Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Vayusena & Nausena Rafale: News & Discussion

Manish_Sharma wrote: 22 Jan 2026 09:48

Move over AMCA, it will take longer(of course we can do it but it will take LONGER), the world over trend is to MAKE STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP FOR NEXT GENERATION PLATFORMS (FCAS of france??) :
https://x.com/manojzxc/status/2013971175517655246?s=20
Here starts IAF starting MRFA 2.0 for FCAS :
ACM is indirectly demanding 100 B$ to join France FCAS program..what a disastrous person he is.
All his big talk about pvt industry is to establish an assembly line to assemble Rafale and, later use the assembly line for FCAS
https://x.com/manojzxc/status/2013975895422169461?s=20
French-Germany FCAS project is falling apart,since French refused to give any substantive work share to Germany,while using Germany as a milk cow to fund the FCAS program.
Now it's becoming clear y this ACM delayed AMCA wit pvt consortium idea &
WHILE other twitter poster interprets it as a move to Su-57 not french fcas:
https://x.com/Neetivaan/status/2013956560641552787?s=20
ACM AP Singh almost hints that Rafale will be inevitable.

While, he also says to catch up with the next generation (5th gen most probably) we need to join hands with someone.

Man, if we go with Su-57, this will be the biggest L for us because we already moved on from FGFA.
although looking at IAF's penchant for french platforms probably its going to be FCAS of france.

90 F4 Rafale + 24 F5 Rafale (with Neuron UCAVs??)
& then FCAS to follow...

so future probably is
GoI decided to add 97 Tejas Mk1A to previous order of 83 Tejas..
both current air chief A.P. Singh & former air chief Bhaduria openly came in media REQUESTING GoI to move the order of these 97 Tejas Mk1A orders to Tejas Mk2 instead (which will have 1st flight sometime 2027), although a month before air chief A.P. Singh was demanding 'give me 40 to 50 fighter jets every year..we need them urgently' but the moment GoI turns decisive 'jaldi kya hai? postpone these 97 order to later (2032) Tejas Mk2'

what is preventing future air force leadership to repeat same for Tejas Mk2 REQUESTING GoI to move those orders to AMCA instead (as internal payload carrying jets will be more common by then)?

I remember when GoI ordered 165 LCH, a few articles appeared in media about how 'age of COMBAT HELICOPTERs is over', but complete silence when apaches ordered & same is true for most swadeshi platforms

Google ai answer on:
is approval of ccs pending since november 2025 with regard to rspa ghatak ucav?

As of January 2026, the
Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) approval for the full-scale development and prototype funding of the RSPA Ghatak UCAV remains pending.
Current status and key factors regarding the approval include:

Financial Sanction Awaited: The program is currently awaiting a final sanction of approximately ₹5,000 crore from the government to transition into the prototype assembly and flight testing phases.
Engine-linked Approval: A significant procedural hurdle for CCS clearance is the certification of the indigenous Dry Kaveri engine. The Ministry of Defence (MoD) has set a firm deadline of 2026 for this certification. Experts indicate that financial commitment from the CCS is interlinked with the successful validation of this engine.
Ongoing Progress: Despite the pending funding, the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the Aeronautical Development Establishment (ADE) have moved beyond conceptual design. They are proactively developing an engineering model to validate critical systems and have already frozen the configuration.
Revised Timelines: Due to the delays in funding and government clearance, the rollout of the first full-scale prototype is now anticipated by 2028-2029, with maiden flight testing projected for late 2030 or 2031.
seems Rafale acquision is just the stepping stone, in depth we're moving towards Rafale-Neuron-FCAS mfrg

while media beats drums on every AoN (which are later buried) as if swadeshi is acquired.
@ThePrintIndia wrote:
https://x.com/ThePrintIndia/status/2025 ... 43255?s=20
1/6: India is exploring the possibility of teaming up with France for co-development & co-manufacture of a futuristic sixth-generation fighter under Future Combat Air System (FCAS) programme, ThePrint has learnt. Initial talks have already taken place.

2/6: The FCAS project began in 2017 between France, Germany and Spain. The aim was to ensure European sovereignty in defence and security with a next-generation combat aircraft.

3/6: But nearly nine years later, the ambitious project is going through turbulence. There are sharp differences over leadership and work share among partner countries, which are affecting progress.

4/6: Key companies involved include Dassault Aviation, Airbus and Indra Sistemas. Disagreements have led to concerns about delays and the future shape of the programme.

5/6: Sources say India has made it clear it is willing to look at joining FCAS project if things do not work out smoothly within current partners. For India, this could mean access to advanced sixth-generation technologies & deeper defence ties with France.

This is turning into a colossal disaster!

Aerospace news:
https://aerospaceglobalnews.com/news/fc ... opilot.com
Chancellor Friedrich Merz has publicly questioned whether Germany even needs the Future Combat Air System’s Next Generation Fighter in its current form, casting fresh uncertainty over a project already beset by Franco-German tension.

Speaking on the Machtwechsel podcast, and reported by Reuters, Merz drew a sharp distinction between French and German operational needs.

“The French need a nuclear-capable jet that can land on an aircraft carrier,” he said. “We do not currently need this in the German armed forces. If we cannot resolve this, we will not be able to continue with the project.”
Germany doesn’t have nukes or aircraft carriers. (Germany has never operated an aircraft carrier.)
India has both. That is, French and Indian requirements are more in sync than France-Germany.

What I just realized is that, we replaced Russians/Soviets with the French. Just like Mig-21, 27, 29, Su-30MKI's made into IAF Fleet, it's going to be Rafale, FCAS so on and so forth.
bkswarti

Post by bkswarti »

Rakesh wrote: 23 Feb 2026 21:45 Beyond Rafale, why India is eyeing sixth generation fighter aircraft program FCAS with France

In what could be a major collaboration in the aviation sector, India is exploring the possibility of teaming up with France for co-development and co-manufacture of a futuristic sixth-generation fighter under the Future Combat Air System (FCAS) programme. ThePrint’s Editor – Defence and Diplomacy Snehesh Alex Philip explains in DefenceScope.
Few things to note:

- we desperately need to start a 6th gen aircraft. We do not want China (or lord forbid Pakistan) having this capability in 15 years while we are starting to induct AMCA.
- As we are putting all our resources into the AMCA, it makes sense to team up with someone.

Is FCAS the best way for india to proceed?

- France is a pretty reliable power
- France will in no way transfer any technology. They want to ensure that we remain as dependent on them as possible.
- But, the French are also good to make a deal with; if they agree to something, they deliver with high quality.

Perhaps the result is that majority of manufacturing happens here but majority of design happens there. Doesn’t seem to me that it’s a deal worth signing, but, there may be other hidden deals like French veto support at UN Security Council. As we move away from Russia, this may be our way of ensuring a seat at the top. Maybe this partnership protects us in the long term. I m not a modi bhakt in any way but there may be a strategic reason behind this even though this deal goes against atmanirbharta

The old world order is dead. Veto power in UN is useless.
We should oppose things we dont like vehemently and ensure that it sticks outside the UN structure.
FCAS is too far out, good to focus, but lets not lose sight of whats important - engines for AMCA.
Everything else we can workaround.

- get testing equipment for engines
- get flying testbed

Everything else will fall into place. Everyone will see us pursuing the right tech, they will all comply.
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

We should double down on AMCA and beyond. France will try to tie us down to them along with help from some of our own people.
We are pretty much there in the missiles as we can see from the deals Israel it trying to push down to us. Just a final push is needed
for engines.
S_Madhukar

Post by S_Madhukar »

uddu wrote: 24 Feb 2026 19:07 What I just realized is that, we replaced Russians/Soviets with the French. Just like Mig-21, 27, 29, Su-30MKI's made into IAF Fleet, it's going to be Rafale, FCAS so on and so forth.
We always need a foreign Daddy…may be this is the last generation of officers pulling the strings , bakasheesh or not or just fanboys but I hope we don’t waste money like FGFA

France Refuses Key Rafale Technology Transfers to India and Restricts Autonomy: Will it Boost the Russian Su-57’s Appeal?
https://militarywatchmagazine.com/artic ... logy-india
23 Feb 2026

Rakesh wrote: 25 Feb 2026 20:15 France Refuses Key Rafale Technology Transfers to India and Restricts Autonomy: Will it Boost the Russian Su-57’s Appeal?
23 Feb 2026
Rafale To FCAS: India Emerges “Perfect Partner” To Replace Germany in Europe’s Struggling €100B, 6th-Gen Fighter Program?
https://www.eurasiantimes.com/from-rafa ... t-program/
24 Feb 2026

Is India committing BIG mistake in buying 114 Rafale?

Group Captain Ajay Ahlawat (retd) - A seasoned fighter pilot and strategic military thinker, Group Captain Ajay Ahlawat (Retd) brings over 25 years of distinguished service in the military (Indian Air Force) and civil aviation. Commissioned into the Indian Air Force (IAF) in Dec 1996, after graduating from the National Defence Academy (NDA), he has operated high-performance fighter jets, besides handling various command and staff appointments. He has extensive experience in aerospace operations, force application in support of national security, and planning of complex operations. He is a qualified civil aviation pilot as well and holds type ratings on the Boeing 737, Airbus A320, and Gulfstream G-200. His military tenure was defined by key leadership roles such as Commanding Officer of the IAF Hawk training squadron and Operations staff at HQ Western Air Command. He was nominated for various international courses by the IAF, including- Qualified Flying Instructor with the Royal Air Force (UK), Advanced Air Power specialization with RAAF (Australia) and Air Staff course at the Air University (Maxwell AFB, USA). With a Master’s degree in Operational Art and Science, he has contributed to doctrinal development, joint warfare planning, and strategic policy formulation within the IAF.

His academic and operational exposure in the USA, UK, and Australia reflects a deep engagement with traditional and emerging military thought with a global military perspective and thought leadership. Beyond the cockpit, he served as a subject matter expert in air warfare and strategy, helping shape the IAF warfighting doctrine. Since transitioning from active service, he continues contributing as a defence expert and commentator on strategic affairs, frequently appearing in media and publishing insights on regional security, air power, space based applications and military modernization.

uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23 Rakesh ji, you are thinking about this or that. I am for all possible options. We need to work on the last mile of completion of Kaveri engine project by making it fly on the Tejas. In the meantime of these 5 years, our fighters need to have engine. We cannot stop the development completely for 5 years. So import F404 and F414 and also do test the Tejas prototypes be it MK1A and MK2 ones with M88 variants as a safety measure for the Tejas MK1A and if possible consider a variant that will go into the Rafale as well in MK2 variant as well. Otherwise if you are creating a M88-I in engine which is limited production, will again cause issues. These are temporary solutions till our own Kaveri MK2 project is sanctioned on the KDE afterburner variant and get it developed along with the engine being developed in association with France. Will be cheaper and large numbers of Tejas MK2 fleet could utilize these and will help with exports as well.

Regarding Squadron strength, it need to be met with Indian platform and not imported ones.
But we are not working on that last mile. That is why we are still in this mess.

We do not have a single flying test bed. We do not have an engine test facility. Kaveri has to wait for time slot to open in Russia, to test the engine. In the absence of this, how do you plan for the Kaveri to get completed? And then we want squadron strength to be met with Indian aircraft (with non-Indian engines). Fighter aircraft stay in the fleet for 4 decades at minimum. For the next 4 decades, we want Indian airpower to be at the whims & fancies of Unkil? See this tweet below from 10 Jan 2026....

https://x.com/ShiroBarks/status/2009964 ... 46907?s=20 ---> By the way in 2014, HAL planned a ₹1,525 crore High Altitude Test Bed in Sunabeda with DRDO, which would have made India the 5th country after the UK, Russia, USA & Italy. Its engines are now tested in Russia at high cost. Approvals were pending, and no updates since...

₹1,525 crore = no money Saar, however 114 Rafales = open the chequebook. The GoI is making a mockery of Atmanirbhar Bharat.
uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23 Kaveri will be made to fly on the Tejas MK1A. That gives the options for us to even create better variants of the Tejas MK1A, let's call it Tejas MK1B, even try to make it slightly more lighter with the newer materials etc and create a variant that's suitable to be produced in much more numbers with better AESA in the form of GaN based Uttam and any other technology that will be developed in teh next 5 years. All those changes adopted on the other Tejas and improved to the MK1B variant. 96 more variants of the Tejas MK1B can arrive. To mass produce all these, there be another two lines of production set up. Be it at Bengaluru or at Koraput.
We are running around in circles here :)

Any upgrades to the Tejas Mk1A fleet will be on the 180 airframes that are ordered. It does not make sense to order any more Mk1As beyond the 180, as there are payload limitations on the Mk1A (3,910 kg)....that the Mk2 (6,500 kg) overcomes. The goal is to increase air power capability when you upgrade from one platform to the next. Otherwise, cancel the Mk2 and just produce only Mk1As. But that will not work.

So it makes ample sense to upgrade the Mk1A to Mk1B, Mk1C, etc. No issues with that whatsoever. So just like from Mirage 2000H to Mirage 2000I. From MiG-29B/S to MiG-29UPG. From MiG-21bis to MiG-21 Bison. From Jaguar Darin II to Darin III. From Su-30MKI to Super Sukhoi.

But at some point in the future, platform limitations will come into play and then you will need a more capable platform. This is why Dassault moved from Mirage 2000 to Rafale. Why Sukhoi moved from Su-35 to Su-57. Why LM moved from F-16 to F-35 and from F-15 to F-22. Why Boeing moved from F-14 to F-18. Each succeeding platform was designed to improve upon capability.

And this is why the Tejas Mk2 is needed.
uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23When the majority of production lines will slowly start shifting and the mass production of MK2 begins, the order placement can move to MK2A, Mk2B in every half a decade of production with good number of Tejas MK2 ordered meanwhile a new powerful KDE variant engine made available for Mk2 as well. There will be a slight overlap of 2 to 3 years when both the Mk1B and MK2 variants will be getting inducted in the IAF, before it shifts to MK2 for some time and then AMCA starts arriving. Continue similarly with AMCA and with AMCA MK2 and its variants of Sixth gen fighter. This is money well invested. If you are ready to have ORCA into the mix, when the MK2 is already flying with a Kaveri engine, should be considered as well. This is the way to be Atmanirbhar. The cycle of imports need to be broken and IAF should show patience for half a decade to max a decade for true Atmanirbharta to emerge.
All of the above requires India to invest in flying test beds and engine test facilities.

How many do we have in India now? How many are envisaged for the future?

In the absence of this infrastructure, your plan above will not materialize.
uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23The Navy went on this paths for about 3 decades. This was when the technology availability was very low. They have to do it, slow and steady and did it.
If the Navy did what you are claiming, then why did they buy Rafale M? Why did the Navy refuse to release funding for TEDBF till the contract for the 22 Rafale Ms + 4 Rafale Bs was signed? Why is the Navy now interested in ordering a second batch of Rafale Ms (31 more airframes)? It is nice to state the above, because that is the churan that the Navy has parroted to the Indian citizenry. The entire surface combatant fleet is powered by US, Russian or Ukrainian engines. Naval aviation largely uses all phoren platforms in fixed-wing, rotary and UAVs. The sub-surface fleet is all phoren. Even the much touted, upcoming Project 76 SSK will have a diesel engine from MTU of Germany.
uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23This approach IAF need to take for a decade to get out of the import cycles. in the meantime, very few squadrons of Rafale for the time being in the 12, 24 or 36 if IAF is that low on confidence. Anything more is suicidal for the nation and nations' progress. With regard to the Army it's another story.
Why take any more Rafales, even if it is a mere 12 airframes? At some point in the future, the Rafale fleet will have to be upgraded. The Mirage 2000 upgrade cost upwards of $2 billion. The Rafale upgrade will be even more expensive.

In brief, we trust them to defend the borders. We do not trust them to have a rational procurement plan.

A_Gupta wrote: 25 Feb 2026 22:02 In brief, we trust them to defend the borders. We do not trust them to have a rational procurement plan.
War is too important to be left to the Generals.
- French Prime Minister Georges Clemenceau

The problem in India is that the civilian side (babus and politicians) are clueless about the military. So the civilian side has entrusted the military to not only defend the borders, but also to have a rational procurement plan. Every Air Chief and his staff at Air HQ, from the mid-90s to date is to blame for this mess in procurement planning.

1) Instead of ordering a piecemeal of 40 Tejas Mk1s, it should have been a 200 Mk1 order from the get go. F404 production deliveries also would not have been an issue, as it is now. In parallel, investing in high altitude test facilities and acquiring used A340s or B747s should have also been done. When the upgrade was ready (i.e. Mk1A), there should have been a fleet wide update of the Mk1. And when the Kaveri got ready, they could have swapped out the existing in-service airframes with the Kaveri.

2) The MMRCA/MRFA contests killed the one platform (Su-30MKI) upgrade that actually had viability. Instead of commencing an upgrade for the Rambha fleet, Air HQ wasted more than a decade in chasing after the mythical MMRCA/MRFA.

IMVHO, the best way to salvage the situation is the following;

- Sign JVs with both Safran and Rolls Royce for low bypass turbofans. The Safran JV can work on completing the 120+ kN turbofan for the AMCA and the Rolls Royce JV can work on getting an alternative to the F414 turbofan for the Tejas Mk2 and getting the Kaveri over the finish line for the Mk1A. Rolls Royce had lost the competition to GE for the Tejas Mk2 (in 2009, I believe). A decision that is now - in hindsight - regretted. In parallel continue with the F404 for the Tejas Mk1A and the F414 for the Tejas Mk2 till the alternatives become available. But there needs to be a clean break from Unkil for the Tejas fleet, in the near future.

If the Tejas Mk2 does not come in sufficient numbers, we are completely and utterly screwed. It will spell the death knell for the AMCA.

If we want to stop importing fighter aircraft (Rafale, Su-57, FCAS, etc) then having your own low bypass turbofan is an absolute must.

We cannot nickel & dime national security. We cannot view national security as a cost-saving exercise. Our Babus and our politicos need to understand these basic facts. There is no price too high to pay for keeping our nation safe.

Rakesh wrote: 25 Feb 2026 20:15 France Refuses Key Rafale Technology Transfers to India and Restricts Autonomy: Will it Boost the Russian Su-57’s Appeal?
23 Feb 2026
People with various agendas. Compare above with below...

India’s 114 Rafale Jet Deal Mirrors Su-30MKI Success But With Deeper ToT and Localisation
https://defence.in/threads/indias-114-r ... ion.16978/
24 Feb 2026

uddu wrote: 19 Feb 2026 07:23...
Read every word below. Worth its weight in gold. I am providing the source link, in case you are looking for reference. I however edited the tweets for easier reading. He uses a lot of acronyms, that many may not understand...so I expanded on them.

P.S. He pulls up even the Rafale deal :) But one of the key takeaways is that the lack of our low bypass turbofan has crippled our entire homegrown fighter program. The chickens have come home to roost.

https://x.com/hindookissinger/status/20 ... 11394?s=20 --->
I give up, not gonna lie. Will deactivate this account. But before I go this post will be up for a while. The Modi administration has completely crippled military readiness. Everyone knows about the air force because it is the most crippled out of the 3 arms of the military. But it's not the only one.

But let's summarise what went wrong with the IAF. Historically, India has always been an importer of military aircraft. HAL has always been less of a "manufacturer" and more of an "assembler". This did change briefly with the HF-24 Marut, but we were back to importing military aircraft and abandoning the successor of HF-24 that was HF-73. Anyways, after two decades of work starting from the 1980s, involving HAL and ADA (Aeronautical Development Agency), the LCA (Light Combat Aircraft) code name "Tejas" took flight in 2001.

During this time, we also had hundreds of MiG-21s, MiG-23s, and MiG-27s. These were old but still usable jets in 2001. The future of the Indian Air Force hinged on the LCA being a replacement for MiG-21, Su-30 "MKI"s (more on this later), the Rafale and the HAL FGFA. Now, LCA was originally supposed to be flown with the Kaveri engine. Kaveri underwent a few development cycles and while it could deliver 49 kN of non-afterburner thrust, it maxed out at 78 kN AB thrust. The expectation was 52 kN and 83 kN. And it was heavier, so poor TWR.

Any sane country would have aggressively funded research in material sciences, aerospace, set up new labs, etc. to match up this deficit but since we have chaman chutiyas in power, in 2008, it was decided to "de-link" Kaveri from the LCA programme and rely on existing GE-F404. The delay in LCA was of no concern to the IAF because the MiGs still had a decade and a half of juice left, the Su-30MKIs were being inducted, there were still plenty of aircraft around. Besides, PLAAF was still testing out their J-10A/B; which were nothing to write home about. The IAF had this plan for the future:

1. 126 Rafales ("MMRCA")
2. 214 HAL FGFA (joint Indo-Russian project, this eventually became the "Su-57")
3. Tejas Mk2 (a modification of the Tejas Mk1)

If you were an aviation geek in India in 2013, you were mostly looking to this. Now here's a sequence of events:

* 2009: 163 MiG-23s retired.
* 2014: Kaveri programme is abandoned.
* 2016: Rafale order reduced to 36 from 126.
* 2017: 150 MiG-27s retired.
* 2018: India exits FGFA.
* 2019: HAL shuts down production of Su-30MKI despite recommending more orders.

Let's divert for a moment to talk about the Su-30MKI. The Su-30MKI is the "Modernized, Commercialised, Indianized" variant of the Su30 (that's what the MKI stands for in Russian). This was a significant deal for India because it came with decent transfer-of-technology. It is technically a myth that India does not make jet engines...it does. HAL primarily makes two modern fighter jet engines: these are the AL-31FP (used in the MKI) and the RD-33MK (used in the MiG-29). But it is not without caveat. Russians wouldn't give their crown jewel. HAL has to agree to import some sub components such as (but not limited to) certain alloys, high precision and high temperature components, and some methods involved in the process such as processing of superalloys and heat treatment cycles are Russian intellectual property. Despite this, the agreement has allowed India to manufacture these jet engines, and even right now, HAL Koraput is rolling out these engines. Yes! Right now! Despite sanctions and Russia being crippled, they're able to supply the various sub components. For the simple reason in supply chain theory: that the production rate of sub components is generally much higher than that of the engines.

Now, here's another interesting thing: the Chinese used AL-31FN (not -FP) to test out their J-10, J-16 and J-20 fighter jets. So any person who is able to connect 2 dots can see where we're going: Why didn't we use the AL-31FP as the test bed for our prospective fighter programme? The typical answer to this is that Russian engines are poor quality etc., but then the Chinese did use them? The answer is that we will never know. Instead, we opted to center our fighter jet programmes around:

* F404-IN20
* F414-INS6

Both of these are engines produced by the American company, General Electric. The F-404 engines were to be directly imported from the US. But the F-414 engines were to be given under a "Transfer of Technology" agreement to India. Except, there's just one problem. Why should the United States - give India - a traditionally Russian ally, anything like this? The Modi administration linked the Tejas Mk2 and the AMCA programmes to the F-414 ToT. This meant that unless the F-414 ToT was finalized, there would be no funding of the Mk2 or the AMCA. And guess what? The F-414 ToT is not finalized till now. So starting from 2018, when we withdraw from FGFA, 2019 when we stopped producing the Su-30MKI, and then the clock on the MiG-21s finally ran out: they had to be retired by 2025.

They finally realised what went wrong and decided to order the 83 LCA Mk1A in 2021. But here's the problem: GE had shut down the F-404IN20 line back in 2016, and there were no orders made. Keeping an engine line alive is costly and especially for a variant which is not ordered, it is standard practice to shut it down. Combined with the pandemic, this added a delay of 3-4 years to the delivery schedule. But what's more disturbing, is that the US seems to be using this engine supply as a choke point. Navarro threatened in his article, to withdraw jet engine supplies to India. That's because the Americans know they've us by the balls. All our current and prospective fighter programmes...

* LCA i.e. Mk1, Mk1A
* MWF Tejas Mk2
* AMCA
* HLFT-42
* TEDBF

...are built around US F-414 engines. And whose transfer agreement hasn't even materialized. The IAF fighter strength has depleted far below the requirements. The only difference now is, the PLAAF is much bigger and much stronger. While IAF was sitting on pptx files and merely entering and exiting programmes and redefining ASQRs, the PLAAF began mass induction of the J-10. The PLAAF has a combined force of 607 J-10s. This alone is enough to counter all of IAF fleet (which is around 550). Did the PLAAF stop there? No. Just like India got the Su-30MKI from Russia, the PLAAF got the Su-27 with workshare transfer which they called the J-11. The Chinese inducted close to 440 J-11s (India inducted around 272 Su-30MKIs).

Now taking the knowledge from the J-11, the Chinese constructed a modernized Flanker, some sort of a "SuperFlanker". Composite material airframe, AESA radar, long range A2A missiles. It's the best Flanker today by far - meet J-16, 450 in service. And finally to top it off, we get the J-20, the 5th generation Chinese fighter, with around 350-400 built. And then the J-35...with 60-100 built. The Chinese are now rolling off fighter jets like how humans were coming in out of Krishna's Vishwaroopa. Like an endless stream. On home front, the situation was understandably getting bleak.

But Indian leadership has already given up against China. We don't like to say this but we have. They have an almost unsurmountable lead. It's actually f***ing over. The real bamboo-in-the-ass moment then came when Turkey flew their TF-X KAAN. Their 4.5G - 5G fighter jet. That's when it appears to have struck very hard that even not-so-great powers could fly potentially stealth air frames. So they finally, released the funds for AMCA in 2023. The combined future of our prospective programmes:

* LCA Mk1A - Engine supply crippled.
* LCA Mk2 - Engine supply uncertain.
* AMCA - Engine supply uncertain.
* TEDBF - Design phase.
* HLFT-42 - Design phase.

Except Mk1A, none of the aircraft have even been rolled out or flown. It generally takes at least 6 - 7 years from first flight to induction. Longer in our case for the inefficiencies we have as a country, people, whatever. The KF-21 (Korean 4.5G - 5G fighter) took its first flight in 2022 & it is still not inducted in the Korean Air Force. Aircraft are not a joke and building, iterating, certifying & testing them takes time. The introduction date is March 2026. Took 4 years in Korean case (highly optimistic). What is excruciatingly more painful is that there now seems to be a total give up on any indigenous production capacity at all. They're importing missiles that we already have built at home!

War is always about attrition. What happens we run out of missiles during a war?

On top of this, there are Indian programmes all stuck in funding. These include:

* Super Sukhoi upgrade (necessary upgrade to modernize our MKI fleet, which are all rotting as we speak)
* Ghatak/CATS, flying wingman drones, no funding for prototype or interest from MoD.

Ultimately, Modi is responsible. This administration has ironically enough crippled the scientific and engineering institutions of the country via various ways. When it comes to production, you have to understand that supply lines must keep running. You cannot stop producing jets just because you finished the order. Understand what a fighter production looks like, welders, machinists, electricians, mechanics and several other skilled people work on a fighter jet before it rolls out of the production line. These people are humans and will retire or leave for greener pastures. If you stop fighter jet production, the ones who will take their place will have no experience. This is why when China was rolling out the J-10, they continued producing J-8s...even if they were outdated!

This is why the debate around whether India should buy LCA or not is so nonsensical! LCA and Su-30MKI are the only fighter jets we can product today! Of course, we should keep ordering them until we get better options! And the sheer fact that our squadron strength is depleting and we had an air force that flew MiG-21s well beyond their welcome, an LCA is far better than a MiG-21. Why are the LCA and Su-30MKI so important? Because these two remain the only fighter jets where we have full (in case of LCA) and partial (in case of Su-30MKI) access.

This means that any weapon or drone we make today can be readily integrated with these two fighter jets. Ultimately, a fighter jet is a weapons platform. The weapon matters as much as the jet. A fighter jet without A2A missiles, A2G bombs, flying wingman, is useless. When you import a fighter like the Rafale, few manufacturers would want to give you access to put your weapons on because they have weapons to sell you too. Why would the French allow Astra Mk2/Mk3 on the Rafale when they can sell you Meteor? Why allow Ghatak when they can sell you their upcoming wingman drone.

You see why this is bad? You're getting siphoned into a subscription model except the cost is national defense. What guarantee do the French provide that during a conflict with China, they would ensure supplies to India? Why would France want to get involved in a Sino-Indian War and ruin ties with China, the second largest economy in the world? There is no guarantee of supplies from even potentially friendly states during a war. Unless something like NATO Article 5 binds a country to another to fight, arm, supply, etc., all these weapons imports are introducing external dependency with no guarantee.

Finally, just look at the size of these deals. $36 billion for 114 fighter jets that can all be potentially shot down by a conventional Chinese fighter which the Chinese can just dump on Pakistan for free. Billions of the country's FOREX is going abroad in arms import. We have been the largest arms importer on the planet for the last 20 years ago.

The thing is that military equipment exports is a niche only a few countries specialize in, considering our size and needs we should be one of them. We export military equipment, like artillery, armoured vehicles, & even small arms now. But our manufacturers never get orders from our own armed forces. How can they survive and compete against others who are subsidized by their country's governments & army? Military industrial complex (MIC) is a massive employer. Hundreds of thousands...no millions, can be employed in fighter jet manufacturing, shipbuilding, drone production, small arms manufacturing.

MIC can:

* reduce FOREX outflow
* increase FOREX inflow
* generate mass employment
* secure the country

Literally how can something be so good that it can fix nearly every single issue? And yet our leaders are chaman chutiyas who can't see it. Congratulations, if you managed to make it till the end of my rant you have been patient.

But it's over and I cannot let my cortisol spike daily because we're being led by retards.

Rakesh wrote: 26 Feb 2026 00:55 https://x.com/hindookissinger/status/20 ... 11394?s=20 --->

Congratulations, if you managed to make it till the end of my rant you have been patient. But it's over and I cannot let my cortisol spike daily because we're being led by retards.
I did read the whole thing. My only issue is his recommendation to continue with the LCA production. This is difficult considering his own admission related to the unreliability of the engine thanks to geopolitical constraints.

I had said this decades ago:. The f404 was a bad bad choice.. The al31 should've been the basis of indigenous programs. Can you imagine a new avatar of the Mirage 2000 but with much more efficiency and power? A single bird would've served as lca replacement, mrca and nlca. India could've been producing 100s of them by now.

A twin engined bird based on the anemic, but local kaveri would've been even better.

But no. There's no inefficiency in that is there? Decision-makers at Ada, hal, mod, goi, iaf, Navy. @$#***!. All of them.

Rakesh wrote: 26 Feb 2026 00:41
23 Feb 2026
People with various agendas. Compare above with below...

India’s 114 Rafale Jet Deal Mirrors Su-30MKI Success But With Deeper ToT and Localisation
https://defence.in/threads/indias-114-r ... ion.16978/
24 Feb 2026
India asks Dassault to submit bid for 114 Rafale fighter jets by April-end
https://theprint.in/defence/india-asks- ... d/2863072/
25 Feb 2026

Cain Marko wrote: 26 Feb 2026 01:16 I did read the whole thing. My only issue is his recommendation to continue with the LCA production. This is difficult considering his own admission related to the unreliability of the engine thanks to geopolitical constraints.
Indeed. However the lack of an engine, should not stop the production of the Tejas. Install F404s and F414s, however slow they come. GE has us by the balls and they know it. After the 180 Mk1As, the next aircraft (Tejas Mk2) should be produced at the original production run of 200 airframes and not the 100 that Air HQ wants as a first tranche. Piecemeal ordering will kill the program.

With regards to the engine, there has to be investment in a high altitude test facility + acquiring flying test beds to complete Kaveri.

AND/OR below...
Rakesh wrote: 25 Feb 2026 22:56 - Sign JVs with both Safran and Rolls Royce for low bypass turbofans. The Safran JV can work on completing the 120+ kN turbofan for the AMCA and the Rolls Royce JV can work on getting an alternative to the F414 turbofan for the Tejas Mk2 and getting the Kaveri over the finish line for the Mk1A. Rolls Royce had lost the competition to GE for the Tejas Mk2 (in 2009, I believe). A decision that is now - in hindsight - regretted. In parallel continue with the F404 for the Tejas Mk1A and the F414 for the Tejas Mk2 till the alternatives become available. But there needs to be a clean break from Unkil for the Tejas fleet, in the near future.

If the Tejas Mk2 does not come in sufficient numbers, we are completely and utterly screwed. It will spell the death knell for the AMCA.

If you look at the decision making on aircraft R&D the one entity that requires full rebuke are the MOD babus. The others are all doing their job in some form or other. HAL, DRDO, ADA are making things happen on a shoe string budget. IAF is conducting themselves in war and peace. It all comes down to the babus, the 1 wonder exam people. They position themselves as bystanders and influence the politicos who are looking for answers. The funding issue is entirely a whim of the babus. See how the money for 114 rafales magically appears at orders of magnitude from the R&D budgets. These babus don't want progress for India since it would make them irrelevant.
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

bala wrote: 26 Feb 2026 01:58 If you look at the decision making on aircraft R&D the one entity that requires full rebuke are the MOD babus. The others are all doing their job in some form or other. HAL, DRDO, ADA are making things happen on a shoe string budget. IAF is conducting themselves in war and peace. It all comes down to the babus, the 1 wonder exam people. They position themselves as bystanders and influence the politicos who are looking for answers. The funding issue is entirely a whim of the babus. See how the money for 114 rafales magically appears at orders of magnitude from the R&D budgets. These babus don't want progress for India since it would make them irrelevant.
one wonders at the alternative. NaMo in his first iteration did put performance mandate for these babus ., what changed

drnayar wrote: 26 Feb 2026 02:27 NaMo in his first iteration did put performance mandate for these babus ., what changed
He performed. Babus kept watching :D
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

Cain Marko wrote: 26 Feb 2026 02:45
drnayar wrote: 26 Feb 2026 02:27 NaMo in his first iteration did put performance mandate for these babus ., what changed
He performed. Babus kept watching :D
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

All we can do is rant and spike up the BP. In the tunnel the only picture was Rafale rest was all black.

IAF Explores Plug-and-Play Software Interface for Rafale to Integrate Indigenous Weapons Without Source Code Access
https://defence.in/threads/iaf-explores ... ess.16998/
26 Feb 2026
Strategic Benefits of the Modular Approach​

The inability to access source code has historically been a bottleneck for India, often leading to long delays and high costs when trying to equip foreign aircraft with domestic technology.

This new modular architecture aims to provide several key advantages:

* Rapid Weapon Integration: India can fast-track the deployment of indigenous munitions like the Astra air-to-air missile and the Rudram anti-radiation missile.
* Customised Defence: The IAF will be able to refine electronic warfare libraries and sensor parameters to better suit the specific regional threats India faces.
* Cost Efficiency: Reducing the reliance on original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) for every software update lowers long-term maintenance and integration expenses.

^ The inbuilt OS of military grade aircrafts allow plug-n-play software and devices?

My office laptop doesn't allow unauthorised download or hardware connection

On similar lines a Euro minister claimed they could jail break the F-35.

An article explaining why you can't or rather why you musn't

https://theaviationist.com/2026/02/18/n ... -the-f-35/

‘Rafale Expensive, But Defeat Costlier’: Ex-IAF Pilot Exposes How HAL Failed India

The Air Force faces a looming fleet crunch as Jaguars, MiG-29s and Mirage-2000s near retirement. Former IAF Pilot, Gp Capt Ajay Ahlawat argues in such a situation, Rafale emerges as a costly but unavoidable option while delays continue in indigenous programmes. In TOI's Line of Defence podcast episode 3, he said how India's indigenous LCA MK2 has on paper, with similar capabilities as Rafale F2 or F3, is yet to take flight because of which India is spending $40 billion on importing the aircraft instead of building in India highlight IAF veteran.

^^^ Sensors & Avionics wise, the Tejas Mk2 will be better than the Rafale F2 and even F3.

I think Group Captain Ahlawat (retd) has been sent out by Air HQ to convince the aam admi of the Rafale acquisition :P

Rakesh wrote: 28 Feb 2026 03:43 ^^^ Sensors & Avionics wise, the Tejas Mk2 will be better than the Rafale F2 and even F3.

I think Group Captain Ahlawat (retd) has been sent out by Air HQ to convince the aam admi of the Rafale acquisition :P
This is where you need a Manohar Parrikar kind of Defense Minister who understands technology.
ashthor

Post by ashthor »

We needed Rafale no doubt but Tejas was left hanging by the AF like a orphan until Late Mohohar Parrikar did what was needed...3 legged cheetah and what not.

ashthor wrote: 28 Feb 2026 10:20 We needed Rafale no doubt but Tejas was left hanging by the AF like a orphan until Late Mohohar Parrikar did what was needed...3 legged cheetah and what not.
Usually we give credit to him for Tejas and HTT-40. Even the Akash missile system got inducted into service in the 2014-2015 for IA and IAF. Major orders for Pinaka came when he was the DM. Even the VSHORADS that we saw today could be because of him. 2013, the plan was to mass import VSHORADS and when he became DM, the requirement was changed to Make in India with ToT which did not take place and eventually lead to self reliance in this area by entrusting DRDO to make it. Even Varunastra torpedo was inducted during his tenure. There will be many more which we don't know about. But he did excellent work in a very very short period of time and a large part of Op Sindoor Success is because of his decisions.
Last edited by uddu on 28 Feb 2026 11:20, edited 1 time in total.

For 10 Rafale cost we could have had test facilities, kaveri and Tedbf by now. I also blame the IAF for the delay in orders which made GE to close down their F404 manufacturing line. This single moronic call piled on the problems even further. No one understands that critical components require long lead times. You need proper planning and adequate margins, like 2x the order size for any eventualities like the ones we face today. I have a feeling the MOD babus are privately chuckling about the quandry that india faces.

Click on the link below to read the article.

To translate the article from French to English, go to the top right hand corner. There is even a Hindi option :)

The Rafale and Electronic Warfare
https://omnirole-rafale.com/le-rafale-e ... ctronique/
28 Feb 2026

Shiv Aroor calls Vishnu Som "baby & sweetie" out of sheer frustration.... :rotfl:

What a joke this has become. Never funded anything properly in house and now running around buying platforms to make up capability & numbers. The stakeholders are an absolute bunch of clowns.

Sukhoi Su 57 India Deal | India To Choose Su-57? India To Join FCAS Next?

🚀 Breaking: India eyes game-changing moves in air power! Potentially acquiring Russia's Su-57 stealth fighters & showing interest in Europe's FCAS 6th-gen program. Here's why this could reshape the skies.

🇮🇳 🇷🇺 Su-57 Acquisition: India may buy 36–40 Su-57E jets in a major deal, including source code access for deep customization. A fast bridge to boost IAF stealth power while AMCA matures! 💪

🌍 FCAS Interest: With tensions in the Franco-German FCAS project, India signals strong readiness to partner with France on co-developing true 6th-gen fighters. Jumping straight from 4th to next-gen tech! 🤝

️Game Changer for IAF: Su-57 delivers 5th-gen muscle against regional rivals, while FCAS opens the door to unmanned, AI-driven future warfare. Squadron strength + leapfrog tech = massive edge! 📈

🔧 Tech Boost: Su-57 source codes enable indigenous upgrades & integration. FCAS collaboration could bring cutting-edge aero engines, stealth design & sensor fusion know-how. DRDO gets a huge R&D acceleration! 🛠️

🌐 Global Impact: Playing both Russia & France strengthens India's strategic autonomy in a multipolar world. A bold dual-track strategy that could surprise adversaries and reshape Indo-Pacific air power balance!

bkswarti

Post by bkswarti »

All of this is a result of decades of inaction. Can’t blame the government or IAF now.

bkswarti wrote: 28 Feb 2026 23:44 All of this is a result of decades of inaction. Can’t blame the government or IAF now.
Sirjee, these two were (and still are!) the driving force behind decades of inaction. Not a single soul had any vision or plan of action. Import this platform, import that platform.

Gave lip service to self reliance, ordered Tejas in piecemeal tranches and now have the audacity to complain that the squadron strength is really low. Never properly funded your own engine program and waiting on Amreeka to send F404s to build up air power. A Rafale F4 @ IAF spec (~ US $300 million) will cost more than what India spent on Kaveri (around US $270+ million). An in-service Rafale F3R(I) costs similar to the Kaveri. Let that sink in.

Inducted the first Su-30MKI squadron in Sept 2002 and churned them out like pancakes, with a zero roadmap on an upgrade. Now looking at running two parallel programs on upgrading the platform with neither going to arrive in any decent time frame. 272 Su-30MKIs with no concrete upgrade roadmap.

Concurrently, wants to acquire Rafale + Su-57 and then jump on to FCAS or some other 6th gen fighter program. Jokers. Every purchase is an immediate need, a stop gap, a band aid, etc. But there is no long term plan even with the imports. What is the plan to keep even the band aid viable, for the length of anticipated service in the IAF? Nada, Nothing. I just want to be happy NOW.

P.S. For the love of Jupiter, complete Kaveri for Tejas Mk1A and install KDE on Ghatak. Will serve as a hedge against the much delayed Tejas Mk2 and the khayali pulao that is AMCA. Order Indian munitions (Astra Mk2, Rudram, etc) in the high hundreds at minimum.

From the Kaveri engine thread....the laws of R&D, time, physics, metallurgy, etc do not even apply anymore.

It is like living in a Rajnikant movie, but it is real life. Give speech, eat ladoo and rinse & repeat...
Rakesh wrote: 16 Feb 2026 18:40 https://x.com/DefenceMinIndia/status/20 ... 89528?s=20 ---> If it takes 25 years to develop an engine, then given India's current situation, our strategic needs, and our ambitions, you should assume that your 20 years are already over and now you only have 5 years left. This isn't something to be shocked or surprised about; it's a challenge. We have to achieve in these 5 years what other countries do in 20 years. This is where we need to give our best: Defense Minister Shri Rajnath Singh.

Since AI LLM is largely a regurgitation of what people have written, "log kahate hein" :
They say how come India has so many billions to buy Rafales but not enough to complete the Kaveri engine program?
Jet engines are the Mount Everest of engineering

A modern fighter engine requires mastery of:
- Single‑crystal turbine blades
- Ceramic coatings that survive 1,600°C
- Ultra‑precise metallurgy
- High‑pressure compressors
- Combustion stability at extreme conditions

Only four countries have mastered this: the US, UK, France, and Russia. China is still struggling despite massive investment.

India’s Kaveri program wasn’t underfunded—it was under‑experienced.

You can’t simply “throw money” at a problem when the underlying industrial ecosystem doesn’t exist yet.

A_Gupta wrote: 01 Mar 2026 06:52 Since AI LLM is largely a regurgitation of what people have written, "log kahate hein" :
They say how come India has so many billions to buy Rafales but not enough to complete the Kaveri engine program?
Jet engines are the Mount Everest of engineering

A modern fighter engine requires mastery of:
- Single‑crystal turbine blades
- Ceramic coatings that survive 1,600°C
- Ultra‑precise metallurgy
- High‑pressure compressors
- Combustion stability at extreme conditions

Only four countries have mastered this: the US, UK, France, and Russia. China is still struggling despite massive investment.

India’s Kaveri program wasn’t underfunded—it was under‑experienced.

You can’t simply “throw money” at a problem when the underlying industrial ecosystem doesn’t exist yet.
We end up thinking the engine is not developed. It is there. The thrust requirement is not there for the kind of aircraft that we are flying. So it's variant without the afterburner is going into the dual engine variant of the Ghatak. Also the report of KDE with Brahmos Afterburner with the thrust needed for Tejas is also being reported. Improvements and better technology in engines is an ongoing process. But we do have an engine. If there is a dual engine variant of Tejas being designed with the thrust requirement of 72 KN, we have the engine. And in 5 years, there will this 81-83KN variant of Kaveri in production if the goverment starts to put the money into it to get the needed infrastructure to complete the project and mass manufacture it with private companies.
Last edited by uddu on 01 Mar 2026 07:39, edited 1 time in total.
pravula

Post by pravula »

We have a lab produced examples of engines. At best these are technology demonstrators. Making a commercial product is a whole another level. You need repeatable output with tight controls, which we have not demonstrated before.