The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
ramana wrote: ↑06 Aug 2024 08:00
Its demeaning to use the phrase "Doval and the gang"
He is the NDA and not any gang leader.
I request self editing within 5 days.
If not will issue temporary ban after that.
Ramana to Admin
Ramana, let's put aside the name calling. But I think we need to introspect. There has been a massive failure in Indian intelligence. Why?
I am hearing multiple firsthand accounts of people returning from Dhaka. The IHC in Dhaka had no clue how bad things were or the extent of the planning. They are doing a good job in trying to get people out. Already all non-essential staff from IHC are being evacuated. Indian expats have been told to return. The same message keeps getting passed by Bangladeshi contacts- "Better move, things are going to be worse before the Army regains control. They are targeting Indian expats. Not yet going in to houses, but likely to happen soon."
Name calling will not work. But we do need to learn how to strengthen our intelligence networks. Foresight may have told us who to buy off when, or, at least let us sacrifice SH in the last election if we knew her position was untenable.
ramana wrote: ↑06 Aug 2024 08:00
Its demeaning to use the phrase "Doval and the gang"
He is the NDA and not any gang leader.
I request self editing within 5 days.
If not will issue temporary ban after that.
Ramana to Admin
Ramana, let's put aside the name calling. But I think we need to introspect. There has been a massive failure in Indian intelligence. Why?
I am hearing multiple firsthand accounts of people returning from Dhaka. The IHC in Dhaka had no clue how bad things were or the extent of the planning. They are doing a good job in trying to get people out. Already all non-essential staff from IHC are being evacuated. Indian expats have been told to return. The same message keeps getting passed by Bangladeshi contacts- "Better move, things are going to be worse before the Army regains control. They are targeting Indian expats. Not yet going in to houses, but likely to happen soon."
Name calling will not work. But we do need to learn how to strengthen our intelligence networks. Foresight may have told us who to buy off when, or, at least let us sacrifice SH in the last election if we knew her position was untenable.
Mukesh.Kumar ji,
you don't have any more information than what's available on the open source
various folks have little bits and disparate pieces of the same open sources and no one has all the so called inputs
to draw such unwarranted conclusions, and casting a blanket aspersion on the intelligence agencies and that to, based on unverified sources is not the most advisable way to go
Neela wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 18:11
So what leverage does India have on BD?
There are two perceptions out of this coup that will have major long lasting effect for us.
1. The inability of the Indian state to manage the neighbors.
2. The inability of the Indian state to protect its civilizational progeny aka Hindus.
Something has to give.
My guess : Pak will pay the price. Pak-BD channels and behind-the-scenes men are potential targets now.
Or
The Modi-Putin meet was an earlier outcome of eventualities in BD. A different 1971.
Neela ji,
or simply change this single, most damaging, and disastrous policy that has brought us nothing but trouble and constant bullying by greedy, self serving, entitled, and selfish neighbours
With neighbours like Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka, India does not ask for reciprocity but gives and accommodates what it can in good faith and trust.
when and why did India start to hand out free lunches to such ingrates, foolishly thinking that it would bring us nothing but lasting peace, unadulterated goodwill, and much respect
sanjayc wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 12:19
... I read somewhere that even the Maldivian dudes, faced with the prospects of sinking of their island chain due to global warming, requested Indian govt. some years back to give them some land in India where they can resettle their population. They did not send any request to Pakistan or Bangladesh or Afghanistan.
The president, a human rights activist who swept to power in elections last month after ousting Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, the man who once imprisoned him, said he had already broached the idea with a number of countries and found them to be "receptive".. He said Sri Lanka and India were targets because they had similar cultures , cuisines and climates . Australia was also being considered because of the amount of unoccupied land available.
BTW the BD Taka has gone from 114.79 to 117.48 per 1 US dollar. Normally coup means crash of currency, however this did not happen. Completely explains who is in charge of regime change.
Mukesh.Kumar ji,
you don't have any more information than what's available on the open source
various folks have little bits and disparate pieces of the same open sources and no one has all the so called inputs
to draw such unwarranted conclusions, and casting a blanket aspersion on the intelligence agencies and that to, based on unverified sources is not the most advisable way to go
just my two paise onlee
Chetakji, don't take my words at face value. Do your own digging. Publicly available information at this moment won't support my contention.
But I will stick out my neck and ask people to search along the lines I am pointing to. One point I would be happy to ve proved wrong.
Just my humble 2 টাকা only.
Last edited by Mukesh.Kumar on 07 Aug 2024 19:33, edited 1 time in total.
sanjayc wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 15:29
Street protests don't lead to regime change anywhere. It is the military which does it. Even in BD, the military gave Hasina an ultimatum to leave the country in 45 minutes, causing her to flee. If the military was with her, students would easily have been arrested or pushed back into hostels. Just break legs of a dozen student "leaders" and rest of the students won't be seen anywhere....
One might recall that the Britshits made a hasty exit from india only after the then Royal indian navy mutinied
bala wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 19:22
BTW the BD Taka has gone from 114.79 to 117.48 per 1 US dollar. Normally coup means crash of currency, however this did not happen. Completely explains who is in charge of regime change.
That's interesting. Normally they are very tight on dollars. Even now it's difficult to buy internationally or transfer money easily from there.
Even Indian expats were under a rule where they could not remit more than 50% of their earnings through official channels.
DW News was discussing Bangla situation with "experts" like Kugelman while taking comments from netters, so I chimed in to give them my soundbite which they quoted on air.
I pointed out that 84-year old Mohammad Yunus is older than Joe Biden, while having zero experience in governance.
That kind of flummoxed them. Some tried to claim Yunus could have advisors - but who appoints them?
RCase wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 09:46
…
The Nehru clan couldn't even think like the Brits, French, Americans, Russians or Chinese who controlled lands far away from the main centers, giving them strategic advantages over the forthcoming years.
Two good posts RCase ji, pranam. Anything other than the language and actions of strength is viewed as pure weakness.
Last edited by chanakyaa on 07 Aug 2024 20:26, edited 1 time in total.
sanman wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 19:40
I pointed out that 84-year old Mohammad Yunus is older than Joe Biden, while having zero experience in governance.
Good point. I looked up Amartya Sen too as a possible candidate, on the theory that ethnicity trumps all else in that part of the world. But he is now 90 as well. Really wonder what is the next rung of leadership here. Clinton met Mamata too during that trip in 2012, so maybe some leaders were being groomed here now that Indian citizenship law makes that possible with the advent of OCI.
Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan in the above YT states at around 22:00 that BD needs to be broken up. Take out Chittagong and merge with India. Take out north BD and solve the chicken neck issue, new state called GorkhanChal, taking parts of W Bengal too. Keep BD as a rump state a la Ukraine. India needs to act upon this in due course of time.
Pratyush wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 20:57
OCI holder is not an Indian citizen.
Correct. So no bar to assuming political positions in another country. However I think Bangladesh is on the list of countries where OCI is not issued, so not applicable in present case.
The attacks against in Bangladesh against Hindu's is just not about Islamists going amok. This is ethnic cleansing, with the objective of generating a refugee crisis into India to further destabilize India.
Use children and women at the forefront to open borders. Smuggle in sleeper cells embedded and disguised as refugees for seizing control in neighboring Indian states later.
bala wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 21:44
Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan in the above YT states at around 22:00 that BD needs to be broken up. Take out Chittagong and merge with India. Take out north BD and solve the chicken neck issue, new state called GorkhanChal, taking parts of W Bengal too. Keep BD as a rump state a la Ukraine. India needs to act upon this in due course of time.
The crisis should be allowed to grow a little more. We need more videos about the suffering of minorities in Bangladesh. only then will Indian public opinion harden enough because this will need some 'sorting out' of the population and moving undesirables out. Not an easy thing to do because there will be tremendous international pressure.
Finally, the truth comes out...highlighted in red.
https://x.com/Natsecjeff/status/1821178380097671211 ---> America's message to India is actually pretty simple. But before we talk about that, you need to first understand what was India's message to America so far into the Great Game.
India's message to America so far:
We are a proud nation and we will chart our own course into the future. Yes, we have issues with China, but we don't view China from the same lens which we use for Pakistan. US is a close partner, but we will not become a US proxy against China, or against Russia for that matter. Whatever issues we have with China, we will sort them out on our own. Yes, we welcome US assistance against China, but we are not ready to be a US proxy against China. Our foreign policy will remain independent and non-aligned.
Now, here's America's message to India:
Sure, you are a proud nation and want to chart your own course into the future. We have no problem with that. We tolerated your independent and non-aligned foreign policy for as long as we could. But at some point we need to set a few things straight. If India doesn't want to be an American proxy against China, that's fine. In that case, we'll need to do a few things ourselves. And to do those things, we'll need to have presence in India's backyard. And we'll need to work with several smaller regional partners to achieve our goals. We will do whatever it takes to protect our geostrategic interests and keep American dominance intact and we will do everything we can to push against a multipolar world. And if some of that comes at India's expense, then that's just too bad. Cope.
Mort Walker wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 22:41
^^^That guy is a Pakistani posing with an Anglo name. He may have a point with this particular post, but take a with a load of caution.
VIDEO:https://x.com/ThePollLady/status/1818483200361898131 ---> "In CIA, we didn't give a hoot about democracy. If a country did not cooperate with us, democracy didn't mean a thing, and I don't think it means a thing today." ~ Ex-CIA Agent Philip Agee.
Rakesh wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 22:37https://x.com/Natsecjeff/status/1821178380097671211 ---> America's message to India is actually pretty simple. But before we talk about that, you need to first understand what was India's message to America so far into the Great Game.
Now, here's America's message to India:
Sure, you are a proud nation and want to chart your own course into the future. We have no problem with that. We tolerated your independent and non-aligned foreign policy for as long as we could. But at some point we need to set a few things straight. If India doesn't want to be an American proxy against China, that's fine. In that case, we'll need to do a few things ourselves. And to do those things, we'll need to have presence in India's backyard. And we'll need to work with several smaller regional partners to achieve our goals. We will do whatever it takes to protect our geostrategic interests and keep American dominance intact and we will do everything we can to push against a multipolar world. And if some of that comes at India's expense, then that's just too bad. Cope.
things are not so straights forward as it looks like. if main state is involved and plans as above, in it case then wont you think US is opening too many areas to fight at the same time. Ukraine is not solved and they have to stop Russia, Israel can have a conflict with Iran, if it becomes hot then they need to have presence there too, MBS is not playing with US and is behaving like India. most impotently Presidency might go to Trump.
now if US gets a base in BD, will it not push China and India close? if succeed in creating a christen nation will it not push India permanently to Russia. may be china might think of joining India and Russia to a group to put a check on US.
bala wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 21:44
That is ideally what should happen in BD. We also need to integrate Nepal and Bhutan. In these latter two cases, there may be no need for any military invasion initially. There are other routes, such as offering automatic Indian citizenship (and resulting benefits) to Nepal and Bhutan people as a requirement for any trade/links with India.
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 22:32
X-Posting from Reddit. All it took was one day for Sikoolar blinkers to come off.
Appreciate if anyone can guide how to resize to a smaller image.
forget about BD Muslims after all they are ex-pakis. the question i have is about my dear Indian Muslims. many of them have been posting pics and all eyes for Palestine Muslims with out knowing where it is located have they posted anything on BD Hindus? reminds me quran 48:29 " Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah ; and those with him are forceful against the disbelievers, merciful among themselves."
Vayutuvan wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 23:20
The Chinese wanted a base, not the US, as per some reports. I forgot where I saw it. For the moment, I am treating as unverified.
doesn't Chinese have a military base at Coco Islands ? why it needs in BD if it has coco Island. it makes more sense for US as Diego Garcia is too far from china and India to project its power and control both.
best part is SH is in India and can give more info to India not sure what she has carried with her that is of any use to India.
The American interest in BD will be limited by their ADHD. BNP and Jamaat will be caught between the loyalty to 'slam and the largesse of the Amreekis.
It will unravel very quickly since the Paki insemination comes with a congenital retarded brain.
Chetak,
Strangely 2 days back, I mentioned that India has to go after the BD textile industry. This is their single biggest export. we'll then see how things pan out for whoever will be in power if the largest employer starts to collapse. BD imports 30% of cotton from INdia.
Now due to this coup, exporters will have trouble meeting deadlines. Once agreements arent kept, and with Xmas/New Year around the corner, buyers will scout for alternative plans already. We stand to gain A LOT in t his.
To nudge it over a cliff, we can ban cotton exports to BD
It is unbelievable that we are exporting raw materials to BD when the margins are highest in finished products.
(I did hear from folks though that Tiruppur is finding it hard to get labour)
One of the things that Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan mentioned is about 30% reservations of the jobs for the Awami League. This was done back in 1972. Over time this became a patronage type thing and its relevance waned away. SH in 2018 removed the bulk of reservations. Everything was quietened and someone after years filed a case in court. The high court sat on the case for some time and on June 4, 2024 set aside SH order and reinstated the reservations back. The uprising started. This was immediately appealed to the Supreme Court by SH govt and judges in Supreme Court sat on it for a month and half and agreed with SH only recently. The uprising accomplished their job. The courts are complicit in the uprising. They were used to cause the uprising timing. This is another lesson for India - Judiciary Reform is required and a close watch on these judges/officials/admin etc is required.
It doesn’t make sense to me why the US will involve itself in installing a hard-line Islamic government. To me, it seems like a China-Pakistan conspiracy
Vayutuvan wrote: ↑07 Aug 2024 23:20
The Chinese wanted a base, not the US, as per some reports. I forgot where I saw it. For the moment, I am treating as unverified.
doesn't Chinese have a military base at Coco Islands ? why it needs in BD if it has coco Island. it makes more sense for US as Diego Garcia is too far from china and India to project its power and control both.
best part is SH is in India and can give more info to India not sure what she has carried with her that is of any use to India.
I believe that's a small listening station in the Coco islands, highly vulnerable to Indian attack.
As made amply clear from EAM Jaishankar's update in Sansad, India and BD were in constant touch and working together throughout the two months of the protests to prevent a crisis. I am not sure she is going to give any "new info", but who knows.