Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

So at this point it looks Like Pakistan Launched 57 FPV's, no real damage on Pakistani Artillery from our artillery? No PAF Jets down?
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

ricky_v wrote: 09 May 2025 04:42
hanumadu wrote: 09 May 2025 04:35
https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ind ... 009826.cms

But apparently, we can't believe any news outlet according to several of our forum members. So, I will wait for official confirmation.
the hindu tweet that stated that 3 rafaels were downed by the bakis also had the source at the time "a government official", this was taken verboten as indian government confirms loss of 3 rafaels everywhere and the only thing westerners know about this conflict to date... faceless sources are convenient to put any story out, veracity comes later, the toi article may be correct, but with goi sources, there is no back pedaling and mental gymnastics
Reuters has been running similar story of rafales down written by some rabid moslems citing unnamed "American source".. tbh doesn't credibility matter to reuters ?!

Cain Marko wrote: 09 May 2025 07:23
Manish_P wrote: 09 May 2025 07:12

This is for Lt. Vinay Narwal

Well avenged, Nausena.

Sham no Varunah
Sirji, there is no official confirmation.... Just speculation. Let's wait and watch....
Wishing our sub-surface fleet gets a piece of the action

The importance of having a bunch of boomers lurking in the depths, ready to unleash hell is brought to the fore

india admitted loss of life in shelling . no reason it would have denied loss of rafale..

karachi port bombing confirmed

https://www.firstpost.com/world/indian- ... 86832.html

The New Indian Express. 9th May, 2025 at 6:37 AM IST
India begins operations in Arabian Sea following Pakistan’s missile, drone strikes: Report
India has initiated targeted operations in the Arabian Sea against multiple Pakistani targets, following a series of missile and drone attacks launched by Pakistan,as reported by NDTV, quoting sources. The escalation began when Pakistan attempted missile strikes on Jammu and Kashmir, as well as drone strikes in Rajasthan's Jaisalmer on Thursday.

Harish wrote: 09 May 2025 05:06 So did we lose one or more Rafales? Reading the news it does seem that India lost at least one Rafale (BS-001). What stops India from categorically denying the loss if it did not happen?

What is the expert opinion on this forum?
On day 1, when Pak claimed to have shot down 5 aircraft, we did not deny, as it would have given Pak the opportunity to do an off ramp and
de-escalate with their H&D intact (Pak public being satisfied that they gave befitting reply etc).

There is no country which, during a war, gives the public a running total of their hardware losses. Only deaths are reported by some countries
- we announced one in Poonch.
Not even the most transparent countries like Israel report hardware losses. The exception was the Falklands war, where British ship losses were reported, because when embedded reporters on one ship, saw another blow up, it was difficult to deny the fact and because Argentina announced them.

williams wrote: 09 May 2025 05:38 If we lost a Rafale we will get that in tomorrow(err today's) briefing. If Pakis lost their planes we will know that too. However, from tomorrow we all need to request EAM that briefing is needed every 12 hours or even 6 hours given the dynamics of the situation. I am sure they can find the people to do it. That will reduce misinformation campaigns if any. 24 hour briefing is long period when we don't know much and have to rely on our colorful DDM :) . They also killed a lot of twitter handles so information is dry now. We are at war and I do like how tight lipped our defense department is operating. That is good. But citizens also need to have some info to counter the narrative Pakis are creating in the world media.
Yes, we need twice a day briefings and with more military content.
It was all very well to have 2 lady officers to the briefing on day 1. It's time they spoke more on military operations and took questions. They are
qualified professionals and if they are only going to read/translate a brief prepared statement, they are just PR props.

Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 08:18 So at this point it looks Like Pakistan Launched 57 FPV's, no real damage on Pakistani Artillery from our artillery? No PAF Jets down?
To put things in perspective, Ukraine launches 5-7000 FPV drones a day !
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

drnayar wrote: 09 May 2025 08:19
Reuters has been running similar story of rafales down written by some rabid moslems citing unnamed "American source".. tbh doesn't credibility matter to reuters ?!

For all intents and purposes, the bottom line for most westerners is that india lost 3 rafales on day 1 of the operation, why not when the original tweet by the Hindu had confirmation from a supposed government official, that it was deleted later and a small recuse printed does no matter, that story had wings and it got an ample amount of hot air from the spastics who constitute the so called journos at that rag

International publications will reprint that story at will and indicate any difference with reality as government interference, and so is history decreed

Hopefully goi slams so much penalty on the paper that it's sold and shuttered for good
nishant.gupta

Post by nishant.gupta »

A very succinct way of expressing things:

"...people carry out a terror atrocity against India. India responds militarily. And they are saying India attacked Pakistan. They didnt though. Pakistan vowed retaliation. I dont know how Pakistan can vow retaliation. Thats what India did..." She goes on to literally say that CNN employs terrorists.

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/5SsV5sCTzCg
Arima

Post by Arima »

in all the frenzy we had yesterday night, we also need to see how this nonsense of de escalate is being pushed from 0.5 front.
Information war on other side is on full flow now from peacenick, aman ka tamasha etc etc

Everyone on TV is talk talk, no pictures of Drones and even with claims of F16 , JF17 but not one pic published. Looks TV Media has become DDM.

SSridhar wrote: 09 May 2025 06:45 INS Vikrant Strikes Pakistan Navy Bases in Karachi and Ormara, Triggers Massive Fires - NewsX
Indian Navy Joins Military Operations After Air Force’s Precision Strikes; Naval Assault Targets Critical Pakistani Ports
INS Vikrant can't fire missiles. It's unlikely to have done an air strike, when its escorts have the Brahmos with a 400km range.
None of those at sea will be making statements to the media. Even if someone has a great urge to break Opsec, sending a message
to shore will reveal your location.

Deans wrote: 09 May 2025 08:42
INS Vikrant can't fire missiles. It's unlikely to have done an air strike, when its escorts have the Brahmos with a 400km range.
None of those at sea will be making statements to the media. Even if someone has a great urge to break Opsec, sending a message
to shore will reveal your location.
Maybe the news is coming from the other side...

Truth will be known later but for now it is good pys-ops

And if it makes cargo ships heading to Karachi pause and think of turning back then even better..

Added:

Marine tracker site shows few cargo ships anchored off Karachi and few moored in Karachi port

No ships shown at Ormara
Last edited by Manish_P on 09 May 2025 09:01, edited 2 times in total.

Civilian casualties of around ~20 in Poonch and URI, SH-15 Artillery used, AAM Missile parts only found.

No news of any aircraft has been shot down.

Deans wrote: 09 May 2025 08:27
Harish wrote: 09 May 2025 05:06 So did we lose one or more Rafales? Reading the news it does seem that India lost at least one Rafale (BS-001). What stops India from categorically denying the loss if it did not happen?

What is the expert opinion on this forum?
On day 1, when Pak claimed to have shot down 5 aircraft, we did not deny, as it would have given Pak the opportunity to do an off ramp and
de-escalate with their H&D intact (Pak public being satisfied that they gave befitting reply etc).

There is no country which, during a war, gives the public a running total of their hardware losses. Only deaths are reported by some countries
- we announced one in Poonch.
Not even the most transparent countries like Israel report hardware losses. The exception was the Falklands war, where British ship losses were reported, because when embedded reporters on one ship, saw another blow up, it was difficult to deny the fact and because Argentina announced them.
Technically it is highly unlikely that Rafale with its AESA BVR radar range of 200 km would have crossed Paki border or even come close to the Border. The best Pakis have is f-solas - blk 52 (80 km range) and ground radars of questionable quality (given what we observed on May 6th) . On May 6th, Pakis started with one Rafale down and then slowly upgraded to 4 Rafales and one Mig 29. That followed by some photoshopped pictures of some debris in X. When one of the media questioned how Paki minister found Indian aircraft was down, he said, he saw that in X :D . So war time information dissemination aside, this is pure propaganda.

Have a very Happy Birthday Rudradev! Har Har Mahadev! Sat Sri Akal

Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 08:42 Everyone on TV is talk talk, no pictures of Drones and even with claims of F16 , JF17 but not one pic published. Looks TV Media has become DDM.
We haven't seen any wreckage of a Pak aircraft or seen a pilot. Not has our govt confirmed the loss of any Pak aircraft.
The Navy is not yet in action unless they say so in today's briefing.

We intercepted 50 odd drones (less than 5 per location) which is not that difficult. Ukraine launches a min of 5000 short range and 100 long range drones a DAY, with NATO providing assistance for long range strikes and 90% are still intercepted.

Let's not get ahead of ourselves and make wild claims and talk of imminent victory. BRF is the gold standard for discussions on defence, let it not degenerate into forwarding tweets from some of the more dubious sources we listed earlier.

williams wrote: 09 May 2025 07:58
Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 07:44 OK now its daybreak, can GOI at least release images of PAF Aircraft, wreak age and Pilot details _ I think it is required.
Oh you need to wait. South block guys cannot start work without the Chai and pakora first thing in the morning :D - that too after a night when they decisively won. They will start around 10 - 10:30.
Given the press briefing is at 10 am, they would be doing some prep in advance..... 8)

Manish_P wrote: 09 May 2025 08:24
Cain Marko wrote: 09 May 2025 07:23
Sirji, there is no official confirmation.... Just speculation. Let's wait and watch....
Wishing our sub-surface fleet gets a piece of the action

The importance of having a bunch of boomers lurking in the depths, ready to unleash hell is brought to the fore
I wouldn't be surprised (if karachi is under fire), that the IN probaly used every type in its flotilla just to get the feet wet with all its new systems...
Last edited by Cain Marko on 09 May 2025 09:06, edited 1 time in total.

Deans wrote: 09 May 2025 08:37
Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 08:18 So at this point it looks Like Pakistan Launched 57 FPV's, no real damage on Pakistani Artillery from our artillery? No PAF Jets down?
To put things in perspective, Ukraine launches 5-7000 FPV drones a day !
Dayyum. India needs more of those L70, Shilka, Strela, Tunguska variants produced locally on the double to keep this pesky thing controlled.

How the Indian media won the war:
AajTak has destroyed Karachi Port.

Zee Media has destroyed Islamabad.

Republic TV has arrested Asim Munir.

India TV has the Pak army surrendering within hours.
nishant.gupta

Post by nishant.gupta »

^^ Balochis have taken Quetta as well

From official Indian Army handle

https://x.com/adgpi/status/1920659952630460441

OPERATION SINDOOR

Pakistan Armed Forces launched multiple attacks using drones and other munitions along entire Western Border on the intervening night of 08 and 09 May 2025. Pak troops also resorted to numerous cease fire violations (CFVs) along the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir.

The drone attacks were effectively repulsed and befitting reply was given to the CFVs.

#IndianArmy remains committed to safeguarding the sovereignity and territorial integrity of the Nation. All nefarious designs will be responded with force.
It seems strange that army is still calling out cease fire violations in the middle of the war! :shock:

Its entirely possible that all the screaming by Arnab, India Today etc were just psy-ops to confuse and scare the enemy. Lets not underestimate our own abilities to wage an Info War

Maybe its a frenzy, followed by calm, to allow Pakistan an off-ramp

Though jingoes want Pakistan dismembered, the Indian Govt probably feels like we have meted out enough punishment and if Pakis stop, so will we. This is the stance from the official press releases. Its a wise approach. Needless to say, the Break Pakistan program will continue, but the hot-war will stop

Upto Pakistan whether to take this opportunity or not. Am 100% sure China is goading them to continue the war, just like how US DoD & State Dept goaded Zelensky and used him as a cat's paw. India is aware of these games

Prem Kumar wrote: 09 May 2025 09:18 Its entirely possible that all the screaming by Arnab, India Today etc were just psy-ops to confuse and scare the enemy. Lets not underestimate our own abilities to wage an Info War

Maybe its a frenzy, followed by calm, to allow Pakistan an off-ramp

Though jingoes want Pakistan dismembered, the Indian Govt probably feels like we have meted out enough punishment and if Pakis stop, so will we. This is the stance from the official press releases. Its a wise approach. Needless to say, the Break Pakistan program will continue, but the hot-war will stop

Upto Pakistan whether to take this opportunity or not. Am 100% sure China is goading them to continue the war, just like how US DoD & State Dept goaded Zelensky and used him as a cat's paw. India is aware of these games
Well said!

But Pakis seems to be escalating, Chandigarh on alert , and use of 155mm , unless PAF/ PA pain is felt we are begging for future attack.

MOD website is hacked BTW. Official DD News says, MOD is going to keep the retaliation information classified for some time, since there are operations still on going. Unless there is any change in Paki behavior, letting them get away with not responding to these kind of attacks will only encourage them to continue their behavior. So be patient for the joint briefing. We will get to know better then. News media definitely got fed with some information overnight. And there is still a threat of more attacks from Pakistan. We need to gauge more and respond better to deter further escalation. Perhaps that is why GoI is being a bit patient to release real information.

No presser from GOI today?

Cain Marko wrote: 09 May 2025 09:38 No presser from GOI today?
Shortly
konaseema

Post by konaseema »

Too much bitching and moaning again. You want to win the war & the narrative war but can't put up with the agenda that our TV channels are dishing out. There is no way the govt and the armed forces are going to satisfy the wishes of this forum. If there is an announcement that we lost couple of fighters, then the same folks here will start advising IAF how to fight a war. Chill out and take every information with a pinch of salt, unless it is our MOD dishing out the latest.

Pakis are clearly escalating. We are obviously learning and getting a lot of data. All this would have been war gamed by our forces and diplomats. Let us trust them and watch for ways to help each other. So far we need to be thankful that these attacks have not created large number of civilian or military causalities, but we should be ready for such a possibility.

BTW Pakis cannot sustain this for long, they will have economic consequences very soon.
Last edited by williams on 09 May 2025 09:54, edited 1 time in total.

Looks like another wave of drones are targeting Chandigarh

And they will not stop till we hit hard
bkswarti

Post by bkswarti »

Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 09:34 But Pakis seems to be escalating, Chandigarh on alert , and use of 155mm , unless PAF/ PA pain is felt we are begging for future attack.
Yes, I heard some drone crashed into the airport early morning. Around 3 or 4 AM.

bkswarti wrote: 09 May 2025 09:59
Aditya_V wrote: 09 May 2025 09:34 But Pakis seems to be escalating, Chandigarh on alert , and use of 155mm , unless PAF/ PA pain is felt we are begging for future attack.
Yes, I heard some drone crashed into the airport early morning. Around 3 or 4 AM.
Please source all claims of this nature even if it’s a “I saw it on X TV”.

Because as for ‘I heard’ saar, I too heard my stomach rumbling violently last night but a short trip to the bathroom cleared my stomach - and my hearing .

Pakis are escalating
But these : They cannot sustain, no fuel for tanks, economic consequences yada yada!!
Are the Pak forces and gamers so immature that they have have not gamed this!!
They are upto something meaning there is a lifelife thrown to them and we dont know from whom!!
Ands one other thing to note: purportedly BLA have upped the ante!!
But not a squeak from TTP or Afghans!! have you noticed.
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

A_Gupta wrote: 09 May 2025 06:52 What BBC, etc. are doing is ignoring the terrorist attack, and making India the first mover, the aggressor in this battle. Further, they quote Pakistan as fact, and India as claims. They quote the Paki PM, but not the Indian PM or Minister of Defense. India is "defiant", transgressor, or equal-equal with TSP. One news guy was going on about how this conflict is bad for a "South Asia still recovering from COVID" and deterring investors in India and Pakistan. (The Sensex has gone up from April 22 to May 8 while the KSE100 has crashed.). All the usual preachy stuff too.
You're not going to counter BBC propaganda with "credible non-Arnab sources". People who consider BBC as gospel don't give a shit about the likes of you or I or whatever sources you consider "credible".
Your lie will be caught and your credibility shot to bits.
Like BBC's? or Guardians? or Reuters? and yet here you are sweating around how to counter them. So what exactly does getting "credibility shots to bits" does anyway?
if you're too thickheaded to even realize this then please keep your trap shut.
If you are incapable of understanding what it is the narrative that has to be pushed, then it is better to remain silent.
see how others can tell you to shut it too?
But listen to Shashi Tharoor before making another noise about propaganda is how you win information war.)
Irrelevant. stop farting around as if you or Tharoor are Goebbels of information war. Enough of this "me and my fav. politician know better than the others" bullshit. Let people do what they want and say what they want.

Tharoor, like Owaisi, is a 2 bit hack who wants to get some brownie points now that we're in a direct conflict with pakis. Just last month this guy was going on about:
‘Nafrat Chhorho, Bharat Jodo’: Tharoor hits out at BJP for fuelling North-South divide ...

I'd rather listen to North Korean state news than people like Tharoor or Owaisi.
Anyway, I'm not going to derail this thread further so last from me. If you want to get any last shots off, you're welcome to.

Chandigarh attack also repelled as per updates.