Bangladesh News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Bangladesh News and Discussion

There must still be substantial numbers of Sheikh Hasina supporters in Bangladesh. They're probably waiting for the right moment to raise their head.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

sanjayc wrote: 29 Dec 2024 20:07 One thing I have noticed -- how much a country gets respected by others is inversely proportional to how easy it is for them to get into that country.
+1. very good observation.

A_Gupta wrote: 29 Dec 2024 20:13 ... raise their head.
That is like a pejorative "the snake raised its head".

sanjayc wrote: 29 Dec 2024 20:07 One thing I have noticed -- how much a country gets respected by others is inversely proportional to how easy it is for them to get entry into that country. For countries which get respect -- Singapore, US, UK, Australia, Japan, France, etc. -- it is very difficult to get visas or residency permits for them by non-citizens. People crave to get a chance to enter them. The easier it is for someone to enter a country, the less it gets respected. So India won't get any respect in the world till it keeps resembling a "dharamshala" and a place of easy refuge for everyone in the world.

Bangladeshis, Nepalese, Maldivians, Srilankans, Afghans .. they can enter India easily. Visas for them are easy. India's borders are not secure. The people who have easy access to India -- they are the ones who abuse India the most (Nepalese, Bangladeshis, Maldivians). I have begun to see a grudging respect in Pakistanis now, as it is almost impossible for them to enter India. Any Paki with an Indian visa is treated as a celebrity in Pakistan. So, for India to get respect, all these riffraff countries in the neighbourhood must not get a free pass to enter India anytime they want. Make their entry difficult, and see how their attitudes change. So this system of open borders with Nepal, Bhutan, etc. is stupid. So is lack of fencing on BD border. Treat everyone like Pakistanis. As India's economy develops further, people would be ready to give an arm and leg for an Indian visa. Don't make it easy for them, or you will lose value in their eyes. Just notice how once India made it difficult for Canadian Khalistanis to get Indian visa, how they have begun to squeal and complain to everyone
I don't know... legally US and India have the same laws for permanent residency based on employment, investment, family and asylum categories. We can do more to curb illegal immigration for sure. But respect comes from display of economic and military hard power when needed. Somehow we hesitate a lot to display hard power. That causes these countries to take us for granted. For example with the Beedies, we should have kept at least a rudimentary Naval base in Chittagong to keep an eye on the Chinese and also keep the nefarious local political entities in check. Same goes to Nepal and Srilanka. Once we have them, we should not hesitate to use them when needed.

INDIA BANGLADESH : THE ROAD AHEAD / LT GEN ATA HASNAIN / LT GEN PR SHANKAR
https://www.youtube.com/live/iFaAz1MF5j ... 8UF0zMUrGw

Indians have lot of positive people-to-people relations with Bangladeshis.
While maybe not pro-Indian there are sufficient Bangladeshis who know that good relations with India is essential for their well-being
India doesn't want a third front opened up in Bangladesh.

India has to practice strategic patience, wield soft power, and not let the jihadis liberated by Muhammad Yunus to win.

vi@WA

Article in Hindu today by law lecturers from Delhi and London makes a case for Hasina’s extradition to BD or trial virtually while in India, i.e. for Hasina subjecting herself to BD jurisdiction and trial. India is asked to facilitate this.

Even the possibility of indictment by the International Criminal Court is discussed.

Clearly, international forces with local elements are at work to make this a divisive issue between India and BD with such tutored and sponsored articles so that public discussion on this issue continues and is legitimised.

Article takes no account of the fact that there is no legitimate government in power in BD. It is the Islamist mob with military support that has taken over. The judiciary is not independent as it has succumbed to coercion by Islamist students.

The minorities are being persecuted.

Just putting a compromised stooge on top to deflect attention from the “ meticulously planned” ( Yunus’s words) regime overthrown by the Islamists doesn’t create legitimacy.

Only an elected government through free, fair and inclusive elections can initiate a legitimate legal process.

The current regime in BD seeks vengeance not justice.

The established legal dictum is that those who seek justice should come with clean hands.

https://www.thehindu.com/opinion/lead/t ... 044282.ece

Interview with Chief of Army Staff General Waker-Uz-Zaman
https://en.prothomalo.com/opinion/interview/grmo9njtwj
Prothom Alo : We have many issues with India pertaining to water, the border and more. We have recently seen and heard of talks being held on certain unresolved issues.

General Waker: India is an important neighbour. We are dependent on India in many ways. And India is getting facilities from us too. A large number of their people are working in Bangladesh, formally and informally. Many people go for medical treatment to India from here. We buy a lot of goods from them. So India has a lot of interests in Bangladesh’s stability. This is a give-and-take relationship. This must be based on fairness. Any country will want to get benefits from the other. There is nothing wrong in that. If we want extract our benefits, then we are to blame too. We must look into these matters. We have to maintain good relations based on equality. The people in no way should feel India is dominating over us, which goes against our interests. People should not feel this in any way.

Prothom Alo : Bangladesh’s cooperation in ensuring security in their northeast region is a major issue for India. They received cooperation from the past government in this regard.

General Waker: See, the thing is that we will not do anything with our neighbour that goes against their strategic interests. At the same time, we will expect that our neighbour does nothing that is contrary to our interests. When we look after their interests, they will look after our interests with equal importance. Unrest will not be created in the Chittagong Hill Tracts. The stability along the Myanmar border will not be disrupted either. They will not kill our people along the borders. We will get our fair share of water. There is no problem with this. Let the relations be on equal footing.

Prothom Alo : How do you see relations with China in the perspective of defence cooperation?

General Waker: We have an excellent foreign policy of friendship towards all, malice towards none. We must maintain a balance as we go ahead. China is a partner in our development. They have investment in Bangladesh. So China is very important to us. We use a lot of weapons from China. The air force uses weapons from China too. So does the navy. Their weapons are comparatively inexpensive.

Prothom Alo : The US is also a large power in the Indo-Pacific region. How do you see relations with them?

General Waker: Our relations with them are good too. We will continue to maintain this.
Prothom Alo: Under the prevailing circumstances, people are coming forward with all sorts of demands. People are distressed that the prices of commodities have not gone down. Do you want to give any message to the common people in this regard?

General Waker: The country at present is going through a difficult and complex time. We must limit our demands for the time being. Let us not disturb the government. That will help in maintaining law and order. Let us be patient. Businesspersons, industrialists should keep prices in control. This is not the time to rake in profits. It is time to break away from the norm and do something. After all, the country is going through difficult times. If we are to overcome this, let the political parties come in. The political parties will come to power and resolve these matters. So come let us join hands in assisting the interim government so they can complete the reforms and call for an election. We should not place a burden on their shoulders. We are ready and will remain ready to do everything for the success of Dr Yunus and the interim government.

A_Gupta wrote: 02 Jan 2025 17:52 Interview with Chief of Army Staff General Waker-Uz-Zaman
...We have to maintain good relations based on equality. The people in no way should feel India is dominating over us, which goes against our interests....
'Equal Equal'

As per the standard baki script

Manish_P wrote: 02 Jan 2025 19:34
A_Gupta wrote: 02 Jan 2025 17:52 Interview with Chief of Army Staff General Waker-Uz-Zaman

'Equal Equal'

As per the standard baki script

Manish ji,

these are the golden words, per the beedis

we have to give and these beggars will do all the taking

General Waker: India is an important neighbour. We are dependent on India in many ways. And India is getting facilities from us too. A large number of their people are working in Bangladesh, formally and informally. Many people go for medical treatment to India from here. We buy a lot of goods from them. So India has a lot of interests in Bangladesh’s stability. This is a give-and-take relationship. This must be based on fairness. Any country will want to get benefits from the other. There is nothing wrong in that. If we want extract our benefits, then we are to blame too. We must look into these matters. We have to maintain good relations based on equality. The people in no way should feel India is dominating over us, which goes against our interests. People should not feel this in any way.

Dipanjan R Chaudhury: ET Exclusive: Sheikh Hasina releases speech which she had desired to deliver before her departure on August 5. Blames her refusal to hand over St Martin Island to USA as reason for her ouster. Says her comments on students were distorted — My report

Bangladesh govt revokes passport of former PM Sheikh Hasina

Hasina, who left for India after her Awami League-led government crumbled amidst historic anti-government demonstrations in August 2024, now faces her second arrest warrant.

The passports of former Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and 96 individuals have been revoked by the interim government of Bangladesh.

https://www.businesstoday.in/world/stor ... 2025-01-07

^^^ In order to respond to revocation of her Passport .. India does not care for that passport
India extends VISA of ousted Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina amid extradition demand from Dhaka.

Loud & Clear message to Fascist Yunus govt, India is no mood to EXTRADITE Sheikh Hasin or give any respect to the present BD govt.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Interesting - I’m tracking two 747’s from Chittagong. CSS229 and CSS163. CSS229 just landed at MAA. And the other is couple of hours behind, and not sure where it is headed. Took snapshots of the flight tracker.

^^??Begum Khaleda :shock:
Some rumours now that BNP n the Islamists have fallen out
So it appears that its "ROP' and the "Peace Prize' winner all the way!! :D

Recently, we have seen a large number of state governments start a crackdown on illegal Bangladeshi immigrants. While it's commendable, I am a little skeptical about the long term viability. We are addressing outcomes without addressing the root causes.

So, Why do Bangladeshi's come to India?

Bangladesh, is extremely overcrowded, and despite everything, the country for a long time will remain lacking in economic opportunities compared to India. Given the fact that the vast majority cannot escape to Europe, and, that S.E. Asia and the Gulf, the pressure to migrate to India will remain. The main reason for migration is not notions like 'Ghazwa-e-Hind' but economic. Religious persecution maybe a second large reason but Rohingyas and people driven by desires to affect a demographic change would be a fairly smaller fraction.

Why do stakeholders in India facilitate this?

Yes, the border is porous. But even then there is a huge nexus that facilitates there movement, duplicate identity creation in India. The prima facie is of course, there is money to be made. Add in the factor that illegals immigrants who are not sure of their legality, will be beholden vote blocs, But an even bigger reason is that in parts of India, there is a necessity for cheap labor. Whether it's agrarian sectors in Punjab, Kerala; construction in Bangalore, Chennai; or house-help in NCR region. A lot of common Indians turn a blind eye to this.

How do we tackle this?

Police action will only go so far. Why not use the dynamics of the problem to work out a solution. Why not open an official channel for allowing a filtered group of Bangladeshi's to work in India. Register them, get their bio-metrics, issue them AADHAR Cards (by law they are valid for all residents of India)- marked as a visiting worker like Singapore's ID system.

The advantages of this system are:
  1. By legalizing BD workers, we are reducing the hold of illegal gangs and political parties destroying the vote bank games.
  2. Most Bangladeshi would be happy to have an economic opportunity and stay out of criminal activity as long as they know that any nonsense will result in immediate and permanent expulsion
  3. We enable manpower shortages by using BD labor
  4. We enforce that these guys send money back to BD through banking channels, cutting legs of money laundering and terror financing through hawala channels
  5. We have a stick to ensure good behavior from BD government. When they realize that there's a sizable contingent of BD people who have interest in a stable relationship with India.
This along with strong policing can help in addressing our BD problem. Not completely thought out. Appreciate inputs and suggestions.

This is a bad idea. This may sound good for a developed country with labor shortage. In under developed states in northern, eastern and central India tens of millions are looking for some work. In addition 40% of labor force in India is doing agriculture. You need to move a majority of these people to other jobs. At this stage of development inviting millions of people from Bdesh, unless they are facing persecution, is not sensible.

In any case the current crack down is just a temporary measure, more noise than substance. The correct method is to do the NRC as has been done in Assam.

Most Bdeshis are doing menial jobs by under cutting wages. Today you will find it difficult to employ Indian labor by paying less than MNREGA rates. This only aids businessmen and employers who will hire anyone including illegals for less money. It also leads to wage suppression. It also helps political parties that do no work but win elections through votes of illegals. Bottomline is this does not help India in any way and in fact does more harm.
ernest

Post by ernest »

Or like someone suggested for the USA, we reduce the freebies. It would be as politically difficult to do as granting unskilled work visas to BD.
We should definitely try to brain drain their top scientific talent though. I believe we do have SAARC scholarship for our Unis. Not recommending govt sector jobs for them, but allowing our pvt industry to recruit them and retain the cream as productive workers. Would give us leverage too at the elite level.

Just doing the NRC using a better version of the Assam NRC will solve the problem. Nothing fancy is required. Then it becomes just a policing function where you deport those whose names are not in the register.

Supratik wrote: 11 Jan 2025 22:06 Most Bdeshis are doing menial jobs by under cutting wages. Today you will find it difficult to employ Indian labor by paying less than MNREGA rates. This only aids businessmen and employers who will hire anyone including illegals for less money. It also leads to wage suppression. It also helps political parties that do no work but win elections through votes of illegals. Bottomline is this does not help India in any way and in fact does more harm.
Agree to this. Baniyagiri in full flow, with many Indian businessmen incentivizing BDs to come to India as source of cheap labor. Demographic change be damned. They want their silver dollar
Furthermore, the Assam CM mentioned that an analysis of the increased influx of Bangladeshis into the northeastern state pointed to the decline of the neighbouring country's textile industry, prompting workers to come to India.

"So, the labourers who earlier worked in the textile industry in Bangladesh are coming to India, and many textile factory owners within our country are incentivising this, giving a good amount of money for importing cheap labour illegally."
https://www.businesstoday.in/india/stor ... 2025-01-02

https://www.dhakatribune.com/bangladesh ... ny-unequal
Professor Anu Muhammad, convener of the Democratic Rights Committee, said that if India utilizes transit through Bangladesh, then Bangladesh should equally have the right to use transit through India.

He made this statement on Saturday at a seminar titled "India's Hegemony Over Bangladesh: Nature and Necessary Actions" organized by Sarbojonkotha at the Zahur Hossain Chowdhury Auditorium of the National Press Club.

Anu Muhammad emphasized that the fight against India’s state dominance would become misguided if the specific aspects of this dominance were ignored and attention was diverted elsewhere.

He clarified that India's dominance is not a Hindu-Muslim issue but rather one that can be resisted by fostering solidarity among the people of South Asia.

Addressing the interim government, he said: "The government needs to make all military and civil agreements public. Agreements that are against public interest must be canceled. However, we often hear through various channels that agreements cannot be annulled, that old agreements and projects will continue. But entering into a new Bangladesh under such terms is unacceptable."
In any agreement, there is a compromise - each side gets some benefit possibly at the cost of the other side. If you don't look at the agreement as a whole, and point out only where you didn't get what you want, any agreement can be found to be unfair. I suspect that is what is going on.

The two questions I have are - what are the specifics of "Indian hegemony" and what aspects of Indo-Bangladesh agreements are not public? (The non-public parts would be of interest to Indian citizens, too.)

In general terms, here is a list of Bangladeshi complaints:
https://southasiajournal.net/indias-heg ... overnment/
Last edited by A_Gupta on 12 Jan 2025 21:02, edited 1 time in total.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banglades ... 0revolt%20(also,guarding%20the%20borders%20of%20Bangladesh.

(Wiki):
On September 1, 2024 after the fall of Hasina regime, at a discussion titled “Pilkhana Carnage: Hasina and India’s Conspiracy” held at the Dhaka Reporters Unity, speakers accused former Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina and the Indian government of orchestrating the 2009 BDR mutiny at the headquarters of the paramilitary force, now known as Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB). They demanded a new investigation into the incident and a restoration of the force’s original name, BDR.

Several speakers, including former Bangladesh Army Colonel Abdul Haque, alleged the mutiny was part of a long-term plan involving Awami League leaders and India, aimed at destabilizing the country. Colonel Haque alleged that he was sacked for raising concerns about the incident. Kabir Hossain, the father of a victim, held Sheikh Hasina responsible and called for her punishment. Other speakers, including Islamic scholar Enayetullah Abbasi, echoed similar accusations, suggesting India sought to dominate Bangladesh through the mutiny.
The Wiki summary (don't take it at face value, please, it is Wiki after all):
The Bangladesh Rifles revolt (also referred to as the Pilkhana tragedy or the Pilkhana Massacre) was a mutiny staged on 25 and 26 February 2009 in Dhaka by a section of the Bangladesh Rifles (BDR), a paramilitary force mainly tasked with guarding the borders of Bangladesh. The rebelling BDR soldiers took over the BDR headquarters in Pilkhana, killing BDR director-general Shakil Ahmed along with 56 other army officers and 17 civilians. They also fired on civilians, held many of their officers and their families hostage, vandalised property and looted valuables.[5] By the second day, unrest had spread to 12 other towns and cities.[6][7] The mutiny ended as the mutineers surrendered their arms and released the hostages[8] after a series of staged discussions and negotiations with the government.[9]

On 5 November 2013, Dhaka Metropolitan Sessions Court sentenced 152 people to death and 161 to life imprisonment; another 256 people received sentences between three and ten years for their involvement in the mutiny. The court also acquitted 277 people who had been charged. The trials have been condemned as unfair mass trials without timely access to lawyers and "seem designed to satisfy a desire for cruel revenge", as charged by Human Rights Watch, Amnesty International and the United Nations High Commission for Human Rights.[10][11]

A_Gupta wrote: 12 Jan 2025 20:22 https://www.dhakatribune.com/bangladesh ... ny-unequal
Professor Anu Muhammad, convener of the Democratic Rights Committee, said that if India utilizes transit through Bangladesh, then Bangladesh should equally have the right to use transit through India.

He made this statement on Saturday at a seminar titled "India's Hegemony Over Bangladesh: Nature and Necessary Actions" organized by Sarbojonkotha at the Zahur Hossain Chowdhury Auditorium of the National Press Club.

Anu Muhammad emphasized that the fight against India’s state dominance would become misguided if the specific aspects of this dominance were ignored and attention was diverted elsewhere.

He clarified that India's dominance is not a Hindu-Muslim issue but rather one that can be resisted by fostering solidarity among the people of South Asia.

Addressing the interim government, he said: "The government needs to make all military and civil agreements public. Agreements that are against public interest must be canceled. However, we often hear through various channels that agreements cannot be annulled, that old agreements and projects will continue. But entering into a new Bangladesh under such terms is unacceptable."
In any agreement, there is a compromise - each side gets some benefit possibly at the cost of the other side. If you don't look at the agreement as a whole, and point out only where you didn't get what you want, any agreement can be found to be unfair. I suspect that is what is going on.

The two questions I have are - what are the specifics of "Indian hegemony" and what aspects of Indo-Bangladesh agreements are not public? (The non-public parts would be of interest to Indian citizens, too.)

In general terms, here is a list of Bangladeshi complaints:
https://southasiajournal.net/indias-heg ... overnment/

A_Gupta ji,

such a great country seeking "equality" with India should at once take back its illegal migrants and ghuspaithiyas, and not depend on India to such a shameless extant that their very identity is in question.

everyone quotes that clown gujral, and his dumb paki loving doctrine of "non reciprocity" because it suits them, but where else in the world would such a comical idea of "non reciprocity" even find traction, except in a soft country like India which disregards it's own supreme national interests and actively promotes those very interests in the freeloading, often hostile and jealous, envious and greedy neighbours like the beedis, the maldives, nepal, and SL not to mention the biggest parasite of them all the pakis who are constantly complaining about India "not having a big heart". Now even the afghans have eagerly invited themselves to the festivities and jumped into the parasitical jamboree, in their best bloodsucking mode

we have willingly invited this Gujral doctrine disaster upon ourselves. Needless to say that, like raincoat, (who was beholden to the eyetaaliaan mummy who wanted to "gift" the siachen glacier to the pukestanis), gujral was also born in pukestan

Gujral, the man behind the raw doctrine that set India behind

Long after he was finished with the business of partisan politics, Inder Kumar Gujral who served a brief 10-month stint as prime minister defended his ‘Gujral doctrine in his autobiography, ‘Matters of Discretion’. He wrote:”The logic behind the Gujral Doctrine was that since we had to face two hostile neighbours in the north and the west, we had to be at ‘total peace’ with all other immediate neighbours in order to contain Pakistan’s and China’s influence in the region.” The doctrine formulated first in his tenure as an external affairs minister under HD Deve Gowda, and then perfected when he became prime minister is believed to be his most significant and controversial contribution to the national security policy framework in a career that spanned over five decades and embraced politics, diplomacy and public affairs.

Its significance lies in the insight that for India to become a global power in sync with its stature, it needs a peaceful neighbourhood. The element of controversy springs from the debilitating impact it had on R&AW’s ability to conduct intelligence operations in Pakistan. On his directions, the Pakistan special operations desk of R&AW was shut down, leading to a major gap in India’s intelligence capabilities. Analysts blame this as one of the key factors that led to the “intelligence failure” before the Kargil war commenced. But then Gujral was determined to leave his imprint on Indo-Pak relations and was completely unmindful of such controversies during his career.

Briefly:

1. Bangladeshi misinformation needs a counter of correct information to be available.

2. The Bangladeshi formula that "our past government wasn't truly democratic and so the agreements it entered into are null and void" needs to deflected, as it will mean that no agreement will ever be possible.

3. The well-informed Bharat Rakshak needs broad knowledge of the India-Bangladesh agreements, and what India gave up as well as what India gained in arriving at these agreements; and whether India's interests were served by that agreement. (e.g., see the extensive discussions on the Indus Water Treaty).

My opinion only - To India, Bangladesh is of much greater strategic importance than Pakistan at this point in history, and merits more attention.

4. The sum total of Bangladeshi complaints need to be compiled and addressed. Addressed not in the sense of granting concessions but rather addressed in terms of having the whole context - at least as long as there is some possibility that India-Bangladesh relations can be at a rational and objective basis, if not with positive vibes, and having a dialogue. If Bangladesh degenerates into a Pakistan, then another approach will be needed.

Is trouble brewing in Bangladesh army?
The Bangladesh Army, which is keeping the country afloat amid a political crisis, is faced with a new challenge: the emergence of multiple power centres, each with its own general.

A report by the Economic Times cited people aware of the shifting dynamics in the Bangladesh army as saying while the military is not witnessing a full-blown crisis yet, it is certainly facing challenges from pro-Awami League and Islamist factions.
Although army chief Zaman is still heading the force, two other power centres have emerged in the army, according to ET.

One of these power centres is being chaired by Lt. General Mohammad Shaheenul Haque – Commandant, National Defence College - Mirpur Cantonment, Dhaka. Haque enjoys the support of pro-Awami League Major General Muhammad Moin Khan of the Ninth Division of the Bangladesh army.

Lieutenant General Haque served as the parade commander for the Victory Day Parade in 2022 and previously held the position of Chief of General Staff at the Army Headquarters. Commissioned into the Corps of Infantry in July 1989, he was awarded the prestigious ‘Sword of Honour’ for his outstanding all-around performance at the time of his commissioning. His career also includes serving as the Director of the Weapons, Equipment, and Statistics Directorate within the General Staff Branch at Army Headquarters.

Leading the other faction is Lt General Mohammad Faizur Rahman, the former head of the Bangladesh army’s military intelligence, DGFI. The sources told the publication that Rahman is in touch with student leaders including Yunus’ adviser Mahfuz Alam.

There are rumours that General Rahman was involved in a conspiracy to remove the Bangladesh President while General Waqar-uz-Zaman was abroad. It is also alleged that Lieutenant General Rahman may be part of a plot to oust the Army Chief if Chief Adviser Md Yunus resigns and leaves Dhaka in the coming months.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://local.newsbreak.com/afp-560832/ ... oblessness

Bangladeshi students braved bullets to overthrow an autocratic government, but six months after the revolution, many say finding a job is proving a harder task than manning the barricades.

Dhaka University student Mohammad Rizwan Chowdhury's dreams of ample opportunities for youth have been badly dented, saying he had seen little action from the caretaker government of Nobel Peace Prize winner Muhammad Yunus.

youanus's days seem numbered, leading to significant distress at the nether end of this crook's alimentary canal

Bad News for Anti-Hindu CIA Puppet Mohammad Yunus of Bangladesh!

Yunus is now facing trouble with US President Donald Trump for his donation of USD 3 Lakh to Hillary Clinton Foundation in 2016. His daughter, Monica Yunus, had prominent role in Biden's Admñ. (monica's mother, since divorced, is Vera Forostenko, the daughter of Russian immigrants to the US)

They both are facing investigation now.

'Heard he donated to see me lose': When Trump made his displeasure with Muhammad Yunus clear

Bad news for Bangladesh interim PM Yunus as his daughter faces big trouble in US due to…

January 23, 2025

Mohammad Yunus, who played a key role in helping remove former Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina from power, is now facing potential trouble with U.S. President Donald Trump. Yunus has a long history of connections with Hillary Clinton, who was known for opposing Trump. In 2016, Yunus made a donation of USD 300,000 (around Rs. 2.5 crore) to the Hillary Clinton Foundation. His daughter, Monica Yunus, lives in the U.S., which has upset Trump. As a result, Yunus may now find himself under investigation by Trump’s new administration.
Yunus, who has been critical of Trump, may soon face several investigations because of his ties to Clinton. He is accused of having a close relationship with Clinton, which is said to have helped his daughter, Monica, secure a prominent role in former President Joe Biden’s administration. Reports also suggest that Yunus’s connections with the Clinton family were so strong that, during Hillary Clinton’s time as U.S. Secretary of State, he received millions of dollars in loans.

Clash between President Trump and Mohammad Yunus
The tension between President Donald Trump and Mohammad Yunus escalated in 2016 when Yunus donated USD 300,000 to the Hillary Clinton Foundation. This donation troubled Trump because it was made in opposition to him. It was later reported that the Clinton Foundation mysteriously removed the donation from the link on its website. According to the US Congress, Hillary Clinton had adopted an aggressive strategy against the Awami League government of Bangladesh to assist Yunus. She reportedly used the US State Department to station senior World Bank officials in Bangladesh to protect Yunus from corruption and financial crime allegations.

There are also allegations that Hillary Clinton issued direct threats to Bangladesh on behalf of Yunus. She warned then-Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina that the World Bank might withdraw the previously approved USD 1.2 billion loan for the Padma Bridge project. Clinton allegedly exerted pressure on World Bank officials and, through the FBI and CIA, used blackmail to force at least two key officials into canceling the approved loan.

Now that President Trump has returned to power, Yunus and his daughter, Monica Yunus, who lives in the U.S., may face growing challenges. Mohammad Yunus himself is likely to encounter multiple investigations

https://www.india.com/news/world/bad-ne ... n-7560526/

Watch this and puke:
Bangladesh’s Yunus on ‘spontaneous revolution’ & ‘USD 17 billion highway... https://youtu.be/bMc4VssjVnw?si=ep-e5CBq7lN-9SJS via @YouTube

^^^Fascist Government of Yunus hits another low.. per reports .. Yunus Govt will seek "international intervention" to pursue Sheikh Hasina's return from India....at the same time he denies the reports of atrocities on Hindus.
..Bangladesh blames India for spreading "misinformation".
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Amber G. wrote: 24 Jan 2025 23:44 ^^^Fascist Government of Yunus hits another low.. per reports .. Yunus Govt will seek "international intervention" to pursue Sheikh Hasina's return from India....at the same time he denies the reports of atrocities on Hindus.
Squealing is good.. i think the screws are slowly tightening
bharathp

Post by bharathp »

Amber G. wrote: 24 Jan 2025 23:44 ^^^Fascist Government of Yunus hits another low.. per reports .. Yunus Govt will seek "international intervention" to pursue Sheikh Hasina's return from India....at the same time he denies the reports of atrocities on Hindus.
international intervention by who?
the paragons of minority rights TSP?
The epitome of democracy Sugarland?

on second thoughts.. maybe a good chance to send a delegation to verify "the jail conditions in BD" on BD's cost to ensure "human rights of political adversaries" are present - then chai biskoot chai biskoot chai biskoot (a-la UK style for mallya)

Is it plausible that about USD 16 billion per year was illicitly siphoned out of Bangladesh for the last 15 years?

A_Gupta wrote: 25 Jan 2025 09:00 Is it plausible that about USD 16 billion per year was illicitly siphoned out of Bangladesh for the last 15 years?

A_Gupta ji,

there was a scandal about the (mis stated) quantum of the beedi forex reserves some years ago.

It is a given that the beedis in power have been fiddling their accounts

youanus has also been drinking from the same well for many years now, sometimes using the proceeds to keep his amriki masters "happy"

just another brown country going about its normal business. India has been going through such charades whenever the congis have come to power at the center. Many state govts (including one particular coastal southern state govt(s) in particular) are, over the years, guilty of salting away "funds" in over seas accounts and investments, literally to the tune of hundreds of thousands of crores.

^^^ thanks!

Meantime, the Paki in Bangladesh is showing up: Iftekhar Ul Karim in The Daily Star:
https://www.thedailystar.net/opinion/vi ... nd-3797191

Strategic location and leader of the Muslim world:
As power dynamics in the global arena continue to evolve, Bangladesh stands at a crucial juncture in the emerging contest between the US/EU-led West and the Russia/China-led East, as both vie for closer ties with the Islamic world. In this new geopolitical order, Bangladesh, with its rising economic clout, strategic location, and cultural connections, is uniquely positioned to play an important role both as a leader in the Muslim-majority world and as a mediator between East and West.

Note: Pakistani sources claim only about $2 billion smuggled out of their country each year - 1/8th what the Bangladeshis claim.
RCase

Post by RCase »

A_Gupta wrote: 26 Jan 2025 03:07 Note: Pakistani sources claim only about $2 billion smuggled out of their country each year - 1/8th what the Bangladeshis claim.
Sirjee, the BDs haven't yet reached the finesse of overseas direct deposit mastered by Bhikaristanis. No need to smuggle out of the country. Money directly reaches Londonistan and Gelf. :D

https://www.thedailystar.net/news/bangl ... sh-3808961
As part of global funding suspension in line with US President Donald Trump's new policy, the US aid agency has directed all the implementing partner in Bangladesh to immediately stop, cease, and suspend any work of the USAID-funded projects.
Meanwhile, Chief Adviser Prof Muhammad Yunus in a statement expressed his gratitude to President Donald Trump for exempting life-saving food and nutrition support for the displaced Rohingya sheltered in Bangladesh from the US aid freeze.

मजा आया

https://www.thedailystar.net/opinion/vi ... al-3807066
Singapore's role in recovering stolen assets is crucial
At the heart of the arising corruption allegations lies the S Alam Group, led by Mohammed Saiful Alam, who has been accused of laundering over $1 billion through entities in Singapore and other countries.

Singapore has a responsibility to help Bangladesh retrieve the ill-gotten money that has found its way into the Singaporean shore.

https://www.thedailystar.net/news/bangl ... ls-3807996
Calling the party fascist and anti-state, Mahfuj Alam, adviser to the interim government, yesterday said the Awami League would not be allowed to take part in the general election.

"The elections will be contested among pro-Bangladesh groups only. All political parties, whether BNP-Jamaat or others, along with student organisations, workers, women, and scholars who are pro-Bangladesh, will establish future governance through a fair electoral process."
"The new Bangladesh rejects the fascist system. We want Bangladesh to remain in the hands of true patriots. There will be no place for pro-Delhi elements in Bangladesh," added Mahfuj.
Who is Mahfuj Alam?
Wiki says:
On 25 September 2024, while speaking at the Clinton Global Initiative on the sidelines of the 79th session of the UN General Assembly, Muhammad Yunus, Chief Advisor to Bangladesh's interim government, referred to Mahfuj as "the brain" of the Student-People's uprising, which culminated in the fall of Sheikh Hasina's administration
Though a few days ago, in Davos (the puke video link previously posted) Yunus said that there was no planning, the uprising was spontaneous.
On 16 December 2024, Mahfuj Alam showed Indian states of Tripura, Assam, and West Bengal a part of Bangladesh in an image shared in his Facebook post, while declaring the need for "a new geography and system". Alam also claimed that the cultures of Northeast India and Bangladesh have been suppressed by "Hindu extremists" and "anti-Bengal attitude" of the upper-caste Hindus.
Paki ISI is on an official visit to Bangladesh. Please keep eyes open for news of any meeting with this Mahfuj Alam.