concept of ‘royalty’ is the difference between cost of mining a mineral and sale price of the mineral, which according to him, “ the elite class is pocketing”. What he has in mind is perhaps the profit from mining which is retained by the mining lease holder, which is however not the same thing as royalty.
I think much of coal and ALL crude oil (and natural gas) are currently controlled by the center and not state.... Parliament enacted the Mines and Minerals(Development and Regulation) Act, 1957. Under this Act, the Central Government fixes the rates of royalty for all minerals and once fixed, these rates can be revised upwards not before three years. ...The State Governments (and not the Central Government) are the owners of minerals.
Exactly. And here is where we need the change.... In fact for mineral rich states, royalty from minerals is an important source of non-tax revenue. The revenue goes to the Consolidated Fund of the State Government concerned.
Thats theory. In reality, neta/babu just pocket it, or waste it away or spend it on their pet projects. The BEST way to utilize the royalty payments is to hand over this royalty DIRECTLY to the ownetrs i.e. the citizens. This may NOT eliminate 100% poverty, but REDUCE number of poor and will also reduce extent of poverty. Even if payment is as low as Rs 200 - Rs 300 per month, it can be a big help.In India, it is up to the States to devolve further funds in any manner they like.
All minerals, coal and mineral oil included, are the property of the State Government in whose jurisdiction (on land) these are found. In all cases of minerals in offshore areas (i.e in the continental shelf, Exclusive Economic Zone etc) however,the minerals belong to the Central Government. Therefore royalties are also payable accordingly. As for 'control'... coal was nationalised in 1973, which implies that coal mining is primarily done by PSUs... exceptions being captive mining of coal allowed for power etc to private sector. In oil sector, there is no such legal problem, as far as I know, although PSUs dominate.There is a price control mechanism (Administered Price Regime)in oil sector, which is being dismantled as per a declared time schedule.I think much of coal and ALL crude oil (and natural gas) are currently controlled by the center and not state.
Now Sir , I have found a Pathan from Pindi Bhattian ...in your statement ....Originally posted by Atish:
The security of the female is still the primary responsibility of the male.
I am sure you have taken my stmt in ( don't know which ) some other manner.We cant expect the women to take arms/ slap offenders in buses.
They do come for help. But do you want to maintain that cycle ?? Tease-Help ?? Magnanimity huh...once this jhapad his sure thing ....... then I am more than sure that aI am fairly sure in Delhi at least the janta would not come in support of the woman.
Kiran Bedi wld take you to pieces
The woman obviously does not want to get into any firther trouble. Moreover shock and humiliation tend to paralyze the senses.
Don't talk abt free society ..less said the betterThe problem is very deep rooted. Our sense of honor is warped. We need a more free society for things to change.
Thats the job of the policemen/judges. If is possible to resolve the disputes by "semi-violent", "mob-type" actions of the vitcims' groups, we should fire all policemen/judges and save us some uncessary expense.Originally posted by justin:
But what I am not able to understand is why they don't act collectivly.. say if somebody has been miss-behaved with why can't all the females just get together and just bash the guy/ goto his house and give nice one ?? I mean that kind of pressures will work wonder.
The movie makers and neta/babu/judges/NGOs etc. are just looking for cash/fame etc etc. I dont expect much from them.Talk abt Bhanwari case .. what has happened ultimately ? A Movie made -- money made by producers - ... like Mohini Giri done except enjoy the fame/benefits of organisation they sit in ?
Lets answer a simple question : why didnt the Indian courts punish the criminals, while in west such criminals get punished with better probability?why cldn't 5-6 thousand females storm that village .. ??
Add intellectuals of Constitution Club in New Delhi in this list. They are the worst.Think how she got *mis-used* while these farts of National Democratic Women Front etc had coffe/tea/bhasans at India Habitat Centre and IIC !!!
1. you are over-generalizing.1. In nutshell if Indian Male is scum ..
2. indian females in power are no good ...
3. and common female who travels in Blue line still refuses too slap the irritant chap.
It's been some years since I've lived in Singara Chennai, so I'm not quite sure about the extent of eve-teasing in public transit. On the other hand, all seats on the left-side of the aisle are reserved for women, and woe-betide the man who dares to sit there when there are more women in the bus. In general, men aren't allowed to sit next to women (unless the woman permits it) in the "open category" seats.Originally posted by Aditi Parikh:
I am assuming that by and large eve-teasing is a north India menace since I haven’t heard anybody from the south, west or east complain about it.