Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Air Force Tejas Mk1A: News & Discussions: 02 January 2022

Hmmm, I have a theory, IAF/ GOI want to discredit HAL in the public mind atleast temporarily so that nobody questions the 114 Rafale deal and it's huge cost and why HAL is not the local partner? But I feel Raga will raise the same issues again.

RaGa will raise the Rafale issue, regardless of how successful (or otherwise) the Tejas Mk1A program is.

The delays in the Tejas Mk1A is unfortunate, but eventually the Mk1A will be inducted at 180 airframes. The program is delayed, like all military programs are. But that is par for the course. And it is even more so in the Indian context, due to our archaic bureaurcracy and political apathy towards national security.

114 Rafale deal exists primarily because we do not have our own homegrown turbofan. This is what happens when the stakeholders invested only a pittance towards engine development. Dassault, France, Rafale, Safran, non-VLO, no source code access for Rafale are not the real issues. These are distractions designed to divert the focus away from the stakeholders who refused to (and still do so!) fund India's own low bypass turbofan. So now pay the price for 114 Rafale or whatever other MRFA comes.

Post the 114 MRFA deal, the Su-57 will also be coming. Pay billions for that as well, but still do not complete Kaveri.

^^^^ A must read Twitter thread on this issue...

https://x.com/amargov/status/2019595264034804099?s=20

Also posting as a link for those who cannot access X ---> https://twitter-thread.com/t/2019595264034804099

If India Wants to Build a Jet Engine, It Should Know What China Endured
https://swarajyamag.com/commentary/if-i ... na-endured
05 Feb 2026

^^^ Comments on the above post...

https://x.com/cvkrishnan/status/2019599 ... 22121?s=20 ---> From 30 hrs to 3600 hrs MTBO there was $42 Billion R&D investment across China’s academia industry research labs, blood(not just of test pilots but of scientists inside labs), and an enormous will and risk taking appetite to get the damn engine.

https://x.com/cvkrishnan/status/2019602 ... 73841?s=20 ---> All the 4 nations that have jet engine technology, went through this. Decades of blood, sweat, risk and $$. And for Indian discourse, both inside govt and on SM, to be like “give me core Technology transfer, I buy $3-4 Billion worth engines” is comical.

VIDEO: https://x.com/ndtv/status/2020123942527332397?s=20 ---> "I think Tejas is a fairly capable aircraft. Now that the engines have finally started coming. We have 5 available and hopefully at least 5 more on the way in this current financial year, and the delivery is reasonably stable at about 20 and near every financial year thereafter": Defence Secretary Rajesh Kumar Singh to @vishnundtv

I was reviewing Group Captain (retd) Ajay Ahlawat interview with Swasti Rao.

Here are some observations on MK1A:

1. The IAF had requested some enhancements in previous version of Tejas and HAL said it will take a few months for the fix but it is 9 yrs since and no tangible movement by HAL.
2. The IAF had requested integration and enhancement with Rafale and India had to pay money for the changes. This took some time with vendor though the IAF does not acknowledge the delay.
3. With MK1A the changes requested (does anyone have the list requested by IAF?) are not complete. Maybe the Astra integration is the only one that is good to go.

My Questions are:

1. Is ADA involved in such change request given by the IAF.
2. If there are 10 request given and only 8 of them are completed why can't IAF take receipt of the planes. I am citing the 80:20 rule which Lockheed martin follows. What are exactly the priority for these changes, without which the IAF cannot operate planes.

In general HAL has an overflowing product line to keep up with production demands, and to have changes also added is quite the complexity of things to be done.

I need to use a very specific instrument for delicate surgery. It has a specific shape, needs to be of exact dimensions down to sub mm level and has other attachments that aid in operating said instrument. I pay a vendor lots of money to make the instrument and he agrees to do so in a time frame. At the end of the timeframe he says here is the instrument, use it for surgery - the instrument is not of specified dimensions, sharpness and is missing ancillary attachments. Vendor says adjust maadi, I will file it down for you and give the attachments later but please adjust and use in surgery.

Will you use it?
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Tanaji wrote: 08 Feb 2026 02:26 I need to use a very specific instrument for delicate surgery. It has a specific shape, needs to be of exact dimensions down to sub mm level and has other attachments that aid in operating said instrument. I pay a vendor lots of money to make the instrument and he agrees to do so in a time frame. At the end of the timeframe he says here is the instrument, use it for surgery - the instrument is not of specified dimensions, sharpness and is missing ancillary attachments. Vendor says adjust maadi, I will file it down for you and give the attachments later but please adjust and use in surgery.

Will you use it?
It did happen for submarine order I think esp with the french , they dragged out the tot to real screwdriver tech , did India really gain anything from the french with the scorpene subs, other than the hardware. One hopes that does not repeat with the Rafale deal.

Uncle made sure he has a spanner in the works
KSingh

Post by KSingh »

Aditya_V wrote: 07 Feb 2026 21:53 Hmmm, I have a theory, IAF/ GOI want to discredit HAL in the public mind atleast temporarily so that nobody questions the 114 Rafale deal and it's huge cost and why HAL is not the local partner? But I feel Raga will raise the same issues again.
Something very coordinated is going on no doubt

MK1A is delayed=HAL bad, that’s the narrative many particularly ex IAF are spreading

When in reality HAL has mostly kept up their side of the bargain on production:

https://x.com/firebase25/status/2020091 ... 90858?s=46

Let’s also not forget the users are not cleaner than clean. They have refused to settle their invoices with HAL in the past and forced new build ALHs to go into shortage because the services couldn’t absorb them

Of course delays are very unfortunate but with systems this complex not unique to LCA and not even unique to India
https://x.com/ksingh_1469/status/201945 ... 07786?s=46

But really even if the certification issue didn’t exist how many MK1A could be handed over to the IAF today? 5

https://x.com/ksingh_1469/status/201669 ... 82390?s=46

https://x.com/ksingh_1469/status/202013 ... 95751?s=46

So what’s all this drama about? 5 airframes?

Maybe this is more laying the ground for when HAL isn’t downselected for AMCA in the coming weeks

HAL needs to be further divested and allowed to be their own autonomous entity that can react to market forces but here and now who gains from these attacks- most of them coming from one side?
m_saini

Post by m_saini »

Tanaji wrote: 08 Feb 2026 02:26 I need to use a very specific instrument for delicate surgery. It has a specific shape, needs to be of exact dimensions down to sub mm level and has other attachments that aid in operating said instrument. I pay a vendor lots of money to make the instrument and he agrees to do so in a time frame. At the end of the timeframe he says here is the instrument, use it for surgery - the instrument is not of specified dimensions, sharpness and is missing ancillary attachments. Vendor says adjust maadi, I will file it down for you and give the attachments later but please adjust and use in surgery.

Will you use it?
Yes, because I'm on record saying that i'll "operate" with what I have.

But then again, I KNOW I won't be operating anyway other than applying a bandage every few years so what's the harm in asking for the perfect? The vendor knows this too and is happy to under-deliver because honestly who really cares if the patient lives or dies :mrgreen:
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

bala wrote: 08 Feb 2026 01:11 I was reviewing Group Captain (retd) Ajay Ahlawat interview with Swasti Rao.

Here are some observations on MK1A:

1. The IAF had requested some enhancements in previous version of Tejas and HAL said it will take a few months for the fix but it is 9 yrs since and no tangible movement by HAL.
2. The IAF had requested integration and enhancement with Rafale and India had to pay money for the changes. This took some time with vendor though the IAF does not acknowledge the delay.
3. With MK1A the changes requested (does anyone have the list requested by IAF?) are not complete. Maybe the Astra integration is the only one that is good to go.

My Questions are:

1. Is ADA involved in such change request given by the IAF.
2. If there are 10 request given and only 8 of them are completed why can't IAF take receipt of the planes. I am citing the 80:20 rule which Lockheed martin follows. What are exactly the priority for these changes, without which the IAF cannot operate planes.

In general HAL has an overflowing product line to keep up with production demands, and to have changes also added is quite the complexity of things to be done.
Bala Ji the Defence Secretary very clearly confirmed yesterday that both the astra and asraam trials were "extremley successfull". Clearly the missing qr are minor in nature and will be fixed soon. ADA AFAIK is not involved in MK1A and perhaps should have been given the delays HAL has faced.IMHO IAF is carrying a historical burden of mistrust with HAL and I dont think they are in a mood to relent. However the MOD can force them to accept the aircraft as it is and the language the Defence Secretary used yesterday suggests to me that the shortcomings will be fixed over the course of the deliveries. Let us wait and watch for the next few weeks.

Bharadwaj wrote: 08 Feb 2026 08:13 ADA AFAIK is not involved in MK1A and perhaps should have been given the delays HAL has faced.IMHO IAF is carrying a historical burden of mistrust with HAL and I dont think they are in a mood to relent. However the MOD can force them to accept the aircraft as it is and the language the Defence Secretary used yesterday suggests to me that the shortcomings will be fixed over the course of the deliveries. Let us wait and watch for the next few weeks.
These are not some personal matters between HAL and IAF to be emotional about and not having trust per say. These are matters of national interest and each and every issue need to be taken up with the utmost urgency from both Sides. Since the major work is all done including successful conclusion of Astra missile test, let HAL resolve the nitty gritty issues by March. Even if it requires, one or two months to make sure the aircrafts are top notch in every aspect, before handing over to IAF. Even if IAF is ready to take the aircraft before the final QR issues are resorted, they can base the 5 at Sulur and get them fixed fully before moving them to forward bases. This is a suboptimal option though they get to fly and familiarize with MK1A for the 2 or so months before QR issues are resolved. These options should be left to IAF but the review should be done by March end and a decision taken rather than push it to June.

Regarding the DS, he is till in the Tejas is not outdated mode answer without realizing the technological superiority it has over others in many aspect. Vishnu asked him about AMCA will only be ready by MK1A and MK2 production gets over, and he gives some other answer.

http://x.com/Indrani1_Roy/status/2020165601243640051
@Indrani1_Roy
Two days ago, my integrity was questioned when I said ARDC/ADA/NFTC are working through weekends to get Mk1A ready.

Here's some other tests that happened last weekend.

Pic:
@FighterPiloting

https://x.com/hvtiaf_bharat/status/2020092235262697919
@hvtiaf_bharat
Nice pic
We undertake high risk test points on Sunday / Saturday when the airfield traffic is less. This is max-ret braking on wet / flooded runway. There are chances of runway blockage for many reasons. But it went well for Yashas.
LakshmanPST

Post by LakshmanPST »

I'm actually very happy that the production has picked up...
I think around 20 airframes are ready, except engines...

Certification may take a couple of months, but I'm happy that production is going well...

I feel there is sudden over-criticism of HAL in social media...
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

uddu wrote: 08 Feb 2026 09:37
These are not some personal matters between HAL and IAF to be emotional about and not having trust per se. These are matters of national interest and each and every issue need to be taken up with the utmost urgency from both Sides. Since the major work is all done including successful conclusion of Astra missile test, let HAL resolve the nitty gritty issues by March. Even if it requires, one or two months to make sure the aircrafts are top notch in every aspect, before handing over to IAF. Even if IAF is ready to take the aircraft before the final QR issues are resorted, they can base the 5 at Sulur and get them fixed fully before moving them to forward bases. This is a suboptimal option though they get to fly and familiarize with MK1A for the 2 or so months before QR issues are resolved. These options should be left to IAF but the review should be done by March end and a decision taken rather than push it to June.

Regarding the DS, he is till in the Tejas is not outdated mode answer without realizing the technological superiority it has over others in many aspect. Vishnu asked him about AMCA will only be ready by MK1A and MK2 production gets over, and he gives some other answer.
Uddu Ji IMO it is not any emotional matter for IAF. It is a lack of faith caused by repeated technical and timeline shortfalls. This is a fact we cannot deny. The print interview above has the retired IAF pilot explaining these matters in some detail.

Bharadwaj wrote: 08 Feb 2026 11:13
uddu wrote: 08 Feb 2026 09:37
These are not some personal matters between HAL and IAF to be emotional about and not having trust per se. These are matters of national interest and each and every issue need to be taken up with the utmost urgency from both Sides. Since the major work is all done including successful conclusion of Astra missile test, let HAL resolve the nitty gritty issues by March. Even if it requires, one or two months to make sure the aircrafts are top notch in every aspect, before handing over to IAF. Even if IAF is ready to take the aircraft before the final QR issues are resorted, they can base the 5 at Sulur and get them fixed fully before moving them to forward bases. This is a suboptimal option though they get to fly and familiarize with MK1A for the 2 or so months before QR issues are resolved. These options should be left to IAF but the review should be done by March end and a decision taken rather than push it to June.

Uddu Ji IMO it is not any emotional matter for IAF. It is a lack of faith caused by repeated technical and timeline shortfalls. This is a fact we cannot deny. The print interview above has the retired IAF pilot explaining these matters in some detail.
Bharadwaj ji IAF and HAL may not be seeing these things as we see it. These are attempts at making our own designs better and make it perform as expected. So HAL making those modifications sought by IAF and IAF benchmarking it as per their specifications. I don't think anyone in IAF will see these things lightly or HAL capability or delivery schedule as they themselves know of the issues happening from engines to integration and testing and validation and the efforts being put up by HAL and other agencies working to deliver quality and with numbers.
Regarding the media especially the likes of Print, they do what they do best in pushing negativity against nations efforts whenever opportunity exists. So for the time being lets have faith in both HAL and IAF that they will do what is necessary to resolve the technical issues from HAL side and fast track delivery timelines from IAF side.

https://x.com/Indrani1_Roy/status/2020219693391573280
@Indrani1_Roy
Wonderful episode @ShivAroor and @VishnuNDTV
. You need a Brahma to complete the trinity.

By the way, the sidestick won't be a first on AMCA. It will debut on Tejas Mk2.

In fact, it is already flying on a modified Mk1 trainer loaned back to HAL.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Please check this information.. right or wrong ?

GE Engine Delays for Tejas MK1A,
Industrial Reality

>2016

GE delivered 65 of contracted F404-IN20 engines for MK1 program, with no scope of follow on orders, GE Considered Shutting down the prod line.

>2017-2020

GE shut F404-IN20 line, with tooling mothballed, suppliers released, & capacity shifted to other active engine programmes.

>2021

In Feb, deal signed for 83 Tejas MK1A, In August HAL placed an order for 99 F404-IN20 engines, Triggered industrial restart at GE with a rough timeline of 30-36 months.

>2022
Efforts started with re-engagament of suppliers, tooling validation & setting up certification processes.

>2023-2024

The restart effort faced issues due to post Covid supply chain disruption well documented with other OEMs as well, compounding this was exit of a critical South Korean supplier, due to which GE was forced to identify alternate supplier.

For new supplier GE had to transfer technical data, new tooling, and conduct full part & process qualification, due to all these issues The restart timeline was extended again.

>2025

In March, GE supplied 1st engine, it was an early prod stage which was constrained by Yield losses, high rejection rates kept the production limited.

>2026

Till date 5 engines have been delivered by GE, & 5 more are delivered before 31st March, GE indicated that most complex part of the restart is near completion.

GE also informed that they have Increased Automation for testing & inspection part, the vendor base has been re qualified & stabilised.

From H2 GE will start delivering engines at contracted production rate to HAL, & from FY 2027, the prod. & delivery rate of engines will reach 28-30 engines per annum

When the Korean supplier shut down, India should have pressed for the new supplier to be an Indian company.
I am sure that with design documents and new tooling that were supplied to the new Korean company, an Indian company would have been able to produce that part.

drnayar wrote: 08 Feb 2026 23:42
Industrial Reality

>2016

GE delivered 65 of contracted F404-IN20 engines for MK1 program, with no scope of follow on orders, GE Considered Shutting down the prod line.

This is the turning point for everything delayed. When you are notified that GE is shutting a line which is crucial for your aircraft, someone in decision making in MOD should have acted swiftly. The Fact that they bought 65 F404-IN20 engines for MK1 would imply stocking up on spare engines for the MK1 crafts. Engines don't last for long, especially fighter jets, and they need replacement. At MOD they should have immediately ordered another 65 engines and negotiated for moving the engine manufacturing line to INDIA. At that point the kaveri engine was in no sight of completion and everyone understands long gestation periods for engine development. This delay caused a ripple through cascading effect which is why India is delayed in fighter jet program.

First off we need to root out this culture of finger pointing at each other. Second these are complex projects with a lot of exploratory development involved. I have never seen any such complex project to conclude on time within budget and at the expected quality level. And finally it sounds like we are still following command and control type management style which destroys team morale and harms the quality of the product. All these debates and discussions from highest level leaders need to happen in private, broadcasting this in the public domain is not going to change the reality. MoD needs to make the forces own indigenous development along with its successes and failures. And finally HAL need to infuse some of the private sector efficiencies or get out of the product development and manufacturing business.
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

drnayar wrote: 08 Feb 2026 23:42 Please check this information.. right or wrong ?

The fault is in long term planning. People already knew but were not doing anything.
Internal sabotage or just plain inertia?
basant

Post by basant »

ashthor wrote: 09 Feb 2026 10:43 The fault is in long term planning. People already knew but were not doing anything.
I’d choose internal sabotage. The programme faced sanctions post-1998 by the USA, yet the engine had no backup plan—let alone being replaced with the Kaveri. If anything, the IAF only spoke publicly and derisively about GTRE “consuming” USD 300 million, instead of throwing its full support behind it. And they’ve been coy too: they’d say that ADA/HAL are to be blamed. Would the IAF have accepted it if it were replaced with a Chinese engine? Even AMCA should have been designed around whatever Kaveri could provide—using two or three engines, as the Chinese did. But no, instead we label the programme as failure.

Given how significant an upgrade HAL’s Mk1A is over ADA’s Mk1, one would have assumed that the readiness of 14 airframes would have been celebrated. On the contrary, there has been a sudden spurt of an anti-HAL campaign, including from some of the top “jingoistic” BRFites on non-BRF social media. One would assume, from reading only those comments, that Mk1A is the only fighter in the world ever to have been delayed, and that it is so bad we would need to completely throw away all that HAL has learnt, in favour of a clueless private manufacturer replacing it—an approach that would almost certainly lead to further delays and, who knows, a purchase limited only to foreign fifth-generation aircraft. Mk1A has lifted the veil off far more entities than expected. This is my personal opinion and have nothing more to add.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

For your timely comic relief
Sweden's defence firm SAAB says Gripen fighter jet has place in IAF

https://www.thehindubusinessline.com/ne ... 609664.ece

Bharadwaj wrote: 10 Feb 2026 08:13 For your timely comic relief

I have an admiration for their boundless optimism and enthusiasm though... and i have a sneaky feeling they will not stop even after a hundred Tejas are flying in IAF colors.

Sudden spurt in HAL bashing is the defense being set for Rafale deal- local production is going to be non HAL, Rafale's cost a bomb- given 2016-19 experience the ground is being prepared.

Since facing the very same archaic bureaucracy, the DRDO has had some successes and some failures and some partial successes, I’d guess the archaic bureaucracy is not really to blame.

If there is blame to be spread. When you reach for things beyond your grasp, you will often not succeed at first. Persistence and adjusting the approach is what is needed.

Bharadwaj wrote: 10 Feb 2026 08:13 For your timely comic relief
and HAL says Swedish Air force needs to fly Tejas MK1A!
bkswarti

Post by bkswarti »

Aditya_V wrote: 07 Feb 2026 21:53 Hmmm, I have a theory, IAF/ GOI want to discredit HAL in the public mind atleast temporarily so that nobody questions the 114 Rafale deal and it's huge cost and why HAL is not the local partner? But I feel Raga will raise the same issues again.
Bhai govt didn’t need all this now to discredit HAL. HALs track record has been the same for years.

Raga ko rone do, we can’t make everyone happy. We need to be ready to fight wars.

HAl track record- you are talking as if all 193 countries in the world produce fighters, there , Sweden SOKO, use American flight control software, American weapons and radar. Japanese Mitsubishi F-2 is more independent that F-21, Gripen etc. China with flaws, Russia, France, USA, Eurofighter consortium is the only option, HAL is trying to build something which no Indian ecosystem present. We have a huge ecosystem within India(likely heavily funded from outside) trying to keep us import dependent.

HAL is not perfect but seems the only vehicle based on which an Aircraft manufacturing ecosystem seems to be developing in India. We will never break out till the Indian designed aircraft are produced in numbers setting up our manufacturing eco system, US has strategically delayed Engine supplies.

We were fullish not to develop our own engine manufacturing set up with test beds, just see the how Boeing fooled us stating they will set up a engine test set for the C-17 deal.

The contrast cannot be more, a Chinese aircraft which the PLAAF will not touch(Pakistan does only metal cutting with Chinese machines- all JF 17 parts come from China) and cannot do a vertical loop and which even Myanmar has claimed is substandard and retiring is claimed as a great aircraft online. At least HAL has manufactured and has had far more inputs in SU30, Mig 21 , Jaguar production.

With Uttam, Astra, Jammers, Software, if only we have own engine, we can be our own manufacturing power house for fighters, nobody else in the world is going to like that.

Aditya_V wrote: 10 Feb 2026 12:02 HAl track record- you are talking as if all 193 countries in the world produce fighters, there , Sweden SOKO, use American flight control software, American weapons and radar. Japanese Mitsubishi F-2 is more independent that F-21, Gripen etc. China with flaws, Russia, France, USA, Eurofighter consortium is the only option, HAL is trying to build something which no Indian ecosystem present. We have a huge ecosystem within India(likely heavily funded from outside) trying to keep us import dependent.

HAL is not perfect but seems the only vehicle based on which an Aircraft manufacturing ecosystem seems to be developing in India. We will never break out till the Indian designed aircraft are produced in numbers setting up our manufacturing eco system, US has strategically delayed Engine supplies.

We were fullish not to develop our own engine manufacturing set up with test beds, just see the how Boeing fooled us stating they will set up a engine test set for the C-17 deal.

The contrast cannot be more, a Chinese aircraft which the PLAAF will not touch(Pakistan does only metal cutting with Chinese machines- all JF 17 parts come from China) and cannot do a vertical loop and which even Myanmar has claimed is substandard and retiring is claimed as a great aircraft online. At least HAL has manufactured and has had far more inputs in SU30, Mig 21 , Jaguar production.

With Uttam, Astra, Jammers, Software, if only we have own engine, we can be our own manufacturing power house for fighters, nobody else in the world is going to like that.
And Hence there will be bickering, there will be delays and IAF will complain. It is part and parcel of the teething process. However HAL need to shed some of the archaic habits too. They will have to ask for reasonable timelines and not impossible ones. It is better to ask for more time and deliver early than ask for less time and deliver late. That is why we need more well paid MBA suits in the company to do the marketing management. Technocrats need to concentrate on the actual work.

ashthor wrote: 09 Feb 2026 10:43
drnayar wrote: 08 Feb 2026 23:42 Please check this information.. right or wrong ?

The fault is in long term planning. People already knew but were not doing anything.
Very valid ask
Bharat Rakshak forums has swung between
1. HAL's fault for not pre ordering even though orders were assured
2. Not HALs fault but their fault because orders were not signed.
3. GoI fault for not assuring.
4. IAF's fault for not completing SQRs and certification etc before larger orders are signed.
5. Biden punishing us for buying Russian Oil
6. Trump punishing us for buying Russian oil.

Take a pick

Tanaji wrote: 08 Feb 2026 02:26 ... Vendor says adjust maadi, I will file it down for you and give the attachments later but please adjust and use in surgery.

Will you use it?
643 parameters weren't fulfilled by even the two winners of mmrca, still selected.. ACCEPTED

on top India Specific Enhancements were required on top.. they were given in drip drip after inducting all 36 jets... ACCEPTED

Jaguars had weak propulsion so Honeywell engines were required, but iaf continues to use this surgical instrument fine

Su 30 didn't have missile warning reciever OR radar warning reciever iaf continued to use it

on top jamming pod has to be fitted inside the tiny body of Tejas Mk2, while hangs outside in Su 30... too many unfair demands made from indigenous scalpels... while free pass is given to imports

https://x.com/thegeo_sync/status/2021142203750629611
@thegeo_sync
India’s HAL Tejas Mk1A has successfully validated a twin ASRAAM launcher, allowing two short-range air-to-air missiles on a single pylon a big leap in within-visual-range (WVR) firepower.

https://x.com/Indrani1_Roy/status/2019377683071922654
@Indrani1_Roy
A new flight computer, 3 new weapons, new primary radar,3 new pylons, new SPJ pod, new EW: all certified within 2 years without engines for a year!

The aircraft is waiting for release of documents and ironing of last few details on afw imported LRUs.

https://x.com/InsightGL/status/2021121210956861781
@InsightGL
-Tejas Mk1A validates MBDA Advanced Short-Range Air-to-Air Missile (ASRAAM)
-ASRAAM is also approved for the #IndianAirForce Jaguar
-Speed>Mach 3, Range>25 km, Maneuverability>50 g
-With this Astra Mk1, I-Derby ER, Rudram-1 & 2, Griffin Laser-Guided Bombs, Python-5 & Guns validated

HAL Awards ₹80 Crore Tejas Mk-1A Avionics Order to Axiscades Unit Mistral Solutions
https://www.thedefensenews.com/news-det ... Solutions/

BENGALURU : Axiscades Technologies Limited on Monday said its wholly owned subsidiary, Mistral Solutions, has secured a production order valued at approximately ₹80 crore ($8.8 million) from Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) for the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) Tejas Mk-1A programme.

The contract covers the manufacture and supply of critical avionics hardware for the Tejas Mk-1A, a 4.5-generation fighter aircraft that forms a central element of the Indian Air Force’s fleet modernisation plans. The order is part of ongoing efforts to scale up production of the Mk-1A variant to meet committed delivery schedules.

Scope of the Contract
Under the agreement, Mistral Solutions will deliver hardware for two key onboard systems. The first is the mission computer, which functions as the central processing unit of the aircraft, integrating sensor inputs, avionics data, and weapon system management to support mission execution.

The second is the Smart Multifunction Display, an advanced cockpit interface that provides pilots with real-time flight parameters, navigation information, and situational awareness through high-resolution visual displays.

These systems are considered core elements of the Tejas Mk-1A’s avionics architecture and are essential for multi-role combat operations, including air-to-air and air-to-ground missions.