Wish list for Modi 3.0 administration

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Wish list for Modi 3.0 administration

And we can close the Wish 3.0 as it will end as just that Wish!
Unless Kashi movement gains hand

Defense modernization fails in a Congress Coalition. When Vajpayee was there, even Nuke test took place. Tejas flew when George Fernandes was DM.
sajo

Post by sajo »

My Fervent Wish : Hope there IS a Modi 3.0.

This is a negative list. Things that Modi *must not* do:

1. No more Mandir banayege. Kashi and Mathura are off the table. Look at who Ayodhya voted. Look at Varanasi. What was it before? 50k piligrims used to cram themselves in to 3000 square feet of temple. Per day average. It was overflowing with garbage.

2. No more freeing Hindu temples from Govt control. Particularly in South. Annamalai and team gave their heart out. Even coimbatore wants revdi culture.

3. No more development. What is the point in setting up AIIMS, Police stations etc? Look at Amethi. Feudal culture thrives.

4. No more swach bharat mission or toilets or cooking or awaas. Particularly in the UP cow belt. They deserve their MY goondas.

5. No more infrastructure build out in Mumbai. Look at what it led to?

---- what Modi must do ---

1. Return to feudalism and divide and rule. Indians love that. Look at Mah and Mumbai. Feudal systems thrive in Mah and UP and Raj and K'taka.

2. Full support to build Amravathi in Andhra. Let the politicos have 5% cut. Provided they invest that back into making dharmic movies. It should be made official. Make Warangal as heritage city and pump money in there. No point in putting money in Nandurbar or Latur. They want to remain backward.

3. Take out MSP from Punjab and Haryana. People in Odisha and MP put more faith in Modi. Divert the MSP there. Let Punjab and Haryana suffer. Why take responsibility of crop burners?

4. Suspend government in W. Bengal and plug in CONgoons into the political matrix. Let them fight it out in future.

5. Take out Yadavs from the backward category. Let them fight it out on streets.

My last post on this topic. Going to stay away from this threads for several days.

A_Gupta wrote: 11 May 2024 03:29 Is is worthwhile to have a thread to accumulate the names, not just of the well-known stars, but others that have shown huge potential? In running government, and significant institutions? In states and in the centre? In order to assess the talent pool?
Not a good idea. This will lead to personality cult etc.

ShauryaT wrote: 22 May 2024 02:50 There is an active program by the Modi govt to "retrain" the IAS and other state cadre.
Increasing lateral entry and decreasing IAS intake is good first step, IMHO. Civil Services wings should be clipped. What is their qualification to be the whole and sole mai baap for a district? Why should IPS officers answerable to Collectors? THey should be controlled by elected MLAs.

uddu wrote: 04 Jun 2024 15:57 BJP must put it in the parliament and let it be defeated in voting by opposition. Then go back to people and say, we did as we promised and because we don't have the complete mandate, those bills got defeated. That's the right way to do it.
Absolutely correct. But then would the electorate remember after five years? Do they even care for UCC?

Prem Kumar wrote: 29 Apr 2024 20:39 Lets not jinx this election with this kind of a thread

Request mods to delete this thread after Dilbu Ji comes and first sprinkles his anti-jinx on it
I told you guys not to jinx it

^^ Sorry didn't notice this thread in time Premji. :D

I think BJP needs to develop local leaders. Such leaders need to be able to operate independent, yet in sync, of the national entity.

Prem Kumar wrote: 04 Jun 2024 23:28
Prem Kumar wrote: 29 Apr 2024 20:39 Lets not jinx this election with this kind of a thread

Request mods to delete this thread after Dilbu Ji comes and first sprinkles his anti-jinx on it
I told you guys not to jinx it
Modi 3.0 will be sworn in by the end of the week and with NaMo at the helm and will be stable. And this is even with Nitish “Turncoat” Kumar in the NDA. Even worse than this would be the INDI alliance coming into power. So don’t take takleef. All will be well.

Lessons to learn for the BJP is this:-

1) Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas does not work.

2) Minorities - when voting - look at Religion First, then Caste. Hindus - when voting - look at Caste First, then Religion. This is the reality the BJP has to understand and master and ties into Point 1. As a non-Hindu, I have personally seen this time and time again.

3) There is no time for infighting and grandstanding within the BJP. The individuals who do this, post this election, need to be thrown out of the party. There needs to be laser vision focus on the next election, either in 2029 or prior. Governance is more important than a single individual.

4) Reforms (i.e. UCC) will likely have to wait, till the BJP gets a majority once again. But having seen NaMo operate, he just might be able to this new term. Let’s see if that happens.

5) From a defence/natsec perspective, let’s wait to see who is who in the new cabinet. Some big ticket items - MRFA, Project 75I, etc - are awaiting clearance. Based on who is being appointed to what ministry or department, will determine what project will get approved.
Arima

Post by Arima »

my WIsh List (many already covered by others)

include all products and services 100% in GST - including petrol liquor and what not which is kept out for state revenue.
strict fiscal policy for states - how much they can borrow, linking it to repayment potential and future health. many states are in deep debt.
create more states in India. split any state with more than 50-60 million population
AkshaySG

Post by AkshaySG »

Arima wrote: 05 Jun 2024 23:45
create more states in India. split any state with more than 50-60 million population
This is a very dangerous exercise... As soon as this possibility is opened up that increases regional and sub regional parties stoking regionalism and anti nationalism

In a couple of situations with sensible implementation it might make sense but is a slippery slope and we've just seen proof how fickle Indian voters can really be

Rakesh wrote: 05 Jun 2024 22:38 2) Minorities - when voting - look at Religion First, then Caste.
Rakesh ji, correct if I am wrong but there is no "Caste" in non-hindu religions. Caste is a big albatross around Hindus' neck.

If there is one thing that these elections have taught us it is that Bharatiya Musalman will NOT vote for the BJP.

So, while I am not opposed to सब का साथ, सब का विकास, IMO Modi **has to** dilute it.

Modi has to favor his base. To the extent Modi has to prosecute those within YT that actively participated in suppressing Hindu right winger YT channels and Modi has to openly support these right wingers by funding them.

I would also support a great portion of funds allocated for the Bharatiya Musalman to be rerouted to the dalits.

Bharatiya Musalman need to opt between Bharat or the deep state.

जी हाँ.

Indeed. Politics is about rewarding friends & punishing enemies

This simple fact has been lost upon Modi Ji for 10 years. By now, he should have stuffed 10s of Lakhs of Government jobs with pro-Hindu/pro-Indic folks, RSS people etc. Instead he proudly displays a report card which shows Muslims having gotten a disproportionate # of Govt jobs

The stats will shock you: Under Congress, 3% of Muslims were Govt employed. Under 10 years of Modi, that number is 10%

We have had Brahmins in Ayodhya & other places begging for compensation for land loss or for PMAY Houses. Instead, our PM is busy handing over Crores of houses to backstabbing Muslims. Their voting % to BJP fell from a pathetic 6% in 2019 to an even more miserable 3% in 2024!

So, Modi is NOT about Sabka Saath. He panders specifically to Muslims, often at the expense of deserving Hindus who voted him to power. Do you blame them if they are pissed at him and not vote?

If Modi does not make his schemes Hindu-friendly & if he does not punish Muslims, even I won't vote for him. Under him, our civilizational destruction will only accelerate! He is oiling the gears when the car is going downhill

Prem Kumar wrote: 06 Jun 2024 11:51 The stats will shock you: Under Congress, 3% of Muslims were Govt employed. Under 10 years of Modi, that number is 10%
Can you provide a reference for this stat?
Arima

Post by Arima »

Vayutuvan wrote: 06 Jun 2024 02:46
Rakesh wrote: 05 Jun 2024 22:38 2) Minorities - when voting - look at Religion First, then Caste.
Rakesh ji, correct if I am wrong but there is no "Caste" in non-hindu religions. Caste is a big albatross around Hindus' neck.
not exactly for Christians in south India. only exception being age old Christians population who converted long before British period mostly in Kerala.
in TN Dravida parties almost always field crypto Christians as candidate in reserved constituency.

There is caste for minorities (I'm Christian) as we were all Hindu earlier and retain that caste identity.
The difference, as Rakesh suggested, is that the Muslim identity transcends their caste.

I think my wish list is doable:

1. Make fighting corruption the central plank of Modi 3.0. Set up special courts to try politicians as was agreed at the time of the Lokpal Bill.
- A lot of the turncoats who joined BJP, lost. Revive their cases (Ajit Pawar for e.g) to show that no one is above the law etc.
- Pursue every case against Oppn politicians but with better optics. Publicize the charge sheets.
Corollary - drop cases filed just for harassment, the public can see through it.
- Set up a special cell to get convictions in corruption case. e.g National herald should not just be pursued by the best lawyers, the govt
needs to work with a friendly judge, friendly press and perhaps have an understanding with the other side's lawyer. ED/CBI in their
current form are not competent.

2. War on crime. Improve on Yogi's methods.
Seriously implement the benami assets law, which is the strongest weapon in the fight against black money. Have a daily tracker showing
how many seizures of what value and name the people charged.
- Set up a central govt agency to handle inter state crime (can be notionally under the CBI or IB, but independent).
Inter state crime will cover criminals operating in uncooperative Oppn ruled states. Have them shielded by the best lawyers and by
teams who will ensure that prosecution will fail (as a Mafia boss does). Track no of gangsters `encountered'. If you can't get the gangster
his son gets encountered.
- Go into overdrive demolishing or auctioning the properties of criminals including those abroad convicted for Anti national activities in
India. If Khalistanis want to protect their property in court, they have to return to India. Convert demolished properties into better
police stations, or police housing, or clinics.
- Auction enemy property. We have an act from 1968. Nothing happened.
- Ask for the extradition of crooked startup founders (Byju is sitting in Dubai). UK has to hand over Mallaya and Nirav. Period.
Choksi could be attacked by unknown gunmen. He's in a banana republic which won't bother.
Cancel the shares of founders against whom serious charges are framed (e.g. Ashneer Grover). Its like the IBC law.
The shares will be auctioned if the promoter cannot be absolved of charges.

3. Own the narrative: Special cell in the I&B ministry to sue publications and individuals who make unproven allegations.
Get Adani/Ambani to sue RaGa for 1000 cr - and separately everyone else who made similar allegations.
They should also prosecute youtubers/ tweeters etc. If that person is outside India, try him in absentia and seize his assets.
The govt is the biggest advertiser, but does not leverage that strength. Have a weekly informal chat between I&B minister and the media,
where the media gets guidance.

4. We can massively leverage tech to educate every Indian. The portals are already in place, content is being added. It has to be publicized.
I did a blogpost on this: https://rpdeans.blogspot.com/2024/03/th ... unity.html

5. Additional customs duty (security tax) on countries with whom we have a disputed border. A 10% additional import duty on imports from
China + Hong Kong will net 70,000 crore p.a conservatively.
Ban the import of whatever can be manufactured by MSME's in India.

6. Switch more of the economy to cheap Russian gas, through Iran. It will require shipbuilding, pipeline building and gas terminal building.
All this will generate jobs and lower energy costs.

7. Do a backroom deal with Xi. We take Quad less seriously, they give us back Mount Kailash (more sacred to Hindus than disputed temples)
in a way similar to an embassy in a foreign country being Indian soil. They also give back disputed patrol points in Depsang.

8. Reintroduce permanent service in the army for Nepali Gurkhas. We just cannot afford to hurt relations with Nepal.
- Legislate jobs for Agniveers for Defense civilian posts, defense PSUs etc. Currently these are statements of intent.
- Set up a private military corporation like Wagner, for ex Agniveers to serve all over the world.

9. Jobs for Indians abroad to be negotiated on a govt to govt basis where possible.
If Israel wants 100,000 farmers, we ensure that only the `right profile' is sent abroad as a guest worker.
NRI ministry can also offer Gulf countries free placement / free replacement (instead of them paying agents) with an understanding
that the workers will be more representative of India, instead of predominantly one state.

Rakesh ji, correct if I am wrong but there is no "Caste" in non-hindu religions.
Don't take the following personally (I blame the information/education that you have received), but your reply above is fundamentally flawed. In addition to what Arima and Deans have said above, it is a misnomer that non-Hindu religions do not have caste.

Some reading material for you --->

1) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caste_sys ... an_Muslims

2) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caste_sys ... Christians
(This above link is personal to me, because I am a Christian and from Kerala). The hypocrisy that exists among Malabar Christians is eye opening.

But yet when it comes to voting, these differences and hypocrisies are set aside for the sole purpose of defeating the BJP.

And that is because the Hindu must *NEVER* be allowed to have a nation of his/her own. And this foundation serves as the indoctrination to India's citizenry. Among the non-Hindu citizenry, the Hindu is vilified. And this vilification is not overt or in-your-face, but it is a systemic and carefully managed message from a young age. They learn it at home from their parents, from their circle of friends, from their school system (I learnt about the Hindu caste system - at school - growing up in Bombay...but never about the caste system in Islam or Christianity or other religions), etc.

Once that vilification is complete, then comes Phase 2 and that involves conversion or abandon Hinduism out of shame and regret for being a Hindu. Best illustration of Phase 2 is DMK (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam). Remember Udhayanidhi Stalin who said that Sanatan Dharma must be eradicated like dengue and malaria? Or A Raja who spat on the ground when talking about about Sanatan Dharma? And the irony of Phase 2, is that Hindus are Dhimmis and they will take it on the chin. These gentlemen will not dare talk about the Muslim citizenry in India in that same manner.

Only in Hindu-majority India, will you have a Govt (of the Congress variety) organizing iftaar parties, but refuse to attend the opening of the Ram Mandir. Only in Hindu-majority India, will you have a Prime Minister (NaMo) who bent over backwards - for a decade - to uplift the Muslim community via schemes & yojanas, but yet they vote for the opposition. Only in Hindu-majority India, will you have someone like Nupur Sharma who has to live in hiding for speaking the truth. This is the reality of the Hindu in India. Secularism exists only for the Hindu. All other religions have free reign.

Sanatan Dharma's biggest enemy is the "liberal" Hindu aka HINO (Hindu In Name Only). The HINO - from time immemorial - has allowed Bharat to get invaded, looted and plundered. And post 1947, the HINO only serves to work for uplifting the minority and on the back of the majority. And minorities in India latch onto the HINO for survival (aka suck on the teat). They take advantage of the resources that are provided and and what is not provided, they take by force. They are not interested in the betterment of the nation, because they have no moral investment to Bharat or even loyalty to Bharat. They are just there to gorge like locusts, with full blessing of the HINO.

A Hindu Rashtra is a danger to the HINO ruling class. They like to keep the minorities and fellow HINOs poor and subjugated, because that is what keeps them in power. We got a preview of that in the violent CAA protests that occurred in India. So the HINO ruling class plants fear into the citizenry over the implementation of a Hindu Rashtra --> BJP/RSS is going to convert all of you into Hindus. Non Compliance will result in your property being repossessed. You will lose your identity/citizenship. You will be deported out of the country. All Bunkum Nonsense. In a Hindu Rashtra, the HINO ruling class will lose that power.

After the 2004 "India Shining" campaign disaster, I thought the BJP learnt its lesson. But lessons in humility are quickly forgotten, after a decade in power. The sad reality that is the human mind. Bharat came within a cat whisker's width of having the INDI alliance take power, in the 2024 election. I really hope the BJP high command learns from the mistakes made in this election cycle and corrects it, for the next round. We are not selling peanuts on the roadside. This is a serious matter. Before I die, I want to see the words secular and socialist removed from the constitution of Bharat and UCC implemented.
Vayutuvan wrote: 06 Jun 2024 02:46Caste is a big albatross around Hindus' neck.
Caste is any religion is an albatross. This is not just a Hindu issue, but after 76+ years of independence, the subliminal messaging that still exists in India is that it is only a Hindu issue. And you have illustrated that. Once again, i am not personally attacking you Saar, but your thought (which comes from what you have been indoctrinated with).

The onus of Viksit Bharat lies primarily upon the Hindu. If there is no visible ownership from the Hindu on this, don't expect the non-Hindu to jump on board. Where is his/her incentive? The 2024 election results clearly proved that. This is the reality that the BJP must understand.

If you want a Hindu Rashtra, then you have to make that a reality.

Truly liberal Hindus - call them classical liberal hindus - want upliftment of minorities, i.e. socially backward Hindus. We (I consider myself as one) don't have any say in how the other religions manage their affairs though, for obvious reasons. It is but natural to not to listen to a non-religionist over their own.

I have had a large number of Christian friends, including a colleague whose brother was studying at the Vatican to become an ordained (whatever you call). Uniformly, all of them are very nice folks and desh bhakt. I also do not feel in anyway discriminated against in the middle of the US Bible belt.

But then this is all so 1970-90 stuff. What touched me personally were two families

My mom was in India by herself and needed 24x7 help. We tried several people, but the one who finally stuck was a woman called Rosie, whose ancestors converted to Christianity. My mom was very happy with the way she was taken care of. The other is a family who moved into a neighboring apartment - an young couple with and a widowed mom of the man. They were very affectionate to my mom for a few years. I was there when they moved to another apartment. They came by and the woman was literally crying saying that she would miss my mom.

Anecdotal? You bet. On the other hand, I heard about the newly converted being extremely arrogant, strident, and condescending.

It's the residual hindu-ness you are seeing saar, which somehow resisted decades of indoctrination in many overt and covert ways
sanman

Post by sanman »

Was watching latest episode of Gunners Shot by General Shankar, and one viewer made the suggestion that only national parties should contest in national elections, only local state parties can contest in state elections, and no parties allowed at village level.

I admit, I'd never considered that idea before. But is it workable?

For instance, we know that jailed corrupt politicians can put up their wives to take their positions in the meantime.
What would prevent regional parties from putting up their own proxies to contest in national elections, and vice-versa?
What would prevent such parties from putting up their own people to contest in village elections, even if unofficially?
So I don't see how it could be made to work, since competition for power would push political parties to get around the rules by proxy methods.

Few people have mentioned air pollution. One thing that can be done in that regard

Elimination of fossil fuel vehicles and power generation by 203x.

Massive investments and tax subsidies
  1. renewable infrastructure and micro-grids: solar, wind, hydro, thermal, etc, battery storages; high % of national energy provided by renewables; every house/building should have it (i.e. solar & battery) as well
  2. electrification of transportation: electric vehicles (scooters, motorcycles, auto rickshaws, cars, buses, trucks, trains) and the supporting recharge and maintenance infrastructure
  3. electric vehicles (and other alternatives like hydrogen) R&D and manufacturing
  4. battery technology R&D and manufacturing
  5. greening the urban core for cooling and air quality: trees along roads, “green” high rises, rooftop gardens, more public park green spaces, forest reserve belts
  6. indoor vertical farms (with AI robotics): grow vegetables within population centers
  7. lab grown meats R&D and manufacturing within population centers
… and a lot more in this space …
syam

Post by syam »

My wishlist:

1. Make the enemies feel the consequences. Your brand value is at stake, Modiji. If you let them get away with it, your brand will face serious damage.

2. Encourage the people who add value to the party and you.Not those sycophants or self-serving opportunists.

3. Have a team b which bats for you. They will fight the fights which you can't fight because you are too 'powerful'. RSS can't fill this role. Cuz they are way more powerful than BJP. You have to invent this team b outside your eco-system.

4. Focus on UP. That's what they are after. Use whatever underhand tactics while dealing with them.

. . . .

- Appeal to all NRI store owners in the US, Canada, UK, Australia etc., to boycott any and all "Made in Pakistan" goods.
tandav

Post by tandav »

The long suffering tax payers of India must get some benefits. Some suggestions (mostly not thought this through and reserve the right to modify as comments and suggestions appear)

1) Accidental death reimbursement: If a tax payer dies due to an accident, His nominee gets back some fraction ( say 50%) of income tax that s/he paid to the state in their lifetime.

2) Maternity/ Paternity benefits: Expectant mothers and fathers get refund of some fraction of income tax paid on birth of children.

3) Remove GST consider bringing wealth tax of 1% per year. Reason: fundamentally I feel it's easier to track assets rather than transactions which is the GST regime. Definition of asset and asset value to be clarified Asset ==land, shares, gold, cash, real estate, movable and immovable property.

4) Land tax : All land including Agricultural land has to be taxed as 1% of circle rate per year. Add this tax and remove income tax. It will make land more productive and will increase the tax payer net.
ernest

Post by ernest »

tandav wrote: 13 Jun 2024 09:34 The long suffering tax payers of India must get some benefits. Some suggestions (mostly not thought this through and reserve the right to modify as comments and suggestions appear)

1) Accidental death reimbursement: If a tax payer dies due to an accident, His nominee gets back some fraction ( say 50%) of income tax that s/he paid to the state in their lifetime.

2) Maternity/ Paternity benefits: Expectant mothers and fathers get refund of some fraction of income tax paid on birth of children.

3) Remove GST consider bringing wealth tax of 1% per year. Reason: fundamentally I feel it's easier to track assets rather than transactions which is the GST regime. Definition of asset and asset value to be clarified Asset ==land, shares, gold, cash, real estate, movable and immovable property.

4) Land tax : All land including Agricultural land has to be taxed as 1% of circle rate per year. Add this tax and remove income tax. It will make land more productive and will increase the tax payer net.
these are really great morale booster sugestions for middle class. Also, low hanging fruits 1 and 2.
on 3 - Wealth tax might be counterproductive
venkat_kv

Post by venkat_kv »

My wish list for the administration which has been a long time pending is media information bill/act.
Any media print or electronic lies big and retracts small (to quote media crooks from earlier days). the act should make it that any news channel, youtube influencer, or who so ever on social media platforms spouts off lies will have to write telecast the retraction by the same person /channel in the same font and time frame.

news channels
1. If a channel in prime time has spread lies the retraction should also come in their prime time slot ( by the same person who spread it, if they are still with the network).
2. Channels calling individuals as experts and providing platform for them should also be responsible for the content. the channels cannot weasel out saying it was the individuals opinion, any wrong data needs to be corrected by the channel within the next 3-5 days and fines must start with every passing day from the cutoff mark of 5 days and fines must double for every two days.

newspapers:
3. newspapers writing big page news when retracting need to write them down on the same font and on the same page.

Social media platforms:
4. Social media platforms should be held responsible for hosting lies and the responsibility lies explicitly with them to check and send info out failing which they should be fined heavily ( not banned, since we are democratic majoritarian, neo fascists depending on which foreign media spouts what on that day)
5. the people whose account is suspended can go to a tribunal to get their accounts reinstated and it should be based on predefined set of rules where truth is important not half lies based on some report or googling as is often bandied about. and if it is found that the platform had engaged in suppressing the content creator the platform should be fined heavily. this process should be finished in 1-2 months unless there are any extraneous circumstances and the content creator should also be paid for loss of present and future wages.
6. Explicit laws to forbid the promotion/suppression of videos reach by the platforms unless ordered by the govt citing national integrity/security clause.

fact checkers and fines:

7. fact checkers indulging in fake news should have their fact checking license revoked after maybe 3 or 5 strikes and they are to not be part of any further fact checking groups either in advisory role or holding stakes in any new fact checking venture.
8. Anchors influencers spouting fake narratives should be fined incrementally - first fine Rs.40000, second fine 1lakh, 3rd fine 5 lakhs, 4 fine 10 lakhs and 5 fine 25 lakhs and suspension of the account.
9. People/ news channels who spread disinfo and later silently delete the original post or video need to make a new post/videos saying that they made a mistake and are correcting themselves not just silently delete.

10. data generated by anyone in India should be hosted locally.

Following most of these hopefully will get people to see who is lying and or telling the truth although i am not sure how far the govt is willing to go to curb fake news.

the media channels print or electronic have the right to free speech (along with certain restriction in Indian context), they should be made responsible for their writings, videos content and its propagation.

Anybody in touch with BJP big wigs should try telling the party leaders that fake news will derail their plans of viksit bharat and send India spiraling down with fake news where people keep fighting with everyone else getting influenced by fake news. so it is the responsibility of the govt to ensure people are consuming news and not opinions as news.
tandav

Post by tandav »

Managing the Commons is a critical need of the hour.

Bring forward a legislation that allows individual Municipal wards to create and enforce local rules / fines / fees for stuff like littering, parking, street vending, local parks and trails. The money from such collection will go to an account of the local ward. This can fund stuff like traffic assistance, parking attendants, street cleaners. designing and maintaining better facilities for the locals like public showers, bike paths, gardens, fountains

The fund disbursal can be done by a committee of corporator candidates representating at least 70% of vote. Or Create an online platform that can solicit proposals from public for execution if there is support in online aadhar otp based poll of citizens in the area. The corporators execute the work without tenders. But the txn in ward account is known to all online
tandav

Post by tandav »

ramana wrote: 22 Apr 2024 03:57 Williams and others let's start a numbered wish list for Modi 3.0
#1. Reform judiciary
#2 Reform IAS and IPS
#3. Move police from.State to Concurrent list
#4 Crimes against women added to UAPA
#5 Law to allow ward level rules/fines/fees/permit for maintenance of public spaces and infrastructure. Funds collected to be used by local development and upkeep.

Und so Weiter.(usw)

tandav wrote:Bring forward a legislation that allows individual Municipal wards to create and enforce local rules / fines / fees for stuff like littering, parking, street vending, local parks and trails.
The Panchayti Raj Act passed way back in 1990s (by INC) have such provisions. Through delegated legislation, states can now bring in laws which allows local self governments to raise some fees/taxes for their exclusive use. At least in South India, I have seen municipalities and townships (especially with tourism potential) levying some kind of "development fee", based on these provisions.
ramana wrote:#2 Reform IAS and IPS
I was watching a YouTube video (memoirs) of a state cadre police officer who retired as Supdt. of Police (non-IPS). He brought in an interesting point. From his experience; actual police job done by IPS folks is very minimal. They don't really investigate cases, they don't prepare charge sheets, and the most crucial part - most do not stand as witness in the courts and even know the court procedures. All these work is still done by the ranks of Sub Inspectors to Dy. Supdt of Police. The grunt job, off course will be with PCs, HCs, ASIs. The IPS probationers do some 1-2 months training at every rank, and then that is it.

With educational levels increasing in all government appointments, IAS and IPS in-take can be from the state service officials who work in the same service. Let folks join the state service, and then if interested write the appropriate civil service exam to join an all-India cadre of the same service. It would be also an incentive if the state cadre staff to aim higher.

If Modi 3.0 can fill all public service jobs, Govt jobs etc exclusively with ideologically aligned people, it will go a long way in establishing their own ecosystem. Same goes for public goods/welfare like the PMAY scheme - where benefits should accrue to people who voted for them and not to enemies

As we have seen, ecosystems last longer than political fortunes and provide a safe haven & lever of power even when not in power

Prem Kumar wrote: 24 Jun 2024 22:55 If Modi 3.0 can fill all public service jobs, Govt jobs etc exclusively with ideologically aligned people, it will go a long way in establishing their own ecosystem. Same goes for public goods/welfare like the PMAY scheme - where benefits should accrue to people who voted for them and not to enemies

As we have seen, ecosystems last longer than political fortunes and provide a safe haven & lever of power even when not in power
They couldn't get lateral entry in UPSC passed.
Adrija

Post by Adrija »

So far in Modi3.0 the government has been on the backfoot in terms of public perception, especially Agniveer program and lateral entry... could a way forward for them could be to work with at least the BJP state governments to have them institute a municipal cadre (for local bodies administration) and assure direct entry to all Agniveers to this cadre in their preferred home state? That would blunt the criticism of Agniveers being let go and also simultaneously plug a gaping hole in critical capabilities... and to ease the financial burden Central govt can also promise to fund this cadre for say the initial five years?

In almost all countries local bodies actually account for the largest bulk of government expenditure (China IIRC is ~ 53%) whereas for India it is negligible (~ 2%)......... also the prime reason are cities and villages are in the mess they are in....... it's not just a money issue but also capabilities issue

With this they would achieve multiple outcomes (including assuring Agniveers of "lifetime employment"), start showing visible impact on civic management within a short time arising out of the induction of these trained and capable staff, and also- equally importantly- seize the public narrative

Just a thought

The Govt must focus on getting ED cases to convictions and jail terms. Just jailing for months and then courts giving bail in multiple cases is not good for ED's or Govt's credibility, and allows dynasties to spin persecution narratives and play victim cards.

Exactly the fertile ground that regime change wallas are looking for to create unrest and chaos.

Attended a citizen's meeting with the BBMP commissioner Tushar ji and highlighted major issues in our areas. poorly organised sarkari style meeting with a lot of beating around the bush answers. absolutely devastating to see how the bureaucracy and the limited budgets is stunting the growth of cities like Bengaluru and others. Competent IAS officers not having the resources or means to implement common sense decisions.

Modi govt needs to tackle urban decay of infra. Paved roads, functioning SWDs, traffic light, street lights etc etc. We shouldnt go the Soviet way where citizens wondered how they could land rovers on distant planets but couldnt make decent quality consumer goods. A disillusioned middle class is a dangerous entity.