Pahalgam Terror Attack: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Pahalgam Terror Attack: News & Discussion

For NRIs and PIOs among us:
If you are planning to send funds to Bharat, to help family, or invest in a business, buy property, or stocks, or put in FD, or charitable causes, do it now. Those who do this regularly, send a bit more than what you normally would, as per your capacity. We will need it. There are multiple reasons for this given the geopolitical and global economic events of the past few months. Rupee will appreciate in the future as Western economies and currencies slide. But we have now reached a tipping point. Consider this as a sacred act of matru-seva. Please pass on this suggestion to all other NRIs & PIOs you know.
Thank you.

The usual forked tongue headlines from NYT, BBC ityadi will continue. Don't expect them to change. As Bharat prepares it response and delivers it with interest, there will be hazaar such articles, interviews and panel discussions across the world, especially in the Western media. The standard response should be:
Its the west that has created this situation, starting from the British who actively and deviously partitioned India on religious lines in 1947. Then while they gave lessons of tolerance, democracy and secularism to India, they have consistently supported, funded, and supplied arms to military dictators, islamic extremist groups and terrorists in Pakistan, and caused immense harm to India over several decades, we had to endure 4 wars and countless terrorist acts. These dictators and terrorists also have infested the west causing attacks like 9/11, countless bombings, knife attacks, rapes of minors in grooming gangs and other horrors on the west itself. How you deal with this monster in your countries that you contributed to create and sustain is up to you.

Today's Bharat is no longer willing to accept this on our soil. We are determined and capable of destroying the roots of this terrorist country called Pakistan. If you have any pretence of a moral standing and sense of duty towards your own citizen, you will support Bharat, not criticise or play double games. Irrespective of external support or not, Bharat will put and end to this snake pit called Pakistan. You and your future generations will thank us when we are done. Jai Hind. Jai Shri Ram.
Feel free to adapt as per your intended audience online or on SM.
madhu

Post by madhu »

Modi's speech. warning

[youtube]https://youtu.be/Sd2WuNGq0gA?si=egk-bsWPEfUJiH5s[/youtube]

interesting to see Modi after 10 mins of his Hindi speech switches to English and repeats the same.

i think it is clearly that English part is not for India or Pakistan as both understand Hindi even if its bits and pieces. this part is clearly to international people and leaders.

American media called the attack as “Gun attack” no mention of terrorists or Islam or Pakistan as usual.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

See the video of a bearded guy walking with the cake. The more you try to appease the extremists the more contempt and aggressive they feel to you. Atleast Modi woke up now and gave Pakistan a massive blow.

https://x.com/TimesAlgebraIND/status/19 ... COFSw&s=19
BREAKING NEWS 🚨 Man spotted carrying cake to Delhi's Pakistan High Commission 😱

True face of Pakistan !!

Meanwhile, Police remove barricades which were placed near the Pakistan High Commission.

Their social media handles also withheld in India.

R&AW Chief Ravi Sinha is holding high level meeting currently.

Any idea about the Manhunt for the Actual terrorists? By now we should caught them?

From the official Twitter account of the US Govt's House Foreign Affairs Committee.

https://x.com/HouseForeignGOP/status/19 ... 5793095043 ---> Hey, @nytimes we fixed it for you. This was a TERRORIST ATTACK plain and simple. Whether it’s India or Israel, when it comes to TERRORISM the NYT is removed from reality.

VIDEO: https://x.com/TimesNow/status/1915225690217292026 ---> #WATCH - 'Frankly, it's now the duty of India to do to Pakistan and Pakistan's ISI what Israel did to Hamas. It's time to wipe out the leadership of the ISI', says Michael Rubin, Ex-Pentagon official.

VIDEO: https://x.com/NewsArenaIndia/status/1915265015566717394 ---> Top US security expert Michael Rubin - "Pak army chief Asim Munir a terrorist like Osama Bin Laden".

If we haven't caught them yet its because of support from Kashmiri muslims acting as over ground workers. There could be BDs and Rohingya muslims involved in the background too.
Last edited by Cyrano on 24 Apr 2025 16:47, edited 1 time in total.

VIDEO: https://x.com/erbmjha/status/1915306655908048896 ---> Pakistan finally admits its hand in the Pahalgam attack. Puppet PoK PM Chaudhry Anwarul Haq openly threatens: “Celebrate Holi in Balochistan, and we’ll strike from Delhi to PoK.” Backing terrorists as “mujahideen” is not resistance — it’s state-sponsored terror. Ye aise nahi sudhrenge.

https://x.com/smitaprakash/status/1915248209670423039 ---> "My name is Bharat"

They shot him in the head.

Hriday

Post by Hriday »

From Modi's X post, 3.45 minutes video in the link.
https://x.com/narendramodi/status/19153 ... fho2g&s=19
In Pahalgam, Jammu and Kashmir, terrorists have dared to attack the soul of India. I want to say in very clear words that those who conspired for this attack will get a punishment bigger than they could have imagined.

https://x.com/PMOIndia/status/1915307837879967963 ---> Terrorism will not go unpunished. Every effort will be made to ensure that justice is done. The entire nation is firm in this resolve: PM.

madhu

Post by madhu »

1) All party meeting
2) deplomats of all major countries called and briefed
3) HM and FM meet President
4) Pakis are asked to go
5) Indians are asked to come back

Any more India needs to tick before declare limited or full War?

Yes, tell all countries that have supplied mil equipment to Pak to no longer supply spares, maintenance etc, which india will consider as aiding it's enemy

Pakistan has suspended the Simla Agreement. Airspace closed to all Indian operated and Indian owned airlines and all borders and trade closed.

Wonder if suspending the Simla agreement is a self goal by the tactically brilliant pakis.

India should go full steam ahead with the completion of the Ratle and Kishanganaga dams. With paki objections out of the way, the hydroelectric projects can be completed and commissioned.

Pakis are really dumb. By suspending the Simla Agreement, they have made the Line of Control (LOC) null & void.

This throws open the door for India retaking PoK (at a time and place of its choosing) legally and militarily. Now that it has been suspended, Pakistan cannot "un" suspend the agreement...without India "re" acknowledging the terms of the agreement. These morons don't think before executing such gems of wisdom! Allah has ordained it, so it must be good onlee.

VIDEO: https://x.com/coolfunnytshirt/status/19 ... 9231136851 ---> What cost would actually make Pakistan uncomfortable.. nicely explained..

VIDEO: https://x.com/FrontalForce/status/1915383057663529139 ---> Pak defence minister openly admits role in Pahalgam attack, says Indian citizens will not be safe in Indian cities.

VIDEO: https://x.com/ians_india/status/1915356708773519674 ---> Watch: On the Pahalgam terror attack, Reuven Azar, Ambassador of Israel to India, says, "You have a similar situation in which people were going to a music festival and were massacred, and people here were going on vacation and they were massacred. It’s the same death cult, the same distorted interpretation of religion, the same supremacist thoughts. The fact that people think that by breaching every norm of humanity, they will achieve something. This is something that has to be completely eliminated. That’s why Israel has had the resolve to attack Hamas the way it did. We’re going to continue doing it while defending our principles, our laws, and our values. And I’m sure India is going to do the same..."

Rakesh wrote: 24 Apr 2025 18:56 Pakis are really dumb. By suspending the Simla Agreement, they have made the Line of Control (LOC) null & void.

This throws open the door for India retaking PoK (at a time and place of its choosing) legally and militarily. Now that it has been suspended, Pakistan cannot "un" suspend the agreement now...without India "re" acknowledging the terms of the agreement. These morons don't think before executing such gems of wisdom! Allah has ordained it, so it must be good onlee.
https://x.com/VishnuNDTV/status/1915372565268189204 ---> Pakistan holds the Simla Agreement, signed in 1972 in abeyance - The Line of Control was created through this agreement. If Pakistan doesn't recognise the Simla Agreement, it doesn't accept the LoC - the defacto boundary between the two countries in large parts.

https://x.com/zone5aviation/status/1915387917310255107 ---> Amusing that Pakistan thinks this is in their interest.

Pakistan by suspending the Simla agreement has implied that they do not recognise the LOC.
They have also said that any work by India, not in accordance with the IWT, will be an act of war.

Let's assume that there is a flare up across the LOC. Because:
- It is now open season across the disputed LOC. Territory can be captured and retained.
- India will invariably start some IWT related work for which Pak as to retaliate.
- Heavier volume of fire across the LOC when Pak tried to push in terrorists.

Let's also assume that its a limited war. The world community get both sides to restrict military action to the area across the LOC (our actions are confined to POK) and avoid escalation by not using air power. Rules of engagement similar to Kargil, except that the army can cross the LOC.
Artillery and Air power can hit targets across the LOC while broadly staying on our side.

What are our options in this situation ?
Specifically:
1. What forces does each side have along the LOC. What additional forces can each deploy, without weakening their posture elsewhere.
2. Where can territory be captured.
3. What kind of strategy should we be looking at ?
4. What do we need to urgently to fix before a limited war starts ?
madhu

Post by madhu »

mody wrote: 24 Apr 2025 18:28 Airspace closed to all Indian operated and Indian owned airlines and all borders and trade closed.
as a counter what if we say any flights (including non paki airplanes) which starts or stops in paki are not allowed to use airspace of India will it be a good idea?
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

https://x.com/zahacktanvir/status/19153 ... MiKlw&s=19
#Pakistan’s CT Minister for Information and PR, tweeted “God is Greatest” with the hashtag #Pahalgam—alongside a fist emoji 👊. If this doesn’t convince you that Pakistan is behaving like a rogue state, you’re willfully ignoring the signs.

#PahalgamTerroristAttack
Does it matters in presenting proof of Paki role in the Pahalgam terrorist act? India will be informing major powers about Pak role before taking military actions as in the past.

madhu wrote: 24 Apr 2025 19:37
mody wrote: 24 Apr 2025 18:28 Airspace closed to all Indian operated and Indian owned airlines and all borders and trade closed.
as a counter what if we say any flights (including non paki airplanes) which starts or stops in paki are not allowed to use airspace of India will it be a good idea?
We lose more from a mutual flight ban, because we have more aircraft going to Europe. Pakistan has next to nothing going East.
However, in the larger scheme of things it hardly matters.

Rakesh wrote: 24 Apr 2025 19:01 VIDEO: https://x.com/coolfunnytshirt/status/19 ... 9231136851 ---> What cost would actually make Pakistan uncomfortable.. nicely explained..
Rakesh,

I wonder whether he is referring to "WE TOO HAVE THE RED FLOWER" AND WONT HESITATE to use it!!]

They maybe sending a message to both Us and Rest of the world that:

1. Escalation up the order this time around would be very quick

2. And to the Unkil and Chin Master : I have a gun aimed my head and wont hesitate to use it. Please help to de-escalate!! :eek:
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

I have a feeling pakis will try to do some adventure via beediland., India needs to work out a two pronged strategy if that happens. Looks like all this is planned.All China needs to do at that point...

By suspending Shimla agreement they maybe saying this is now an undemarcated free for all territory and we shall cross regardless of no Atta, no Oil and no Money
MeM is sufficient to defeat the SDRE

Indian Air Force Rafales, Su-30s carrying out major Exercise "Aakraman"
https://aninews.in/news/national/genera ... 424193018/
24 April 2025
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

Block (take-out) Karakoram highway. Repair if possible must take 5 years.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

Deans wrote: 24 Apr 2025 19:28 Pakistan by suspending the Simla agreement has implied that they do not recognise the LOC.
They have also said that any work by India, not in accordance with the IWT, will be an act of war.

Let's assume that there is a flare up across the LOC. Because:
- It is now open season across the disputed LOC. Territory can be captured and retained.
- India will invariably start some IWT related work for which Pak as to retaliate.
- Heavier volume of fire across the LOC when Pak tried to push in terrorists.

Let's also assume that its a limited war. The world community get both sides to restrict military action to the area across the LOC (our actions are confined to POK) and avoid escalation by not using air power. Rules of engagement similar to Kargil, except that the army can cross the LOC.
Artillery and Air power can hit targets across the LOC while broadly staying on our side.

What are our options in this situation ?
Specifically:
1. What forces does each side have along the LOC. What additional forces can each deploy, without weakening their posture elsewhere.
2. Where can territory be captured.
3. What kind of strategy should we be looking at ?
4. What do we need to urgently to fix before a limited war starts ?
Options:
1. Instead of fighting like 1971 (a quick capture and enemy surrender), we should fight a war of attrition like (Rus-Ukr) - and kill millions of fighters uniformed and non-uniformed - so that future threats are reduced.
2. Unleash rocket artillery (Pinaka, Pralay), missiles (Brahmos) and precision ammunition, and soften enemy territory, before setting foot on it.
3. take out AEWs, radars, airbases.
4. take out oil refinery and storage depots
5. take out granaries. take out dams.
6. Naval blockade - stop all supplies.
7. impose No fly zone
All this before regular infantry stepping into enemy territory.

8. Option for sending troops from Chahabar to Baluchistan should be evaluated. (what size can we support with food, water, fuel and ammo?).

One month of intense bombardment - wrath of Bharat/Modi - needs to be shown.

9. give two days of notice for the Chinese to evacuate for their own safety.
10. Option to be takeover Shaksgam valley needs to be evaluated.
11. I am sure, parallel attacks from Taliban, BLA/BRAS, TTP will be in the works.

12. Do not reduce vigilance or troop strength from east (Chin, Nepal, Bhutan, Kangla, and Burma) borders.

What we need to fix urgently:
1. Order millions of different drones from our private industries.
2. Order anti-drone solutions in large numbers (expect Turkey and Chin to support TSP with their drones).
3. Artillery gun production needs to be ramped up.
4. air refueling tanker needs to procured / leased
5. AWACS / AEWS needs to procured quickly.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

I searched the blog of Deans. But I can't find anything related to a presentation of what a very short war between India and Pakistan will look like. If anyone can show the relevant links in the forum or elsewhere it will be helpful.

My scenario is given below,

India would really like to have a very short war to conserve military assets to deter China. A land grab could be very sensitive to the Pak army, and they may drag the war for a few more days, thus increasing the casualties of the Indian army.

What we ideally should do now is to degrade the Pakistan armed forces' fighting potential without crossing a higher escalation level. So our targets should be roughly;
1. Few warships.
2. Shooting down about 20 flying fighter jets and destroying several parked fighter jets with Brahmos or Prithvi.
3. Most SAM systems that are active and other missile stocks.
4. Large number of ammunition and POL(Petroleum, Oil, and Lubricants) stocks.
5. Few high-value industrial sites, electricity installations, ports etc. It can hit their GDP and deter future investments.

Hunting submarines could take longer than a single day. The above list of 5 objectives can be achieved in a day or two. Is it possible?

I will leave it to the military to decide, whatever option is necessary.

My only request to the Govt is that once the trigger is pulled, please be prepared to go all the way.

What we need to see are the following;

1) VISIBLE destruction of the Pak military.
2) Pakistan's GHQ needs to not just feel pain, but the entire world needs to see that pain.

Also there is no better time for retaking PoK, IMVHO.

Good points.
However I'm not convinced BD or China will do any "action" beyond some statements.

Given how Kashmiri muslim students are facing the wrath of common people across the country, there will not be an uncontrollable 0.5 front, irrespective of what lefty candle holders write in the media.

Last time Balakot happened, we know how Paki jernails trembled along with their politicos. IMO this time we should start with Brahmos strikes on Pindi, Sargodha, Karachi, Abbotabad and those comfy golf courses and villas of said jernails. I expect them to fold within a week. We should sink a few ships and subs to avenge the Navy sailor killed in Pehalgam.

If anything its the Pakis who should worry about a multi front war, with Iran and Afg activating and Balochis going for full direct action. This is a great window of opportunity for them.
JMT....

Deans, you are on the spot as usual in your assessment of the implications of Shimla Pact suspension.

My fervent dream and one that I have expressed many times on BRF is the recapture of Kishanganga valley and the extended area up to Burzil pass. I would further point out the valley just north of Sharda that leads to Ram Chakor Tal. Not much further down ridge on the opposite side is the most accessible branch of Karakoram highway.

India would need no additional military resources to accomplish this, the valley is regarded as just about Pakistan’s greatest vulnerability. The need to uphold the sanctity of LOC was the biggest constraint.

I can now hope to see my dream come true, even if it doesn’t happen anytime soon

Hriday wrote: 24 Apr 2025 21:26 I searched the blog of Deans. But I can't find anything related to a presentation of what a very short war between India and Pakistan will look like. If anyone can show the relevant links in the forum or elsewhere it will be helpful.
I haven't written a India-Pak war scenario. Plan to now.

While banning Pak-originating or landing flights from overflight may have mostly Amalie it also disrupts BD-Pak nonsense.

I think the begining should be wiping out naval base and all airstrips etc . Then all airworthy assets . And then a decapitation strike on pindi HQ. This would also expose their nook nude status .
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Deans wrote: 24 Apr 2025 21:44
Hriday wrote: 24 Apr 2025 21:26 I searched the blog of Deans. But I can't find anything related to a presentation of what a very short war between India and Pakistan will look like. If anyone can show the relevant links in the forum or elsewhere it will be helpful.
I haven't written a India-Pak war scenario. Plan to now.
beediland and the beedis already in india are part of that problem now .. and to think of it the paki pasand j&k state govt

Some thoughts:

Pipe dreaming a little (but it's BRF so here goes).

I hope the objective of any Indian response is to break the back of TSPA/ISI as a viable national institution in Pakistan once & for all.

We were already giving them 1000 cuts in Balochistan (via BLA) and KPK (via TTP) and also sniping key nodes in their infrastructure of ISI-Tanzeem networks in Punjab & Karachi (via Unknown Gunmen).

Now what if we enter the fray with air, sea, and missile forces power on all fronts, while keeping IA land ops focused only on POK/GB? Hammer TSPA supply lines and counterattack formations with standoff weapons while BLA & TTP assault Quetta and Peshawar on the ground. Meanwhile drive for Gilgit, Skardu, Muzzaffarabad with our own boots on the ground. Which way will TSPA turn?

India gaining territory at all (although I agree GB should be prioritized if anything) would be a secondary benefit.

The main benefit will be to draw the TSPA into open battle against BLA & TTP on the ground, and support the anti-TSPA forces with air/sea power and standoff missiles. Why? So that TSPA is dealt a massive, humiliating defeat at the hands of Pakistan-occupied Baloch & Pashtun freedom fighters, openly and in full view of all Pakistanis... especially Pakjabis.

They could lie & cover the tracks of their defeat after 1971 because it happened 2500 km from Pak proper. How will they hide it this time?

Once TSPA is exposed as an ineffectual fighting force on that scale, complete breakup of Pakistan is inevitable.

Overall: Preferable to handle this in an Erdogan vs Syria manner, rather than Putin vs Ukraine manner (or even Netanyahu vs Gaza manner). TSP is full of willing & capable proxies who are just itching to have a go at TSPA, as long as we give them intel, air cover etc.

This would have been a good time to completely destroy Fizzle Ya, or at least obliterate its entire F Solah fleet (unlike Obama/Biden, Trump will not rush in to replace its losses with brand new block 70+ ships). Only problem is we are short of squadrons ourselves & can't risk too much attrition of existing assets given the looming PRC threat.