India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Bharadwaj wrote: 13 Sep 2025 09:37 https://x.com/sidhant/status/1966691655865823745

U.S wants G7 to sanction India. This is something we will not be able to cope with. Stop all Russian oil purchases with wink to Putin. Along with this cease all FTA talks with U.S on a permanent basis and give two months for U.S companies to vacate India. IT sector will need to be subsidised some way for a few years. Phutnick, Retardo and Pessant need a lesson they won't forget. Retaliation will become inevitable for Modiji if this tactics of U.S continues.
This is eyewash, just US posturing.

US itself should first sanction China if it can. As it is , China has not placed a single order for soyabeans for the Sep-Feb season, when it typically takes almost 60% of US production at around USD12-13b ! US farmers are begging Trump to reach deal with China ASAP. As it is , Brazil is now the no 1 exporter of soyabeans to China edging out US.

US knows it can't stop import of uranium as its defence and aerospace industries will be affected. It knows Europe can't just turn off the tap for Russian gas and oil. The current roadmap will take 2026-27 before Europe reduces dependency on Russian gas to zero. Hungary doesn't want to cut off cheap Russian gas supplies

All this to show that the Orange-gutan is working hard on peace plan, when in reality it knows it can do zilch to force a compromise

On Truth Social

https://truthsocial.com/@realDonaldTrum ... 7263809382
A LETTER SENT BY PRESIDENT DONALD J. TRUMP TO ALL NATO NATIONS AND, THE WORLD: “I am ready to do major Sanctions on Russia when all NATO Nations have agreed, and started, to do the same thing, and when all NATO Nations STOP BUYING OIL FROM RUSSIA. As you know, NATO’S commitment to WIN has been far less than 100%, and the purchase of Russian Oil, by some, has been shocking! It greatly weakens your negotiating position, and bargaining power, over Russia. Anyway, I am ready to “go” when you are. Just say when? I believe that this, plus NATO, as a group, placing 50% to 100% TARIFFS ON CHINA, to be fully withdrawn after the WAR with Russia and Ukraine is ended, will also be of great help in ENDING this deadly, but RIDICULOUS, WAR. China has a strong control, and even grip, over Russia, and these powerful Tariffs will break that grip. This is not TRUMP’S WAR (it would never have started if I was President!), it is Biden’s and Zelenskyy’s WAR. I am only here to help stop it, and save thousands of Russian and Ukrainian lives (7,118 lives lost last week, alone. CRAZY!). If NATO does as I say, the WAR will end quickly, and all of those lives will be saved! If not, you are just wasting my time, and the time, energy, and money of the United States. Thank you for your attention to this matter! DONALD J. TRUMP, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.”
What to make of this? Bullying India didn’t work. So others have to be blamed / bullied.

If Russians are still the people who withstood the Nazis in the siege of Leningrad, no sanctions are going to work even if the Trump-asked-for sanctions come into place.

Meanwhile, dunno how good Reuters is, but if true, in effect India has accepted no more Russian oil.
https://www.reuters.com/world/india/ind ... 025-09-11/
NEW DELHI, Sept 11 (Reuters) - India's largest private port operator, Adani Group, has banned entry of tankers that are sanctioned by Western countries at all of its ports, three sources said and documents show, a move that could hit Russian oil supplies for two Indian refiners.
Adani did not immediately respond to Reuters requests for comment.

There are other ports that handle Russian oil, and even Adani ports can handle non sanctioned vessels.

Adani Ports’ ban on sanctioned vessels may hit Russian crude imports
“Mundra received nearly 400,000 barrels per day of crude oil in recent years, with Russian grades making up more than 50% of arrivals. This makes Mundra a critical gateway for Russian barrels into India, serving major refiners like HPCL-Mittal Energy (HMEL) and state-owned Indian Oil,” said Sumit Ritolia, Lead Research Analyst for Refining & Modeling at Kpler.

“Adani’s decision adds a new layer of complexity to India’s crude sourcing strategy. While freight costs may rise, the bigger challenge is compliance pressure, which could force refiners to rely more on non-sanctioned vessels or seek alternative arrangements for Russian flows,” Ritolia warned.

With APSEZ commanding a 27.8% share of India’s port cargo market and six major facilities on the west coast alone, the move marks a significant development in the global oil market. Analysts expect it to reshape Russian crude shipments into India at a time when refiners are already navigating sanctions-linked challenges.
Russia’s oil imports stay strong
India’s imports of Russian oil have remained resilient in September, with volumes in the first twelve days already surpassing the total imports recorded in August, as per an analysis of data provided by Kpler.

The country imported 1.87 million barrels per day of Russian oil as of Sep 12, significantly higher than 1.66 mbd imported in the entire month of August despite the rising scrutiny from the US over India’s purchases of Russian oil.

An interesting development to watch right now is Adani’s ban on sanctioned vessels at its ports – a move that could set a precedent for other port operators, Kpler pointed out.

“Adani Group’s decision to ban sanctioned vessels can indeed be seen as a compliance safeguard — not as a ban on Russian crude itself. While India has not officially prohibited Russian imports, the move helps Adani protect its ports from potential secondary sanctions or penalties from Western authorities. It also serves to de-risk trade finance, insurance, and shipping operations, since many banks and insurers refuse to engage with sanctioned vessels,” Ritolia said.

Kpler anticipates a greater diversification of crude sourcing as refiners balance affordability with energy security.

Russian barrels remain the cheapest option in India’s basket, $3-5/bbl cheaper than other sources on a landed cost basis, and without a formal directive from New Delhi, refiners are unlikely to leave even a $1/bbl discount unutilized.

eklavya wrote: 13 Sep 2025 22:45 On Truth Social

https://truthsocial.com/@realDonaldTrum ... 7263809382
A LETTER SENT BY PRESIDENT DONALD J. TRUMP TO ALL NATO NATIONS AND, THE WORLD: “I am ready to do major Sanctions on Russia when all NATO Nations have agreed, and started, to do the same thing, and when all NATO Nations STOP BUYING OIL FROM RUSSIA. As you know, NATO’S commitment to WIN has been far less than 100%, and the purchase of Russian Oil, by some, has been shocking! It greatly weakens your negotiating position, and bargaining power, over Russia. Anyway, I am ready to “go” when you are. Just say when? I believe that this, plus NATO, as a group, placing 50% to 100% TARIFFS ON CHINA, to be fully withdrawn after the WAR with Russia and Ukraine is ended, will also be of great help in ENDING this deadly, but RIDICULOUS, WAR. China has a strong control, and even grip, over Russia, and these powerful Tariffs will break that grip. This is not TRUMP’S WAR (it would never have started if I was President!), it is Biden’s and Zelenskyy’s WAR. I am only here to help stop it, and save thousands of Russian and Ukrainian lives (7,118 lives lost last week, alone. CRAZY!). If NATO does as I say, the WAR will end quickly, and all of those lives will be saved! If not, you are just wasting my time, and the time, energy, and money of the United States. Thank you for your attention to this matter! DONALD J. TRUMP, PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.”
What to make of this? Bullying India didn’t work. So others have to be blamed / bullied.
Slowly our friend is becoming just a "sounding cymbal" with no substance. Once the world figures that out, they will reciprocate accordingly. As far as India is concerned the tariffs are real and have had some consequences. But Goi I working on minimizing the damage through reforms and support. But the trust deficit will grow bigger and GoI will act accordingly. US consumer market is huge and we do need market access, but if trade barriers are a problem for the next few years, we should learn to manage it and that will help us learn how to deal will sudden geopolitical and economic shocks.

As someone mentioned, we thought we will get better technology from to US to fuel our economic growth, but for the past 25 years we have not got anything of substance. That trend will continue and at some point we need to be selective in sharing our tech gains as we will surely will have an upper hand. But all this will not make any sense for a reality show guy with limited geopolitical experience and surrounded by light weight sycophants that have the same amount of experience.

Rudradev wrote: 11 Sep 2025 23:50 If Mr. Gor Kaliyug thinks he is going to dictate Chump's agenda to New Delhi, he is going to have an interesting tenure as Ambassador to India.

Meetings will fail to coalesce, or be rescheduled at the last minute. Internet connectivity at the workplace will be "iffy". During the least convenient months, air conditioning will cut out for hours at a time.

The myriad infrastructural projects (roads, cabling, water etc) integral to the development of a vibrant, noisy democracy will go forward (vibrantly and noisily) within earshot of Gor Kaliyug's office-- and will cause unfortunate impediments to traffic, parking, water supply and so on at the least opportune times.

For all the barking mutts that Chump has unleashed on mainstream and social media-- Navarro, Lutnick, et al-- when it comes to sending a clear and compelling message, they will find they are no match for India's strong, silent babus.
The best was the threat of opening a public toilet right in front of the UK High Commission in Delhi.

williams wrote: 14 Sep 2025 00:33 <snip>
As someone mentioned, we thought we will get better technology from to US to fuel our economic growth, but for the past 25 years we have not got anything of substance. That trend will continue and at some point we need to be selective in sharing our tech gains as we will surely will have an upper hand. But all this will not make any sense for a reality show guy with limited geopolitical experience and surrounded by light weight sycophants that have the same amount of experience.
From my perspective (and a lot of folks like me), it’s not all one-sided. There’s been steady progress — ISRO and NASA on NISAR, Indian scientists in LIGO and nuclear/particle physics projects, even energy work like SMRs and renewables. The 123 civil nuclear deal was a big step, and defense + trade ties have only deepened since. Modi and Jaishankar keep stressing that the US–India relationship has never been stronger, and the Indian community in the US is a huge bridge in itself.

That said, I fully agree that Trump’s stunts have been very damaging — honestly more than anything I’ve seen in the last 50–60 years. A lot of goodwill and trust may have been shaken. But the hope is that it can be repaired, because the overall direction over the long run has still been positive.. (I am very glad that GoI at present is acting very responsibly, and dark days here in US may not linger for long)
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

eklavya wrote: 13 Sep 2025 23:20 ^^^^
There are other ports that handle Russian oil, and even Adani ports can handle non sanctioned vessels.

Adani Ports’ ban on sanctioned vessels may hit Russian crude imports
“Mundra received nearly 400,000 barrels per day of crude oil in recent years, with Russian grades making up more than 50% of arrivals. This makes Mundra a critical gateway for Russian barrels into India, serving major refiners like HPCL-Mittal Energy (HMEL) and state-owned Indian Oil,” said Sumit Ritolia, Lead Research Analyst for Refining & Modeling at Kpler.

“Adani’s decision adds a new layer of complexity to India’s crude sourcing strategy. While freight costs may rise, the bigger challenge is compliance pressure, which could force refiners to rely more on non-sanctioned vessels or seek alternative arrangements for Russian flows,” Ritolia warned.

With APSEZ commanding a 27.8% share of India’s port cargo market and six major facilities on the west coast alone, the move marks a significant development in the global oil market. Analysts expect it to reshape Russian crude shipments into India at a time when refiners are already navigating sanctions-linked challenges.
Russia’s oil imports stay strong
India’s imports of Russian oil have remained resilient in September, with volumes in the first twelve days already surpassing the total imports recorded in August, as per an analysis of data provided by Kpler.

The country imported 1.87 million barrels per day of Russian oil as of Sep 12, significantly higher than 1.66 mbd imported in the entire month of August despite the rising scrutiny from the US over India’s purchases of Russian oil.

An interesting development to watch right now is Adani’s ban on sanctioned vessels at its ports – a move that could set a precedent for other port operators, Kpler pointed out.

“Adani Group’s decision to ban sanctioned vessels can indeed be seen as a compliance safeguard — not as a ban on Russian crude itself. While India has not officially prohibited Russian imports, the move helps Adani protect its ports from potential secondary sanctions or penalties from Western authorities. It also serves to de-risk trade finance, insurance, and shipping operations, since many banks and insurers refuse to engage with sanctioned vessels,” Ritolia said.

Kpler anticipates a greater diversification of crude sourcing as refiners balance affordability with energy security.

Russian barrels remain the cheapest option in India’s basket, $3-5/bbl cheaper than other sources on a landed cost basis, and without a formal directive from New Delhi, refiners are unlikely to leave even a $1/bbl discount unutilized.
What stops smaller tankers filling up with Russian oil from the super carriers and getting to adani ports ?!

If there is a will there is a way.
pravula

Post by pravula »

There is no need for smaller tankers. One can do the same with other normal tankers, which is what is being done right now. There is regular update on black listed ships for this reason. But then, the ships just change their name/registration/flag and the cat-mouse games continue.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russian_shadow_fleet

sanjayc wrote: 14 Sep 2025 01:37 The best was the threat of opening a public toilet right in front of the UK High Commission in Delhi.
Indian public toilets are cleaner, mucho cleaner than public toilets in NYC near Times Square or London (they are far and few inbetween) or Paris near Notre Dame. :mrgreen: