India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Sonugn

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Post by Sonugn »

Dilbu wrote:So democrats have fired using Obama while Biden has remained the smiling face. As someone mentioned there is nothing more to be read into a few questions and answers. I am still waiting for the big ticket announcement to come out of this visit. We haven’t got anything substantial so far. GE engine, consulates, more visas, joint statement on TSP-China all are good but nothing special.
Good cop Bad cop routine i guess. But Obama is connected & with Soros Jr in charge it would mean more money to their favorite locals in GE 2024. He is just reinforcing the fact that they have their own "constituencies" within India to cause trouble in case we get too uppity.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Young boy with mic:

"We're here to protest Modi, who has killed millions of Sikhs, Muslims and Jews..." :roll:

the pontificating, sewage pit minded, woke, sold out scoundrels of soreass
Look who is talking about Human Rights of Muslims.

@POTUS44 Barak Obama, who bombed 7 Muslim countries. His 26000+ bombs in 2016 alone killed Hundreds of thousands Muslims and he is worried for the Muslims of India.

If anyone qualifies for war crimes at International Court of Justice for genocide, it is Barak Obama.

Tell me Barak, how much you were paid for this interview

Careful with the n John camm Twitter account. It's a very shady account . He is well known in cardiology circles . It's a shady cardiologist who has been arrested in India before . I don't know his real name . There is a legit big name cardiologist and researcher by the name of John camm that is separate from this dude . This dude (maybe a bot running the account now ) posts several cardiology articles and in between he makes political statements that fluctuate from far left to far right and everything in between. I would hope patriotic indians don't promote his tweet because of the background shadiness that can come to bite us back in the behinds at a later date .

Sanman,

My reply to you was wiped. China’s partnership with the US occurred during a different set of circumstances. China’s bureaucracy unlike ours was a facilitator of absorption of tech and talent and still continues to have a political efficiency which we still lack. The US has learnt a lot from this partnership over the past few decades and will not risk arming a future competitor. I’ve mentioned that we still don’t have a choice because of geopolitical strategy to swing between the SCO and western alliance but we are unlikely to capitalize on such benefits due to our weak fundamentals. This will only worsen with AI and automation which are becoming increasingly disruptive to traditionally revenue generating sectors of the economy.

As far as ideology/personalities are concerned, I would look at the issue differently. Adopt a leadership/management framework instead. I mentioned that it has everything to do with leveraging talent and building institutions that foster innovation and high tech manufacturing. In this sense, I think successive PMOs including Modi have failed. The outcome is more feel good initiatives which repackage and reward the same snatch and run assembly mindset which was instilled in us over the past two colonialisms.

Cyrano wrote: In ME countries, Islam is definitely on the decline. I believe their support for radical islam is to keep US at check. Hasn't worked out that way, because today's coalitions of the willing are yesterday's crusaders. KSA, UAE have realised this and are now busy keeping UK, US and EU out of their affairs and slowly mending fences with Israel.

Radical Indian muslims will continue making trouble as long as there is external funding and internal appeasement. I think they both will dry out in the coming years. Then the only choice would be to at least become sanatani muslims or even better do Ghar wapasi. :rotfl:
Sweet summer child you are.

Can we take ME/KSA/UAE discussions to its relevant thread please.

I have only one query, why was anti-Hindu, jihadi baki terrorist sympathizer Sabrina Diqui allowed inside WH? Did not she have any of the five namaz to go to? With one of the 72 mullahs?

Details of all commercial and governmental agreements are listed in the joint statement. Overall, excellent visit and great leadership by Modi ji and team who recognize that at the end of the day commerce, economy, paisa dictates everything...

Pramila Commie-pal, Ban Hollen, Ilhan Mujhe-mar, Rashida Tlaib can hit the bar early and weep...

Joint Statement from the United States and India
Last edited by chanakyaa on 23 Jun 2023 23:58, edited 2 times in total.

Islam is less than a decade behind Christianity and Judaism in terms of apostasy rate. The Ulema can’t keep these guys going.

Indian Muslim leader defends Modi amid 'Squad' criticism, human rights concerns
Peter Aitken
Thu, June 22, 2023, 5:07 PM EDT

A Muslim leader in India blasted plans from some Democrat representatives to boycott Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s address to Congress on Thursday.

Rep. Ilhan Omar, D-Minn., announced Tuesday on Twitter that she would not attend Modi’s speech to Congress on Thursday, accusing Modi’s government of repressing religious minorities, emboldening violent Hindu nationalist groups and targeting journalists and human rights advocates "with impunity."

Atif Rasheed, president of Pasmanda Muslim Mahaz (Marginalized Muslim Front), responded to the claims by saying that Omar was "spitting poison" with her claims.

"I belong from religious Minority of India but I live freely with my religious freedom and religious identity in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's India," Rasheed wrote in a tweet.

"I have equal share in every resource here, I have the freedom to speak whatever I want in India," he continued. "I also have the freedom to write what I want in India. I am sorry to say you are showing wrong picture of My India under your hate agenda."

Republican presidential candidate Nikki Haley also ridiculed the representatives for the protest, telling Fox News Digital in a statement that "AOC and the Squad boycotting India’s democratically elected leader while they side with Palestinian terrorists and socialist dictators is exactly on brand. What an embarrassment."

President Joe Biden and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi participate in an arrival ceremony at the White House on June 22, 2023.
In a statement to Fox News Digital, Omar responded to Rasheed’s claims by saying that "what’s happening in India runs directly counter to our democratic values." She accused Modi’s government of instituting an anti-Muslim citizenship law and "a purge of Muslim citizens in the Indian state of Assam," as well as the revocation of autonomy from the majority-Muslim region of Kashmir and the illegal detention of dissidents.

"Dissidents, journalists, and their families are targeted with violence and political persecution," Omar wrote. "Even advocates outside of India fear that their family members will be targeted if they speak out."

"We are told we must now turn a blind eye to this repression because of foreign policy concerns – even though human rights are supposed to be at the center of our foreign policy," she continued. "But Prime Minister Modi is not even a reliable geopolitical ally."

"Modi has maintained close economic ties with [Russian President] Vladimir Putin even after his illegal invasion of Ukraine, and continues to rely on Russia for oil and weapons," she wrote, adding that she will instead hold a briefing on the bilateral relationship, including a panel of human rights experts.

From left: Reps. Ilhan Omar, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and Rashida Tlaib
Reps. Rashida Tlaib, D-Mich., and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, D-N.Y., also announced plans to boycott Modi’s speech, saying the U.S. should not extend "the most prestigious invitations and honors" Congress can extend "for individuals with deeply troubling human rights records." Rep. Cori Bush, D-Mo., said she would be skipping Modi’s address "in solidarity with the communities that have been harmed by Modi and his policies."

Neither Tlaib nor Ocasio-Cortez responded to a Fox News Digital request for comment by time of publication.

Rep. Jamaal Bowman, D-N.Y., called Modi’s appearance before Congress "unacceptable."

"We've seen how Prime Minister Modi has incited dangerous nationalism and violence in India, has promoted Islamophobia, and more. Inviting someone like him to speak to Congress is unacceptable, and I will not be attending his speech," Bowman said.

Demonstrators hold signs during their protest against fascism in India.
Siddhartha Dubey, adjunct professor at Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism, told Fox News Digital that the U.S. has given Modi a "very warm" welcome and that the congresswomen were justified in their boycotts.

"For the past three administrations of Obama onwards, human rights and civil liberties, the issue of human rights and civil liberties in India has been swept under the carpet because India is more of a strategic ally, an economic partner," Dubey explained.

"Since the belligerence of China has risen not just in Asia but around the world and on American soil, [including] the recent or not so recent spy balloon incident, America needs India," he continued. "Plus, it's becoming a massive trading partner, so human rights has taken a backseat."

"These representatives standing up and said that they will not attend Prime Minister Modi's address in Washington later today is – I mean, it's their own choice," he said. "I support their choice. It's a tiny bit of resistance and an overall very, very, very warm embrace Washington has given Mr. Modi."

Modi told the Wall Street Journal that "India deserves a much higher, deeper and wider profile and a role," adding that he did not see India's role as "supplanting any country" but that the country is simply "gaining its rightful position in the world."

India sits within key, but competing, organizations: the QUAD, made up of the U.S. and Indo-Pacific partners India, Japan and Australia, which is a dialogue between those nations on security matters; and two groups led by China and Russia called BRICS and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization.

Fox News Digitals' Elizabeth Elkind contributed to this report.

The preacher's son John Chambers, ex CEO of CISCO is all praise of PM Modi..
"India will be #1 economy of the world", prediction of Chambers.

Anybody have a clear read on why the amrikis had this massive change of heart about India, a country that they were actively cursing just about six months ago..

obummer has made it very painfully clear that he does not agree with his govt's newly minted India policy and have many other democrats, like bernie sander's for instance.... on the face of it, their deep state seems somewhat divided, with the DOD firmly on board, but foggy bottom, the padres, and the commies, not so much....

what gives...especially when India certainly hasn't changed her russki, or even ukr policies

Enjoy this address to the Indians in America by PM Modi.

^^ Who else can they turn to?
China has them by their balls, Putin and Saudis are screwing them from both the sides. This admin is a bunch of virtue signaling Islamist morons.

chetak wrote:Anybody have a clear read on why the amrikis had this massive change of heart about India, a country that they were actively cursing just about six months ago..

Snip...
There's no change of heart.

It's a tactical accomodation of India by the Neo cons. Because they are in a rush to fight China.

The state department is still following it's old tricks. With the US now launching investigation of Adani businesses.
sanman

Post by sanman »

RoyG wrote:Sanman,

My reply to you was wiped. China’s partnership with the US occurred during a different set of circumstances. China’s bureaucracy unlike ours was a facilitator of absorption of tech and talent and still continues to have a political efficiency which we still lack. The US has learnt a lot from this partnership over the past few decades and will not risk arming a future competitor. I’ve mentioned that we still don’t have a choice because of geopolitical strategy to swing between the SCO and western alliance but we are unlikely to capitalize on such benefits due to our weak fundamentals. This will only worsen with AI and automation which are becoming increasingly disruptive to traditionally revenue generating sectors of the economy.

As far as ideology/personalities are concerned, I would look at the issue differently. Adopt a leadership/management framework instead. I mentioned that it has everything to do with leveraging talent and building institutions that foster innovation and high tech manufacturing. In this sense, I think successive PMOs including Modi have failed. The outcome is more feel good initiatives which repackage and reward the same snatch and run assembly mindset which was instilled in us over the past two colonialisms.

In retrospect, we should have originally responded to the US-Nixon-Kissinger Tilt Toward China by focusing on aggravating the Taiwan flashpoint. We could have done whatever possible to ensure either the loss of Taiwan to China, or else the loss of Taiwan to America.

On the one hand, we could have quietly aligned with Chinese interests in helping them to encircle Taiwan, at no loss to ourselves.
We could have quietly helped China to build up their island bases in South China Sea, particularly on the far side near Philippines.

Or on the other hand, we could have proliferated useful military technologies to Taiwan, to prevent China from ever seizing it.
We could have traded these for useful technologies from them in return.

As a "swing state", we benefit most by swinging hard, rather than floundering in limbo.
It's just a question of finding the optimal direction to take a swing at. We should've vectored in on Taiwan, because that was always the most sensitive and fragile flashpoint.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://m.timesofindia.com/business/ind ... 208860.cms

Given how backward our research and development base is, the ..

This will ensure that India, along with other partners and
along with other partners and allies, would stay in their their assigned place.

"Important Read for brf ites "

Pay/app wall saar !

ये तो वही बात हुई

चित भी मेरी, पट भी मेरी, अंटा मेरे बाप का।

drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Cyrano wrote:Pay/app wall saar !

https://web.archive.org/web/*/https://m ... 08860.cms*

article is brand new., should be archived in a day or so !!

Sonugn wrote:
Dilbu wrote:So democrats have fired using Obama while Biden has remained the smiling face. As someone mentioned there is nothing more to be read into a few questions and answers. I am still waiting for the big ticket announcement to come out of this visit. We haven’t got anything substantial so far. GE engine, consulates, more visas, joint statement on TSP-China all are good but nothing special.
Good cop Bad cop routine i guess. But Obama is connected & with Soros Jr in charge it would mean more money to their favorite locals in GE 2024. He is just reinforcing the fact that they have their own "constituencies" within India to cause trouble in case we get too uppity.
Sonugn ji

Like Mota Bhai says: 'आप क्रोनोलॉजी समझिए!'

biden was, twice, obummer's VP.

obummer wouldn't go against his own sitting president, and also one from his own party, in such a crude fashion...

obummer is also the most prominent democrat in the US today, after biden, of course

70 odd senators have written to biden asking him to take up the "ill treatment" of religious minorities in India by the "Hindu" majority with Modi

biden and the democrats have pointedly delivered the religious criticisms of Modi and the Indian "democracy", as planned and intended, thus satisfying their commie supporters, political donors, and the padre backers......

who better than obummer to do it

the amanpour "interview" was timed to perfection.

It was a professionally coordinated hit, right on target, and with plausible deniability.

But the democrats know that this will play out big time on the Indian media and social space, aiding the congis no end in selling their favorite jihadi narrative.

This was the same to same evil narrative that was being pushed by the mafia princeling during his US visit

Indians are not so foolish as to swallow, what the lefties on the net, are dishing out

Someone should remind Barack that one Ashok Nayak of Chicago fell on the sword and went to jail for Barak just before he became prez. Barak should be asked how difficult was it to see a close friend go to jail for him.

NRao wrote:Someone should remind Barack that one Ashok Nayak of Chicago fell on the sword and went to jail for Barak just before he became prez. Barak should be asked how difficult was it to see a close friend go to jail for him.

NRao ji,

It's likely that there is a regime change or a regime curtailment play in progress.

they are softening up their intended target: India

If you think about it, the violence in Manipur was the perfect backdrop for Obama to raise the point about India pulling apart from within. It is all coordinated and well orchestrated.

Dilbu wrote:If you think about it, the violence in Manipur was the perfect backdrop for Obama to raise the point about India pulling apart from within. It is all coordinated and well orchestrated.
Dilbu ji,

here is the root cause of the manipur violence

The interested parties from the BIF pushing their agendas can easily be guessed from the data

the cheeni too have now actively joined the ranks of the BIF

the match was apparently lit by a hizzonner

They are following the Chanakya Neeti of engaging the enemy from periphery and never in areas where India is strong.

Flavia Julia Helena created Christ and she was married[?] to Constantius the Roman emperor. Her son became the next emperor. The Nicaea council formalized Christianity. Until then (325 AD), no one heard about Christ and to date there is zero proof such a person existed. In fact, many of the other markers like Bethlehem Star is dated to 660 BC. In a nutshell, Christianity tells the world that due to Adam/Eve's sin all of human kind are sinners and the only person (Christ) who shed blood on the cross can give them salvation from such sin. I hope the followers in Manipur are aware of such facts.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Hearing Biden has cleaned house of Obamas. Including Obama folks at the WTO!!!

Secondly, India is the only nation with the heft to supply the globe equitably. EU is dead, China has seen the writing on the wall. Vietnam, etc are support actors (at supplying the world).

Anyone noticed Macron invited Paki PM!!! At times I feel the US did another AUKUS on poor France. Modi has this under control.
Amol0922

Post by Amol0922 »

Hope that they do not have repeat of Augusta Incident with French Engineers.

I will give another view on Obama ...

His revenge on US is to transfer all tech to China so they can become a huge competitor to counter US. He supported Pakis to contain India. He funded ISIS.

Obama expended a lot of political capital on this health insurance business. It happens. People get to invested in ideology, start a project, and can’t let it go. It tired him out and everything else fell at the wayside.

Obama coming out is proof that all others below his level have failed. Including George A-Soros (the financer)

IMO we are giving too much bandwidth to what Obama said. American diplomatic psyche is not as nuanced as the Indian one. And I don't think Biden Admin coordinated this whole thing with Obama to beat India or do a bad cop/good cop routine. Obama is a spent force and his interest is about making money through his speeches/lecture circuit. Moreover, there is a large section of the Indian diaspora and media who will say more to disparage Indian democracy than the Americans themselves. This includes our own cheap politicos.

Modi handled it very well by just ignoring it, getting what he wants in official statements, and then beating Obama through Ms. Nirmala Sitaraman. Modi will move on, he doesn't care about rhetoric as long as it doesn't carry any substance and as long as his development agenda gets executed.

Indian psyche, on the other hand, involves over-analysis, parsing any minuscule statement, and then being sensitive about it.

One needs to understand the dynamics. This will change/is changing.

To illustrate when I was poor, I was very sensitive; now I say 'talk to my money'.

NYT WP Economist don't have much issue with China or Islamic countries. They are like Pakistan, don't have a problem with religious terror at home but over-wrought at some Muslim in India who has his feelings injured.

They are caricatures of themselves.

IMO we are giving too much bandwidth to what Obama said. American diplomatic psyche is not as nuanced as the Indian one.
Obama is not a part of thel current SD. He, currently, is more aligned with Soros. However, both SD and Soros would like Modi out, for their own two separate reasons.
And I don't think Biden Admin coordinated this whole thing with Obama to beat India or do a bad cop/good cop routine.
More to unpack, but, currently, Biden needs Modi for reelection. Obama is funded by Soros and kind and is speaking for them, not so much for or against Biden.
Obama is a spent force and his interest is about making money through his speeches/lecture circuit.
Obama is not yet a spent force. He is still interested in getting his wife elected.

Obomber just needs to be put in his place by asking about the 7 Islamic countries he bombed during his tenure. He is a Uncle Tom, nothing more nothing less.

vimal wrote:Obomber just needs to be put in his place by asking about the 7 Islamic countries he bombed during his tenure. He is a Uncle Tom, nothing more nothing less.
Sitaramman attacked

https://twitter.com/ndtvfeed/status/1672941979053727744

Bombed 6 Muslim Countries": Nirmala Sitharaman Takes On Barack Obama

https://ndtv.com/india-news/nirmala-sit ... sh-4151458

Karl Mehta @karlmehta
US-India partnership finally hit its ‘escape velocity’ (that was long overdue for being ‘natural partners’) with amazing work by Hon PM Modi, President Biden & VP Kamala Harris. Great to meet again VP Harris and PM Modi at the lunch hosted by Sec Blinken and VP Harris at the State dept last Friday. The best part personally for me was to chat in sweet Gujarati language with the PM:) he told me ‘wajan ghatadiyu che te’ #unitedstates #india

https://twitter.com/karlmehta/status/16 ... 5782230021

NRao wrote:Obama is not yet a spent force. He is still interested in getting his wife elected.
Interesting. So Obama's making play for the Muslim or Black Muslim vote. Not a bad strategy for him, but needs to be firewalled from India.