India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-US relations: News and Discussions IV

Pannun murder plot: Accused Nikhil Gupta pleads guilty in US court

Accused Nikhil Gupta has pleaded guilty to murder-for-hire, conspiracy to commit murder-for-hire and conspiracy to commit money laundering.
https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-ne ... 35991.html

VI@WA

At first I thought the author is critical of India-US trade deal, going by the graphic. Then I read on and realised it is a well researched analysis of the 'zero' tariff items that India has agreed to. Read on ...

How Modi Single-Handedly Destroyed Indian Agriculture by Letting Americans Sell Us What We Were Already Buying.

By A Concerned Citizen Who Passed Class 10 Economics

New Delhi, February 2026 – Breaking news from the parallel universe inhabited by India’s professional mourners: the sky is falling, the fields are burning, and the American imperialists have finally won. All because India has agreed to drop tariffs to zero on a handful of items in the new US-India trade framework. Yes, you heard that right — zero tariffs on things we have been importing for decades. Farmers are apparently committing mass suicide as we speak, or at least that’s what the usual suspects on Twitter and primetime television would have you believe.
Let us examine the crimes against Indian sovereignty, one apocalyptic item at a time.

Crime #1: Tree Nuts (Almonds, Walnuts, Pistachios)
For twenty years, India has produced roughly 10% of the almonds it consumes. The remaining 80–90% has come almost entirely from — brace yourselves — the United States. Yes, the same United States that Congress and Left intellectuals have been warning us about since the days of Nehru’s non-alignment cosplay. Now that the tariff is going to zero (it was already low), the opposition has discovered an overnight agricultural crisis. One wonders where these fierce defenders of the kisan (Farmers) were when 90% of our almonds were already American. Perhaps they were busy planting imaginary almond orchards in their Propagandic backyards.

Crime #2: Dried Distillers’ Grains (DDGs)
This is animal feed, ladies and gentlemen — essentially the protein shake for cows, poultry and our very own librandus ecosystem . Domestic production? Virtually non-existent outside the fever dreams of Congress and Left “virtual farmers” who produce it only to feed their own brainless livestock. Every tonne India actually uses has been coming from — surprise! — the United States. Now it will come with zero tariff instead of whatever negligible duty existed before. The horror. Somewhere a think-tank fellow is drafting a 47-page report on how this will wipe out India’s non-existent DDG farmers.

Crime #3: Soybean Oil
India is one of the world’s largest importers of edible oil, period. We buy massive quantities because we simply do not produce enough. Current sources: Argentina 40–50%, Brazil 30–40%, United States 10–15%. With zero tariff, the US share might go up a few points. This is apparently the death knell for Indian agriculture. Never mind that we were already importing the stuff in bulk; the crime is that a slightly larger slice might now come from America instead of South America. The same people who lecture us about climate change and food miles are suddenly outraged that we might buy from a closer supplier. Consistency is bourgeois, comrade.

Crime #4: Wine and Spirits
Premium imported liquor now faces zero tariff. Quick, somebody alert the fields! Indian vineyards are collapsing as we speak! Oh wait — there are no Indian vineyards producing single-malt scotch or Napa Valley cabernet. This is purely a luxury import for the elite. Yet the ecosystem that claims to speak for the downtrodden is clutching pearls over Glenfiddich prices. One suspects the real terror is that their own addas, powered by more democratically priced desi cholai, might cause Identical Crisis if someone orders an
imported whiskey. Perish the thought.

Crime #5: Certain Fresh and Processed Fruits (Blueberries, Cranberries, etc.)
These are low-volume, high-price luxury items. Domestic production? Effectively zero. Blueberries come mainly from Peru, Chile, and the US; cranberries from Peru, Chile, Canada, and the US. These fruits were already being imported; now they will be slightly cheaper for the tiny minority who eat them.

Yet the guardians of India’s agricultural soul are wailing as if Modi personally air-dropped American blueberries into every Indian village to poison the local amrood crop.

The mental gymnastics required to turn imported cranberries into an existential threat to the Indian farmer deserve an Olympic gold.
And there you have it — the complete list of “farmer-destroying” items in the deal.

Dairy? Protected. Apples? Protected. Poultry? Protected. Rice, wheat, pulses, most fruits and vegetables? All protected. But never let facts get in the way of a good hysteria.

This is not policy criticism; this is performance art by an ecosystem that has elevated brainless opposition into a profession. They do not care that sensitive sectors remain shielded. They do not care that India has been importing most of these items for decades. They only care that there is a headline, a hashtag, and a chance to scream “sellout” before anyone checks the actual list.

The real tragedy is not the trade deal. The real tragedy is that these people still have television panels, verified Twitter accounts, and the shamelessness to pose as defenders of the farmer while peddling lies so transparent they could be used as greenhouse plastic.

Indian agriculture faces genuine challenges — water scarcity, soil degradation, middlemen, lack of cold storage, and yes, sometimes unfair global trade rules. None of those problems are addressed by pretending that cheaper almonds and cranberries are the end of civilization.

Let’s not forget the cherry on this rotten cake: the same propaganda machine is now frantically trying to kiss Trump’s ass, breathlessly declaring him the “big winner” who “out-negotiated” India—just so they can paint Modi as the loser who “sold out” the nation. They are dying to pull him down, desperate for any narrative that sticks, and yet they fail—spectacularly, predictably, shamelessly—every single time.

So here’s to the professional mourners: keep bawling till you slip on your own crocodile tears, keep groveling till you face-plant right into Trump’s boots, keep flailing like drunk clowns in a circus tent on fire. The rest of us will be over here, sipping discounted imported whiskey, munching on luxury berries like they’re popcorn, and laughing as you trip over your own tangled web of lies—straight into a giant cream pie of reality.

Epic face-slap with extra custard. Encore, please—make it hurt more next time.

Nothing good can come from such a brain-dead political ruckus.

(What I mean is that any external party negotiating with the Government of India can count on the Opposition to give their side a boost.)
Last edited by A_Gupta on 17 Feb 2026 12:57, edited 1 time in total.

India Today says: “ Former Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) chief A.S. Dulat suggested that Nikhil Gupta, the Indian national accused of involvement in a failed assassination plot, may have been a US agent. Dulat raised this possibility while discussing the complexities of the case and the potential for intelligence failures or rogue operations.

The former intelligence chief noted that the nature of the operation against Gurpatwant Singh Pannun appeared unprofessional and could indicate a "rogue operation" rather than a coordinated state-sanctioned mission. Dulat’s comments came following reports that Gupta had pleaded guilty in a U.S. court to charges related to the murder-for-hire plot targeting the Khalistani separatist.”

Double agent like Daood Gilani of 11/26 fame perhaps? In that case, he will never be returned to India.

A_Gupta wrote: 17 Feb 2026 11:13 India Today says: “ Former Research and Analysis Wing (RAW) chief A.S. Dulat suggested that Nikhil Gupta, the Indian national accused of involvement in a failed assassination plot, may have been a US agent. Dulat raised this possibility while discussing the complexities of the case and the potential for intelligence failures or rogue operations.

The former intelligence chief noted that the nature of the operation against Gurpatwant Singh Pannun appeared unprofessional and could indicate a "rogue operation" rather than a coordinated state-sanctioned mission. Dulat’s comments came following reports that Gupta had pleaded guilty in a U.S. court to charges related to the murder-for-hire plot targeting the Khalistani separatist.”

A_Gupta ji,

very few people really know how to pick 'em

this is the classic pot and kettle narrative

Chetakji,
After retirement I have been visiting India regularly. Many of my relatives ask me to bring almonds. I found that Californian almonds cost more in California than in India. Strange but true. I am sure the price of American nuts and fruits will fall more in the near future.
krithivas

Post by krithivas »

A year later, however, this conviction appears misplaced. The Trump administration has embarked on a forceful reassertion of American power by imposing onerous tariffs, intervening in other countries, and brokering peace negotiations and commercial dealmaking across the world. China and Russia have resisted Washington on select issues, but they have been unable to mount a comprehensive challenge to the United States’ effort to restructure global rules. Washington’s European allies have proved even less able to stand up to the United States. Facing Trump’s insults and pressure, they have wilted and caved.
The Multipolar Delusion, C. Rajamohan
https://www.foreignaffairs.com/united- ... sion-mohan

Meet the new ‘brown sepoy’ in town singing praises to his master? Especially his sepoyish put-down of India.

This Rajamohan dude has been an American parrot for decades. All his articles push American agenda.

g.sarkar wrote: 17 Feb 2026 23:38 Chetakji,
After retirement I have been visiting India regularly. Many of my relatives ask me to bring almonds. I found that Californian almonds cost more in California than in India. Strange but true. I am sure the price of American nuts and fruits will fall more in the near future.
The retail markup in the US over wholesale prices is huge.

The US also produces huge quantity of pistachios, avocados etc. If they can be grown in California, they can surely be grown in many parts of India.

Our agricultural sector needs a massive rethink. The small landholdings are a curse because they kill économies of scale and force hand to mouth existence.

^ These trees pistachio, avocado and almond take up to 5-7 years to yield a crop and up to 10-15 years to full maturity. Big money but a big wait.

India got shafted at bretton woods by the cunning connivance of the britshits and the amrikis

it now looks like the britshits, unbeknownst to the amrikis, the britshits were themselves running a long con against the amrikis

Promethean Action@PrometheanActn

NEW: Rubio just confirmed what they've hidden for 50 years — deindustrialization was DELIBERATE.

In 1977, the CFR called it "controlled disintegration." Now Trump is ending it and the globalists at Munich are in open panic.

We have the receipts

watch video

https://x.com/i/status/2023501026712539320

IT WAS DELIBERATE: Rubio Exposes the 50-Year Plot

Rubio told Munich that deindustrialization was "a conscious policy choice." He's right — the CFR wrote that plan in 1977. Now the globalists are panicking and Trump is reversing it on every front.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrRc1hYMfwo

IT WAS DELIBERATE: Rubio Exposes the 50-Year Plot

00:00 The Monday Brief - IT WAS DELIBERATE: Rubio Exposes the 50-Year Plot - February 16, 2026
01:59 Rubio at Munich — and the Globalist Panic
07:30 The 1977 Blueprint — CFR's "Controlled Disintegration"
10:30 Trump's Counter-Attack — The American System in Action

Feb 17, 2026 The Monday Brief
Secretary of State Marco Rubio says at the Munich conference that deindustrialization was a deliberate, decades-long policy choice that stripped nations of wealth, productive capacity, and independence.

Susan Kokinda connects Rubio’s claim to a 1977 Council on Foreign Relations report calling for the “Controlled Disintegration” of the world economy, arguing it targeted the Hamiltonian American System and helped drive the hollowing out of U.S. manufacturing and current European industrial decline.

The episode highlights European reactions, including ECB head Christine Lagarde’s warning about geo-economic fragmentation and financial fragility, and Belgium’s prime minister citing a dramatic loss of chemical production capacity linked to decarbonization.

It then argues the Trump administration is reversing the model through tariffs, industrial policy, large-scale investment, support for critical sectors, and a renewed focus on physical economy and household incomes, citing speeches by Trade Ambassador Greer and Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent.

Examples include Energy Secretary Chris Wright’s announcement of deploying a next-generation nuclear reactor to Utah and White House advisor Peter Navarro attacking JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon amid a push to cut credit card rates from 20–30% to 10%.

EBOOK A Police Dossier: It is the British Who Murder Our Presidents https://prom.ac/dos

chetak wrote: 18 Feb 2026 15:16 India got shafted at bretton woods by the cunning connivance of the britshits and the amrikis

it now looks like the britshits, unbeknownst to the amrikis, the britshits were themselves running a long con against the amrikis

If the britshits were running a long con, why are they in tatters right now and what all did they gain from this? Every metric says england is in decline, so what happened?

Jay wrote: 18 Feb 2026 21:05
chetak wrote: 18 Feb 2026 15:16 India got shafted at bretton woods by the cunning connivance of the britshits and the amrikis

If the britshits were running a long con, why are they in tatters right now and what all did they gain from this? Every metric says england is in decline, so what happened?

Jay ji,

looks like the colonial loot ran out and along with it any chance of replenishment.

The narrative that was long run in India was that they retired from the empire game after the amrikis blossomed as the newest pre eminent global power and the britshits reconciled themselves as a secondary power of limited means and limited reach in geopolitical and power projection terms

the britshits seem to have allied, on the quiet, with other european powers headed by monarchies like themselves, to maintain their relevance

This amriki rise was anticipated, given the sorry situation that the britshits (and the europeans) found themselves in during and after WWII.

One thinks that the ploy of transfer of power and the status as a dominion was to leave behind the already set ecosystem that was loyal to the britshits, and that ecosystem exists even today, supported by shady FFNGOs

Look at who are the ones supporting zelensky and his war, starting with the britshits

The very first European country to pony up almost $600 million in arms purchases from the United States to keep the Ukraine conflict going is the Netherlands. 600 $million.

That's a small country. This is the Netherlands as in the Dutch half of the Anglo Dutch imperial system.

And the other european countries that immediately jumped in, Norway, Sweden, and Denmark.

Notice something?

They're all monarchies.

WTF interest do these almost piss poor countries (except norway) have in continuing the war, and why haven't the frogs and the huns reluctant, to join these monarchies with an equal amount of zeal and enthusiasm

google the ties between these royal families and the britshit monarchy, and also the royal families' ties that go back to the hitler and the nazis.

It is these monarchies, led by the britshits that are running the long con to take down or at least limit the rise of the amrikis by impoverishing them. biden, obummer et al and their party seem to be in on this undertaking, along with the soreass ecosystem

The POTUS did some very plain speaking at davos and the sec of state did even better at the munich security conference. Take a look at what they said.........

trump seems focused on neutering the power of the city of London, and the long running financial behemoths resident there and control, in some form or the other, vast percentages of the global trade, since the time of the amriki war of independences, rather than London city

Cross posting from Modi 3.0
Former U.S. Diplomat Reveals Exactly Why India Is Important For U.S. & E.U.: 'Realistic View'
Senior experts including a former U.S. diplomat who was involved in defence issues related to South Asia told a U.S. congressional commission on February 17, that the United States and India increasingly view their partnership as critical to balancing China’s rise, despite recent diplomatic tensions that have exposed underlying strains in the relationship.

Lindsey Ford described India as uniquely positioned to help counterbalance China’s rise - watch.

Lisa wrote: 18 Feb 2026 14:43 ^ These trees pistachio, avocado and almond take up to 5-7 years to yield a crop and up to 10-15 years to full maturity. Big money but a big wait.
These nuts often take huge amounts of water to grow. In California they are always talking about this water usage, as the state is very short on water. In India, due to the large population, growing cash crops has problems as we must first grow rice, wheat etc., to feed the population first. You can see both Pakistan and BD has problems growing cotton, as their population is growing so fast.

Pistachio growing is just beginning in India in places with the climate for it.

Lindsey Ford is bull shitting, 47 has done irrepairable damage to relations with India. Over a decade of outreach and cooperation has been flushed down the toilet that is MAGA movement. I'm not sure what influence this lady has, but it's clear that the US may reach out to India again in the future but only for it's own interests, giving a handful only to grab a bushel.

After Rubii's a nakedly predatory speech at the Munich Security Conference, the US has made it clear, they will use europe as a vassal to regain the top spot in a unipolar world. They will use any means including and especially war to plunge the whole world into turmoil and destruction to get there. This will happen now before the US and Europe are further weakened to rebuild the western empire. What a ducking dangerous future vision he painted so blatantly 🤯 Bharat is and will be on it's own. Europeans are shell shocked, caught between american ambition and eurasian no love, and their time is running out.

India's best bet will be to pry away a couple of countries from the US' vice grip to derisk it's dealings with the west. France (no US bases) and perhaps Italy (half a dozen bases and about 11500 US personnel). Not energy deficient Germany, not poodle UK, others are too small to be of use. This will of course take years. Getting europe to mend fences with Russia and detoxing the rabid Russophobia will be essential.

‘PM Modi is watching us…’ Trump as he welcomes world leaders in ‘Board of Peace’ for Gaza plan

Supreme Court says Trump global tariffs are illegal
https://www.axios.com/2026/02/20/trump- ... rt-illegal

^^Trump "absolutely ashamed" of SCOTUS for tariffs ruling
.. Also imposing "10% 'global tariffs..." disinviting (sort of) the bad judges to state of the Union address ,, not to say that family of those justices will be ashamed..:(
Last edited by Amber G. on 21 Feb 2026 01:24, edited 1 time in total.

uddu wrote: 20 Feb 2026 12:46 PM Modi is watching us…’ Trump as he welcomes world leaders in ‘Board of Peace’ for Gaza plan[/ulr]
.. Here DT also went to '11 Planes' were shot down.. :shock: . "Great field Marshal said i saved 25 Million lives in India Pak war ... Didn't he .. Hey PM standup ..'''
and kid you not PM of Pak like a school boy stood up/// :rotfl:

The Times of India reports:
Nothing changes for India: Donald Trump's big statement on trade deal after US Supreme Court strikes down tariffs

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/bus ... 621544.cms
US President Donald Trump on Friday said that there will be no change in the India-US trade deal. His comments come after he announced a 10% global tariffs post the US Supreme Court deeming his reciprocal tariffs as illegal. Trump said that India will continue to pay the tariffs that have been decided, and the US will not pay any tariffs.

Asked about the impact of the Supreme Court verdict on the India-US trade agreement that is being finalised, Trump said, "Nothing changes, they'll be paying tariffs, and we will not be paying tariffs. So, the deal with India is they pay tariffs. This is a reversal for what it used to be. I think Prime Minister Modi is a great gentleman, a great man, actually, but he was much smarter than the people that he was against in terms of the United States. He was ripping us off, India. So we made a deal with India, it's a fair deal now, and we are not paying tariffs to them and they are paying tariffs. We did a little flip."

The Times of India, 21 February 2026:

How much tariff will India pay after US SC ruling, Trump’s 10% global duty? What White House said

When asked whether India will have to pay a 10 per cent tariff and whether it would replace previous tariffs imposed under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act (IEEPA), a White House official said, “Yes, 10% until another authority is invoked.”
50% to 18% to 10%, all in 3 weeks!

Added later. And now it’s 15%:

https://truthsocial.com/@realDonaldTrum ... 7886304328
Based on a thorough, detailed, and complete review of the ridiculous, poorly written, and extraordinarily anti-American decision on Tariffs issued yesterday, after MANY months of contemplation, by the United States Supreme Court, please let this statement serve to represent that I, as President of the United States of America, will be, effective immediately, raising the 10% Worldwide Tariff on Countries, many of which have been “ripping” the U.S. off for decades, without retribution (until I came along!), to the fully allowed, and legally tested, 15% level. During the next short number of months, the Trump Administration will determine and issue the new and legally permissible Tariffs, which will continue our extraordinarily successful process of Making America Great Again - GREATER THAN EVER BEFORE!!! Thank you for your attention to this matter. President DONALD J. TRUMP
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Donaldo trumpo parody onlee

“Let me tell you, folks — and I say this all the time — he was much smarter than the people he was up against. Tremendously smart, maybe the smartest you’ve ever seen. In terms of the United States, okay? We were getting ripped off. India — lovely country, great people — but they were ripping us off like you wouldn’t believe. So what did we do? We made a deal. A fair deal. The fairest deal. People said, ‘Sir, that’s not possible!’ And I said, ‘Watch me.’

So now they pay the tariffs, not us. Big flip. Huge flip. Some people said it couldn’t be done — but we flipped it. We flipped it so hard the tariffs didn’t even know what hit them! And if you think that’s confusing, just remember — he was much smarter than the people he was against. In terms of the United States. India. Tariffs. Deals. Smart people, very smart people — mostly me.”

Seems hard for the President to rely on the 15 percent statute (sec 122) when his DOJ in our case told the Court the opposite: “Nor does [122] have any obvious application here, where the concerns the President identified in declaring an emergency arise from trade deficits, which are conceptually distinct from balance-of-payments deficits."

If he wants sweeping tariffs, he should do the American thing and go to Congress. If his tariffs are such a good idea, he should have no problem persuading Congress. That’s what our Constitution requires.

Trump Says He Will Raise Global Tariff to 15 Percent
Link: https://www.nytimes.com/2026/02/21/busi ... riffs.html

I think India joined to be able to get a view of what shenanigans the members led by the US are up to than for any tangible benefits that may or may not accrue. Be at the table than be on the menu thing.

drnayar wrote: 22 Feb 2026 00:00 Donaldo trumpo parody onlee

“Let me tell you, folks — and I say this all the time — he was much smarter than the people he was up against. Tremendously smart, maybe the smartest you’ve ever seen. In terms of the United States, okay? We were getting ripped off. India — lovely country, great people — but they were ripping us off like you wouldn’t believe. So what did we do? We made a deal. A fair deal. The fairest deal. People said, ‘Sir, that’s not possible!’ And I said, ‘Watch me.’

So now they pay the tariffs, not us. Big flip. Huge flip. Some people said it couldn’t be done — but we flipped it. We flipped it so hard the tariffs didn’t even know what hit them! And if you think that’s confusing, just remember — he was much smarter than the people he was against. In terms of the United States. India. Tariffs. Deals. Smart people, very smart people — mostly me.”
Good one :rotfl:

eklavya wrote: 21 Feb 2026 21:09 The Times of India, 21 February 2026:

How much tariff will India pay after US SC ruling, Trump’s 10% global duty? What White House said

When asked whether India will have to pay a 10 per cent tariff and whether it would replace previous tariffs imposed under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act (IEEPA), a White House official said, “Yes, 10% until another authority is invoked.”

Based on a thorough, detailed, and complete review of the ridiculous, poorly written, and extraordinarily anti-American decision on Tariffs issued yesterday, after MANY months of contemplation, by the United States Supreme Court, please let this statement serve to represent that I, as President of the United States of America, will be, effective immediately, raising the 10% Worldwide Tariff on Countries, many of which have been “ripping” the U.S. off for decades, without retribution (until I came along!), to the fully allowed, and legally tested, 15% level. During the next short number of months, the Trump Administration will determine and issue the new and legally permissible Tariffs, which will continue our extraordinarily successful process of Making America Great Again - GREATER THAN EVER BEFORE!!! Thank you for your attention to this matter. President DONALD J. TRUMP
BTW I am hearing the noice that Indian negotiators have slowed down their negotiation, because the current joint statement will not work after the SCOTUS decision.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

williams wrote: 22 Feb 2026 15:27
eklavya wrote: 21 Feb 2026 21:09 The Times of India, 21 February 2026:

BTW I am hearing the noice that Indian negotiators have slowed down their negotiation, because the current joint statement will not work after the SCOTUS decision.
The American s need to use tariffs at 0%. How can they have an agreement that is in violation of the supreme court of their own country :mrgreen:

I am not a lawyer, and this situation is quite confusing. Perhaps a lawyer can explain what’s happening!

Previous situation. President of US assumed to have tariff setting powers under IEEPA. So, India does a deal with the President. India gets 18%.

New situation. President of US does not have tariff setting powers under IEEPA. Now, 15% tariff on every country, whether or not they have done a “deal”, but only for 5 months. What happens after 5 months? So, if India slow-walks the “deal”, India still gets access to US market at 15% tariff (like every other country), for the next 5 months.

Anyway, how to “sign” a deal with the US when the US President has no authority to do a deal? Or maybe he does have authority? I’m very confused.

President Trump is now looking to put tariffs under different laws, etc. So perhaps it’s wise to not get on his wrong side. Plus, if we show him the middle ungli, he will likely cause havoc by upgrading PAF F-16s, etc. etc.

Definitely a tricky situation.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

eklavya wrote: 22 Feb 2026 18:01 I am not a lawyer, and this situation is quite confusing. Perhaps a lawyer can explain what’s happening!

Previous situation. President of US assumed to have tariff setting powers under IEEPA. So, India does a deal with the President. India gets 18%.

New situation. President of US does not have tariff setting powers under IEEPA. Now, 15% tariff on every country, whether or not they have done a “deal”, but only for 5 months. What happens after 5 months? So, if India slow-walks the “deal”, India still gets access to US market at 15% tariff (like every other country), for the next 5 months.

Anyway, how to “sign” a deal with the US when the US President has no authority to do a deal? Or maybe he does have authority? I’m very confused.

President Trump is now looking to put tariffs under different laws, etc. So perhaps it’s wise to not get on his wrong side. Plus, if we show him the middle ungli, he will likely cause havoc by upgrading PAF F-16s, etc. etc.

Definitely a tricky situation.
Easy ., " tricky situation " needs a " flexible deal" or No deal .. renegotiate or add in a clause for a renogotiation in 3 years time or so !

As I had mentioned/predicted earlier, all this "tariff regime" and other useless "busy work" from Trump, Ron Vara, Basant, Lattu is absolute BS and a terrible waste of taxpayer money. It lasted even shorter than I thought. Rest of the drama including "10% --> 15% global tariff" etc will also come crashing down in a few weeks/months.

Bharat should be (and all along has been) viewing all of this with buckets of salt, including minimizing the time-wasting "negotiations". In the meanwhile, Modi sarkar has secured real trade agreements with countries and blocs far and wide, and the export promotion machinery in Bharat has gotten to a higher level. Bharat has emerged much stronger irrespective of the ineptness of other governments. In comparison Bhaidanwa and his commerce secretary (Gina Raimondo) did a much better job of Bharat-USA trade relations for what it was worth.

Lattu to buri tarah se ludak gaya hai. Is mahanubhav ko yeh bhi yaad nahi ki apne agle darvaje ka padosi Epstein bhai se biwi-bachhe samet kitni baar mila...lekin yah USA ka kaarobar department chalaayenge. Dhatteri ki!

Just curious. Does not India need to have the US-India trade agreement approved by the Parliament?

Cyrano wrote: 22 Feb 2026 13:43
I think India joined to be able to get a view of what shenanigans the members led by the US are up to than for any tangible benefits that may or may not accrue. Be at the table than be on the menu thing.
Pax Silica isn’t some symbolic “peace board” gesture — it’s a concrete semiconductor supply-chain framework focused on securing silicon inputs, advanced manufacturing cooperation, trusted fabs, equipment access, and resilient design ecosystems.

It’s aligned with the broader US-led semiconductor coordination effort anchored by the U.S. Department of Commerce under the CHIPS and Science Act — but participation isn’t automatic or universal. Not even every close US partner is in every tier of these frameworks (for example, Canada isn’t central to the core advanced-node manufacturing coalition).

For India, this is strategically significant:

• Access to trusted supply chains (materials, tools, design IP)
• Integration into advanced manufacturing ecosystems
• Long-term positioning in fab, OSAT, and chip design growth
• Greater leverage in tech standards and export-control conversations

For the US, India brings scale, design talent, growing fabrication ambition, and geopolitical balance in the Indo-Pacific.

Rahul G criticism like //“surrender” misses the point. Semiconductor alliances today are about interdependence among trusted partners — not subordination. In fact, from my perspective, this was one of the more unexpected and substantive outcomes of the AI summit. It signals that India is being treated as a structural player in the silicon order, not a peripheral one.

“Be at the table” is exactly right — but here, India isn’t just observing the menu. It’s helping write it.

Don't know what to make out of this:
Body found off Bay Area highway may be linked to man's abduction

A body found off the highway near Lake Berryessa may be linked to a kidnapping that occurred in Tracy last week, as the probe into the abduction of Avtar Singh continues.

On Tuesday, San Joaquin County Sheriff’s deputies received a call about a possible abduction. Upon arrival at the 16000 block of W. Grant Line Road in Tracy, deputies learned Singh, 57, was apparently forced into a vehicle and driven away. The area is home to the Tracy Gurdwara Sahib, a Sikh place of worship, where Singh reportedly worked.

"Surveillance footage showed a white SUV and three unidentified individuals dressed in dark clothing with the victim at approximately 2:30 p.m.," the sheriff’s office wrote on social media. "The victim appears to have entered the vehicle against his will."

On Friday afternoon, a body was discovered along Highway 128 near Lake Berryessa. The discovery prompted the closure of the highway from Monticello Dam to Wragg Canyon Road, a distance of about 15 miles. The roadway was closed as investigators probed the scene until Saturday. Although the body was found in Napa County, the investigation was turned over to the San Joaquin County Sheriff’s Office.

“It appears that the decedent did not die in Napa County,” Napa County Sheriff's Office spokesperson Henry Wofford said.

The body has not yet been identified, but links are being investigated between Singh’s apparent abduction in Tracy and the decedent at Lake Berryessa.

GoFundMe posted on behalf of Singh’s family wrote on Saturday that Singh has died. “What began as a deeply concerning disappearance has ended in an unimaginable loss for his family and the entire Sangat,” the page reads. The post lists Singh’s surviving family as a wife and 6-month-old triplets. “Raising even one child as a single mother is challenging — and with three infants, the responsibility is immense,” the page reads.

Anyone with information about Singh’s abduction is asked to contact the San Joaquin County Sheriff's Office at 209-468-4400.
Link: https://www.sfgate.com/bayarea/article/ ... 24377.php?

saip wrote: 22 Feb 2026 21:52 Just curious. Does not India need to have the US-India trade agreement approved by the Parliament?
I thought so too at one time. But it turns out for trade deals the Cabinet is taken to have the approval and authorization of the Parliament beforehand.