https://www.fortuneindia.com/enterprise ... ace/119127
13 Nov 2024
Close to clinching a repeat order for 100 K9 Vajra self-propelled howitzer guns; set to enter the commercial rocket launch vehicle and satellite.
IIT Kanpur has announced a breakthrough in stealth technology, which would make tanks and fighter aircraft invisible, or near-invisible to enemy radar.
High-technology cooperation between indigenous defence industry and academia has begun yielding results.
On Tuesday, November 26, 2024, the Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (IIT-K) announced a breakthrough in stealth technology, which would make combat systems like tanks and fighter aircraft invisible, or near-invisible to enemy radar.
Designated a 'meta-material surface cloaking system' (MSCS), this has been named the Analakṣhya by its inventors in IIT-K.
The technology has undergone extensive laboratory and field testing between 2019 and 2024, proving its efficacy across diverse conditions.
According to a statement, 90 per cent of the Analakṣhya MSCS is sourced indigenously.
The system is currently under acquisition by the Indian armed forces, signalling its strategic importance to national security.
4.17 minutes of video in the above Twitter link.#WATCH | Delhi | During his address at the 21st Subroto Mukerjee Seminar, DRDO Chairman Dr Samir V Kamat says, "...We invest only 5% of our defence budget on R&D. This has to increase to 10-15% if we have to achieve all our goals. The government is sanguine about this and hopefully, in the next 5-10 years we will transition from 5% to 15% of the defence budget on R&D...The first priority is aero engines. Today, we have demonstrated a 4th generation aero engine for our fighter aircraft. Going ahead we will need a 6th generation aero engine...But one has to realise that if we want this capability the country will have to invest close to 4-5 billion dollars. That's Rs 40,000-50,000 crores because we should not repeat the mistakes that we have made in the past..."
There is a huge segment of people in India who dont want us to make our own weapons for a bunch of reasons. Some idealogical, some corruption, some "imports are best ". All constantly drum up support to keep desi R&D on shoestring funding and come up with ridiculous comparisons , ISRO is efficient, follow it, when it's product range isn't even a fraction of DRDOs nor are its platforms facing import pressure.Hriday wrote: ↑08 Jan 2025 20:20 Karan M had said here in the forum that unlike in the USA and China, India's military R&D model is the most efficient one. We developed world-class weapon systems with a shoestring budget. Also, several scientists opted to work in India for patriotic reasons despite getting better offers in Western countries.
My question is if the ROI in military R&D is lower than that of investment in infrastructure? Some bureaucrats or committees convinced the govt to not to significantly raise the R&D budget? I remember a minister in Modi govt saying that for every rupees spent on capital assets some X times return is there. Can't find the figure with a quick Google search.
Haridas criticised the low salary for scientists, saying if you pay peanuts you will get mostly monkeys to work for you.
That might create more problems and roadblocks than solve them. Even when they are under the same ministry we see so many issues. With two distinct power centers it will be even more messy.
https://www.newindianexpress.com/nation ... xport-dealIndonesia initiates $450 mn BrahMos missile export deal
In all probability, India is heading for another major defence export deal. According to sources privy to the matter, Indonesia’s defence ministry has sent a letter regarding a $450 million BrahMos deal to the Indian embassy in Jakarta.
Highly placed sources confirmed that India is also offering a loan to Indonesia from either the State Bank of India or any other Indian national banks. The specifics regarding this are being worked out.
As per the sources, the EXIM (Export-Import) Bank was initially scheduled to process the loan to Indonesia. However, this did not materialise.
It is pertinent to note that Indonesia had joined the BRICS, an intergovernmental organisation consisting of 10 countries, on January 6 last year. Indonesia’s entry into the BRICS — which consists of Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa, Egypt, Ethiopia, Indonesia, Iran and the United Arab Emirates — paves the way for Indian Rupee-Indonesian Rupiah transactions.
Complexities
Indications about the BrahMos deal have been given by several senior officials of Indonesia, including the country’s ambassador to India. However, the Indonesian President Prabowo Subianto’s reported visit to Pakistan along with his India visit on Republic Day this year, adds a new dynamic and complexity to this developing strategic calculus.
First temper your language. Civil conversations are expected on the forum, no exceptions.Avik wrote: ↑09 Jan 2025 04:28 Alongwith this, calling every JV that the Indian private sector does with a foreign OEM as screwdrivergiri is unhelpful and frankly moronic. The private sector does not have ready access to technology from DRDO (its only been a recent phenomenon through programs like ATAGS etc.) nor does it have the program management heritage to mass manufacture defence hardware. Therefore, the only way the private sector can manufacture at scale is to have some kind of collaborative venture. Unfortunately, we have used this logic to complain about everything from the C 295 to the H 125 FAL to the K9 manufacture.
Talk about missing the woods for the trees. In many cases Indian orders are massive when taken in totality. Which is why foreign OEMs bar US ones are salivating at Indian mil requirements. We have no need or requirement to go around saving other countries MIC at the cost of our own.This is just erroneous assumption--globally, we see multiple variations of a platform launched by a foreign OEMs but only a few actually get to the stage of mass manufacture. If we go through the various variants and platforms that were soft-launched by OEMs,only a few actually get to scale production stage. I believe we will have to mature ourselves to accept this proposition rather than complain that every variant of howitzers by OFB and Kalyani has not been procured by the IA, for instance!
You clearly don't realise that DRDOs design technology is open to the entire private sector for collaboration and has been so for over a decade now.The larger point here is that DRDO is maturing quite well, with multiple variants now evolving from the basic platforms, be it in missiles or howitzers, at fairly high frequency. But lets open that up to the large scale Indian private sector as well rather than reserving it for DPSUs and mid-scale companies. Also, we need to consider at a policy level to separate out the Department of Defence Production from the MoD and place it under Ministry of Heavy Industry
Well said, Karan M.Karan M wrote: ↑11 Jan 2025 20:59 What is preventing the Indian pvt sector from taking it up is that without confirmed orders from the Indian Military or even commitment they are loathe to invest own funds in R&D and truly take the designs to fruition as versus taking a low risk license assembly approach.
I believe what he was saying is that we cannot 'spend' funds, because of broken procurement procedures. You see, there's actually no way to give orders to Kalyani (or anyone else) just like that. Everyone must go through 'procedures'. And because the procedures take so long, often times the financial year will get over and the funds need to be given back to the government, and then the procedures need to start again at step 1. That is the circus that is going on.Karan M wrote: ↑11 Jan 2025 20:59 Def Secy stating that we can't absorb funds is the fib of the century unless he was referring to small MSMEs getting sudden orders from AF. Fact is L&T, Tata, DPSUs would live mass orders, and we are short of R&D funds. To state otherwise is to ignore the reality as it exists where ATAGS has not been ordered even yet. And multiple DRDO programs matured at DPSUs, Pvt both are languishing for significant orders.
And yet we frequently see critical papers disappear when they might be inconvenient to the babus or netas.
The article is quite low on serious content. I work for a western govt. department and all of the issues pointed out save one are pretty much here too as well. And, I have moved across several departments and some departments are dynamic while others are moribund.BhairavP wrote: ↑14 Jan 2025 08:49 Not sure if this article was posted here earlier. Quite an eye-opener into the toxic culture within sarkari R&D setups.
https://t.co/Pp1rkeni1g
Bangalore-based Tonbo Imaging has unveiled a high-power microwave (HPM) directed energy weapon (DEW) system that can help armed forces eliminate hostile unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs).
Janes understands that this HPM DEW – unveiled at the Aero India 2025 show held in Bangalore from 10 to 14 February – will be installed on a surface vessel of the Indian Navy. Tonbo has also secured contracts from militaries outside Asia-Pacific to supply this HPM DEW.
Ankit Kumar, co-founder and chief technology officer of Tonbo, told Janes at Aero India 2025 that the HPM DEW, named WaveStrike, “uses multibeam klystrons, which can generate a lot of microwave energy with a small antenna and with limited power”.
The HPM DEW currently has a range of 3 km. Tonbo is developing an enhanced version of the system that will have a range of 5 km, Kumar said. He added that the HPM DEW has an active electronically scanned array (AESA) radar to detect threats and a camera to identify the threats. The DEW uses information from these sensors to target a hostile UAV.
Great points! Besides the scale of ops bringing down costs, the above is a critical thing that many in manufacturing overlook. If you are dependent on external country vendors for your parts then you are open to delays and worse still complete halt in manufacturing. You cannot use JIT (just in time) principles to bring in supplies. It is better to buy the whole darn lot of things upfront before you start the production line. This aspect no Babu will approve since it is sunk costs and no funds saar. I hope the IAF chief understands this and barks at the MOD minions instead of HAL. The engine issue with GE is another example of a part in limbo mode. If I were in charge I would have ordered 100s of engines upfront for delivery before embarking on Tejas MK1A manufacturing. This is the only insurance plan I have. Let's face it: US is not a friend of India, they will play games to disrupt things when it is convenient for them. Unless you have your own engine power plant things will be rocky in nature.Agasthi wrote: ↑03 Mar 2025 04:14
- Foreign OEM's are driven by geo-politics. India is completely dependent on external supply chains when it comes to chips. A foreign vendor may push a certain product like a fighter aircraft to the armed forces. In the background, he would ask his supplier say for example someone who supplies a small chip that goes into avionics to delay making supplies without breaking contracts. Or, they would ask for certification/guarantee that the said chip would not be used in the missile program. And, in some cases, they ask their governments in Europe or America to temporarily block supplies citing Human Rights or Kashmir issues. Even if a small chip is blocked, the entire production and support to existing fleet slows down and they try to avoid using inventory as they are earmarked for emergencies like war