Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

SRajesh wrote: 14 Jan 2026 00:32 ^^ We are ready to GUBO every 2nd year and visit Massa Centre.
We are ready to discuss 3-4 Lakh crores for MRCA
But we are not ready to shell 30,000 crores for an our own engine!!
And we already to experiment with 21/2 or 3-legged cheetah
But wont commit to desi fighters!!!
Why do i get a feeling that 'Atma' in the 'Atmanirbhar' has taken a flight to Greenland to fight in the dog-sledge!!
Rajesh guru,
I have discovered after being a well wisher for desh for decades now that it is a sure fire way to get high bp and regular heart burn.. I have come to believe that it is truly the unknown rishis in the Himalayas who protect that land. The leadership in almost any facet otherwise ...tauba tauba. Hackthoo.

^ Saar Yella Maya!!
Bayli ne Yeedu Bandu Hola maiyyo Gathi Bandide
Ayyo Narayana !!!

Nikhil_Naya wrote: 09 Dec 2025 19:19 Paanwallah info that I got recently while talking to my local chaiwallah, is that we are working to redesign the FADEC and CLAW for the aircraft with a redesign to accommodate a different engine. As of now this is more of a test/ trial group. Could be linked to a non amirkan engine for Tejas MK1A or something else I dont know at this point.
Sorry I missed this post.
I think there is a plan for a new jet engine to be installed in Mk1A. At least the 97 additional planes and an extra benefit is export orders don't need US permission.

I heard on various YouTube videos about SAFRAN trying to match the mounting pattern for Tejas Mk1A.

Meantime HAL chairman is on a visit to GE plant.
Sort of 'come to Jesus' meeting.
My take is GE will promise but won't deliver. Clearly they have govt pressure not to deliver per contract.
So an alternate engine should be explored.

I hope they get Kaveri to fly. That is the real alternative that we should focus on.

But knowing us, we are probably also exploring Safran 90KN engine or RR Ej200.. Nothing else fits the size and power.

The GE armtwisting is the reason why IAF's 114 Rafale wet dream might end up becoming reality

The IAF's position is now simple (& not without merit): if US/GE is going to be unreliable, how can we bet the Tejas farm (Mk1a, Mk2, AMCA-1 etc) on these? 114 Rafales will derisk squadron shortage

US is ensuring India leaps into France's arms

Of course, India will never leap into its own MIC arms because we won't fund the Kaveri, wouldn't order the Tejas in numbers which would have not let the GE line go idle etc etc. IAF's truancy finally pays off for them - at a humongous cost to the nation. The Rafale purchase will kill any Atmanirbhar CAPEX
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

From Indranil on twitter

https://x.com/Indrani1_Roy/status/2012077089512730737
Astra has been fired from Tejas multiple times since 2023. After successful carriage & separation trials, it was test fired at different ranges. First test trial at full range was a miss. Led to modifications. Multiple successful hits thereafter. Cleared to fire from all 4 pylons
Hopefully certification by CEMILAC for all weapons will follow and delivery of MK1A will happen soon.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Prem Kumar wrote: 16 Jan 2026 14:27 The GE armtwisting is the reason why IAF's 114 Rafale wet dream might end up becoming reality

The IAF's position is now simple (& not without merit): if US/GE is going to be unreliable, how can we bet the Tejas farm (Mk1a, Mk2, AMCA-1 etc) on these? 114 Rafales will derisk squadron shortage

Of course, India will never leap into its own MIC arms because we won't fund the Kaveri, wouldn't order the Tejas in numbers which would have not let the GE line go idle etc etc. IAF's truancy finally pays off for them - at a humongous cost to the nation. The Rafale purchase will kill any Atmanirbhar CAPEX
Does seem like to ensure erosion of India's strategic autonomy

a militarily capable truly independent India is a threat

ramana wrote: 16 Jan 2026 06:10 Meantime HAL chairman is on a visit to GE plant.
Sort of 'come to Jesus' meeting.
My take is GE will promise but won't deliver. Clearly they have govt pressure not to deliver per contract.
So an alternate engine should be explored.
BINGO! ---> viewtopic.php?p=2669058#p2669058
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

There is a certain group of folks in our establishment who think DoD is supportive of Indian military wrt Hans while only State Dept plays games. Arey bhai just because the hydra tickles you does that mean the head won’t burn you down ? Our one way trust in Amrika only lasted 25 years. Some might be hoping next admin is more supportive but that will be a fatal mistake. Like Ramanaji said may be all hush hush as we resurrect Tejas for future with Safran while hoping to get as much support as possible now.

The funny part is after all this love for France we will still end up supporting their lefty lot to criticise us.

Prem Kumar wrote: 16 Jan 2026 14:27 The GE armtwisting is the reason why IAF's 114 Rafale wet dream might end up becoming reality

So, Prem Kumar ji, who then is the IAF to trust (not to mention the IN and IA)

amrikis are out, as are the PSUs, (as the vitriolic comments of the air chief proved), Indian industry, and the whole bunch of boffins, including the babooze are out. WTF do these PSU clowns need orders in the multiple lakhs of crores and why not encourage industry to take up such work by sharing it with them. The answer may surprize you because the Indian industry does not trust their customers.

In manufacturing, CAPEX isn’t merely an expense. It’s survival.

If you don’t keep upgrading:- you get slower - you get costlier - you get obsolete and then you die, as an industry

Innovative CAPEX investment is the only way to stay in the game, but Indian industry is blissfully unaware of such niceties and continue using stuff that is long outdated

they want you to fund them for ever. Could we afford such luxuries and the govt still survives the fallout, because this is corruption territory. They will not train shop floor people because they get poached very quickly.

Take welders working in PSU shipyards building submarines, for instance.

It costs many tens of thousands per month (apart from their high salary) just to keep them current and qualified.

They are required to do frequent test welds to hold and prove current certification and inspectors to check such welds are very very expensive.

A few months after qualification, many welders simply disappear and resurface in the gulf.

No private company can afford the loss

france will never let us export the rafale or its components except back to france and that is, at best, a limited exercise

If the amrikis sanction Indian industry for exporting weapons, we are dead ducks and believe you me, they will do that sooner rather than later

Kaveri development has plateaued out because they have gone as far as they could and simply do not know what to do next and no amount of funds, flying, floating or even underground testbeds are going to help it.

It is the requirement of the boffins in charge that we need to seek external help to further progress on the kaveri development.

Which is why this govt is doing its very best to try and line up such external help

very few here may actually know what the govt is actively doing on the atmanirbhar front and the amount of money it has already laid out to meet this agenda

In the meanwhile lower level human resources at various labs keep saying let us do it, but they simply do not have the capability, as the govt (and the senior boffins) have rightly determined

It is ultimately the GoI's position that the amriki supply chain cannot be trusted. The forces have provided the feedback as is their duty.

If the forces are responsible for fighting the war, it is only fair that they have a say in the decision making process.

This happens the world over and is not specific to India as many here seem to think it is

and finally, the babooze have moved from their earlier overt obstruction to covert obstruction to undermine the efforts

Today's warfare, threats and weapon systems and platforms are very different from what it used to be in the past. So is the damage that they can cause, and the cost of ownership of such platforms is exorbitant over their life cycle.

during the korean war, both sides were using b@st@rdized versions of aerial platforms that had the same nazi parentage, with engines that could easily be traced back to the same britshit designers. Things have evolved since then, with even rich countries which will not attempt to build a military or commercial turbine engine without first tying up the JV partners because they simply cannot afford either the funds or manage the project risks on their own. It takes multiple partners to design such engines and share the expenses.

The country was bamboozled by a bunch of boffins who promised some govt in dilli that they would build them a military gas turbine engine in just a few short years. Many decades later we are still stuck in the deep water end of the decelopment pool and those boffins have long since disappeared and the project continues to emanate a strong fragrance of fertilizer. The GoI has rightly stopped the funding. What other options did it have............

The goras will not sell their engines, will not help us in the development, will not sell us critical alloys, and they have us by the short and curlies. There is a cartel that has been formed to make sure that India remains where it is.

That is both geopolitics and geostrategy, but mostly it is fear of another cheen emerging, a monster that they themselves willingly created and it is now eating ravenously at their vitals, limb by limb.....

this is an example
Volvo Flygmotor (now GKN Aerospace Engine Systems) took the American Pratt & Whitney JT8D commercial turbofan engine and significantly modified it, including adding a Swedish-designed afterburner system, to create the Volvo RM8 military engine for the Saab 37 Viggen fighter jet.

The conversion from a civil engine for airliners like the Boeing 727 and McDonnell Douglas DC-9 to a high-performance military engine involved extensive modifications:

Afterburner: A completely new, Swedish-developed afterburner and integrated fuel control system were added to provide the necessary thrust boost for supersonic flight, takeoff, and combat maneuvers.

Thrust Reverser: An airframe-mounted thrust reverser system was incorporated to enable short landings, a critical requirement for operating from Sweden's network of austere road bases.

Compressor and Fan: The fan and low-pressure compressor were redesigned to meet the demands of a fighter's flight envelope, including better stall margins at high altitudes and increased airflow for higher thrust.

Reliability: Changes were made to enhance reliability and durability for single-engine military operations, including more stringent bird strike protection for the fan blades.

This adaptation was a unique engineering feat, as converting a commercial engine with a bypass ratio designed for fuel efficiency into a powerful, afterburning military engine required substantial development work.
There are experts in the govt and the military who are seized of this matter and all its nuances. They do not conduct their business on twitter or facebook. Just let them do their thing. The GoI trusts them

Yes, there are lobbies but many of them are nationalist as well with views that echo the GoI's points. Our concerns will get through and be addressed.

Things are vastly improved since the new govt took over, so everyone, please do refrain from painting everyone in the decision making ecosystem with the same broad brush as before

Chetakji, while I fully get your point regarding the PSUs and lack of delivery from GTRE, a few points from my side.

The armed forces primary duty is to protect the nation from external threat. My humble assertion is that this should also include economic threats - there is a saying in marathi that says one should stretch only as long as your bed. The IAF asking for absolute top of line *at the cost of everything else * such as refuellers, AEW, HAS for assets etc isnt the best use of resources.
IAF is well aware of state of Indian industry or government labs. If that’s the case what is the point of asking for cutting edge ASQRs such as flat rated engines that require exotic metallurgy that we don’t have? Why not specify a RD33 level of engine technology and then iteratively work to develop it further?
The example of Volvo engine would not be possible for us. GE gave the license to do so to the Swedes. Zero chance of us getting that option.
The less said about IAFs treatment of LCA in the initial stages the better.
IAF knows exactly when and how its aircraft are being retired. Why did it not have a plan B except for putting all its eggs in the MRFA bucket? Did it not know how complicated the Indian defence procurement is for such big ticket items? Yet for IAF it was either MRFA or nothing else - a strange position to take.

This is no way excuses the scandalous behaviour of PSUs such as HAl that repeatedly lies on its deliveries and comes up with inane concepts like LIFT, Sport, Orca that will never see the light of the day rather than delivering what it is contracted to do..

As the saying goes… hamaam mein to sab nange hain..

Tanaji wrote: 17 Jan 2026 05:45 Chetakji, while I fully get your point regarding the PSUs and lack of delivery from GTRE, a few points from my side.

The armed forces primary duty is to protect the nation from external threat. My humble assertion is that this should also include economic threats - there is a saying in marathi that says one should stretch only as long as your bed. The IAF asking for absolute top of line *at the cost of everything else * such as refuellers, AEW, HAS for assets etc isnt the best use of resources.
IAF is well aware of state of Indian industry or government labs. If that’s the case what is the point of asking for cutting edge ASQRs such as flat rated engines that require exotic metallurgy that we don’t have? Why not specify a RD33 level of engine technology and then iteratively work to develop it further?
The example of Volvo engine would not be possible for us. GE gave the license to do so to the Swedes. Zero chance of us getting that option.
The less said about IAFs treatment of LCA in the initial stages the better.
IAF knows exactly when and how its aircraft are being retired. Why did it not have a plan B except for putting all its eggs in the MRFA bucket? Did it not know how complicated the Indian defence procurement is for such big ticket items? Yet for IAF it was either MRFA or nothing else - a strange position to take.

This is no way excuses the scandalous behaviour of PSUs such as HAl that repeatedly lies on its deliveries and comes up with inane concepts like LIFT, Sport, Orca that will never see the light of the day rather than delivering what it is contracted to do..

As the saying goes… hamaam mein to sab nange hain..

Tanaji saar,

You missed my point about volvo. When they started to modify the commercial engine, the engine manufacturer was not aware of the project. It was much later that they informed the OEM. The volvo guys took a strange engine, redesigned the fuel system, slapped on an afterburner, rejigged some of the rotating parts, militarized the engine to power a fighter and best of all, it was a private venture, where volvo carried the entire risk

They had people inhouse who were capable of rising to the occasion, and doing such work, and such quality of people do not exist in our ecosystem system even today

we are beset by the flying testbed gang, the more money gang and the retirement gang. This is a bad recipe for a national project, especially one with proven geopolitical implications that is founded on the premise that strategic autonomy is central to our growth

I have been reading up on aviation history, aircraft and engine development for a long time now. In the 30s and 40s, young engineers fresh out of university were slotted in directly into the design departments and handed a part of the project that they then developed

Various companies and countries bought the license to various production engines and aircraft and went ahead to modify them to suit their own requirements.

I personally know of one lady engineer who was responsible for the earthquake resistant foundation of many of the high rise buildings in bombay's nariman point. Her insecure male dumbschitt colleagues ganged up on her and pushed her out of the company because they felt threatened by her work.

In the aerospace sector, we have no such recognized examples of people who can innovate and produce workable results.

From the grotesque saras mk1 that failed to the more conventional saras mk 2 example that is now being built with the first flight still some time away. The mk 2 engines are the more conventional tractor configuration rather than the previous pusher configuration. WTF did they even build a pusher aircraft, they simply did not have the experience nor the capability. Two of the more successful pusher aircraft are the the Piaggio P.180 Avanti and Cessna 337 Skymaster (which later successfully evolved into the military version Cessna O-2 Skymaster). Pushers are comparatively rare and are not commonly used

They did it because there is no control over them. for them, money is free and responsibility for failure is non existent. They don't take responsibility because for them finger pointing and blame shifting is an olympic level sport at which they all excel

A very similar story of disaster happened with that "idly" AEW aircraft, which crashed killing all on board because the "idly" peeled off in flight

Don't expect the military to fight with one hand tied behind their back, not when a lot of Indians upgrade their cars and houses and children's schools every four five years or so. It is their mentality that they need to be safer, so why not the forces or is that asking for too much

Many youngsters in the military are far smarter and more grounded than the pampered software coolies in infosys, wipro or tata whatever. Their lives, hopes, aspirations and families are no less important than anyone else's. Twenty something officers are leading their troops into battle, troops who trust and follow them into harms way. Is there any equivalent on the civilian side, so please do not talk of hamaams in such a casual fashion

It is a constant pressure to maintain the quality of the intake. That is why there is a shortage of officers and troops because a drop in standards would be catastrophic for the frontline operations. This is still a voluntary armed force eager to serve and it needs to be valued

Very few can really appreciate the hamaam of the forces, especially when compromised politicos and babooze insist on filling it up with freezing cold water. This hamaam is unique.

let us end this topic here.
Last edited by chetak on 17 Jan 2026 10:00, edited 1 time in total.

I recall seeing a news report recently that the MoD has canceled the plan to develop a 90KN Kaveri Derivative with the involvement of Godrej and L&T. The reason given was that, since the GE404 is such a proven, reliable engine, no point spending money on developing a replacement for it. I don't remember which news site it was on.
Anyone hear anything about this?
TIA
basant

Post by basant »

AFAIK, the afterburner R&D was given to BrahMos. But later even that was disputed.

https://x.com/i/status/2012735414604599757
@FighterPiloting
Tejas Mk1A combat twin seaters have apparently been flying around for test flights. The inflight refueling socket without the attached probe visible. With attached probe also seen. Anyone with photographs, please... Thank you for your attention in the matter.

https://x.com/i/status/2012916719480930727
@Rethik_D
#update
Kaveri will be Integrated with it's destined platform "LCA Airframe" work regarding that started last year itself.
(Based on my Interaction with scientist working in this program at conferences)

I'm requesting few pathogenic yappers to hold your horses until this touches the sky. This is very crucial step ,part of KDE-RPSA Program.[/b ]
:twisted:

i dont think the issue is engines. HAL has not delivered on MK1A - there are enough in stock engines to show MK1A progress

V_Raman wrote: 20 Jan 2026 02:46 i dont think the issue is engines. HAL has not delivered on MK1A - there are enough in stock engines to show MK1A progress
It is the engines. The progress is there as the Astra missile test success was widely reported. Now there is something else they are integrating. And as we know about our forces, will demand perfection with indigenous systems including more features, which is a good thing that they get the best in service. If it's the MUM-T being integrated, even the Rafale don't have the capability and only will be coming with F5 variant. The number of airframes already has reached 12/almost reached 12.
The current engines delivered will not be used for testing of newly manufactured aircraft, but will be put on the airframe and flown and delivered to IAF. IAF may not agree to such a condition to use the 4 engines for initial tests on the remaining aircrafts. So its the engines from PVs doing that job.
ritesh

Post by ritesh »

GE404 and 414 are quite an successful engine and have been in production since long while. Why can't HAL just take a look at secondhand market and procure them for time being fitment for let's say half a decade and thereafter update them with newer batch engines as and when GE delivers in future?
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

ritesh wrote: 20 Jan 2026 11:58 GE404 and 414 are quite an successful engine and have been in production since long while. Why can't HAL just take a look at secondhand market and procure them for time being fitment for let's say half a decade and thereafter update them with newer batch engines as and when GE delivers in future?
May be nudge Korea or UAE to order 200 GE engines giving OM some credit and then buy back from them after cancelling our contract with GE. This seems the only way out ! :lol:
Think what Yahud would do in such a scenario!!

ritesh wrote: 20 Jan 2026 11:58 GE404 and 414 are quite an successful engine and have been in production since long while. Why can't HAL just take a look at secondhand market and procure them for time being fitment for let's say half a decade and thereafter update them with newer batch engines as and when GE delivers in future?
There is no such issue in technical terms with F414. This issue is specifically with the F404 with their South Korean supplier shutting shop. They seems to have sorted the issue, but the Trump factor came in.