West Asia News and Discussions

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: West Asia News and Discussions

uddu wrote: 10 Jan 2026 16:06
SRajesh wrote: 10 Jan 2026 16:00 So if Iran falls and they revert back to Zoroasterianism!!
Chances are less. The Zoroastrians in Iran will be able to follow their faith with little bit more freedom. They will be a an Islamic country without wearing Hijab but abusing Kafirs under their new Shah. Following and living as per Islamic religious believes is difficult, but its cool to be using the powers against others. Don't belive the Narratives during the color revolution.
Very well put Uddu-ji. This is the crux of the issue when dealing with any society that has been radicalized.

Wish ShyamD was around. He was extremely knowledgeable with ground level information on this part of the world.

I expect in the event that the Khamenei regime is overthrown, Iran just might try to become a secular though Muslim-majority country.

The Chosun of South Korea reports:
Netanyahu Aims to Phase Out U.S. Military Aid Within a Decade
Israeli Prime Minister emphasizes military maturity, plans $110 billion investment to build independent defense industry
https://www.chosun.com/english/world-en ... TCSW4VLHQ/
The Economist, a British weekly magazine, reported in an interview with Prime Minister Netanyahu published on the 10th, local time, that he stated, “We want to gradually reduce U.S. military aid within the next 10 years.”

When asked if he would reduce U.S. military support to “zero (0),” Netanyahu responded, “Yes.”

Prime Minister Netanyahu has previously indicated that Israel should not rely on military aid. However, this is the first time he has publicly stated his position on U.S. military support.
RCase

Post by RCase »

SRajesh wrote: 10 Jan 2026 16:00 So if Iran falls and they revert back to Zoroasterianism!!
Here is a video from PGurus with a guy who is pretty well versed with Iranian life and belief system. Interesting insights to the strain of Zoroastrianism in Iran. Also an interesting perspective of bringing in a vedic perspective to that society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7VpWBPhmlY
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

RCase wrote: 11 Jan 2026 01:03
Here is a video from PGurus with a guy who is pretty well versed with Iranian life and belief system. Interesting insights to the strain of Zoroastrianism in Iran. Also an interesting perspective of bringing in a vedic perspective to that society.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7VpWBPhmlY
[youtube]E7VpWBPhmlY[/youtube
Americans will bring in pahlavi and return back Iran into american orbit !

I see an Iran that is not subject to American sanctions to be to India’s benefit. The northern route, route to Afghanistan, Chabahar port investment, etc., will be fruitful.

A_Gupta wrote: 11 Jan 2026 06:26 I see an Iran that is not subject to American sanctions to be to India’s benefit. The northern route, route to Afghanistan, Chabahar port investment, etc., will be fruitful.
There are no need for sanctions when the ruler will be merely a puppet with strings in the hands of the US

Manish_P wrote: 11 Jan 2026 10:50
A_Gupta wrote: 11 Jan 2026 06:26 I see an Iran that is not subject to American sanctions to be to India’s benefit. The northern route, route to Afghanistan, Chabahar port investment, etc., will be fruitful.
There are no need for sanctions when the ruler will be merely a puppet with strings in the hands of the US
NOt that. what he meant is we could buy oil from the Iranians without the threat of sanctions. But yes Pahlavi will be a leader who may have to take approval from the Americans before he agrees for it. will be far worse than the current Venezuelan leadership.

The chants are Mashallah..Mashallah
https://x.com/SalmanSima/status/2010087848808976709
@SalmanSima
The people of Iran outsmarted the Islamic Republic:
The regime cut the lights and electricity in the major streets of Tehran to prevent the greatness of the protesters' crowd from being shown and to make it difficult for people to document their unity. But the brave Iranians turned on the flashlights of their cell phones and created an even more epic scene of unity.

https://x.com/i/status/2009988189876887624
@inside_nk
BREAKING | Iranian Azerbaijani Turkish political groups have issued a joint statement calling on Iran’s Turkic population to fully and actively join the ongoing nationwide protests.

Iran’s Azerbaijani Turks are not a small group - they are one of the largest ethnic communities in the country.

This marks a significant escalation, signalling potential ethnic and regional mobilisation alongside broader popular unrest in Iran.

https://x.com/i/status/2010100632955302179
@RudawEnglish
The Kurdish-led SDF said on Saturday that a Kurdish female fighter was executed and thrown from a building by the Syrian army.

The fighter was reportedly captured by armed men after resisting an army attack in the Kurdish-majority neighborhood of Sheikh Maqsood for hours.

https://x.com/KevorkAlmassian/status/20 ... 9308549299
@KevorkAlmassian
Egyptian activists are circulating this image of the terrorist who was present at the execution scene of the female Kurdish fighter.

According to these activists, he is the Egyptian national, Ahmed Al-Mansouri, wanted by Egyptian security services.

What is beyond dispute is the bigger picture: Syria has become a playground for foreign jihadists, where execution-style violence is filmed and celebrated, while Western and regional backers pretend this is a “new state” bringing stability.

https://x.com/i/status/2010081290897244297
@Kurdistan_AR
The new Syrian government is ISIS.

We Kurds fought ISIS for 15 years, and we know very well how they think. The Syrian government is extremist and terrorist.

They only pretend in the media that they have changed, but in reality their actions are exactly the same as ISIS. Remember what they did to the Druze, Alawites, and Christians, and recently to the Kurds through massacres.

They always tell their supporters that they are weak now and forced to deceive the United States and the world. They say that when they become stronger and build their army, they will declare Sharia and jihad, attack Israel, and “liberate” Jerusalem and even Andalusia.
Every day they also remind us that they will take revenge on us, the Kurds, because we defeated ISIS in Raqqa and Baghouz. They say they will free ISIS families from al-Hol camp.

Do not trust them. They are like cancer.

https://x.com/i/status/2009904120141111726
@AadiAchint
This is typical American freedom and democracy backed by Jolani in Syria.

https://x.com/KGG6766/status/2009230191252693342
@KGG6766
Videos show armed Islamist Syrian Army men escorting the Kurdish Female Fighter while grabbing her hair, hurling dehumanizing insults such as “pigs,”
This is exposing the reality behind claims of a “new Syria.”

A_Gupta wrote: 10 Jan 2026 22:39 I expect in the event that the Khamenei regime is overthrown, Iran just might try to become a secular though Muslim-majority country.
Oxymoron.

https://x.com/i/status/2009856695464251733
@jasminejoziy12
EXTREMELY IMPORTANT!

A leaked voice recording of a jihadist reveals a commander working for the ‘Syrian government’ ordered the massacre of ALL Kurds in Aleppo! INCLUDING NEWBORN BABIES!!

Jihadi ‘commander’ Abu Amsha is amongst those sanctioned by UK recently!

"We received an order from Commander Abu Amsha: Any child, any woman, whatever they are—virgin, young woman, girl, infant—if she's 6 months old or a day old, the important thing is that they belong to the Kurdish nationality, slaughter them, kill them immediately directly after you arrest them in Sheikh Maqsoud and Ashrafieh. Don't film anything, kill them on the spot, no filming—this is an order from Commander Abu Amsha."

https://x.com/i/status/2010067693224054786
@Shahrizor
Not Gazans this is Kurds getting ethnically cIeansed by the Syrian terror government as the International community continues praising Syria and removed all sanctions

No one is saving us but ourselves become united and let us stop these animaIs like we stopped their lsis

Manish_P wrote: 11 Jan 2026 10:50
Exactly. And I see no reason for objections about using the Chabahar port to get to Afghanistan.

A_Gupta wrote: 11 Jan 2026 12:20 ...
Exactly. And I see no reason for objections about using the Chabahar port to get to Afghanistan.
Well India didn't see any objection to refining and reselling Russian crude to Europe when they themselves were buying Gas directly from Russia, but then here we are...

How will Trump answer his Christian Fundamentalist base in the U.S?
https://x.com/i/status/1946545292691787852
@DanBurmawy
Pastor Khalid Mezher, leader of the Good Shepherd Evangelical Church, was killed in Sweida following the jihadist invasion, along with his entire family, his siblings, their children, and his parents.

Originally from a Druze background, Pastor Mezher and his entire family had embraced Christianity many years ago. They remained in Sweida, where they established a local evangelical church.

They were never harassed by their Druze community. But after the jihadists invaded Sweida, Pastor Khalid and twenty members of his family were brutally murdered.