India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Venezuela situation is still fluid. Some statements may have been designed to elicit certain responses. Testing the waters, so to speak. I am sure transatlantic telephone lines are busy with highly encrypted traffic. They have to consider DNC concerns.

Of course, some here believe that Trump is a dictator and illegitimate.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Amber G. wrote: 05 Jan 2026 01:02 Marco Rubio just said the quiet part out loud. Rubio didn’t cite law, trade, or consent...

Why does China need their oil? Russia? Iran? This is the West. This is where we live.”

Russia, China, and Iran must “get out,” Rubio said — because the Western Hemisphere is ours, and no one from “outside our hemisphere” is allowed in America’s backyard.
isn't ukraine Russia's backyard :roll:

drnayar wrote: 05 Jan 2026 03:37 isn't ukraine Russia's backyard :roll:
Great catch. But then that is on Eurotrash.

Trump has warned of fresh Tariffs on India over oil trade with Russia:
“PM Modi is a very good man. He's a good guy. He knew I was not happy. It was important to make me happy. They do trade, and we can raise tariffs on them very quickly”.

It’s more likely the EU-India deal of $690 billion over ten years that precluded use of US dollars.

I am surprised the Europeans have the temerity to do this.

I really wonder what card India is secretly holding. Nothing seems to faze them. Is it the growing power of China which only makes India more desirable and perhaps critical?

Or are they indeed sitting in a Guyana sized oil field in the Andamans?
RCase

Post by RCase »

Amber G. wrote: 05 Jan 2026 10:30 Trump has warned of fresh Tariffs on India over oil trade with Russia:
“PM Modi is a very good man. He's a good guy. He knew I was not happy. It was important to make me happy. They do trade, and we can raise tariffs on them very quickly”.
The man wants a happy ending! No worries, Modiji can speak to Uncle XI to send a cute chinese masseuse to villa Mar-Lo to do the needful. :D
RCase

Post by RCase »

Amber G. wrote: 05 Jan 2026 01:02 Marco Rubio just said the quiet part out loud. Rubio didn’t cite law, trade, or consent...

Why does China need their oil? Russia? Iran? This is the West. This is where we live.”

Russia, China, and Iran must “get out,” Rubio said — because the Western Hemisphere is ours, and no one from “outside our hemisphere” is allowed in America’s backyard.
India should sieze the opportunity and declare that the Indian subcontinent will not be allowed to have any outside powers in it's hemisphere (read BD, Nepal, Bhutan, SL, Myanmar and Maldives). The first salvo needs to be BD that will serve as a warning shot to the others to toe the line. Time to downsize Bangladesh immediately, before others come in and India has to play defense. Widen the chicken necks and other areas of national strategic interest. It is Vasudaiv Kutumbukum onlee.

Sharing: Joint Statement by Chairman Grassley and Ranking Member Durbin:
There is no legitimate basis for excluding the Senate Judiciary Committee from this briefing.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

sanjaykumar wrote: 06 Jan 2026 03:02 It’s more likely the EU-India deal of $690 billion over ten years that precluded use of US dollars.

I am surprised the Europeans have the temerity to do this.

I really wonder what card India is secretly holding. Nothing seems to faze them. Is it the growing power of China which only makes India more desirable and perhaps critical?

Or are they indeed sitting in a Guyana sized oil field in the Andamans?
India probably is but no need to get unwanted attention.. at least not just yet !!

or are we sitting on giant lithium/uranium deposits somewhere?

Trump says Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi “is not very happy with me because they are paying a lot of tariffs”.
“India ordered 68 Apaches, and Prime Minister Modi came to see me, sir, may I see you, please? Yes. I have a very good relationship with him. He's not that happy with me because, you know, they're paying a lot of tariffs now.

Modi came to see him where?

Rudradev wrote: 07 Jan 2026 09:31 Modi came to see him where?
He is playing mind game. Telling stories to confuse. Typical Trump style. He started his first campaign in similar fashion. The more noise you make, the more controversial statements you make, the more media/global attention you get.
Namo is ignoring his controversial statements for the same reason. The moment you comment against Trump or make a statement as a retaliation or even as a clarification, he grabs attention of media and global leaders. The more you ignore him, the desired effect that he desires of the the media agenda setter did not happen with Namo and India.

Orange man seems to be determined to embarrass others to show his superiority

https://www.ndtv.com/world-news/sir-may ... i-10468964

In order for me to win, you must lose.

Amber G. wrote: 07 Jan 2026 04:08 Trump says Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi “is not very happy with me because they are paying a lot of tariffs”.
“India ordered 68 Apaches, and Prime Minister Modi came to see me, sir, may I see you, please? Yes. I have a very good relationship with him. He's not that happy with me because, you know, they're paying a lot of tariffs now.
I thought I am paying the tariffs and not India. Bru Instant Coffee which I buy has gone up from $5 to $9 (but the price in India has stayed the same). Now will Modi send me the difference? I am hereby nominating the OM for 'Nobel' in Economics.
And what is this 'SIR' business?

https://www.deccanherald.com/india/foll ... ws-3854379
This rule in diplomatic sense should it not be a two way traffic
Meaning US padres or other do gooders like Some crazy academics should be treated same way by India??

X- Post from Geopolitics/Geoeconomics Thread - June 2015
Mukesh.Kumar wrote: 08 Jan 2026 01:36 Breaking News: BBC: US seizes Russian-flagged tanker in Atlantic as UK confirms it gave support to operation

The US Coast Guard boarded the Marinera (originally the Bella-1, which was reflagged to Russia and changed name). The Americans are really in a hurry to precipitate a crisis. Is it because they believe that Russia is too weak and bogged down in Ukraine to take concrete steps against the US?

At the same time with the White House speaking forth on Greenland, the US seems to antagonize Europe. How many fires are being lit at the same time?

saip wrote: 07 Jan 2026 21:31 Now will Modi send me the difference?
You, my dear sir, are gonna get USD2K tax reductions come April 15, 2026. Why are you complaining, arya varya?! Oh wait. Noisome is going to eat everything.

Why did Trump suddenly decide he needs a bill to impose tariffs?

Either he has advance notice of the way the Supreme Court is going to rule on the tariff case (and his cronies are busy making their insider bets on the stock market) or else something else is going on.

Jeffrey Sachs view on India US issues
Why India Should Not Bet on the US For Global Dominance & Growth: Jeffrey Sachs Explains
Renowned economist Jeffrey Sachs explains why India should not be dependent on the United States For Its Global Dominance & For Economic Growth. Sachs highlights challenges and issues that the US can create for India. Watch this video to know more.

“Strategic Relationship Of 25 Years Is Gone,” Sareen Slams Trump Over Russia Sanction Bill
Foreign policy expert KP Fabian on Tuesday said that the proposed Russia sanctions bill under the Trump administration is primarily aimed at putting pressure on Moscow to move forward on a Ukraine settlement. He noted that former US President Donald Trump is keen to finalise a Ukraine deal and that the Americans have largely aligned with Ukraine and European nations on the broad terms of the arrangement. Fabian added that France and Britain are expected to play a role in Ukraine as part of a European force intended to deter any future Russian aggression. He said the sanctions should be viewed in the larger geopolitical context of securing long-term stability in the region.

The stoopids/traitors within. As anticipated the vulnerable American lobby within. Remember these same people played a major role during Vajpayee days asking govt to compromise with terrorists and succeeded in it too(Kandahar hijack). This was anticipated. Nothing surprising there. Came little earlier than thought.
Mohandas Pai On India-US Deadlock On The Trade Deal And Why PM & Trump Must Talk

Mohandas Pai reveals why the US-India trade deal remains stuck per Trump aide's insights—high tariffs, Russia ties, and tough bargaining tactics dominate talks. Pai decodes impacts on exports, economy, and strategies amid 25% tariff threats. Expect sharp analysis on Modi's diplomacy and Piyush Goyal's efforts.

Last edited by uddu on 09 Jan 2026 16:39, edited 1 time in total.

https://www.rediff.com/news/report/no-t ... 260109.htm
No trade deal as Modi didn't call Trump: US commerce secy
Yoshita Singh, January 09, 2026

In an interview with the 'All-in Podcast' on Thursday, Lutnick detailed how the India-US trade deal has not happened till now.
"I'll tell you a story about India. I did the first deal with the UK, and we told the UK that they had to get it done by two Fridays from now. That the train was going to leave the station by two Fridays, because I have a lot of other countries doing things, and you know, if someone else is first, they're first. President Trump does deals like a staircase," Lutnick said.
"(The) first stair gets the best deal. You can't get the best deal after the first guy," he said.
Lutnick said Trump does things that way 'because that way it incents you to come to the table'.
He recalled that after the UK deal, everyone asked Trump which country will be next and while the president talked about a variety of countries, 'but he names India a couple of times publicly'.
"And we were talking (with) India, and we told India, 'you have three Fridays'. Well, they have to get it done," he said.
Lutnick said that while he would negotiate the contracts with the countries and set the whole deal up, "But let's be clear, it's his (Trump) deal. He is the closer. He does the deal. So I said 'You got to have Modi, it's all set up, you have to have Modi call the President. They (India) were uncomfortable doing it, so Modi didn't call."
Lutnick said after that Friday, the US announced trade deals with Indonesia, the Philippines and Vietnam.
He added that Washington was negotiating with other countries and 'assumed India was going to be done before them'.
"I have negotiated them at a higher rate. So now the problem is the deals came out at a higher rate. And then India calls back and says, 'Oh, okay, we are ready'. I said, 'ready for what, it was like three weeks later'," he said.
"I go, 'Are you ready for the train that left the station three weeks ago?' So what happened is they just, there's sometimes there's that seesaw, and people are just on the wrong side of the seesaw," the trade secretary said.
"So what happened is India just was on the wrong side of the seesaw, and it was just they couldn't get it done," Lutnick said, imitating a seesaw with his hands.

https://x.com/CA_Divorce/status/2009281292068962489
@CA_Divorce
As Sridhar Vembu’s counsel, I can add some facts missing from the article. The order was made 1 year ago on an emergency application by his wife, meaning we had little time to response to the outrageously false allegations she made against Sridhar. The judge in California was completely misled by the wife’s attoney, who is not even licensed to practice law in California and has inserted himself into this case from New York even though there are no New York issues. Sridhar offered his wife 50% of his shares in ZCPL, but to this day she has refused to accept the stock. Instead, she has claimed that Sridhar is trying to cheat her in the divorce. This makes no sense as she could take her half of the shares now and Sridhar has already transferred his interest in the family home to her. Despite acting honorably during this process, the judge was fooled into making an order that Sridhar post a $1.7 billion bond for the wife’s supposed protection. There is no legal authority for such an order. A subsequent judge acknowledged that the amount seemed absurd. Sridhar was able to borrow up to $150 million against his shares which was the extent of his ability to comply but the wife would not accept the money. This was a waste of time by the wife as she has nothing to show for her effort to disparage Sridhar. Her attorney misled the court and may be misleading her too about reality, while he has billed millions of dollars of fees. This has nothing to do with alimony by the way, as the wife has not even sought an order for support. Sridhar is in full compliance with all lawful orders of the California. The $1.7 billion bond order is invalid, cannot be complied with, and is on appeal. The receivership order has been stayed on appeal. So, this old news about an order that should never have been made. I am honored to represent Sridhar and to have been given the opportunity to know such a wonderful person. This case does not define him and mirrors the bad actions of his wife and her New York attorney.

https://x.com/i/status/2009303387934958054
@AadiAchint
Check out the hit piece
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

g.sarkar wrote: 09 Jan 2026 16:17 https://www.rediff.com/news/report/no-t ... 260109.htm

In an interview with the 'All-in Podcast' on Thursday, Lutnick detailed how the India-US trade deal has not happened till now.
"I'll tell you a story about India. I did the first deal with the UK, and we told the UK that they had to get it done by two Fridays from now. That the train was going to leave the station by two Fridays, because I have a lot of other countries doing things, and you know, if someone else is first, they're first. President Trump does deals like a staircase," Lutnick said.
"(The) first stair gets the best deal. You can't get the best deal after the first guy," he said.
Lutnick said Trump does things that way 'because that way it incents you to come to the table'.
He recalled that after the UK deal, everyone asked Trump which country will be next and while the president talked about a variety of countries, 'but he names India a couple of times publicly'.
"And we were talking (with) India, and we told India, 'you have three Fridays'. Well, they have to get it done," he said.
Lutnick said that while he would negotiate the contracts with the countries and set the whole deal up, "But let's be clear, it's his (Trump) deal. He is the closer. He does the deal. So I said 'You got to have Modi, it's all set up, you have to have Modi call the President. They (India) were uncomfortable doing it, so Modi didn't call."
Lutnick said after that Friday, the US announced trade deals with Indonesia, the Philippines and Vietnam.
He added that Washington was negotiating with other countries and 'assumed India was going to be done before them'.
"I have negotiated them at a higher rate. So now the problem is the deals came out at a higher rate. And then India calls back and says, 'Oh, okay, we are ready'. I said, 'ready for what, it was like three weeks later'," he said.
"I go, 'Are you ready for the train that left the station three weeks ago?' So what happened is they just, there's sometimes there's that seesaw, and people are just on the wrong side of the seesaw," the trade secretary said.
"So what happened is India just was on the wrong side of the seesaw, and it was just they couldn't get it done," Lutnick said, imitating a seesaw with his hands.
Decouple trade relations from America as much as possible., best way to insulate.. same for other countries, reduce exposure., let them wait. Any agreement with America is not worth the paper.

drnayar wrote: 09 Jan 2026 16:39
g.sarkar wrote: 09 Jan 2026 16:17 https://www.rediff.com/news/report/no-t ... 260109.htm

Decouple trade relations from America as much as possible., best way to insulate.. same for other countries, reduce exposure., let them wait. Any agreement with America is not worth the paper.
And our stance is very clear. We dont do trade deals with timelines and trade deal need to be beneficial to both and based on Trust.
Piyush Goyal SCHOOLS West, Exposes Tariff Hypocrisy At Berlin Global Dialogue | Watch

Licknut is a clown. This whole admin is a circus. The longer it takes the better for India , we will diversity our export markets and reduce dependency.

Our response is solid. Exposed Nutwick and his agents in India.:twisted:
PM Modi, Trump spoke 8 times on phone in 2025: India rebuts US Commerce Secy Howard Lutnick's remarks on trade deal
https://www.livemint.com/news/india/pm- ... 74900.html
The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) on Friday rebutted US Commerce Secretary Howard Lutnick's remarks on the trade deal, stating that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and President Donald Trump spoke eight times on the phone last year.

PM Modi, Trump spoke on phone on eight occasions in 2025,” MEA spokesperson Randhir Jaiswal said.

India-US trade talks: We remain interested in mutually beneficial trade deal, says MEA
https://www.livemint.com/economy/indiau ... 52682.html
The Ministry of External Affairs stated that India and the US have been negotiating a bilateral trade agreement since February last year, with the objective of reaching a mutually beneficial deal through numerous discussions.

Speaking on India-US trade deal, Randhir Jaiswal during MEA weekly press briefing said, “India and the United States were committed to negotiating a bilateral trade agreement with the US as far back as 13th of February last year. That is, since then, the two sides have held multiple rounds of negotiations to reach a balanced, mutually beneficial trade agreement. On several occasions, we have been close to a deal. The characterisation of these discussions, the reported remarks, is not accurate.”

He added, “We remain interested in a mutually beneficial trade deal between two complementary economies, and look forward to concluding it. Incidentally, Prime Minister and President Trump have also spoken on the phone on eight occasions in 2025, covering various aspects of our wide-ranging. work. work. Incidentally, Prime Minister and President Trump have also spoken on the phone on eight occasions during 2025, covering different aspects of our wide-ranging partnership.”
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

this is a given.. matter of time only. America cannot be trusted on any deal. Decoupling from the american economy as much as possible and making indian economy self sufficient is only way.. good that we started the process way back.

https://x.com/TheNavroopSingh/status/20 ... 3323849003
@TheNavroopSingh
Trump wanted to Badger Modi in June-July 2025 when Deal was almost there. Even in November 2025, we were close to a deal but then India’s stern no on F-35 blew it up as US trade delegation left empty handed.

The Pre-Conditions imposed by America:

1) Stop Russian energy & Arms
2) Tie up with US MIC
3) Open Indian Agri & Dairy to US Corporates
4) India should be part of US bloc leave all Chinese dominated Blocs or risks being cut off from US Tech & Finance
5) Give Trump a mega Defence Deal

Modi Refused on all these counts, they targeted Reliance for arbitrage on Russian Oil, Adani by DoJ, Tech Companies by H1B Visa & Immigration laws. Unleashed Bessent & Navarro on India.

The White House meltdown after Tianjin Summit at SCO that we have lost India & Russia to deepest darkest China was a trigger to Putin-Modi meet of 45 minutes.

Trump’s plan to target Modi politically was laid bare and when the plan blew open thanks to the Kremlin intell that is what i believe lead to sudden volte face in Trump trying to mend fences.

But they haven’t given up coz India is the biggest impediment now in US’s total hegemony in Indo-Pacific. If India’s resistance is broken the BRICS resistance and big Russian support would go down too. So we are now the main target of Washington DC !

Here we are in 2026 with solution to this impasse. Things have turned sour after India scored various FTAs, stood defiant to Trump, gave red carpet to Putin & signed RELOS giving access of IOR to Russian ships. Engaging China with Moscow’s Good Office’s !

Trump sought a call with Modi & wished to announce a mega deal, Modi denied him opportunity. India communicated to USA that July 2025 offer was final take it or leave it !

In November 2025, call did happen between PM Modi & POTUS. While PM Modi acknowledged the call, the White House/POTUS did not.

Amply hints that India stood its ground to Trump bullying and did not concede its core national interests or strategic autonomy.

India is strategically dealing with White House, the Congress & Corporate America separately. While we are welcoming investments by American Corporates openly, we are lobbying with Congress and standing firm to Trump White House !

This distinction is very essential to understand !

https://x.com/JethmalaniM/status/2009591924605550950
@JethmalaniM
With the U.S. Supreme Court poised to rule on Trump’s emergency tariffs today, one question lingers: did Trump see the writing on the wall? Because reading the tea leaves, it’s hard not to conclude that Trump expects to lose on the emergency tariffs. The courts are, in all probability, going to nullify the TARIFFS, albeit prospectively and not retrospectively.

Courts have a way of reining in executive overreach, and this case always carried that risk. When an economic lever looks set to snap, a political operator doesn’t wait for the verdict - he lines up an alternative show of strength. Donald Trump did that already last week.

Venezuela wasn’t an impulse; it was insurance. If tariffs were about economic coercion, Venezuela is about strategic control - energy, influence, and raw power exercised beyond the reach of judicial veto. When one tool is likely to be taken away, another is put emphatically on the table.

This is classic power politics. Courts constrain policy; geopolitics compensates. Trump understands that.

So if the ruling goes against him, don’t treat Venezuela as coincidence. Treat it as pre-emption. Leaders who expect legal setbacks often move first elsewhere.

History is full of such sequences; this one is just unfolding in real time.