BR Forum Feedback

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: BR Forum Feedback

putnanja wrote:I don't fully agree with this statement. The primary discussion was about first aircraft landing on INS Vikrant. For an aircraft carrier, that is a significant milestone as it is it's raison d'être. Even the news of landing on Mig-29k was removed from INS Vikrant thread. I feel it's important milestone of the aircraft carrier about when/which aircraft made the first few landings and take-offs. Just like first aircraft landing on a new civil airport is celebrated, the first few operations of aircraft from an aircraft carrier needs to be celebrated, as that is the primary purpose of an aircraft carrier. In this particular case, it shouldn't be an issue to have posts in both threads as there are operational issues that can be discussed in carrier thread, while the aircraft performance issues can be in the naval LCA thread. Just my $0.02.
Thank you for your response and I understand the point you have raised i.e. the primary discussion being about the Tejas landing on INS Vikrant.

When the news on the Naval Tejas was first reported on the forum, it started off in two threads - Vikrant and Naval Aviation. No one posted it in the Naval Tejas thread, because that thread was sitting on Page 3 of the forum. No one knew where the thread was. As more info on the Naval Tejas filters through the media in the days and weeks ahead, it would have been collected in those threads and the Naval Tejas thread would have been untouched. So issues related to the aircraft's performance could inadvertently land up in the Vikrant thread or the Naval Aviation thread. While not rocket science, it is cumbersome to move multiple posts from one thread to another. If it can be addressed earlier, it becomes that much easier for the moderator who is moving the posts around.

Secondly, when the Vikrant was commissioned last September, the discussion was largely kept to the Vikrant thread alone. It could have easily gone to the Indian Navy thread and valuable info could have been lost there. Celebration is welcome and encouraged on BRF, especially when it is local maal. But it is far easier for readers to track info on a particular platform, in one dedicated thread than having to visit multiple threads to get the same info. As indicated earlier, the first landings of the Naval Tejas on the Vikrant can readily be referenced in the first post on page 1 of the Naval Tejas thread.

Thirdly, I thought the posts you made in the Vikrant thread and the Naval Aviation thread, were identical to the post you made in the Naval Tejas thread. If that was not the case, then my sincere apologies. If you did post about the MiG-29K landing on the Vikrant, then it was my error to have deleted that post. Please repost that news in the Vikrant thread, as we do not have a dedicated MiG-29K/KUB thread on BRF. Some thing is amiss about that bit of news and we need a discussion on that. I will wait for you to make that post, to respond.

Re: BR Main Site Feedback

Anoop.G wrote:Admins /Mods
There seems to a junk/spam post from my ID which I did not post.. Not sure how this appeared. Can I request you to please delete this??

I have been accessing BRF only on my phone (iOS 16.3). I am totally clueless on how an external malware etc may have caused to post this with a Telegram link. In my professional life, I am not even linked remotely to the subject topic.

I have changed my BRF password. Is there anything else I need to do??

Regret any inconvenience for this!
Anoop, for now, changing your password is the best course of action which you have already taken. We'll keep a watch to see if this happens again.
basant

Post by basant »

Mods, can we open a thread on UFO/UAP? There is a lot of military interest and significance and multiple reported incidents within a week in the USA, Canada and China now.

SSridhar wrote:....
Sir, I've sent a message to the moderator team. Could you please check?

arshyam, unfortunately I could not make it to Aero India.

This has nothing to do with feedback but could not find an appropriate thread. Is Doc Shiv is back on Twitter? His previous handle @HariRam42245512 is suspended.
rajkumar

Post by rajkumar »

How do I post an image in a thread?
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

rajkumar wrote:How do I post an image in a thread?
Most of the images are posted to image hosting sites like imagur or in twitter and the you link it here with Img option Saar.

rajkumar wrote:How do I post an image in a thread?
upload the image to an image hosting site like imgur. Then add the link in a post here as follows: [img]link-to-image[/img]
sanman

Post by sanman »

Do BRF admins track things like data-scraping? I'm just wondering if anyone sees BRF as a data source.

https://twitter.com/elonmusk/status/1675393327263301632

We get a lot of bots and am sure they are data scraping,
Google bot, some thing called Majestic

What's funny is these Mods delete posts with an anomatopoeia - POOF. As if some queer aristrocrat waves his magic wand and then frollicks away through a field of daffodils. Its not enough to just delete the post with a justifiable rationale, they have to try to convince themselves they are above you in the process.

Word of advice for you mods who indulge in this kind of bullsh*t, cut it out.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

RoyG wrote: 05 Aug 2023 10:07 What's funny is these Mods delete posts with an anomatopoeia - POOF. As if some queer aristrocrat waves his magic wand and then frollicks away through a field of daffodils. Its not enough to just delete the post with a justifiable rationale, they have to try to convince themselves they are above you in the process.

Word of advice for you mods who indulge in this kind of bullsh*t, cut it out.
I agree.

Is there any plan to upgrade the forum software to include likes for posts?

How do you change the password of your account?
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

I was trying to see some archived threads, but many old threads seem to have been deleted permanently...
I understand threads take up memory in the server...
But I wish old threads are not deleted as they provide valuable insight into situations of the past on various topics...

Mort Walker wrote: 25 Nov 2023 04:09 How do you change the password of your account?
After logging in, please do the following;

1) Click on your Profile
2) Click on edit account settings
3) You should see your email address and right below that you should see the ability to change your password.

If you have any issues, please reply to this post.

Got it done. Thanks.

Mort Walker wrote: 29 Nov 2023 00:07 Got it done. Thanks.
You are welcome.

A quick question.

Is it possible to post a verbatim quoted post like some computer code with intact indentation? If so, what are the tags? TIA

Vayutuvan wrote: 24 May 2024 00:52 A quick question.

Is it possible to post a verbatim quoted post like some computer code with intact indentation? If so, what are the tags? TIA
Use the <code> tag

@SSridhar gaaru, that tag didn't work.

Another question

(just one example viewtopic.php?p=2623914#p2623914 )

I am wondering why some flags and emojis are being displayed in a giant size? Forum software changed somewhat or is it only my browser that is at fault?
Avik

Post by Avik »

Rakesh- I'm going to report your post for casting aspersions on other members by using terms as MUTU. People are free to express their opinion about military products whether American or French or Russian. Visceral reaction from you, as a forum moderator is uncalled for. At the very least, give up your forum moderator post when you start shilling about MUTU etc, and related nonsense.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

Avik wrote: 11 Jul 2024 00:27 Rakesh- I'm going to report your post for casting aspersions on other members by using terms as MUTU. People are free to express their opinion about military products whether American or French or Russian. Visceral reaction from you, as a forum moderator is uncalled for. At the very least, give up your forum moderator post when you start shilling about MUTU etc, and related nonsense.
Seconded. NRao is not even around to defend himself.

Avik wrote: 11 Jul 2024 00:27 Rakesh- I'm going to report your post for casting aspersions on other members by using terms as MUTU. People are free to express their opinion about military products whether American or French or Russian. Visceral reaction from you, as a forum moderator is uncalled for. At the very least, give up your forum moderator post when you start shilling about MUTU etc, and related nonsense.
hgupta wrote: 11 Jul 2024 00:28Seconded. NRao is not even around to defend himself.
Firstly, please post feedback about forum members and even moderators in this thread. Both your posts have been moved here.

Secondly, MUTU stands for More Unkil, Than Unkil. It means that there is more concern for the US, than the US does for itself. America's interests is greater than that of India's interests and that is the hypocrisy that I am pointing out. It has nothing to do with preference for any nation's products. No where in my replies in the India-France have I alluded to that.

This is Bharat Rakshak Forum, not America Rakshak Forum. It is India's interests that matter. No one else.

hgupta wrote: 11 Jul 2024 00:28 Seconded. NRao is not even around to defend himself.
You need to stop seconding posts here, as if this thread is some kind of ballot box. If you have a complaint, post specifics and speak for yourself, please

Avik, “people are not free to express their opinion about Military products” at the cost of India’s interests in this forum and run years long campaigns about a certain angle. And MUTU is a common term in BRF, used against any PIO (forum or otherwise) who speaks on behalf of their current domicile and against India’s interests. Rakesh is a prolific contributor to various defense related threads and just because he is a moderator, does not mean he can’t call out a MUTU when he sees one because, “Bharat Rakshak”.
Avik

Post by Avik »

hnair, Rakesh- contribution, prolific or otherwise is welcome. But using terms like MUTU is uncalled for. I'm sure people can conjure up similar insults for propagating French and Russian and British products. I see this visceral reaction by Rakesh whenever someone speaks up for a US product--and perhaps thats ok. But to be consistent, as a moderator, should be, lets have the same consistency when we have the same propagation for Russian and French products as well.
hgupta

Post by hgupta »

hnair wrote: 11 Jul 2024 01:32
hgupta wrote: 11 Jul 2024 00:28 Seconded. NRao is not even around to defend himself.
You need to stop seconding posts here, as if this thread is some kind of ballot box. If you have a complaint, post specifics and speak for yourself, please
If that’s the case then why are you stepping in and covering for Rakesh? Let him speak for himself.
Avik, “people are not free to express their opinion about Military products” at the cost of India’s interests in this forum and run years long campaigns about a certain angle. And MUTU is a common term in BRF, used against any PIO (forum or otherwise) who speaks on behalf of their current domicile and against India’s interests. Rakesh is a prolific contributor to various defense related threads and just because he is a moderator, does not mean he can’t call out a MUTU when he sees one because, “Bharat Rakshak”.

So you are in effect creating a double standard for yourself and other moderators. Let me ask you a question. Do you want to make this your and your buddies’ personal echo chamber box? Or a forum for Indian people to participate and engage in robust debate?

hgupta, despite pointing out that your trying to gang up against an admin in this “feedback” thread is not welcome, you are still going up the escalation track. There shall be no further explanations. A month off to cool down

Dear Mods/Rakesh/HGuptaji/Avikji/
I am really sorry if I have offended anyone by my inadvertent queries!
I did not mean to provoke any ping-pong match of words.
We are all here for the country that we love and cherish (If not acutal citizens, for Culturally and Emotionally we are all Indians regardless where we are)
So bhai log Shastrarth Karo jagada math Karo
My humble request!

Avik wrote: 11 Jul 2024 04:57 hnair, Rakesh- contribution, prolific or otherwise is welcome. But using terms like MUTU is uncalled for. I'm sure people can conjure up similar insults for propagating French and Russian and British products. I see this visceral reaction by Rakesh whenever someone speaks up for a US product--and perhaps thats ok. But to be consistent, as a moderator, should be, lets have the same consistency when we have the same propagation for Russian and French products as well.
Philip got a lifetime ban on BRF for peddling Russian maal. I have applied the same consistency on the Germans in the Project 75I contest. The same has been applied to the Russians with their offers (Su-35 and MiG-35) in the MRFA contest. The same has been applied to the French with their H125 offer, in light of our LUH helicopter development. Thus, the accusation that I have a visceral reaction to whenever someone speaks for a US product is not true.

Now you are certainly entitled to your opinion and that is totally fine with me. But you are not entitled to your own facts. BRF is not a parliamentary democracy. No one is forcing anyone to post on BRF. If you choose not to post, that is fine. If you choose to contribute, that is also fine. But if you post tripe on BRF, you will get called out out for it. The forum and the main site runs on the financial support of a few individuals and none of them are forum members. Thus posting on BRF is a privilege granted by these individuals and the moderators. Posting on BRF is no one's birthright citizenship. And this point is not a back-and-forth negotiation. If someone is uncomfortable with this, they are more than welcome to leave. Please don't be under the assumption that anyone here is more important than another member. No one is going to miss anyone's presence.

The accusation by hgupta that we are an echo chamber is laughable. Because there are vigorous debates on BRF on everything under the sun. I myself had a debate with him in the Su-30MKI thread. And those posts are still there for anyone to read. Why would I engage in that discussion with him, if we were an echo chamber? We have had threads upon threads - with heated debates - on MMRCA 1.0, nuclear tests, geopolitical events, alphabet agreements, etc (all in the archives or in the prior pages of the Military and Strat Forums).

NRao has a consistent pattern of making claims with zero evidence to back it up. What is even worse, is that he will peddle a US product at the expense of an Indian one. That was clearly evident in the Single Engine thread. And when called out, then NRao will accuse forum members of being narrow minded and unable to see the big picture. Which NRao can never explain. For him (and folks like him), their worldview must be taken as gospel truth and never be debated upon. According to them, only they know how to spell the word and understand the concept called strategy. That is not going to work on BRF. If that is the expectation, then you are in the wrong forum. Please leave then. The American worldview and their alliance blueprint has gotten stale and rotten. Don't push that American agenda on BRF, as there will be backlash to it.

And lastly, as for the term MUTU we have an entire thread on BRF devoted to BR Acronyms. Here is the link ---> viewtopic.php?f=24&t=46 . Acronyms have been used by forum members to describe events, places, weapon platforms, nations, (in)famous individuals and even forum members. It is a tradition on BRF, that is time immemorial and has been in place since the forum's inception way back in 1997. And see the very first post in that link - dated 25 June 2004 - by poster Rudra. The word 'Unkil' is there in the list that Rudra posted. The term Unkil - on BRF - has been used to describe America even prior to that date. MUTU stands for More Unkil, Than Unkil. What you are claiming to be an insult (your "entitled" opinion), is actually not (a "proven" fact).

Do you know why they call me Admiral? I promised (and later reneged) on mithai for the Akula lease. There is not a day that passes by on BRF, without some forum member addressing me by that term. No one calls me Admiral out of respect :lol: Have you ever seen me getting offended over this?

Suggest we merge Modi 3.0 and exit polls election thread
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

on the recent spate of spam posts on this forum by new joinees, its good that there are people out there who realise that scholarship is a life of deep study, reflection and piety and thus are looking out for us by purportedly enhancing our social life... on the off chance that this is a scam though, request lurkers to not go about clicking any link that very boldly proclaims social engagements in your local areas, more likely than not, these malicious sites have scripts to fish out certain details that are saved in your browser

recommendation to mods: probably consider revoking url posting rights for trainees, once they hit 100 posts and become brfites, they can post url, in the meantime they can post the address as a text and maybe a body of the thing, so that others can manually go to that page, this way spam posts will only be texts with no harm done to anyone, its a good thing that they do not know we have the option to change the wordings on the url itself, right now its pretty obvious, but if theres a post saying super duper secret stuff, click here, might snare more targets that way

AmolJ wrote: 21 Aug 2024 21:10...
@AmolJ: Your username has been changed. No numbers are permitted in usernames. Thank You.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

I want to know about the threads related to China in Strategy section of the forum. I tried many times with varied options with China and Chin* as key words. No results. How to find a thread topic with a key word?
sanman

Post by sanman »

Hi, I don't know if this is the appropriate place to post this.

I feel BR needs to start making videos on defence topics. I see how many people have started becoming Youtubers producing content on various topics of importance to Indians, especially on issues relating to national defence. I think BR too needs to join this ecosystem to contribute its own content, and become a full-fledged channel. BR has its own brand name, but it cannot remain stagnant and has to update with the times.

It doesn't take a huge budget to start producing content. And as the channel takes off, then the expenditure can gradually be upgraded over time, as further demands justify it.

The key is to roadmap this out, and have a plan on how to progress over time.

Create a plan on what to start out with, and keep incrementally improving it, to grow the audience.

@sanman
You might want to contact hakim shiv.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Vayutuvan wrote: 20 Sep 2024 05:48 @sanman
How do I do that?

sanman wrote: 20 Sep 2024 06:30
Vayutuvan wrote: 20 Sep 2024 05:48 @sanman
How do I do that?
Try this https://prachyam.com/indiclass/aryan-invasion-myth it has support link https://prachyam.com/support
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Shiv used to come on Jaipur Dialogue podcast, but no longer seen for quite sometime.