India US Tariff War: US Senator Warns India Says, 'Paying The Price For Supporting Putin'
'Paying the price for supporting Putin': US Senator Lindsey Graham once again warns India over Russian oil amid rising trade tensions with America.
KL Dubey wrote: ↑02 Sep 2025 04:26While people like Navarro have very little idea of what they are talking about, we shouldn't fixate too much on the "brahmin" appellation. In USA "brahmin" is often used to denote "elite" in general, and not the actual caste/jati/varna that is meant in Bharat. For example, there is a luxury/high-end handbag brand named Brahmin. The same is true of the word "pundit" in western lingo, which does not mean the traditional definition of a pandit in Bharat.
Read what I said and go figure - otherwise, good luck to you. Once again, out of courtesy: my 4-sentence post said that Indian words have entered western lexicons with different meanings. Navarro and the rest of the crowd are racists and should be dealt with. You can continue.chetak wrote: ↑03 Sep 2025 14:50KL Dubey wrote: ↑02 Sep 2025 04:26
While people like Navarro have very little idea of what they are talking about, we shouldn't fixate too much on the "brahmin" appellation. In USA "brahmin" is often used to denote "elite" in general, and not the actual caste/jati/varna that is meant in Bharat. For example, there is a luxury/high-end handbag brand named Brahmin. The same is true of the word "pundit" in western lingo, which does not mean the traditional definition of a pandit in Bharat.
KL Dubey ji,
What about janeudhari brahmins??
Dikh raha hai kiraye ki dhoti phen kar aaye ho
KL Dubey wrote: ↑03 Sep 2025 17:52Read what I said and go figure - otherwise, good luck to you. Once again, out of courtesy: my 4-sentence post said that Indian words have entered western lexicons with different meanings. Navarro and the rest of the crowd are racists and should be dealt with. You can continue.
was aimed at you.Dikh raha hai kiraye ki dhoti phen kar aaye ho
I just hope the French don't send us a large Statue of Liberty as a token of their appreciation....Rakesh wrote: ↑03 Sep 2025 19:17 https://x.com/FinestYew/status/1962787106767675592 ---> MAGA is the greatest gift French diplomacy in India has ever received. They have gained even more than the Russians & Chinese have from this situation.
PM Modi’s meeting with Cai is a message to anti-India baiters in China
Shishir Gupta
Sept 02, 2025
Cai Qi is right hand man of President Xi Jinping. He rarely meets foreign visitors.
New Delhi: In the power circles of the Chinese Communist Party, he is known as the man who does not smile. Known as the right-hand man of Chinese President Xi Jinping, Cai Qi is the most sought-after man by foreign diplomats in Beijing, but he is out of bounds for most. Yet, President Xi asked him to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi and discuss India-China ties, literally triggering a major diplomatic earthquake in Tianjin.
Cai, who wears multiple hats in CPC and is a feared man in Beijing, met PM Modi for over 45 minutes discussing how to normalize ties between two Asian giants. And he smiled.
Before the start of the dialogue, Cai reportedly told PM Modi that he had been tasked (by President Xi) to give lunch to him but then I was told that you are not into eating. During the entire SCO summit, Cai did not openly meet any visiting leader and was present at the PM Modi-President Xi bilateral meeting the same day.
Although nothing classified was discussed during the PM Modi-Cai meeting, the engagement has sent signals to all anti-India baiters in China, as Cai carries respect in the Communist nation. That Cai was asked to meet PM Modi by President Xi bodes well for bilateral ties that have now speeded towards normalization. Cai is the first ranking member of Secretariat of Communist Party of China and member of the Politburo standing committee but ranks do not matter, only proximity to the paramount leader does.
While the close ties between China and Pakistan are a matter of serious concern to India, New Delhi cannot hold its bilateral ties with China hostage to Pakistan engagement. It has decided to normalise ties step by step with China and move towards pre-May 2020 level with stable and tranquil border being at the centre of the relationship. This also means that India and China will be seen converging on multi-lateral/global issues like terrorism, climate change and fair trade.
Given the history of border friction between the two giants, the step towards apex-level military dialogue at the commanders' (Lt General/Major General) level will help sort out border issues without delay and also help in demarcating the non-contentious portions of the border. The bilateral meetings with President Xi and strongman Cai Qi on the sidelines of the SCO summit fuel hope of stable ties between the two countries, who were military rivals just five years ago.
A new strategic alliance between the United States and India would be established by a treaty, subject to advice and consent by the U.S. Senate.![]()
![]()
...but to paraphrase the late U.S. Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld, you must do diplomacy with the United States you have, not the one you might prefer.
Some will also credibly ask whether India’s democratic backsliding would make such an alliance untenable. There are real challenges in India on pluralism, civil rights, and the rule of law, but the relationship should be mature enough to sustain an honest conversation with the government of India and Indian civil society about these trends.
Will give all this nonsense gyan above and then state the below. Hypocrisy, thy name is United States of America!India will need to make a long-term strategic choice to break its dependence on Russia for defense and energy. This is a choice that New Delhi can and should make for its own reasons, not out of deference to Washington.
On the Indian side, some will ask—particularly now with nationalist sensibilities running hot—whether a U.S.-Indian alliance will impinge on India’s strategic autonomy. The very idea of an alliance will be strange and scary to the inheritors of the Non-Aligned Movement, which India helped spearhead during the Cold War. But a strategic alliance is not mutually exclusive with strategic autonomy. India and the United States are both proud and independent countries. Alliances are about alignment and common purpose—not about sacrificing sovereignty.
I recently met a few Indian Navy officers in US, who were attending a few-month course at the U.S. Naval War College (This is routine). This underscores the ongoing U.S.–India naval cooperation at the professional level, even amid occasional top-level frictions. Notably, some of these officers were in India during Operation Sindoor .. highlighting the continuity of strategic engagement.
Problem is, it may also "rebound" if they do a regime change and put a pilant sellout at 7 Race Course Road. The opposition is being actively guided by Washington, i'd like to remind people again that JNC riots, anti-CAA riots and agro-terrorist riots/blockade of Delhi all happened when Trump was the President. I always knew US, irrespective of who is in power, will come after India after they are done with Russia and China, looks like they are running ahead of schedule because neither Russia nor China are budging.A_Gupta wrote: ↑05 Sep 2025 03:04 The issues India has are with this specific President and some members of his administration. Provided Trump & co do not inflict too much damage, this relationship will rebound; except that India will take all US commitments as having a higher risk of non-performance.
Five Indian-origin executives — including Satya Nadella (Microsoft), Sundar Pichai (Google), Sanjay Mehrotra (Micron), Vivek Ranadive (TIBCO) and Shyam Sankar (Palantir) — were at the table. Their presence underscored the growing clout of Indian Americans in Silicon Valley and Washington, even as Trump moved to crack down on immigration.
Elon Musk was not there..
For MAGA, which views domestic culture wars as inseparable from foreign policy, the rupture is an opening to reframe U.S.-India relations as a civilizational clash.
... and yet even now, most of the pro-US Indians on this forum are pushing the narrative that it's all just Trump and the MAGA people, that everything will be back to normal After this administration ends. The consensus here is wait this out, take our lumps in the meantime, then jump back into bed with the USA as soon as a new regime is installed.Amber G. wrote: ↑12 Aug 2025 21:19 FWIW: I’ve spent over half a century in the US, and I’m baffled that anyone still finds this “betrayal” amazing.
By any reasonable measure, the current “equal-equal” equivalence between terrorists and their victims is unprecedented in its ugliness — worse than anything I saw even in the Nixon era (and I’ve been here in the US watching closely since the Johnson/Kennedy years, so trust me on that). What makes it more disheartening is that it was entirely predictable, and yet one of the biggest conmen in US (or even Indian) history still manages to command an almost cult-like following. I still hope we come out ahead and sanity prevails — but there are some tough times ahead.
what "civilisation" can America refer to ?.. Red "Indian" ?Kati wrote: ↑05 Sep 2025 09:42 MAGA escalates U.S.–India tensions into cultural clash
https://www.axios.com/2025/09/04/trump- ... ab-en-intl
For MAGA, which views domestic culture wars as inseparable from foreign policy, the rupture is an opening to reframe U.S.-India relations as a civilizational clash.
A_Gupta wrote: ↑05 Sep 2025 10:01 No. Just as India-China relations are likely to go to the pre-2020 state, India-US relations will likely go back to the pre-2025 state, which by definition is “normal”. It doesn’t mean take lumps in the meantime, nor “jump back into bed”, especially since India was never in bed, so there is no jump back.
It’s good to maintain a dialogue. No harm can come from talking. But there cannot be any alliance, because the US always wants to dominate and dictate terms. They want camp followers. Obviously we will not align.Rakesh wrote: ↑04 Sep 2025 21:40 The Case for a U.S. Alliance With India
https://www.foreignaffairs.com/united-s ... t-campbell
04 Sept 2025
I was with him until the bolded part above. A very good trade deal was already discussed and available to be signed. It’s up to those around Trump to make him see sense. If he doesn’t want to, it’s out of our hands. We need to move on.There are sound reasons for not abandoning the Indo-US partnership. First, unlike during the Cold War, the relationship is not bereft of substance. Tariffs aside, the US and India have a viable trade relationship. Neither country, especially India, can afford to easily dispense with it. Second, since the momentous US-India nuclear agreement of 2008, albeit in fits and starts, the two countries have forged a robust defence and security partnership. Walking away from this carefully constructed strategic relationship will bode ill for their shared interests in maintaining a free and open Indo-Pacific, a theme that both sides have repeatedly reiterated. Third, decades ago, a noted American scholar of international politics, Robert Axelrod, had developed a concept, “the shadow of the future”. This notion, pared to its essentials, holds that states, even when confronted with an adversarial moment, should bear in mind that they will have to deal with each other in the foreseeable future. Accordingly, Axelrod argued that even if one party was intransigent at a particular juncture, the other party should not shut the door on future positive interactions.
Following the policy guidance that can be derived from his theoretical formulation, New Delhi should not adopt a bellicose stance toward Washington. Instead, it should, despite significant domestic pressures to the contrary, demonstrate a willingness to sustain the relationship. To that end, it should eschew any overheated public language, continue to maintain existing channels of communication with the United States and show a willingness to address the Trump administration’s stated concerns.
eklavya ji,eklavya wrote: ↑05 Sep 2025 14:54 It’s good to maintain a dialogue. No harm can come from talking. But there cannot be any alliance, because the US always wants to dominate and dictate terms. They want camp followers. Obviously we will not align.
India has already chosen the path of strategic and economic atmanirbharta. If the US or any other friendly nation chooses to walk with us, they can. If they don’t, then good luck to them.
Another viewpoint below. I’m not quite sure what’s being said. India is handling matters in a calm and mature manner. Only the one with a mess inside their own head can clear it up. All I see is evidence of even more mess every day.
Best of Both Sides: India must prioritise repairing ties with the USI was with him until the bolded part above. A very good trade deal was already discussed and available to be signed. It’s up to those around Trump to make him see sense. If he doesn’t want to, it’s out of our hands. We need to move on.Following the policy guidance that can be derived from his theoretical formulation, New Delhi should not adopt a bellicose stance toward Washington. Instead, it should, despite significant domestic pressures to the contrary, demonstrate a willingness to sustain the relationship. To that end, it should eschew any overheated public language, continue to maintain existing channels of communication with the United States and show a willingness to address the Trump administration’s stated concerns.
US President Donald Trump today said in a social media post that it "looks like we've lost India and Russia to deepest, darkest China," before sarcastically wishing all three countries a "prosperous" future.
Tanaji wrote: ↑05 Sep 2025 17:04 The orange one is complaining India is lost.
"We've Lost India, Russia To Deepest, Darkest China": Donald Trump's Latest
https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/weve-lo ... st-9222384
05 Sept 2025
His mother was a Brit (from Scotland) wasn't she ?
And a whitish brown sahib on whom they are laying their hopes...They are enough brown sahibs, both in India and in amrika for him to get that impression.....