Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Bharadwaj

Re: Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

Post by Bharadwaj »

They have not even got into the negotiation phase since DAC approval is pending- How do they know they are going to get a free hand?

Rakesh wrote: 08 Feb 2026 17:58 IAF to have free hand to integrate weapons on 114 new Rafales: Sources
https://www.business-standard.com/exter ... 903_1.html
06 Feb 2026
As free as they were during Kargil?

Indian hands needing support of Israeli shoulders

Video in the link of India's best defense minister speaking...

https://x.com/i/status/2021143363916005560
@Neetivaan
India is paying the price for losing visionaries like the late Manohar Parrikar too early.

Listen to him and you’ll see why we’re into buying 114 Rafales.

Govt literally sat idle for a decade only to pump billions into France.

https://x.com/i/status/2021082299853598788
@JaidevJamwal

India bought T-90 tanks in a very controversial deal marred by deliberately hidden costs and limitations which increased the actual cost by more than 50% and delays of a decade.

To make the tanks battle worthy, a lot more money was spent and DRDO tech developed for Arjun were used. It also effectively killed the Arjun project.

Current Rafale deal is doing just that, but with a lot more money. Don't trust anyone justifying this bs. These imports will end up costing a lot more than the published cost and kill Tejas and AMCA.

I have a feeling that the Rafale deal for IAF may not happen or will be cut down to 2 or so 3 squadrons. There is a greater chance of Su-57 coming than Rafale. The way the French put spanners in MKIzing Rafale makes it unworthy to be considered. Tejas MK2 order will be increased to 200. Even the engines F-414 local manufacturing will see a boost with those increased numbers. They better put that money in the Super Sukhoi upgrade and other project like Yashas, tankers, transport aircraft, radars, Pralay, Land variant of Hypersonic missiles, Kusha, Akash NG, Rudram series, Air lauched Pinaka, Astra missiles etc.

uddu wrote: 10 Feb 2026 21:07 I have a feeling that the Rafale deal for IAF may not happen or will be cut down to 2 or so 3 squadrons. There is a greater chance of Su-57 coming than Rafale. The way the French put spanners in MKIzing Rafale makes it unworthy to be considered. Tejas MK2 order will be increased to 200. Even the engines F-414 local manufacturing will see a boost with those increased numbers. They better put that money in the Super Sukhoi upgrade and other project like Yashas, tankers, transport aircraft, radars, Pralay, Land variant of Hypersonic missiles, Kusha, Akash NG, Rudram series, Air lauched Pinaka, Astra missiles etc.
If 114 Rafales do not get sanctioned, the JV between GTRE and Safran will collapse. So will all the recent JVs between Dassault and Indian companies (TASL for example) for Rafale assembly. This is not just about cost alone.

This deal is going to be expensive, but it will happen. Failure to achieve contract signing will have long term ramifications. And not just in terms of squadron strength, aircraft type, weapons integration...but geopolitically. This has gone out of Air HQ's hand and even the MoD's hand. This is now a PMO-led venture, with everyone else in for the ride.

Thank Pakistan and Op Sindoor for the 114 deal moving forward. Air HQ would likely still be stuck in RFP stage of the MRFA contract, if no Op Sindoor had occurred. The Rafale performed really well during Op Sindoor.

Su-57 - if it materializes - will be separate from the 114 MRFA contract.

uddu wrote: 10 Feb 2026 18:34 Video in the link of India's best defense minister speaking...

https://x.com/i/status/2021143363916005560
@Neetivaan
This X account exists only to troll. Dude has a permanent black cloud over his head and whines everyday on X. Best ignored.

Rakesh wrote: 11 Feb 2026 02:57 ...
This deal is going to be expensive, but it will happen. Failure to achieve contract signing will have long term ramifications. And not just in terms of squadron strength, aircraft type, weapons integration...but geopolitically. This has gone out of Air HQ's hand and even the MoD's hand. This is now a PMO-led venture, with everyone else in for the ride.
Su-57 - if it materializes - will be separate from the 114 MRFA contract.
This is an important reason that President Putin has met PM Modi multiple times. The canny russians want their product to be a PMO-led venture as well

And our PMO is very bijness minded alright - venture capitalist level. They will not put money in just one venture :wink:
rrao

Post by rrao »

Loar group has bought french company LMB aerospace, France for 433 million USD last year. Is this LOAR group is CIA/ISI linked?

Rafale under spotlight after American buyout of French supplier
https://www.newindianexpress.com/nation ... loar-group
06 Feb 2026

rrao wrote: 11 Feb 2026 13:06 Loar group has bought french company LMB aerospace, France for 433 million USD last year. Is this LOAR group is CIA/ISI linked?

06 Feb 2026
Follow the discussion on the previous page of this thread ---> viewtopic.php?p=2671328#p2671328

Rafale dilemma sums up India’s defence paradox — security vs self-reliance
https://theprint.in/opinion/rafale-deal ... e/2851152/
11 Feb 2026
To evaluate the futility or the utility of India's procurement of 114 Rafale aircraft, we must first define the problem it aims to solve.

Manish_P wrote: 11 Feb 2026 10:56 This is an important reason that President Putin has met PM Modi multiple times. The canny russians want their product to be a PMO-led venture as well.

And our PMO is very bijness minded alright - venture capitalist level. They will not put money in just one venture :wink:
Important deals like this are best formulated as PMO led ventures. We are incapable of running a large, multi-vendor contest as the MMRCA/SE/MRFA contests have clearly displayed. 25+ years later and we are still nowhere close to contract signing. Pathetic.

The AL-51 is not set up for export, as of yet. But if it ever does, India will committ. See this ---> viewtopic.php?p=2671894#p2671894

Rakesh wrote: 11 Feb 2026 17:43 ... We are incapable of running a large, multi-vendor contest as the MMRCA/SE/MRFA contests have clearly displayed. 25+ years later and we are still nowhere close to contract signing. Pathetic...
Begging your pardon sir but we are more than capable of running large, multi-vendor contests. As we proved with the MMRCA/MRCA.

What we struggle with, due to various internal factors, is the post-contest processes, decisions, implementations.

Manish_P wrote: 11 Feb 2026 21:04
Rakesh wrote: 11 Feb 2026 17:43 ... We are incapable of running a large, multi-vendor contest as the MMRCA/SE/MRFA contests have clearly displayed. 25+ years later and we are still nowhere close to contract signing. Pathetic...
Begging your pardon sir but we are more than capable of running large, multi-vendor contests. As we proved with the MMRCA/MRCA.

What we struggle with, due to various internal factors, is the post-contest processes, decisions, implementations.
I was referring to your second sentence with my comment. You worded it better though.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Manish_P wrote: 11 Feb 2026 21:04

quite right , the exhaustive indian evaluation process itself is a global benchmark of sorts now !! even if we didn't buy anything the MRFA process has shown the qualitative strengths and weaknesses of the competitive aircraft that other countries can also use !

Also partly the reason why Rafale sales went through the roof !
rrao

Post by rrao »

Rakesh wrote: 11 Feb 2026 17:40
rrao wrote: 11 Feb 2026 13:06 Loar group has bought french company LMB aerospace, France for 433 million USD last year. Is this LOAR group is CIA/ISI linked?

06 Feb 2026
Follow the discussion on the previous page of this thread ---> viewtopic.php?p=2671328#p2671328
sorry sir ji, i missed it ...
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

Also partly the reason why Rafale sales went through the roof !
Russian are hoping for the same if India buys.
Bharadwaj

Post by Bharadwaj »

DAC clears Rs 3.60 lakh crore worth of capital acquisition proposals to enhance the combat readiness of defence forces

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressReleseDetai ... g=3&lang=1
Posted On: 12 FEB 2026 4:07PM by PIB Delhi
The Defence Acquisition Council, under the chairmanship of Raksha Mantri Shri Rajnath Singh, accorded Acceptance of Necessity (AoN) for various proposals of the Services at an estimated value of about Rs 3.60 lakh crore, on February 12, 2026. For the Indian Air Force (IAF), AoN was approved for the procurement of Multi Role Fighter Aircraft (MRFA) {Rafale}, Combat Missiles and Air-Ship Based High Altitude Pseudo Satellite (AS-HAPS).

The procurement of MRFA will enhance the capability of undertaking air dominance roles across the spectrum of conflict and significantly boost the deterrence capabilities of IAF with long range offensive strikes. The majority of MRFA to be procured will be manufactured in India. The Combat Missiles will enhance the stand-off ground attack capability with deep strike power and very high accuracy. The AS-HAPS will be utilised towards carrying out persistent Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance, Electronic Intelligence, telecommunication and remote sensing for military purposes.

For the Indian Army, AoN was accorded for the procurement of Anti-Tank Mines (Vibhav) and overhaul of Vehicle Platforms of Armoured Recovery Vehicles (ARVs), T-72 Tanks and Infantry Combat Vehicles (BMP-II). Vibhav mines will be laid as anti-tank obstacle system to delay the advance of enemy mechanized forces. The overhaul of vehicle platforms of ARVs, T-72 Tanks and BMP-II will enhance service life of equipment ensuring readiness and operational effectiveness of the Indian Army.

For the Indian Navy, AoN was cleared for 04 MW Marine Gas Turbine based Electric Power Generator and P8I Long Range Maritime Reconnaissance Aircraft. Induction of 04 MW Marine Gas Turbine based Electric Power Generator under Make-I category of Defence Acquisition Procedure 2020 will minimise the dependency on foreign manufacturers, ensure self-reliance in power generation requirement of Indian Navy. The acquisition of P8I aircraft will significantly boost the Navy’s combat/war-fighting capability of long-range anti-submarine warfare, maritime surveillance and maritime strike capability.

For the Indian Coast Guard (ICG), AoN was accorded for the procurement of Electro-Optical/Infra-Red system for Dornier aircraft. The procurement will assist in enhancing the efficacy of maritime surveillance capability of the ICG.

VK/SR/Savvy

(Release ID: 2227018) Visitor Counter : 344

And the media spin starts...

Why the Rafale Multi-Role Fighter Aircraft is India’s fastest route to air power superiority
https://indianexpress.com/article/opini ... -10522716/
09 Feb 2026
The IAF already operates 36 Rafales, and the Indian Navy plans to induct 26 Rafale M aircraft, making further Rafale acquisition particularly attractive. Additional Rafales would bring substantial operational, commercial and logistical benefits through commonality with existing fleets

Saddest day in a long while. It proves that Atmanirbhar is a joke and that the Services can play truant & get their way

But there is no money for Kaveri or any other R&D. We want JV for everything and *magically* we will become a superpower. Talent will flee because you can score (minus 8 ) in NEET and become a surgeon if you belong to the right community

All the while, China will invest 100s of Billions into AI, Robotics, Engines etc, lure their scientists back with big bucks, steal/reverse-engineer F-35, ASML to become #1

In 2100, we will still rely on the courage of the humble jawan, the emergency import of artillery shells from Israel & the intervention of USA - because we cannot fight a sustained war

Not even God can help this country

Wasted decades on not funding turbofan development. Now will spend $36 billion minimum to import fighters.

We spent less than US $1 billion on Kaveri. But will spend US $8 billion on weapons for the Rafale. The comedy writes itself.

https://x.com/VinodDX9/status/2021932324993352179?s=20 ---> The cost negotiation will be going on. Till we get an official statement, this is how Indian media is reporting it.

* 114 Rafale Package: ₹325000 crore ($36 billion, 2026 ER)
* 114 Rafale Only: ₹250000 crore ($27.7 billion)
* Weapon Package: ₹75000 crore ($8.3 billion)

If contract is expected to be awarded in 6+ months (as per the tweet below), the first of 18 flyaway Rafales should arrive by 2029.

VIDEO: https://x.com/Chopsyturvey/status/20219 ... 78767?s=20 ---> The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) clears the purchase of 114 Rafale Multi Role Fighter Aircraft (MRFA) and six P-8I Poseidon aircraft. 96 out of 114 fighter aircraft would be made in India, and the final award of the contract could take over six months.

https://x.com/CNBCTV18Live/status/20218 ... 50638?s=20 ---> Sources to CNBCTV18 say that DAC approves proposal for acquisition of 114 Rafale multi role fighter aircraft.

👉 Acquisition will be underpinned by a govt-to-govt commitment.
👉 Govt to seek full integration of Indian weapons with aircraft as per contractual agreement.
👉 DAC approvals comes ahead of French President's visit to India next week.
👉 DAC cleared proposal for acquisition of 6 P8I Boeing aircraft too.

For all the old-timers on BRF, this is nevertheless a BIG day for the MMRCA/MRFA/SE saga. 25+ years.

TWENTY-FIVE YEARS TO ACQUIRE 100+ FIGHTERS. Still got ways to go before an actual contract signature though.

Purchase Of 114 Rafales, India's Biggest Military Buy, Clears Major Hurdle
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/indian- ... e-10994076
12 Feb 2026
The deal will include the transfer of advanced fighter jet technology and will be structured as a strategic partnership aimed at strengthening the government's 'Make in India' programme.

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 19:40 Purchase Of 114 Rafales, India's Biggest Military Buy, Clears Major Hurdle
https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/indian- ... e-10994076
12 Feb 2026
The deal will include the transfer of advanced fighter jet technology and will be structured as a strategic partnership aimed at strengthening the government's 'Make in India' programme.
:D Tech developed for MK2, AMCA and so on will end up in Rafale as time goes by. It will be a repeat of T-90 saga.

uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:03 :D Tech developed for MK2, AMCA and so on will end up in Rafale as time goes by. It will be a repeat of T-90 saga.
If the above happens, it will actually be a good thing. Why go to France for F6 or F7 upgrade, when you can do it in house?

I doubt the French will allow, but hopefully what you say will become true. I welcome it with open arms :)
bharathp

Post by bharathp »

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:07
uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:03 :D Tech developed for MK2, AMCA and so on will end up in Rafale as time goes by. It will be a repeat of T-90 saga.
If the above happens, it will actually be a good thing. Why go to France for F6 or F7 upgrade, when you can do it in house?

I doubt the French will allow, but hopefully what you say will become true. I welcome it with open arms :)
No it wont be a good thing. We need to build Indian IP, so we can project power at least within our sphere.

Give a few older Tejas to Sri Lanka and make it bully Bangladesh for all I care. That is how long term dependencies are created on US. We should not be dependent on others.

Others should be made dependent on us.

bharathp wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:34 No it wont be a good thing. We need to build Indian IP, so we can project power at least within our sphere.

Give a few older Tejas to Sri Lanka and make it bully Bangladesh for all I care. That is how long term dependencies are created on US. We should not be dependent on others.

But we are dependent on US for GE turbofans for the Tejas. Till that impasse is addressed, the rest is academic.

Solve the engine and everything else will fall into place. No Engine = Import Fighters.

https://x.com/connect_rishav/status/202 ... 77907?s=20 ---> "We will pursue tough negotiations from our end." @bsindia, via sources, reports that the following priorities are placed by India in negotiations with France for 114 Rafales:

1. Unilateral capability to integrate all forms of weapon systems, without source code access.

2. Integration of Software Defined Radios (SDRs). At present, 36 Rafales are integrated with French SDRs. The latest batch will likely include Israeli/Indian SDR for uniformity.

3. The negotiations will also focus on lowering the per-unit and the overall package costs.

The deal will be reviewed by DAC, headed by RM Rajnath Singh, next week. Once it secures initial nod, the technical and commercial negotiations will begin. Ultimately, it will be taken up for final approval by the CCS, chaired by PM Narendra Modi.

IAF to have free hand to integrate weapons on 114 new Rafales: Sources
https://www.business-standard.com/exter ... 903_1.html
06 Feb 2026
According to Dassault, the future Rafale F5 jets will feature capabilities that will allow them to remain operational beyond 2060 and will be optimised to operate alongside unmanned combat aircraft.

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:40
bharathp wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:34 No it wont be a good thing. We need to build Indian IP, so we can project power at least within our sphere.

But we are dependent on US for GE turbofans for the Tejas. Till that impasse is addressed, the rest is academic.

Solve the engine and everything else will fall into place. No Engine = Import Fighters.
Rakesh ji, the purchase is like one step ahead and two steps back. If engine is the only thing that is the issue, resolve that dependency in the decade to come and we are a free nation. Meanwhile create variants of the same Tejas with different engine choices and certify it. Even for export, you can offer such a choice to foreign nations. Else we have to carry this Rafale like a baggage for the next 30 years needing either expensive French upgrades or own solutions time effort and money to suit it for Rafale.

uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:57 Rakesh ji, the purchase is like one step ahead and two steps back. If engine is the only thing that is the issue, resolve that dependency in the decade to come and we are a free nation. Meanwhile create variants of the same Tejas with different engine choices and certify it. Even for export, you can offer such a choice to foreign nations. Else we have to carry this Rafale like a baggage for the next 30 years needing either expensive French upgrades or own solutions time effort and money to suit it for Rafale.
If we wait for Kaveri to take 10 years to complete, what should the IAF do till then? By 2036, the PLAAF will field a 5th generation fighter fleet larger than the entire combat fleet of the IAF. Lets not even talk about their plethora of 4th gen fighters.

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 19:08 Wasted decades on not funding turbofan development. Now will spend $36 billion minimum to import fighters.

We spent less than US $1 billion on Kaveri. But will spend US $8 billion on weapons for the Rafale. The comedy writes itself.

https://x.com/VinodDX9/status/2021932324993352179?s=20 ---> The cost negotiation will be going on. Till we get an official statement, this is how Indian media is reporting it.

* 114 Rafale Package: ₹325000 crore ($36 billion, 2026 ER)
* 114 Rafale Only: ₹250000 crore ($27.7 billion)
* Weapon Package: ₹75000 crore ($8.3 billion)
https://x.com/Griezmenace/status/202189 ... 20924?s=20 ---> New-generation weapons likely to be part of the Rafale package:

* STRATUS (FC/ASW); SPEAR family (for SEAD/DEAD, including operations in GPS/GNSS-denied environments); AASM 1000 XLR (turbojet-powered glide bomb with ~200 km range); next-generation BVRAAMs under development by MBDA; Meteor MLU/Mk2 (likely expanded NEZ); MICA-NG (IR), etc.

* Indigenous weapons ---> BrahMos NG; Astra Mk-3 (Gandiva); RudraM-2 & RudraM-3; SAAW; future hypersonic weapons under development by DRDO; and any additional systems as per IAF requirements.

====================================

Info Sheet

STRATUS: https://www.mbda-systems.com/mbda-unvei ... pabilities
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stratus_(missile_family)

SPEAR: https://www.mbda-systems.com/products/t ... rike/spear
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SPEAR_3

AASM 1000 XLR: https://www.edrmagazine.eu/pas-2025-saf ... ange-bombs

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:06
uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 20:57 Rakesh ji, the purchase is like one step ahead and two steps back. If engine is the only thing that is the issue, resolve that dependency in the decade to come and we are a free nation. Meanwhile create variants of the same Tejas with different engine choices and certify it. Even for export, you can offer such a choice to foreign nations. Else we have to carry this Rafale like a baggage for the next 30 years needing either expensive French upgrades or own solutions time effort and money to suit it for Rafale.
If we wait for Kaveri to take 10 years to complete, what should the IAF do till then? By 2036, the PLAAF will field a 5th generation fighter fleet larger than the entire combat fleet of the IAF. Lets not even talk about their plethora of 4th gen fighters.
Please don't compare with PLAAF. PLAAF went the hard way. PLAAF never had anything good in their service. They went the hard learning investing in their own tech and platforms over decades to reach here. IAF is import now..Chinese has 5th gen. Tomorrow they will be shouting Import now Chinese has 6th gen. We don't have squadron numbers. They will never escape the import options and will remain an imported air force. The only service that went the Chinese way are the Indian Navy (May be Chinese went the IN way, that seems apt seeing the decades and decades IN leadership showed the path of Atmanirbharta even when Namo was in his youth). If the IAF don't' have 5th gen, 6th gen fighters, they themselves are responsible for a large part of it. It has been always and Import Air Force and EVEN THE TEJAS was effort of Manohar Parrikar to get it inducted. Else today IAF will be running it as some development project wasting pubic tax payers money without inducting anything and keep asking for import. There is 0 hope for the IAF.
What will the IAF fly? Tejas MK1A in numbers with desi AESA radars and long range missiles. Support that with tech to detect stealth fighters, invest in radars and ground based missiles. When MK2 is ready keep upgrading with much more better radars and missiles every half a decade and in good numbers. When AMCA comes keep doing the same...Get rid of the import mentality. Engines rely on mulitiple engine manufacturers as if your life depends on it. Tejas MK1/A must have option to be flying with F404 and whatever French engines are on offer. Test it on Tejas and meanwhile work to get Kaveri certified for MK1A. The Tejas MK2 also should have the same option to have tested it with multiple engines. Any future designs should be done keeping in mind the Kaveri engine, be it dual engine Tejas and so on. There is no shortcut out of this mess that they created for themselves.
Years of Parikkar's absence is showing in the IAF once again becoming an Imported Air Force.

It's not that the Navy is 100 percent perfect. They have their own import issues. But without anyone asking they choose their on indigenous path. Here is an example. Once they saw an what Kaveri Marine could do, went ahead and sanctioned a project to suit their needs and will be self reliant in this area once this project completes.
Atmanirbhar Seas : Indian Navy Kicks Off Indigenous Gas Turbine Program
https://alphadefense.in/index.php/2025/ ... e-program/
The indigenous program aims to design and develop 24–28 MW class marine gas turbine engines, specifically tailored to Indian naval requirements.This power range is crucial for destroyers, frigates, and future large surface combatants that require high endurance, reliability, and rapid acceleration capabilities.
Last edited by uddu on 12 Feb 2026 21:44, edited 4 times in total.

VIDEO: https://x.com/ShivAroor/status/2021971794480312550?s=20 --->

2019: “Rafale Scam! Chowkidar Chor Hai!”

2026: *MoD clears biggest deal for 114 Rafale jets*

Earlier, the mere whisper of a “scam” was enough to stall critical defence deals for years. Today, manufactured scandals no longer derail procurement.

uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:31 Please don't compare with PLAAF. PLAAF went the hard way. PLAAF never had anything good in their service. They went the hard learning investing in their own tech and platforms over decades to reach here. IAF is import now..Chinese has 5th gen. Tomorrow they will be shouting Import now Chinese has 6th gen. We don't have squadron numbers. They will never escape the import options and will remain an imported air force. The only service that went the Chinese way are the Indian Navy. If the IAF don't' have 5th gen, 6th gen fighters, they themselves are responsible for a large part of it. It has been always and Import Air Force and EVEN THE TEJAS was effort of Manohar Parrikar to get it inducted. Else today IAF will be running it as some development project wasting pubic tax payers money without inducting anything and keep asking for import. There is 0 hope for the IAF.
All of the above is true. So if the Rafale is cancelled and when the balloon goes up between now and 10 years (when Kaveri gets ready), what will the IAF fight with? At best you are looking at a few upgraded Super Sukhoi squadrons, Tejas Mk1A units, two Rafale squadrons. Not sure if the Mirage 2000I/TIs, MiG-29UPGs and Jaguar Darin IIIs will be flying in the mid 2030s. Not a very positive outlook.

We are seriously delayed in terms of time and in numbers.
uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:31What will the IAF fly? Tejas MK1A in numbers with desi AESA radars and long range missiles. Support that with tech to detect stealth fighters, invest in radars and ground based missiles. When MK2 is ready keep upgrading with much more better radars and missiles every half a decade and in good numbers. When AMCA comes keep doing the same...Get rid of the import mentality. Years of Parikkar's absence is showing in the IAF once again becoming an Imported Air Force.
Tejas Mk1A will fly with which engine? Tejas Mk2 will fly with which engine? The first two squadrons of AMCA (Mk1) will fly with which engine?

Desi AESA radar, Desi missiles, Desi sensors are all wonderful. But if your engine is foreign, how viable is the platform?

* Tejas Mk1: 40 aircraft
* Tejas Mk1A: 180 aircraft
* Tejas Mk2: ~100 aircraft (first tranche)
* AMCA Mk1: 40 aircraft

That is 360 aircraft all powered by a US origin turbofan. That is more than 50% of the IAF's future combat fleet being powered courtesy of Uncle Sam. But that is okay! However 114 Rafale is very bad. This logic does not pass muster.

If the Govt has $35 billion to spend on 114 Rafales, then it certainly has money to complete the development for the Kaveri. They just do not want to. This is not a budgetary issue, but an issue of priorities.

Acquire Tejas Mk1A, Tejas Mk2, AMCA, TEDBF, ORCA and whatever else. But complete the development of the Kaveri for the Tejas Mk1A and work on a F414 variant for the Tejas Mk2.

Fix the engine and everything else will fall into place. No engine = import 114 fighters.

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:50 Desi AESA radar, Desi missiles, Desi sensors are all wonderful. But if your engine is foreign, how viable is the platform?
Foreign AESA, Foreign Missiles, Foreign Sensor, Foreign engine. How is Rafale a viable platform? The same engine issue and whole lot of other issues exist there. Add to that some American company owned parts as well, even if the attempt is at avoiding U.S components.

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:50 So if the Rafale is cancelled and when the balloon goes up between now and 10 years (when Kaveri gets ready), what will the IAF fight with? At best you are looking at a few upgraded Super Sukhoi squadrons, Tejas Mk1A units, two Rafale squadrons. Not sure if the Mirage 2000I/TIs, MiG-29UPGs and Jaguar Darin IIIs will be flying in the mid 2030s. Not a very positive outlook.
I am not asking for Rafale to be canceled. The numbers of 114 is insane. It must have been max at another 24 or so. Just to make sure there is some induction of fighters when the MK2 starts getting inducted. IAF fight with? IAF not inducting Astra on time with Su-30 MKI has cost us? Who prevented them from that? Astra is in testing from how many years. While flying with Russian missiles and not inducting a modern missile. They can fight such a war? May be shocked at the result of it. Then started induction of Astra. Take the case of upgrading of radars Why is it still taken such a long time if IAF is so urgent and is want to fight with Modern AESA radar in the face of Uttam? Only now that project is getting sanction when everything is perfect and tech beats global competition. How capable are Mirages and Mig-29's compared to MK1A's? Replace them with MK1A's if you are sure that they are better than those aircrafts. Starts with the basics. Take the first step.

uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:54 Foreign AESA, Foreign Missiles, Foreign Sensor, Foreign engine. How is Rafale a viable platform? The same engine issue and whole lot of other issues exist there. Add to that some American company owned parts as well, even if the attempt is at avoiding U.S components.
Same can be said about the Su-30MKI. Foreign PESA (Bars), Foreign Missile (R-73, R-77), Foreign Sensor (OLS-30), Foreign Engine (AL-31FP). How is Su-30MKI a viable platform? Or Jaguar? Or Mirage 2000? Or MiG-29? Even Post the Super Sukhoi upgrade (featuring a lot of Indian kit), there still be significant Russian maal on board. How is this viable?

Russian maal is ok. American engines also ok. But French maal is bad, because everything is French.

I will point out where the IAF is failing. Take the case of MK2. The progress is going on. We all know the risk of engines. Have the IAF ever proposed a dual option to atleast test some French engine also as part of the prototype? One or two more prototype created for testing the French engine? Everyone can foresee problems, but not ready to resolve it. If American engines of F-414 will be held up, it's time we have option to test not just one but one more foreign engine on a prototype specifically created for it? Meanwhile they must be looking at the indigenous option as well, which mostly is the Safran DRDO engine if there is no alternative looked at. When you are vulnerable, you need to create options for bargain. French will be keen to participate since it's beneficial for them in terms of winning the option to sell their engines for MK2 project and also have the option of selling MK2 fitted with French engines for export. This will put pressure on GE and the U.S to ensure timely delivery and work to keep the project in their kitty. The day Kaveri flies on Tejas, U.S will offer complete transfer of technology of F=404 as well. Similar engine offer will come from other countries as well. IAF don't mitigate risks. They create risks by worrying more about Squadron numbers and PLAAF Stealth fighters. Implement all the indigenous solutions rather than going for mass imports.

uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 22:03led. The numbers of 114 is insane. It must have been max at another 24 or so. Just to make sure there is some induction of fighters when the MK2 starts getting inducted. IAF fight with? IAF not inducting Astra on time with Su-30 MKI has cost us? Who prevented them from that? Astra is in testing from how many years. While flying with Russian missiles and not inducting a modern missile. They can fight such a war? May be shocked at the result of it. Then started induction of Astra. Take the case of upgrading of radars Why is it still taken such a long time if IAF is so urgent and is want to fight with Modern AESA radar in the face of Uttam? Only now that project is getting sanction when everything is perfect and tech beats global competition. How capable are Mirages and Mig-29's compared to MK1A's? Replace them with MK1A's if you are sure that they are better than those aircrafts. Starts with the basics. Take the first step.
Whether we like it or not, 114 will come. Look at the future fleet strength. By the middle of the next decade, the MiG-29, Mirage 2000 and Jaguars will all retire. On the horizon is 180 incoming Tejas Mk1A + 272 Su-30MKI + 36 Rafales + 100 Tejas Mk2. That comes to little over 29 squadrons. The official strength is supposed to be at 42. What will you fill the gap with? Even if we add another 100 more Mk2s, that will bring the strength to around 34 squadrons. You still need another 8 squadrons more. What will you fill it with?

Rakesh wrote: 12 Feb 2026 22:06
uddu wrote: 12 Feb 2026 21:54 Foreign AESA, Foreign Missiles, Foreign Sensor, Foreign engine. How is Rafale a viable platform? The same engine issue and whole lot of other issues exist there. Add to that some American company owned parts as well, even if the attempt is at avoiding U.S components.
Same can be said about the Su-30MKI. Foreign PESA (Bars), Foreign Missile (R-73, R-77), Foreign Sensor (OLS-30), Foreign Engine (AL-31FP). How is Su-30MKI a viable platform? Or Jaguar? Or Mirage 2000? Or MiG-29? Even Post the Super Sukhoi upgrade (featuring a lot of Indian kit), there still be significant Russian maal on board. How is this viable?

Russian maal is ok. American engines also ok. But French maal is bad, because everything is French.
Rakesh ji, I am not saying Su-30MKI is an option if today the choice is made. Su-30 MKI is a decision way back. For sure. our own mistake that we did not go ahead with Marut and further fighters etc. Su-30MKI is a fighter that already exists in IAF. The only option is to upgrade them and keep doing it till the AMCA MK2's arrive. It's really pathetic that the Super Sukhoi upgrade is taken up very late. Once again shows the IAF's lack of vision. The numbers that are updated are in the 83, I don't know why keep the remaining obsolete? Will adding More Rafael must have given us the edge or fast tracking the Super Sukhoi program must have given use the edge in dominating the skies. Import Rafale and then keep remaining fighters in obsolesce is another issue of the IAF.