India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Deans wrote: 22 Sep 2025 21:45 Tourist numbers from all over the world into the US are down.
Add to that drop in students from all countries - India seeing the biggest drop.
Due to India, US lost only $350 M. It is a mere 4-5% of the total drop. Canadians might have done the most damage. IDK.

saip wrote: 22 Sep 2025 23:36 Few days back my SiL came from Blore. The flight was empty she said. So much so, she was able to sleep on her row. The flight interestingly took a detour via Kolkata (refueling - Paki problem I guess) and then came non-stop to SFO.
Now it is non-peak time. I am sure you would know that colleges started in Aug itself.

saip wrote: 22 Sep 2025 23:36 Few days back my SiL came from Blore. The flight was empty she said. So much so, she was able to sleep on her row. The flight interestingly took a detour via Kolkata (refueling - Paki problem I guess) and then came non-stop to SFO.
Boeing plane perhaps? People may be avoiding them.

US Ambassador Nominee to India Sergio Gor meets External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar in New York.

He also met Rubio:
“Secretary Rubio, reiterating that India is a relationship of critical importance to the United States, expressed his appreciation for the Indian government’s continued engagement on a number of issues including trade, defense, energy, pharmaceuticals, critical minerals, and other items related to the bilateral relationship.

gakakkad wrote: 22 Sep 2025 22:42
I am unable to find yield per hectare data in the last 5 years .
I think it is on this GOI page, scroll down.
https://upag.gov.in

“Explore Area, Production and Yield for various crops across years and state wise”

—-
AI gives this - verify before use:
In 2024, India's total foodgrain yield was projected at 2,515 kg/ha, with specific crop yields varying, such as 436 kg/ha for cotton (FY2024) and an average 3.7 tonnes/ha (3,700 kg/ha) for maize. While final 2024 figures are still being released, the 2023-24 year saw promising trends, with record final estimates for rice, wheat, and other cereals from the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare.
Key Yields for 2024:
Total Foodgrains:
A projected 2,515 kg/ha for the year 2024, with an updated figure of 2,548 kg/ha for 2025.
Cotton:
An estimated 436 kg/ha for the fiscal year 2024, which was a decrease from the previous year.
Maize:
An average yield of 3.7 tonnes per hectare (3,700 kg/ha).
Rice:
Record final estimates for 2023-24 were released in September 2024.

ricky_v wrote: 22 Sep 2025 21:36
uddu wrote: 22 Sep 2025 11:15 https://x.com/ByRakeshSimha/status/1969958646244372670
@ByRakeshSimha
MAGA supporters on 4Chan launched "Clog the Toilet" operation to block Indian H1B workers from returning to the US by reserving flight seats without paying. Flight prices spiked. A 4Chan post urged, "Clog the flight reservation system!" to keep Indian workers grounded. Some claimed to have locked up 100 seats. But here's the kicker - there was no deadline for Indians to return, and Air India does not do refunds. 🤣 So these low IQ incels at 4Chan lost a ton of money. Just proves the US needs more - not less - H1B workers.
if we do not know the enemy properly, we cannot defeat it; after having used 4chan for many years, i will say that they are an eclectic mixture of lonely, introverted and high functioning autistic men

https://www.popularmechanics.com/scienc ... rmutation/

what they did in the above was holding the ticket, as in they filled in the details but did not checkout, this triggered a 15 minute holding period for the seat selected, and they brute spammed this multiple times, some even created a script to auto fill the details and hold, this in actuality caused prices to spike up, one legitimate flyer had to pay upwards of $6000 because of such antics

hence the name: clogging, because they were jamming up the entire system, it came to naught as the policies were updated afterwards, but in the interim, they had a lot of screenshots, i would know, i was there

what you think of describing are stromfront thugs who are illiterate for all purposes, the same is not true for 4chan, not by a long shot, some rich philosophical, technical, literary discussions can only be had there, there is quite literally no other place existing like it
:shock: Americans are very very savvy in their own way.
pravula

Post by pravula »

Amber G. wrote: 23 Sep 2025 01:46 US Ambassador Nominee to India Sergio Gor meets External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar in New York.
Way off-topic: Its fun to see different styles of jackets and how people sit with them on. I see most single breasted jacket people unbutton when sitting on a chair. Whats the etiquette for a double breasted one? Is there a fashion thread... :?:

pravula wrote: 23 Sep 2025 08:17
Amber G. wrote: 23 Sep 2025 01:46 US Ambassador Nominee to India Sergio Gor meets External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar in New York.
Way off-topic: Its fun to see different styles of jackets and how people sit with them on. I see most single breasted jacket people unbutton when sitting on a chair. Whats the etiquette for a double breasted one? Is there a fashion thread... :?:

pravula ji, just saying onlee

Why follow gora etiquette, when you can have your own

these guys use paper, we use water. Do they follow your etiquette for hygiene

BTW, see any picture with Doval ji.

Most of the time his jacket is unbuttoned, standing or sitting

These guys are comfortable in their own brown skins

While wearing a regular jacket which can have 1, 2 or 3 buttons depending on the fashion trends of the moment, one can button up middle 1, top 2 or all 3 buttons while standing, walking etc depending on the weather and formality of the occasion. But while sitting one must unbutton at least the bottom one so that it's not ripped off while sitting.

While wearing a double breasted jacket, more formal by design, which has typically 3, and rarely 2 buttons, one cannot unbutton all of them since the lapels will hang loose and flap around awkwardly. So one is forced to button up the top 2 or all three while standing or walking. While sitting, one is obliged to unbutton the bottom button to avoid ripping it off, just like for a regular single breasted jacket.

The way Dr SJ is wearing it is correct. But sometimes his shirt, collar, tie and pocket kerchief styles and colour combinations are not to my taste. For example wearing a striped tie on a striped shirt etc. while not fundamentally wrong it makes for a too busy outfit.

Lastly the elegance of a suit comes from how well it fits your body shape and the shoes you wear with it. If you cannot afford a bespoke suit, then at least get your ready made suit adjusted for silhouette, sleeve length, trouser etc at a good tailor shop.

And for god's sake remove the brand label from the sleeve before wearing a ready made suit. It's there only to help find it while hanging on a rack in the shop. BTW black suits are for bouncers, limo drivers and funerals. Brown suits for semi formal occasions in spring and autumn. Tweeds for country side. Greys, cream colours, and linens are for summers and weddings. Blues for year round wear for office goers.
Hope this helps.

BTW these are not some random rules defined by someone's whims, it's just common sense. If you decide to wear a suit then wear it in a way that maximises your elegance by it's style, fit and fitness for the season and occasion, without screaming for attention to yourself.

Else go for desi outfits like NaMo, he also wears different half jackets depending on season and occasion, and his choices are careful and quite impeccable, and usually send a message relevant to the occasion.