Bangladesh News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Bangladesh News and Discussion

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 05 Aug 2024 18:11 BAF C130J. Landed in Delhi. Shiv Aroor confirms.

https://www.opindia.com/2024/08/sheikh- ... -on-alert/

Am hoping that there won't be disturbances in Calcutta around the High Commission.

Ground reports from Dhaka are that things have dimmed down.

Mukesh.Kumar ji,

Some reports say that beedi mausi will go to the uk via saudi arabia

her US based son says that is is not likely that hasina will ever return to beediland as there is a grave threat to her life.

the aircraft that brought her to dilli is still there and she may probably use that to leave India

Well, wiki says she and family previously were previously granted political asylum in India and stayed for 6 years at that time.

Interesting "live" updates coming in....

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/wor ... 275541.cms

Excerpts:

Parliament dissolved, K Zia freed
Bangladesh President Mohammed Shahabuddin said on Monday that an interim government would be formed after dissolving the parliament as he ordered the release of former prime minister Khaleda Zia, who is under house arrest after being convicted in several cases. He made the remarks during a meeting with the leaders of various political parties and civil society representatives at Bangabhaban in the presence of the chief of three forces, the Bengali-language daily Prothom Alo reported.
Prof. Yunus ("nobel laureate economist") to advise interim goremint
Nobel laureate Muhammad Yunus to be chief adviser of interim Bangladesh govt after Sheikh Hasina flees. Bangladesh student protest co-ordinators also called for the formation of new government with nobel laureate Muhammad Yunus as chief advisor, as per the Reuters citing Facebook post.
Indian support/shield for Hasina's escape

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 303198.cms
sanman

Post by sanman »

Bangla to become another Pakistan?

sanman

Post by sanman »

What Next for Bangladesh?

Lt Gen P R Shankar provides some background to the uprising in BD land. Looks like both US and China were on the same page to get rid of Hasina. All the BS about Quad is showing up. So much hubris in geopolitics. Bidenwa (well scratch that, tis the Deep State) and Emperor dancing together, f'ing pukeworthy. The BD Army enabled the throw out of Hasina. Same formula in Puke land.

With Dr. Amjad Ayub Mirza

drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Indias concerns about "great power collaboration " being worse than great power conflict.

BBC and others keeping mum on attacks on minorities in Bangladesh. Not a single mention of that in their reporting. There is a clear bias on projecting them as an organic uprising led by “students” overthrowing a “dictator” when in reality the former are at least partially blood thirsty Islamists and the latter is democratically elected.

No “rules based order” to be concerned of then as long as it is an undesirable (to them) is the one getting deposed.

This is a clear machination of the West using foot soldiers of Soros gang and assorted Islamists… There is a significant overlap between the two anyway
madhu

Post by madhu »

why India do not take all Hindus from BD. we are homing so many illiterate jihadis from that side at least the incoming Hindus can dilute the influence if infiltrators.

on seeing BD's braking mujib's statue, once again i get conformation that for peaceful only book and its owner matter... no past, present or future matter.

what is the chance of the regime change happen in India? when will we start going to Rastrapati Bhavan and loot. when will we start killing Hindus? when will democracy will be restored in India again.

chetak wrote: 06 Aug 2024 08:20 Mukesh.Kumar ji,
Some reports say that beedi mausi will go to the uk via saudi arabia
her US based son says that is is not likely that hasina will ever return to beediland as there is a grave threat to her life.
the aircraft that brought her to dilli is still there and she may probably use that to leave India
What I am hearing is that the UK has not been so open to granting her asylum. They are in the middle of a troubled period, and have a sizable BD origin population. In fact Tariq Rahman is HQed out of London.

Ground reports are that the attacks on minorities are a social media fabrication- something which I am not convinced on, but my feeling is that because of economics and location, the new dispensation will at least try to work with India.

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 06 Aug 2024 11:42

Ground reports are that the attacks on minorities are a social media fabrication- something which I am not convinced on, but my feeling is that because of economics and location, the new dispensation will at least try to work with India.
https://www.newindianexpress.com/amp/st ... nt-clashes

It is clearly happening despite the effort to spin it other wise. The jihadi mentality cannot be simply wished away.

Tanaji wrote: 06 Aug 2024 12:01
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 06 Aug 2024 11:42

https://www.newindianexpress.com/amp/st ... nt-clashes

It is clearly happening despite the effort to spin it other wise. The jihadi mentality cannot be simply wished away.

Spot on.

And the foot soldiers betray that plan.

They consider "Islamic Repulic" to be an upgrade to a "Secular Dictator" Sheikh Hasina.

vi@ WA

India did EVERYTHING for Bangladesh.

India is the sole reason Bangladesh exists today.

It was Indian army which thrashed Pakistan and liberated Bangladesh. Otherwise, Banglas would have been slaves of Punjabi Muslims even today. India was the first country to officially recognize Bangladesh as an independent nation. India provided and continues to provide military and economic aid amounting to billions of dollars.

What do we get in return? Incessant attacks on Hindus and Hindu temples. Rαpe of Hindu women. Verbal attacks on Indian PM.

Remember: No matter what you do, they will always hate you and seek to destroy you. You are a Kafir and that is all that matters to them
sanman

Post by sanman »

bala wrote: 06 Aug 2024 10:28 Lt Gen P R Shankar provides some background to the uprising in BD land. Looks like both US and China were on the same page to get rid of Hasina. All the BS about Quad is showing up. So much hubris in geopolitics. Bidenwa (well scratch that, tis the Deep State) and Emperor dancing together, f'ing pukeworthy. The BD Army enabled the throw out of Hasina. Same formula in Puke land.

With Dr. Amjad Ayub Mirza
General cuts off his recording just before the point of addressing my question, which he dismissed.

My question to him was: Just as SCO began as China-Russia front to oppose threat of foreign interference in Central Asia arising from US entry into Afghanistan, should we turn to SCO to likewise oppose US entry into Bangladesh?

But general dismissed my idea, saying US in Bangla was less dangerous than China in Bangla. I disagree - I see both countries as comparable threats when it comes to their ambitions against India's northeast.

Unfortunately Islamic Republic of East Pakistan ( who knows when the name will change and if they would merge in the name of one god) is a reality.
One dead giveaway for me was the very muted appeal from M Banu Didi yesterday.
I wonder what details the government has.
Serious details have been worked out:
1. DG change
2. last minute approval for Military Plane to be given permission to enter and exit.
3. Pappu and idiots have been told to hold their tongue.
In days to come more details of the attacks on minority will come out.
Congi's still making noise as to why this was not foreseen yada yada
A question to the group:
If the Islamic Republic is formed on the Eastern Border:
a. Should the Rohingya's to be forced back there
b. NorthEast on fire (given BJP havingmade inroads into North East)
c. Should Mynamar be given silent nod to crush Kuki/Zo/Chin movement??

Hasina in shock, govt giving her time: Jaishankar

even now likes of below have such statements which targets BJP and giving hints of this can happen in India; atleast congi was more mature in there statement
Various leaders, including Gandhi, conveyed their full cooperation to the government on the issue. YSR Congress leader V Vijaysai Reddy said his party supports the government in the interest of the country. Congress leader Karti Chidambaram said the government had briefed an all-party meeting on the situation in Bangladesh.

"Congress party is fully with the government as far as national security and national interest are concerned," Chidambaram told PTI. However, he was not present at the meeting.

Ahead of the meeting, Shiv Sena Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Raut had said that the rulers in India should learn lessons from the developments in Bangladesh.

“When democracy faces danger and those in power become dictators wearing a mask of democracy, the people of the country tolerate them for a while and then there is anarchy,” Raut said.
:evil:

Communist Party of India-Marxist member P Santosh Kumar said the situation in Bangladesh was very volatile.

“We are with the people of Bangladesh, not with Jamaat-e-Islami, military or with Sheikh Hasina. We are with students of Bangladesh. This is the fate of all autocrats," Kumar said.

Samajwadi Party member Virendra Singh said the situation in Bangladesh was a message for all countries which do not listen to people's voices.

“Similar situations happen in countries where attempts to end democracy and bring dictatorship take place. It is very unfortunate," Singh said. :evil:

Thread has reached 72 pages

Considering that Bangladesh is well on its way to be Pakistan maybe this thread should be closed and a new one started

(don't know why BRF stopped the tradition for the terroristan thread)
sanman

Post by sanman »

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 05 Aug 2024 19:30 My take below:
  1. 4:30- Shree Iyer is way off on a tangent. India being able to capitalize on BD economic weakness is not feasible.
No, I don't agree. He's right to say that India should stop giving free advantage to a newly hostile regime by handicapping Indian competing industry.
We should withdraw the free handicap and boost our own textile sector and help our own employment in the bargain.
Let them feel the full effects of our unrestrained commercial competitiveness.
Islamists can't run an economy - their track record is well known worldwide.
Why do you think they always target minority business for looting and predation?
Their ideology is imperial/colonial not industrial.
[*] 5:40- Refugee crisis is likely to happen. It's not going to hit WB as much as Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura. Savio is on the ball here.
[*] 7:40 Pratyush was on the ball regarding Judicial overreach playbook.
Pratyush wrote: 21 Jul 2024 12:13 The situation in Bangladesh is a reverse of what has happened in Manipur. // In both the cases, the judiciary has acted in an un accountable manner. // In Manipur they directed to the government that one specific tribe be granted quotas. // In Bangladesh's case, the judiciary has disarmed the government order removing quotas for a specific set of people.// Once is an accident, twice is a coincidence, but I am not interested in finding out for a 3rd time.
And that's why it's important for media and civic society to give a public tongue-lashing to the courts to ensure that blame is properly pinned on them for their ham-handedness. Courts are supposed to be a barometer of public opinion, not idiotic capricious adventurists.
[*] 9:00- Sheikh Hasina's life is in danger, and unlikely she will return to BD ever. Corroborated by her son- Joy to BBC
[*] 11:30- What is the CIA's objective in targeting India. On the ball. How they are sending a message to India by targeting Hindu's.
[*] 15:00- Let's see if the prediction of Sheikh Hasina as a dictator starts coming out in mainstream news. Likely to happen.
[/list]
I'll repeat what I've said before. If US is trying to bring back old ColdWar equations and practices, then they can't hope to identically duplicate the past. Since the previous Cold War, fundamental changes have happened which cannot be undone. The Genie Cannot Be Put Back Into the Bottle - no matter how much the NeoCons or the Deep State may wish it. American unipolar hegemony is no longer possible, and if they try to blindly push it, then it will be opposed to an extent that will result in their defeat.

US can't on the one hand do LECISMOA with us and then play games in Bangladesh to open up a new front there against us. Those things just aren't compatible.

With this coup, a new front has been opened up against India. We should respond offensively and not just purely defensively: we should open up a new front against Washington/West in retaliation. I think that the SouthPacific region is the most favourable place for doing this. When it comes to that specific region, we are best positioned to open up a new front there. Once a front is opened up there, then we don't necessarily have to be the ones actively exploiting it. As an open front, it can be open for anyone to show up there and exploit it.

sanman wrote: 06 Aug 2024 17:51
No, I don't agree. He's right to say that India should stop giving free advantage to a newly hostile regime by handicapping Indian competing industry.
We should withdraw the free handicap and boost our own textile sector and help our own employment in the bargain.
Let them feel the full effects of our unrestrained commercial competitiveness…
Completely agree. If there is one fallout, I hope the garment industry is gonzo from the hands of the east Bakistan. I don’t have a full history, but does anyone know if propping up of the Beedie garment industry was the brainchild of People like Chidambaram? He was into totally into helping neighbours to prosperity. Not a bad idea, but it only works when philosophies of two countries match and reciprocal.
madhu

Post by madhu »

human right torch bearer US has canceled Revokes Sheikh Hasina’s Visa and UK which is ok to asylum to tugs and criminals has not agreed to give asylum to her.

now i do not think it is a deep state action but state action by US. i doubt China has any role in it but lets see if it can grab the pie.
sanman

Post by sanman »

madhu wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:29 human right torch bearer US has canceled Revokes Sheikh Hasina’s Visa and UK which is ok to asylum to tugs and criminals has not agreed to give asylum to her.

now i do not think it is a deep state action but state action by US. i doubt China has any role in it but lets see if it can grab the pie.
US Deep State is now ruling more overtly through the public-facing State, like Pak Army which tells its politicians what to do and say.

Why are we still doing LECISMOA with US Navy? I don't see any benefit from it.
We should withdraw support and force US to pivot away from Pacific region, so that China can better move into it.

US "Indo-Pacific" strategy is not viable without us.

According to this tweet:

https://x.com/SJha1618/status/1820710317288050915

Around 25 per cent of the units in Bangladesh are owned by Indians. They include companies like Shahi Exports, House of Pearl Fashions, Jay Jay Mills, TCNS, Gokaldas Images, and Ambattur Clothing

SRajesh wrote: 06 Aug 2024 15:47 Unfortunately Islamic Republic of East Pakistan ( who knows when the name will change and if they would merge in the name of one god) is a reality.
One dead giveaway for me was the very muted appeal from M Banu Didi yesterday.
I wonder what details the government has.
Serious details have been worked out:
1. DG change
2. last minute approval for Military Plane to be given permission to enter and exit.
3. Pappu and idiots have been told to hold their tongue.
Yes, these signals do give the idea that the government knew something.
SRajesh wrote: 06 Aug 2024 15:47
A question to the group:
It would be a good thing, but I don't understand how you will do it? Without Hasina, you don't have many levers yet. Whatever happens will take some to happen.
A question to the group:
An extremely good idea. But given the troubles that the Junta in Myanmar are facing, they will not be able to focus on this. Though I would suggest that India starts giving military aid if possible to the Myanmar Junta, Seek their support, by saying that when we go after these rebels, we kill your rebels also. Intervene and provide SIGINT and aerial surveillance support.
chanakyaa wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:28
sanman wrote: 06 Aug 2024 17:51
Let them feel the full effects of our unrestrained commercial competitiveness…
Completely agree. If there is one fallout, I hope the garment industry is gonzo from the hands of the east Bakistan. I don’t have a full history, but does anyone know if propping up of the Beedie garment industry was the brainchild of People like Chidambaram? He was into totally into helping neighbours to prosperity. Not a bad idea, but it only works when philosophies of two countries match and reciprocal.
Saars, I am replying not to attack anyone personally, but trying to bring in a reality check. I have consulted both with high end apparel and textile (only India) sectors in both countries. India, had minimal inputs in building up their sector. Yes, garment factories employ a lot of Indian managers, but the fact remains that we never subsidized them. And we own many of the garment factories in BD. Hitting them would be difficult. Frankly speaking, BD garments sector is way more capable and competitive than India. So perish the thought.

Yes, we should look at economic tools, but there's no sooper-dooper economic weapons India has. They are one of our biggest export destinations, and our we import a decent amount from them. Furthermore Indian professionals remitted more than USD 10 billion in last six years.

So, while it may feel good to say that we will choke them economically, it will be better not to take intemperate steps now. A better course would be cleaning up India-BD border and deporting illegal immigrants. Do it seriously, strictly. That will hit them.

madhu wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:29 now i do not think it is a deep state action but state action by US. i doubt China has any role in it but lets see if it can grab the pie.
This is textbook Culinary Institute procedure. Create an uprising and throw out the leader. They use goondagiri and in this case the radical Islam faction of BD. The army is in their pocket books. Intelligence on the ground is provided by them, all the big data processing is available on BD and its people. Most of BD textile import is into US and Culinary Institute controls the gate/levers. But the switch control/instigators to Culinary Institute are the Deep State, no ifs, no ands, no buts, pure and simple. Culinary Institute and China are in close contact with each other. You won't be surprised if China's Culinary Institute is infiltrated with Deep State actors.
sanman

Post by sanman »

A question to the group:
Yup
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:58 It would be a good thing, but I don't understand how you will do it? Without Hasina, you don't have many levers yet. Whatever happens will take some to happen.
Put them on boats, send them direct into Chittagong.
Do a joint collaboration with Myanmar.

A question to the group:
Yup - make it part of a multi-point deal which also includes repatriation of Rohingyas back to Bangladesh.
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:58 An extremely good idea. But given the troubles that the Junta in Myanmar are facing, they will not be able to focus on this. Though I would suggest that India starts giving military aid if possible to the Myanmar Junta, Seek their support, by saying that when we go after these rebels, we kill your rebels also. Intervene and provide SIGINT and aerial surveillance support.
India benefits from a more strongly unified Myanmar, in contrast to a dysfunctional one where independent groups can pose cross-border threats to us as well.
chanakyaa wrote: 06 Aug 2024 18:28 Completely agree. If there is one fallout, I hope the garment industry is gonzo from the hands of the east Bakistan. I don’t have a full history, but does anyone know if propping up of the Beedie garment industry was the brainchild of People like Chidambaram? He was into totally into helping neighbours to prosperity. Not a bad idea, but it only works when philosophies of two countries match and reciprocal.
Saars, I am replying not to attack anyone personally, but trying to bring in a reality check. I have consulted both with high end apparel and textile (only India) sectors in both countries. India, had minimal inputs in building up their sector. Yes, garment factories employ a lot of Indian managers, but the fact remains that we never subsidized them. And we own many of the garment factories in BD. Hitting them would be difficult. Frankly speaking, BD garments sector is way more capable and competitive than India. So perish the thought.

Yes, we should look at economic tools, but there's no sooper-dooper economic weapons India has. They are one of our biggest export destinations, and our we import a decent amount from them. Furthermore Indian professionals remitted more than USD 10 billion in last six years.

So, while it may feel good to say that we will choke them economically, it will be better not to take intemperate steps now. A better course would be cleaning up India-BD border and deporting illegal immigrants. Do it seriously, strictly. That will hit them.[/quote]

We should use political momentum from this crisis to push on with implementation of NRC/CAA /etc.

By cancelling Sheikh Hasina's Visa the US and UK are tieing India to her and are quering the pitch for India with the future BD dispensation.
Najunamar

Post by Najunamar »

Would it be UAE or some gulf state that will oblige India and take SH in? Is it even possible without US agreement for UAE/Saudis to do this?

I am afraid that there are not many choices available to India when it comes to Hasina.

EAM Jaishankar in Parliament on BD land.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aIyE8Z_xSwA

Worth watching Aadi Achint's video (9:10 mins). Can someone confirm the purpose of Ultra

Can someone confirm Aadi's claim from FlightRadar?
sanman

Post by sanman »

Pratyush wrote: 06 Aug 2024 20:10 By cancelling Sheikh Hasina's Visa the US and UK are tieing India to her and are quering the pitch for India with the future BD dispensation.
Yeah, that's my thought too. But I've heard various places being suggested for her. Indian govt needs to act fast to find an appropriate sanctuary.

I think it would be useful to get responses back from Five Eyes countries. If they all say no, then that'll only confirm their game to us.
Canada gave asylum to the guy who assassinated Hasina's father. I'm curious what they'll say for Hasina herself.

I've heard Scandinavian countries being suggested, too.
sanman

Post by sanman »

Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 06 Aug 2024 22:08 Worth watching Aadi Achint's video (9:10 mins). Can someone confirm the purpose of Ultra

Can someone confirm Aadi's claim from FlightRadar?
I'd already watched this and looked it up right away. That flight code was for Belgian airlines, I think.

So I don't think he was correct.

I'd googled that ULTRA UAV:

https://afresearchlab.com/technology/ultra/

Pratyush wrote: 06 Aug 2024 20:10 By cancelling Sheikh Hasina's Visa the US and UK are tieing India to her and are quering the pitch for India with the future BD dispensation.

Pratyush ji,

Idi Amin first escaped to Libya, where he stayed until 1980, and ultimately settled in Saudi Arabia, where the Saudi royal family allowed him sanctuary and paid him a generous subsidy in return for staying out of politics.

similarly, the beedi mausi will find a new home for herself

all else failing, norway is always there, no .......

Hari Nair wrote: 05 Aug 2024 21:16 Chanakyaa -

For a start - carry out some detailed analysis on where our int analytical forecasting (if there is any?) went kilter, especially given the fact that the playbook as it unfolded this time is very similar to what transpired there earlier (twice) - where the Army is a major player.

The US & Chinese were very obviously not favourably disposed to Shiekh Hasina. Very evident by the fact that the erstwhile PM had to cut-short her visit about a month ago. The US was not exactly favourably disposed to her and had expressed their opinion about her during the election.

Their Army very obviously did not change tune suddenly - they are the Centre of Gravity, as far events there are concerned. There very obviously must have been signals that we missed. Also - as I stated earlier why on earth are we not able to control the narrative and those rag-tag political outfits there, for whatever it takes in terms of resources and effort?
If the US(CIA), Chinese and the BD army, not to mention the Jamaat and other Islamist orgs were all against her what exactly do you think were the options that India had in forestalling this? Forecasting and predicting this outcome is well and good but you need some actual leverage against the players in order to stop it from happening and we had none. It is obvious that these "protests" were not organic and are straight from the usual CIA playbook which we have seen enacted in too many countries by now. They are absolute masters at this especially at using educational institutions and students to trigger their regime change operations and give it a populist veneer.

Sheikh Hasina and her govt. were already being derided as beholden to India, so any attempt by India to actually help her out in some way would itself be counterproductive if taken beyond a point, so we already had one hand tied behind our back in this case and the Americans knew this well.

The more important question to ponder is why the Americans wanted her gone so badly right now, knowing fully well what might follow in her wake. Have they learnt no lessons from Egypt or going further back even Iran-1979 or perhaps they have and they want that to happen in BD as well for some reason.
Something eerily similar to what happened in Sri Lanka - flash mobs, sudden change of narrative and then - regime change. As usual we are on the sidelines, attempting to react.
I'd be hesitant to compare what's happening in BD to what happened in SL. SL was experiencing an economic meltdown of epic proportions and the govt. in charge was squarely to blame for it. You expect some kind of reaction from the people in such a scenario. There is no such dire situation in BD and the ostensible reason being given for the protests (the quota decision) doesn't seem to pass the smell test.

This episode should be an alert on Indian Foreign office, to plan for the neighborhood to be nibbled away from outside entitites. This is the first dictum of Chanakya who believed in taking trouble to others at the border. We seem to have forgotten such principles. For all neighbors (sans the pukes) Indian foreign policy should allow re-integration with mother India. BD, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, Baluchistan, Sindhudesh are all on the table. Each of them can be given option to merge with Bharat. For India, taking over people and land can be done in staged manner. Initially the areas are clamped down with Center's rule and land and people are acclimatized to Bharat's ways. Maybe a blanket "Gar Wapsi" option is for all the people in the merged entity. Over time allow self rule and true integration into mainland. All of this should be well thought out/planned/babus can put their noodles together and figure out a workable plan. If we had such a plan, SH could have been open to it considering the piranhas at her doorstep. This would have been easier than opposing the Dragon claws and of course the Deep State backed US swallowing them whole.

Dated article, but this has been building up for a long time.
Clinton calls for political calm

Chinese strategy of fully integrating the periphery by hook or crook looks better now.
pravula

Post by pravula »

NE needs sea access. This is a good opportunity to put some options on the table

bala wrote: 06 Aug 2024 21:20 EAM Jaishankar in Parliament on BD land.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aIyE8Z_xSwA
Yes, thanks for posting it before me. From his update, it is clear that India had been working behind the scenes with multiple actors in BD, but ultimately it did not work out.