India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:44
The last 8 years of Republican/MAGA rhetoric, even while desis were hailing Modi-Trump, "ab ki baar Trump sarkaar", cursing Bidenwa, Harris, etc., hail India-US strategic partnership, blah, blah, blah and putting their fingers in their ears and refusing to hear what was said; and refusing to see what was in front of their eyes, puts the lie to it. The move happened at this moment because now no one now can stop Trump; he was quite stoppable and was stopped in his first term for milder measures against H1-Bs than this one. I think also this moment because this is something that the just-now martyred Charlie Kirk had wanted.

There is certainly pressure to try to get a favorable trade deal on the terms that the US wants.
This has more to do with MAGAt racism than anything else. Even if India did everything Nutlick & Retardo wanted, it wouldn't change anything. Trump had his daughter & SIL advising him the last time, they're not getting into the shitshow again.

hanumadu wrote: 20 Sep 2025 10:35 If they want to become IT workers there is nothing stopping them. There are online courses for less than 100 dollars that teach programming. For 1000 $, you can learn all the necessary skills to land a good job.
That is all true but there are not too many IT jobs now, especially entry level. At the entry level, like testing or documentation or support, salaries are quite low. Where Indians H1Bs shine are in mid level jobs which require a couple of years of experience. But they are also willing to work anywhere in the country, unlike Americans who want to live in cities and/or close to their family.

I myself worked in a 3K town 60 miles south of DC where SWIFT has a development center. Entire SWIFT development was done by Indian H1Bs. Max time for GCs was 1.5 years to 2 years in NY/NJ/CT least was in CA 4-6 months. MI too has similar wait times.

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:30 1. They must advertise the post and report that they haven't found anyone in America.
This is a bit hilarious.

Firstly, there is NO such requirement to approve the labor application for hiring H1B. Please read the actual process: https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/elg/h1b.htm#BasicPro

Now, there is a secondary requirement for some employers who have been classified as "H1B dependent" or "wilful violators", these employers also have to declare they will try to recruit US applicants and offer jobs to US applicants first. These employers are strictly defined (not just based on media news), and are very few in number and size. And even these "H1B dependent employers" do not have to meet these secondary conditions as long as they are paying more than $60K and the applicant has an advanced (MS or higher) degree.

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/ ... BPrsnt.ppt

The whole point of the H1B program is to bring in foreign workers who fit a specific requirement with a 85,000 annual quota.

"Spotting signs" and "reading tea leaves" is usually the cottage industry of disgruntled workers who have failed to skill themselves with what the employer wants. It looks like this entitled attitude has seeped into otherwise intelligent discourse as well.
Last edited by KL Dubey on 21 Sep 2025 01:10, edited 1 time in total.

Vayutuvan wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:03 Got this in my WA from a friend. TIFWIW.
Scenario 1: New H-1B from Outside the U.S.
• Example: An Indian software engineer in Hyderabad is selected in the H-1B lottery, and their U.S. employer files the petition.
•  $100,000 fee required (because the worker is outside the U.S. when the petition is filed).

Scenario 2: New H-1B from Inside the U.S. (Change of Status)
• Example: An F-1 student already in the U.S. applies for change of status to H-1B.
•  No $100,000 fee (because the worker is already inside the U.S. at filing time).

Scenario 3: H-1B Extension / Renewal (same employer, still in U.S.)
• Example: A current H-1B employee in California files for a 3-year extension with the same employer.
•  No $100,000 fee (renewals/extensions from within the U.S. are not covered).

Scenario 4: H-1B Transfer to a New Employer (worker still in U.S.)
• Example: A software engineer in Texas on H-1B transfers to another company.
•  No $100,000 fee (still inside the U.S. at the time of filing).

Scenario 5: H-1B Worker Travels Abroad During Extension/Transfer
• Example: A worker’s extension is filed while they are inside the U.S., but later they travel to India and need stampin
g at a U.S. consulate.
•  No $100,000 fee — the proclamation only looks at status at time of petition filing, not later visa stamping.

Scenario 6: New Petition After Worker Left U.S.
• Example: Someone previously on H-1B leaves the U.S. for a year, then a company wants to bring them back with a new petition.
•  $100,000 fee required (because they are outside the U.S. at the time of the new petition).

Key Rule of Thumb
Inside U.S. at filing time → no $100,000 fee.
Outside U.S. at filing time → $100,000 fee required.
Shouldn't this help Indian students currently in the US? I sure hope so.

Dilbu wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:18 Unkil is targeting Indian middle class which is a major voter base supporting Modi. By creating hurdles in the way of average Indian’s aspiration to study and settle in US or to go there on H1B visa, as a short term measure, unkil is saying we are ready to give visas again as soon as you vote Modi out. I am expecting RaGa to issue a statement shortly blaming Modi for shattering the dreams and job aspirations of GenZ in India. This is all part of the regime change toolkit plans.
This.

Cain Marko wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:05
Vayutuvan wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:03 Got this in my WA from a friend. TIFWIW.

Yes. That is why I put them in blue. While signing the proclamation, Trump clearly said that we need those educated in the US to stay and also added that the US needs workers. Essentially it is tailored to bring middle-class folks to pressure Modi to relent on tariffs. It could be one of those steps in the larger plan of dividing BRICS and also weaken G20 in which India plays a big role. Modi is the darling of all countries who do not want to accept Chinese or American suzairnity.

With me or against me of Dubya coming back.

FYI, Savio Rodrigues talked about a thwarted plot to oust PM Modi that I give far more credence than the idea that no-H1-Bs will lead to a revolt that can overthrow PM Modi. You can find it somewhere on YouTube.

Rodrigues says that 37 BJP MPs were recruited by the US to raise the issue of compulsory retirement at the age of 75 to get Modi to resign and retire. They had hoped more MPs would join them and by threatening the Parliamentary majority, would force the issue. But Rodrigues also says there were leaks in the US operation and Indian Intelligence became aware and so PM Modi was prepared. The nail in the coffin of this plot was supposedly when the RSS supremo said that the age 75 was merely a guideline and not a hard and fast rule.

Rodrigues says that it is only after the failure of this effort that Trump decided to try a rapprochement with PM Modi.

I am not sure what to think of this; am waiting to see if I can spot whether these 37 unnamed BJP MPs are gradually weeded out; but I think it is a much more plausible plot to try to oust PM Modi than jacking up the H1-B fees.

KL Dubey wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:02
A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:30 1. They must advertise the post and report that they haven't found anyone in America.
This is a bit hilarious.

Firstly, there is NO such requirement to approve the labor application for hiring H1B. Please read the actual process: https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/elg/h1b.htm#BasicPro
Sorry, recent actual experience trumps what is on some website.

Denying visas in itself will not cause a regime change in India but it is another one of the screws they are trying to drive in as part of the overall effort towards the goal.

Dilbu wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:33 Denying visas in itself will not cause a regime change in India but it is another one of the screws they are trying to drive in as part of the overall effort towards the goal.
Dilbu ji, you are correct. Binary thinkers cannot think through shades of grey. Linear thinking hrsvadrishti ivory tower dwellers can see only locally. One needs doorakalagnata to recognize non-linearities and twists, turns and knots in the thread.

OK, not higher, but equivalent.

Code of Federal Regulations
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/c ... on-655.731
Title 20 Chapter V Part 655 Subpart H § 655.731
An employer seeking to employ H-1B nonimmigrants in a specialty occupation or as a fashion model of distinguished merit and ability shall state on Form ETA 9035 or 9035E that it will pay the H-1B nonimmigrant the required wage rate. For the purposes of this section, “H-1B” includes “E-3 and H-1B1” as well.

(a) Establishing the wage requirement. The first LCA requirement shall be satisfied when the employer signs Form ETA 9035 or 9035E attesting that, for the entire period of authorized employment, the required wage rate will be paid to the H-1B nonimmigrant(s); that is, that the wage shall be the greater of the actual wage rate (as specified in paragraph (a)(1) of this section) or the prevailing wage (as specified in paragraph (a)(2) of this section). The wage requirement includes the employer's obligation to offer benefits and eligibility for benefits provided as compensation for services to H-1B nonimmigrants on the same basis, and in accordance with the same criteria, as the employer offers to U.S. workers.

The actual wage is the wage rate paid by the employer to all other individuals with similar experience and qualifications for the specific employment in question. In determining such wage level, the following factors may be considered: Experience, qualifications, education, job responsibility and function, specialized knowledge, and other legitimate business factors. “Legitimate business factors,” for purposes of this section, means those that it is reasonable to conclude are necessary because they conform to recognized principles or can be demonstrated by accepted rules and standards. Where there are other employees with substantially similar experience and qualifications in the specific employment in question—i.e., they have substantially the same duties and responsibilities as the H-1B nonimmigrant—the actual wage shall be the amount paid to these other employees. Where no such other employees exist at the place of employment, the actual wage shall be the wage paid to the H-1B nonimmigrant by the employer. Where the employer's pay system or scale provides for adjustments during the period of the LCA—e.g., cost of living increases or other periodic adjustments, or the employee moves to a more advanced level in the same occupation—such adjustments shall be provided to similarly employed H-1B nonimmigrants (unless the prevailing wage is higher than the actual wage).

(3) Once the prevailing wage rate is established, the H-1B employer then shall compare this wage with the actual wage rate for the specific employment in question at the place of employment and must pay the H-1B nonimmigrant at least the higher of the two wages.
If the law was followed, H1-Bs cannot lead to any cost savings. Gaming the system in some way is required to get cost savings.
The employer could fire experienced workers and hire H1-Bs as lower experience, who would naturally command lower wages. But then they had better really be less experienced.
pravula

Post by pravula »

H1-Bs cannot lead to any cost savings
Not true. It reduces salary negotiation power and has been instrumental in keeping it under inflation growth rate IMHO. Also, H1b can be hired and sent to low cost areas, further reducing the need to hire in say NYC, NoVa, Bay area etc...

There is also lifecycle of the project. While developing, a large number of developers are required. Once it goes into production, developers are let go but for some really good folks on the team who go into support roles. One example I can give is State Farm in Bloomington, Illinois. They used employ thousands of Satyam/Infosys consultants as well a few hundred from smaller US based consulting companies. The number was so high that RE prices went up quite a bit as well lot of apartment complexes came up. In fact the city had great difficulty with the pressure on infrastructure and knew that the boom is going to come to an end. They did take some corrective action as the development projects were winding down. Now all those people are gone (I don't know where, probably to larger cities), many had to go back to their home countries back to Satyam/Infosys/HCL. There were many Indian restaurants but now there is only one. Similarly once there were a dozen Indian grocery shops now reduced to one. That is also reduced in size.

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:30 Sorry, recent actual experience trumps what is on some website.
What is on that "some website" actually controls the process...I presume nobody writes their personal experiences when preparing the H1B petitions.

Dunno how much to rely on AI, but this is what it says in response to "If employers must pay H1-B workers at least the prevailing wage, then how do the Technology firms save on costs by firing American workers and hiring H1-Bs as replacements?"

Excerpts:
Prevailing Wage vs. Market Wage

The prevailing wage is often calculated using government data that lags behind real-time market conditions.
In fast-moving sectors like tech, actual market wages — especially for experienced American workers — can be significantly higher than the prevailing wage.

This allows firms to legally pay H-1B workers less than what they’d pay a similarly qualified U.S. worker.
Entry-Level Classification Loopholes

Many H-1B workers are classified as “Level 1” or entry-level, even if they have substantial experience.

A study cited in recent government reports found that H-1B “entry-level” positions were paid up to 36% less than traditional full-time roles
Outsourcing and Staffing Firms

IT outsourcing companies dominate H-1B usage. These firms contract H-1B workers to larger tech companies at lower rates.
The outsourcing model allows big firms to avoid direct employment costs like benefits, long-term raises, and severance packages.
Not clear to me why the IT outsourcing company does not have to pay market rates and benefits for its H1-Bs.

pravula wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:18
H1-Bs cannot lead to any cost savings
Not true. It reduces salary negotiation power and has been instrumental in keeping it under inflation growth rate IMHO. Also, H1b can be hired and sent to low cost areas, further reducing the need to hire in say NYC, NoVa, Bay area etc...
Per the law. But everyone is a scoff-law.

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:08 If the law was followed, H1-Bs cannot lead to any cost savings. Gaming the system in some way is required to get cost savings.
The employer could fire experienced workers and hire H1-Bs as lower experience, who would naturally command lower wages. But then they had better really be less experienced.
Been through this before, same old discussions. As I said some time ago, H1B was not designed for cost savings but for supplementing specific skills. In other words, enabling things (such as scaling) that couldn't be done otherwise due to an overall lack of sufficient labor in that sector. You don't seem to understand that the H1B addresses sectoral/job type shortages, not company-specific shortages.

Since you didn't read what I posted, you also don't understand that employers are prohibited from displacing their US workers or lowering their working conditions due to the H1B hires. Now, the implementation on the ground may have grey areas, but that is also true for all business practices (unrelated to immigration). Trying to present this as "gaming the system" is futile.

The answer to my own question is how the IT outsourcing company classifies the worker; and how the market rate is determined.

In short, in most cases, there has been a wink-wink-nod-nod run around the US law as written, but so far as not too many were inconvenienced, nobody complained.

Also, H1-B covers a huge variety of tech and non-tech areas. I'll bet that in certain specialities, there is a real labor shortage, H1-Bs get market rate+, and loss of H1-Bs will lead to not simply a huge rise in labor costs for the US employer, but also positions they simply cannot fill, at any reasonable price.

""Gaming the system" means using a system's rules, procedures, or ambiguities to gain an unfair advantage or achieve a desired outcome that wasn't intended by the system's designers. It involves manipulating the system rather than directly cheating or breaking the law, often by exploiting loopholes or using rules in an unintended way.
As I said some time ago, H1B was not designed for cost savings but for supplementing specific skills. In other words, enabling things (such as scaling) that couldn't be done otherwise due to an overall lack of sufficient labor in that sector.
Exactly -- the H1B is used for cost savings which is not its intended design. Exactly what gaming the system is.
You don't seem to understand that the H1B addresses sectoral/job type shortages, not company-specific shortages.
A company operates where it needs labor drawn from a sector. So I don't understand the objection.
Last edited by A_Gupta on 21 Sep 2025 03:05, edited 1 time in total.

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:48 Dunno how much to rely on AI, but this is what it says in response to "If employers must pay H1-B workers at least the prevailing wage, then how do the Technology firms save on costs by firing American workers and hiring H1-Bs as replacements?"
If you are going to cut and paste AI information here, it would be better to take a critical look at it first.

For example, outsourcing companies do not dominate H1B petitions. The majority of the H1B petitions are directly from large US companies and foreign companies operating in the US.

https://www.uscis.gov/tools/reports-and ... r-data-hub

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:56 Exactly -- the H1B is used for cost savings which is not its intended design. Exactly what gaming the system is.
It's not used for cost savings. The statistics are there. You are either being disingenuous about this, or duped by hearsay/anecdotal information from disgruntled or entitled people.

A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:56 A company operates where it needs labor drawn from a sector. So I don't understand the objection.
The H1B program is operated by the goremint, not by companies. The goremint makes the rules. Again, you didn't read them and hence a useless discussion.

KL Dubey wrote: 21 Sep 2025 00:36 This is a tactical move targeted at India.
The same crowd that is supporting this move wrt H1B also went to the Supreme Court against DACA. Primary source of DACA beneficiaries are Mexico and other South American countries.
So no, I don't think the move is against India. The timing may be chosen to provide another lever in trade negotiations, sure. But the larger goal is to reduce immigration step by step.

The government makes the rules, but doesn't enforce them. Or more precisely, the US Congress evades its responsibilities to make enforceable and realistic laws; and the executive has not made effective regulations.

I am not able to verify this, but I think it is true that Microsoft has stated this: "Microsoft has consistently stated that the US does not issue enough H-1B visas to meet labour market demands. On its lobbying blog, the company states, "The number of H-1B visas remains very limited. Congress sets a limit on the number of H-1B visas that can be issued each year. Demand far exceeds supply.""

i.e., what Microsoft is saying is that even with H1-Bs the US has a labor shortage of the appropriately skilled/educated labor in the US.

This is in the face of sustained criticism from the Trump administration folks, including J.D. Vance. We have seen most US companies cower in the face of such criticism.

On the balance, I would trust Microsoft's assessment of the labor market over that of Trump and his crew. Microsoft is biased one way of course, and Trump & co the other way, but in whom to trust more, there is little competition.

If Microsoft and other American tech companies have many more things they want to do than it can find people for in the US, even with H1-Bs, then it means Indians in India with the right skills will have plentiful opportunities, though in India, because the tech companies will bring them there. Indian outsourcing companies whose main selling point to American companies is cost-cutting, i.e., body-shoppers, will suffer; but if the companies that are indeed helping with the labor shortage, I think they will find a way to operate, because their customers need them.

IMO, it will be cheaper to skill up Indians than to skill up equivalent Americans.

I hope that the Indian companies about whom I hear complaints will realize that job satisfaction helps with retaining valuable employees, and adjusts their management accordingly. I also hope that the STEM education sector in India gets a boost from this, and achieves higher standards too. It is also an opportunity for India to climb the value ladder and build clusters of high-tech skills.

There is a lot of people whose lives are getting disrupted, but there may be a silver lining to this cloud.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

While MAGA is the issue I think with AI agents that can possibly write error-free code, unit tests and do code migration coming up soon, there may be less need for IT H1 consultants. Outsourcing model is well established now across US/UK, comms are handled fine. L1 consultants can carry on as usual on short term basis.
Not sure about Uni->OPT->H1 transition for hard science/tech graduates. But why not ask Stanford to open India campus? Why we let some 3rd rate Britshit/Oz uni but not really the big US ones ? As Sanjeev Sanyal says hybrid online + offline meets is the Uni model for the future, let us embrace it first up.

We must agree after 30+ years tech has caught on. We should explore IT within the country. Just like modern infra in civilian areas where foreign consultants are used, let us improve our own industries with IT (SBI, Govt websites will always be hopeless..). There might be a block buster opportunity in the near future if AI coding agents fail and they need someone to review all code (like Y2K :mrgreen: )
Also I see on YT so many goras and other Asians have tech channels and PM/dev roles that we must accept we no longer might have the perceived monopoly on H1 tech jobs. There has been a sea change among youngsters with tech since 2010.
For all you know with AI agents most workflows will migrate to Mag5 secure data centres/models needing less hands-on coding as before. Their choice and we must similarly scale up at our end.

Gartner says AI has entered the Trough of Disillusionment, so there is some time to transition. But yes, as fast as possible.
https://www.gartner.com/en/articles/hyp ... telligence

Vayutuvan wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:16
Cain Marko wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:05
Yes. That is why I put them in blue. While signing the proclamation, Trump clearly said that we need those educated in the US to stay and also added that the US needs workers. Essentially it is tailored to bring middle-class folks to pressure Modi to relent on tariffs. It could be one of those steps in the larger plan of dividing BRICS and also weaken G20 in which India plays a big role. Modi is the darling of all countries who do not want to accept Chinese or American suzairnity.

With me or against me of Dubya coming back.
Yeah for sure this could weaken modis bargaining position, BJP coffers are probably dependent on nri donations?
RCase

Post by RCase »

This H1-B hoopla is just the veiled racist agenda of the MAGA crowd, which is all about MAWA - Make America White Again. It was clear from the primary cycle where they went after Vivek Ramaswamy for his brown skin color (Didn't a news anchor say that even though he made a lot of sense, she would still not vote for him as he was not 'American' enough?). The H1-B is just the current flavor of the day. We have already seen it with calls for denaturalization, rescinding birth citizenship, revoking green cards, blurring the line between legal and illegal immigrants etc. Have we seen any deportations of White Europeans in military aircrafts or to Guatemala/ Uganda? (It is not there aren't any illegal whites).

In my experience of having hired employees for my company, people are hired because of their ability to do the job and not for the lowest cost. Even while employing contractors, the same applies. Companies typically have a wage band for the job and select the most suitable person. In my circle of friends, none of the children who graduated from US Univs (all children are US citizens) are unemployed/ underemployed, including the ones from Liberal Arts fields. So it is a myth that companies are solely looking for H1-Bs.

H1-Bs from India are employed by companies that take on project specific jobs - for e.g. TCS, Infosys etc. These companies are in turn charging their clients market rates for their work. (Infosys, TCS etc. are for-profit organizations). I have not come across situations where a H1-B guy will take a job for a lower wage. In fact, it is just the opposite. Most of the newer H1-Bs have very low loyalty and professionalism and will move on to greener pastures at the drop of a hat.

The MAGA crowd is miffed that slowly they see their assured cushy lifestyle being threatened and newer immigrants are not taking the lower end of the standard of living. It was OK when Latinos were doing the low end jobs of janitor, farm worker etc. while the Whites were dominating the middle and high incomes. It was still OK when European/ Australians were working legally/ illegally, because 'they were just like us' and blended in skin color.

Indian immigrants have one of the highest standards of living and educate their kids. This rubs the MAGA crowd the wrong way. These newer, brown immigrants are not starting from the bottom of the totem pole, but have actually climbed to the top. Seeing the trend of brown guys leading major companies successfully has shaken what once was the cosy domain of the white boys club.

Cain Marko wrote: 21 Sep 2025 06:37 Yeah for sure this could weaken modis bargaining position, BJP coffers are probably dependent on nri donations?
That is an interesting connection. I don't think so though. All political parties depend on money sources in India itself. Every govt depends on NRI remittances going into RE sector. They can show "development". NRIs are losing due to RE prices stagnating, rentals don't cover mortgage costs (if they rent out at all). The US wants to charge taxes on all income whether the come is in the US or from abroad. This is bigger problem for first gen PIOs who bought RE in new developments. If they sell, they won't get back their money. In case they are able to actually sell at a reasonable price, most of that they have to accept in cash. How are they going to get that back to the states? Through gold jewelry, uncut diamonds, and such. I am sure they are breaking the laws of India and the US. They cannot go back to enjoy the RE nor can they enjoy the savings they put into that RE.

On top of that, there is huge amount of ageism in silicon valley. Many people I know, top education, years of high tech experience in top companies lost their jobs in their early 50s and had to go without a job for 6 months or even a year. Some are working for the US subsidies of Indian outsourcing majors like TCS, InfoSys etc.

I have met electronics engineers doing work as source code management sys admins and build system admins. They have forgotten whatever EE knowledge they have. I even doubt whether they had any knowledge at all. Some folks gave me stares when I was trying to explain the differences in light frequency of LED/incandescent/Tubelights. They are in their late 40s and early 50s.

If there is a downturn, lot of those people will have great difficulties. They haven't upskilled nor have they earned any US degrees byond their BTech from no name engg college in India, a couple of years stint in Infosys, Asatyam, TCS, came to the US, got their H1Bs very fast, GCs, and now are citizens. They also don;t want to move from where they are. They are same as Americans.

Who’s Still Quitting? The Uneven End of the Great Resignation

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/whos-sti ... non-u9gpc/
Gad Levanon, Chief Economist at The Burning Glass Institute. Here you'll find labor markets and economic insights before they become mainstream.

September 16, 2025
By Gad Levanon and Mels de Zeeuw

The quits rate is a key barometer to understand the labor market. It’s a key proxy for labor-market tightness and hiring difficulty, closely watched by employers. Because quits capture how often workers voluntarily leave, they signal how costly it will be for firms to recruit, train, and bring new employees up the learning curve—costs that translate into lost productivity and higher replacement expenses. When quits remain subdued, companies feel less pressure to keep workers happy through higher pay, flexible schedules, or generous benefits, since the risk of losing talent is lower.

Every month the Job Openings and Labor Turnover (JOLTS) survey from the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on quits, separations, and layoffs, which allows us a timely look on whether employers are facing a tight labor market, or whether their workers’ employment positions are worsening.

However, while JOLTS is great for national, industry and state trends, it can’t tell us who is doing the switching and doesn’t offer data by occupation, education, age, or race/ethnicity. Building on Bart Hobijn’s approach, we link CPS microdata to JOLTS to estimate quits, layoffs, and total separations for detailed worker groups. That matters because knowing which groups are quitting shows exactly where the pressure is, and where it isn’t.

From the above,

The results show some signs of a two-track labor market, wherein white-collar workers in Computer and Life/Physical/Social Science occupations have some of their lowest resignation rates in the past two decades; whereas conditions are tighter for employers in blue-collar installation and healthcare occupations.

KL Dubey wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:48
A_Gupta wrote: 21 Sep 2025 01:30 Sorry, recent actual experience trumps what is on some website.
What is on that "some website" actually controls the process...I presume nobody writes their personal experiences when preparing the H1B petitions.
You actually get a copy of entire H1b petition from your lawyers after your h1b is approved along with I-797 copy. Admittedly, mine is decades old experience. But I have got it from multiple companies and every time, there was labour application that had to be filed and approved as part of H1b filing. The copies I got also had advertisements of local and national publications advertising for those jobs and the company had to declare that they had advertised and didn't get any local candidates.
pravula

Post by pravula »

H1B requires LCA, and GC requires LC. They sound similar, but are not.

putnanja wrote: 21 Sep 2025 08:11
KL Dubey wrote: 21 Sep 2025 02:48

The copies I got also had advertisements of local and national publications advertising for those jobs and the company had to declare that they had advertised and didn't get any local candidates.
No such requirements any more. I already mentioned that only employers classified as H1b dependent company or wilful violator have to do these declarations now. Possibly your company was one of those. Even they are exempted if the salary is more than 60k and the person has an advanced degree. I can cite at least 25 cases personally in which no such things were needed. The system worked exactly as described in the US sarkari website. Premium processing also worked as promised, even in the two trump administrations.

The White House has released new guidance:

1- This is NOT an annual fee — it’s a one-time fee that applies only to the petition.

2- Current H-1B holders outside the U.S. will NOT be charged $100,000 to re-enter. Your ability to leave and re-enter remains unchanged.

3- The rule applies only to new visas (not renewals, not current holders). It will first take effect in the next lottery cycle.

Also-
1. The Proclamation does not apply to anyone who has a current visa.

2. The Proclamation only applies to future applicants in the February lottery who are currently outside the U.S. It does not apply to anyone who participated in the 2025 lottery.

3. The Proclamation does not impact the ability of any current visa holder to travel to/from the U.S.
syam

Post by syam »

Jobs are safe. We will compromise on some stuff and then Trump will ease these norms.

But what about the next generations? What if they don't get these jobs? Do the local white population or hispanic let these brown kids work in other less shiny jobs?

Indians abroad should realize the whites only see them as work slaves in their 30T economy story. Once their use is over, they will be discarded and will be witch hunted by these racists.
Raja

Post by Raja »

And the Trump chaos continues to undermine India and Indians.

Overall 3 percent drop in Total Tourist arrivals in the U.S
U.S. Tourism Fell in August, With Sharp Decline From India
https://skift.com/2025/09/17/u-s-touris ... rom-india/

Indian Tourists To US Dropped 15% In August Amid Geopolitical Tensions–And Still No Trade Deal
https://www.forbes.com/sites/suzannerow ... rade-deal/
Key Facts
Indian visitation to the U.S. dropped 15% in August compared to the same month last year, according to provisional data released Wednesday by the National Travel & Tourism Office (NTTO), part of the U.S. Commerce Department.

It was the third consecutive month of decline, following a 8% year-over-year drop in June and 6% in July, a period when trade diplomacy between the countries unraveled.

During the same three-month period in 2024, Indian visitation surged 35% in June, 26% in July and 9% in August compared to the same months in 2023.

Tensions between the two countries have flared in recent months, with Modi contradicting Trump’s claim that the U.S. had brokered a ceasefire between India and Pakistan and Trump’s 25% reciprocal tariff on Indian goods kicking in alongside a punitive 25% tariff on India for buying Russian oil.

The 10% overall drop in Indian tourists over three months likely cost the U.S. about $340 million in visitor spending at hotels, restaurants and other tourism-related businesses, based on calculations from NTTO data.