The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
hgupta wrote: ↑28 Dec 2023 15:01
I think they are bluffing. They are trying to scare the Indian diplomats into compromising situations and blackmail India with it. Won't work.
If Ottawa believes Nijjar's killers are still in Canada, then why was Ottawa asking for help in investigating over in India?
They seem to be contradicting themselves.
sanman ji,
no one, not even the keystone cops would make such announcements in the papers.
ergo, the guys wanted for the killings may have already been arrested and they are currently in custody, either singing or being doctored to sing
turdeau is hoping not be forced into stepping on the second landmine
Joseph Stalin: "One death is a tragedy, but a million deaths is just a statistic"
Canadian authorities: "One Nijjar is a tragedy, but 329 air passengers is just a statistic"
Nijjar's death has prompted Canada to change its laws and give its police a "duty to warn" -- but the deaths of 329 air passengers never prompted any similar "duty to warn".
This is part of the problem with these so called "farmers protests" anything and everything they do is justified in their own minds. She was upset about something said, so she can slap someone, never mind that she is in uniform and has taken an oath.
She has to be sacked.
Never mind the "low caste" Sikh that was murdered at the protests for touching a "holy book", he is forgotten, never mind the intimidation of lower castes to force them to attend the rallies outside of Delhi.
In Canada I see a distinct disinterest in Sikhs by the Hindu population- to the point of being cold.
They resent Sikhs being identified as Indians. There is an undeniable criminality. In this community, cultural values at variance with Canadian norms.
I am not sure if it is the experience in India. But here they have been written off to fight in their gurdwaras, abuse the immigration process, scam the insurance companies and beat their wives.
They slapping incident is unfortunate. The Sikhs are heavily employed in chhota mota security and airline passenger screening. Any misbehaviour, wild or otherwise, will not be tolerated here. Law suits and deportation do present an inducement to civilised conduct.
sanjaykumar wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 19:31
In Canada I see a distinct disinterest in Sikhs by the Hindu population- to the point of being cold.
They resent Sikhs being identified as Indians. There is an undeniable criminality. In this community, cultural values at variance with Canadian norms.
I am not sure if it is the experience in India. But here they have been written off to fight in their gurdwaras, abuse the immigration process, scam the insurance companies and beat their wives.
You could replace peacefuls in all the above statements quite easily.
sanjaykumar wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 19:31
They slapping incident is unfortunate. The Sikhs are heavily employed in chhota mota security and airline passenger screening. Any misbehaviour, wild or otherwise, will not be tolerated here. Law suits and deportation do present an inducement to civilised conduct.
I will tell you a story told to me by my cousins in Vancouver. They were invited to a Jat Gurudwara, a khalistani one. And their community (Ravidassia) took some khata yogurt along. One of the jat Sikhs when presented with the khata, actually pushed it away with his foot and said words to the effect " we are not eating a chamars khata"
In a Gurudwara !!!
I wouldn't give up on the Sikh community. Just reach out to the other Sikh castes.
From discussions I have had over there, the other castes resent and are threatened by the khalistani mob.
My cousins and others are surprised when I tell them how Diwali is celebrated in London, all India and all castes together.
The demographics of Punjab are probably replicated in Canada. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demograph ... jab,_India
^^Regretfully, in the UKstan peacefuls own the franchise to all of the above. One needs to just see the disparity in prisoner population to truly understand the scale.
Can I ask how the jatt Sikh could identify a ravidasia with certainty. Perhaps some human rights challenges need to be filed. Against the gurdwara itself.
sanjaykumar wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 20:50
Can I ask how the jatt Sikh could identify a ravidasia with certainty. Perhaps some human rights challenges need to be filed. Against the gurdwara itself.
Well that's the thing. My relations and my side of the family are very light skins, we can actually pass as Spanish, Greek or Italian. I think they knew because they went as a group. Maybe they recognised them as not of their Gurudwara.
I am reliably told that after the path, Jats will skip out individuals in a line when pogh is given out, ie skip an individual and move to the next because he Ravidasia and therefore unworthy. Things go so bad that eventually Ravidasias build their own Gurdwara in Southall
I have been learning that Sikhi is ridden with casteism. Even urban sikhs, whether in India or the West. In rural panjab it is 1000 times worst. Socially politically and religiously, that is a given. No amount of jatt sophistry and deflection can render these observations false. Ask the neo-issai. That is a passive rebellion against Sikhi and jatt domination.
I can’t say I have much respect for those castes who lick the jatt boot.
Lisa wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 23:08
I am reliably told that after the path, Jats will skip out individuals in a line when pogh is given out, ie skip an individual and move to the next because he Ravidasia and therefore unworthy. Things go so bad that eventually Ravidasias build their own Gurdwara in Southall
sanjaykumar wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 23:52
I have been learning that Sikhi is ridden with casteism. Even urban sikhs, whether in India or the West. In rural panjab it is 1000 times worst. Socially politically and religiously, that is a given. No amount of jatt sophistry and deflection can render these observations false. Ask the neo-issai. That is a passive rebellion against Sikhi and jatt domination.
I can’t say I have much respect for those castes who lick the jatt boot.
You are right. Sikhism is dying because of castism.
The lower castes were basically told they had to attend the farmer protests. Intimidation and violence was used. The lower castes are mostly dependent on the jatts for work on the land. This is why they do not want competition for control in the form of industrialisation.
If the BJP govt was to expand the Industrial Training Institutes and offer central govt grants to the lower castes, that will change the balance of power. I point blank refuse to lend relations money to buy land. It will be a desert in 25 years anyway.
Lisa wrote: ↑03 Apr 2023 20:13
For someone whose grandfather's bogh was held in a gurdwara by the Sikh community, without our family's consent, as they had assumed this their responsibility for the amount of respect they held our Hindu family in, I have VERY regretfully now stopped attending services at 'our' gurdwara. The 'local' gurdwara on the other hand has been out of bounds for many years as they openly support khalistan!
The above from a previous post of mine. Furthermore, the gurdwara we do attend occasionally, its far away so not easy to go regularly. It is frowned upon in the Sikh community as its views are unacceptable, ie it has openly refused all edicts from Amritsar. and say that they alone will decide proceedings in their gurdwara. Its congregation is East African and they are referred to as the gurdwara of the 'educated'. They have openly refused to back calls for khalistan and had physically confronted fund raisers during the Punjab troubles.
I have aways found it strange to see East African Sikhs being frowned upon for supporting the integrity of India whilst jat gurdwaras run by Indian Sikhs openly hang posters of terrorists like bindranwale on their buildings with no shame.
Lisa wrote: ↑03 Apr 2023 20:13
For someone whose grandfather's bogh was held in a gurdwara by the Sikh community, without our family's consent, as they had assumed this their responsibility for the amount of respect they held our Hindu family in, I have VERY regretfully now stopped attending services at 'our' gurdwara. The 'local' gurdwara on the other hand has been out of bounds for many years as they openly support khalistan!
The above from a previous post of mine. Furthermore, the gurdwara we do attend occasionally, its far away so not easy to go regularly. It is frowned upon in the Sikh community as its views are unacceptable, ie it has openly refused all edicts from Amritsar. and say that they alone will decide proceedings in their gurdwara. Its congregation is East African and they are referred to as the gurdwara of the 'educated'. They have openly refused to back calls for khalistan and had physically confronted fund raisers during the Punjab troubles.
I have aways found it strange to see East African Sikhs being frowned upon for supporting the integrity of India whilst jat gurdwaras run by Indian Sikhs openly hang posters of terrorists like bindranwale on their buildings with no shame.
The overwhelming majority of East African Sikhs are from the Ramgarihia community. Well educated and progressive. My sister was married to one. They stand out because their turbans are starched and very smooth.
Good people.
Lisa wrote: ↑07 Jun 2024 23:08
I don't understand which Gurudwaras you visit. Nothing like this happens anywhere. They build their separate Gurudwaras due to money and politics and not because of casteism. Please stop all this Jatt bashing for no reason! Majority of Jats are not Khalistanis. Sikh regiment is 90% Jatt Sikh.
Is it possible to identify what caste Sikhs belong to from turban alone? I realise most wear the conventional pagadi turban, but are there other defining characteristics? I believe Nihangs are identified by the blue turban and dress… any other characteristics?
Tanaji wrote: ↑08 Jun 2024 18:42
Is it possible to identify what caste Sikhs belong to from turban alone? I realise most wear the conventional pagadi turban, but are there other defining characteristics? I believe Nihangs are identified by the blue turban and dress… any other characteristics?
no! Turban can tell you which region they are from Patiala, Amritsar, Ludhiana, Rawalpindi, etc but not their caste.
In East Africa, servants could wash and clean and starch new turbans every day so even if a white turban was used and it got dirty, it did not matter. Servants will have done the necessary in a day or so. Thus white was the colour of preference.
With regards to Havelock Road Gurdwara in Southall, the largest Sikh temple in London, ISB was one of the founding members in the 1960's. I am not suggesting that someone told me, he himself has told me that he was asked to assist in the removal of Tarkhans from the committee so that only Jats could run the Gurdwara. The individual who ask him to do the deed whilst being given a lift was unaware that ISB was himself a Tarkhan. He politely resigned the next day. This is the same Gurdwara that has the image of bindranwale in front of it.
SBalwa, these posts are not meant to defame jatts. But do reveal the insider knowledge that we all have, including jatts.
I can never countenance the caste social hierarchy. Even though I am not a beneficiary. Unless you find the social structures in the southern US to be Jesus sanctioned, there is no place for it. But there are plenty who do.
There is a relentless anti Hindu propaganda by some. This is inevitably going to have a backlash. People have been silent not ignorant.
When I was in primary school, not in India or the west, there was a new boy, a Sikh, admitted who had polio. At the age of eight we bonded only because of region. Disability meant nothing.
Unfortunately, today his parents would probably instruct him to stay away from the dhimmi. I use that term with due deliberation.
In East Africa, servants could wash and clean and starch new turbans every day so even if a white turban was used and it got dirty, it did not matter. Servants will have done the necessary in a day or so. Thus white was the colour of preference.
With regards to Havelock Road Gurdwara in Southall, the largest Sikh temple in London, ISB was one of the founding members in the 1960's. I am not suggesting that someone told me, he himself has told me that he was asked to assist in the removal of Tarkhans from the committee so that only Jats could run the Gurdwara. The individual who ask him to do the deed whilst being given a lift was unaware that ISB was himself a Tarkhan. He politely resigned the next day. This is the same Gurdwara that has the image of bindranwale in front of it.
Who is ISB ??
We used to attend the Havelock Road Gurudwara. in the late 60's and early 70's
Haresh wrote: ↑08 Jun 2024 23:22
Who is ISB ??
We used to attend the Havelock Road Gurudwara. in the late 60's and early 70's
I used the initials on purpose. First name is Inderjeet.
Ah OK, the old Southall community leaders. Probably passed away now. Are you resident in London or elsewhere ?
I remember from those days a lot of different communities breaking away and forming their own gurudwaras. A real shame. A old friend of mine a Gujarati Hindu from Junior school, his family were expelled from Uganda, they arrived at Heathrow airport with nothing but the clothes on their back. They were approached by a Sikh, he took them to Southall, they stayed in the Havelock temple for a week, he found my friends father a job in a factory where he worked and he worked there until he retired. That is why to this day he wears a Kara on his wrist.
Different times.
ISB is very alive and very well. In his 80's and with many children and many grandchildren all doing well. He was far from a community leader, just simply a good man with his heart in the right place. He is from India and I can proudly say that he had volunteered to help out with the Ugandan refugees.
Like you I live in London and remain very disheartened to read your comments about your fathers experience. I am originally East African and out there we were just one community. Nobody knew what caste meant and I and all my siblings attended a Muslim school for seven years and all my teachers, who were Muslim, wore mini skirts and had bee hive hair styles. Even though religion was identifiable, you rarely identified someone by it. R Khan, a Pakistani could be found sitting in the front row of the congregation in the Singh Saba Gurdwara as he had grown up in pre-independent Punjab and despite being a Muslim, he knew parts of the scripture by heart. One never gave his attendance a second thought.
Its a very different world today. I miss those days and people.
They read and believe in the Koran so they are..........
One of them from our town, he has passed on now, had done remarkably well in the US and in his business prospectus was identifying as an Indian yet many in London root for that failed state next door. At their weddings, the women of their community all wear saris and not Muslim attire.
sanjaykumar wrote: ↑10 Jun 2024 01:52
The khojas or more accurately khwaja have an interesting history of syncretism. Until recently they followed several Hindu practices.
I am not perturbed by their identification with a backward impoverished violent Pakistan. My advice is don’t let that rub off on you folks. Hehe.
Just to add to the nostalgia. Lisa obviously went to the Aga Khan School, possibly the one on Limuru Road. I did my "a " Levels at Strathmore College, a couple of miles away across the river valley. In the valley were St. Mary's Boys and Loreto Convent, Mosongari (girls only) which were designated "white" schools and though Roman Catholic, I as an Indian could not attend. Back to the Khojas, my understanding is that Jinnah was a Khoja originally. Incidentally, they now prefer to be called Ismaili.
I agree with most of the things the writers say of the East African Sikhs. They had no cast bias, and I am still in touch with two Sikh classmates. One of them won the (catholic) catechism class in primary school though he is a practising Sikh. He does not wear a turban anymore because he is then taken for an Afghan! But with his long grey hair and skimpy beard (natural) he is often taken for an ageing hippy.
Tanaji wrote: ↑27 Jun 2024 19:10
There is video by Ajeet Bharti on youtube about why Hindus should stop attending Gurudwaras. Very poignant video and sad that we have come to this.
It would be a big mistake to stop going to Gurudwaras. I think stop going to khalistani controlled gurudwaras, but not to the others, and there are so many others.
You will only meet hostility in those, not the others.
If you stop then you are helping the khalistani's, they would have achieved their aim.