Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Operation Sindoor - Bharat Strikes Back: Jai Hind!

Are you talking of the 2 billion loan from Azerbaijan?

Hriday wrote: 28 May 2025 16:19 https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 03998.html

Mock drill tomorrow in 4 states bordering Pakistan, weeks after Op Sindoor.
Civil defence mock drills are set to begin again from Thursday, in four states bordering Pakistan - Gujarat, Rajasthan, Punjab as well as Jammu and Kashmir.

A controlled blackout of 15 minutes will also be observed from 8pm near vital areas, with the exception of essential emergency services such as hospitals, fire stations, and police stations.

He (Modi) also stated that it was no longer a proxy war by Pakistan as terrorists had been given state funerals, indicating that terrorism was a deliberate part of the country's military strategy.

Modi added, “You are already at war, and you will receive the response accordingly. We do not seek enmity with anyone. We want to live peacefully. We also want to progress so that we can contribute to the welfare of the world.”
Uh oh - Pakis will be stressed :rotfl:

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleasePage ... 87bIFiU0Eg

PM Modi:

Friends, we should carry forward this great tradition. I am confident that Gujarat will move forward with new strength, with many new ideas, with many new initiatives. I know that my speech might have become so long, I don't know what happened? But tomorrow two-three things will come in the media. I will tell you about that too, Modi scolded the officers, Modi thrashed the officers, etc. etc. Well, that happens sometimes, only this much should be understood, but the rest of the things that I have remembered, remember them and this Sindooriya mood! This Sindooriya spirit, friends, on 6 May, the night of 6 May. Operation Sindoor was started by the military force. But now Operation Sindoor will move forward with manpower and when I talk of military force and manpower, then by Operation Sindoor manpower I mean that every person should become a partner in the development of the country and take up responsibilities.

Let us decide that in 2047, when India will be celebrating its 100th year of independence, to make India developed and to take its economy from number 4 to number 3, we will not use any foreign product. We should make traders take an oath in every village that no matter how much profit they make, they will not sell foreign products. But see the misfortune, even Ganesh ji comes as a foreigner. Small eyed Ganesh ji will come. Ganesh ji's eyes are also not opening. Holi, Holi, we have to sprinkle colors, said the foreigner, we knew that you too should go to your home and make a list. Actually, as a citizen, I have to do one thing for Operation Sindoor. Go to your homes and make a list of how many foreign products are used in your homes in 24 hours from morning to the next morning. You do not even know, you use foreign hairpins, combs are also foreign, the pins used for teeth are also foreign, we do not even know. We don't know friends. If we have to save the country, build the country, grow the country, then Operation Sindoor is not the responsibility of the soldiers alone. Operation Sindoor is the responsibility of 140 crore citizens. The country should be strong, the country should be capable, the citizens of the country should be capable and for this we have started Vocal for Local, One District One Product, I am not asking you to throw away what you have here. But now we will not buy anything new and maybe there are 1-2% things which you might have to buy from outside which might not be available here, otherwise there is nothing like this in India today. You must have seen, 25 years, 30 years ago, when someone used to come from abroad, people used to send a list saying bring this, bring that. Today, when people come from abroad, they ask if they want to bring something, then people here say no, no, everything is here, don't bring it. Everything is there, we should be proud of our brand. We should be proud of Made in India. Operation Sindoor has to be won not by military power but by people's power, friends. People's power comes from every crop grown in the soil of the motherland. I will use the things that have the fragrance of this soil, the fragrance of the sweat of the citizens of this country, if I take Operation Sindoor to every person, every home. You see, we will make India a developed nation before 2047 and will go after seeing it with your own eyes, friends. With this expectation, say it with full force with me,
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

https://x.com/AsYouNotWish/status/19273 ... Y8Irg&s=19
I’m genuinely stunned by the Prime Minister’s speech from yesterday. I still can’t quite believe that he said this.
See the video of Modi in the link, English subtitles given.

What he said is, "To liberate Pakistan from terrorism Pakistanis need to come forward. Live a peaceful life and eat your food, otherwise I will shoot you!"

williams wrote: 28 May 2025 19:46
Hriday wrote: 28 May 2025 16:19 https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 03998.html

Mock drill tomorrow in 4 states bordering Pakistan, weeks after Op Sindoor.
Uh oh - Pakis will be stressed :rotfl:
No need

Hriday wrote: 28 May 2025 20:41 https://x.com/AsYouNotWish/status/19273 ... Y8Irg&s=19
I’m genuinely stunned by the Prime Minister’s speech from yesterday. I still can’t quite believe that he said this.
See the video of Modi in the link, English subtitles given.

What he said is, "To liberate Pakistan from terrorism Pakistanis need to come forward. Live a peaceful life and eat your food, otherwise I will shoot you!"
The literal Hindi to English translation loses certain nuances and flavor...

Live a life of peace. Eat your bread, else eat my bullets

('Goli' translates both to bullets and kids candies)

Goli - translates to medicine as well :twisted:

V_Raman wrote: 29 May 2025 10:42 Goli - translates to medicine as well :twisted:
Yes indeed :mrgreen:
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

https://x.com/Indian_Analyzer/status/19 ... WHuFA&s=19
"People of PoK are our own, part of our family. Those brothers separated from us by Geographical or Political situation, will REJOIN the Mainstream someday."🔥

: Rajnath Singh sends a stern message to PAK - No talks other than PoK👏🏼
As Deans explained here population of PoK was known for highly radical Islamic views. I don't think Modi govt will accept this reality. Anyway salami slicing on PoK by India will cause the population to move back to Pakistan from Kashmir. And then we will invite them back with the promise of houses and jobs?

Hriday wrote: 29 May 2025 12:27 https://x.com/Indian_Analyzer/status/19 ... WHuFA&s=19
"People of PoK are our own, part of our family. Those brothers separated from us by Geographical or Political situation, will REJOIN the Mainstream someday."🔥

: Rajnath Singh sends a stern message to PAK - No talks other than PoK👏🏼
As Deans explained here population of PoK was known for highly radical Islamic views. I don't think Modi govt will accept this reality. Anyway salami slicing on PoK by India will cause the population to move back to Pakistan from Kashmir. And then we will invite them back with the promise of houses and jobs?
Sure, but that land has immense strategic value. All the radical stuff will disappear when there is food on the table for common Abduls and bullets in the heads of the mullahs. We need the national will to play and win the great game started by the Brits against us.

williams wrote: 29 May 2025 12:42 All the radical stuff will disappear when there is food on the table for common Abduls and bullets in the heads of the mullahs.
Saar this has not happened in the valley so why should we think it will work on even more radical types in POK.
Adrija

Post by Adrija »

Agree w Dibujinxullah Saar…. It’s not happened anywhere in the world actually… even in the most prosperous countries… if anything the radicalism is worse
RaviB

Post by RaviB »

It's happening in Xinjiang. The Chinese are brutal.

williams wrote: 29 May 2025 12:42
Hriday wrote: 29 May 2025 12:27 https://x.com/Indian_Analyzer/status/19 ... WHuFA&s=19

Sure, but that land has immense strategic value. All the radical stuff will disappear when there is food on the table for common Abduls and bullets in the heads of the mullahs. We need the national will to play and win the great game started by the Brits against us.
Slight OT: It's not an easy task. Whether it is POK and GB in Pakistan, or Chittagong (and below Rangamati, Bandorbon, Cox Bazaaar, Teknaf), Sylhett and Rongpur in Bangladesh, all these areas have been the target of social engineering by changing demographics. Encourage radicalized populations to move in, being assisted surreptitiously by the government in land grabs, financed in business and house construction by teh fundammentalist networks drawing on funds from some Gulf States. Later on preferential emigration / migrants sending back money (Muzaffarabad/ Mirpur- UK Connect, Sylhettis in Birmingham, Chittagainya's in KSA and rest of Middle East). has bolstered economic staying power and success of tehse groups.

So it will not be easy to defeat this radicalization through sabka saath sabka vikas.

We are approaching the problem from a wrong direction.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

Quom across border only understands Dandaneeti... 75 years of decay and directionless travel won't make them achieve Nirvana suddenly. Snakes and crocs even if tamed never stop being wild and unpredictable and will prey on your regardless. Heck dogs have been known to eat flesh when the owner had died alone. These are cannibals and must be kept at arm length. Even NoKo is saner than this breed. Anyone watching Alien v Predaror movies should know such species are a danger to humanity! :x

Dilbu wrote: 29 May 2025 13:04
williams wrote: 29 May 2025 12:42 All the radical stuff will disappear when there is food on the table for common Abduls and bullets in the heads of the mullahs.
Saar this has not happened in the valley so why should we think it will work on even more radical types in POK.

Dilbu ji,

in eyeraaq, these bleddy jokers had plentiful and very cheap food that was affordable by all. Petrol was dirt cheap and healthcare was fairly easy to come by.

All this public generosity was ensured by saddam, who still shot a jihadi every alternate day, just to keep in practice. He had the right idea

And yet, it made no difference to the jihadis, and their jihadism, which, BTW, is a cultural milieu with them the world over.

The only way it stops is to stop it in their way, and by using their language, using the harsh words that only they understand, and if it fails, as modi ji said, "goli" is always there

Palestine is another case in point sirjee. A more entitled, well fed and clothed set of people you wont find anywhere. They had more schools and hospitals per capita to rival western countries.

Yet you see what happened.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

Even Sushant Sareen in the recent podcast with SDixit jit told the same. This is just not possible. Co-existing with kaffir is against their ideology. As SuSwamy once told their world is divided into halves, darul harb & darul islam. In latter no kaffir is left while in former they work to gain majority and eliminate kaffirs.

This was discussed at the fag end of the discussion, but very surprising coming from such worthies...
SivaR

Post by SivaR »

A nice interview (In Tamil) by Dr. Sivadhanu Pillai, Father of Brahmos Missile, from Dr. Abdul Kalam's legacy. He discusses lot of technical info about Brahmos , its development history and his motivation to create something World-class.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdZHSCViXPA
A gold mine of interview, building the Brahmos against MTCR(Missile Technology Control Regime), fully indigenous, identifying 200 critical technologies for the development, setting the strategies to build all these as a program manager. Negotiating and Building JV with Russia as a equal partner, these lessons can be used for AMCA engine development.
Hriday

Post by Hriday »

1 minute video of Rajnath Singh in the link below.
https://x.com/ANI/status/19283485155430 ... NbXJg&s=19
#WATCH | Goa: "If Pakistan does any unholy act this time, it is possible that this time our Navy will do the opening, " says Defence Minister Rajnath Singh

"During 'Operation Sindoor', the Indian Navy has impressed every Indian with its silent service. Despite remaining silent, the Indian Navy succeeded in tying down the Pakistani Army. Just imagine what will happen when someone who can keep a country's army locked in a bottle, even by remaining silent, speaks up? This time, Pakistan did not have to face the firepower of the Indian Navy, but the world knows that if Pakistan does any unholy act this time, it is possible that this time the opening will be done by our Navy, " said Singh
Luxtor

Post by Luxtor »

SivaR wrote: 29 May 2025 21:38 A nice interview (In Tamil) by Dr. Sivadhanu Pillai, Father of Brahmos Missile, from Dr. Abdul Kalam's legacy. He discusses lot of technical info about Brahmos , its development history and his motivation to create something World-class.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdZHSCViXPA
A gold mine of interview, building the Brahmos against MTCR(Missile Technology Control Regime), fully indigenous, identifying 200 critical technologies for the development, setting the strategies to build all these as a program manager. Negotiating and Building JV with Russia as a equal partner, these lessons can be used for AMCA engine development.
This is a great interview with Dr. Pillai on the development and features of Brahmos. One of the interesting subsystem he talked about is the incorporation of multiple space based navigation systems. It has receivers for GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, and our own IRNSS. If any or all of the other navigation systems are switched off or made inaccurate in the region, the Brahmos can switch to our IRNSS for navigation and still hit its target. It also has internal IRS if all outside reference systems fail or denied.

Dr. Pillai also recalled a funny incident with a puki general somewhere at a defence expo, I suppose, where he asked if the Brahmos missile is for sale to other countries, such as Middle Eastern countries. Dr. Pillai said yes. The puki general then asked if India would sell it to Pukistan as well. Dr. Pillai's response was, sir, the Brahmos Missile will be delivered to Pakistan free of charge. The puki general got real quiet and turned away. 😁

^^ :rotfl: :rotfl:

X-Post from Post Conflict Analysis thread
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 31 May 2025 14:41 CDS Gen. Anil Chauhan at Shangri La Dialogue in Singapore hints at India losing jets during interview with Haslinda Amin of Bloomberg.

Bloomberg TV
India Confirms It Lost Fighter Jets in Recent Pakistan Conflict
May 31st, 2025, 11:29 AM GMT+0400

Anil Chauhan, chief of defense staff of the Indian Armed Forces, spoke to Bloomberg's Haslinda Amin on Saturday while attending the Shangri-La Dialogue in Singapore. He called Pakistan’s claims that it shot down six Indian warplanes "absolutely incorrect,” though declined to say how many jets India lost. It's the first time the Indian military confirmed that it lost an unspecified number of fighter jets in clashes with Pakistan in May. (Source: Bloomberg)
P.S. Understandable that we will have losses and we will drip feed the information out. But teh General's body language left a lot to be desired.

What is wrong with our CDS. This kind of information needs to come from official channels (if at all) and not blurted out at a random forum

This is just very poor optics and argument logic.
Almost reminded me of Rahul Gandhis argument style.

Link has video
https://x.com/clashreport/status/192871 ... 15729?s=46
Uh, I think what is important is not the jet being downed, but why they were being downed.

Why they were downed?

The good part is we understood the tactical mistake, remedied it, rectified it, and flew all our jets again after two days, targeting at long range.
He doesn't come across as sounding very smart or professional .
Unless you can share more details, why make cryptic profound statements
Neither he has the aura of a machismo general.

So what were the tactical mistake? Fighting the enemy without first suppressing its radar or fighting capability?
Whatever the tactical mistake was, could it not have been prevented
Last edited by AdityaM on 31 May 2025 14:57, edited 1 time in total.

That CDS interview is clearly a gaffe and he seems unprepared for this question ? I hope GOI clarifies on this,

Quite Frankly, the CDS in that interview is introspect, remediation etc general terms, given the agenda of Bloomberg and he represents a nation of 1.4 billion people, this interview was poorly done.

Aditya_V wrote: 31 May 2025 15:25 That CDS interview is clearly a gaffe and he seems unprepared for this question ? I hope GOI clarifies on this,

Quite Frankly, the CDS in that interview is introspect, remediation etc general terms, given the agenda of Bloomberg and he represents a nation of 1.4 billion people, this interview was poorly done.

Aditya_V ji, what was the compulsion to let such people speak in an international forum.

Information warfare is a legitimate and essential component of any kinetic enterprise

all the others were doing so well in handling the press.

This is now going viral

Clearly Self goal, you talk about enemy losses A2A, SAM Losses and mix and match, now it would be better for the IAF to clarify.

And CDS given his experience knew what he was doing, I dont why he did what he did, but it does affect the psychology when the operation is still on. His statement is easily twisted, it would have been much better if he answered with PAF losses first.

The only way it can make sense, if we do a repeat and we want PAF to again fire and spray AAM's, i.e use the same tactics on 7 may 25 to take to leave them completely exposed for punishment.

That's what I was thinking . Is he playing 5D chess ?

But he is Indian army . He surely has working knowledge of air combat but he has never flown a jet himself .

AdityaM wrote: 31 May 2025 14:46 This is just very poor optics and argument logic.
Almost reminded me of Rahul Gandhis argument style.

Link has video
https://x.com/clashreport/status/192871 ... 15729?s=46
Uh, I think what is important is not the jet being downed, but why they were being downed.

Why they were downed?

The good part is we understood the tactical mistake, remedied it, rectified it, and flew all our jets again after two days, targeting at long range.
He doesn't come across as sounding very smart or professional .
Unless you can share more details, why make cryptic profound statements
Neither he has the aura of a machismo general.

So what were the tactical mistake? Fighting the enemy without first suppressing its radar or fighting capability?
Whatever the tactical mistake was, could it not have been prevented
Tactical mistake I think was coming too close to the enemy aircraft, within WVR range (much like Abhinandan in Balakot operation). The Pakis may have unleashed some Chinese or American missiles. Looks like, then the IAF pulled back, learnt some lessons, and after two days, flew again, targeting from long distances.

An absolutely ridiculous self goal by the CDS, on foreign soil, with foreign press. Looks like these guys did not learn much on what to say, when to say and most importantly what not to say. Shows severe lack of discipline and professionalism.

Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Anil Chauhan has highlighted the significant challenge posed by misinformation during Operation Sindoor, revealing that approximately 15 per cent of the armed forces’ time went into tackling false narratives.”

https://www.moneycontrol.com/news/india ... 81735.html

Jay wrote: 31 May 2025 20:40 An absolutely ridiculous self goal by the CDS, on foreign soil, with foreign press. Looks like these guys did not learn much on what to say, when to say and most importantly what not to say. Shows severe lack of discipline and professionalism.
How is this different from what was declared by the DGMO already? He did say all pilots were home but there could be some losses. CDS said it little different. But it is not first time confirmation. DGMO already confirmed it but he said he is not going to tell the numbers. CDS also said the same.

Foreign soil or domestic soil should not matter. Both CDS and DGMO are telling the truth, except they are not revealing the number. My point is little different. Let us say we have a software dev project. Once the project is successful let us say a team is celebrating. Can some other team say, "Hey your project is not successful because you found 15 bugs in the software". The project is successful as long has the team fixed those 15 bugs.

In this case we did not even lose a single Pilot and first time after 1971, we cleaned the cloak of the Pakis. Let us not creat unnecessary controversy out of this.

It will be dumb to think after a war is over your swords are all sharp and clean and none of them broke. It is even more dumb to say, "Hey you did not win the war", because of a few broken swords in the battle.

US air force lost 38 aircraft in the first gulf war and 24 aircraft, 129 helicopters in the second gulf war. Are we saying US lost both of those military operations?

In an agenda driven world he should have 1st spoken of PAF losses, Turkish Drones, hits etc first, but he was playing to the agenda of the interviewer, have you seen US, Russia, UK, Israel, Pakis, France , anyone else playing to the agenda of the enemy. And his words he didn't confirm, one can everything was repaired and flew again. Now the focus India lost soo many jets with no talk on Paki losses, this will only embolden Pakis and our enemies.

But did US spokesperson only talk of Iraqi claims of losses, anyone could see the lady had an agenda which he unfortunately fed. GOI must be clear why soo little information is given to India

1. What Aircraft of the PAF did we hit in the air
2. Did S400 shoot down SAAB 2000
3. What did we hit in each of those bases
No defense system in the world.onlh focuses on its own losses that too clearly agenda driven foreign media
Last edited by Aditya_V on 31 May 2025 21:31, edited 1 time in total.

williams wrote: 31 May 2025 21:07
How is this different from what was declared by the DGMO already? He did say all pilots were home but there could be some losses. CDS said it little different. But it is not first time confirmation. DGMO already confirmed it but he said he is not going to tell the numbers. CDS also said the same.

Foreign soil or domestic soil should not matter. Both CDS and DGMO are telling the truth, except they are not revealing the number. My point is little different. Let us say we have a software dev project. Once the project is successful let us say a team is celebrating. Can some other team say, "Hey your project is not successful because you found 15 bugs in the software". The project is successful as long has the team fixed those 15 bugs.

In this case we did not even lose a single Pilot and first time after 1971, we cleaned the cloak of the Pakis. Let us not creat unnecessary controversy out of this.

US air force lost 38 aircraft in the first gulf war and 24 aircraft, 129 helicopters in the second gulf war. Are we saying US lost both of those military operations?
I think all the talk of hardware losses - real or imagined, is missing the point.
That is the crux of my argument in my blogpost on Op Sindhoor.

Although suspending the IWT and the work of unknown gunmen will hurt Pak more than in a war (Pak loss relative to India's loss), the govt could not have survived if there was no military action. That action had to be more than Uri & Balakot.
It is not difficult for Pak to guess possible targets that we might strike. Their air defences - which are formidable, would have focussed on defending them. Pak would have concluded that we would not be able to accept the probable losses when attacking these.

We succeeded in the mission of hitting all 9 targets, with heavy loss of life on their side and no pilot lost on ours. Pak also lost disproportionately more when they tried to retaliate. That is all there is to it.

Weapon systems enable you to meet your objective in a war. You expect to lose them in combat. When our defence expenditure for capital goods is 10 times that of Pak, we can afford to replace losses in a way Pak can't.

No plan ever survives contact with the enemy. How you react to a surprise the enemy throws at you, is a measure of how good you are and that is what CDS meant. On 10th May, we had even 25+ year old Jaguars flying on missions against a fully alert Pak air space, as part of an attack on 11 air bases, with no losses (not even claims by Pak).

As CDS said, there is disproportionate time spent dealing with fake narratives

But the CDS has fed the false narrative, every one s now going to focus on IAF losses, not on Pak Fauj with Terrorists, hitting Paki targets, doing Saab 2000 with S 400.

There are no 2 ways about it that interview and answer were a self goal.

We lost 3 aircraft in Kargil (2 fighters, 1 copter) - apart from the army making a series of mistakes and being taken by surprise.
We didn't wallow in self pity, or call the army and IAF incompetent.

My dad took part in the IN raid on Karachi in 1971. It had its share of tactical mistakes. We used 3 missile boats instead of the planned 4.
We lost INS Khukri later. We did not have proof that PNS Shah Jahan was sunk. The Navy did not have all their actions questioned by keyboard
warriors, or the press for that matter and we went on to win a great victory.

Aditya_V wrote: 31 May 2025 21:35 But the CDS has fed the false narrative, every one s now going to focus on IAF losses, not on Pak Fauj with Terrorists, hitting Paki targets, doing Saab 2000 with S 400.

There are no 2 ways about it that interview and answer were a self goal.
It was a self goal, as is a lot of our media management.
As CDS said, we need a separate info warfare department.

I was disappointed with our press interaction in general. Having two lady officers was great optics, but they could have taken some questions
and not just had one person translate the other's prepared statement. The DGMO could have stressed on the mission objectives and human casualties
and said that no country discloses hardware losses in the middle of an operation, unless the enemy is certain of them.

Jay wrote: 31 May 2025 20:40 An absolutely ridiculous self goal by the CDS, on foreign soil, with foreign press. Looks like these guys did not learn much on what to say, when to say and most importantly what not to say. Shows severe lack of discipline and professionalism.
Why did he even give an interview while the Operation is still ongoing. There is a pause only as attested by OM himself. That said, I wouldn't underestimate the intellect and experience of the highest officer of our defense forces.